DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Application Status
Applicant’s remarks and amendments to the claims filed June 15, 2026 are acknowledged. Claims 5 and 34 were amended. Claims 5-22, 24, 29-31, 34, 43, 53, 55-58, 67, 77-78, and 81-83 are pending.
Restriction/Election
Claims 53, 55-58, 67, and 81-83 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention or a non-elected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 5-22, 24, 29-31, 34, 43, and 77-78 are under examination hereinafter.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed provisional applications, Application Nos. 62/798,353, 62/841,169, and 62/915,764, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The prior filed provisional applications do not set forth the following ranges of SEQ ID NO: 1 which are recited in instant claim 5: “nucleobases 258-288,” “nucleobases 581-638,” or “nucleobases 728-821.” The first disclosure of these ranges is in Application No. PCT/US2020/015701, filed January 29, 2020 (see claim 5; pg. 24-25). Accordingly, the effective filing date of all claims under examination is January 29, 2020.
Withdrawn Rejections
Applicant’s remarks and amendments to the claims have been thoroughly reviewed. The amendments to claim 34 are sufficient to overcome the § 112(b) rejection raised in the prior action. The amendments to claim 5 to remove the phrase “an equal length portion of nucleobases 94-255 of SEQ ID NO: 1,” is sufficient to overcome the grounds for rejection presented in the § 102 and § 103 rejections, and nonstatutory double patenting rejections, raised in the prior action. Each of the aforementioned rejections relied upon SEQ ID NO: 19 of Dobie, which is complementary to nucleobases 141-160 of SEQ ID NO: 1. Dobie’s SEQ ID NO: 19 is no longer encompassed by the instant claims, and the grounds presented in the previous action are no longer applicable to the amended claims. Each of the aforementioned rejections are withdrawn, accordingly.
Applicant’s amendments and remarks have been considered, but are not sufficient to place the claims in condition for allowance for the reasons that follow. Any objection or rejection not reiterated herein has been overcome by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 - Dobie
Claims 5-8, 11, 13, 16-18, 20-22, 24, 29-31, 43, and 77-78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dobie (Dobie, US 2003/0232435 A1, 18 December 2003; of record). This is a new rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Regarding claims 5, 24, and 43, Dobie teaches an single-stranded oligomeric compound comprising a modified oligonucleotide consisting of 20 linked nucleosides, wherein the nucleobase sequence of the modified oligonucleotide is complementary to at least 8 contiguous nucleobases of an equal length portion of nucleobases 581-638 of SEQ ID NO: 1 (i.e., nucleobases 592-611) (“TTTCTTCAGCCAGTGGGCAA”, SEQ ID NO: 14; Table 1, pg. 29). See attached alignment in Appendix IV. Dobie teaches the modified oligonucleotide comprises at least one modification selected from a modified sugar and a modified internucleoside linkage ([0040]-[0052]; [0280]).
Regarding claim 6, as shown in the attached alignment in Appendix IV, the nucleobase sequence of the modified oligonucleotide is at least 80% complementary to the nucleobase sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 when measured across the entire nucleobase sequence of the modified oligonucleotide.
Regarding claims 7-8, Dobie teaches at least one nucleoside of the modified oligonucleotide is a modified nucleoside comprising a modified sugar moiety ([0047]-[0049]; [0280]).
Regarding claims 11 and 13, Dobie teaches at least one nucleoside of the modified oligonucleotide is a modified nucleoside comprising a non-bicyclic modified sugar, wherein the non-bicyclic modified sugar is 2’-MOE ([0047]-[0049]; [0280]).
Regarding claims 16-18, and 20, Dobie teaches each internucleoside linkage of the modified oligonucleotide is a phosphorothioate internucleoside linkage ([0040]-[0043]; [0280]).
Regarding claims 21-22, Dobie teaches the modified oligonucleotide comprises at least one modified nucleobase, wherein the modified nucleobase is a 5-methylcytosine ([0050]-[0051]; [0280]).
Regarding claim 29, the term “gapmer” is interpreted as a modified oligonucleotide comprising an internal region have a plurality of nucleosides that support RNase H cleavage, positioned between external regions having one or more nucleosides, wherein at least one nucleoside of each of the external regions is chemically distinct from at least one of the internal region nucleosides (pg. 6, lines 1-4). Dobie teaches the modified oligonucleotide is a gapmer (“All compounds in Table 1 are chimeric oligonucleotides ("gapmers") 20 nucleotides in length, composed of a central "gap" region consisting of ten 2'-deoxynucleotides, which is flanked on both sides (5' and 3' directions) by five-nucleotide "wings". The wings are composed of 2'-methoxyethyl (2'MOE) nucleotides,” [0280]; [0054]-[0055]; [0229]).
