DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 18 “one of the fourth side walls” is being interpreted as “one of the fourth side edges” following the rest of claim 18.
Claim 21 is being interpreted as “wherein each of the plurality of accommodating regions comprises a first end plate disposed between the first end of the at least two cells of the plurality of cells disposed in the corresponding one of the accommodating region and the first side edge of the corresponding one of the accommodating region and a second end plate disposed between the second end of the at least two cells of the plurality of cells disposed in the corresponding one of the accommodating region and the second side edge of the corresponding one of the accommodating region, the first end of the at least two cells of the plurality of cells disposed in the corresponding one of the accommodating region being supported on the first side edge through the first end plate and the second ends of the at least two cells of the plurality of cells disposed in the corresponding one of the accommodating region being supported on the second side edge through the second end plate” following claims 23, 25 and Instant Figs. 5 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the at least one cell" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. To advance prosecution, the examiner is interpreting the limitation as “the at least two cells”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 10, 15-16, 18-26, 28, 38 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee US20110189521A1.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a power battery pack (Lee, [0044]), comprising:
an accommodating device (Lee, Fig. 8, combination 800) comprising a plurality of accommodating regions (Lee, Figs. 4, and 8, 1st half of case 602, case 702)
and a plurality of cells disposed in the accommodating device (Lee, [0099], Figs. 1-2 and 8. modules 400 a,b, 1st half of case 602 and case 702, Fig. 9, cell 100),
wherein each of the plurality of accommodating regions has a first side edge and a second side edge disposed opposite to each other along a first direction (Lee, annotated Fig. 8, first and second side edge of 1st half of case 602, first and second side edge of case 702, first direction is the stacking direction)
and at least two cells of the plurality of cells are disposed between the first side edge and the second side edge (Lee, Fig. 8, cell 100, modules 400 a/b, 1st half of case 602 and case 702),
wherein a first distance (Lee, annotated Fig. 8, first distance D1) between an inner surface of the first side edge and an inner surface of the second side edge of a first accommodating region (Lee, annotate Fig. 8, inner surface of first and second side edge, 1st half of case 602) of the plurality of accommodating regions is different than a second distance (Lee, annotated Fig. 8, second distance D2) between an inner surface of the first side edge and an inner surface of the second side edge of a second accommodating region (Lee, annotate Fig. 8, inner surface of first and second side edge, case 702) of the plurality of accommodating regions, as D1 and D2 are in different accommodating regions they are different, satisfying the limitation,
wherein each of the plurality of cells comprises a first end and a second end opposite to each other and the at least two cells of each of the plurality of accommodating regions extends between the first side edge and the second side edge of the corresponding one of the plurality of accommodating regions (Lee, annotated Figs. 1-2, 4, 7 and 9, first end and second end of at least two cells (100) in first accommodating region and first and second side edges of case 702, first end and second end of at least two cells (100) in second accommodating region and first and second side edges of 1st half of case 602; cf. Fig. 8 above),
wherein the first end of each of the at least two cells of each of the plurality of accommodating regions is supported on the corresponding first side edge and the second end of each of the at least two cells of each of the plurality of accommodating regions is supported on the corresponding second side edge (Lee, annotated Figs. 1-2, 4, 7 and 8-9 above; the cells supported in the accommodating region and connected to the first and second side edge, satisfying the limitation), and
wherein the at least two cells in the first accommodating region each has a first length extending in the first direction and the at least two cells in the second accommodating region each has a second length extending in the first direction, the first length being different from the second length (Lee, annotated Figs. 4 and 7, at least two cells in case 702, first direction, first length L1; at least two cells in 1st half of case 602, first direction, second length L2; cf. Fig. 8 above)
Regarding claim 4, Lee also discloses wherein the first accommodating region is a center region (Lee, Fig. 8, case 702), the second accommodating region is disposed on a first side of the first accommodating region (Lee, Fig. 8, 1st half of case 602, first side of case 702), and a third accommodating region (Lee, Fig. 8, 2nd half of case 602) of the plurality of accommodating regions is disposed on a second side of the first accommodating region opposite from the second accommodating region (Lee, Fig. 8, 1st half of case 602, 2nd half of case 602, second side of case 702), a third distance (Lee, Fig. 8, third distance D3) between an inner surface of the first side edge and inner surface of the second side edge of the third accommodating region being different from the first distance (Lee, Fig. 8, first distance D1, third distance D3), and wherein the first distance is greater than the second distance and the third distance such that the plurality of accommodating regions form a cross-shaped structure (Lee, Fig. 8, first distance D1, second distance D2, third distance D3, cross-shaped structure of
combination 800).
