DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ amendment of the claim, filed on 02/12/2026, in response to the rejection of claims 1-8 and 10-22 from the final office action (08/13/2025), by amending claims 1, 5, 13, and 17 is entered and will be addressed below.
The examiner notices Applicants did not cite support for the system housing and system chamber.
Election/Restrictions
No claims are withdrawn currently.
Claim Interpretations
The previously added limitation of “a system chamber in which a treatment module is contained“ of claim 1, Applicants’ Specification describes “The processing portion of the system 10 is preferably not within a chamber and is in open atmosphere or in a room” ([00166]) and otherwise there is no description of “a system chamber”. Therefore, the “a system chamber” is considered inclusive of a room and 112(a) rejection is not applied.
The previously amended limitation “the treatment module is configured to deliver a fluid directly to a local region between the electrode and the substrate plane“ of claim 1, as a fluid, particularly a gas, moves/diffuses in all direction, a module having a fluid supply to any direction is considered “a fluid … directly to a local region between the electrode and the substrate plane“. Note Applicants’ Specification seems to have fluid flowing via an electrode downward direction but claim 1 is not limited to this.
Applicants argue that directly means nothing in between. However, “The plasma regions may be fed delivery gas from gas blocks 120 or directly from fluid conduits 110” ([0343] and Applicants’ fluid conduit 110 or gas blocks 120 has an intervening component (the electrode 140) in between.
Likewise “wherein the treatment module is configured to directly deliver the delivery gas and the monomer to the plasma region between an electrode and a plane of movement of the substrate“ of claim 13 and “wherein the first and second fluid conduits are arranged and configured to directly deliver each said discrete fluid to the plasma region between an electrode and a plane of movement of the substrate” of claim 17 are similarly interpreted by the gas flow in any directions.
The previously amended limitation “wherein, when treating the substrate, the system operates at atmospheric pressure“ of claim 1 (similarly for claims 13 and 17), an apparatus that is capable of operating the atmospheric pressure, such as by turning-off the vacuum pump or not turning on the vacuum pump at all, is considered “configured to operate” at such pressure.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The “a movement means for moving a substrate” of claim 13 and “a means for moving the substrate“ of claim 17, the apparatus is considered a placeholder for a function of movement, this is considered as rollers ([0079]).
The “a treatment module” of claim 1 and 17, the module is considered a placeholder for a function of treatment. This includes at least a plasma module with two or more electrodes (claim 2), it also includes various modules described in claims 11 and 16 and [0029]. Note in claims 2-4 it is no longer treated under 112f.
The “coating module” of claims 11 and 16, this includes “a fluid applicator” and optionally with heating elements ([0201]) and spraying device ([0202]).
The “film applicator module” of claims 11 and 16, this is considered as at least one roller and a film mount or actuators to realign the film being deposited, or a motor to lead the first portion of film from the roll to the substrate 1 ([0201]).
The “plasma module” of claims 11 and 16, this is considered as defined in claim 2.
The “dyeing module” of claim 11, this is considered as fluid reservoir mounted to module or key lock to module ([0150]), or as a fluid inlet to the module ([0215]).
The “heat module” of claim 11 and “heating module” of claim 16, this is considered as heating elements mounted internal or near the housing 22 ([0154]) or “heat lamps, UV lights, e-beam, UV-beam, fire, heating devices, heated gases or any other desired heating element” ([0204])
The “radiation module” of claim 11, this is considered as “UV radiation, microwaves, electromagnetic radiation, gamma radiation or X-ray … Radiation modules may have at least one radiation source installed therein, such as a lamp or radiation pellet ([0216]).
The “thermal module” of claim 11, this is considered as “coolant systems in which coolant is pumped through the core 101A of an electrode, or heat sinks may be used to rapidly transfer thermal energy from the plasma regions” ([0193]).
The “pre-treatment module” of claim 16, this is considered as an upper module 20’ ([0246]) which includes the treatment module defined elsewhere in the Specification and claims.
The “sputtering module” of claim 16, this is considered as “screen print, or laser print” ([0211]), optionally with a reservoir ([0213]).
The “wherein the module is movable relative to the substrate plane” of claim 5, this is considered as any component of the module is movable in any direction. It is not merely the substrate moves relative to stationary module.
The following limitations are considered as an intended use of the apparatus --
The “the treatment module being configured to eject a delivery gas and a monomer into a plasma region” of claim 13, “the monomer is polymerised by the plasma” of claim 14, and “the discrete fluids are at least one of; a monomer” of claim 18, the material fed into the module is an intended use of the apparatus. An apparatus that is capable of feeding monomer is considered read into the claim.
The “wherein the second fluid conduit is configured to deliver the discrete fluid with a laminar flow” of claim 19 and “wherein the second fluid conduit is configured to deliver the discrete fluid with a higher flow rate than that of the first fluid conduit” of claim 20, an apparatus that is capable of operating at such condition, for example by adjust valves, is considered read into these two limitations.
It has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (Walter, 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409; MPEP 2106). Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); MPEP2111.02). When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent (In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2112.01).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The previously added limitation of “a system housing, and within the housing is a treatment module“ of claim 13, “a system housing, in which a treatment module is within the housing“ of claim 17, Applicants’ Specification does not include the term of “system housing” and Applicants did not remark what this term is in the submission. Assuming the “system housing” refers to housing 22, as shown in Fig. 9A but missing in Fig. 9B, and only Fig. 9B seems to show housing 22 contains electrode(s) 101. However, Applicants’ Specification describes “The coating module 20 comprises a module housing 22” ([00139]), not the other way around.
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The previously added limitation “wherein the treatment module is a plurality of treatment modules arranged in series along the same linear plane“ of claim 12, there is no antecedent basis for the same linear plane.
Claim 12 will be examined inclusive “wherein the treatment module is a plurality of treatment modules arranged in series along a same linear plane“.
The previously added limitation of “a system housing, and within the housing is a treatment module“ of claim 13, “a system housing, in which a treatment module is within the housing“ of claim 17, while system housing is not disclosed in Applicants’ Specification, it is considered housing 22 as shown in Fig. 9A but missing in Fig. 9B, and only Fig. 9B seems to show housing 22 contains electrode(s) 101. However, Applicants’ Specification describes “The coating module 20 comprises a module housing 22” ([00139]), not the other way around. It is also not clear the “system housing” may refer to the same as “system chamber” of claim 1, see claim interpretation above.
