DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-10, 18, and 20-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asanuma et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0197694] in view of Park et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0302983], Ichikawa [WO 2017/195447] (to clearly show leakage and magnetic flux flow), Bae [WO 2018/004130] (to further show magnetic flux flow), and Liu et al. [CN 107146700].
Regarding Claim 1, Asanuma et al. shows a coupler for wireless power transfer (Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 with teachings from Figs. 1-6 and 12-19) based on magnetic induction (Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0162]-[0163]), the coupler comprising:
a coil (1a, 1b, 1d, and additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) having a plurality of coil portions (1a, 1b, 1d, and additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]), the plurality of coil portions comprises a first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) and a second coil portion (1a or 1d), the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) being wounded in a first direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]) and the second coil portion (1a or 1d) being wounded in a second direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]) and the first direction being opposite to the second direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]), wherein
the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) is accommodated within the second coil portion (1a or 1d) and an area defined by the first coil portion is a first area (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19),
the second coil portion (1a) comprises a plurality of second loops (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19) and confines a second area each of the plurality of second loops being a complete loop (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, element 1a have plurality of loops and confines a second area each of the plurality of second loops being a complete loop),
the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) via the first area and then return into the second coil portion (1a or 1d) via the second area (as of limitation "the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area", it is seen that the Asanuma et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area; the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through element 1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111], via the first area and then return into element 1a or 1d via the second area based on similar structure from the claim limitations),
the first coil portion (1b) comprises a plurality of first loops (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19), the plurality of first loops are wounded in the first direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]) and the plurality of second loops (loops of element 1a) are wounded in the second direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]),
the first coil portion (1b) forms the magnetic flux for power transfer (Paragraph [0066]), and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion (1a) is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage (as of limitation "the first coil portion forms the magnetic flux for power transfer, and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage", it is seen that the Asanuma et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as the first coil portion forms the magnetic flux for power transfer, and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage),
the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) flows through the first area and flows into the second area (as of limitation "the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area", it is seen that the Asanuma et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area; the magnetic flux generated by element 1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111], flows through the first area and flows into the second area based on similar structure from the claim limitations).
Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 2 or 33 does not explicitly disclose the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire.
However, Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 31 discloses the first coil portion (1b) and the second coil portion (1a) are integrally formed by a continuous wire (see Fig. 31, Paragraph [0102]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire as taught by Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 31 for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 2 or 33 to simplify design of the configuration of the coils to reduce manufacture steps and costs (Paragraph [0102]).
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art to simplify design to reduce manufacture steps and costs. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993).
Asanuma et al. does not explicitly show a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20.
Park et al. shows a wireless power transmission system (Figs. 5-6) teaching and suggesting a ratio of the first area (first area is π*5.52 which is π*30.25 cm2) to the second area (second area is π*6.52 which is π*42.25 cm2) is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 (the ratio of first area to the second area is π*30.25/π*42.25 which result in 0.716 which falls into the range of 30:70 [0.428] and 80:20 [4.0], as of limitation "a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage", it is seen that the Park et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 as taught by Park et al. for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. to achieve electrically uniform mutual inductance (Paragraph [0079]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art to achieve electrically uniform mutual inductance. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
To clearly show leakage and magnetic flux flow, Ichikawa shows a power coil (Figs. 2-5) teaching and suggesting the coil (11, 12a or 12b) generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion (11) via the first area (inner area) and then return into the second coil portion (12a or 12b) via the second area (outer area, see Fig. 5, see English translation), the first coil portion (11) comprises a plurality of first loops (see Figs. 2-5), the plurality of first loops are wounded in the first direction (see Figs. 2-5, see English translation) and the plurality of second loops (loops of element 12a or 12b) are wounded in the second direction (see Figs. 2-5, see English translation), the first coil portion (11) forms the magnetic flux for power transfer (transmits power, see English translation), and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion (12a or 12b) is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage (element 12a or 12b is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage, see English translation), the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion (11) flows through the first area (inner area) and flows into the second area (outer area, see Fig. 5, see English translation).
Ichikawa also shows a ratio of the first area (first area is π*2.52 which is π*6.25 cm2) to the second area (second area is π*3.52 which is π*12.25 cm2) is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage (see English translation), the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 (the ratio of first area to the second area is π*6.25/π*12.25 which result in 0.51 which falls into the range of 30:70 [0.428] and 80:20 [4.0], see English translation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area, the first coil portion comprises a plurality of first loops, the plurality of first loops are wounded in the first direction and the plurality of second loops are wounded in the second direction, the first coil portion forms the magnetic flux for power transfer, and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage, the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area and a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 as taught by Ichikawa for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Park et al. to suppress magnetic leakage in order to increase power transmission efficiency (see English translation).
To further show magnetic flux flow, Bae shows a wireless power transmission coil (Figs. 9-10) teaching and suggesting a coupler for wireless power transfer (Abstract, see English translation), a coil configured for wireless power transfer based on magnetic induction (see English translation), the coil (920, 910 or 1020, 1010) generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion (920 or 1020) via the first area (inner area) and then return into the second coil portion (910 or 1010) via the second area (see Figs. 9-10, elements 920, 910 or 1020, 1010 generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through element 920 or 1020 via the first area and then return into element 910 or 1010 via the second area), the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion (920 or 1020) flows through the first area (inner area) and flows into the second area (see Figs. 9-10, a magnetic flux generated by element 920 or 1020 flows through the first area and into the second area).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area, the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area as taught by Bae for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Park et al. and Ichikawa to perform smoothly wireless power transfer and effectively arranged to transmit uniform power (see English translation).
Furthermore, Liu et al. shows the first coil portion (first inner coil of element 2 or element 10) and the second coil portion (outer coil of element 2 or element 9) are integrally formed by a continuous wire (element 2 made of a single metal wire, see Fig. 1 or 4, see English translation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire as taught by Liu et al. for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Park et al., Ichikawa, and Bae to simplify design to reduce manufacture steps and costs which realizing uniform magnetic field distribution (Abstract, Advantage).
Regarding Claim 4, Asanuma et al. shows the coil is configured to have a planar spiral configuration (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, element 1a, 1b, 1d have a planar spiral configuration).
Regarding Claim 5, Asanuma et al. shows the first coil portion (1b) and the second coil portion (1a) are each configured to have a unipolar coil configuration (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraph [0068], element 1b and element 1a each configured to have a unipolar coil configuration), and the coil (1a, 1b, 1d) has a multi-polar coil configuration (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraph [0068], elements 1a, 1b, 1d combined has a multi-polar coil configuration).
Bae shows the first coil portion (920 or 1020) and the second coil portion (910 or 1010) are each configured to have a unipolar coil configuration (see Figs. 9-10, element 920 or 1020 and element 910 or 1010 each configured to have a unipolar coil configuration), and the coil (920, 910 or 1020, 1010) has a multi-polar coil configuration (see Figs. 9-10, elements 920, 910 or 1020, 1010 combined has a multi-polar coil configuration).
Regarding Claim 6, Asanuma et al. shows the first coil portion (additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) and the second coil portion (1d) together form a first anti-directional coil section (see Figs. 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111] and element 1d together form a first anti-directional coil section), and the coil further comprises one or more additional anti-directional coil sections (see Fig. 33, element 1b, 1a), each additional anti-directional coil section comprising a third coil portion (1b) and a fourth coil portion (1a) wound in opposite directions (Paragraphs [0068], [0110]-[0111]), wherein the third coil portion (1b) is nested within the fourth coil portion (1a, see Fig. 33).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have each additional anti-directional coil section comprising a third coil portion and a fourth coil portion wound in opposite directions, wherein the third coil portion is nested within the fourth coil portion, by repeating the steps of forming the first anti-directional coil section, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art to finely adjust operating characteristics to achieve stable power transmission with sufficiently high transmission efficiency (Paragraphs [0110], [0114]). St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
Liu et al. shows the first coil portion (10) and the second coil portion (9) together form a first anti-directional coil section (see Fig. 4), and the coil further comprises one or more additional anti-directional coil sections (8, 7), each additional anti-directional coil section comprising a third coil portion (8) and a fourth coil portion (7) wound in opposite directions (see Fig. 4, see English translation), wherein the third coil portion is nested within the fourth coil portion (see Fig. 4) in order to achieve better uniform distribution and effectively improving the magnetic field uniformity of the new charging plane (see English translation).