Regarding claim 5, Lee additionally discloses wherein the first accommodating region is disposed on a side of the second accommodating region and the first distance is greater than the second distance such that the plurality of accommodating regions form a T-shaped structure (Lee, Fig. 8, case 602, case 702, T-shaped structure of combination 800).
Regarding claim 6, Lee further discloses wherein each of the plurality of cells has at least one of a same volume and a same capacity (Lee, [0028-0029]).
Regarding claim 7, Lee also discloses wherein each of the plurality of cells is a prismatic cell and has a length L in the first direction, a thickness D in a second direction, and a height H smaller than the length L and greater than the thickness D, in a third direction (Lee,
[0090-0091], as reasonably disclosed in Fig. 9, cell 100), see MPEP § 2125,
and wherein the plurality of cells in each of the plurality of accommodating regions have the same height H and a product of the length L and the thickness D of each cell in each accommodating region is the same (Lee, [0070], [0097], Figs. 1-2, 8 and 9, cell 100, module 400a,b, case 602, case 702).
Regarding claim 8 Lee additionally discloses wherein the accommodating device is a vehicle tray (Lee, [0014], Fig. 8, combination 800; following Instant Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Lee further discloses wherein the accommodating device is formed on an electric vehicle (Lee, [0014]).
Regarding claim 15, Lee also discloses wherein the plurality of cells are arranged along a second direction different from the first direction (Lee, Figs. 1-2, 4, 7 and 9, cell 100, modules 400a,b, case 602, case 702, first (stacking) direction, second direction perpendicular to first
direction).
Regarding claim 16, Lee additionally discloses wherein the power battery pack comprises a plurality of layers of cells along a third direction, and all of the plurality of cells in each layer are located between the first side edge and the second side edge of the corresponding accommodating region (Lee, [0050], Figs. 1-2, 4, 7 and 9, cell 100, modules 400a,b, case 602, case 702, third direction perpendicular to first and second directions).
Regarding claim 18, Lee further discloses wherein the accommodating device further comprises third side edges and fourth side edges disposed along a second direction different from the first direction (Lee, Fig. 8, case 702 and 602, third side edges, fourth side edges, first direction, second direction), one of the third side edges being disposed on a first end of the second accommodating region (Lee, Fig. 8, case 602, third side edge, first end),
one of the fourth side edges connecting the first side edge of the second accommodating region at a second end of the second accommodating region (Lee, Fig. 8. Case 602, first side edge, fourth side edge, second end) to the first side edge of the first accommodating region at a first end of the first accommodating region (Lee, Fig. 8, case 702, first side edge, first end),
one of the fourth side edges connecting the second side edge of the second accommodating region at the second end of the second accommodating region (Lee, Fig. 8, case 602, fourth side edge, second side edge, second end) to the second side edge of the first accommodating region at the first end of the first accommodating region (Lee, Fig. 8, case 702, second side edge, first end; they are connected at the first end and to the second side edge as the entire accommodation region is connected),
one of the fourth side edges connecting the first side edge of the first accommodating region at a second end of the first accommodating region (Fig. 8, case 702, fourth side edge, first side edge, second end) to the first side edge of the third accommodating region at a first end of the third accommodating region (Lee, Fig. 8, case 602, first side edge, first end),
one of the fourth side edges connecting the second side edge of the first accommodating region at the second end of the first accommodating region (Lee, Fig. 8, case 702, fourth side edge, second side edge, second end) to the second side edge of the third accommodating region at the first end of the third accommodating region (Lee, Fig. 8, case 602, second side edge, first end),
and one of the third side edges being disposed on a second end of the third accommodating region (Lee, Fig. 8, case 602, third side edge, second end),
and wherein each of the plurality of cells is arranged along the second direction (Lee, Fig. 8, cells 100; the cells are arranged along the second direction).