Claims 13 and 17 will be examined inclusive housing contains treatment module or treatment module comprising housing.
Claim 20 recites “wherein the second fluid conduit is configured to deliver the discrete fluid with a higher flow rate than that of the first fluid conduit”, it is not clear this is volumetric flow rate or mass flow rate. As the monomer and the gas has quite different density, these two units are quite different. This creates ambiguity with the metes and bounds of claim 20.
Claim 20 will be examined inclusive both interpretations.
Note the parent claim 17 describes “wherein a first fluid conduit and a second fluid conduit directed to a plasma region, in which each of the first and second fluid conduits carry a discrete fluid to treat a substrate” but does not describe which is monomer conduit and which is gas conduit. As a result, either the monomer or the gas having a higher flow rate (mass or volumetric flow rate) will read into claim 20.
Dependent claims 14-16 and 18-20 are also rejected under USC 112(a) and 112(b) at least due to dependency to rejected claims 13 and 17, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Creyghton et al. (US 20110287193, previously applied, hereafter ‘193), in view of BUSCHBECK et al. (US 20140212599, hereafter ‘599).
‘193 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: an apparatus for treating an object using a plasma process (abstract, includes the claimed “A system for treating a substrate, the system comprising”);
The apparatus 1 is arranged for treating an object using a plasma process. Thereto, the apparatus 1 comprises a supporting structure for supporting the object 2 and an electrode structure for generating the plasma process. The support structure comprises a number of rollers 3, 4 and a plate 5 that is gas permeable. The object 2 is formed by a substrate that is transported via the rollers 3, 4 along the plate 5. The electrode structure is included in a series of surface dielectric barrier discharge plasma units 6, 7, 8, each comprising a solid dielectric structure 9, 10, 11 provided with an interior space wherein an interior electrode 12, 13, 14 is arranged (Fig. 1, for example, [0049]), During operation of the apparatus, the object 2 can be cleaned. The object 2 is put in the reactor `chamber`, or various objects are put in a volume of the chamber, ([0077], includes the claimed “a system chamber in which a treatment module is contained, the treatment module comprising an electrode; a substrate plane along which a substrate extends”);
The apparatus 1 further comprises multiple gas flow paths F1-F4 for separately flowing materials towards the object 2. Downstream sections of at least two gas flow paths of the multiple gas flow paths F1-F4 substantially coincide, thereby allowing materials of the separate flow paths to mix ([0050], includes the claimed “the treatment module is configured to deliver a fluid directly to a local region between the electrode and the substrate plane”, Note F1-F4 are directly flowing into the local region between the electrode and the substrate plane);
The proposed apparatus is preferably applied using gas flows at approximately atmospheric pressure ([0026], 2nd sentence, includes the claimed “wherein, when treating the substrate, the system operates at atmospheric pressure“).
Claim 13: an apparatus for treating an object using a plasma process (abstract, includes the claimed “A system for treating substrates, the system comprising”);
The apparatus 1 is arranged for treating an object using a plasma process. Thereto, the apparatus 1 comprises a supporting structure for supporting the object 2 and an electrode structure for generating the plasma process. The support structure comprises a number of rollers 3, 4 and a plate 5 that is gas permeable. The object 2 is formed by a substrate that is transported via the rollers 3, 4 along the plate 5. The electrode structure is included in a series of surface dielectric barrier discharge plasma units 6, 7, 8, each comprising a solid dielectric structure 9, 10, 11 provided with an interior space wherein an interior electrode 12, 13, 14 is arranged (Fig. 1, for example, [0049]), The proposed apparatus is preferably applied using gas flows at approximately atmospheric pressure ([0026], 2nd sentence), During operation of the apparatus, the object 2 can be cleaned. The object 2 is put in the reactor `chamber`, or various objects are put in a volume of the chamber, ([0077], includes the claimed “a system housing, and within the housing is a treatment module, said treatment module is configured to operate at an atmospheric pressure; a movement means for moving a substrate”);
the first material, in the first gas flow F1 comprises a polymer forming monomer. This polymer forming monomer may contain functional chemical groups such as halogen containing functional groups with an antimicrobial function ([0053]), More specifically, the plasma process is mainly applied to the material in the second, third and fourth flow paths F2-F4 that are oriented substantially transverse with respect to the treating surface 21 of the solid dielectric structure 9. As a result, in the second, third and fourth flow paths F2-F4, a reactive plasma species are formed, e.g. electrons, ions such as N2+, or radicals such as N. By mixing the reactive plasma species with the material in the first flow path F1 in the coinciding downstream section, a high deposition rate of a high quality polymer coating with intended functionalities can be realized on the object 2 ([0054], includes the claimed “the treatment module being configured to eject a delivery gas and a monomer into a plasma region to form a plasma for treating a substrate; in which the treatment module is configured to directly deliver the delivery gas and the monomer to the plasma region between an electrode and a plane of movement of the substrate“, Note F1-F4 are directly flowing into the local region between the electrode and the substrate plane).
Claim 17: an apparatus for treating an object using a plasma process (abstract, includes the claimed “A device for treatment of substrates, the device comprising”);
The apparatus 1 is arranged for treating an object using a plasma process. Thereto, the apparatus 1 comprises a supporting structure for supporting the object 2 and an electrode structure for generating the plasma process. The support structure comprises a number of rollers 3, 4 and a plate 5 that is gas permeable. The object 2 is formed by a substrate that is transported via the rollers 3, 4 along the plate 5. The electrode structure is included in a series of surface dielectric barrier discharge plasma units 6, 7, 8, each comprising a solid dielectric structure 9, 10, 11 provided with an interior space wherein an interior electrode 12, 13, 14 is arranged (Fig. 1, for example, [0049]), The proposed apparatus is preferably applied using gas flows at approximately atmospheric pressure ([0026], 2nd sentence), During operation of the apparatus, the object 2 can be cleaned. The object 2 is put in the reactor `chamber`, or various objects are put in a volume of the chamber, ([0077], includes the claimed “a system housing, in which a treatment module is within the housing, and the treatment module is configured to treat a substrate at atmospheric pressure without the need for a vacuum chamber; a movement means for moving the substrate”);
the first material, in the first gas flow F1 comprises a polymer forming monomer. This polymer forming monomer may contain functional chemical groups such as halogen containing functional groups with an antimicrobial function ([0053]), More specifically, the plasma process is mainly applied to the material in the second, third and fourth flow paths F2-F4 that are oriented substantially transverse with respect to the treating surface 21 of the solid dielectric structure 9. As a result, in the second, third and fourth flow paths F2-F4, a reactive plasma species are formed, e.g. electrons, ions such as N.sub.2.sub.+, or radicals such as N. By mixing the reactive plasma species with the material in the first flow path F1 in the coinciding downstream section, a high deposition rate of a high quality polymer coating with intended functionalities can be realized on the object 2 ([0054], includes the claimed “arranged and configured to directly deliver each said discrete fluid to the plasma region between an electrode and a plane of movement of the substrate“, Note F1-F4 are directly flowing into the local region between the electrode and the substrate plane).