Regarding claims 30-31, Dobie teaches the oligomeric compound has a sugar motif comprising a 5’ region and 3’ region, each consisting of 1-6 linked nucleosides comprising a modified sugar moiety (“flanked on both sides (5' and 3' directions) by five-nucleotide "wings". The wings are composed of 2'-methoxyethyl (2'MOE) nucleotides”), and a central region consisting of 6-10 linked nucleosides, wherein each of the central region nucleosides comprises a 2’-β-D-deoxyribosyl sugar moiety (“composed of a central "gap" region consisting of ten 2'-deoxynucleotides”)([0280]). The 5’ and 3’ region of Dobie’s oligomeric compound each consist of 2’-MOE nucleosides, and thus, the 3’-most nucleoside of the 5’ region and 5’-most nucleoside of the 3’ region comprise modified sugar moieties. The central region of Dobie’s oligomeric compound consists of ten nucleosides, each comprising a 2’-β-D-deoxyribosyl sugar moiety (“composed of a central "gap" region consisting of ten 2'-deoxynucleotides”), and thus, the central region comprises at least six nucleosides comprising a 2’-β-D-deoxyribosyl sugar moiety, wherein no more than two nucleosides comprise a 2’-substituted sugar moiety.
Regarding claim 77, Dobie teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the oligomeric compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier or diluent ([0065]-[0072]; [0123]-[0127]).
Regarding claim 78, Dobie teaches the pharmaceutically acceptable diluent is sterile saline (“sterile aqueous solutions”, [0068]; “salt solutions”, [0127]).
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dobie (Dobie, US 2003/0232435 A1, 18 December 2003; of record) as applied to claim 5 above, as evidenced by Kurreck (Kurreck, 22 April 2008, “Chapter 1: The Role of Backbone Modifications in Oligonucleotide-Based Strategies,” Therapeutic Oligonucleotides, The Royal Society of Chemistry, pg. 1-22; of record). This is a new rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Regarding claim 34, the claim is interpreted as requiring that the modified oligonucleotide be an “antisense RNAi oligonucleotide” consisting of 17-30 nucleosides, and comprising a “targeting region” comprising at least 15 contiguous nucleobases at least 90% complementary to an equal length portion of a range of SEQ ID NO: 1 recited in the claims. The term “antisense RNAi oligonucleotide” is interpreted as “an oligonucleotide comprising a region that is complementary to a target sequence, and which includes at least one chemical modification suitable for RNAi” (pg. 9, lines 14-16). Thus, the modified oligonucleotide must comprise a nucleobase sequence at least 15 nucleobases in length, at least 90% complementary to at least 15 nucleobases of one of the recited portions of SEQ ID NO: 1, and comprise at least one chemical modification “suitable for RNAi.”
As shown in the attached alignment in Appendix IV, and as described above, the modified oligonucleotide of Dobie’s oligomeric compound comprises at least 15 contiguous nucleobases at least 90% complementary to at least 15 nucleobases of a recited portion of SEQ ID NO: 1. The oligomeric compound also comprises phosphorothioate modifications ([0280]). Kurreck teaches phosphorothioate modifications are suitable for RNAi (“The introduction of phosphorothioate linkages was among the first steps to protect siRNAs against ribonucleases. This modification was found to be very compatible with the silencing function of siRNAs”, section 1.4.1). Thus, as evidenced by Kurreck, the oligomeric compound of Dobie comprises a modified oligonucleotide which meets the limitations of instant claim 34.
Response to Remarks - § 102
Applicant’s remarks regarding the § 102 rejections raised in the prior action have been reviewed. The remarks assert that the amendments to claim 5 to remove the phrase “an equal length portion of nucleobases 94-225 of SEQ ID NO: 1” are sufficient to overcome the previous § 102 rejections. Examiner agrees that the grounds of rejection presented in the prior action, i.e., over Dobie’s SEQ ID NO: 19 which is complementary to a segment of nucleobases 141-160 of SEQ ID NO: 1, are overcome by the aforementioned amendment. However, as described above, Dobie teaches an oligonucleotide (i.e., SEQ ID NO: 14) which meets the limitations of the amended claims. The instant claims remain anticipated by the prior art for the reasons described above.
