DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on June 13th, 2024 has been considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on May 26th, 2022 has been considered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Display panel comprising a substrate including an electrostatic protection structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 12, 13, and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (U.S. Pub. 2018/0052372) in view of CN205264701U, cited in the IDS filed on 05/26/2022), English translation included.
In re claim 1, Xu discloses a substrate 100 (see paragraph [0040] and fig. 1), comprising a pixel arrangement area 110 and a peripheral area 120 arranged outside the pixel arrangement area 110 (see paragraph [0041] and fig. 1); wherein the substrate 100 further comprises a signal line (200,300) correspondingly disposed in the pixel arrangement area 110 (see paragraph [0042] and fig. 1); a first electrostatic protection structure 123 correspondingly disposed in the peripheral area 120, wherein the signal line (200,300) is connected to the first electrostatic protection structure 123 (see paragraph [0043] and fig. 1); a first common line 121 correspondingly disposed in the peripheral area 120, wherein the first electrostatic protection structure 123 is connected to the first common line 121 (see paragraph [0043] and fig. 1).
Xu is silent to wherein a second common line correspondingly disposed in the peripheral area and located on a side of the first common line away from the pixel arrangement area.
However, CN205264701U discloses in a same field of endeavor, a substrate comprising a pixel arrangement area A and a peripheral area 11 wherein a second common line 133 correspondingly disposed in the peripheral area and located on a side of the first common line 132 away from the pixel arrangement area (see page 3 of English translation and figs. 2-8) in order to effectively discharge static electricity accumulated in signal lines of the array substrate (see page 2 of English translation).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by CN205264701U into the display panel of Xu in order to enable wherein a second common line correspondingly disposed in the peripheral area and located on a side of the first common line away from the pixel arrangement area in Xu to be formed in order to effectively discharge static electricity accumulated in signal lines of the array substrate (see page 2 of English translation of CN205264701U). Furthermore, it would have been obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007). “If a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill.” Id.
In re claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Xu in combination with CN205264701U discloses wherein the substrate further comprises a second electrostatic protection structure 125, one end of the second electrostatic protection structure is connected to the first common line, and another end of the second electrostatic protection structure is connected to the second common line (see paragraph [0043] and fig. 1 of Xu).
In re claim 3, as applied to claim 2 above, Xu in combination with CN205264701U discloses wherein the second common line comprises a first line body and a second line body, the first line body and the second line body are disposed in different layers, and the first line body is electrically connected to the second line body (see page 4 of English translation and figs. 2-8 of CN205264701U).
In re claim 4, as applied to claim 3 above, Xu in combination with CN205264701U discloses wherein the first line body is provided with a plurality of first openings, the second line body is provided with a plurality of second openings, and one of the first openings corresponds to one of the second openings (see page 4 of English translation and figs. 2-8 of CN205264701U).
In re claim 5, as applied to claim 3 above, Xu in combination with CN205264701U discloses wherein the substrate comprises a base and an insulating layer; the first line body is disposed on the base, the insulating layer is disposed on the first line body, and the second line body is disposed on the insulating layer; and wherein the first line body and the second line body overlap each other; the insulating layer is provided with a plurality of via holes, and the first line body is connected to the second line body through the plurality of via holes (see page 4 of English translation and figs. 2-8 of CN205264701U).
In re claim 12, as applied to claim 1 above, Xu in combination with CN205264701U discloses wherein the substrate further comprises a third common line correspondingly disposed in the peripheral area and located on a side of the first common line close to the pixel arrangement area; and wherein the signal line includes a first signal line and a second signal line, the first signal line is connected to the third common line through the first electrostatic protection structure, and the second signal line is connected to the first common line through the first electrostatic protection structure (see page 3 of English translation and figs. 2-8 of CN205264701U).
In re claim 13, as applied to claim 12 above, Xu in combination with CN205264701U discloses wherein the first electrostatic protection structure connected to the third common line comprises at least two electrostatic rings connected in series (see page 3 of English translation and figs. 2-8 of CN205264701U).
In re claim 15, Xu discloses a display panel, comprising pixels and a substrate 100 (see paragraph [0040] and fig. 1), the substrate 100 comprising a pixel arrangement area 110 and a peripheral area 120 arranged outside the pixel arrangement area 110 (see paragraph [0041] and fig. 1), and the pixels correspondingly disposed in the pixel arrangement area 110; wherein the substrate 100 comprises a signal line (200,300) correspondingly arranged in the pixel arrangement area 110 (see paragraph [0042] and fig. 1); a first electrostatic protection structure 123 correspondingly disposed in the peripheral area 120 (see paragraph [0043] and fig. 1), wherein the signal line (200,300) is connected to the first electrostatic protection structure 123 (see paragraph [0042] and fig. 1); a first common line 121 correspondingly disposed in the peripheral area 120, wherein the first electrostatic protection structure 123 is connected to the first common line 121 (paragraph [0043] and see fig. 1).
