Claims 1-12, 15, 18-24 are currently pending and examined below.
Response to amendment
This is a non-final Office action in response to applicant's remarks/arguments filed on 12/16/2026.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 8-10, filed 12/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-13, 15, 18, 21-24 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Abshire of et al. (US 20100027602 A1, “Abshire”) necessitated by the claim amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2-12, 15, 18, 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwarz et al. (US 20160306032 A1, “Schwarz”) in view Abshire of et al. (US 20100027602 A1, “Abshire”).
Regarding claim 1, Schwarz teaches a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) device (Figs. 1-6, claim 1), comprising:
a transmitter configured to transmit one or more light pulses into an environment of the LIDAR device via a transmit optical path (Fig. 3, para 49; laser 30);
a detector (Fig. 3, para 49; photodiode 60) configured to detect a first portion of the one or more transmitted light pulses (Fig. 3, para 59; pulse 24 or pulse 26 (para 72, The window reflected pulse 26 can reflect from the spinning mirror 50 and pass through the optical lens 46 to the pulse receiving sensor 60, as described above and depicted in FIG. 4. The time of arrival of the mirror reflected pulse 26 can then be represented in a manner similar to the time of arrival of the calibration pulse 24)) and a second portion of the one or more transmitted light pulses (Para 52, reflected pulse 22. See also, Figs. 1 and 6),
such that the detector receives at a first time the first portion of the one or more transmitted light pulses via an internal optical path within the LIDAR device (para 59) and receives at a second time the second portion of the one or more transmitted light pulses via reflection by an object in the environment of the LIDAR device (para 52), wherein the second time occurs after the first time (para 52 and 59); and
a controller (Fig. 7, processor 70), wherein the controller is configured to determine a distance to the object based in part on a difference between the second time and the first time (para 76 and 87. See also, para 12).
transmit a subsequent plurality of light pulses via the transmit optical path (Para 95, the laser can emit multiple pulses. Schwartz (Para 44, 78-79) also teaches repeated emission cycles as the scan proceeds (laser commanded to emit pulses as mirror rotates to new angles; repeated measurements).
receive subsequent reflected light pulses at subsequent times via reflection by one or more objects in the environment of the LIDAR device (Schwartz (Para 69, 74-76) teaches receipt of reflected pulses at the detector from external objects (object-reflected pulse 22).
Schwarz fails to explicitly teaches wherein each subsequent light pulse is emitted at a respective time delay according to a predetermined light pulse schedule. However, modulating a carrier frequency with a return-to-zero (RZ) pseudo-random noise (PN) code that has a constant bit period and a pulse duration that is less than the bit period, thereby defining pulses occurring at predetermined times within repeated bit periods (Abshire: para 8). Abshire further teaches generating such RZ PN code sequences using a PN code generator and RZ pulse shaper (Abshire: para 10, 36-37), and processing received signals by extracting modulation, converting a time record into a signal-processing format, providing an RZ PN code kernel, and computing a cross-correlation function between the time record and the kernel (Abshire: para 9), where time delay (and thus range) is determined from the correlation response (Abshire: para 30). Abshire also teaches that timing/offset selection can be implemented by adjusting the time delay (phase/slot offset) of a short RZ pulse within the longer PN code bit period (i.e., selecting a pulse “slot” within a bit period), thereby providing respective time delays according to a predetermined schedule (Abshire: para 46). Abshire further teaches that the cross-correlation processing reproduces backscatter versus time/range and supports multiple/distributed targets by interpreting correlation values at each delay as backscatter strength at the corresponding range (Abshire: para 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Schwartz’s LiDAR device so that the controller causes the transmitter to emit the subsequent plurality of light pulses at respective time delays according to a predetermined light pulse schedule as taught by Abshire’s RZ PN code timing structure and slot/offset selection, and to use Abshire’s known-kernel/correlation-based timing framework with Schwartz’s internal reference timing, because Abshire teaches that predetermined narrow-pulse PN scheduling and correlation processing improve timing/range resolution and can reduce noise via time-gating while still providing accurate time-delay/range determination, including for multiple targets (Abshire: para 8, 27-28, 30, 41, 46).