Claim 7: As explicitly shown in FIGS. 3 and 4, an AC voltage differential is applied between the interior electrode 12 and the further electrode 15 partly covering the exterior of the dielectric body 9 ([0062], last sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the treatment module is connected to a power source, the power source being configured to power the module”).
‘193 further teaches that Factors that favourably improve the deposition are a short distance between the plasma and the object 2 and efficient gas transport through the plate 5 ([0054], last sentence).
‘193 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claims 1, 13, and 17: the treatment module being movable relative to the substrate plane such that the treatment module is spaced at a predetermined distance from the substrate plane;
the treatment module being positioned at said predetermined distance relatively above a surface of the substrate extending along said substrate plane.
Claim 5: wherein the treatment module is configured to move relative to the substrate plane within the range of 2mm to 50mm.
Claim 7: (wherein the treatment module is connected to a power source) and a controller, (the power source being configured to power the module) and the controller being configured to control functions of the module.
‘599 is an analogous art in the field of DEPOSITION SOURCE WITH ADJUSTABLE ELECTRODE (title), a plasma deposition source for depositing the thin film on the substrate in the vacuum processing region (abstract), Processing of flexible substrates, such as plastic films or foils ([0002], same as Applicants’ substrate, [0004]), many polymer materials are also developed for small molecule ([0006]). ‘599 teaches that guiding a substrate over a substrate support, and varying the distance of an electrode of a plasma deposition source from the substrate support, particularly wherein the distance is varied in dependence of the temperature and/or position of the substrate support ([0010]), Typically the position of the deposition source 130 varies depending of the temperature of the coating drum (Fig. 5, [0061], 2nd last sentence), One or more corresponding signals relating to the slit width and/or the plasma condition can be provided by signal line 343 to controller 340 (Fig. 4, [0057]), At low temperatures a fixed slit width, which has been adjusted for higher coating drum temperatures, is in the order of 1.5 to 2.0 mm if thin plastic film (e.g. 50 microns) is use ([0040], 2nd sentence).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have added a controller 340 and varying distance of an electrode of a plasma deposition source from the substrate support at 2 mm, as taught by ‘599, to operate the electrodes 12 and 15 of ‘193, for the purpose of compensating the temperature dependency, as taught by ‘599 ([0010]). Note the combination is capable of setting distance 2 mm or more (to move away from substrate).
‘193 further teaches the limitations of:
Claims 2 and 4: each of the surface dielectric barrier discharge plasma units 6, 7, 8 comprises a further electrode 15, 16, 17 for generating in concert with the corresponding interior electrode 12, 13, 14 a surface dielectric barrier discharge (SDBD) plasma ([0049], 2nd last sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the treatment module is a plasma module comprising two or more electrodes” of claim 2 and “wherein a plasma region is formed between the two or more electrodes” of claim 4).
Claim 3: As explicitly shown in FIGS. 3 and 4, an AC voltage differential is applied between the interior electrode 12 and the further electrode 15 partly covering the exterior of the dielectric body 9 ([0062], last sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the two or more electrodes are powered with an AC power supply“).
Claim 6: The apparatus 1 further comprises multiple gas flow paths F1-F4 for separately flowing materials towards the object 2. Downstream sections of at least two gas flow paths of the multiple gas flow paths F1-F4 substantially coincide, thereby allowing materials of the separate flow paths to mix ([0050], includes the claimed “wherein the module is connected to a fluid supply configured to deliver fluid to the treatment module”).
Claim 8: The object 2 is formed by a substrate that is transported via the rollers 3, 4 along the plate 5 ([0049], includes the claimed “wherein the substrate plane is defined by a pair of rollers either side of the module”).
Claim 11: an apparatus for treating an object using a plasma process (abstract, includes the claimed “wherein the treatment module is selected from the group of a coating module, a film applicator module, a plasma module, a dyeing module, a heat module, a radiation module, and a thermal module”).
Claim 12: The electrode structure is included in a series of surface dielectric barrier discharge plasma units 6, 7, 8, each comprising a solid dielectric structure 9, 10, 11 provided with an interior space wherein an interior electrode 12, 13, 14 is arranged ([0049], includes the claimed “wherein the treatment module is a plurality of treatment modules arranged in series along the same linear plane, such that the substrate moves in a linear direction and said substrate is disposed relatively below the treatment modules during treatment” and as shown in Fig. 1, see also Fig. 12).
Claim 14: As an example, the first material, in the first gas flow F1 comprises a polymer forming monomer. This polymer forming monomer may contain functional chemical groups such as halogen containing functional groups with an antimicrobial function. ([0053], includes the claimed “the monomer is polymerised by the plasma”).
Claim 15: Plasma activated gas F2 is flown towards the surface and used for a chemical reaction of reactive plasma species with the gas F1 and/or the additives. As a result, oxidative radicals such as O, OH, Cl etc. are produced at the location of the polluted surface resulting in very effective, efficient and fast cleaning ([0077], last two sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the plasma activates a surface of the substrate”).
Claim 16: The electrode structure is included in a series of surface dielectric barrier discharge plasma units 6, 7, 8, each comprising a solid dielectric structure 9, 10, 11 provided with an interior space wherein an interior electrode 12, 13, 14 is arranged (for example, [0049], includes the claimed “wherein the system comprises a plurality of treatment modules selected from at least one of; a pre-treatment module, a plasma module, a coating module, a heating module, a film applicator module, a sputtering module, and a printing module”).