Regarding claim 19, while Lee does not explicitly recite wherein each of the third side edges applies a medially inward force toward an adjacent one of the plurality of cells and each of the fourth side edges applies a medially inward force toward an adjacent one of the plurality of cells, modified Lee does teach wherein battery modules comprising battery cells are mounted in the accommodation device in tight contact (Lee, [0047]), which would be understood by the skilled artisan that in order to prevent movement of the battery cells in the accommodation device, according to Newton’s third law (if object A acts a force upon object B, then object B will exert an opposite yet equal force upon object A), the accommodation device of Lee inherently satisfies the claim limitation as otherwise the accommodation device would not be a stable structure.
Regarding claim 20, Lee further discloses wherein the first end of each of the plurality of cells is fixed to the corresponding first side edge and the second end of each of the plurality of cells is fixed to the corresponding second side edge (Lee, [0070], [0075], [0083], Figs. 1-2, modules 400a,b, coupling parts 433, Figs. 4 and 7, first side edge and second side edge, Fig. 9, cell 100).
Regarding claim 21, Lee also discloses wherein each of the plurality of accommodating regions comprises a first end plate disposed between the first end of the at least two cells of the plurality of cells disposed in the corresponding one of the accommodating region and the first side edge of the corresponding one of the accommodating region (Lee annotated Figs. 1-2, 4, 7 and 9, case 702, first end plate, cell 100, first end, first side edge, case 602, first end plate, cell 100, first end, first side edge)
and a second end plate disposed between the second end of the at least two cells of the plurality of cells disposed in the corresponding one of the accommodating region and the second side edge of the corresponding one of the accommodating region (Lee annotated Figs. 1-2, 4, 7 and 9, case 702, second end plate, cell 100, second end, second side edge, case 602, second end plate, cell 100, second end, second side edge),
the first end of the at least two cells of the plurality of cells disposed in the corresponding one of the accommodating region being supported on the first side edge through the first end plate and the second ends of the at least two cells of the plurality of cells disposed in the corresponding one of the accommodating region being supported on the second side edge through the second end plate (Lee, Figs. 1-2, 4, 7 and 9, case 702, case 602, first and second side edges, cell 100, first and second end).
Regarding claim 22, Lee additionally teaches wherein each accommodating region further comprises a module bottom plate disposed below the at least two cells of the plurality of cells disposed in the first accommodating region, the module bottom plate being connected between the first end plate and second end plate (Lee, Fig. 1-2, 4, 7 and 9, case 602 and case
702, module bottom plates, first and second end plates),
and wherein the module bottom plate, the first end plate, the second end plate, and the at least two cells of the plurality of cells of the first accommodating region form at least part of a battery module (Lee, Figs. 2, 7 and 9, modules 400b, case 702, module bottom plate, first end plate, second end plate, cells 100).
Regarding claim 23, Lee further discloses wherein each of the plurality of accommodating regions further comprises a module top plate disposed above the at least two cells disposed in the corresponding one of the plurality of accommodating regions, the module top plate being connected between the first end plate and the second end plate and wherein the module top plate also forms part of the battery module (Lee, Figs. 1-2, 4, 7 and 9, modules 400a,b, cases 702 and 602, module top plates, first end plates, second end plates, cells 100).
Regarding claim 24, Lee also discloses wherein each of the plurality of accommodating regions further comprises a first side plate and a second side plate opposite to each other and disposed between the first end plate and the second end plate and wherein the first side plate and the second side plate also form part of the battery module (Lee, Figs. 1-2, 4, 7 and 9, modules 400a,b, cases 702 and 602, first side plates, second side plates, first end plates, second end plates, cells 100).
