DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 14, 16 and 18-24 are pending.
Claims 1-13, 15 and 17 are cancelled.
Status of Objections and Rejections
The previous objection to claim 14 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
All other rejections from the previous Office action are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment.
New grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 104694978) in view of Cooper (“Advances and future prospects in copper electrowinning”, J. Applied Electrochemistry, 15, 1985, 789-805).
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses electrowinning copper [0078] in an acidic copper sulfate solution [0004], [0055], [0059] (= a process of electrowinning copper from an acidic copper solution), wherein the process is performed in electrowinning cells comprising lead anodes [0062], [0126] and cathodes [0126] (= wherein the process is performed in electrowinning cells including a plurality of cathodes and lead-based anodes), wherein the solution comprises 51 g/L copper, 5000 g/L arsenic and 240 g/L bismuth [0126] (= wherein the solution comprises 37 to 60 g/L copper, more than 100 mg/L arsenic and more than 1 mg/L bismuth).
Wang differs from the instant claim in that Wang does not disclose the flow of electrolyte with gas sparging wherein the gas is air.
In the same or similar field of copper electrowinning, Cooper discloses improving mass transfer and higher current density operation through the use of air sparging (abstract). Cooper discloses that improved electrolyte agitation has been carried out with the use of air sparging to produce high quality cathode deposits with good current efficiency (page 790, left column, 3rd paragraph, pg. 791, right column, 2nd paragraph).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising air sparging because Cooper discloses that improvements in copper electrowinning are achievable with the use of air sparging. Cooper discloses that there are improvements in mass transfer and electrolyte agitation with the use of air sparging. It would have been obvious to modify the method of Wang with the air sparging of Cooper for improving the copper electrowinning product produced.
Regarding claim 18, Cooper discloses a sparging rate of 60 cm3 min-1 (Figure 7) or 500 cm3 min-1 (Figure 8). The ranges of Cooper are not presented as ‘normal’ (e.g. temperature varies from the standard), however, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that selection of a workable flow rate of the sparging gas would have been an obvious engineering design choice. For example to control the improvements in mass transfer and agitation, the flow rate would necessarily be adjusted through routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 19, Wang discloses a current density of 180 A/m2 [0012], [0066]. Cooper discloses a current density including 25 mA/cm2 (250 A/m2, page 791, right column).
Claim(s) 14, 16 and 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlain et al. (US 4,053,377) in view of Cooper (“Advances and future prospects in copper electrowinning”, J. Applied Electrochemistry, 15, 1985, 789-805).
Regarding claim 14, Schlain discloses a method of electrowinning copper (abstract) in an aqueous acidic solution of copper sulfate (Col. 2 lines 38-43) (= a process of electrowinning copper from an acidic copper solution), wherein the method is performed in a container (1) with a cathode (9) and anode (10) (see Figure, Col. 1 line 47 – Col. 2 line 5) (= wherein the process is performed in an electrowinning cell including a cathode and an anode), wherein the solution includes 47 g/L copper, 1.2 g/L arsenic and 0.032 g/L bismuth (Col. 2 lines 38-43) (= wherein the solution comprises 37 to 60 g/L copper, more than 100 mg/L arsenic and more than 1 mg/L bismuth). Schlain discloses the method for performing either electrowinning or electrorefining (abstract).
Schlain differs from the instant claim in that Schlain does not disclose the flow of electrolyte with gas sparging wherein the gas is air and wherein there are a plurality of electrowinning cells including a plurality of cathodes and a lead-based anode.
In the same or similar field of copper electrowinning, Cooper discloses improving mass transfer and higher current density operation through the use of air sparging (abstract). Cooper discloses that improved electrolyte agitation has been carried out with the use of air sparging to produce high quality cathode deposits with good current efficiency (page 790, left column, 3rd paragraph, pg. 791, right column, 2nd paragraph). Cooper discloses the use of lead anodes (page 793, right column, 4th paragraph). Cooper discloses the use of multiple cathodes (pg. 790, 4th paragraph) and multiple cells (abstract). Moreover, the mere duplication of parts has patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP § 2144.04 VI B).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising air sparging because Cooper discloses that improvements in copper electrowinning are achievable with the use of air sparging. Cooper discloses that there are improvements in mass transfer and electrolyte agitation with the use of air sparging. It would have been obvious to modify the method of Schlain with the air sparging of Cooper for improving the copper electrowinning product produced.