Claim 18: the first material, in the first gas flow F1 comprises a polymer forming monomer. This polymer forming monomer may contain functional chemical groups such as halogen containing functional groups with an antimicrobial function ([0053]), More specifically, the plasma process is mainly applied to the material in the second, third and fourth flow paths F2-F4 that are oriented substantially transverse with respect to the treating surface 21 of the solid dielectric structure 9. As a result, in the second, third and fourth flow paths F2-F4, a reactive plasma species are formed, e.g. electrons, ions such as N.sub.2.sub.+, or radicals such as N. By mixing the reactive plasma species with the material in the first flow path F1 in the coinciding downstream section, a high deposition rate of a high quality polymer coating with intended functionalities can be realized on the object 2 ([0054], wherein the discrete fluids are at least one of; a monomer and a delivery gas”).
Claims 19-20: by operating the gas inlet valve for the monomer at low rate or at a high rate, the apparatus is capable of the claimed “wherein the second fluid conduit is configured to deliver the discrete fluid with a laminar flow” of claim 19 and “wherein the second fluid conduit is configured to deliver the discrete fluid with a higher flow rate than that of the first fluid conduit” of claim 20.
In case Applicants argue that the “a system housing” has to be the housing 22 of the instant Application, Fig. 1 shows an unlabeled housing surrounding electrodes 15, 16, 17.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘193 and ‘599, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, in view of Honda et al. (US 6153259, hereafter ‘259).
The combination of ‘193 and ‘599 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 10: further comprising a fluid
‘259 is an analogous art in the field of Thin Film, Method And Apparatus For Forming The Same, And Electronic Component Incorporating The Same (title), A deposition material (acrylic monomer) is supplied to the Al deposition film 3 running along the round surface of the cylindrical can 4 exposed between shielding plates 5. The deposition material is then cured by being exposed to an UV radiation device 7, thereby forming an acrylic resin thin film (Fig. 1, col. 9, lines 42-47), An ion beam 37 is radiated on the deposition surface of the base substrate 3 by the ion radiation device 38 before the deposition material is supplied to the deposition surface of the base substrate 3 from a deposition material supplying section 310 and carried along the round surface of a can 4 (Fig. 20, col. 25, lines 43-48). ‘259 teaches that the deposition material can be collected in a cooled cup 48 so as to be reused (Fig. 13, col. 20, lines 8-9).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have added a cooled cup 48 of ‘259, below the rollers 3 and 4 of ‘193, for the purpose of collect monomer for reuse, as taught by ‘259 (col. 20, lines 8-9).
Alternatively, claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘193 and ‘599, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of Yang et al. (US 8017183, previously cited, hereafter ‘183).
In case Applicants argue that the flow rate is not an intended use of the apparatus and ‘193 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 19: wherein the second fluid conduit is configured to deliver the discrete fluid with a laminar flow.
Claim 20: wherein the second fluid conduit is configured to deliver the discrete fluid with a higher flow rate than that of the first fluid conduit.
‘183 is an analogous art in the field of An atomic-layer-deposition process for forming a patterned thin film comprising providing a substrate (abstract), optionally allows operation at atmospheric or near-atmospheric pressures and is capable of operating in an unsealed or open-air environment (col. 11, lines 4-7), Organosiloxane polymers are defined to include polymers, prepolymers, or macro monomers having at least 20 siloxane repeat units (col. 9, lines 26-28), and oxygen plasma (col. 26, line 45). ‘183 teaches that A particular delivery head 10 may use output channels 12 configured using any one of the gas flow configurations or combinations thereof, either the F1 flow of FIG. 8A, the F2 flow of FIG. 8B, or some other variation in which gaseous material is directed to flow across substrate 20 along output channel 12, preferably in a substantially laminar or smooth fashion with controlled mixing (col. 16, lines 18-24).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have operated the gas inlet valve of ‘193 in laminar flow, as taught by ‘183, for the purpose of smooth controlled mixing, as taught by ‘183 (col. 16, line 24).
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘193 and ‘955, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, in view of Herbert et al. (US 20060118242, hereafter ‘242).
The combination of ‘193 and ‘955 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 21: wherein the pressure in the local region is higher than atmospheric pressure when fluid is delivered.
Claim 22: wherein the system is configured to operate at a pressure that is higher than atmospheric pressure when the fluid is delivered.
‘242 is an analogous art in the field of Atmospheric Pressure Plasma System (title), a high level of polymerisation is achieved by application of plasma to monomeric gases and vapours ([0010], 2nd sentence), Atmospheric pressure plasmas, however, offer industry open port/perimeter systems providing free ingress into and exit from the plasma region by work-pieces/webs and, hence, on-line, continuous processing of large or small area webs or conveyor-carried discrete work-pieces. Throughput is high, reinforced by the high species flux obtained from high pressure operation. Many industrial sectors, such as textiles, packaging, paper, medical, automotive, aerospace, etc., rely almost entirely upon continuous, on-line processing so that open port/perimeter configuration plasmas at atmospheric pressure offer a new industrial processing capability ([0014]). ‘224 teaches that This embodiment would be particularly useful when the APP system is operated at a pressure greater than atmospheric pressure ([0048]). Note Fig. 3 also shows a direct line-of-sight from gas feed pipe 25 to the local region between the electrode and the substrate.
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have adopted an operation pressure greater than atmospheric pressure to the operation of ‘193, as taught by ‘242, for its suitability for coating textile with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
Claims 1-8, 11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over York et al. (US 20040152381, from IDS, hereafter ‘381), in view of ‘599.
‘381 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: to apply surface treatments to a fabric (or the yarns or fibres from which it is made) so as to modify the properties of the fabric (Fig. 1, [0003], includes the claimed “A system for treating a substrate, the system comprising”);
the fabric finishing unit generally comprises vacuum chamber housing 1 equipped with plasma-generating means 2, fabric-supply and transport mechanism 3, liquid feed system 4, gas feed 5, … the fabric to be treated passing between electrodes 7 and 8 at a predetermined web speed ([0099], 1st and 4th sentences, the entire chamber is considered as a module, and a room that accommodates the chamber, or it is obvious to place the chamber in a production plant or clean room, including the claimed “system chamber”, see claim interpretation above, includes the claimed “a system chamber in which a treatment module is contained, the treatment module comprising an electrode; a substrate plane along which a substrate extends”); as the gas feed 5 is flowing gas directly thought line-of-sight into the space between the electrode 8 and the fabric without intervening component, it reads into the claimed “the treatment module is configured to deliver a fluid directly to a local region between the electrode and the substrate plane”, even under the narrow interpretation argued by applicants),
the present invention generally encompasses the use of both continuous and atmospheric plasmas ([0043], includes the claimed “wherein, when treating the substrate, the system operates at atmospheric pressure“).