In addition, Park et al. shows the first coil portion (N4) and the second coil portion (two coils of N3) together form a first anti-directional coil section (see Fig. 5), and the coil further comprises one or more additional anti-directional coil sections (third coil of N3 and N2, Paragraph [0082]), each additional anti-directional coil section comprising a third coil portion (third coil of N3, Paragraph [0082]) and a fourth coil portion (N2) wound in opposite directions (see Fig. 5, Paragraph [0082]), wherein the third coil portion is nested within the fourth coil portion (see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 7, Asanuma et al. shows the first anti-directional coil section is nested within the one or more additional anti-directional coil sections (see Fig. 33, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]).
Liu et al. shows the first anti-directional coil section is nested within the one or more additional anti-directional coil sections (see Fig. 4).
Park et al. shows the first anti-directional coil section is nested within the one or more additional anti-directional coil sections (see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 8, Asanuma et al. shows the coil (1a, 1b, 1d) is configured as one continuous winding (see Figs. 2, 31, 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, elements 1a, 1b, 1d is configured as one continuous winding).
Bae shows the coil (920, 910 or 1020, 1010) is configured as one continuous winding (see Figs. 9-10, elements 920, 910 or 1020, 1010 is configured as one continuous winding).
Liu et al. shows the coil (see Figs. 1 or 4) is configured as one continuous winding (see Figs. 1 or 4).
Regarding Claim 9, Asanuma et al. shows the coil (31-1 of Fig. 34 or 1a, 1b of Fig. 13) forms a first coil cell (see Fig. 34 or Fig. 13), and wherein the coupler further comprises one or more additional coil cells (31-2 of Fig. 34 or 2a, 2b of Fig. 13) connected to the first coil cell (see Fig. 34 or Fig. 13), each additional coil cell comprising a second coil (31-2 of Fig. 34 or 2a, 2b of Fig. 13) configured for wireless power transfer based on magnetic induction (see Fig. 34 or Fig. 13, Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0112], [0162]-[0163]), the second coil comprising a plurality of coil portions comprising a fifth coil portion (inner coil of element 31-2 of Fig. 34 or element 2b of Fig. 13) and a sixth coil portion (outer coil of element 31-2 of Fig. 34 or element 2a of Fig. 13) wound in opposite directions (applying teachings from Paragraph [0068]), wherein the fifth coil portion is nested within the sixth coil portion (see Fig. 34 or Fig. 13).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the coupler further comprises one or more additional coil cells connected to the first coil cell, each additional coil cell comprising a second coil configured for wireless power transfer based on magnetic induction, the second coil comprising a plurality of coil portions comprising a fifth coil portion and a sixth coil portion wound in opposite directions, wherein the fifth coil portion is nested within the sixth coil portion, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art to achieve stable power transmission with sufficiently high transmission efficiency (Paragraph [0112]). St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
Regarding Claim 10, Asanuma et al. shows a resonance capacitor (C1, Paragraph [0103], capacitor is used to adjust resonance frequency) connected to the coil in series (see Fig. 4) or in parallel to form a resonance circuit configured for resonant inductive power transfer (as of limitation "to form a resonance circuit configured for resonant inductive power transfer", it is seen that the Asanuma et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as to form a resonance circuit configured for resonant inductive power transfer).
Regarding Claim 18, Asanuma et al. shows a method of manufacturing a coupler for wireless power transfer (Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 with teachings from Figs. 1-6 and 12-19), the method comprising:
configuring a coil (1a, 1b, 1d and additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) for wireless power transfer based on magnetic induction (Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0162]-[0163]), the coil having a plurality of coil portions (1a, 1b, 1d, and additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]), the plurality of coil portions comprises a first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) and a second coil portion (1a or 1d), the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) being wounded in a first direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]) and the second coil portion (1a or 1d) being wounded in a second direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]) and the first direction being opposite to the second direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]), wherein
the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) is accommodated within the second coil portion (1a or 1d) and an area defined by the first coil portion is a first area (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19),
the second coil portion (1a) comprises a plurality of second loops (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19) and confines a second area, each of the plurality of second loops being a complete loop (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, element 1a have plurality of loops and confines a second area each of the plurality of second loops being a complete loop),
the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) via the first area and then return into the second coil portion (1a or 1d) via the second area (as of limitation "the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area", it is seen that the Asanuma et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area; the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through element 1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111], via the first area and then return into element 1a or 1d via the second area based on similar structure from the claim limitations), and
the first coil portion (1b) comprises a plurality of first loops (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19), the plurality of first loops are wounded in the first direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]) and the plurality of second loops (loops of element 1a) are wounded in the second direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]),
the first coil portion (1b) forms the magnetic flux for power transfer (Paragraph [0066]), and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion (1a) is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage (as of limitation "the first coil portion forms the magnetic flux for power transfer, and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage", it is seen that the Asanuma et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as the first coil portion forms the magnetic flux for power transfer, and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage),
the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) flows through the first area and flows into the second area (as of limitation "the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area", it is seen that the Asanuma et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area; the magnetic flux generated by element 1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111], flows through the first area and flows into the second area based on similar structure from the claim limitations).
Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 2 or 33 does not explicitly disclose the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire.
However, Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 31 discloses the first coil portion (1b) and the second coil portion (1a) are integrally formed by a continuous wire (see Fig. 31, Paragraph [0102]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire as taught by Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 31 for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 2 or 33 to simplify design of the configuration of the coils to reduce manufacture steps and costs (Paragraph [0102]).
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art to simplify design to reduce manufacture steps and costs. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993).
Asanuma et al. does not explicitly show a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20.
Park et al. shows a wireless power transmission system (Figs. 5-6) teaching and suggesting a ratio of the first area (first area is π*5.52 which is π*30.25 cm2) to the second area (second area is π*6.52 which is π*42.25 cm2) is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 (the ratio of first area to the second area is π*30.25/π*42.25 which result in 0.716 which falls into the range of 30:70 [0.428] and 80:20 [4.0], as of limitation "a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage", it is seen that the Park et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 as taught by Park et al. for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. to achieve electrically uniform mutual inductance (Paragraph [0079]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art to achieve electrically uniform mutual inductance. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
To clearly show leakage and magnetic flux flow, Ichikawa shows a power coil (Figs. 2-5) teaching and suggesting the coil (11, 12a or 12b) generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion (11) via the first area (inner area) and then return into the second coil portion (12a or 12b) via the second area (outer area, see Fig. 5, see English translation), the first coil portion (11) comprises a plurality of first loops (see Figs. 2-5), the plurality of first loops are wounded in the first direction (see Figs. 2-5, see English translation) and the plurality of second loops (loops of element 12a or 12b) are wounded in the second direction (see Figs. 2-5, see English translation), the first coil portion (11) forms the magnetic flux for power transfer (transmits power, see English translation), and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion (12a or 12b) is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage (element 12a or 12b is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage, see English translation), the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion (11) flows through the first area (inner area) and flows into the second area (outer area, see Fig. 5, see English translation).
Ichikawa also shows a ratio of the first area (first area is π*2.52 which is π*6.25 cm2) to the second area (second area is π*3.52 which is π*12.25 cm2) is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage (see English translation), the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 (the ratio of first area to the second area is π*6.25/π*12.25 which result in 0.51 which falls into the range of 30:70 [0.428] and 80:20 [4.0], see English translation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area, the first coil portion comprises a plurality of first loops, the plurality of first loops are wounded in the first direction and the plurality of second loops are wounded in the second direction, the first coil portion forms the magnetic flux for power transfer, and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage, the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area and a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 as taught by Ichikawa for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Park et al. to suppress magnetic leakage in order to increase power transmission efficiency (see English translation).
To further show magnetic flux flow, Bae shows a wireless power transmission coil (Figs. 9-10) teaching and suggesting a coupler for wireless power transfer (Abstract, see English translation), a coil configured for wireless power transfer based on magnetic induction (see English translation), the coil (920, 910 or 1020, 1010) generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion (920 or 1020) via the first area (inner area) and then return into the second coil portion (910 or 1010) via the second area (see Figs. 9-10, elements 920, 910 or 1020, 1010 generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through element 920 or 1020 via the first area and then return into element 910 or 1010 via the second area), the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion (920 or 1020) flows through the first area (inner area) and flows into the second area (see Figs. 9-10, a magnetic flux generated by element 920 or 1020 flows through the first area and into the second area).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area, the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area as taught by Bae for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Park et al. and Ichikawa to perform smoothly wireless power transfer and effectively arranged to transmit uniform power (see English translation).
Furthermore, Liu et al. shows the first coil portion (first inner coil of element 2 or element 10) and the second coil portion (outer coil of element 2 or element 9) are integrally formed by a continuous wire (element 2 made of a single metal wire, see Fig. 1 or 4, see English translation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire as taught by Liu et al. for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Park et al., Ichikawa, and Bae to simplify design to reduce manufacture steps and costs which realizing uniform magnetic field distribution (Abstract, Advantage).