Regarding claim 25, Lee additionally discloses each accommodating region further comprises a module bottom plate disposed below the at least two cells of the plurality of cells disposed in the corresponding one of the plurality of accommodating regions, the at least two cells are supported on the first and second side edges of the corresponding one of the plurality of accommodating regions through the module bottom plate (Lee, Fig. 1-2, 4, 7 and 9, case 602 and case 702, module bottom plates, first and second end plates, cells 100, first and second side edges),
and wherein the module bottom plate and the at least one cell of the corresponding one of the plurality of accommodating regions form at least part of a battery module (Lee, Figs. 1-2, 4, 7 and 9, modules 400a,b, case 702, case 602, module bottom plates, cells 100).
Regarding claim 26, Lee further teaches wherein at least two battery modules are formed in each of the plurality of accommodating regions along a second direction different from the first direction (Lee, Figs. 1-2, 4 and 7, modules 400a,b, case 702, case 602, first direction, second direction).
Regarding claim 28, Lee also discloses wherein each of the plurality of cells is a prismatic cell having a cuboid structure, a length L in the first direction, a thickness D in a second direction, and a height H smaller than the length L and greater than the thickness D, in a third direction (Lee, [0090-0091], as reasonably disclosed in Fig. 9, cell 100), see MPEP § 2125 and wherein adjacent ones of the plurality of cells in each of the plurality of accommodating regions are arranged with widest surfaces facing each other (Lee, [0097], Fig. 11, stack 300).
Regarding claim 38, Lee further teaches wherein a first electrode of each of the plurality of cells is led out from the first end of the cell facing the first side edge (Lee, Figs. 1-2, 4, 7 and 9, cell 100, lead 110, first end, first side edge) and a second electrode of each of the plurality of cells is led out from the second end of the cell facing the second side edge (Lee, Figs. 1-2, 4, 7 and 9, cell 100, lead 120, second end, second side edge)
Regarding claim 41, Lee additionally discloses an electric vehicle, comprising the power battery pack of claim 1 (Lee, [0072]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee US20110189521A1 in view of Busche DE102011107007A1 (using machine English translation provided).
Regarding claim 3, Lee further discloses wherein the second length is at least 50% of the second distance (Lee, as reasonably disclosed in Fig. 4, second length, second distance), see MPEP § 2125,
but does not discloses wherein the first length is at least 50% of the first distance.
Busche teaches wherein the first length is at least 50% of the first distance (Busche, as reasonably disclosed in Fig. 2, first length, first direction). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first length of Lee with that of Busche thereby advantageously being adapted to given installation conditions, for example, the battery box can be T-shaped (Busche, [0008]).
Regarding claim 11, Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the accommodating device comprises a chamber recessed downward.
Busche teaches wherein the accommodating device comprises a chamber recessed downward (Busche, [0038], Figs. 1 and 4, frame 2, chamber recessed down). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the accommodation device of Lee with the teaching of Busche, thereby optimizing the construction (Busche, [0009]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Lee does not explicitly teach wherein the chamber comprises a first side wall and a second side wall opposite the first side wall, the first side edge of at least one of the accommodating regions comprising the first side wall of the chamber and an extension portion of the first side wall and the second side edge of at least one of the accommodating regions comprising the second side wall of the chamber and an extension portion of the second side wall.
Busche teaches wherein the chamber comprises a first side wall and a second side wall opposite the first side wall (Busche, Fig. 1, two side walls opposite each other),
the first side edge of at least one of the accommodating regions comprising the first side wall of the chamber and an extension portion of the first side wall (Busche, Fig. 1, first side edge, side wall, extension portion)
and the second side edge of at least one of the accommodating regions comprising the second side wall of the chamber and an extension portion of the second side wall (Busche, Fig. 1, second side edge, side wall, extension portion). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the accommodation device of Lee with the teaching of Busche, thereby optimizing the construction (Busche, [0009]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Lee wherein bottom portions of the chamber are formed by the extension portion of the first side wall and the extension portion of the second side wall (Busche, Fig. 1, first and second side wall extension portions, bottom portions of the chamber).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee US20110189521A1 in view of Groh DE102013114541A1 (using machine English translation provided).
