Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 10, 2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show differentiation of the sub-sealant layer 31 and the sealant layer 3 as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 9, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear where the sub-sealant layers are formed with respect to the sealant layer. Examiner is interpreting the sub-sealant layers to be layers formed over the LED chips but under the sealant layers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2019/0361294 A1 to Yang et al. (hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding claim 11, Yang teaches a backlight module, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 4, mini LED substrate 10);
a plurality of LED chips (Fig. 4, mini LED chips 20) arranged on the substrate (Fig. 4, mini LED substrate 10) at intervals; and
a sealant layer (Fig. 4, fluorescent film 30) disposed on the substrate (Fig. 4, mini LED substrate 10) and covering the plurality of LED chips (Fig. 4, mini LED chips 20) ([0030] fluorescent film 30 is coated on the entire surface of the substrate 10);
wherein the sealant layer (Fig. 4, fluorescent film 30) is provided with a plurality of recesses (Fig. 4, microstructures 31) on a side away from the LED chips (Fig. 4, mini LED chips 20), and the plurality of recesses (Fig. 4, microstructures 31) are arranged above the plurality of LED chips (Fig. 4, mini LED chips 20) in a one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of LED chips (Fig. 4, mini LED chips 20) ([0031] the microstructures 31 are arranged corresponding to the mini LED chips 20).
Regarding claim 12, Yang teaches the backlight module according to claim 11, wherein a shape of a cross-section of each of the recesses (Fig. 4, microstructures 31) in a direction perpendicular to a surface of the substrate is any one of a "V" shape, a "C" shape, or a "-" shape ([0034] the shape of the microstructures is an incomplete sphere (i.e., a “C” shape)).
Regarding claim 13, Yang teaches the backlight module according to claim 11, wherein the LED chips (Fig. 4, mini LED chips 20) and the recesses (Fig. 4, microstructures 31) are symmetrically arranged with respect to a same symmetry axis ([0031] the microstructures 31 are located directly above the mini LED chips 20 and each microstructure 31 covers a corresponding mini LED chip 20 – therefore, the microstructures 31 and the chips 20 would have to share a symmetry axis).
Regarding claim 20, Yang teaches a display device, comprising the backlight module according to claim 11, and a display panel disposed on a side of a light-exiting surface of the backlight module ([0040] teaches an LCD panel includes the disclosed planar backlight module. And as an LCD panel inherently has a display panel, it would necessarily be on a side of a light-exiting surface of the backlight module.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0361294 A1 to Yang et al. (hereinafter “Yang”) in view of US 2020/0300444 A1 to Lee (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a backlight module, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 4, mini LED substrate 10);
a plurality of LED chips (Fig. 4, mini LED chips 20) arranged on the substrate (Fig. 4, mini LED substrate 10) at intervals; and
a sealant layer (Fig. 4, fluorescent film 30) disposed on the substrate (Fig. 4, mini LED substrate 10) and covering the plurality of LED chips (Fig. 4, mini LED chips 20) ([0030] fluorescent film 30 is coated on the entire surface of the substrate 10);
wherein the sealant layer (Fig. 4, fluorescent film 30) is provided with a plurality of recesses (Fig. 4, microstructures 31) on a side away from the LED chips (Fig. 4, mini LED chips 20), and the plurality of recesses (Fig. 4, microstructures 31) are arranged above the plurality of LED chips (Fig. 4, mini LED chips 20) in a one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of LED chips (Fig. 4, mini LED chips 20) ([0031] the microstructures 31 are arranged corresponding to the mini LED chips 20).
Yang does not teach wherein a material of the sealant layer comprises silicone.
Lee teaches wherein a material of the sealant layer (Fig. 15, sealing members 810) comprises silicone ([0159] the sealing member 810 may be a silicone resin).
Yang and Lee both teach backlight units consisting of LED chips. Yang teaches a backlight unit consisting of LED chips mounted to a substrate and encapsulated with a fluorescent film. Lee teaches a backlight unit consisting of LED chips mounted to a substrate and encapsulated by a sealing member that may be a silicone resin. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claims were effectively filed to combine the structure of Yang with the silicone resin material of Lee in order to arrive at a backlight module that minimized light reflection within the LED structure (Lee, [0159]).
Regarding claim 2, Yang as modified by Lee teaches the backlight module according to claim 1, wherein a shape of a cross-section of each of the recesses (Yang, Fig. 4, microstructures 31) in a direction perpendicular to a surface of the substrate is any one of a "V" shape, a "C" shape, or a "-" shape (Yang, [0028] the shape of the microstructures is an incomplete sphere (i.e., a “C” shape)).