Claim 13: to apply surface treatments to a fabric (or the yarns or fibres from which it is made) so as to modify the properties of the fabric (Fig. 1, [0003], includes the claimed “A system for treating a substrate, the system comprising”);
the fabric finishing unit generally comprises vacuum chamber housing 1 equipped with plasma-generating means 2, fabric-supply and transport mechanism 3, liquid feed system 4, gas feed 5, … the fabric to be treated passing between electrodes 7 and 8 at a predetermined web speed ([0099], 1st and 4th sentences), Plasma generating means 2 generally comprises internal powered electrode 7, internal earthed electrode 8 … Rf generator 10 ([0099], 2nd sentence), Fabrics having a laundry-durable finish made by graft polymerisation of a polymerisable monomer (abstract), transport mechanism 3 comprises feed roll 13 and take-up roll 14 ([0099], 4th sentence, the entire chamber is considered as a module, includes the claimed “a system housing, and within the housing is a treatment module“, as the room containing the chamber housing is considered “a system housing”, and “a movement means for moving a substrate; the treatment module being configured to eject a delivery gas and a monomer into a plasma region to form a plasma for treating a substrate; in which the treatment module is configured to directly deliver the delivery gas and the monomer to the plasma region between an electrode and a plane of movement of the substrate”, note feeding monomer is considered an intended use of the apparatus and the vaporized gas from liquid feed system 4 has a direct, line-of-sight, without intervening component, directly into the plasma region),
the present invention generally encompasses the use of both continuous and atmospheric plasmas ([0043], includes the claimed “said treatment module is configured to operate at an atmospheric pressure“).
Claim 17: to apply surface treatments to a fabric (or the yarns or fibres from which it is made) so as to modify the properties of the fabric (Fig. 1, [0003], includes the claimed “A device for treatment of substrates, the device comprising”);
the fabric finishing unit generally comprises vacuum chamber housing 1 equipped with plasma-generating means 2, fabric-supply and transport mechanism 3, liquid feed system 4, gas feed 5, … the fabric to be treated passing between electrodes 7 and 8 at a predetermined web speed ([0099], 1st and 4th sentences), Plasma generating means 2 generally comprises internal powered electrode 7, internal earthed electrode 8 … Rf generator 10 ([0099], 2nd sentence), Fabrics having a laundry-durable finish made by graft polymerisation of a polymerisable monomer (abstract), transport mechanism 3 comprises feed roll 13 and take-up roll 14 ([0099], 4th sentence), the present invention generally encompasses the use of both continuous and atmospheric plasmas ([0043], the entire chamber is considered as a module and the room accommodating the chamber is a “system housing”, includes the claimed “a system housing, in which a treatment module is within the housing without the need for a vacuum chamber; and the treatment module is configured to treat a substrate at atmospheric pressure; a movement means for moving the substrate;
Claim 7: As explicitly shown in FIGS. 3 and 4, an AC voltage differential is applied between the interior electrode 12 and the further electrode 15 partly covering the exterior of the dielectric body 9 ([0062], last sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the treatment module is connected to a power source, the power source being configured to power the module”).
‘381 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claims 1, 13, and 17: wherein the treatment module being movable relative to the substrate plane such that the treatment module is spaced at a predetermined distance from the substrate plane;
the treatment module being positioned at said predetermined distance relatively above a surface of the substrate extending along said substrate plane;
Claim 5: wherein the treatment module is configured to move relative to the substrate plane within the range of 2mm to 50mm.
Claim 7: (wherein the treatment module is connected to a power source) and a controller, (the power source being configured to power the module) and the controller being configured to control functions of the module.
‘599 is an analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have added a controller 340 and varying distance of an electrode of a plasma deposition source from the substrate support at 2 mm, as taught by ‘599, to operate the electrodes 7 and 8 of ‘381, for the purpose of compensating the temperature dependency, as taught by ‘599 ([0010]). Note the combination is capable of setting distance 2 mm or more (to move away from substrate).
‘381 further teaches the limitations of:
Claims 2-4 and 11: Plasma generating means 2 generally comprises internal powered electrode 7, internal earthed electrode 8 … Rf generator 10 ([0099], 2nd sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the treatment module is a plasma module comprising two or more electrodes” of claim 2, “wherein the two or more electrodes are powered with an AC power supply” of claim 3 as RF is a type of AC, “wherein a plasma region is formed between the two or more electrodes” of claim 4, and “wherein the treatment module is selected from the group of a coating module, a film applicator module, a plasma module, a dyeing module, a heat module, a radiation module, and a thermal module“ of claim 11).
Claim 6: the fabric finishing unit generally comprises vacuum chamber housing 1 equipped with plasma-generating means 2, fabric-supply and transport mechanism 3, liquid feed system 4, gas feed 5 ([0099], 1st sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the module is connected to a fluid supply configured to deliver fluid to the treatment module”).
Claim 8: Fabric-supply and transport mechanism 3 comprises feed roll 13 and take-up roll 14 ([0099], 4th sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the substrate plane is defined by a pair of rollers either side of the module”).
Claim 14: Fabrics having a laundry-durable finish made by graft polymerisation of a polymerisable monomer (abstract, includes the claimed “the monomer is polymerised by the plasma”).
Claim 15: apply surface treatments to a fabric ([0003], includes the claimed “wherein the plasma activates a surface of the substrate”).
Claim 18: Fabrics having a laundry-durable finish made by graft polymerisation of a polymerisable monomer (abstract, includes the claimed “wherein the discrete fluids are at least one of; a monomer and a delivery gas”, note feeding monomer is considered an intended use of the apparatus).
Claim 19: Liquid feed system 4 comprises one or more ultrasonic nozzles 15 with corresponding metering pumps 16 and valves 17 and vaporization tube 18 whereby the atomized monomer is delivered into housing 1 in vaporized form and deposited on the fabric by condensation ([0099], 5th sentence, by opening the valve 17 at very small opening and/or operating the vaporization tube at low rate, it is capable of the claimed “wherein the second fluid conduit is configured to deliver the discrete fluid with a laminar flow”).
Claim 20: the valves 15 and 19 are capable of operating at a high flow rate (includes the claimed “wherein the second fluid conduit is configured to deliver the discrete fluid with a higher flow rate than that of the first fluid conduit”).
