DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues Moshfeghi does not disclose or suggest deactivating the first coil while another coil adjacent to the first coil remains activated.
Chen et al. (US 2018/0337557) discloses if the charging conditions parameter (L) is greater than a predetermined threshold then activating another coil adjacent to said first charging coil whilst keeping the first charging coil activated (Par.26-27, 40-41 and 65) (Par.21; Adjusting coil assignments in a multi-coil array.).
Moshfeghi (US 2011/0156640) discloses a plurality of adjacent charging coils (used for power generation) (fig.16); wherein if a received power from the charging coils reaches a certain threshold (par.138); the number of coils used for power generation is decreased (par.138). Therefore, Moshfeghi discloses a first charging coil is deactivated while another charging coil adjacent to the first charging coil remains activated, when the power received meets a threshold.
The claims are rejected based on the combination of Chen in view of Louis, Jung and Moshfeghi as seen below.
Applicant argues Moshfeghi does not disclose or suggest wherein the at least two transmitter coils being arranged in at least two different planes and overlapping one another as recited in claims 1 and 3. On the contrary, Moshfeghi merely discloses that some or all (or none) of the coils are configured to receive power through induction, without regard to the arrangement of the coils or suggesting that the coils are arranged in at least two different planes. Additionally, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Moshfeghi with those of Chen, Louis, and Jung, since one of ordinary skill in the art would not arrange the coils of Moshfeghi in at least two different planes, as recited.
Chen discloses the newly added claim recitation: the at least two transmitter coils (36) being arranged in at least two different planes and overlapping one another (Par.23) (Fig.2).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to deactivate one of the at least two transmitter coils being arranged in at least two different planes and overlapping one another in Chen to have had decreased a number of coils supplying power when a power received threshold is reached to continue power generation until the power level reaches a maximum (Par.138) as disclosed in Moshfeghi to have had improved charging efficiency and reduced power loss.
Claim Interpretation
In terms of claim 3, the recitations “means for determining...”, “means for simultaneously activating…”,”means for periodically receiving”, “means for comparing…”, and “means for deactivating and activating”, appear to invoke 35 USC 112(f). A careful review of the Specification appears to equate the recited means to a microcontroller (Paragraph 0041). The examiner interprets the recited “means” as the microcontroller or its equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2018/0337557) in view of Louis (US 2019/0068004), Jung et al. (US 2014/0015334) and Moshfeghi (US 2011/0156640).
Claims 1 and 8: Chen teaches a method for induction charging portable equipment (10) (Fig.1) of a user using a charging device (12) comprising at least two transmitter coils (36), the at least two transmitter coils (36) being arranged in at least two different planes and overlapping one another (Par.23) (Fig.2), and having a charging surface capable of receiving said equipment for the charging thereof, the method comprising:
placing the portable equipment (10) on the charging surface and activating a first charging coil (36) (Par.19-20);
determining a charging conditions parameter on the basis of measurements of the charging device (12), wherein the charging conditions parameter is determined based on an inductance (L) of the first charging coil (36) (Par.29 and 38);
if the charging conditions parameter (L) is greater than a predetermined threshold representing charging limit conditions meaning that the charging is not optimal, then activating another coil adjacent to said first charging coil whilst keeping the first charging coil activated (Par.26-27, 40-41 and 65; If the inductance (L) of a coil is higher than the expected value for that coil; the coil is activated for optimal power transfer.),
otherwise, repeating the preceding steps (Par.31; The steps are periodically performed to detect the presence of objects in the charging surface and take appropriate action.).
Chen does not explicitly teach periodically receiving a signal by the charging device from the portable equipment during charging, said signal comprising a value representing a deviation ("CONTROL ERROR") between a charging power required by the portable equipment and a charging power received by said equipment; if the value representing the deviation ("CONTROL ERROR") between the required charging power and the received power is a negative value, then deactivating the first coil; wherein the negative value of the first threshold is -10.
Louis teaches a method for induction charging portable equipment (3) (Fig.1) of a user using a charging device (2), the method comprising:
periodically receiving a signal by the charging device (2) from the portable equipment (3) during charging (Par.98), said signal comprising a value representing a deviation (control error packet) between a charging power required by the portable equipment (3) and a charging power received by said equipment (3) (Par.86);
the value representing the deviation (control error packet) between the required charging power and the received power is compared to a first threshold (Par.111; Taking corrective action based on the comparison.), the first threshold is a negative value (Par.13-14),
then deactivating a first coil based on the comparison (Par.114; The corrective action including reducing the level of the magnetic field by disconnecting power from a primary coil.);
wherein the negative value of the first threshold is -10 (Par.92 and 134, 5W (Power required) – 15W (Power received) = -10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Louis in the system of Chen to have had performed a corrective action (Par.134) to protect a receiver from damage due to exposure to a large voltage (Par.93).