Xu is silent to wherein a second common line correspondingly disposed in the peripheral area and located on a side of the first common line away from the pixel arrangement area.
However, CN205264701U discloses in a same field of endeavor, a substrate comprising a pixel arrangement area A and a peripheral area 11 wherein a second common line 133 correspondingly disposed in the peripheral area and located on a side of the first common line 132 away from the pixel arrangement area (see page 3 of English translation and figs. 2-8) in order to effectively discharge static electricity accumulated in signal lines of the array substrate (see page 2 of English translation).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by CN205264701U into the display panel of Xu in order to enable wherein a second common line correspondingly disposed in the peripheral area and located on a side of the first common line away from the pixel arrangement area in Xu to be formed in order to effectively discharge static electricity accumulated in signal lines of the array substrate (see page 2 of English translation). Furthermore, it would have been obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007). “If a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill.” Id.
In re claim 16, as applied to claim 15 above, Xu in combination with CN205264701U discloses wherein the substrate further comprises a second electrostatic protection structure 125, one end of the second electrostatic protection structure is connected to the first common line, and another end of the second electrostatic protection structure is connected to the second common line (see paragraph [0043] and fig. 1 of Xu).
In re claim 17, as applied to claim 16 above, Xu in combination with CN205264701U discloses wherein the second common line comprises a first line body and a second line body, the first line body and the second line body are disposed in different layers, and the first line body is electrically connected to the second line body (see page 4 of English translation and figs. 2-8 of CN205264701U).
In re claim 18, as applied to claim 17 above, Xu in combination with CN205264701U discloses wherein the first line body is provided with a plurality of first openings, the second line body is provided with a plurality of second openings, and one of the first openings corresponds to one of the second openings (see page 4 of English translation and figs. 2-6 of CN205264701U).
In re claim 19, as applied to claim 18 above, Xu in combination with CN205264701U discloses wherein the substrate comprises a base and an insulating layer; the first line body is disposed on the base, the insulating layer is disposed on the first line body, and the second line body is disposed on the insulating layer; and wherein the first line body and the second line body overlap each other; the insulating layer is provided with a plurality of via holes, and the first line body is connected to the second line body through the plurality of via holes (see page 4 of English translation and figs. 2-8 of CN205264701U).
Claim(s) 6-11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (U.S. Pub. 2018/0052372) in view of CN205264701U, cited in the IDS filed on 05/26/2022), English translation included, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of CN203218262U, cited in the IDS filed on 05/26/2022, English translation included.
In re claim 6, as applied to claim 5 above, Xu and CN205264701U are silent to wherein the second electrostatic protection structure comprises at least one electrostatic ring, the electrostatic ring comprises a first thin film transistor and a second thin film transistor connected to each other, the first thin film transistor is connected to the first common line, and the second thin film transistor is connected to the second common line or another electrostatic ring.
However, CN203218262U discloses in a same field of endeavor, a display panel including, inter-alia, wherein the second electrostatic protection structure comprises at least one electrostatic ring, the electrostatic ring comprises a first thin film transistor T1 and a second thin film transistor T3 connected to each other, the first thin film transistor T1 is connected to the first common line 1b, and the second thin film transistor T3 is connected to the second common line 1a or another electrostatic ring (see page 4 of English translation and figs. 5-6).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by CN203218262U into the display panel of Xu in order to enable wherein the second electrostatic protection structure comprises at least one electrostatic ring, the electrostatic ring comprises a first thin film transistor and a second thin film transistor connected to each other, the first thin film transistor is connected to the first common line, and the second thin film transistor is connected to the second common line or another electrostatic ring in Xu to be formed in order to improve the anti-breakdown capability of static protection unit in the display panel (see page 2 of English translation of CN203218262U). Furthermore, it would have been obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007). “If a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill.” Id.
In re claim 7, as applied to claim 6 above, Xu in combination with CN205264701U and CN203218262U discloses wherein a gate of the first thin film transistor T1 is connected to a drain of the first thin film transistor, and the drain of the first thin film transistor T1 is electrically connected to the first common line 1b; a gate of the second thin film transistor T3 is connected to a source of the second thin film transistor and a source of the first thin film transistor, and a drain of the second thin film transistor is connected to the second common line 1a or the another electrostatic ring (see page 4 of English translation and figs. 5-6 of CN203218262U).