Regarding Claim 20, Asanuma et al. shows the first direction is a clockwise direction and the second direction is an anti-clockwise direction, or the first direction is an anti-clockwise direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]) and the second direction is a clockwise direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]).
Regarding Claim 21, Asanuma et al. shows the coil is configured to have a planar spiral configuration (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, element 1a, 1b, 1d have a planar spiral configuration).
Regarding Claim 22, Asanuma et al. shows the first coil portion (1b) and the second coil portion (1a) are each configured to have a unipolar coil configuration (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraph [0068], element 1b and element 1a each configured to have a unipolar coil configuration), and the coil (1a, 1b, 1d) has a multi-polar coil configuration (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraph [0068], elements 1a, 1b, 1d combined has a multi-polar coil configuration).
Bae shows the first coil portion (920 or 1020) and the second coil portion (910 or 1010) are each configured to have a unipolar coil configuration (see Figs. 9-10, element 920 or 1020 and element 910 or 1010 each configured to have a unipolar coil configuration), and the coil (920, 910 or 1020, 1010) has a multi-polar coil configuration (see Figs. 9-10, elements 920, 910 or 1020, 1010 combined has a multi-polar coil configuration).
Regarding Claim 23, Asanuma et al. shows the first coil portion (additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) and the second coil portion (1d) together form a first anti-directional coil section (see Figs. 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111] and element 1d together form a first anti-directional coil section), and said configuring the coil comprises configuring the coil to further comprise one or more additional anti-directional coil sections (see Fig. 33, element 1b, 1a), each additional anti-directional coil section comprising a third coil portion (1b) and a fourth coil portion (1a) wound in opposite directions (Paragraphs [0068], [0110]-[0111]), wherein the third coil portion (1b) is nested within the fourth coil portion (1a, see Fig. 33).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have each additional anti-directional coil section comprising a third coil portion and a fourth coil portion wound in opposite directions, wherein the third coil portion is nested within the fourth coil portion, by repeating the steps of forming the first anti-directional coil section, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art to finely adjust operating characteristics to achieve stable power transmission with sufficiently high transmission efficiency (Paragraphs [0110], [0114]). St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
Liu et al. shows the first coil portion (10) and the second coil portion (9) together form a first anti-directional coil section (see Fig. 4), and said configuring the coil comprises configuring the coil to further comprise one or more additional anti-directional coil sections (8, 7), each additional anti-directional coil section comprising a third coil portion (8) and a fourth coil portion (7) wound in opposite directions (see Fig. 4, see English translation), wherein the third coil portion is nested within the fourth coil portion (see Fig. 4) in order to achieve better uniform distribution and effectively improving the magnetic field uniformity of the new charging plane (see English translation).
In addition, Park et al. shows the first coil portion (N4) and the second coil portion (two coils of N3) together form a first anti-directional coil section (see Fig. 5), and said configuring the coil comprises configuring the coil to further comprise one or more additional anti-directional coil sections (third coil of N3 and N2, Paragraph [0082]), each additional anti-directional coil section comprising a third coil portion (third coil of N3, Paragraph [0082]) and a fourth coil portion (N2) wound in opposite directions (see Fig. 5, Paragraph [0082]), wherein the third coil portion is nested within the fourth coil portion (see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 24, Asanuma et al. shows the first anti-directional coil section is nested within the one or more additional anti-directional coil sections (see Fig. 33, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]).
Liu et al. shows the first anti-directional coil section is nested within the one or more additional anti- directional coil sections (see Fig. 4).
Park et al. shows the first anti-directional coil section is nested within the one or more additional anti- directional coil sections (see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 25, Asanuma et al. shows the coil (1a, 1b, 1d) is configured as one continuous winding (see Figs. 2, 31, 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, elements 1a, 1b, 1d is configured as one continuous winding).
Bae shows the coil (920, 910 or 1020, 1010) is configured as one continuous winding (see Figs. 9-10, elements 920, 910 or 1020, 1010 is configured as one continuous winding).
Liu et al. shows the coil (see Figs. 1 or 4) is configured as one continuous winding (see Figs. 1 or 4).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asanuma et al. in view of Park et al., Ichikawa, Bae, and Liu et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Van Den Brink et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0244176].
Regarding Claim 10, Asanuma et al. in view of Park et al., Ichikawa, Bae, and Liu et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above.
In addition, Van Den Brink et al. shows a system (Figs. 1-32) teaching and suggesting a resonance capacitor (24, 44, 124, 824, 825) connected to the coil in series (Paragraphs [0056], [0078], [0087], [0119]) or in parallel to form a resonance circuit configured for resonant inductive power transfer (see Figs. 1-32, Paragraphs [0056], [0078], [0073], [0087], [0119]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a resonance capacitor connected to the coil in series or in parallel to form a resonance circuit configured for resonant inductive power transfer as taught by Van Den Brink et al. for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Park et al., Ichikawa, Bae, and Liu et al. to achieve efficient power transmission that is stably transmitted and received; and excellent effect to reliably receive power.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asanuma et al. in view of Park et al., Ichikawa, Bae, and Liu et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Davis [U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0012966].
Regarding Claim 10, Asanuma et al. in view of Park et al., Ichikawa, Bae, and Liu et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above.
In addition, Davis shows an apparatus (Fig. 2) teaching and suggesting a resonance capacitor (204, Paragraph [0045]) connected to the coil (202) in series (see Fig. 2) or in parallel to form a resonance circuit configured for resonant inductive power transfer (see Fig. 2, Paragraph [0045]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a resonance capacitor connected to the coil in series or in parallel to form a resonance circuit configured for resonant inductive power transfer as taught by Davis for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Park et al., Ichikawa, Bae, and Liu et al. to achieve power transmission that is stably transmitted and received; and excellent effect to reliably receive power with high quality Q (Paragraphs [0046]-[0047]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asanuma et al. in view of Park et al., Ichikawa, Bae, and Liu et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chun [KR 2009-0115407].
Regarding Claim 10, Asanuma et al. in view of Park et al., Ichikawa, Bae, and Liu et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above.
In addition, Chun shows a system (Figs. 1-3) teaching and suggesting a resonance capacitor (Cs or Cd) connected to the coil in series or in parallel (see Figs. 1-3, see English translation) to form a resonance circuit configured for resonant inductive power transfer (B, see English translation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a resonance capacitor connected to the coil in series or in parallel to form a resonance circuit configured for resonant inductive power transfer as taught by Chun for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Park et al., Ichikawa, Bae, and Liu et al. to achieve power transmission that is stably transmitted and received; and excellent effect to reliably receive power (see English translation).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asanuma et al. in view of Park et al., Ichikawa, Bae, and Liu et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Borngraber [U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0022020].
Regarding Claim 11, Asanuma et al. shows (Fig. 36 or Figs. 1-3 and 13) the coupler is a transmitter coupler (102, 11) configured to receive a time-varying current from a power source (element 101 supplying alternating current, Paragraph [0070]) connected thereto for generating a magnetic field to perform wireless power transfer (Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0162]-[0163]) with a receiver coupler (103, 12) over an air gap (see Fig. 36 or see Fig. 3, dz can be an air gap) based on magnetic induction (Fig. 36 or Figs. 1-3 and 13, Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0162]-[0163]), or
wherein the coupler is a receiver coupler (103, 12) configured to couple with a magnetic field generated from a transmitter coupler (102, 11) to induce a current in the receiver coupler for supplying power (Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0162]-[0163]) to an electrical load (104) connected to the receiver coupler to perform wireless power transfer with the transmitter coupler over an air gap (see Fig. 36 or see Fig. 3, dz can be an air gap) based on magnetic induction (Fig. 36 or Figs. 1-3 and 13, Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0162]-[0163]).
In addition, having an air gap would have been an obvious design choice based on intended and/or environmental use to efficiently transmit inductive energy to facilitate wireless power transfer based on design requirement.
Furthermore, Borngraber shows an air gap (59, Paragraph [0035]) between the transmitter coupler and the receiver coupler (see Figs. 5a-5c, Paragraph [0035]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have an air gap as taught by Borngraber for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Park et al., Ichikawa, Bae, and Liu et al. to efficiently transmit inductive energy to facilitate wireless power transfer (Paragraph [0035]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asanuma et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0197694] in view of Park et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0302983], Ichikawa [WO 2017/195447] (to clearly show leakage and magnetic flux flow), Bae [WO 2018/004130] (to further show magnetic flux flow), Liu et al. [CN 107146700], and Borngraber [U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0022020].
