DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 10/13/2021 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are directed towards newly amended claim language.
Regarding Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103,
Applicant contends that the cited prior art fails to disclose newly amended limitations of independent claims 21, 28, 35, and 39 including “temporally predicting, by motion compensation, one or more reference samples based on motion information derived from another block.”
See the rejection below for how the cited art in light of new/existing references reads on the newly amended language as well as the examiner’s interpretation of the cited art in view of the presented claim set.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-25, 27-32, and 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 10 3as being unpatentable over Chang et al. (US 20190208195 A1) (hereinafter Chang) in view of Zhang et al. (US 20180278942 A1) (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 21, Chang discloses:
A method for video encoding, the method comprising: coding a current block into a bitstream, the coding includes: [See Chang, ¶ 0105, 0135-0139, 0141 discloses an entropy encoding unit may perform CAVLC, CABAC, SBAC, PIPE coding or another entropy coding technique to a current block and generating an encoded bitstream.]
performing intra prediction of the current block using the predicted one or more reference samples. [See Chang, ¶ 0058, 0136-0137 discloses an intra prediction unit may determine, along the prediction mode derived for a block unit, one of the predictors for each of the block elements based on the reference samples determined from the neighboring blocks.]
Chang does not appear to explicitly disclose:
temporally predicting, by motion compensation, one or more reference samples based on motion information derived from another block; and
However, Zhang discloses:
temporally predicting, by motion compensation, one or more reference samples based on motion information derived from another block; and [See Zhang, ¶ 0097, 0103-0108, 0120-0122, Figs. 9-12, and 15-18 discloses that a video encoder or decoder may locate a reference block in a reference frame with a motion vector as used in motion compensation (temporal, or “inter” prediction) per HEVC. See Zhang, ¶ 0107 discloses (and Fig. 11 illustrates) for instance, that in frame 230, which is an inter-frame, reference sample block 232 is inter-coded. In frame 240, which is an inter-frame, block 242 is also inter-coded. Video encoder and decoder may be configured to also derive an intra-prediction mode to associate with block 242 from intra-prediction mode 246 associated with reference block 232 in collocated frame 230. Reference block 232 may be located by MV 244. Hence, reference samples predicted based on motion information (motion vectors) derived from another block.]
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Chang to add the teachings of Zhang in order to temporally predict inter-coded blocks while also having associated intra-prediction modes.
Regarding claim 22, Chang in view of Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 21.
Chang discloses:
wherein the performing of the intra prediction of the current block further comprises: generating prediction samples, based on the predicted one or more reference samples, according to a planar intra prediction mode. [See Chang, ¶ 0049, 0067 discloses where indices are assigned to the intra modes each having an intra prediction angle. Each of the first candidate modes and the second candidate modes may correspond to one of a planar mode, a DC mode, and a plurality of intra modes 2-66 in Table 1. Further, that the intra prediction unit may divide the candidate modes into a first mode group and a second mode group. In the implementation, the candidate modes in the first mode group may be a plurality of default modes selected from the mode list, and the candidate modes in the second mode group may be a plurality of added modes selected from the mode list for replacing at least one of the default modes. The default modes in the first mode group may include a planar mode, a DC mode, and a plurality of first directional modes, and the added modes in the second mode group may include a plurality of second directional modes.]
Regarding claim 23, Chang in view of Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 21.
Chang discloses:
wherein the performing of the intra prediction of the current block further comprises: generating prediction samples, based on the predicted one or more reference samples, according to an angular intra prediction mode. [See Chang, ¶ 0049, 0067 discloses where indices are assigned to the intra modes each having an intra prediction angle. Each of the first candidate modes and the second candidate modes may correspond to one of a planar mode, a DC mode, and a plurality of intra modes 2-66 in Table 1. Further, that the intra prediction unit may divide the candidate modes into a first mode group and a second mode group. In the implementation, the candidate modes in the first mode group may be a plurality of default modes selected from the mode list, and the candidate modes in the second mode group may be a plurality of added modes selected from the mode list for replacing at least one of the default modes. The default modes in the first mode group may include a planar mode, a DC mode, and a plurality of first directional modes, and the added modes in the second mode group may include a plurality of second directional modes.]
Regarding claim 24, Chang in view of Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 21.
