DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 04/30/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 32-33, 35-51 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly cited portions of Loehr (Pub No 20230239934) further in view of Tsai (Pub No 20190104534)
Regarding claim 1,
The applicant argues that the prior art Wang translation was not provided.
The examiner, upon further review of the prior art, has determined that Loehr teaches the portions that was previously cited for Wang, therefore Wang has been removed as prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32-33, 35, 40-47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loehr (Pub No 20230239934) further in view of Tsai (Pub No 20190104534)
Regarding claim 32 and 45,
Loehr teaches a method in a terminal device, comprising:
a transceiver, a processor and a memory, the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor whereby the terminal device is operative to perform of: (see para [0042])
determining a preamble to be transmitted to a network device on a random access occasion; (interpreted as uplink timing for a PUSCH transmission and a preamble transmission in step 1 of the 2-step RACH procedure; 4) switching between a 2-step RACH procedure and a 4-step RACH procedure; and/or 5) resource allocation for an uplink transmission in step 1 of the 2-step RACH procedure, see para [0051])
determining a resource for transmitting a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) based on the random access occasion, wherein determining the resource comprises determining, from a set of frequency domain resources associated with the random access occasion (interpreted as the PUSCH resources to be used by the UE may have a linking to chosen PRACH resources. The linking may be accomplished using one or more of the following offsets: 1) frequency offset, O_f: offset of lowest PUSCH transmission occasion in a frequency domain with respective to PRACH resources defined by msg1-FrequencyStart in 5G NR system; and/or 2) time offset, T_f: offset of lowest PUSCH transmission occasion in time domain with respective to PRACH transmission occasion chosen by the UE , see para [0087][0088]) a frequency domain resource for the PUSCH based on the preamble (interpreted as more than one set of O_f and T_f may be broadcast such that for one preamble ID or group of preambles IDs, one specific set of O_f and T_f may be used, see para [0090] A frequency offset 608 “O_f” is defined relative to the PRACH resource B to indicate a lowest frequency “F” in the frequency domain for a PUSCH transmission, see para [0088])
transmitting to the network device the preamble on the random access occasion and the PUSCH on the resource, in a random access message. (interpreted as In certain embodiments, in a second communication 508 (e.g., first step in the 2-step RACH procedure, msg1 and msg3 of the 4-step RACH procedure) transmitted from the UE 502 to the gNB 504, the UE 502 transmits a PRACH preamble to the gNB 504 and an uplink transmission (e.g., on PUSCH), see para [0058]).
However, Loehr does not teach that the frequency domain resource for the PUSCH is determined further based on a frequency hopping configuration for the PUSCH.
Tsai teaches wherein the frequency domain resource for the PUSCH is determined further based on a frequency hopping configuration for the PUSCH; (interpreted as In certain configurations (frequency hopping), the PUSCH (the PUSCH 910) includes a first section (the region 908-a) of the PUSCH that spans a first part (e.g., the subcarriers 914-(Mb+1) to 914-(Mb+Ma+1)) of a frequency range (e.g., the subcarriers 914-0 to 914-(Mb+Ma+1)) of the PUSCH and a second section (e.g., the region 908-b) of the PUSCH that spans a second part (e.g., the subcarriers 914-0 to 914-Mb) of the frequency range of the PUSCH. The selected section (e.g., the region 908-a or the region 908-b) of the PUSCH is one of the first section of the PUSCH and the second section of the PUSCH, see para [01115])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the PUSCH frequency resources as taught by Loehr with the PUSCH frequency hopping as taught by Tsai with the motivation being to increase probability of successful transmission by using frequency hopping to obtain frequency diversity.
However, Loehr in view of Tsai does not teach determining a frequency domain resource for the PUSCH based on the preamble.