Schwarz, in view of Abshire teaches determine respective distances to the one or more objects based on the respective subsequent times, the respective time delays, and the first time.
Schwartz teaches establishing a first time reference by receiving an internally routed calibration pulse prior to any external reflections, where the calibration pulse corresponds to the emission event (Schwartz, Fig. 3, para 22, 48-50, 59).
Schwartz further teaches receiving reflected pulses from one or more external objects at subsequent times and measuring, via a time-to-digital converter, the elapsed time between the calibration pulse and each reflected pulse, which directly corresponds to distance (Schwartz, para 69, 74-78).
Abshire teaches transmitting multiple pulses according to a predetermined temporal structure, wherein each pulse has a known emission time delay relative to a reference, and determining distance by combining the known emission timing with detected return times (Abshire, para 8-9, 30, claim 3). When combined, Schwartz provides the first time and the subsequent reflected times, while Abshire provides the respective time delays associated with scheduled pulse emission, such that for each reflected pulse the distance is determined based on the subsequent time of receipt, the known emission time delay
Regarding claim 2, Schwarz, in view of Abshire, teaches the LIDAR device of claim 1, further comprising a light pipe within the LIDAR device, wherein the internal optical path comprises an optical path that extends through the light pipe (Schwarz, Fig. 3, para 49; pulse 24 exists (leaves) the fiber optic. See also, fig. 1, para 98).
Regarding claim 3, Schwarz, in view of Abshire, teaches the LIDAR device of claim 2, wherein the light pipe is configured to receive a predetermined percentage of the photons in the one or more transmitted light pulses (Schwarz, para 50, 61).
Regarding claim 4, Schwarz, in view of Abshire, teaches the LIDAR device of claim 3, wherein the predetermined percentage is less than 10 percent (Schwarz, para 50).
Regarding claim 5, Schwarz, in view of Abshire, teaches the LIDAR device of claim 1, wherein the internal optical path comprises reflection by one or more components of the LIDAR device (Schwarz, Fig. 3, para 49, splitter 36 and lens 40B).
Regarding claim 6, Schwarz, in view of Abshire, teaches the LIDAR device of claim 1, further comprising: a transparent structure (Schwarz, Fig. 3, window 44), wherein the transmit optical path passes through the transparent structure, wherein the internal optical path comprises reflection by the transparent structure (Schwarz, Para 70 and 72).
Regarding claim 7, Schwarz, in view of Abshire, teaches the LIDAR device of claim 6, wherein the transparent structure is a dome configured to be mounted on a vehicle (Schwarz, Figs.1- 2, para 43, 45 and 56. Window 44 is part of the housing 10 and can be mounted on vehicle).
Regarding claim 8, Schwarz, in view of Abshire, teaches the LIDAR device of claim 6, wherein the transparent structure comprises an optical window (Schwarz, Para 70 and 72; window 44).
Regarding claim 9, Schwarz, in view of Abshire, teaches the LIDAR device of claim 1, further comprising: a mirror (Schwarz, Figs.3-4, para 54; mirror 50) within the LIDAR device, wherein the transmit optical path comprises reflection by the mirror, wherein the internal optical path comprises reflection by the mirror (Schwarz, para 56).
Regarding claim 10, Schwarz, in view of Abshire, teaches the LIDAR device of claim 1, further comprising: a light guide configured to guide light by total internal reflection or a reflective coating from an input end to an output end, wherein the transmit optical path comprises a first optical path that extends from the input end of the light guide to the output end of the light guide, wherein the internal optical path comprises the first optical path and further comprises a second optical path that extends from the output end of the light guide to the detector (Schwarz, Fig. 3, para 59).
Regarding claim 11, Schwarz, in view of Abshire, teaches the LIDAR device of claim 10, wherein the output end of the light guide comprises a mirror (Schwarz, fig. 3, at least mirror 42a).
Claim 12 is a method claims corresponding to device claim 1. Claim 12 is rejected for the same reason.