Regarding Claim 15, Asanuma et al. shows a system for wireless power transfer (Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 with teachings from Figs. 1-6 and 12-19) comprising:
a wireless power transmitter (Fig. 36 or Figs. 1-3 and 13) comprises:
a power source (101) configured to generate a time-varying current (element 101 supplying alternating current, Paragraph [0070]); and
a transmitter coupler (102, 11) connected to the power source (101), wherein the transmitter coupler is configured to receive the time-varying current from the power source (element 101 supplying alternating current, Paragraph [0070]) for generating a magnetic field to perform wireless power transfer (Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0162]-[0163]) with a receiver coupler (103, 12) over an air gap (see Fig. 36 or see Fig. 3, dz can be an air gap) based on magnetic induction (Fig. 36 or Figs. 1-3 and 13, Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0162]-[0163]); and
a wireless power receiver (Fig. 36 or Figs. 1-3 and 13) comprises:
an electrical load (104); and
the receiver coupler (103, 12) connected to the electrical load (104), wherein the receiver coupler (103, 12) is configured to couple with the magnetic field generated from the transmitter coupler (102, 11) to induce a current in the receiver coupler for supplying power (Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0162]-[0163]) to the electrical load (104) connected to the receiver coupler to perform wireless power transfer with the transmitter coupler over the air gap (see Fig. 36 or see Fig. 3, dz can be an air gap) based on magnetic induction (Fig. 36 or Figs. 1-3 and 13, Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0162]-[0163]), wherein at least one of the receiver coupler and the transmitter coupler is a coupler for wireless power transfer (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 with teachings from Figs. 1-6 and 12-19) comprises:
a coil (1a, 1b, 1d, and additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) having a plurality of coil portions (1a, 1b, 1d, and additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]), the plurality of coil portions comprises a first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) and a second coil portion (1a or 1d), the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) being wounded in a first direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]) and the second coil portion (1a or 1d) being wounded in a second direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]) and the first direction being opposite to the second direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]), wherein
the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) is accommodated within the second coil portion (1a or 1d) and an area defined by the first coil portion is a first area (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19),
the second coil portion (1a) comprises a plurality of second loops (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19) and confines a second area each of the plurality of second loops being a complete loop (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, element 1a have plurality of loops and confines a second area each of the plurality of second loops being a complete loop),
the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) via the first area and then return into the second coil portion (1a or 1d) via the second area (as of limitation "the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area", it is seen that the Asanuma et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area; the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through element 1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111], via the first area and then return into element 1a or 1d via the second area based on similar structure from the claim limitations), and
the first coil portion (1b) comprises a plurality of first loops (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19), the plurality of first loops are wounded in the first direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]) and the plurality of second loops (loops of element 1a) are wounded in the second direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]),
the first coil portion (1b) forms the magnetic flux for power transfer (Paragraph [0066]), and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion (1a) is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage (as of limitation "the first coil portion forms the magnetic flux for power transfer, and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage", it is seen that the Asanuma et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as the first coil portion forms the magnetic flux for power transfer, and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage),
the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) flows through the first area and flows into the second area (as of limitation "the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area", it is seen that the Asanuma et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area; the magnetic flux generated by element 1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111], flows through the first area and flows into the second area based on similar structure from the claim limitations), and
wherein the wireless power transmitter and the wireless power receiver are separated by the air gap (separated by dz, see Fig. 36 or Figs. 1-3 and 13, Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0162]-[0163]).
Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 2 or 33 does not explicitly disclose the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire.
However, Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 31 discloses the first coil portion (1b) and the second coil portion (1a) are integrally formed by a continuous wire (see Fig. 31, Paragraph [0102]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire as taught by Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 31 for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 2 or 33 to simplify design of the configuration of the coils to reduce manufacture steps and costs (Paragraph [0102]).
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art to simplify design to reduce manufacture steps and costs. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993).
Asanuma et al. does not explicitly show a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20.
Park et al. shows a wireless power transmission system (Figs. 5-6) teaching and suggesting a ratio of the first area (first area is π*5.52 which is π*30.25 cm2) to the second area (second area is π*6.52 which is π*42.25 cm2) is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 (the ratio of first area to the second area is π*30.25/π*42.25 which result in 0.716 which falls into the range of 30:70 [0.428] and 80:20 [4.0], as of limitation "a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage", it is seen that the Park et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 as taught by Park et al. for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. to achieve electrically uniform mutual inductance (Paragraph [0079]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art to achieve electrically uniform mutual inductance. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
To clearly show leakage and magnetic flux flow, Ichikawa shows a power coil (Figs. 2-5) teaching and suggesting the coil (11, 12a or 12b) generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion (11) via the first area (inner area) and then return into the second coil portion (12a or 12b) via the second area (outer area, see Fig. 5, see English translation), the first coil portion (11) comprises a plurality of first loops (see Figs. 2-5), the plurality of first loops are wounded in the first direction (see Figs. 2-5, see English translation) and the plurality of second loops (loops of element 12a or 12b) are wounded in the second direction (see Figs. 2-5, see English translation), the first coil portion (11) forms the magnetic flux for power transfer (transmits power, see English translation), and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion (12a or 12b) is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage (element 12a or 12b is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage, see English translation), the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion (11) flows through the first area (inner area) and flows into the second area (outer area, see Fig. 5, see English translation).
Ichikawa also shows a ratio of the first area (first area is π*2.52 which is π*6.25 cm2) to the second area (second area is π*3.52 which is π*12.25 cm2) is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage (see English translation), the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 (the ratio of first area to the second area is π*6.25/π*12.25 which result in 0.51 which falls into the range of 30:70 [0.428] and 80:20 [4.0], see English translation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area, the first coil portion comprises a plurality of first loops, the plurality of first loops are wounded in the first direction and the plurality of second loops are wounded in the second direction, the first coil portion forms the magnetic flux for power transfer, and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage, the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area and a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 as taught by Ichikawa for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Park et al. to suppress magnetic leakage in order to increase power transmission efficiency (see English translation).
To further show magnetic flux flow, Bae shows a wireless power transmission coil (Figs. 9-10) teaching and suggesting a coupler for wireless power transfer (Abstract, see English translation), a coil configured for wireless power transfer based on magnetic induction (see English translation), the coil (920, 910 or 1020, 1010) generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion (920 or 1020) via the first area (inner area) and then return into the second coil portion (910 or 1010) via the second area (see Figs. 9-10, elements 920, 910 or 1020, 1010 generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through element 920 or 1020 via the first area and then return into element 910 or 1010 via the second area), the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion (920 or 1020) flows through the first area (inner area) and flows into the second area (see Figs. 9-10, a magnetic flux generated by element 920 or 1020 flows through the first area and into the second area).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area, the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area as taught by Bae for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Park et al. and Ichikawa to perform smoothly wireless power transfer and effectively arranged to transmit uniform power (see English translation).
Furthermore, Liu et al. shows the first coil portion (first inner coil of element 2 or element 10) and the second coil portion (outer coil of element 2 or element 9) are integrally formed by a continuous wire (element 2 made of a single metal wire, see Fig. 1 or 4, see English translation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire as taught by Liu et al. for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Park et al., Ichikawa, and Bae to simplify design to reduce manufacture steps and costs which realizing uniform magnetic field distribution (Abstract, Advantage).
In addition, having an air gap would have been an obvious design choice based on intended and/or environmental use to efficiently transmit inductive energy to facilitate wireless power transfer based on design requirement.
Furthermore, Borngraber shows an air gap (59, Paragraph [0035]) between the transmitter coupler and the receiver coupler (see Figs. 5a-5c, Paragraph [0035]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have an air gap as taught by Borngraber for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Park et al., Ichikawa, Bae, and Liu et al. to efficiently transmit inductive energy to facilitate wireless power transfer (Paragraph [0035]).
Claim(s) 1, 4-10, 18, and 20-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asanuma et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0197694] in view of Ichikawa [WO 2017/195447] (to clearly show leakage and magnetic flux flow), Byung et al. [KR 2013-0072284] (to further show magnetic flux flow), Liu et al. [CN 107146700], and Park et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0302983].
