DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as amended/presented in the response received 01/12/2026, is as follows:
- Claims 1-12, 14-15 and 19-21 are pending.
- Claims 1-12, 14-15 and 19-21 have been amended.
- Claims 13 and 16-18 have been canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/17/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12, 14-15 and 19-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12, 14-15 and 19-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 13, the recitation “at said other common carrier” lacks proper antecedent basis. It appears the recitation was meant to refer to the mechanic carrier substrate introduced in line 2. For the purpose of examination, the examiner considers the recitation:
- at said mechanic carrier substrate
In claim 6, line 3, the recitation “a component” appears to refer to the “high current component” introduced in claim 1. For the purpose of examination, the examiner considers the recitation:
- the high current component
Claims 2-12, 14-15 and 19-21 are also rejected as they inherit the deficiencies noted above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the US Patent Application Publication PGPub 20060181264 by Catona et al. (Catona hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, Catona teaches in Figure 2a-2c, a system comprising a high current component (16), a mechanic carrier substrate (2) used for a high current circuitry said component and said mechanic carrier substrate being designed for currents above 16 A (see paragraph 0022, line 4), and a device (1) comprising functional electronics (10+11+5+13) configured to be used with said high current component, wherein said high current component (16) is electrically and mechanically connected to a said mechanic carrier substrate used for a high current circuitry (as shown in Figure 2a) wherein
said device comprising functional electronics is provided with electronic parts (hall sensor 10 and electronics 11), said electronic parts configured for measuring properties of either an electric current flowing through said high current component, or an electric voltage applied to said high current component, or for carrying out another electronic functionality (current sensing, see paragraph 0016); and wherein said device comprising functional electronics is held at said mechanic carrier substrate (2) carrying said device comprising functional electronics and said high current component.
As to claim 2, Catona shows in Figure 2a, said device (1) comprising functional electronics is configured to be integrated into the high current component (as shown in Figure 2b, the device is mounted on top of the high current component and integrated into an integrated device).
As to claim 3, Catona shows in Figure 2a, a housing (epoCatona 3) or a carrier material (15) configured to be modular stuck onto the high current component or fixed to the high current component (6).
As to claim 15, Catona teaches the high current component consists only of a coated or uncoated, homogeneous, electrically conductive material (conductive track 16).
As to claim 19, Catona shows in Figure 2a, a surface contact (conductive surface of terminals 16) is provided at the high current component for connecting high current lines.
As to claim 20, Catona shows in Figure 2a, (a) said device comprising functional electronics is arranged in housing (encapsulating material 3) which cannot be removed from said carrier substrate without destruction, wherein
(c) said housing is provided with further cutouts for surface contacts (4, connected to 8) for connecting high current lines which each use at least portions of the functionality of the device comprising functional electronics.
** It’s noted that (b) refers to the carrier material recited as an alternative to the recited housing. Since Catona teaches a housing (one of the alternatives), Catona anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1, 4-5 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the US Patent Application Publication PGPub 2017/0288130 by Strutz et al. (Strutz hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, Strutz teaches in Figure 4a, a system comprising a high current component (220), a mechanic carrier substrate (222) used for a high current circuitry said component and said mechanic carrier substrate being designed for currents above 16 A (current flowing though line 220, see paragraph 0014, lines 1-3), and a device (208+210a+210b+212+206) comprising functional electronics (sensing element 210a, 210b and semiconductor die 208) configured to be used with said high current component, wherein said high current component (220) is electrically and mechanically connected to a said mechanic carrier substrate (222) used for a high current circuitry (as shown in Figure 4A) wherein
said device comprising functional electronics is provided with electronic parts (parts within sensing element 210a and 210b), said electronic parts configured for measuring properties of either an electric current flowing through said high current component, or an electric voltage applied to said high current component, or for carrying out another electronic functionality (“Sensing elements 210a and 210b sense a magnetic field generated by a current passing through conductive element 220. Based on the sensed magnetic field, the current passing through conductive element 220 may be measured by semiconductor die 208”. See paragraph 0021, lines 13-19); and wherein said device comprising functional electronics is held at said mechanic carrier substrate (222) carrying said device comprising functional electronics and said high current component.
As to claim 4, Strutz shows in Figure 4a, the device (208+210a+210b+212+206) is configured to be inserted into a cavity within the high current component (cavity formed by the conductor portions 220a + 220b + 220c).
As to claim 5, Strutz shows in Figure 4A, contacts (212, 206) are provided at said device which are galvanically de-coupled (using encapsulation material 214 shown in Figure 3A ) from contacts (interpreted as portions 220a and 220b) of the high current component (220) and where signals of said device are available. (See paragraph 0021: “Encapsulation material 214 provides galvanic isolation between conductive element 220 and semiconductor die 208.”.)