Notice to Joint Inventors
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Dobie in view of Kurreck
Claims 9-10, 12, 14-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobie (Dobie, US 2003/0232435 A1, 18 December 2003; of record) as applied to claims 5-8, 11, 13, 16-18, 20-22, 24, 29-31, 43, and 77-78, in view of Kurreck (Kurreck, 22 April 2008, “Chapter 1: The Role of Backbone Modifications in Oligonucleotide-Based Strategies,” Therapeutic Oligonucleotides, The Royal Society of Chemistry, pg. 1-22; of record). This is a new rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
The teachings of Dobie are recited above in paragraphs 7-17 and applied hereinafter as to claims 5-8, 11, 13, 16-18, 20-22, 24, 29-31, 43, and 77-78. Dobie teaches many oligomeric compounds, including at least one which meets the limitations of instant claim 5 (i.e., SEQ ID NO: 14), which successfully inhibits human amyloid beta protein precursor (APP) mRNA levels (Table 1, pg. 29-30). Dobie teaches various modifications which may be used to prepare an oligomeric compound ([0040]-[0052]; [0280]). Regarding claims 9-10, and 12, Dobie teaches bicyclic sugar moieties (“LNA”) comprising a 2’-4’ bridge wherein the 2’-4’ bridge is -O-CH2 (“Locked Nucleic Acids (LNAs) in which the 2'-hydroxyl group is linked to the 3' or 4' carbon atom of the sugar ring thereby forming a bicyclic sugar moiety. The linkage is preferably a methelyne (-CH2-)n group bridging the 2' oxygen atom and the 4' carbon atom wherein n is 1 or 2.”, [0049]). Regarding claims 14-15, Dobie teaches sugar surrogates, wherein the sugar surrogates are PNA and morpholino ([0043]; [0045]). Regarding claim 19, Dobie teaches that an oligomeric compound which is “phosphorothioated at the 5’ and 3’ ends” has been reported in the art ([0006]). Dobie also teaches “It is not necessary for all positions in a given compound to be uniformly modified, and in fact more than one of the aforementioned modifications may be incorporated in a single compound or even at a single nucleoside within an oligonucleotide” ([0054]).
Dobie teaches each of the aforementioned modifications are suitable for incorporation in the oligomeric compounds, but does not provide explicit motivation to modify the oligomeric compounds to arrive at the inventions of claims 9-10, 12, 14-15, and 19.
Regarding claims 9-10, and 12, Kurreck teaches that gapmers comprising LNA monomers in the 5’ and 3’ regions flanking a DNA center are potent inducers of RNase H cleavage (section 1.2.3). Kurreck teaches LNAs also confer high target affinity, and enhance cellular and nuclear uptake (section 1.2.3). Regarding claims 14-15, Kurreck teaches that incorporating morpholino sugar surrogates (“PMOs”) confers nuclease resistance, and may be used to inhibit translation of a target mRNA (section 1.2.3). Kurreck teaches that oligomeric compounds comprising LNA and morpholino sugar surrogates are in clinical trials (Table 1.1).
Regarding claims 9-10, 12, and 14-15, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chemical motif of the oligomeric compound of Dobie, using the modifications taught by Dobie and Kurreck, to arrive at the oligomeric compounds of instant claims 9-10, 12, and 14-15. It would have amounted to applying known chemical modifications, to a known oligomeric compound, by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the oligomeric compound because as evidenced by Kurreck and Dobie, it was well within the purview of the ordinarily skilled artisan to synthesize oligomeric compounds with a desired chemical motif applied across a desired nucleobase sequence. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to modify the oligomeric compound of Dobie, using the modifications described by Dobie and Kurreck, because Kurreck teaches that the modifications improve aspects of oligomeric compounds, e.g., target affinity, cellular uptake, and translation inhibition.
Regarding claim 19, Kurreck teaches that phosphorothioates have “several disadvantageous properties,” e.g., “reduced affinity towards complementary RNA molecules in comparison to their isosequential unmodified DNA counterpart” (section 1.2.1).