Regarding Claim 1, Asanuma et al. shows a coupler for wireless power transfer (Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 with teachings from Figs. 1-6 and 12-19) based on magnetic induction (Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0162]-[0163]), the coupler comprising:
a coil (1a, 1b, 1d, and additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) having a plurality of coil portions (1a, 1b, 1d, and additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]), the plurality of coil portions comprises a first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) and a second coil portion (1a or 1d), the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) being wounded in a first direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]) and the second coil portion (1a or 1d) being wounded in a second direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]) and the first direction being opposite to the second direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]), wherein
the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) is accommodated within the second coil portion (1a or 1d) and an area defined by the first coil portion is a first area (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19),
the second coil portion (1a) comprises a plurality of second loops (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19) and confines a second area each of the plurality of second loops being a complete loop (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, element 1a have plurality of loops and confines a second area each of the plurality of second loops being a complete loop),
the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) via the first area and then return into the second coil portion (1a or 1d) via the second area (as of limitation "the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area", it is seen that the Asanuma et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area; the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through element 1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111], via the first area and then return into element 1a or 1d via the second area based on similar structure from the claim limitations),
the first coil portion (1b) comprises a plurality of first loops (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19), the plurality of first loops are wounded in the first direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]) and the plurality of second loops (loops of element 1a) are wounded in the second direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]),
the first coil portion (1b) forms the magnetic flux for power transfer (Paragraph [0066]), and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion (1a) is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage (as of limitation "the first coil portion forms the magnetic flux for power transfer, and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage", it is seen that the Asanuma et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as the first coil portion forms the magnetic flux for power transfer, and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage),
the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) flows through the first area and flows into the second area (as of limitation "the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area", it is seen that the Asanuma et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area; the magnetic flux generated by element 1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111], flows through the first area and flows into the second area based on similar structure from the claim limitations).
Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 2 or 33 does not explicitly disclose the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire.
However, Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 31 discloses the first coil portion (1b) and the second coil portion (1a) are integrally formed by a continuous wire (see Fig. 31, Paragraph [0102]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire as taught by Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 31 for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 2 or 33 to simplify design of the configuration of the coils to reduce manufacture steps and costs (Paragraph [0102]).
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art to simplify design to reduce manufacture steps and costs. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993).
Asanuma et al. does not explicitly show a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20.
Ichikawa shows a ratio of the first area (first area is π*2.52 which is π*6.25 cm2) to the second area (second area is π*3.52 which is π*12.25 cm2) is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage (see English translation), the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 (the ratio of first area to the second area is π*6.25/π*12.25 which result in 0.51 which falls into the range of 30:70 [0.428] and 80:20 [4.0], see English translation).
To clearly show leakage and magnetic flux flow, Ichikawa shows a power coil (Figs. 2-5) teaching and suggesting the coil (11, 12a or 12b) generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion (11) via the first area (inner area) and then return into the second coil portion (12a or 12b) via the second area (outer area, see Fig. 5, see English translation), the first coil portion (11) comprises a plurality of first loops (see Figs. 2-5), the plurality of first loops are wounded in the first direction (see Figs. 2-5, see English translation) and the plurality of second loops (loops of element 12a or 12b) are wounded in the second direction (see Figs. 2-5, see English translation), the first coil portion (11) forms the magnetic flux for power transfer (transmits power, see English translation), and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion (12a or 12b) is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage (element 12a or 12b is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage, see English translation), the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion (11) flows through the first area (inner area) and flows into the second area (outer area, see Fig. 5, see English translation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area, the first coil portion comprises a plurality of first loops, the plurality of first loops are wounded in the first direction and the plurality of second loops are wounded in the second direction, the first coil portion forms the magnetic flux for power transfer, and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage, the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area and a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 as taught by Ichikawa for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. to suppress magnetic leakage in order to increase power transmission efficiency (see English translation).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art to suppress magnetic leakage in order to increase power transmission efficiency. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
To further show magnetic flux flow, Byung et al. shows a wireless power transmission coil (Figs. 4-7) teaching and suggesting a coupler for wireless power transfer (Abstract, Paragraph [0001]), a coil configured for wireless power transfer based on magnetic induction (Paragraphs [0001], [0013], see English translation), the coil (2, 8) generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion (2) via the first area (inner area) and then return into the second coil portion (8) via the second area (see Figs. 4-7, elements 2, 8 generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through element 2 via the first area and then return into element 8 via the second area), the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion (2) flows through the first area (inner area) and flows into the second area (see Figs. 4-7, a magnetic flux generated by element 2 flows through the first area and into the second area).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area, the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area as taught by Byung et al. for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Ichikawa to block leakage in order to perform smoothly wireless power transfer and effectively arranged to transmit power (see English translation, Paragraph [0021]).
Furthermore, Liu et al. shows the first coil portion (first inner coil of element 2 or element 10) and the second coil portion (outer coil of element 2 or element 9) are integrally formed by a continuous wire (element 2 made of a single metal wire, see Fig. 1 or 4, see English translation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire as taught by Liu et al. for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Ichikawa and Byung et al. to simplify design to reduce manufacture steps and costs which realizing uniform magnetic field distribution (Abstract, Advantage).
In addition, Park et al. shows a wireless power transmission system (Figs. 5-6) teaching and suggesting a ratio of the first area (first area is π*5.52 which is π*30.25 cm2) to the second area (second area is π*6.52 which is π*42.25 cm2) is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 (the ratio of first area to the second area is π*30.25/π*42.25 which result in 0.716 which falls into the range of 30:70 [0.428] and 80:20 [4.0], as of limitation "a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage", it is seen that the Park et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 as taught by Park et al. for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Ichikawa, Byung et al., and Liu et al. to achieve electrically uniform mutual inductance (Paragraph [0079]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art to achieve electrically uniform mutual inductance. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 4, Asanuma et al. shows the coil is configured to have a planar spiral configuration (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, element 1a, 1b, 1d have a planar spiral configuration).
Byung et al. shows the coil is configured to have a planar spiral configuration (see Fig. 6, elements 2, 8 have a planar spiral configuration).
Regarding Claim 5, Asanuma et al. shows the first coil portion (1b) and the second coil portion (1a) are each configured to have a unipolar coil configuration (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraph [0068], element 1b and element 1a each configured to have a unipolar coil configuration), and the coil (1a, 1b, 1d) has a multi-polar coil configuration (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraph [0068], elements 1a, 1b, 1d combined has a multi-polar coil configuration).
Byung et al. shows the first coil portion (2) and the second coil portion (8) are each configured to have a unipolar coil configuration (see Figs. 4-7, element 2 and element 8 each configured to have a unipolar coil configuration), and the coil (2, 8) has a multi-polar coil configuration (see Figs. 4-7, elements 2, 8 combined has a multi-polar coil configuration).
Regarding Claim 6, Asanuma et al. shows the first coil portion (additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) and the second coil portion (1d) together form a first anti-directional coil section (see Figs. 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111] and element 1d together form a first anti-directional coil section), and the coil further comprises one or more additional anti-directional coil sections (see Fig. 33, element 1b, 1a), each additional anti-directional coil section comprising a third coil portion (1b) and a fourth coil portion (1a) wound in opposite directions (Paragraphs [0068], [0110]-[0111]), wherein the third coil portion (1b) is nested within the fourth coil portion (1a, see Fig. 33).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have each additional anti-directional coil section comprising a third coil portion and a fourth coil portion wound in opposite directions, wherein the third coil portion is nested within the fourth coil portion, by repeating the steps of forming the first anti-directional coil section, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art to finely adjust operating characteristics to achieve stable power transmission with sufficiently high transmission efficiency (Paragraphs [0110], [0114]). St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
Liu et al. shows the first coil portion (10) and the second coil portion (9) together form a first anti-directional coil section (see Fig. 4), and the coil further comprises one or more additional anti-directional coil sections (8, 7), each additional anti-directional coil section comprising a third coil portion (8) and a fourth coil portion (7) wound in opposite directions (see Fig. 4, see English translation), wherein the third coil portion is nested within the fourth coil portion (see Fig. 4) in order to achieve better uniform distribution and effectively improving the magnetic field uniformity of the new charging plane (see English translation).
In addition, Park et al. shows the first coil portion (N4) and the second coil portion (two coils of N3) together form a first anti-directional coil section (see Fig. 5), and the coil further comprises one or more additional anti-directional coil sections (third coil of N3 and N2, Paragraph [0082]), each additional anti-directional coil section comprising a third coil portion (third coil of N3, Paragraph [0082]) and a fourth coil portion (N2) wound in opposite directions (see Fig. 5, Paragraph [0082]), wherein the third coil portion is nested within the fourth coil portion (see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 7, Asanuma et al. shows the first anti-directional coil section is nested within the one or more additional anti-directional coil sections (see Fig. 33, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]).
Liu et al. shows the first anti-directional coil section is nested within the one or more additional anti-directional coil sections (see Fig. 4).
Park et al. shows the first anti-directional coil section is nested within the one or more additional anti-directional coil sections (see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 8, Asanuma et al. shows the coil (1a, 1b, 1d) is configured as one continuous winding (see Figs. 2, 31, 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, elements 1a, 1b, 1d is configured as one continuous winding).
