DETAILED ACTION
This Action is responsive to the Amendment filed on 01/27/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (US 2016/0056345).
Regarding claim 1, Park (see, e.g., FIG. 7a) discloses a lighting device comprising:
a multi-layer PCB stack 210, 215, 225 comprising n stack layers 210, 215, 225, wherein n>2 e.g., number of layers of 210, 215, 225 greater than 2, wherein k layers 210, 100a; 215, 100b; 225, 100c of the n stacked layers 210, 215, 225 each comprise a PCB 210, 215, 225 with a solid state light source 100a, 100b, 100c, wherein 2<k<n, e.g., number of k layers 210, 100a; 215, 100b; 225, 100c is greater than 2, wherein the solid state light sources 100a, 100b, 100c are configured to generate light source light, wherein the n layers 210, 215, 225 are shaped and stacked such that the light source light of the solid state light source 100a, 100b, 100c of any of the PCBs 210, 215, 225 is at least partly not physically blocked by any of the other PCBs 210, 215, 225 by applying a smaller PCB e.g., 225 in the n or k layer 225, 100c downstream of the k layer e.g., 210 comprising the solid state light source 100a (Para 0075-Para 0076, Para 0095-Para 0096, Para 0100);
wherein:
one or more of the k layers 215, 100b; 225, 100c configured downstream of a first light source 100a include one or more PCBs 215, 225 comprising one or more PCB holes e.g., opening in 215 (opening extending from left side lower portion to right side lower portion), opening in 225 (opening extending from left side portion to right side portion),
the PCB holes e.g., opening in 215 (opening extending from left side lower portion to right side lower portion), opening in 225 (opening extending from left side portion to right side portion), e.g., opening in 210 increase in size as the smaller PCB(s) 225 in the n or k layer 225, 100c downstream of the k layer e.g., 210, 100a comprising the solid state light source 100a are stacked,
the one or more PCB holes e.g., opening in 215 (opening extending from left side lower portion to right side lower portion), opening in 225 (opening extending from left side portion to right side portion) are configured downstream of the first light source 100a; and
luminescent material configured in an entire one or more of the PCB holes or as a separate luminescent material comprising layer e.g., 150b between two n stacked layers e.g., 210, 225 (Para 0076).
Regarding claim 2, Park (see, e.g., FIG. 7a) teaches lighting device according to claim 1, wherein one or more of the n layers 215, 225 configured downstream of a first light source 100a comprise one or more layer holes e.g., opening in 215 (opening extending from left side lower portion to right side lower portion), opening in 225 (opening extending from left side portion to right side portion), wherein the one or more layer holes e.g., opening in 215 (opening extending from left side lower portion to right side lower portion), opening in 225 (opening extending from left side portion to right side portion) are configured downstream of the first light source 100a.
Regarding claim 8, Park (see, e.g., FIG. 7a) teaches the lighting device according to claim 1, wherein each of the k layers 210, 100a; 215, 100b; 225, 100c comprise a plurality of light sources 100a, 100b, 100c (Para 0076, Para 0095, Para 0100).
Regarding claim 9, Park (see, e.g., FIG. 7a) teaches lighting device according to claim 8, wherein at least two of the k layers 215, 100b; 225, 100c each comprise a subset of light sources 100b, 100c of the respective plurality of light sources 100a, 100b, 100c, wherein the light sources 100b, 100c within each respective subset 100b, 100c are selected from a same bin e.g., same wavelength (Para 0133), and wherein the light sources of different subsets of different layers are selected from different bins.
Examiner note: Examiner notes that claim 1 provides the option of 2<k<n, where k is equal to or greater than 2. The option selected by the Examiner is k=2. Therefore, the option of k>2 does not apply to the selected option of k=2.
Regarding claim 10, Park (see, e.g., FIG. 7a) teaches lighting device according to claim 1, wherein the luminescent material 150b is configured to convert at least part of the light source light of the solid state light sources 100a, 100b, 100c configured upstream of the luminescent material 150b into luminescent material light (Para 0073, Para 0076, Para 0100).