Regarding claim 19, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the backbone of the oligomeric compound of Dobie, using the guidance of Dobie and Kurreck, to arrive at the oligomeric compound of claim 19. It would have amounted to removing a known backbone modification of at least one nucleoside, in a known oligomeric compound, by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the oligomeric compound because as evidenced by Kurreck and Dobie, it was well within the purview of the ordinarily skilled artisan to synthesize oligomeric compounds with a desired chemical motif applied across a desired nucleobase sequence, and because Dobie teaches an oligomeric compound targeting APP and comprising phosphorothioate end regions (rather than a fully phosphorothioate backbone) is reported in the art. Because Kurreck teaches that phosphorothioates reduce an oligomeric compound’s affinity for a target RNA, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to modify the oligomeric compound of Dobie by removing at least one phosphorothioate modification with a reasonable expectation that doing so would improve the target affinity of the oligomeric compound.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Monia in view of Dobie
Claims 5-8, 11, 13, 16-18, 20-22, 24, 29-31, 43, and 77-78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monia (Monia et al., US 6,177,246 B1, 23 January 2001; of record), in view of Dobie (Dobie, US 2003/0232435 A1, 18 December 2003; of record). This is a new rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Monia teaches “A method of modulating abnormal expression of a gene encoding beta-amyloid precursor protein comprising contacting a tissue or cell comprising said gene with an oligonucleotide comprising from 8 to 50 nucleotides specifically hybridizable with a nucleic acid encoding an abnormally expressed beta-amyloid precursor protein, wherein said oligonucleotide comprises a nucleotide sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO: 4, SEQ ID NO: 5, SEQ ID NO:6, SEQ ID NO:7, SEQ ID NO:8, SEQ ID NO:9, SEQ ID NO:10, SEQ ID NO:11, SEQ ID NO:12, SEQ ID NO:13, SEQ ID NO:14, SEQ ID NO:15, SEQ ID NO:20, SEQ ID NO:21, SEQ ID NO:22, SEQ ID NO:23, SEQ ID NO:28, SEQ ID NO:29, SEQ ID NO:30, SEQ ID NO:31, SEQ ID NO:32, SEQ ID NO:33, SEQ ID NO:34, SEQ ID NO:35, SEQ ID NO:44, SEQ ID NO:45, SEQ ID NO:46, SEQ ID NO:47, SEQ ID NO:48, SEQ ID NO:49, SEQ ID NO:50, and SEQ ID NO:51” (see claim 1, cols. 43-44).
As shown in the alignments of record in Appendix II, each of the SEQ ID NOs recited in Monia target a region of the APP mRNA encoded by instant SEQ ID NO: 1. However, none of Monia’s SEQ ID NOs target one of the ranges of SEQ ID NO: 1 recited in instant claim 5.
The teachings of Dobie are recited above in paragraphs 7-17 and applied hereinafter as to claims 5-8, 11, 13, 16-18, 20-22, 24, 29-31, 43, and 77-78.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the oligonucleotide used in Monia’s method, with the oligonucleotide of Dobie, which meets the limitations of instant claims 5-8, 11, 13, 16-18, 20-22, 24, 29-31, and 43. It would have amounted to substituting a known oligonucleotide specifically hybridizable with a nucleic acid encoding abnormally expressed beta-amyloid precursor protein, for another known oligonucleotide for the same purpose, as evidenced by Dobie. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in substituting the oligonucleotides because Dobie teaches that the oligonucleotide successfully modulates the expression of APP (see Table 1, pg. 29). The skilled artisan would have been motivated to substitute the oligonucleotides because Dobie and Monia both teach a substantially identical method, and Dobie teaches an additional oligonucleotide which is functional in such a method.