Byung et al. shows the coil (2, 8) is configured as one continuous winding (see Figs. 4-7, elements 2, 8 is configured as one continuous winding).
Liu et al. shows the coil (see Figs. 1 or 4) is configured as one continuous winding (see Figs. 1 or 4).
Regarding Claim 9, Asanuma et al. shows the coil (31-1 of Fig. 34 or 1a, 1b of Fig. 13) forms a first coil cell (see Fig. 34 or Fig. 13), and wherein the coupler further comprises one or more additional coil cells (31-2 of Fig. 34 or 2a, 2b of Fig. 13) connected to the first coil cell (see Fig. 34 or Fig. 13), each additional coil cell comprising a second coil (31-2 of Fig. 34 or 2a, 2b of Fig. 13) configured for wireless power transfer based on magnetic induction (see Fig. 34 or Fig. 13, Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0112], [0162]-[0163]), the second coil comprising a plurality of coil portions comprising a fifth coil portion (inner coil of element 31-2 of Fig. 34 or element 2b of Fig. 13) and a sixth coil portion (outer coil of element 31-2 of Fig. 34 or element 2a of Fig. 13) wound in opposite directions (applying teachings from Paragraph [0068]), wherein the fifth coil portion is nested within the sixth coil portion (see Fig. 34 or Fig. 13).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the coupler further comprises one or more additional coil cells connected to the first coil cell, each additional coil cell comprising a second coil configured for wireless power transfer based on magnetic induction, the second coil comprising a plurality of coil portions comprising a fifth coil portion and a sixth coil portion wound in opposite directions, wherein the fifth coil portion is nested within the sixth coil portion, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art to achieve stable power transmission with sufficiently high transmission efficiency (Paragraph [0112]). St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
Regarding Claim 10, Asanuma et al. shows a resonance capacitor (C1, Paragraph [0103], capacitor is used to adjust resonance frequency) connected to the coil in series (see Fig. 4) or in parallel to form a resonance circuit configured for resonant inductive power transfer (as of limitation "to form a resonance circuit configured for resonant inductive power transfer", it is seen that the Asanuma et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as to form a resonance circuit configured for resonant inductive power transfer).
Regarding Claim 18, Asanuma et al. shows a method of manufacturing a coupler for wireless power transfer (Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 with teachings from Figs. 1-6 and 12-19), the method comprising:
configuring a coil (1a, 1b, 1d and additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) for wireless power transfer based on magnetic induction (Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0162]-[0163]), the coil having a plurality of coil portions (1a, 1b, 1d, and additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]), the plurality of coil portions comprises a first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) and a second coil portion (1a or 1d), the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) being wounded in a first direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]) and the second coil portion (1a or 1d) being wounded in a second direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]) and the first direction being opposite to the second direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]), wherein
the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) is accommodated within the second coil portion (1a or 1d) and an area defined by the first coil portion is a first area (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19),
the second coil portion (1a) comprises a plurality of second loops (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19) and confines a second area, each of the plurality of second loops being a complete loop (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, element 1a have plurality of loops and confines a second area each of the plurality of second loops being a complete loop),
the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) via the first area and then return into the second coil portion (1a or 1d) via the second area (as of limitation "the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area", it is seen that the Asanuma et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area; the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through element 1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111], via the first area and then return into element 1a or 1d via the second area based on similar structure from the claim limitations), and
the first coil portion (1b) comprises a plurality of first loops (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19), the plurality of first loops are wounded in the first direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]) and the plurality of second loops (loops of element 1a) are wounded in the second direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]),
the first coil portion (1b) forms the magnetic flux for power transfer (Paragraph [0066]), and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion (1a) is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage (as of limitation "the first coil portion forms the magnetic flux for power transfer, and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage", it is seen that the Asanuma et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as the first coil portion forms the magnetic flux for power transfer, and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage),
the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) flows through the first area and flows into the second area (as of limitation "the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area", it is seen that the Asanuma et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area; the magnetic flux generated by element 1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111], flows through the first area and flows into the second area based on similar structure from the claim limitations).
Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 2 or 33 does not explicitly disclose the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire.
However, Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 31 discloses the first coil portion (1b) and the second coil portion (1a) are integrally formed by a continuous wire (see Fig. 31, Paragraph [0102]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire as taught by Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 31 for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 2 or 33 to simplify design of the configuration of the coils to reduce manufacture steps and costs (Paragraph [0102]).
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art to simplify design to reduce manufacture steps and costs. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993).
Asanuma et al. does not explicitly show a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20.
Ichikawa shows a ratio of the first area (first area is π*2.52 which is π*6.25 cm2) to the second area (second area is π*3.52 which is π*12.25 cm2) is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage (see English translation), the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 (the ratio of first area to the second area is π*6.25/π*12.25 which result in 0.51 which falls into the range of 30:70 [0.428] and 80:20 [4.0], see English translation).
To clearly show leakage and magnetic flux flow, Ichikawa shows a power coil (Figs. 2-5) teaching and suggesting the coil (11, 12a or 12b) generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion (11) via the first area (inner area) and then return into the second coil portion (12a or 12b) via the second area (outer area, see Fig. 5, see English translation), the first coil portion (11) comprises a plurality of first loops (see Figs. 2-5), the plurality of first loops are wounded in the first direction (see Figs. 2-5, see English translation) and the plurality of second loops (loops of element 12a or 12b) are wounded in the second direction (see Figs. 2-5, see English translation), the first coil portion (11) forms the magnetic flux for power transfer (transmits power, see English translation), and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion (12a or 12b) is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage (element 12a or 12b is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage, see English translation), the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion (11) flows through the first area (inner area) and flows into the second area (outer area, see Fig. 5, see English translation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area, the first coil portion comprises a plurality of first loops, the plurality of first loops are wounded in the first direction and the plurality of second loops are wounded in the second direction, the first coil portion forms the magnetic flux for power transfer, and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage, the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area and a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 as taught by Ichikawa for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. to suppress magnetic leakage in order to increase power transmission efficiency (see English translation).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art to suppress magnetic leakage in order to increase power transmission efficiency. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
To further show magnetic flux flow, Byung et al. shows a wireless power transmission coil (Figs. 4-7) teaching and suggesting a coupler for wireless power transfer (Abstract, Paragraph [0001]), a coil configured for wireless power transfer based on magnetic induction (Paragraphs [0001], [0013], see English translation), the coil (2, 8) generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion (2) via the first area (inner area) and then return into the second coil portion (8) via the second area (see Figs. 4-7, elements 2, 8 generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through element 2 via the first area and then return into element 8 via the second area), the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion (2) flows through the first area (inner area) and flows into the second area (see Figs. 4-7, a magnetic flux generated by element 2 flows through the first area and into the second area).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area, the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area as taught by Byung et al. for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Ichikawa to block leakage in order to perform smoothly wireless power transfer and effectively arranged to transmit power (see English translation, Paragraph [0021]).
Furthermore, Liu et al. shows the first coil portion (first inner coil of element 2 or element 10) and the second coil portion (outer coil of element 2 or element 9) are integrally formed by a continuous wire (element 2 made of a single metal wire, see Fig. 1 or 4, see English translation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire as taught by Liu et al. for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Ichikawa and Byung et al. to simplify design to reduce manufacture steps and costs which realizing uniform magnetic field distribution (Abstract, Advantage).
In addition, Park et al. shows a wireless power transmission system (Figs. 5-6) teaching and suggesting a ratio of the first area (first area is π*5.52 which is π*30.25 cm2) to the second area (second area is π*6.52 which is π*42.25 cm2) is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 (the ratio of first area to the second area is π*30.25/π*42.25 which result in 0.716 which falls into the range of 30:70 [0.428] and 80:20 [4.0], as of limitation "a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage", it is seen that the Park et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 as taught by Park et al. for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Ichikawa, Byung et al., and Liu et al. to achieve electrically uniform mutual inductance (Paragraph [0079]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art to achieve electrically uniform mutual inductance. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 20, Asanuma et al. shows the first direction is a clockwise direction and the second direction is an anti-clockwise direction, or the first direction is an anti-clockwise direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]) and the second direction is a clockwise direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]).
Regarding Claim 21, Asanuma et al. shows the coil is configured to have a planar spiral configuration (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, element 1a, 1b, 1d have a planar spiral configuration).
Byung et al. shows the coil is configured to have a planar spiral configuration (see Fig. 6, elements 2, 8 have a planar spiral configuration).
Regarding Claim 22, Asanuma et al. shows the first coil portion (1b) and the second coil portion (1a) are each configured to have a unipolar coil configuration (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraph [0068], element 1b and element 1a each configured to have a unipolar coil configuration), and the coil (1a, 1b, 1d) has a multi-polar coil configuration (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraph [0068], elements 1a, 1b, 1d combined has a multi-polar coil configuration).