Regarding claim 16, Schlain discloses the solution comprising 1.2 g/L arsenic and 0.032 g/L bismuth (Col. 2 lines 38-43).
Regarding claim 18, Cooper discloses a sparging rate of 60 cm3 min-1 (Figure 7) or 500 cm3 min-1 (Figure 8). The ranges of Cooper are not presented as ‘normal’ (e.g. temperature varies from the standard), however, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that selection of a workable flow rate of the sparging gas would have been an obvious engineering design choice. For example to control the improvements in mass transfer and agitation, the flow rate would necessarily be adjusted through routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 19, Cooper discloses a current density including 25 mA/cm2 (250 A/m2, page 791, right column). The current densities of Schlain fall within the claimed range (Table 1, e.g. 90 A/ft2 converts to 968 A/m2).
Regarding claims 20-21, the instant claim language is directed towards the resulting product produced from the claimed method (e.g. amount, ppm of As or Bi within the copper).
While Schlain in view of Cooper does not specifically address the claim limitation “copper having at most 15 ppm As” as applied to claim 20 and “copper having at most 3 ppm Bi” as applied to claim 21, this is considered to be an intrinsic property resulting from following the method steps taught by the reference(s), which are the same as those instantly claimed, absent any clear and convincing evidence and/or arguments to the contrary. As a prima facie case of obviousness has been set forth on the record, and because the USPTO does not possess the laboratory facilities to test and compare the prior art to the claimed invention, the burden shifts to applicant to demonstrate otherwise.
Claim(s) 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlain et al. (US 4,053,377) in view of Cooper (“Advances and future prospects in copper electrowinning”, J. Applied Electrochemistry, 15, 1985, 789-805) and in further view of Janik (US 6,183,622).
Regarding claim 22, Schlain discloses the method comprising electrowinning or electrorefining (abstract) and the examples are performed in the electrolytic cell for electrorefining of copper, a process involving dissolution of an impure copper anode and electrodeposition of pure copper on the cathode (Col. 2 lines 13-23). Schlain discloses that the examples may also be employed for electrowinning copper from ores (= raw material) (Col. 3 lines 10-13).
Schlain does not disclose the dissolution in an aqueous sulfuric acid.
Janik discloses electrowinning copper whereby the baths are typically obtained from raw copper ores which are initially dissolved in a sulfuric acid solution (Col. 1 lines 38-55, Col. 3 lines 51-55). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising ores that have been dissolved with sulfuric acid.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising dissolution in a sulfuric acid solution because the composition of the solution of Schlain is similar to the composition of Janik therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the solution of Schlain to be carried out in sulfuric acid. Moreover, Janik discloses a similar method of dissolution and electrowinning of copper.
Regarding claims 23-24, Schlain in view of Cooper fails to disclose the claimed dissolution comprising a non-electrolytic dissolution (claim 23) and is silent in regards to using the same or different cell (claim 24).
Janik discloses electrowinning copper whereby the baths are typically obtained from raw copper ores which are initially dissolved in a sulfuric acid solution (Col. 1 lines 38-55, Col. 3 lines 51-55). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a method comprising ores that have been dissolved with sulfuric acid. It would have been obvious to modify the method of Schlain in view of Cooper by substituting the technique for obtaining the electrolyte for producing the same or similar predictable result of obtaining an electrowinning electrolyte. Dissolution of Janik is a non-electrolytic dissolution as applied to claim 23 and as described by Janik, this process takes place separately from the electrowinning cell (i.e. multiple steps involved, Col. 1 lines 38-55) as applied to claim 24.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 January 2026 have been fully considered. The remarks are directed towards the previous grounds of rejection have been withdrawn and therefore will not be specifically addressed at this time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Stefanie S Wittenberg/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795