Regarding instant claims 77-78, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have contacted the tissue or cell in Monia’s method with the oligonucleotide of Dobie in a pharmaceutical composition that meets the limitations of instant claims 77-78. It would have amounted to a simple combination of a known oligonucleotide with known elements of a pharmaceutical composition, by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the oligonucleotide of Dobie in a pharmaceutical composition and contact the tissue/cell of Monia’s method, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Dobie teaches elements of such pharmaceutical compositions, and the skilled artisan would know that pharmaceutical compositions are suitable for delivering oligonucleotides to tissues and cells.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monia (Monia et al., US 6,177,246 B1, 23 January 2001; of record) and Dobie (Dobie, US 2003/0232435 A1, 18 December 2003; of record), as evidenced by Kurreck (Kurreck, 22 April 2008, “Chapter 1: The Role of Backbone Modifications in Oligonucleotide-Based Strategies,” Therapeutic Oligonucleotides, The Royal Society of Chemistry, pg. 1-22; of record). This is a new rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
As described above in paragraph 19, the modified oligonucleotide of Dobie meets the limitations of claim 34 as evidenced by Kurreck.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Monia and Dobie in view of Kurreck
Claims 9-10, 12, 14-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monia (Monia et al., US 6,177,246 B1, 23 January 2001; of record) and Dobie (Dobie, US 2003/0232435 A1, 18 December 2003; of record) as applied to claims 5-8, 11, 13, 16-18, 20-22, 24, 29-31, 43, and 77-78 above, in further view of Kurreck (Kurreck, 22 April 2008, “Chapter 1: The Role of Backbone Modifications in Oligonucleotide-Based Strategies,” Therapeutic Oligonucleotides, The Royal Society of Chemistry, pg. 1-22; of record). This is a new rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
The teachings of Monia and Dobie are recited directly above and applied hereinafter. The teachings of Dobie and Kurreck are recited in paragraphs 22-26 above and applied as to claims 9-10, 12, 14-15, and 19 hereinafter.
Monia and Dobie teach many modifications which are suitable for incorporation in the oligomeric compounds, but do not provide explicit motivation to modify the oligomeric compounds to arrive at the inventions of instant claims 9-10, 12, 14-15, and 19.
The obviousness of modifying the oligonucleotide of Dobie to meet the limitations of instant claims 9-10, 12, 14-15, and 19 in view of Kurreck are recited above in paragraphs 25-26 and applied hereinafter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Rigo in view of Dobie
Claims 5-8, 11, 13, 16-18, 20-22, 24, 29-31, 43, and 77-78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rigo (Rigo et al., US 11,732,260 B2, effectively filed 2 March 2018; of record), in view of Dobie (Dobie, US 2003/0232435 A1, 18 December 2003; of record). This is a new rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
The applied reference has a common Applicant (i.e., Ionis Pharmaceuticals, Inc.) with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Rigo teaches “A method of decreasing expression of amyloid β in a cell, comprising contacting the cell with a modified oligonucleotide according to claim 2.” Rigo also teaches “A method of decreasing expression of amyloid β in a cell, comprising contacting the cell with a modified oligonucleotide according to claim 1.” See claims 21 and 39, cols. 39-40.
As shown in the alignments of record in Appendix II, the range of target nucleotides and the SEQ ID NOs recited in Rigo fail to overlap with any regions of the APP mRNA encoded by instant SEQ ID NO: 1 which are recited in instant claim 5. Thus, Rigo does not appear to teach a modified oligonucleotide that targets one of the instant ranges recited in SEQ ID NO: 1.
The teachings of Dobie are recited above in paragraphs 7-17 and applied hereinafter as to claims 5-8, 11, 13, 16-18, 20-22, 24, 29-31, 43, and 77-78.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the oligonucleotide of in the method of Rigo, with the oligonucleotide of Dobie, which meets the limitations of instant claims 5-8, 11, 13, 16-18, 20-22, 24, 29-31, and 43. It would have amounted to substituting a known modified oligonucleotide targeting amyloid β expression, for another known oligonucleotide for the same purpose as evidenced by Dobie. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in substituting the oligonucleotides because Dobie teaches that the oligonucleotide successfully modulates the expression of APP, which encodes amyloid β (see Table 1, pg. 29). The skilled artisan would have been motivated to substitute the oligonucleotides because Dobie and Rigo both teach a substantially identical methods, and Dobie teaches an additional oligonucleotide which is functional in such a method.