Chang discloses:
wherein the performing of the intra prediction of the current block further comprises: generating prediction samples, based on the predicted one or more reference samples, according to a DC intra prediction mode. [See Chang, ¶ 0049, 0067 discloses where indices are assigned to the intra modes each having an intra prediction angle. Each of the first candidate modes and the second candidate modes may correspond to one of a planar mode, a DC mode, and a plurality of intra modes 2-66 in Table 1. Further, that the intra prediction unit may divide the candidate modes into a first mode group and a second mode group. In the implementation, the candidate modes in the first mode group may be a plurality of default modes selected from the mode list, and the candidate modes in the second mode group may be a plurality of added modes selected from the mode list for replacing at least one of the default modes. The default modes in the first mode group may include a planar mode, a DC mode, and a plurality of first directional modes, and the added modes in the second mode group may include a plurality of second directional modes.]
Regarding claim 25, Chang in view of Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 21.
Chang discloses:
wherein the current block is a coding unit (CU) and wherein the another block is a block neighboring the current block. [See Chang, ¶ 0058, 0134-0137 discloses a luminance block and the at least one chrominance block may be further divided to generate macroblocks, coding tree units (CTUs), coding blocks (CBs), sub-divisions thereof, and/or another equivalent coding unit. An intra prediction unit may determine, along the prediction mode derived for a block unit, one of the predictors for each of the block elements based on the reference samples determined from the neighboring blocks.]
Regarding claim 27, Chang in view of Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 21.
Chang discloses:
wherein the predicted one or more reference samples are from at least one line of reference samples, the line of reference samples is arranged along the right edge of the current block, the bottom edge of the current block, the left edge of the current block, or the top edge of the current block. [See Chang, ¶ 0046, Fig. 4 illustrates a current block unit (411) illustrates a plurality of neighboring reference samples. Particularly, the prediction process unit 2222 may receive the reference samples 412 neighboring with the block unit 411. The reference samples 412 includes a plurality of first reference samples 4121 located above the block unit 411 and a plurality of second reference samples 4122 located in the left of the block unit 411.]
Regarding claim 28, One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have been aware that decoding is simply the inverse operation of encoding and, in fact is often more generally referred to as "coding", encompassing both. Such a person would have been aware that in order to most accurately decode, it is typically best to use the same method on both the encoding and decoding ends.
Claim 28 thus recites analogous limitations to claim 21, and is therefore rejected based on the decoding of claim 28 performing the complimentary operations of the corresponding encoding process with respect to video encoding method claim 21 as such.
Regarding claim 29, this claim recites analogous limitations to claim 22, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 30, this claim recites analogous limitations to claim 23, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 31, this claim recites analogous limitations to claim 24, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 32, Chang in view of Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 28.
Chang discloses:
further comprising: decoding from the bitstream a syntax element, indicating that the decoding of the current block is to be performed according to the predicting and the performing steps. [See Chang, ¶ 0032-0033, 0035 discloses receiving the bitstream including a plurality of syntax elements from the second interface 123 in FIG. 1, and perform a parsing operation on the bitstream to extract syntax elements from the bitstream. Further, the prediction process unit 2222 may receive syntax elements, such as motion vectors, intra modes, partition information, and other syntax information, from the entropy decoding unit 2221.]
Regarding claim 35, this claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1 in the form of “an apparatus” rather than “a method”, and is therefore rejected on the same premise. Please see examiner’s earlier rejection of claim 1 for corresponding motivation statement.
Further, claim 35 recites the following limitations which are not explicitly found from claim 21, but are addressed as follows:
Chang discloses:
An apparatus for video encoding, comprising: at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to code a current block into a bitstream, the coding includes: [See Chang, ¶ 0022 discloses persons skilled in the art will immediately recognize that any coding function(s) or algorithm(s) described in the present disclosure may be implemented by hardware, software or a combination of software and hardware. Described functions may correspond to modules may be software, hardware, firmware, or any combination thereof. The software implementation may comprise computer executable instructions stored on computer readable medium such as memory or other type of storage devices. For example, one or more microprocessors or general purpose computers with communication processing capability may be programmed with corresponding executable instructions and carry out the described network function(s) or algorithm(s). The microprocessors or general purpose computers may be formed of applications specific integrated circuitry (ASIC), programmable logic arrays, and/or using one or more digital signal processor (DSPs).]
Regarding claim 36, this claim recites analogous limitations to claim 22, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 37, this claim recites analogous limitations to claim 23, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 38, this claim recites analogous limitations to claim 24, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 39, One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have been aware that decoding is simply the inverse operation of encoding and, in fact is often more generally referred to as "coding", encompassing both. Such a person would have been aware that in order to most accurately decode, it is typically best to use the same method on both the encoding and decoding ends.