Regarding claim 15, Schwarz teaches a method comprising:
positioning a mirror with respect to a transmitter of a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) device (Fig. 3, para 54; The spinning mirror 50 can be configured to redirect the output pulse 20 toward an exterior window 44. The output pulse 20 can then proceed through the window 44 to an external environment and be reflected, as further described below. The spinning mirror can be connected to a mirror motor 54 configured to spin the mirror 50 about a primary axis of rotation 8. Spinning the mirror 50 can then cause the output pulse 20 to rotate about the primary axis of rotation 8.),
wherein the transmitter is configured to transmit at least one light pulse (Fig.1 and 3, para 45; The fiber laser 30 can be configured to emit a laser beam. See also, para 42, The measurement can be made using a brief and narrow electromagnetic pulse 20, such as a light pulse.);
wherein positioning the mirror is performed such that the first light pulse is directed toward an internal optical path within the LIDAR device (Figs.4 and 6, para 52; window pulse 26 and para 56, The reflected pulses 22, 26 can return through or from the window 44 toward the spinning mirror 50.);
receiving, by a detector of the LIDAR device, the first light pulse at a first time via the internal optical path (Figs. 4 and 6, para 72, The window reflected pulse 26 can reflect from the spinning mirror 50 and pass through the optical lens 46 to the pulse receiving sensor 60, as described above and depicted in FIG. 4. The time of arrival of the mirror reflected pulse 26 can then be represented in a manner similar to the time of arrival of the calibration pulse 24, as described in para 59 “The calibration pulse 24 can thus arrive at the avalanche photodiode 60 first, providing a reference time indicative of the time that the pulse from the fiber laser 30 was initially emitted.”. So, the window reflected pulse 26 will arrive at the detector first or before reflected pulse 22);
causing the transmitter to transmit a subsequent plurality of light pulses via (Para 95, the laser can emit multiple pulses.),
repositioning the mirror so as to direct the subsequent plurality of light pulses via a transmit optical path into an environment of the LIDAR device (Para 57“The processor can be configured to control the laser to control the time and nature of the emitted pulse”, Para 95 “the laser can emit multiple pulses” and para 54 the mirror can rotate horizontally and vertically to scan objects at various direction).
receiving, by the detector, subsequent reflected light pulses at subsequent times via reflection by one or more objects in the environment of the LIDAR device (Schwartz (Figs. 4-6, Para 56, 74-77) teaches that pulses reflected from external objects are redirected by the mirror back toward the detector and received at later times corresponding to object distance);
Schwarz fails to explicitly teaches wherein each subsequent light pulse is emitted at a respective time delay according to a predetermined light pulse schedule.
Schwarz fails to explicitly teaches wherein each subsequent light pulse is emitted at a respective time delay according to a predetermined light pulse schedule. However, modulating a carrier frequency with a return-to-zero (RZ) pseudo-random noise (PN) code that has a constant bit period and a pulse duration that is less than the bit period, thereby defining pulses occurring at predetermined times within repeated bit periods (Abshire: para 8). Abshire further teaches generating such RZ PN code sequences using a PN code generator and RZ pulse shaper (Abshire: para 10, 36-37), and processing received signals by extracting modulation, converting a time record into a signal-processing format, providing an RZ PN code kernel, and computing a cross-correlation function between the time record and the kernel (Abshire: para 9), where time delay (and thus range) is determined from the correlation response (Abshire: para 30). Abshire also teaches that timing/offset selection can be implemented by adjusting the time delay (phase/slot offset) of a short RZ pulse within the longer PN code bit period (i.e., selecting a pulse “slot” within a bit period), thereby providing respective time delays according to a predetermined schedule (Abshire: para 46). Abshire further teaches that the cross-correlation processing reproduces backscatter versus time/range and supports multiple/distributed targets by interpreting correlation values at each delay as backscatter strength at the corresponding range (Abshire: para 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Schwartz’s LiDAR device so that the controller causes the transmitter to emit the subsequent plurality of light pulses at respective time delays according to a predetermined light pulse schedule as taught by Abshire’s RZ PN code timing structure and slot/offset selection, and to use Abshire’s known-kernel/correlation-based timing framework with Schwartz’s internal reference timing, because Abshire teaches that predetermined narrow-pulse PN scheduling and correlation processing improve timing/range resolution and can reduce noise via time-gating while still providing accurate time-delay/range determination, including for multiple targets (Abshire: para 8, 27-28, 30, 41, 46).