Regarding instant claims 77-78, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have contacted the cell in Rigo’s method with the oligonucleotide of Dobie in a pharmaceutical composition that meets the limitations of instant claims 77-78. It would have amounted to a simple combination of a known oligonucleotide with known elements of a pharmaceutical composition, by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the oligonucleotide of Dobie in a pharmaceutical composition and contact the cell of Rigo’s method, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Dobie teaches elements of such pharmaceutical compositions, and the skilled artisan would know that pharmaceutical compositions are suitable for delivering oligonucleotides to cells.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rigo (Rigo et al., US 11,732,260 B2, effectively filed 2 March 2018; of record) and Dobie (Dobie, US 2003/0232435 A1, 18 December 2003; of record), as evidenced by Kurreck (Kurreck, 22 April 2008, “Chapter 1: The Role of Backbone Modifications in Oligonucleotide-Based Strategies,” Therapeutic Oligonucleotides, The Royal Society of Chemistry, pg. 1-22; of record). This is a new rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
As described above in paragraph 19, the modified oligonucleotide of Dobie meets the limitations of claim 34 as evidenced by Kurreck.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Rigo and Dobie in view of Kurreck
Claims 9-10, 12, 14-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rigo (Rigo et al., US 11,732,260 B2, effectively filed 2 March 2018; of record) and Dobie (Dobie, US 2003/0232435 A1, 18 December 2003; of record) as applied to claims 5-8, 11, 13, 16-18, 20-22, 24, 29-31, 43, and 77-78 above, in further view of Kurreck (Kurreck, 22 April 2008, “Chapter 1: The Role of Backbone Modifications in Oligonucleotide-Based Strategies,” Therapeutic Oligonucleotides, The Royal Society of Chemistry, pg. 1-22; of record). This is a new rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
The teachings of Rigo and Dobie are recited directly above and applied hereinafter. The teachings of Dobie and Kurreck are recited in paragraphs 22-26 above and applied as to claims 9-10, 12, 14-15, and 19 hereinafter.
Rigo and Dobie teach many modifications which are suitable for incorporation in the oligomeric compounds, but do not provide explicit motivation to modify the oligomeric compounds to arrive at the inventions of claims 9-10, 12, 14-15, and 19.
The obviousness of modifying the oligonucleotide of Dobie to meet the limitations of instant claims 9-10, 12, 14-15, and 19 in view of Kurreck are recited above in paragraphs 25-26 and applied hereinafter.
Response to Remarks - § 103
Applicant’s remarks regarding the § 103 rejections raised in the prior action have been reviewed. The remarks assert that the amendments to claim 5 to remove the phrase “an equal length portion of nucleobases 94-225 of SEQ ID NO: 1” are sufficient to overcome the previous rejections. Examiner agrees that the grounds of rejection presented in the prior action, i.e., over Dobie’s SEQ ID NO: 19 which is complementary to a segment of nucleobases 141-160 of SEQ ID NO: 1, are overcome by the aforementioned amendment. However, as described above, Dobie teaches an oligonucleotide (i.e., SEQ ID NO: 14) which meets the limitations of the amended claims. The instant claims remain obvious over the prior art for the reasons described above.
Double Patenting
U.S. Patent No. 6,177,246
Claims 5-8, 11, 13, 16-18, 20-22, 24, 29-31, 43, and 77-78 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 6,177,246 in view of Dobie (Dobie, US 2003/0232435 A1, 18 December 2003; of record). This is a new rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Patented claim 1 recites “A method of modulating abnormal expression of a gene encoding beta-amyloid precursor protein comprising contacting a tissue or cell comprising said gene with an oligonucleotide comprising from 8 to 50 nucleotides specifically hybridizable with a nucleic acid encoding an abnormally expressed beta-amyloid precursor protein, wherein said oligonucleotide comprises a nucleotide sequence selected from the group consisting of SEQ ID NO: 4, SEQ ID NO: 5, SEQ ID NO:6, SEQ ID NO:7, SEQ ID NO:8, SEQ ID NO:9, SEQ ID NO:10, SEQ ID NO:11, SEQ ID NO:12, SEQ ID NO:13, SEQ ID NO:14, SEQ ID NO:15, SEQ ID NO:20, SEQ ID NO:21, SEQ ID NO:22, SEQ ID NO:23, SEQ ID NO:28, SEQ ID NO:29, SEQ ID NO:30, SEQ ID NO:31, SEQ ID NO:32, SEQ ID NO:33, SEQ ID NO:34, SEQ ID NO:35, SEQ ID NO:44, SEQ ID NO:45, SEQ ID NO:46, SEQ ID NO:47, SEQ ID NO:48, SEQ ID NO:49, SEQ ID NO:50, and SEQ ID NO:51.”
As shown in the alignments of record in Appendix II, each of the SEQ ID NOs recited in the patented claims target a region of the APP mRNA encoded by instant SEQ ID NO: 1. However, none of the patented SEQ ID NOs target one of the ranges of SEQ ID NO: 1 recited in instant claim 5.