Regarding claim 9, Lee does not teach wherein each of the plurality of cells has a length L between 500mm and 1000mm.
Groh teaches wherein each of the plurality of cells has a length L between 500mm and 1000mm (Groh, [0047], 738 mm). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the plurality of cells of Groh in Lee, thereby in an optimal arrangement of the modules, the modules can be easily and reliably secured and fastened within the battery tray (Groh, [0012]).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee US20110189521A1 in view of Waters US5378555A.
Regarding claim 27, Lee does not teach wherein the power battery pack comprises a plurality of layers of battery modules along a third direction.
Waters teaches wherein the power battery pack comprises a plurality of layers of battery modules along a third direction (Waters, col. 4 lines 26-30, Fig. 1, upper tier 2, lower tier 4). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the plurality of layers of battery module of Waters to Lee, as it is well known in the art this configuration is often required to maximize energy storage potential while minimizing space utilization within the vehicle (Waters, col. 1 lines 24-26).
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee US20110189521A1 in view of Hofer DE202017101961U1 (using machine English translation provided).
Regarding claim 29, Lee does not disclose wherein each cell meets: 50 ≤L/D≤ 70.
Hofer teaches the skilled artisan can optimize the design of the traction battery by considering the type of cells known in the art (Hofer, [0006]) which are known to be optimized by the skilled artisan according to various criteria, including almost countless variations for individual dimensions (Hofer, [0010-0012]). Hofer also teaches the ratio between length and thickness is further optimized (Hofer, [0046]). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize L/D through routine experimentation as taught by Hofer wherein each cell meets: 50 ≤L/D≤ 70, thereby optimizing the active volume of the cell design (Hofer, [0046]).
Regarding claim 30, Lee does not disclose wherein each of the plurality of cells has a surface area S and a volume V, and each of the cells meets: 0.15 ≤S/V≤ 0.2.
Hofer teaches wherein each of the plurality of cells has a surface area S and a volume V (Hofer, [0044]) and the ratio between length, height and thickness is further optimized (Hofer, [0046]). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize S/V through routine experimentation as taught by Hofer wherein each of the cells meets: 0.15 ≤S/V≤ 0.2, thereby optimizing the active volume of the cell design (Hofer, [0046]).
Regarding claim 31, Lee does not disclose wherein each of the plurality of cells has a surface area S and an energy E, and each of the cells meets: 250 ≤S/E≤ 400.
Hofer teaches wherein each of the plurality of cells has a surface area S and an energy E (Hofer, [0019], [0044]), and wherein an optimized volume also offers a favorable energy density-per-weight ratio (Hofer, [0063]). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize S/E through routine experimentation as taught by Hofer wherein each of the cells meets: 250 ≤S/E≤ 400, thereby obtaining a desired high energy density (Hofer, [0002], [0063]).
Claim(s) 32-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee US20110189521A1 in view of Liu CN109166995A (cited in IDS filed 08 September 2021; using machine English translation provided).
Regarding claim 32, Lee does not explicitly teach wherein in each of the plurality of accommodating regions, the first side edge comprises a first supporting step and the second side edge comprises a second supporting step, and wherein the first end of each of the plurality of cells is supported on the first supporting step of the respective one of the plurality of accommodating regions and the second end of each of the plurality of cells is supported on the second supporting step of the respective one of the plurality of accommodating regions.
Liu teaches wherein in each of the plurality of accommodating regions, the first side edge comprises a first supporting step and the second side edge comprises a second supporting step (Liu, [0019], Fig. 1, ribs 3, plurality of accommodating regions), and wherein the first end of each of the plurality of cells is supported on the first supporting step of the respective one of the plurality of accommodating regions and the second end of each of the plurality of cells is supported on the second supporting step of the respective one of the plurality of accommodating regions (Liu, [0046]). Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the supporting steps of Liu to Lee, thereby preventing the plurality of cells from moving (Liu, [0046]).