Regarding claim 3, Yang as modified by Lee teaches the backlight module according to claim 1, wherein the LED chips (Yang, Fig. 4, mini LED chips 20) and the recesses (Yang, Fig. 4, microstructures 31) are symmetrically arranged with respect to a same symmetry axis (Yang, [0031] the microstructures 31 are located directly above the mini LED chips 20 and each microstructure 31 covers a corresponding mini LED chip 20 – therefore, the microstructures 31 and the chips 20 would have to share a symmetry axis).
Regarding claim 10, Yang as modified by Lee teaches the backlight module according to claim 1, wherein the backlight module further comprises an optical film set (Yang, Fig. 4, diffusion sheet 40 and brightness enhancement sheet 50), and the optical film set is disposed on the side of the sealant layer away from the LED chips (Fig. 4, diffusion sheet 40 and brightness enhancement sheet 50 located above micro-structures 31 and fluorescent film 30).
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang and Lee as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of US 2020/0233141 A1 to Yang et al. (hereinafter “Yang ‘141”).
Regarding claim 4, Yang as modified by Lee does not teach the backlight module according to claim 3, wherein a width of each of the recesses in a direction parallel to a surface of the substrate is greater than a width of each of the LED chips in the direction parallel to the surface of the substrate.
Yang ‘141 teaches the backlight module according to claim 3, wherein a width of each of the recesses (Fig. 4, reflecting recesses 108) in a direction parallel to a surface of the substrate is greater than a width of each of the LED chips (Fig. 4, light emitting dies 104) in the direction parallel to the surface of the substrate ([0038] an area of the reflecting recesses 108 is greater than an area of the light emitting dies 104).
Yang, Lee and Yang ‘141 teach backlight units consisting of LED chips. Yang teaches a backlight unit consisting of LED chips mounted to a substrate and encapsulated with a fluorescent film which includes micro-structure cavities. Lee teaches a backlight unit consisting of LED chips mounted to a substrate and encapsulated by a sealing member. Yang ‘141 teaches a backlight unit consisting of LED chips mounted to a substrate and encapsulated with a sealing member which includes reflecting recesses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the backlight unit of Yang as modified by Lee with the reflecting recesses of Yang ‘141 to arrive at a backlight module consisting of LEDs encapsulated with a resin material which includes recesses for refracting light. Such a combination allows the light to refract at the side surfaces of the recesses (Yang ‘141, [0038]).
Regarding claim 5, Yang as modified by Lee does not teach the backlight module according to claim 1, wherein each of the recesses comprises a first sub-recess and a second sub-recess that are connected to each other, the first sub-recess is formed by recessing inwardly from a top of the sealant layer, the second sub-recess is further recessed inwardly from a bottom of the first sub-recess, and the first sub-recess surrounds the second sub-recess.
Yang ‘141 teaches the backlight module according to claim 1, wherein each of the recesses (Fig. 4, reflecting recesses 108) comprises a first sub-recess (Fig. 4, surrounding side surface 108a) and a second sub-recess (Fig. 4, bottom surface 108c) that are connected to each other, the first sub-recess is formed by recessing inwardly from a top of the sealant layer, the second sub-recess is further recessed inwardly from a bottom of the first sub-recess, and the first sub-recess surrounds the second sub-recess (Fig 4, [0044] reflecting recesses 108 include an inclined side surface 108a connected to a flat bottom surface 108c, which is also surrounded by the inclined side surfaces 108a).
Yang, Lee and Yang ‘141 teach backlight units consisting of LED chips. Yang teaches a backlight unit consisting of LED chips mounted to a substrate and encapsulated with a fluorescent film which includes micro-structure cavities. Lee teaches a backlight unit consisting of LED chips mounted to a substrate and encapsulated by a sealing member. Yang ‘141 teaches a backlight unit consisting of LED chips mounted to a substrate and encapsulated with a sealing member which includes reflecting recesses having a combination of recessed shapes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the backlight unit of Yang as modified by Lee with the reflecting recesses of Yang ‘141 to arrive at a backlight unit including reflecting recesses with a more complex shape. Such a combination would improve the ability to align the reflecting recesses with the LED chips (Yang ‘141, [0044]).