The teachings of Dobie are recited above in paragraphs 7-17 and applied hereinafter as to claims 5-8, 11, 13, 16-18, 20-22, 24, 29-31, 43, and 77-78.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the oligonucleotide in the patented method, with the oligonucleotide of Dobie, which meets the limitations of instant claims 5-8, 11, 13, 16-18, 20-22, 24, 29-31, and 43. It would have amounted to substituting a known oligonucleotide specifically hybridizable with a nucleic acid encoding abnormally expressed beta-amyloid precursor protein, for another known oligonucleotide for the same purpose as evidenced by Dobie. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in substituting the oligonucleotides because Dobie teaches that the oligonucleotide successfully modulates the expression of APP (see Table 1, pg. 29). The skilled artisan would have been motivated to substitute the oligonucleotides because Dobie and the patented claims both teach a substantially identical method, and Dobie teaches an additional oligonucleotide which is functional in such a method.
Regarding instant claims 77-78, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have contacted the tissue or cell in the patented methods with the oligonucleotide of Dobie in a pharmaceutical composition that meets limitations of instant claims 77-78. It would have amounted to a simple combination of a known oligonucleotide with known elements of a pharmaceutical composition, by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the oligonucleotide of Dobie in a pharmaceutical composition and contact the tissue/cell of the patented method, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Dobie teaches elements of such pharmaceutical compositions, and the skilled artisan would know that pharmaceutical compositions are suitable for delivering oligonucleotides to tissues or cells.
Claim 34 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 6,177,246 in view of Dobie (Dobie, US 2003/0232435 A1, 18 December 2003; of record) as evidenced by Kurreck (Kurreck, 22 April 2008, “Chapter 1: The Role of Backbone Modifications in Oligonucleotide-Based Strategies,” Therapeutic Oligonucleotides, The Royal Society of Chemistry, pg. 1-22; of record). This is a new rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
As described above in paragraph 19, the modified oligonucleotide of Dobie meets the limitations of claim 34 as evidenced by Kurreck.
Claims 9-10, 12, 14-15, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 6,177,246 in view of Dobie (Dobie, US 2003/0232435 A1, 18 December 2003; of record) and Kurreck (Kurreck, 22 April 2008, “Chapter 1: The Role of Backbone Modifications in Oligonucleotide-Based Strategies,” Therapeutic Oligonucleotides, The Royal Society of Chemistry, pg. 1-22; of record). This is a new rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
The teachings of Dobie and Kurreck are recited above in paragraphs 22-26 and applied hereinafter as to claims 9-10, 12, 14-15, and 19. The obviousness of modifying the oligonucleotide of Dobie to meet the limitations of instant claims 9-10, 12, 14-15, and 19 are recited above in paragraphs 25-26 and applied hereinafter.
U.S. Patent No. 11,732,260 B2
Claims 5-8, 11, 13, 16-18, 20-22, 24, 29-31, 43, and 77-78 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21 and 39 of U.S. Patent No. 11,732,260 B2 in view of Dobie (Dobie, US 2003/0232435 A1, 18 December 2003; of record). This is a new rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Patented claim 21 recites “A method of decreasing expression of amyloid β in a cell, comprising contacting the cell with a modified oligonucleotide according to claim 2.”
Patented claim 39 recites “A method of decreasing expression of amyloid β in a cell, comprising contacting the cell with a modified oligonucleotide according to claim 1.”
The range of target nucleotides recited in patented claim 1, and the SEQ ID NOs recited in patented claim 2, fail to overlap with any regions of the APP mRNA encoded by instant SEQ ID NO: 1 which are recited in instant claim 5. Thus, neither the patented modified oligonucleotide of claims 1 or 2 target one of the ranges recited in SEQ ID NO: 1.
The teachings of Dobie are recited above in paragraphs 7-17 and applied hereinafter as to claims 5-8, 11, 13, 16-18, 20-22, 24, 29-31, 43, and 77-78.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the oligonucleotide of the patented method, with the oligonucleotide of Dobie, which meets the limitations of instant claims 5-8, 11, 13, 16-18, 20-22, 24, 29-31, and 43. It would have amounted to substituting a known modified oligonucleotide targeting amyloid β expression, for another known oligonucleotide for the same purpose as evidenced by Dobie. The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in substituting the oligonucleotides because Dobie teaches that the oligonucleotide successfully modulates the expression of APP, which encodes amyloid β (see Table 1, pg. 29). The skilled artisan would have been motivated to substitute the oligonucleotides because Dobie and the patented claims both teach a substantially identical method, and Dobie teaches an additional oligonucleotide which is functional in such a method.