Byung et al. shows the first coil portion (2) and the second coil portion (8) are each configured to have a unipolar coil configuration (see Figs. 4-7, element 2 and element 8 each configured to have a unipolar coil configuration), and the coil (2, 8) has a multi-polar coil configuration (see Figs. 4-7, elements 2, 8 combined has a multi-polar coil configuration).
Regarding Claim 23, Asanuma et al. shows the first coil portion (additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) and the second coil portion (1d) together form a first anti-directional coil section (see Figs. 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111] and element 1d together form a first anti-directional coil section), and said configuring the coil comprises configuring the coil to further comprise one or more additional anti-directional coil sections (see Fig. 33, element 1b, 1a), each additional anti-directional coil section comprising a third coil portion (1b) and a fourth coil portion (1a) wound in opposite directions (Paragraphs [0068], [0110]-[0111]), wherein the third coil portion (1b) is nested within the fourth coil portion (1a, see Fig. 33).
In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have each additional anti-directional coil section comprising a third coil portion and a fourth coil portion wound in opposite directions, wherein the third coil portion is nested within the fourth coil portion, by repeating the steps of forming the first anti-directional coil section, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art to finely adjust operating characteristics to achieve stable power transmission with sufficiently high transmission efficiency (Paragraphs [0110], [0114]). St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
Liu et al. shows the first coil portion (10) and the second coil portion (9) together form a first anti-directional coil section (see Fig. 4), and said configuring the coil comprises configuring the coil to further comprise one or more additional anti-directional coil sections (8, 7), each additional anti-directional coil section comprising a third coil portion (8) and a fourth coil portion (7) wound in opposite directions (see Fig. 4, see English translation), wherein the third coil portion is nested within the fourth coil portion (see Fig. 4) in order to achieve better uniform distribution and effectively improving the magnetic field uniformity of the new charging plane (see English translation).
In addition, Park et al. shows the first coil portion (N4) and the second coil portion (two coils of N3) together form a first anti-directional coil section (see Fig. 5), and said configuring the coil comprises configuring the coil to further comprise one or more additional anti-directional coil sections (third coil of N3 and N2, Paragraph [0082]), each additional anti-directional coil section comprising a third coil portion (third coil of N3, Paragraph [0082]) and a fourth coil portion (N2) wound in opposite directions (see Fig. 5, Paragraph [0082]), wherein the third coil portion is nested within the fourth coil portion (see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 24, Asanuma et al. shows the first anti-directional coil section is nested within the one or more additional anti-directional coil sections (see Fig. 33, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]).
Liu et al. shows the first anti-directional coil section is nested within the one or more additional anti- directional coil sections (see Fig. 4).
Park et al. shows the first anti-directional coil section is nested within the one or more additional anti- directional coil sections (see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 25, Asanuma et al. shows the coil (1a, 1b, 1d) is configured as one continuous winding (see Figs. 2, 31, 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, elements 1a, 1b, 1d is configured as one continuous winding).
Byung et al. shows the coil (2, 8) is configured as one continuous winding (see Figs. 4-7, elements 2, 8 is configured as one continuous winding).
Liu et al. shows the coil (see Figs. 1 or 4) is configured as one continuous winding (see Figs. 1 or 4).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asanuma et al. in view of Ichikawa, Byung et al., Liu et al., and Park et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Van Den Brink et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0244176].
Regarding Claim 10, Asanuma et al. in view of Ichikawa, Byung et al., Liu et al., and Park et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above.
In addition, Van Den Brink et al. shows a system (Figs. 1-32) teaching and suggesting a resonance capacitor (24, 44, 124, 824, 825) connected to the coil in series (Paragraphs [0056], [0078], [0087], [0119]) or in parallel to form a resonance circuit configured for resonant inductive power transfer (see Figs. 1-32, Paragraphs [0056], [0078], [0073], [0087], [0119]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a resonance capacitor connected to the coil in series or in parallel to form a resonance circuit configured for resonant inductive power transfer as taught by Van Den Brink et al. for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Ichikawa, Byung et al., Liu et al., and Park et al. to achieve efficient power transmission that is stably transmitted and received; and excellent effect to reliably receive power.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asanuma et al. in view of Ichikawa, Byung et al., Liu et al., and Park et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Davis [U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0012966].
Regarding Claim 10, Asanuma et al. in view of Ichikawa, Byung et al., Liu et al., and Park et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above.
In addition, Davis shows an apparatus (Fig. 2) teaching and suggesting a resonance capacitor (204, Paragraph [0045]) connected to the coil (202) in series (see Fig. 2) or in parallel to form a resonance circuit configured for resonant inductive power transfer (see Fig. 2, Paragraph [0045]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a resonance capacitor connected to the coil in series or in parallel to form a resonance circuit configured for resonant inductive power transfer as taught by Davis for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Ichikawa, Byung et al., Liu et al., and Park et al. to achieve power transmission that is stably transmitted and received; and excellent effect to reliably receive power with high quality Q (Paragraphs [0046]-[0047]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asanuma et al. in view of Ichikawa, Byung et al., Liu et al., and Park et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chun [KR 2009-0115407].
Regarding Claim 10, Asanuma et al. in view of Ichikawa, Byung et al., Liu et al., and Park et al. shows the claimed invention as applied above.
In addition, Chun shows a system (Figs. 1-3) teaching and suggesting a resonance capacitor (Cs or Cd) connected to the coil in series or in parallel (see Figs. 1-3, see English translation) to form a resonance circuit configured for resonant inductive power transfer (B, see English translation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a resonance capacitor connected to the coil in series or in parallel to form a resonance circuit configured for resonant inductive power transfer as taught by Chun for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Ichikawa, Byung et al., Liu et al., and Park et al. to achieve power transmission that is stably transmitted and received; and excellent effect to reliably receive power (see English translation).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asanuma et al. in view of Ichikawa, Byung et al., Liu et al., and Park et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Borngraber [U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0022020].
Regarding Claim 11, Asanuma et al. shows (Fig. 36 or Figs. 1-3 and 13) the coupler is a transmitter coupler (102, 11) configured to receive a time-varying current from a power source (element 101 supplying alternating current, Paragraph [0070]) connected thereto for generating a magnetic field to perform wireless power transfer (Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0162]-[0163]) with a receiver coupler (103, 12) over an air gap (see Fig. 36 or see Fig. 3, dz can be an air gap) based on magnetic induction (Fig. 36 or Figs. 1-3 and 13, Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0162]-[0163]), or
wherein the coupler is a receiver coupler (103, 12) configured to couple with a magnetic field generated from a transmitter coupler (102, 11) to induce a current in the receiver coupler for supplying power (Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0162]-[0163]) to an electrical load (104) connected to the receiver coupler to perform wireless power transfer with the transmitter coupler over an air gap (see Fig. 36 or see Fig. 3, dz can be an air gap) based on magnetic induction (Fig. 36 or Figs. 1-3 and 13, Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0162]-[0163]).
In addition, having an air gap would have been an obvious design choice based on intended and/or environmental use to efficiently transmit inductive energy to facilitate wireless power transfer based on design requirement.
Furthermore, Borngraber shows an air gap (59, Paragraph [0035]) between the transmitter coupler and the receiver coupler (see Figs. 5a-5c, Paragraph [0035]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have an air gap as taught by Borngraber for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Ichikawa, Byung et al., Liu et al., and Park et al. to efficiently transmit inductive energy to facilitate wireless power transfer (Paragraph [0035]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asanuma et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0197694] in view of Ichikawa [WO 2017/195447] (to clearly show leakage and magnetic flux flow), Byung et al. [KR 2013-0072284] (to further show magnetic flux flow), Liu et al. [CN 107146700], Borngraber [U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0022020], and Park et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0302983].