Regarding claim 6, Yang as modified by Lee and further modified by Yang ‘141 teaches the backlight module according to claim 5, wherein a shape of a cross-section of the second sub-recess (Yang ‘141, Fig. 4, bottom surface 108c) in a direction perpendicular to a surface (Yang ‘141, Fig. 4, bearing surface 102a) of the substrate is any one of a "V" shape, a "C" shape, or a "-" shape (Yang ‘141, Fig. 4, [0044] the bottom surface 108c is a plane parallel to a bearing surface 102a of the substrate 102), a shape of a cross- section of the first sub-recess (Yang ‘141, Fig. 4, surrounding side surface 108a) in the direction perpendicular to the surface (Yang ‘141, Fig. 4, bearing surface 102a) of the substrate ( is an upper structure of any one of a "V" shape, a "C" shape, or a "-" shape (Yang ‘141, Fig. 4, the surrounding side surface 108a is the upper portion of a “V” shape), and the cross sections of the first sub-recess and the second sub-recess have different shapes in the direction perpendicular to the surface (Yang ‘141, Fig. 4, bearing surface 102a) of the substrate (Yang ‘141, Fig. 4, the reflecting recess has a cross-sectional shape consisting of a “-“ shape at the bottom surface 108c and an upper portion of a “V” shape at the surrounding side surface 108a).
Regarding claim 7, Yang as modified by Lee does not teach the backlight module according to claim 1, wherein the recesses and the sealant layer are formed by a same manufacturing process, and the recesses and the sealant layer are formed by a process of glue dispensing, screen printing, or mold injection.
Yang ‘141 teaches the backlight module according to claim 1, wherein the recesses (Fig. 9B, reflective recess 108 (as shown in Fig. 1)) and the sealant layer (Fig. 9B, encapsulation layer 106’) are formed by a same manufacturing process, and the recesses (Fig. 9B, reflective recess 108 (as shown in Fig. 1)) and the sealant layer (Fig. 9B, encapsulation layer 106’) are formed by a process of glue dispensing, screen printing, or mold injection ([0051] the encapsulation layer 106’ may be formed by injection molding and the mold core may include the corresponding structure for reflective recess 108).
Yang, Lee and Yang ‘141 teach backlight units consisting of LED chips. Yang teaches a backlight unit consisting of LED chips mounted to a substrate and encapsulated with a fluorescent film which includes micro-structure cavities. Lee teaches a backlight unit consisting of LED chips mounted to a substrate and encapsulated by a sealing member. Yang ‘141 teaches a backlight unit consisting of LED chips mounted to a substrate and encapsulated with a sealing member which includes reflecting recesses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the backlight unit of Yang as modified by Lee with the manufacturing process of Yang ‘141 to arrive at a backlight unit having an encapsulation layer including recesses and which was manufactured in one step. Such a combination allows for the smooth surface of the encapsulation layer to facilitate the emission of light (Yang ‘141, [0051]).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang and Lee as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of US 11,536,439 B2 to Nakabayashi et al. (hereinafter “Nakabayashi”).
Regarding claim 8, Yang as modified by Lee does not teach the backlight module according to claim 1, wherein the sealant layer comprises a plurality of sub-sealant layers distributed at intervals in a one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of LED chips, and each of the sub-sealant layers covers a corresponding one of the LED chips.
Nakabayashi teaches the backlight module according to claim 1, wherein the sealant layer (Fig. 2, first light transmissive member 33) comprises a plurality of sub-sealant layers (Fig. 2, second light transmissive member 22) distributed at intervals in a one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of LED chips (Fig. 2, light emitting element 21), and each of the sub-sealant layers (Fig. 2, second light transmissive member 22) covers a corresponding one of the LED chips (Fig. 2, light emitting element 21).
Yang, Lee and Nakabayashi teach light emitting modules consisting of LED chips. Yang teaches a backlight unit consisting of LED chips mounted to a substrate and encapsulated with a fluorescent film which includes micro-structure cavities. Lee teaches a backlight unit consisting of LED chips mounted to a substrate and encapsulated by a sealing member. Nakabayashi teaches a lighting module consisting of light emitting elements encapsulated in two sealant layers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the backlight unit of Yang as modified by Lee with the sealant layers of Nakabayashi. Such a combination would allow for a sealant layer containing phosphor, which would allow control of the wavelengths of light emitted by the device (Nakabayashi, col. 3, ln. 62 – col. 4, ln. 15).
Regarding claim 9, Yang as modified by Lee and further modified by Nakabayashi teaches the backlight module according to claim 8, wherein a shape of a cross-section of the sub-sealant layers (Fig. 2, second light transmissive member 22) is arc or rectangular (Fig. 2, cross-sectional view of second light transmissive member 22 is rectangular).
Claim(s) 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of US 2020/0233141 A1 to Yang et al. (hereinafter “Yang ‘141”).
Regarding claim 14, Yang does not teach the backlight module according to claim 13, wherein a width of each of the recesses in a direction parallel to a surface of the substrate is greater than a width of each of the LED chips in the direction parallel to the surface of the substrate.
