DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 62 and 73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For Claim 62, it defines that the gyroscopic member is a disc, however, Claim 57 which it depends on defines the gyroscopic member as having fan blades. It is not clear how the gyroscopic member can be both a disc and fan blades. As such the Claim is indefinite.
For Claim 73, it defines the gyroscopic member as either a disc, central hub fan assembly, or a radial distal fan blades assembly, however, Claim 57 which it depends on defines the gyroscopic member as having fan blades. It is not clear how the gyroscopic member can be both fan blades and be one of disc, central hub fan assembly, or a radial distal fan blades assembly. As such the Claim is indefinite
Claim 79 recites the limitation "the axes" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 81 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For Claim 81, it is unclear how the support structure includes an airflow directing assembly. As defined in the specification and shown in figure 5A the airflow directing assembly is the nozzle (255) which is not part of the support structure (251). A nozzle would not support the propulsion arrangement. As such the claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 57, 59-60, 63, 65, 67, 79-82 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vassa (US Patent #5421538).
For Claim 57, figures 1-4 of Vassa ‘538 disclose an aerial vehicle (10) comprising an airframe (12); at least one propulsion arrangement (28) mounted to the airframe and configured to providing thrust to the aerial vehicle, a support structure (30 and 52) coupled to the propulsion arrangement and configured for controlling the direction of thrust of the propulsion arrangement: a gyroscopic stabilization assembly (36) including at least one rotatable gyroscopic member configured to be coupled to the propulsion arrangement via a mechanical transmission (44) to be rotated to gyroscopically stabilize the airframe of the aerial vehicle in use, the gyroscopic member comprising a gyroscopic fan including a plurality of fan blades (40 and 42), and wherein the pitch of the fan blades is adjustable.
For Claim 59, figures 1-4 of Vassa ‘538 disclose that the propulsion arrangement (28) is pivotably mounted to the airframe as it rotates.
For Claim 60, figures 1-4 of Vassa ‘538 disclose that the gyroscopic fan (40 and 42) is disposed within the airframe (12).
For Claim 63, figures 1-4 and 8a-8b of Vassa ‘538 disclose that the aerial vehicle further comprises a controller (80) for controlling operation of the aerial vehicle.
For Claim 65, figures 1-4 of Vassa ‘538 disclose that the propulsion arrangement rotates about an axis of rotation and the gyroscopic member rotates about an axis of rotation, and the propulsion arrangement and the gyroscopic member are arranged such that their respective axes of rotation are substantially parallel to each other.
For Claim 67, figures 1-4 of Vassa ‘538 disclose that the gyroscopic members (40 and 42) are parallel.
For Claim 79, figures 1-4 of Vassa ‘538 disclose that the axis of the propulsion arrangement and the gyroscopic fan are arranged substantially longitudinally in the airframe.
For Claim 80, figures 1-4 of Vassa ‘538 disclose that the propulsion arrangement is fixedly mounted to the airframe.
For Claim 81, figures 1-4 of Vassa ‘538 disclose that the support structure (30 and 52) includes an airflow directing assembly for directing thrust from the propulsion arrangement in a plurality of directions.
For Claim 82, figures 1-4 of Vassa ‘538 disclose that the airframe is an elongated airframe.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 69-71 and 76-78 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vassa (US Patent #5421538) as applied to claim 57 above, and further in view of Skahan (US PgPub #2017/0341725).
For Claim 70, while Vassa ‘538 is silent about attachment points for attaching the aerial vehicle to an adjacent similar aerial vehicle, the figures of Skahan ‘725 teach that the aerial vehicle includes attachment points for attaching the aerial vehicle to an adjacent similar aerial vehicle. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Vassa ‘538 with the attachment points of Skahan ‘275. The motivation to do so would be to create larger aerial systems per desired design requirements.
For Claim 71, while Vassa ‘538 is silent about the vehicle being autonomous, figure 108 of Skahan ‘725 teaches autonomous navigation. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Vassa ‘538 with the autonomous control of Skahan ‘725. The motivation to do so would be to provide autonomous control that provides safe flight and does not require a capable pilot.
For Claims 69 and 76-78, while Vassa ‘538 shows a seat with a cockpit in the figures it is silent about there being a cockpit module which is detachable. However, the figures of Skahan ‘725 teach an aerial vehicle in which the cockpit is detachable form the airframe as well as being gimballed about two axes so as to pivotally rotate.. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Vassa ‘538 with the pivotally detachable cockpit module as taught by Skahan ‘725. The motivation to do so would be to be able to exchange cockpit modules if they are damaged or if different flight requirements are desired.
Claim(s) 74-75 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vassa (US Patent #5421538) as applied to claim 57 above, and further in view of Ward (US Patent #3481405).
For Claims 74-75, while Vassa ‘538 discloses providing an aerial vehicle that can move around and operate the gyroscopic stabilization arrangement to gyroscopically stabilize the airframe of the aerial vehicle and controlling the pitch of the gyroscopic fan blades to manage the thrust of the propulsion arrangement, it is silent about moving the aerial vehicle to a fire and using the propulsion arrangement to direct thrust to the fire. However, the figures of Ward ‘405 teach a method of suppressing a fire by maneuvering an aerial vehicle to a fire and controlling a support structure (28 and 30) to direct thrust generated by the propulsion arrangement (16) towards the fire while maintaining the orientation of the airframe. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Vassa ‘538 with the method of using the produce thrust of a vehicle to suppress a fire as taught by Ward ‘105. The motivation to do so would be to put out a dangerous fire.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-10, filed 1/5/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 57 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Vassa ‘538 based on the amendments.
Conclusion
/PHILIP J BONZELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642 2/17/2026