‘559 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 16: The embodiment depicted in FIG. 1 includes two deposition sources 130 ([0032]), the plasma deposition source 130 ([0066], includes the claimed “wherein the system comprises a plurality of treatment modules selected from at least one of; a pre-treatment module, a plasma module, a coating module, a heating module, a film applicator module, a sputtering module, and a printing module”).
Alternatively, claims 1-8, 11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over ‘381, in view of ‘599 and ‘193.
In case Applicants argue that claims 1, 13, and 17 should be interpreted as “fluid delivered between the electrode directly …”
‘193 is an analogous art in the field of The invention relates to an apparatus for treating an object using a plasma process (abstract), Atmospheric pressure plasma (APP) can be effectively used for surface modification of various materials. For example adhesion properties of textile materials can be enhanced in a continuous high speed process. Plasma deposition of thin coatings, eventually comprising submicron particles, is very suitable to add functional properties to existing high performance textile materials without losing the original properties ([0003]), polymerization without loosing functionality of monomers ([0014], 2nd last sentence). the first material comprises polymer forming monomer with antimicrobial functional groups while the second material comprises N2, H2, Ar or He ([0015]). ‘193 teaches that The apparatus 1 further comprises multiple gas flow paths F1-F4 for separately flowing materials towards the object 2. Downstream sections of at least two gas flow paths of the multiple gas flow paths F1-F4 substantially coincide, thereby allowing materials of the separate flow paths to mix ([0050], the same as Applicants’ Fig. 8 that gas delivered via an electrode).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have re-arranged the gas inlet of ‘381 to be near the electrode, as taught by ‘193. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention only involves routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 VI C., for the purpose of transporting undesirable solid particles away from the treating surface, as taught by ‘193 ([0064]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘381 and ‘599 (optionally with ‘193), as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of ‘259.
The combination of ‘381 and ‘599 (optionally with ‘193) does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 10: further comprising a fluid
‘259 is an analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have added a cooled cup 48 of ‘259, below the electrode 7 of ‘381, for the purpose of collect monomer for reuse, as taught by ‘259 (col. 20, lines 8-9).
Alternatively, claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘381 and ‘599 (optionally with ‘193), as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of ‘183.
In case Applicants argue that the flow rate is not an intended use of the apparatus and the combination of ‘381 and ‘599 (optionally with ‘193) does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 19: wherein the second fluid conduit is configured to deliver the discrete fluid with a laminar flow.
Claim 20: wherein the second fluid conduit is configured to deliver the discrete fluid with a higher flow rate than that of the first fluid conduit.
‘183 is an analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have adopted a laminar flow to either the monomer or the gas supply of ‘381, as taught by ‘183, for the purpose of controlled mixing, as taught by ‘183 (col. 16, line 24).
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘381 and ‘599 (optionally with ‘193), as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of ‘242.
The combination of ‘381 and ‘599 (optionally with ‘193) does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 21: wherein the pressure in the local region is higher than atmospheric pressure when fluid is delivered.
Claim 22: wherein the system is configured to operate at a pressure that is higher than atmospheric pressure when the fluid is delivered.
‘242 is an analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have adopted an operation pressure greater than atmospheric pressure to the operation of ‘381, as taught by ‘242, for its suitability for coating textile with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Rogge et al. (US 20150255252, hereafter ‘252), in view of 599.
‘252 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: a method for applying a surface coating on, for example, a sheet of fabric and further provides a plasma chamber (10) for coating a sheet of fabric, e.g. a textile material, with a polymer layer, the plasma chamber (10) comprising a plurality of electrode layers (RF, M) arranged successively within the plasma chamber, wherein at least two adjacent electrode layers are radiofrequency electrode layers (RF) or ground electrode layers (M), thereby providing a surface coating on both sides of a fabric sheet (abstract, Figs. 4-7, a room that accommodates the chamber, or it is obvious to place the chamber in a production plant or clean room, including the claimed “A system for treating a substrate, the system comprising; a system chamber in which a treatment module is contained, the treatment module comprising an electrode; a substrate plane along which a substrate extends”, note the entire chamber is considered the treatment module);
Gas inlet valve is opened and the evaporated liquid monomer is fed into the plasma chamber 10 in a controlled manner at a controlled rate ([0162], includes the claimed “the treatment module is configured to deliver a fluid directly to a local region between the electrode and the substrate plane”, as gas moves in all directions into the local region between the electrode and the substrate plane, similar to Applicants’ Fig. 9A with intervening component in between),
by not turning on pump while feeding the evaporated liquid monomer, the apparatus is capable of “wherein, when treating the substrate, the system operates at atmospheric pressure”, note there are many opening of the chamber that are connect to the outside atmosphere, including the pump outlet.
Claim 13: a method for applying a surface coating on, for example, a sheet of fabric and further provides a plasma chamber (10) for coating a sheet of fabric, e.g. a textile material, with a polymer layer, the plasma chamber (10) comprising a plurality of electrode layers (RF, M) arranged successively within the plasma chamber, wherein at least two adjacent electrode layers are radiofrequency electrode layers (RF) or ground electrode layers (M), thereby providing a surface coating on both sides of a fabric sheet (abstract, Figs. 4-7, a room that accommodates the chamber, or it is obvious to place the chamber in a production plant or clean room, including the claimed “A system for treating a substrate, the system comprising; a system housing, and within the housing is a treatment module”);
by not turning on pump while feeding the evaporated liquid monomer, the apparatus is capable of “said treatment module is configured to operate at an atmospheric pressure”, note there are many opening of the chamber that are connect to the outside atmosphere, including the pump outlet,
The plasma chamber 10 further comprises a series of upper and lower rollers 101, 102 and load cells for guiding a sheet of textile material 16 between the electrode layers RF, M ([0139], 2nd sentence, includes the claimed “a movement means for moving a substrate”);
Gas inlet valve is opened and the evaporated liquid monomer is fed into the plasma chamber 10 in a controlled manner at a controlled rate ([0162]), the addition of a small amount of carrier gas leads to better stability of the plasma inside the plasma chamber, thereby providing a more uniform thickness of the coating layer. The ratio of carrier gas to monomer is preferably equal to or less than 1:4 ([0033], includes the claimed “the treatment module being configured to eject a delivery gas and a monomer into a plasma region to form a plasma for treating a substrate; in which the treatment module is configured to directly deliver the delivery gas and the monomer to the plasma region between an electrode and a plane of movement of the substrate”, as gas moves in all directions into the local region between the electrode and the substrate plane, similar to Applicants’ Fig. 9A with intervening component in between. note feeding monomer is an intended use of the apparatus).