Yang ‘141 teaches the backlight module according to claim 13, wherein a width of each of the recesses (Fig. 4, reflecting recesses 108) in a direction parallel to a surface of the substrate is greater than a width of each of the LED chips (Fig. 4, light emitting dies 104) in the direction parallel to the surface of the substrate ([0038] an area of the reflecting recesses 108 is greater than an area of the light emitting dies 104).
Yang and Yang ‘141 teach backlight units consisting of LED chips. Yang teaches a backlight unit consisting of LED chips mounted to a substrate and encapsulated with a fluorescent film which includes micro-structure cavities. Yang ‘141 teaches a backlight unit consisting of LED chips mounted to a substrate and encapsulated with a sealing member which includes reflecting recesses larger than the LED chips. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Yang with Yang ‘141 to arrive at a backlight module consisting of LED chips encapsulated with a resin material which includes recesses larger than the LED chips for refracting light. Such a combination allows the light to refract at the side surfaces of the recesses (Yang ‘141, [0038]).
Regarding claim 15, Yang does not teach the backlight module according to claim 11, wherein each of the recesses comprises a first sub-recess and a second sub-recess that are connected to each other, the first sub-recess is formed by recessing inwardly from a top of the sealant layer, the second sub-recess is further recessed inwardly from a bottom of the first sub-recess, and the first sub-recess surrounds the second sub-recess.
Yang ‘141 teaches the backlight module according to claim 11, wherein each of the recesses (Fig. 4, reflecting recesses 108) comprises a first sub-recess (Fig. 4, surrounding side surface 108a) and a second sub-recess (Fig. 4, bottom surface 108c) that are connected to each other, the first sub-recess is formed by recessing inwardly from a top of the sealant layer, the second sub-recess is further recessed inwardly from a bottom of the first sub-recess, and the first sub-recess surrounds the second sub-recess (Fig 4, [0044] reflecting recesses 108 include an inclined side surface 108a connected to a flat bottom surface 108c, which is also surrounded by the inclined side surfaces 108a).
Yang and Yang ‘141 teach backlight units consisting of LED chips. Yang teaches a backlight unit consisting of LED chips mounted to a substrate and encapsulated with a fluorescent film which includes micro-structure cavities. Yang ‘141 teaches a backlight unit consisting of LED chips mounted to a substrate and encapsulated with a sealing member which includes reflecting recesses having a combination of recessed shapes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the backlight unit of Yang with the reflecting recesses of Yang ‘141 to arrive at a backlight unit including reflecting recesses with a more complex shape. Such a combination would improve the ability to align the reflecting recesses with the LED chips (Yang ‘141, [0044]).
Regarding claim 16, Yang as modified by Yang ‘141 teaches the backlight module according to claim 15, wherein a shape of a cross-section of the second sub-recess (Yang ‘141, Fig. 4, bottom surface 108c) in a direction perpendicular to a surface (Yang ‘141, Fig. 4, bearing surface 102a) of the substrate is any one of a "V" shape, a "C" shape, or a "-" shape (Yang ‘141, Fig. 4, [0044] the bottom surface 108c is a plane parallel to a bearing surface 102a of the substrate 102), a shape of a cross- section of the first sub-recess (Yang ‘141, Fig. 4, surrounding side surface 108a) in the direction perpendicular to the surface (Yang ‘141, Fig. 4, bearing surface 102a) of the substrate ( is an upper structure of any one of a "V" shape, a "C" shape, or a "-" shape (Yang ‘141, Fig. 4, the surrounding side surface 108a is the upper portion of a “V” shape), and the cross sections of the first sub-recess and the second sub-recess have different shapes in the direction perpendicular to the surface (Yang ‘141, Fig. 4, bearing surface 102a) of the substrate (Yang ‘141, Fig. 4, the reflecting recess has a cross-sectional shape consisting of a “-“ shape at the bottom surface 108c and an upper portion of a “V” shape at the surrounding side surface 108a).
Regarding claim 17, Yang does not teach the backlight module according to claim 11, wherein the recesses and the sealant layer are formed by a same manufacturing process, and the recesses and the sealant layer are formed by a process of glue dispensing, screen printing, or mold injection.
Yang ‘141 teaches the backlight module according to claim 11, wherein the recesses (Fig. 9B, reflective recess 108 (as shown in Fig. 1)) and the sealant layer (Fig. 9B, encapsulation layer 106’) are formed by a same manufacturing process, and the recesses (Fig. 9B, reflective recess 108 (as shown in Fig. 1)) and the sealant layer (Fig. 9B, encapsulation layer 106’) are formed by a process of glue dispensing, screen printing, or mold injection ([0051] the encapsulation layer 106’ may be formed by injection molding and the mold core may include the corresponding structure for reflective recess 108).
