DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 4, 6, 9-11 are pending in the current application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 6, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Instant claims 1 and 11 requires the predefined and non-randomly distributed microgaps “forming cooling channels” are realized. The instant specification at page 4 last- page 5 first paragraph (beginning “According to a fourth aspect…”) contains the sentence “Another advantage is that with 3D printing in the target material itself cooling channels for water cooling or air cooling can be foreseen which allows for a very efficient cooling approach.” No other mention of forming cooling channels appears within the specification. Because there is not an indication that it is the microgaps forming the cooling channels in the original specification, the claim amendment requiring the microgaps to form cooling channels is new matter. Claims 4, 6, 9-10 are rejected for their dependence upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ferrasse (US 20170287685).
As to claim 1, Ferrasse discloses a method of building up a sputtering target comprising:
A target comprising a base plate and target material (abstract; paragraph 50: formation of interlayer on base plate);
Using an additive method for direct energy deposition comprising laser cladding (paragraph 56);
Wherein the target base plate is coated with the target material directly on the base plate to realize a new target (figure 7: formation of interlayer 80 on backing plate 71 with laser cladding system 64).
As to the claim limitation of the additive method forming predefined and non-randomly distributed microgaps realizing cooling channels, it is believed that Ferrasse inherently obtains this result, although not explicitly stated within its disclosure, for two reasons:
First, the target of Ferrasse is formed by the same method of the instant application – an additive direct energy formation method including laser cladding. It is therefore believed that the same formation technique will result in the same structure including non-randomly distributed microgaps absent any further evidence in difference in formation technique.
Second, Ferrasse, as in the instant application, forms the target structure by an additive laser cladding method. As illustrated in the figures of Ferrasse (figures 5-8: schematic and not to scale, but illustrating the techniques deposition process), this technique involves repetitive deposition of individual discrete ‘blobs’ of material. Therefore, the process will inherently introduce imperfections, including microgaps, between the discrete deposition points as perfectly uniform and homogenous ‘meshing’ of the deposition sites cannot absolutely be obtained.
As to claim 4, Ferrasse discloses the additive method is based on powder material using a powder mixture during the additive method to build up the target (paragraph 60: additive method with powder mixing; paragraph 106: exemplary Ti/Cu and Cu/Cr powder mixtures).
As to claim 9, Ferrasse discloses a mechanical flattening step (paragraph 97: final machining step by polishing).
As to claim 10, Ferrasse discloses formation of the target of claim 1 with different target material directly on the base plate (figure 4, paragraph 50: exemplary Al/Cu backing with W target).
As to claim 11, Ferrasse discloses a method comprising:
using directed energy deposition by laser cladding (paragraph 56); and
building up and finalize a target directly onto a base plate (figure 4);
Wherein the target base plate is coated with the target material directly on the base plate to realize a new target (figure 7: formation of interlayer 80 on backing plate 71 with laser cladding system 64).
As to the claim limitation of the additive method forming predefined and non-randomly distributed microgaps, it is believed that Ferrasse inherently obtains this result, although not explicitly stated within its disclosure, for two reasons:
First, the target of Ferrasse is formed by the same method of the instant application – an additive direct energy formation method including laser cladding. It is therefore believed that the same formation technique will result in the same structure including non-randomly distributed microgaps absent any further evidence in difference in formation technique.
Second, Ferrasse, as in the instant application, forms the target structure by an additive laser cladding method. As illustrated in the figures of Ferrasse (figures 5-8: schematic and not to scale, but illustrating the techniques deposition process), this technique involves repetitive deposition of individual discrete ‘blobs’ of material. Therefore, the process will inherently introduce imperfections, including microgaps, between the discrete deposition points as perfectly uniform and homogenous ‘meshing’ of the deposition sites cannot absolutely be obtained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferrasse, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Aimone (US 20020112955).
As to claim 6, Ferrasse discloses a method of forming a target by an additive manufacturing technique, including laser cladding, electron beam or plasma arc (paragraph 57), to add target material to a backing plate. Ferrasse, however, is silent as to using its method to repair or refill the target.
Aimone discloses a method in which eroded targets comprising target material and a backing plate can be rejuvenated by adding target material by laser or electron beam scanning to repeatedly restore a target for use in an economical manner (abstract; paragraphs 7-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to repair or refill a target, as disclosed by Aimone, in the method of Ferrasse, because this allows for cost savings and unlimited reuse of a target (Aimone at paragraph 9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in the remarks that the prior art (Ferasse) does not disclose deposition of target material onto a backing plate to realize a finalized target (as instantly amended). While it is true that the prior art teaches the steps of taking a backing plate (or spent target), depositing an interlayer by the requisite additive method, and then further processing steps including adding target material, because the term ‘target material’ is intended use and not an actual structural limitation, there is no reason the ‘interlayer’ material of Ferasse could not be exposed to plasma and sputtered and therefore differs from the claim only in pure terminology used. The fact that Ferasse performs further steps after the required steps of the claim is not precluded by the instant claim language. Applicant repeatedly argues that an ‘interlayer’ is not a target material. However, ‘target material’ is any material which is capable of being sputtered (exposed to plasma, or other energetic partcles [ion beam, arc, etc.]) – generally only structurally requiring a liquid or solid material.
Applicant additionally argues that Ferasse does not inherently create the ‘predefined and non-randomly’ distributed microgaps as required by the instant claims. Applicant points to a reference indicating the formation of microgaps during laser-assisted metal deposition and argues the reference indicates the microgaps are randomly formed. However, the reference does not appear to indicate clearly what orientation the microgaps form – whether random or not-random. It is therefore unclear how this proves Ferasse does not anticipated the instant claims. Additionally, it is unclear how the instant specification forms the microgap structure with the additive 3-d printing method, including laser cladding, while the prior art, using the same deposition method, obtains a different structure. The instant specification does not appear to contain any method steps to differentiate the deposition process to lead one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude that Ferasse obtains different results in its formation method.
Conclusion
/JASON BERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794