Claim 39 thus recites analogous limitations to claim 35, and is therefore rejected based on the decoding apparatus of claim 39 performing the complimentary operations of the corresponding encoding device with respect to video encoding apparatus claim 35 as such.
Regarding claim 40, this claim recites analogous limitations to claim 32, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Zhang in view of Iwamura et al: “CE4-2.11: MVPlanar prediction”, 11. JVET MEETING; 20180711-20180718; LJUBLJANA; (THE JOINT VIDEO EXPLORATION TEAM OF ISO/IEC JTC1/SC29/WG11 AND ITU-T SG.16), no. JVET-K0349 3 July 2018, XP030198920 (hereinafter Iwamura).
Regarding claim 26, Chang in view of Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 21.
Chang in view of Zhang does not appear to explicitly disclose:
wherein the current block is a sub-CU and wherein the another block is a corresponding block from a collocated picture, the corresponding block is determined based on motion information derived from a block neighboring the current block.
However, Iwamura discloses:
wherein the current block is a sub-CU and wherein the another block is a corresponding block from a collocated picture, the corresponding block is determined based on motion information derived from a block neighboring the current block. [See Iwamura, pg. 1 and pg. 2 discloses sub-block motion vector compensation prediction, where sub-CU MVs are derived by interpolating motion vectors of neighboring blocks (of a collocated picture) by position dependent weighted average. It is noted that the interpolation is carried out in a similar way as intra planar prediction. Particularly, nCbW and nCbH respectively denote width and height of the coding blocks.]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill would have been familiar with video compression technologies and would have understood, as evidenced by Iwamura, that in order to improve bitrate savings in coding efficiency, providing a sub-CU motion vector derivation would have been beneficial. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to include such sub-CU motion vector derivation as taught by Iwamura in the system of Chang in view of Zhang in order to obtain this advantage. Moreover, to such a person, doing so would have represented nothing more than the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 33 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Zhang in view of Li et al. (US 20190141318 A1) (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 33, Chang in view of Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 32.
Chang in view of Zhang does not appear to explicitly disclose:
further comprising: decoding from the bitstream a syntax element, indicating whether the predicted one or more reference samples are from a bottom reference line, a right reference line, or both.
However, Li discloses:
further comprising: decoding from the bitstream a syntax element, indicating whether the predicted one or more reference samples are from a bottom reference line, a right reference line, or both. [See Li, ¶ 0177-0180 discloses signaling a syntax element for indicating one or multiple candidate reference lines. Particularly, Fig. 12 illustrates bottom/below-left sample values (1250), and top/above sample values (1230) corresponding with candidate reference lines.]
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Chang in view of Zhang to add the teachings of Li in order to enable jointly indicating multiple reference line indices with a single syntax element (Li, paragraph [0179]).
Regarding claim 41, this claim recites analogous limitations to claim 33, and is therefore rejected on the same premise. The reasons to combine the cited prior art are applicable to those presented for previously rejected claim 33.
Claim(s) 34 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Zhang in view of Rapaka et al. (US 20140064360 A1) (hereinafter Rapaka).
Regarding claim 34, Chang in view of Zhang discloses all the limitations of claim 32.
Chang in view of Zhang does not appear to explicitly discloses:
further comprising: decoding from the bitstream a syntax element, indicating whether the current block is a CU or a sub-CU.
However, Rapaka discloses:
further comprising: decoding from the bitstream a syntax element, indicating whether the current block is a CU or a sub-CU. [See Rapaka, ¶ 0059-0061 discloses that each node of the quadtree data structure may provide syntax data for the corresponding CU. For example, a node in the quadtree may include a split flag, indicating whether the CU corresponding to the node is split into sub-CUs. Syntax elements for a CU may be defined recursively, and may depend on whether the CU is split into sub-CUs. If a CU is not split further, it is referred as a leaf-CU. In this disclosure, four sub-CUs of a leaf-CU will also be referred to as leaf-CUs even if there is no explicit splitting of the original leaf-CU. For example, if a CU at 16×16 size is not split further, the four 8×8 sub-CUs will also be referred to as leaf-CUs although the 16×16 CU was never split.]
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Chang in view of Zhang to add the teachings of Rapaka in order to use syntax data to signal sub-CU partitioning, particularly with respect to nodes in a quadtree data structure.
Regarding claim 42, this claim recites analogous limitations to claim 34, and is therefore rejected on the same premise. The reasons to combine the cited prior art are applicable to those presented for previously rejected claim 34.
Conclusion
/PATRICK E DEMOSKY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486