Claim 7: As explicitly shown in FIGS. 3 and 4, an AC voltage differential is applied between the interior electrode 12 and the further electrode 15 partly covering the exterior of the dielectric body 9 ([0062], last sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the treatment module is connected to a power source, the power source being configured to power the module”).
‘232 further teaches that The plasma chamber 10 is closed and the electrodes, which are mounted on the moving part of the machine, are slid in between the guiding rolls (and thus in between the textile) ([0159]).
‘252 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claims 1 and 13: wherein the treatment module being movable relative to the substrate plane such that the treatment module is spaced at a predetermined distance from the substrate plane;
the treatment module being positioned at said predetermined distance relatively above a surface of the substrate extending along said substrate plane.
Claim 5: wherein the treatment module is configured to move relative to the substrate plane within the range of 2mm to 50mm.
Claim 7: (wherein the treatment module is connected to a power source) and a controller, (the power source being configured to power the module) and the controller being configured to control functions of the module.
‘599 is an analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have added a controller 340 and varying distance of an electrode of a plasma deposition source from the substrate support at 2 mm, as taught by ‘599, to operate the electrode layers of ‘252, for the purpose of control the temperature dependence, as taught by ‘599 ([0010]). Note the combination is capable of setting distance 2 mm or more (to move away from substrate).
‘252 further teaches the limitations of:
Claims 2-4: In a first embodiment of the invention the electrode arrangement comprises ten electrode layers arranged in sequence as shown in FIG. 4. This arrangement may be symbolized as M/RF/M/RF/M/M/RF/M/RF/M (this represents the arrangement as shown in FIG. 1). In use, and when an electromagnetic field is applied to the radiofrequency electrode layer, plasma is struck between the electrode layers. A primary plasma is struck between a radiofrequency electrode layer RF and a ground electrode layer M ([0142], Fig. 4, for example, includes the claimed “wherein the treatment module is a plasma module comprising two or more electrodes” of claim 2, “wherein the two or more electrodes are powered with an AC power supply” of claim 3 as RF is a type of AC power, “wherein a plasma region is formed between the two or more electrodes” of claim 4).
Claim 8: The plasma chamber 10 further comprises a series of upper and lower rollers 101, 102 and load cells for guiding a sheet of textile material 16 between the electrode layers RF, M ([0139], 2nd sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the substrate plane is defined by a pair of rollers either side of the module”).
Claim 11: when an electromagnetic field is applied to the radiofrequency electrode layer RF, plasma is struck between the radiofrequency electrode layer RF and the ground electrode layer M. Such plasma is known as primary plasma. When monomer is present in the plasma chamber 10 this results in a polymer coating being applied to a surface of the sheet of textile material 16 that is facing the radiofrequency electrode layer RF, resulting in a sheet of textile material 16 having a uniform polymer coating applied to a single surface thereof ([0140], 2nd half, includes the claimed “wherein the treatment module is selected from the group of a coating module, a film applicator module, a plasma module, a dyeing module, a heat module, a radiation module, and a thermal module”).
Claims 14-15: when an electromagnetic field is applied to the radiofrequency electrode layer RF, plasma is struck between the radiofrequency electrode layer RF and the ground electrode layer M. Such plasma is known as primary plasma. When monomer is present in the plasma chamber 10 this results in a polymer coating being applied to a surface of the sheet of textile material 16 that is facing the radiofrequency electrode layer RF, resulting in a sheet of textile material 16 having a uniform polymer coating applied to a single surface thereof ([0140], 2nd half, includes the claimed “the monomer is polymerised by the plasma” of claim 14 and “wherein the plasma activates a surface of the substrate” of claim 15).
Claim 16: In a first embodiment of the invention the electrode arrangement comprises ten electrode layers arranged in sequence as shown in FIG. 4. This arrangement may be symbolized as M/RF/M/RF/M/M/RF/M/RF/M (this represents the arrangement as shown in FIG. 1). In use, and when an electromagnetic field is applied to the radiofrequency electrode layer, plasma is struck between the electrode layers. A primary plasma is struck between a radiofrequency electrode layer RF and a ground electrode layer M ([0142], Fig. 4, includes the claimed “wherein the system comprises a plurality of treatment modules selected from at least one of; a pre-treatment module, a plasma module, a coating module, a heating module, a film applicator module, a sputtering module, and a printing module”).
Claims 12 and 17-20, and alternatively claims 1-5, 7-8, 11, and 13-16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘252, in view of ‘599 and ‘193.
‘252 teaches some limitations of:
Claims 17-18: a method for applying a surface coating on, for example, a sheet of fabric and further provides a plasma chamber (10) for coating a sheet of fabric, e.g. a textile material, with a polymer layer, the plasma chamber (10) comprising a plurality of electrode layers (RF, M) arranged successively within the plasma chamber, wherein at least two adjacent electrode layers are radiofrequency electrode layers (RF) or ground electrode layers (M), thereby providing a surface coating on both sides of a fabric sheet (abstract, Figs. 4-7, a room that accommodates the chamber, or it is obvious to place the chamber in a production plant or clean room, includes the claimed “A device for treatment of substrates, the device comprising; a system housing, in which a treatment module is within the housing, and the treatment module is configured to treat a substrate”; by not turning on pump while feeding the evaporated liquid monomer, the apparatus is capable of “at atmospheric pressure”, note there are many opening of the chamber that are connect to the outside atmosphere, including the pump outlet),
The plasma chamber 10 further comprises a series of upper and lower rollers 101, 102 and load cells for guiding a sheet of textile material 16 between the electrode layers RF, M ([0139], 2nd sentence, includes the claimed “a movement means for moving the substrate”);
this pre-treatment is done using inert gases, such as argon, nitrogen or helium, but also more reactive gases might be used, e.g. hydrogen and oxygen and/or etching reagents such as CF4 ([0083]), Gas inlet valve is opened and the evaporated liquid monomer is fed into the plasma chamber 10 in a controlled manner at a controlled rate ([0162]), the addition of a small amount of carrier gas leads to better stability of the plasma inside the plasma chamber, thereby providing a more uniform thickness of the coating layer. The ratio of carrier gas to monomer is preferably equal to or less than 1:4 ([0033], includes the claimed “Applicants’ Fig. 9A with intervening component in between, and “wherein the discrete fluids are at least one of; a monomer and a delivery gas” of claim 18).