Ren teaches determining a frequency domain resource for the PUSCH based on the preamble (interpreted as Q preamble indexes in one RO (random access occasion) are mapped to one PUSCH time-frequency resource, see para [0033]). In frequency domain, the PRACH time-frequency resource and the PUSCH time-frequency resource have a same bandwidth, see para [0025])
Regarding claim 46,
Loehr teaches A method in a network device, comprising:
receiving a preamble from a terminal device, as a part of a random access message, on a random access occasion, the random access message further comprising a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) (interpreted as the method 800 may include receiving 802 a preamble in a first time slot see para [0101]);
determining a resource for transmitting a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) based on the random access occasion, wherein determining the resource comprises determining, from a set of frequency domain resources associated with the random access occasion (interpreted as the PUSCH resources to be used by the UE may have a linking to chosen PRACH resources. The linking may be accomplished using one or more of the following offsets: 1) frequency offset, O_f: offset of lowest PUSCH transmission occasion in a frequency domain with respective to PRACH resources defined by msg1-FrequencyStart in 5G NR system; and/or 2) time offset, T_f: offset of lowest PUSCH transmission occasion in time domain with respective to PRACH transmission occasion chosen by the UE , see para [0087][0088]) a frequency domain resource for the PUSCH based on the preamble (interpreted as more than one set of O_f and T_f may be broadcast such that for one preamble ID or group of preambles IDs, one specific set of O_f and T_f may be used, see para [0090] A frequency offset 608 “O_f” is defined relative to the PRACH resource B to indicate a lowest frequency “F” in the frequency domain for a PUSCH transmission, see para [0088])
and receiving the PUSCH on the resource. (Interpreted as receiving an uplink data transmission via a physical uplink shared channel in a second time slot different from the first time slot in response to a determination by a remote unit to perform a two-step random access channel procedure, see para [0101]. Also see para [0051])
However, Loehr does not teach and wherein the frequency domain resource for the PUSCH is determined further based on a frequency hopping configuration for the PUSCH.
Tsai teaches wherein the frequency domain resource for the PUSCH is determined further based on a frequency hopping configuration for the PUSCH; (interpreted as In certain configurations (frequency hopping), the PUSCH (the PUSCH 910) includes a first section (the region 908-a) of the PUSCH that spans a first part (e.g., the subcarriers 914-(Mb+1) to 914-(Mb+Ma+1)) of a frequency range (e.g., the subcarriers 914-0 to 914-(Mb+Ma+1)) of the PUSCH and a second section (e.g., the region 908-b) of the PUSCH that spans a second part (e.g., the subcarriers 914-0 to 914-Mb) of the frequency range of the PUSCH. The selected section (e.g., region 908-a or the region 908-b) of the PUSCH is one of the first section of the PUSCH and the second section of the PUSCH, see para [01115])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the PUSCH frequency resources as taught by Loehr with the PUSCH frequency hopping as taught by Tsai with the motivation being to increase probability of successful transmission by using frequency hopping to obtain frequency diversity.
Regarding claim 33 and 47,
Loehr teaches The method of claim 32, wherein determining the resource comprises determining a time domain resource for the PUSCH based on a mapping between the time domain resource for the PUSCH and the random access occasion (interpreted as time offset, T_f: offset of lowest PUSCH transmission occasion in time domain with respective to PRACH transmission occasion chosen by the UE, see para [0087][0080]).
Regarding claim 35,
Loehr teaches the method of claim 32, wherein the frequency configuration is predetermined by default or received from the network device via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling. (interpreted as configure how many PRBs are used for transmitting PUSCH of step 1 of a 2-step RACH procedure using RRC signaling, see para [0091])
However, Loehr does not teach frequency hopping.
Choi teaches frequency hopping; (interpreted as FIG. 30 illustrates UCI transmission in a case in which a PUSCH having an intra-slot hopping configuration overlaps in at least one symbol, see para [0261]. Also see the frequency hopping may be configured as intra-slot frequency hopping for performing frequency hopping in a slot and as inter-slot frequency hopping for performing the frequency hopping for each slot, see para [0183]. Also see for example, the processor 110 may receive slot configuration information, determine a slot configuration based on the slot configuration information, and perform communication according to the determined slot configuration, see para [0142])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the PUSCH frequency resources as taught by Loehr with the PUSCH frequency hopping as taught by Choi with the motivation being to increase probability of successful transmission by using frequency hopping to obtain frequency diversity.
Regarding claim 40,
Loehr teaches the method of claim 32, wherein determining the resource comprises determining, from a set of time domain resources associated with the random access occasion, a time domain resource for the PUSCH based on the preamble. (interpreted as offset of lowest PUSCH transmission occasion in time domain with respective to PRACH transmission occasion chosen by the UE, see Loehr para [0087])
Regarding claim 41,
Loehr teaches the method of claim 32, wherein determining the resource comprises determining a frequency domain resource for the PUSCH based on a mapping between the frequency domain resource for the PUSCH and the random access occasion. (interpreted as offset of lowest PUSCH transmission occasion in a frequency domain with respective to PRACH resources defined by msg1-FrequencyStart in 5G NR system, see para [0087])
Regarding claim 42,
Loehr teaches the method of claim 32, wherein the set of time domain resources and the set of frequency domain resources constitute a set of time-frequency resources that are multiplexed with the random access occasion in a time division manner and multiplexed with each other in a time division, a frequency division and/or a code divisional manner. (interpreted as in one implementation, the wireless communication system 100 is compliant with NR protocols standardized in 3GPP, wherein the network unit 104 transmits using an Orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) modulation scheme on the DL and the remote units 102 transmit on the UL using a SC-FDMA scheme or an OFDM scheme.
