DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the amendment received August 27, 2026.
Bold text in the Office action indicates new language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 10-13, and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over LEINENBACH et al (6,521,390), as evidenced by KOZIMA et al (4,301,224,) MINAMIKAWA (2019/0232612), ZEIGLER (5,520,756) FAN (6,929,898), and FAN (5,719,009).
The claimed invention now recites the following:
LEINENBACH et al report an IR ablatable layer over a photopolymerizable layer where a cover layer is initially removed in a flexographic printing plate. The IR layer is noted to have a dispersant such as commercially available Solsperse 28000 which discloses a base number of 45 mgKOH/g as seen in column 7, lines 1-20 and falls within the claimed range in claim 1. The use of Solsperse is in Example 1, see below:
The claimed flexographic printing plate is anticipated by the Example in LEINENBACH et al.
With respect to claim 2, the difference between the solubility parameters of the binder polymer and the dispersant is not explicitly disclose, however the use of nitrocellulose binder [polyamide] layer in LEINENBACH et al would inherent be present due to the identical dispersant used in LEINENBACH et al and the disclosure of the same or similar binders disclosed, see Example 1 below:
Claim 3 recites carbon black which is reported in Example 1 in column 6, lines 63- column 7, line 25.
For claim 4, the Mw is inherently disclosed to meet the claimed limitation wherein the same or similar dispersant is disclosed.
Claim 5-6 is met by the Example 1. With respect to claim 7 applicants are directed to column 5, lines 37-45, for intermediate layer, see below:
Claims 10-20 is met by Example 1 explicitly or inherently for the parts of the parts by mass of the dispersant to 100 parts by mass of the infrared absorber. Example 1 discloses 1.1 parts by mass of the dispersant to 100 parts by weight of the carbon black (.025/2.3).
KOZIMA et al is cited to disclose the solubility parameter (SP) of nitrocellulose to be 10.7-11.4, see Table 2 from column 6:
MINAMIKAWA and ZEIGLER verify the SP of nitrocellulose by disclosing values in those ranges reported in KOZIMA et al, see page 6, para. [0096] in MINAMIKAWA and column 3, lines 45-50 in ZEIGLER below, respectively:
The difference between the SP values of nitrocellulose and Solsperse 28000 as seen in LEINENBACH et al would meet the claimed absolute between 0.3 and 4 (cal/cm3)1/2 .
FAN discloses a flexographic printing plates wherein the infrared ablation layer can include a number of binders, such as polymethyl methacrylate, see below:
FAN ‘009 disclose flexographic printing plates comprising at least one layer of an infrared radiation sensitive material capable of being exposed to laser ablation., col. 2, lines 29-36 below:
FAN teaches a barrier layer is interposed between the photopolymerizable layer and the infrared sensitive layer binders to minimize migration of materials between the layers and to shield the photopolymerizable layer from atmospheric oxygen. Binder that can be used in the infrared sensitive layers include nitrocellulose and styrene, butadiene , isoprene and their copolymers and block copolymers teaching the skilled artisan the functional equivalent of those binders as reported in col. 7, lines 19-27, see below:
New claim 21 is met by the values for styrene/butadiene copolymer in Table 2 of KOJIMA arriving at an absolute value of the difference between the dispersant (Solsperse 28000) and the binder if used in the Example of LEINENBACH which is in the range of 2.96-2.3.
New claims 23-26 which contains a cover film is met by LEINENBACH at col. 2, lines 30-32, see below:
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of flexographic printing plates to duplicate Examples 1 of LEINENBACH for the infrared ablation layer which comprises any of the listed binders in FAN such as styrene/butadiene copolymers as reported in FAN ‘009 formulated with SOLSPERSE 28000 wherein the difference of the SP of the styrene/butadiene resin and the SP of Solsperse 28000 would gave an absolute value of in a range of 2.96 to 2.3 (using values taken from Table 2 of KOZIMA thus meeting the claimed range of 0.3 and 4 (cal/cm3 )1/2 as well as the range recited in new claim 21 (0.3 to 2.9 (cal/cm3 )1/2 and add a coversheet as reported in LENENBACH above with the reasonable expectation of same or similar results for excellent flexibility and sensitivity.
Amended claim 1 is still met by LEINENBACH at Example 1 wherein the content of Solsperse 5000 can be substituted with equivalent Solsperse 28000 giving a total content of the dispersant at 3 parts by mass to the infrared absorber. (0.075 =0.025 g+.05 g content of dispersant with the % mass of the infrared absorber being 0.075/2.3 g = 3% by mass).
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 J. Chu
September 5, 2026