Schwarz, in view of Abshire teaches and determining respective distances to the one or more objects based on the respective subsequent times, the respective time delays, and the first time.
Schwartz teaches establishing a first time reference by receiving an internally routed calibration pulse prior to any external reflections, where the calibration pulse corresponds to the emission event (Schwartz, Fig. 3, para 22, 48-50, 59).
Schwartz further teaches receiving reflected pulses from one or more external objects at subsequent times and measuring, via a time-to-digital converter, the elapsed time between the calibration pulse and each reflected pulse, which directly corresponds to distance (Schwartz, para 69, 74-78).
Abshire teaches transmitting multiple pulses according to a predetermined temporal structure, wherein each pulse has a known emission time delay relative to a reference, and determining distance by combining the known emission timing with detected return times (Abshire, para 8-9, 30, claim 3). When combined, Schwartz provides the first time and the subsequent reflected times, while Abshire provides the respective time delays associated with scheduled pulse emission, such that for each reflected pulse the distance is determined based on the subsequent time of receipt, the known emission time delay.
Regarding claim 18, Schwarz, in view of Abshire, teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the mirror comprises a rotatable mirror (Schwarz, Fig. 3, para 54, The spinning mirror can be connected to a mirror motor 54 configured to spin the mirror 50 about a primary axis of rotation 8… In further embodiments the spinning mirror 50 can be configured to rotate about a secondary axis).
Regarding claim 21, Schwarz, in view of Abshire, teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the internal optical path comprises an optical path that extends through a light pipe within the LIDAR device pipe (Schwarz, Fig. 3, para 49; pulse 24 exists (leaves) the fiber optic. See also, fig. 1, para 98).
Regarding claim 22, Schwarz, in view of Abshire, teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the internal optical path comprises reflection by one or more components of the LIDAR device (Para 48” a fiber optic splitter 36” (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fiber-optic_splitter ) .See also, Para 97 “the optical splitter based on fiber optic couplers or splitters……..such as a planar lightwave circuit (PLC) splitter (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fiber-optic_splitter) or a fiber-coupled free-air splitter”).
Regarding claim 23, Schwarz, in view of Abshire, teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the transmit optical path passes through a transparent structure (Schwarz, Fig. 3, window 44), and wherein the internal optical path comprises reflection by the transparent structure (Schwarz, Para 70 and 72).
Regarding claim 24, Schwarz, in view of Abshire, teaches the method of claim 23, wherein the transparent structure comprises an optical window (Schwarz, Para 70 and 72, window 44).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwarz in view of Abshire and Gruver of et al. (US 20160282468 A1, “Gruver”).
Regarding claim 19, Schwarz, in view of Abshire, fails to explicitly teach but Gruver teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the rotatable mirror comprises a triangular (Fig. 4B, para 108; mirror 420 the mirror 420 may be a triangular mirror…) or rectangular prism shape, wherein the rotatable mirror comprises three or four reflective surfaces (Fig. 4B, para 108; the mirror 420 may be a triangular mirror as shown that has three reflective surfaces 420a, 420b, 420c.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Schwarz in view of Gruver to include a triangle mirror with at least 3 reflective surfaces so that the Lidar s can be used to detect distances at various direction or to adjust the scanning direction of the Lidar.
Regarding claim 20, Schwarz, as modified in view of Abshire and Gruver, teaches the method of claim 19, wherein positioning and repositioning the mirror comprises causing a motor to rotate the rotatable mirror about a rotational axis so as to adjust respective angles of the three or four reflective surfaces (Gruver, para 104 and 109).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pacala et al. (US 20190179028 A1), teaches Rotating compact light ranging system
Templeton et al. (US 9383753 B1), teaches Wide-view LIDAR with Areas of Special Attention
/JEMPSON NOEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645