Regarding claim 33, modified Lee further teaches wherein the first side edge comprises a first fixing portion and the second side edge comprises a second fixing portion (Liu, [0046], Fig. 1, ribs 3, fixing holes, plurality of accommodating regions), and wherein the first end of each of the plurality of cells is fixed to the first fixing portion of the respective one of the plurality of accommodating regions and the second end of each of the plurality of cells is fixed to the second fixing portion of the respective one of the plurality of accommodating regions (Liu, [0046]).
Claim(s) 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jansen US20140023894A1 in view of Lee US20110189521A1.
Regarding claim 47, Jansen discloses an energy storage device (Jansen, [0026], Fig. 1, device 10), comprising a power battery pack (Jansen, [0026]), but does not teach comprising the power battery pack of claim 1.
Lee teaches a power battery pack (Lee, [0044]), comprising:
an accommodating device (Lee, Fig. 8, combination 800) comprising a plurality of accommodating regions (Lee, Figs. 4, and 8, 1st half of case 602, case 702)
and a plurality of cells disposed in the accommodating device (Lee, [0099], Figs. 1-2 and 8. modules 400 a,b, 1st half of case 602 and case 702, Fig. 9, cell 100),
wherein each of the plurality of accommodating regions has a first side edge and a second side edge disposed opposite to each other along a first direction (Lee, annotated Fig. 8, first and second side edge of 1st half of case 602, first and second side edge of case 702, first direction is the stacking direction)
and at least two cells of the plurality of cells are disposed between the first side edge and the second side edge (Lee, Fig. 8, cell 100, modules 400 a/b, 1st half of case 602 and case 702),
wherein a first distance (Lee, annotated Fig. 8, first distance D1) between an inner surface of the first side edge and an inner surface of the second side edge of a first accommodating region (Lee, annotate Fig. 8, inner surface of first and second side edge, 1st half of case 602) of the plurality of accommodating regions is different than a second distance (Lee, annotated Fig. 8, second distance D2) between an inner surface of the first side edge and an inner surface of the second side edge of a second accommodating region (Lee, annotate Fig. 8, inner surface of first and second side edge, case 702) of the plurality of accommodating regions, as D1 and D2 are in different accommodating regions they are different, satisfying the limitation,
wherein each of the plurality of cells comprises a first end and a second end opposite to each other and the at least two cells of each of the plurality of accommodating regions extends between the first side edge and the second side edge of the corresponding one of the plurality of accommodating regions (Lee, annotated Figs. 1-2, 4, 7 and 9, first end and second end of at least two cells (100) in first accommodating region and first and second side edges of case 702, first end and second end of at least two cells (100) in second accommodating region and first and second side edges of 1st half of case 602; cf. Fig. 8 above),
wherein the first end of each of the at least two cells of each of the plurality of accommodating regions is supported on the corresponding first side edge and the second end of each of the at least two cells of each of the plurality of accommodating regions is supported on the corresponding second side edge (Lee, annotated Figs. 1-2, 4, 7 and 8-9 above; the cells supported in the accommodating region and connected to the first and second side edge, satisfying the limitation), and
wherein the at least two cells in the first accommodating region each has a first length extending in the first direction and the at least two cells in the second accommodating region each has a second length extending in the first direction, the first length being different from the second length (Lee, annotated Figs. 4 and 7, at least two cells in case 702, first direction, first length L1; at least two cells in 1st half of case 602, first direction, second length L2; cf. Fig. 8 above).
Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the power battery pack of Lee in Jansen, thereby greatly improving efficiency and life span (Lee, [0099]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p. 12, filed 07 January 2026, with respect to the 112 rejection of claims 28-31 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112 rejection of claims 28-31 has been withdrawn as it has been overcome by applicant’s amendment.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JARED HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723