Yang and Yang ‘141 teach backlight units consisting of LED chips. Yang teaches a backlight unit consisting of LED chips mounted to a substrate and encapsulated with a fluorescent film which includes micro-structure cavities. Yang ‘141 teaches a backlight unit consisting of LED chips mounted to a substrate and encapsulated with a sealing member which includes reflecting recesses. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the backlight unit of Yang with the manufacturing process of Yang ‘141 to arrive at a backlight unit having an encapsulation layer including recesses and which was manufactured in one step. Such a combination allows for the smooth surface of the encapsulation layer to facilitate the emission of light (Yang ‘141, [0051]).
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of US 11,536,439 B2 to Nakabayashi et al. (hereinafter “Nakabayashi”).
Regarding claim 18, Yang does not teach the backlight module according to claim 11, wherein the sealant layer comprises a plurality of sub-sealant layers distributed at intervals in a one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of LED chips, and each of the sub-sealant layers covers a corresponding one of the LED chips.
Nakabayashi teaches the backlight module according to claim 11, wherein the sealant layer (Fig. 2, first light transmissive member 33) comprises a plurality of sub-sealant layers (Fig. 2, second light transmissive member 22) distributed at intervals in a one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of LED chips (Fig. 2, light emitting element 21), and each of the sub-sealant layers (Fig. 2, second light transmissive member 22) covers a corresponding one of the LED chips (Fig. 2, light emitting element 21).
Yang and Nakabayashi teach light emitting modules consisting of LED chips. Yang teaches a backlight unit consisting of LED chips mounted to a substrate and encapsulated with a fluorescent film which includes micro-structure cavities. Nakabayashi teaches a lighting module consisting of light emitting elements encapsulated in two sealant layers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the backlight unit of Yang with the sealant layers of Nakabayashi. Such a combination would allow for a sealant layer containing phosphor, which would allow control of the wavelengths of light emitted by the device (Nakabayashi, col. 3, ln. 62 – col. 4, ln. 15).
Regarding claim 19, Yang as modified by Nakabayashi teaches the backlight module according to claim 18, wherein a shape of a cross-section of the sub-sealant layers (Fig. 2, second light transmissive member 22) is arc or rectangular (Fig. 2, cross-sectional view of second light transmissive member 22 is rectangular).
Relevant Cited Art
Examiner notes that the Yang ‘141 reference could alternatively be applied to teach at least claims 1 and 11 as follows:
Regarding claim 1:
A backlight module, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 1, substrate 102);
a plurality of LED chips (Fig. 1, light emitting dies 104) arranged on the substrate (Fig. 1, substrate 102) at intervals;
and a sealant layer (Fig. 1, encapsulation layer 106) disposed on the substrate (Fig. 1, substrate 102) and covering the plurality of LED chips (Fig. 1, light emitting dies 104), wherein a material of the sealant layer comprises silicone ([0036] the encapsulation layer 106 may be a silicone resin);
wherein the sealant layer (Fig. 1, encapsulation layer 106) is provided with a plurality of recesses (Fig. 1, recesses 108) on a side away from the LED chips (Fig. 1, light emitting dies 104), and the plurality of recesses (Fig. 1, recesses 108) are arranged above the plurality of LED chips (Fig. 1, light emitting dies 104) in a one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of LED chips (Fig. 1, light emitting dies 104) ([0033] recesses 108 are disposed to correspond to the light emitting dies 104).
Regarding claim 11:
A backlight module, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 1, substrate 102);
a plurality of LED chips (Fig. 1, light emitting dies 104) arranged on the substrate (Fig. 1, substrate 102) at intervals;
and a sealant layer (Fig. 1, encapsulation layer 106) disposed on the substrate (Fig. 1, substrate 102) and covering the plurality of LED chips (Fig. 1, light emitting dies 104);
wherein the sealant layer (Fig. 1, encapsulation layer 106) is provided with a plurality of recesses (Fig. 1, recesses 108) on a side away from the LED chips (Fig. 1, light emitting dies 104), and the plurality of recesses (Fig. 1, recesses 108) are arranged above the plurality of LED chips (Fig. 1, light emitting dies 104) in a one-to-one correspondence to the plurality of LED chips (Fig. 1, light emitting dies 104) ([0033] recesses 108 are disposed to correspond to the light emitting dies 104).
Conclusion
MEGAN PARRISH
Examiner
Art Unit 2812
/Megan Parrish/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/DAVIENNE N MONBLEAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812