Regarding claim 43,
Loehr teaches the method of claim 32, wherein the resource is determined further based on one or more of: a combined duration of the preamble and the PUSCH, a service type, a resource used for the PUSCH previously, a Sub-Carrier Spacing (SCS) and a Cyclic Prefix (CP) length for the PUSCH, or a frequency band in operation. (interpreted as in certain embodiments, an offset may depend on an employed subcarrier spacing (e.g., because a duration of a preamble-like signal may be a function of the subcarrier spacing) even though a required detection time may not scale equally. For example, in a first subcarrier spacing, an offset may be 1 slot, and in another subcarrier spacing the offset may be 2 slots. As may be appreciated, because it is possible that a gNB has sufficient capability to buffer a received signal, it may be beneficial if an offset can be 0 slots (e.g., implying that a preamble-like signal and an uplink data transmission occur in the same slot), see Loehr para [0071])
Regarding claim 44,
Loehr teaches the method of claim 32, wherein the random access message is a message in a two-step random access procedure. (see two-step RACH para [0094])
Claim(s) 36-39, 48-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loehr (Pub No 20230239934) further in view of Choi (Pub No 20220104224), and Takeda (Pub No 20210378006).
Regarding claim 36 and 48,
Loehr teaches the method of claim 32, wherein determining the resource comprises determining a time domain resource for the PUSCH based on a mapping between the preamble and: (see para [0086])
an offset relative to a time reference dependent on the random access occasion, (interpreted as time offset, T_f: offset of lowest PUSCH transmission occasion in time domain with respective to PRACH transmission occasion chosen by the UE, see para [0087])
a start symbol number of the PUSCH within a slot, and (interpreted as If the PUSCH is an Msg3 PUSCH, the UE uses the same RS resource index as for a corresponding PRACH transmission, see para [0080])
a PUSCH in the slot. (interpreted as it is possible that a gNB has sufficient capability to buffer a received signal, it may be beneficial if an offset can be 0 slots (e.g., implying that a preamble-like signal and an uplink data transmission occur in the same slot), see para [0071])
However, Loehr does not teach PUSCH mapping type; duration of the PUSCH.
Takeda teaches a PUSCH mapping type; duration of the PUSCH (interpreted as Each row in the PUSCH time domain resource allocation table may include at least one of a slot offset K2, a Start and Length Indicator Value (SLIV), a start time (for example, a start symbol S), a duration (for example, number of symbols L), or a PUSCH mapping type, see para [0106]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the PUSCH parameters taught by Loehr with the additional PUSCH parameters taught by Takeda with the motivation being to meet diverse demands of users and optimize the network performance by using additional parameters.
Regarding claim 37 and 49,
Loehr teaches The method of claim 36, wherein the time reference comprises: a slot used for the random access occasion, (rejected upon being alternative limitation) or one of a set of periodically occurring time instants that is selected based on its time distance from the random access occasion (interpreted as In such an example, if the preamble-like signal is from a second set, this indicates that transmission of the uplink data is deferred to a later slot than the preamble-like signal (e.g., to the next slot), see Loehr para [0083])
Regarding claim 38 and 50,
Loehr teaches the method of claim 37, wherein the slot used for the random access occasion is the last slot used for the random access occasion, or the one time instant is one of the set of periodically occurring time instants that is closest to the random access occasion. (interpreted as in such an example, if the preamble-like signal is from a second set, this indicates that transmission of the uplink data is deferred to a later slot than the preamble-like signal (e.g., to the next slot), see Loehr para [0083])
Regarding claim 39 and 51,
Loehr teaches the method of claim 36, wherein the mapping is received from the network device via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, the RRC signaling comprising a System Information Block (SIB) and/or a dedicated signaling message. (interpreted as may be appreciated, though broadcasting has been indicated above as the signaling mechanism, a dedicated RRC signaling or specified values may also be used (e.g., for a non-initial random access procedure), see Loehr para [0090]).
Conclusion
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461