Regarding claim 11, Park (see, e.g., FIG. 7a) teaches lighting device according to claim 10, wherein one or more of the following applies: (i) the luminescent material is comprised by the one or more PCB holes downstream of the one or more of the total number of solid state light sources, and (ii) n>2, e.g., n stack layers 210, 215, 225, and one or more of the layers 210, 215, 225 comprise the luminescent material e.g., phosphor material of 150a, 150b, 150c (Para 0073, Para 0076, Para 0100).
Regarding claim 12, Park (see, e.g., FIG. 7a) teaches lighting device according to claim 11, wherein the lighting device 200c is configured to generate lighting device light which comprises one or more (i) of the light source light of one or more of the light sources 100a, 100b, 100c and (ii) luminescent material light e.g., light emitted by 150a, 150b, 150c (Para 0073, Para 0076, Para 0095, Para 0100).
Regarding claim 13, Park (see, e.g., FIG. 7a) teaches a luminaire 200c comprising the lighting device according to claim 1 (Para 0095).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2016/0056345), in view of Lin (US 2019/0107271).
Regarding claim 4, although Park shows substantial features of the claimed invention, Park fails to expressly teach the lighting device according to claim 1, further comprising driver electronics, wherein the driver electronics are configured to control all solid-state light sources.
Lin (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches driver electronics 20, wherein the driver electronics 20 are configured to control all solid-state light sources 30 for the purpose of enabling the driver IC to control the LED chip in a most direct and shortest way (Para 0022-Para 0024, Para 0033-Para 0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the driver electronics as described by Lin to the device of Park for the purpose of enabling the driver IC to control the LED chip in a most direct and shortest way (Para 0033-Para 0034).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Park (see, e.g., FIG. 7a) / Lin (see, e.g., FIG. 1-FIG. 3) teach the lighting device according to claim 4, wherein the driver electronics 20 (as taught by Lin) are comprised by or physically coupled to one of the n stacked layers 210, 215, 225 (as taught by Park) (Park: Para 0095; Lin: Para 0033).
Regarding claim 6, Lin (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches the lighting device according to claim 4, further comprising one or more vias e.g., blind holes for functionally coupling the light sources 30 and the driver electronics 20 (Para 0022).
Regarding claim 7, Park shows substantial features of the claimed invention; however, Park fails to specify the lighting device according to claim 1, wherein the solid-state light sources comprise dies having die areas of at maximum 1 mm2. Park, on the other hand, does teach that the height of the solid-state light sources 100a, 100b, 100c may be 90 µm to 100 µm (Para 0018). Lin (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches that the area of the solid-state light sources 30 are 0.15 mm x 0.15 mm (Para 0029). However, differences in area will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such area difference is critical. “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the workable ranges by routine experimentation”. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454,456,105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Since the applicant has not established the criticality (see next paragraph) of the dies having die areas of at maximum 1 mm2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the area of the dies in the device of Park.
CRITICALITY
The specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed area of the dies or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 14, Lin (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches a lighting system comprising (i) the lighting device according to claim 4, wherein a control system 20 is configured to have the lighting device generate one or more of (a) white lighting system light e.g., monochrome light in a first controlling mode, and (b) colored system light in a second controlling mode (Para 0022, Para 0024, Para 0025, Para 0029).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
Applicant argues that the Office Action cites Park, in para. [0076] as teaching a separate luminescent material comprising layer, over the one or more solid state light sources. As provided therein, "a phosphor layer 150b is disposed on the respective light emitting elements 100b using a conformal coating method." Accordingly, Park fails to teach a "luminescent material configured in an entire one or more of the PCB holes or as a separate luminescent material comprising layer between two n stacked layers," as claimed.
Examiner responds:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The newly specified limitation provides an option of luminescent material (1) configured in an entire one or more of the PCB holes or as (2) a separate luminescent material comprising layer between two n stacked layers. Park reference teaches that luminescent material 150b is a separate luminescent material comprising layer between two n stacked layers.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTONIO B CRITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817