Regarding Claim 15, Asanuma et al. shows a system for wireless power transfer (Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 with teachings from Figs. 1-6 and 12-19) comprising:
a wireless power transmitter (Fig. 36 or Figs. 1-3 and 13) comprises:
a power source (101) configured to generate a time-varying current (element 101 supplying alternating current, Paragraph [0070]); and
a transmitter coupler (102, 11) connected to the power source (101), wherein the transmitter coupler is configured to receive the time-varying current from the power source (element 101 supplying alternating current, Paragraph [0070]) for generating a magnetic field to perform wireless power transfer (Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0162]-[0163]) with a receiver coupler (103, 12) over an air gap (see Fig. 36 or see Fig. 3, dz can be an air gap) based on magnetic induction (Fig. 36 or Figs. 1-3 and 13, Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0162]-[0163]); and
a wireless power receiver (Fig. 36 or Figs. 1-3 and 13) comprises:
an electrical load (104); and
the receiver coupler (103, 12) connected to the electrical load (104), wherein the receiver coupler (103, 12) is configured to couple with the magnetic field generated from the transmitter coupler (102, 11) to induce a current in the receiver coupler for supplying power (Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0162]-[0163]) to the electrical load (104) connected to the receiver coupler to perform wireless power transfer with the transmitter coupler over the air gap (see Fig. 36 or see Fig. 3, dz can be an air gap) based on magnetic induction (Fig. 36 or Figs. 1-3 and 13, Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0162]-[0163]), wherein at least one of the receiver coupler and the transmitter coupler is a coupler for wireless power transfer (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 with teachings from Figs. 1-6 and 12-19) comprises:
a coil (1a, 1b, 1d, and additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) having a plurality of coil portions (1a, 1b, 1d, and additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]), the plurality of coil portions comprises a first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) and a second coil portion (1a or 1d), the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) being wounded in a first direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]) and the second coil portion (1a or 1d) being wounded in a second direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]) and the first direction being opposite to the second direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]), wherein
the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) is accommodated within the second coil portion (1a or 1d) and an area defined by the first coil portion is a first area (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19),
the second coil portion (1a) comprises a plurality of second loops (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19) and confines a second area each of the plurality of second loops being a complete loop (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, element 1a have plurality of loops and confines a second area each of the plurality of second loops being a complete loop),
the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) via the first area and then return into the second coil portion (1a or 1d) via the second area (as of limitation "the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area", it is seen that the Asanuma et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area; the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through element 1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111], via the first area and then return into element 1a or 1d via the second area based on similar structure from the claim limitations), and
the first coil portion (1b) comprises a plurality of first loops (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19), the plurality of first loops are wounded in the first direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]) and the plurality of second loops (loops of element 1a) are wounded in the second direction (see Figs. 2 or 33-34 and 36 and see Figs. 1-6 and 12-19, Paragraphs [0068]),
the first coil portion (1b) forms the magnetic flux for power transfer (Paragraph [0066]), and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion (1a) is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage (as of limitation "the first coil portion forms the magnetic flux for power transfer, and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage", it is seen that the Asanuma et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as the first coil portion forms the magnetic flux for power transfer, and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage),
the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion (1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]) flows through the first area and flows into the second area (as of limitation "the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area", it is seen that the Asanuma et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area; the magnetic flux generated by element 1b or additional transmitter coil further inside element 1d, Paragraphs [0110]-[0111], flows through the first area and flows into the second area based on similar structure from the claim limitations), and
wherein the wireless power transmitter and the wireless power receiver are separated by the air gap (separated by dz, see Fig. 36 or Figs. 1-3 and 13, Paragraphs [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073]-[0075], [0078], [0081]-[0083], [0162]-[0163]).
Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 2 or 33 does not explicitly disclose the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire.
However, Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 31 discloses the first coil portion (1b) and the second coil portion (1a) are integrally formed by a continuous wire (see Fig. 31, Paragraph [0102]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire as taught by Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 31 for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in the embodiment of Fig. 2 or 33 to simplify design of the configuration of the coils to reduce manufacture steps and costs (Paragraph [0102]).
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art to simplify design to reduce manufacture steps and costs. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993).
Asanuma et al. does not explicitly show a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20.
Ichikawa shows a ratio of the first area (first area is π*2.52 which is π*6.25 cm2) to the second area (second area is π*3.52 which is π*12.25 cm2) is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage (see English translation), the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 (the ratio of first area to the second area is π*6.25/π*12.25 which result in 0.51 which falls into the range of 30:70 [0.428] and 80:20 [4.0], see English translation).
To clearly show leakage and magnetic flux flow, Ichikawa shows a power coil (Figs. 2-5) teaching and suggesting the coil (11, 12a or 12b) generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion (11) via the first area (inner area) and then return into the second coil portion (12a or 12b) via the second area (outer area, see Fig. 5, see English translation), the first coil portion (11) comprises a plurality of first loops (see Figs. 2-5), the plurality of first loops are wounded in the first direction (see Figs. 2-5, see English translation) and the plurality of second loops (loops of element 12a or 12b) are wounded in the second direction (see Figs. 2-5, see English translation), the first coil portion (11) forms the magnetic flux for power transfer (transmits power, see English translation), and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion (12a or 12b) is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage (element 12a or 12b is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage, see English translation), the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion (11) flows through the first area (inner area) and flows into the second area (outer area, see Fig. 5, see English translation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area, the first coil portion comprises a plurality of first loops, the plurality of first loops are wounded in the first direction and the plurality of second loops are wounded in the second direction, the first coil portion forms the magnetic flux for power transfer, and closed circuit area formed by the second coil portion is used to form the magnetic flux for containing a magnetic leakage, the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area and a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 as taught by Ichikawa for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. to suppress magnetic leakage in order to increase power transmission efficiency (see English translation).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art to suppress magnetic leakage in order to increase power transmission efficiency. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
To further show magnetic flux flow, Byung et al. shows a wireless power transmission coil (Figs. 4-7) teaching and suggesting a coupler for wireless power transfer (Abstract, Paragraph [0001]), a coil configured for wireless power transfer based on magnetic induction (Paragraphs [0001], [0013], see English translation), the coil (2, 8) generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion (2) via the first area (inner area) and then return into the second coil portion (8) via the second area (see Figs. 4-7, elements 2, 8 generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through element 2 via the first area and then return into element 8 via the second area), the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion (2) flows through the first area (inner area) and flows into the second area (see Figs. 4-7, a magnetic flux generated by element 2 flows through the first area and into the second area).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the coil generates a magnetic flux in a manner that the magnetic flux flows through the first coil portion via the first area and then return into the second coil portion via the second area, the magnetic flux generated by the first coil portion flows through the first area and flows into the second area as taught by Byung et al. for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Ichikawa to block leakage in order to perform smoothly wireless power transfer and effectively arranged to transmit power (see English translation, Paragraph [0021]).
Furthermore, Liu et al. shows the first coil portion (first inner coil of element 2 or element 10) and the second coil portion (outer coil of element 2 or element 9) are integrally formed by a continuous wire (element 2 made of a single metal wire, see Fig. 1 or 4, see English translation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the first coil portion and the second coil portion are integrally formed by a continuous wire as taught by Liu et al. for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Ichikawa and Bae to simplify design to reduce manufacture steps and costs which realizing uniform magnetic field distribution (Abstract, Advantage).
In addition, having an air gap would have been an obvious design choice based on intended and/or environmental use to efficiently transmit inductive energy to facilitate wireless power transfer based on design requirement.
Furthermore, Borngraber shows an air gap (59, Paragraph [0035]) between the transmitter coupler and the receiver coupler (see Figs. 5a-5c, Paragraph [0035]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have an air gap as taught by Borngraber for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Ichikawa, Byung et al., and Liu et al. to efficiently transmit inductive energy to facilitate wireless power transfer (Paragraph [0035]).
In addition, Park et al. shows a wireless power transmission system (Figs. 5-6) teaching and suggesting a ratio of the first area (first area is π*5.52 which is π*30.25 cm2) to the second area (second area is π*6.52 which is π*42.25 cm2) is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 (the ratio of first area to the second area is π*30.25/π*42.25 which result in 0.716 which falls into the range of 30:70 [0.428] and 80:20 [4.0], as of limitation "a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage", it is seen that the Park et al. reference has the same structural limitations as of the invention, therefore, it is inherent to be labeled as a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 as taught by Park et al. for the device as disclosed by Asanuma et al. in view of Ichikawa, Byung et al., Liu et al., and Borngraber to achieve electrically uniform mutual inductance (Paragraph [0079]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art to achieve electrically uniform mutual inductance. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-11, 15, 18, and 20-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that Ichikawa does not show “a ratio of the first area to the second area is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage, the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20” is found not persuasive. Ichikawa also shows a ratio of the first area (first area is π*2.52 which is π*6.25 cm2) to the second area (second area is π*3.52 which is π*12.25 cm2) is configured to reduce the magnetic leakage (see English translation), the ratio of the first area to the second area is between 30:70 and 80:20 (the ratio of first area to the second area is π*6.25/π*12.25 which result in 0.51 which falls into the range of 30:70 [0.428] and 80:20 [4.0], see English translation).
Applicant argues that the structure taught by Ichikawa is distinct from the single, continuous, nested, anti-directional coil pair of the present invention. This is found not persuasive because the primary reference of Asanuma et al. already clearly teaches the single, continuous, nested, anti-directional coil pair of the present invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TSZFUNG J CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837