‘252 does not teach the other limitations of Claim 17: (17A) a system housing, in which a treatment module is within the housing, and the treatment module is configured to treat a substrate at atmospheric pressure without the need for a vacuum chamber;
(17B) wherein the treatment module is movable relative to the plane of movement such that the treatment module is spaced at a predetermined distance from the plane of movement of the substrate;
the treatment module being positioned at said predetermined distance relatively above a surface of the substrate extending along said plane of movement.
‘193 is an analogous art as discussed above. ‘193 teaches that Atmospheric pressure plasma (APP) can be effectively used for surface modification of various materials ([0003]).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have operated the apparatus of ‘252 without the need of a vacuum chamber (the limitation of 17A), as taught by ‘193, for the purpose of easier processing without vacuum pump and/or for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
‘599 is an analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have added a controller 340 and varying distance of an electrode of a plasma deposition source from the substrate support, as taught by ‘599, to operate the electrode layers of ‘252 (the limitations of 17B), for the purpose of control the temperature dependence, as taught by ‘599 ([0010]).
‘252 further teaches the limitations of:
Claims 19-20: by operating the gas inlet valve for the monomer at low rate, the apparatus is capable of the claimed “wherein the second fluid conduit is configured to deliver the discrete fluid with a laminar flow” of claim 19 and “wherein the second fluid conduit is configured to deliver the discrete fluid with a higher flow rate than that of the first fluid conduit” of claim 20.
In case Applicants argue that claims 1, 13, and 17 should be interpreted as “fluid delivered between the electrode directly …”
‘193 is an analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have re-arranged the gas inlet of ‘252 to be near the electrode, as taught by ‘193. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention only involves routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 VI C., , for the purpose of transporting undesirable solid particles away from the treating surface, as taught by ‘193 ([0064]).
‘193 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 12: The electrode structure is included in a series of surface dielectric barrier discharge plasma units 6, 7, 8, each comprising a solid dielectric structure 9, 10, 11 provided with an interior space wherein an interior electrode 12, 13, 14 is arranged ([0049], includes the claimed “wherein the treatment module is a plurality of treatment modules arranged in series along the same linear plane, such that the substrate moves in a linear direction and said substrate is disposed relatively below the treatment modules during treatment” and as shown in Fig. 1, see also Fig. 12).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘252 and ‘599 (optionally with ‘193), as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of Lien et al. (20050130529, from IDS, hereafter ‘529).
The combination of ‘252 and ‘599 (optionally with ‘193) does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 6: wherein the module is connected to a fluid supply configured to deliver fluid to the treatment module.
‘529 is an analogous art in the field of A photocatalytic fabric products and a manufacturing method thereof uses a plasma polymerization process and a sputtering process under the vacuum environment. The protective layer is deposited on the surface of the fabric product (abstract) with rollers (Fig. 2, [0024]). ‘529 teaches that In plasma polymerization area 20, the material (such as fluorosilane related gas monomers) 22 of the protective layer gets into the vacuum chamber 1, and mixes with the inert gas comprising He, Ne, and Ar at an adequate chamber pressure ([0025]), for the purpose of avoiding unstable uniformity and the water pollution ([0003], last sentence).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have adopted the monomer delivery directly to the plasma source, as taught by ‘529, to the RF electrode of ‘252, for the purpose of avoiding unstable uniformity and the water pollution, as taught by ‘529 ([0003], last sentence).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘252 and ‘599 (optionally with ‘193), as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, in view of ‘259.
The combination of ‘252 and ‘599 (optionally with ‘193) does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 10: further comprising a fluid
‘259 is an analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have added a cooled cup 48 of ‘259, below the rollers 102 of ‘252, for the purpose of collect monomer for reuse, as taught by ‘259 (col. 20, lines 8-9).
Alternatively, claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘252 and ‘599 (optionally with ‘193), as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, in view of ‘183.
In case Applicants argue that the flow rate is not an intended use of the apparatus and the combination of ‘252 and ‘599 (optionally with ‘193) does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 19: wherein the second fluid conduit is configured to deliver the discrete fluid with a laminar flow.
Claim 20: wherein the second fluid conduit is configured to deliver the discrete fluid with a higher flow rate than that of the first fluid conduit.
‘183 is an analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have operated the gas inlet valve of ‘252 , as taught by ‘183, for the purpose of controlled mixing, as taught by ‘183 (col. 16, line 24).
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘252 and ‘599 (optionally with ‘193), as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of ‘242.
The combination of ‘252 and ‘599 (optionally with ‘193) does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 21: wherein the pressure in the local region is higher than atmospheric pressure when fluid is delivered.
Claim 22: wherein the system is configured to operate at a pressure that is higher than atmospheric pressure when the fluid is delivered.
‘242 is an analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have adopted an operation pressure greater than atmospheric pressure to the operation of ‘252, as taught by ‘242, for its suitability for coating textile with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The examiner notices Applicants fail to address 112(a) and 112(b) issues.
In regarding to claim interpretation, Applicants argue that turning off pump is not operating or can be operated for a short period of seconds, see the middle of page 6.
This argument is found not persuasive.
Turning off pump while turning the gas feed, plasma, substrate moving means on is operating.
Turning off pump or not turning on the pump at all, while depositing under atmospheric plasma is an operation.
Turning off pump while trying operating under vacuum may be limited to short time, but turning off pump while operating at atmospheric pressure can be operated for a long time on the surface of the earth.
In regarding to 102/103 rejection, Applicants stated the rejection list at bottom of page 7 to page 8 without any argument.
In regarding to Rogge ‘252, Applicants argue that the movement is not the direction of the newly added limitation, see the bottom of page 8 to page 9.
This argument is found not persuasive.
The newly added limitation is similar to previous claim 5, which is rejected in view of ‘599.
Two more references is cited in the conclusion below to show changing distance between plasma and substrate is well-known in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20130243966 is cited for “changing a distance between the substrate and the plasma source during a relative movement of the substrate and the plasma source” (claim 30 of ‘966, Fig. 1). US 20140308580 is cited for “ changing the distance between the resin substrate and a plasma source” ([0014], Fig. 5).
US 20080292810 is cited for textile coating at vacuum, atmospheric or higher pressure ([0025]).
US 20180320268 is cited for “it is possible to control the thickness of each layer by changing the distance of the plasma generation space when the conveyance speed is constant in the actual apparatus used” [0072], last sentence.
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716