Regarding instant claims 77-78, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have contacted the cell in the patented method with the oligonucleotide of Dobie in a pharmaceutical composition that meets the limitations of instant claims 77-78. It would have amounted to a simple combination of a known oligonucleotide with known elements of a pharmaceutical composition, by known means to yield predictable results. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to combine the oligonucleotide of Dobie in a pharmaceutical composition and contact the cell of the patented method, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Dobie teaches elements of such pharmaceutical compositions, and the skilled artisan would know that pharmaceutical compositions are suitable for delivering oligonucleotides to cells.
Claim 34 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21 and 39 of U.S. Patent No. 11,732,260 B2 in view of Dobie (Dobie, US 2003/0232435 A1, 18 December 2003; of record) as evidenced by Kurreck (Kurreck, 22 April 2008, “Chapter 1: The Role of Backbone Modifications in Oligonucleotide-Based Strategies,” Therapeutic Oligonucleotides, The Royal Society of Chemistry, pg. 1-22; of record). This is a new rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
As described above in paragraph 19, the modified oligonucleotide of Dobie meets the limitations of claim 34 as evidenced by Kurreck.
Claims 9-10, 12, 14-15, and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21 and 39 of U.S. Patent No. 11,732,260 B2 in view of Dobie (Dobie, US 2003/0232435 A1, 18 December 2003; of record) and Kurreck (Kurreck, 22 April 2008, “Chapter 1: The Role of Backbone Modifications in Oligonucleotide-Based Strategies,” Therapeutic Oligonucleotides, The Royal Society of Chemistry, pg. 1-22; of record). This is a new rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
The teachings of Dobie and Kurreck are recited above in paragraphs 22-26 and applied hereinafter as to claims 9-10, 12, 14-15, and 19. The obviousness of modifying the oligonucleotide of Dobie to meet the limitations of instant claims 9-10, 12, 14-15, and 19 are recited above in paragraphs 25-26 and applied hereinafter.
Application No. 19/262,989
Claims 5-22, 24, 29-31, 34, 43, and 77-78 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3, 6-49, and 68-79 of co-pending Application No. 19/262,989 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the reasons that follow. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. This is a new rejection.
Co-pending claim 3 recites “An oligomeric compound comprising a modified oligonucleotide consisting of 12 to 30 linked nucleosides, wherein the nucleobase sequence of the modified oligonucleotide comprises at least 12, at least 13, at least 14,at least 15, at least 16, at least 17, at least 18, at least 19, or 20 contiguous nucleobases of any of the nucleobase sequences of SEQ ID NOS: 30-2542 or 2573-3057; wherein the modified oligonucleotide comprises at least one modification selected from a modified sugar moiety and a modified internucleoside linkage.”
Co-pending SEQ ID NO: 235 encompassed by co-pending claim 3 is a single-stranded oligomeric compound 20-nucleotides in length and 100% complementary to nucleobases 600-619 of instant SEQ ID NO: 1. See attached alignment in Appendix V. Co-pending claim 3, therefore, anticipates instant claims 5-6, 24, and 43.
Co-pending claims 7-15, 17-19, 21-22, 25-26, and 30-36 anticipate instant claims 7-22, and 29-31. Co-pending claim 68 anticipates instant claim 34. Co-pending claims 76-77 anticipates instant claims 77-78.
Response to Remarks - Double Patenting
Applicant’s remarks regarding the nonstatutory double patenting rejections raised in the prior action have been reviewed. The remarks assert that the amendments to claim 5 to remove the phrase “an equal length portion of nucleobases 94-225 of SEQ ID NO: 1” are sufficient to overcome the previous rejections. Examiner agrees that the grounds of rejection presented in the prior action, i.e., over Dobie’s SEQ ID NO: 19 which is complementary to a segment of nucleobases 141-160 of SEQ ID NO: 1, are overcome by the aforementioned amendment. However, as described above, Dobie teaches an oligonucleotide (i.e., SEQ ID NO: 14) which meets the limitations of the amended claims. The instant claims are not patentably distinct from the patented or co-pending claims in view of the prior art, and the claims are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/JENNA L PERSONS/Examiner, Art Unit 1637
/Soren Harward/Primary Examiner, TC 1600