In re claim 8, as applied to claim 6 above, Xu in combination with CN205264701U and CN203218262U discloses wherein the second electrostatic protection structure comprises at least two electrostatic rings, and adjacent ones of the electrostatic rings are arranged in series (see page 4 of English translation and figs. 5-6 of CN203218262U).
In re claim 9, as applied to claim 8 above, Xu in combination with CN205264701U and CN203218262U discloses wherein an arrangement direction of the electrostatic rings is parallel to an extension direction of the second common line (see page 4 of English translation and figs. 5-6 of CN203218262U).
In re claim 10, as applied to claim 6 above, Xu in combination with CN205264701U and CN203218262U discloses wherein the substrate further comprises an active layer, a source, and a drain, the active layer is disposed on the insulating layer, the source and the drain are disposed in a same layer as the second line body, the source and the drain are connected to the active layer, and the second line body is connected to a drain of the second thin film transistor (see page 3 of English translation and figs. 2-6 of CN203218262U).
In re claim 11, as applied to claim 10 above, Xu in combination with CN205264701U and CN203218262U discloses wherein the first common line comprises a first trace and a second trace, the first trace and the first line body are disposed in a same layer, the second trace and the second line body are disposed in a same layer, and the first trace is electrically connected to the second trace; and wherein the substrate further includes a gate, the gate and the first trace are disposed in a same layer, and a gate of the first thin film transistor is connected to the first trace (see page 4 of English translation and figs. 5-6 of CN203218262U).
In re claim 20, as applied to claim 19 above, Xu and CN205264701U are silent to wherein the second electrostatic protection structure comprises at least one electrostatic ring, the electrostatic ring comprises a first thin film transistor and a second thin film transistor connected to each other, the first thin film transistor is connected to the first common line, and the second thin film transistor is connected to the second common line or another electrostatic ring.
However, CN203218262U discloses in a same field of endeavor, a display panel including, inter-alia, wherein the second electrostatic protection structure comprises at least one electrostatic ring, the electrostatic ring comprises a first thin film transistor T1 and a second thin film transistor T3 connected to each other, the first thin film transistor T1 is connected to the first common line 1b, and the second thin film transistor T3 is connected to the second common line 1a or another electrostatic ring (see page 4 of English translation and figs. 5-6).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by CN203218262U into the display panel of Xu in order to enable wherein the second electrostatic protection structure comprises at least one electrostatic ring, the electrostatic ring comprises a first thin film transistor and a second thin film transistor connected to each other, the first thin film transistor is connected to the first common line, and the second thin film transistor is connected to the second common line or another electrostatic ring in Xu to be formed in order to improve the anti-breakdown capability of static protection unit in the display panel (see page 2 of English translation of CN203218262U). Furthermore, it would have been obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007). “If a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill.” Id.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (U.S. Pub. 2018/0052372) in view of CN205264701U, cited in the IDS filed on 05/26/2022), English translation included, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of CN203218262U, cited in the IDS filed on 05/26/2022, English translation included, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Lee (U.S. Pub. 2006/0103772).
In re claim 14, as applied to claim 11 above, Xu, CN205264701U and CN203218262U are silent to wherein a first signal line includes a scan line and a data line, and a second signal line includes a first power line and a second power line.
However, Lee discloses in a same field of endeavor, a display panel including inter-alia, wherein a first signal line includes a scan line 110 and a data line 120, and a second signal line includes a first power line and a second power line 130 (see paragraph [0037] and fig. 5).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Lee into the display panel of Xu in order to enable wherein a first signal line includes a scan line and a data line, and a second signal line includes a first power line and a second power line in Xu to be formed in order to discharging static electricity generated in the panel display without damaging a thin film transistor (TFT) (see paragraph [0003] of Lee).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cai (U.S. Pub. 2015/0379927) discloses a panel display including, inter-alia, a substrate, comprising a pixel arrangement area (display region) and a peripheral area (non-display region) arranged outside the pixel arrangement area; wherein the substrate further comprises a signal line (data line) correspondingly disposed in the pixel arrangement area; a first electrostatic protection structure correspondingly disposed in the peripheral area, wherein the signal line (data line) is connected to the first electrostatic protection structure (see paragraph [0029] and figs. 6-7).
/KHIEM D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892