As to claim 21, Strutz shows in Figure 4B, a first and second group of contacts (first group comprised of 212+206 on left of chip 208 and second group comprised of 212+206 on right of chip 208); said first group of contacts provided for contacting contacts at the printed circuit board (222), said first group of contacts being galvanically decoupled from said second group of contacts (through encapsulation material which surrounds the first and second group. See paragraph 0021: “Encapsulation material 214 provides galvanic isolation between conductive element 220 and semiconductor die 208.” ) and wherein signals for said device comprising functional electronics are available at said first group of contacts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the US Patent Application Publication PGPub 2014/0077797 by Nagao et al., (Nagao hereafter) in view of Catona.
Regarding claim 1, Nagao teaches in Figure 23A, a system comprising a high current component (10), a mechanic carrier substrate (40) used for a high current circuitry said component and said mechanic carrier substrate being designed for currents above 16 A (), and a device (20+30) comprising functional electronics (“A measuring circuit (not illustrated) for measuring an output signal of the Hall element is located at ends of the wirings formed on the substrate 40, and thus, the current flowing through the bus bar 10 can be detected based on the output.” – see paragraph 0035, last 5 lines) configured to be used with said high current component, wherein said high current component is electrically and mechanically connected to a said mechanic carrier substrate used for a high current circuitry (as shown in Figure 24A) wherein
said device comprising functional electronics is provided with electronic parts (measuring circuit, explained in paragraph 0025), said electronic parts configured for measuring properties of either an electric current flowing through said high current component, or an electric voltage applied to said high current component, or for carrying out another electronic functionality (current flowing through bar 10, see paragraph 0025); and wherein said device comprising functional electronics is held at said mechanic carrier substrate (40) carrying said device comprising functional electronics and said high current component.
The examiner notes that, Nagao doesn’t explicitly mention the high current component 10 and the mechanic carrier substrate are designed for currents above 16A. However, the use of hall effect based current sensors in environments that require such levels of currents are well known in the art. For example, Catona teaches in Figure 4, a current sensor similar to Nagao’s system, that is used in environments that demand high current flow (see paragraph 0022, line 4). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed, to scale/design the conductor 10 and/or mechanical carrier 40 so that the device can be safely used with currents above 16 Amperes. Doing so would have allowed a user to employ the system in fields that demand currents of that magnitude.
As to claim 14, Nagao teaches the high current component (10) is designed as a plug-in component element (because of its shape, the component is capable of being plugged into a receptable designed to accept it).
Claim(s) 1, 6-8 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the US Patent No. 4,070,572 by Summerhayes, in view of Nagao.
Regarding claim 1, Summerhayes teaches in Figure 1, a system comprising a high current component (100), a mechanic carrier (although not shown, the electrical components within the Transmitter are inherently held by a carrier or support that hold the components while keeping the components from shorting with each other) used for a high current circuitry said component and said mechanic carrier being designed for currents above 16 A (current flowing through the AC high voltage line 100), and a device (Transmitter + Receiver) comprising functional electronics (within the Transmitter) configured to be used with said high current component, wherein said high current component is electrically and mechanically connected to a said mechanic carrier used for a high current circuitry wherein said device comprising functional electronics is provided with electronic parts (R, LED, A103), said electronic parts configured for carrying out an electronic functionality (transmitting parameters related to current in line 100. Col. 2, lines 62-65); and wherein said device comprising functional electronics is held at said mechanic carrier carrying said device comprising functional electronics and said high current component.
As mentioned above, Summerhayes substantially teaches all of the claimed elements except for explicitly mentioning the use of a mechanical carrier is a mechanical carrier substrate. Nakao teaches in Figure 5A, a current sensor including a sensor (30) that senses current through a conductor (10) and a mechanic carrier substrate (40) connected to said sensor. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed, to apply the teaching of mechanic carrier substrates as taught by Nagao, in the device/system/method of Summerhayes, in order to effectively support the components in Summerhayes's device.
As to claim 6, Summerhayes shows in Figure 1, an optical signal generator (LED 105) which indicates the presence or absence of a state of a component (indicates the presence of current flowing through the conductor 100).
As to claim 7, Summerhayes shows in Figure 1, the optical signal generator comprises an LED (LED 105).
As to claim 8, Summerhayes shows in Figure 1, an electronic part (amplifier A 103 + LED 105) and at least one data interface (PD1) configured to configure said electronic part (See col. 3, lines 14-18: “The silicon photodiode PD 1 is connected to the inverting input terminal of the amplifier A 103 and serves to provide negative feedback which forces the output of the light-emitting diode to vary as a linear function of the input signals.”).
As to claim 9, Summerhayes shows in Figure 1, a communication interface (fiber 110 or PD1).
As to claims 10 and 11, Summerhayes shows in Figure 1, an optical communication interface (fiber 110), the communication interface (fiber 110) is bidirectional (110 is capable of transmitting optical signal both ways).
As to claims 10 and 12, Summerhayes shows in Figure 1, an optical communication interface (PD1) and further comprising an optical signal generator (LED 105) and an optical fiber (fiber 110) configured to receive optical signals from said optical signal generator for transmitting said optical signals to a processing unit (receiver).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD ISLA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 March 24, 2026