The combination of Chen in view of Louis does not explicitly teach deactivating the first coil if the value representing the deviation between the required charging power and the received power is less than a first threshold.
Jung teaches if a value representing the deviation between the required charging power and the received power is less than a first threshold (certain amount), wherein the first threshold is a negative value then deactivating a coil (Par.91; The received power is higher than the required power therefore the corresponding amount of the value representing the deviation is negative.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Jung in the combination of Chen and Louis to have had suspended transmission of wireless power when the power transmitted exceeds the power required by a certain amount (Par.91) thereby preventing heat generation and inefficient power supply (Par.69).
The combination of Chen in view of Louis and Jung does not explicitly teach deactivating the first coil while the another coil adjacent to the first coil remains activated.
Moshfeghi teaches deactivating a first coil while another coil adjacent to the first coil remains activated (Fig.19,1920) when the power received meets a threshold (Fig.19,1915) (Par.138).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Moshfeghi in the combination of Chen and Jung to have had decreased a number of coils supplying power when a power received threshold is reached to continue power generation until the power level reaches a maximum (Par.138) thereby improving charging efficiency and reducing power loss.
Claim 2: Chen in view of Louis, Jung and Moshfeghi teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Chen does not explicitly teach a charging conditions parameter is determined on the basis of a value of an alternating current circulating in the first charging coil, and a value of an alternating voltage at the terminals of said first charging coil.
Louis teaches wherein a charging conditions parameter is determined on the basis of a value of an alternating current circulating in a first charging coil (7), and a value of an alternating voltage at the terminals of said first charging coil (7) (Par.85 and 115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Louis in the system of Chen to have had controlled a magnetic field strength output by the transmitter based on the current and voltage at the transmitting charging coil (Par.85) thereby efficiently transferring power.
Claims 3-4: Chen teaches a charging device (12) for charging portable equipment (10) of a user (The examiner notes a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In this case the charging device of Chen is capable of performing the intended use of being placed on board a vehicle.), comprising at least two transmitter coils (36) , the at least two transmitter coils (36) being arranged in at least two different planes and overlapping one another (Par.23) (Fig.2), and having a charging surface capable of receiving said equipment (10) for the charging thereof, the charging device (12) comprising:
means, comprising software included in a microcontroller (Par.21), for determining a charging conditions parameter on the basis of measurements of the charging device (12), and for comparing between said parameter and a predetermined threshold representing charging limit conditions, meaning that the charging is not optimal, wherein the charging conditions parameter is determined based on an inductance (L) of the first charging coil (36) (Par.29 and 38);
means, comprising software included in a microcontroller (Par.21), for simultaneously activating adjacent charging coils as a function of the result of said comparison (Par.26-27, 40-41 and 65; If the inductance (L) of a coil is higher than the expected value; coils are selected to be activated for optimal power transfer.) (Fig.2),
if the charging conditions parameter (L) is greater than a predetermined threshold representing charging limit conditions meaning that the charging is not optimal, then activating another coil adjacent to said first charging coil whilst keeping the first charging coil activated (Par.26-27, 40-41 and 65; If the inductance (L) of a coil is higher than the expected value for that coil; the coil is activated for optimal power transfer.).
Chen does not explicitly teach means for periodically receiving a signal by the charging device from the portable equipment during charging, said signal comprising a value representing a deviation ("CONTROL ERROR") between a charging power required by the portable equipment and a charging power received by said equipment; first means for comparing between the value representing the deviation ("CONTROL ERROR") between a charging power required by the portable equipment and a charging power received by said equipment and a first threshold, wherein the first threshold is a negative value; and means for deactivating and activating one of the adjacent charging coils as a function of the result of said comparison, and wherein if the value representing the deviation between the required charging power and the received power is less than the first threshold, the threshold being a negative value, then deactivating said one of the adjacent charging coils.
Louis teaches a charging device (2), comprising:
means, comprising software included in a microcontroller (Par.79), for periodically receiving a signal from the portable equipment (3) during charging (Par.84 and 98), said signal comprising a value representing a deviation (control error packet) between a charging power required by the portable equipment (3) and a charging power received by said equipment (3) (Par.86);
first means, comprising software included in a microcontroller (Par.79), for comparing between the value representing the deviation (control error packet) between the required charging power and the received power and a first threshold (Par.111; Taking corrective action based on the comparison.), wherein the first threshold is a negative value (Par.13-14), and
means, comprising software included in a microcontroller (Par.79), for deactivating and activating a charging coil as a function of the result of said comparison (Par.114; The corrective action including reducing the level of the magnetic field by disconnecting power from a primary coil.), and wherein if the value representing the deviation (control error packet) between the required charging power and the received power is compared to a first threshold (Par.111; Taking corrective action based on the comparison.), the first threshold being a negative value (Par.13-14), then deactivating a coil (Par.114; The corrective action including reducing the level of the magnetic field by disconnecting power from a primary coil.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Louis in the system of Chen to have had performed a corrective action (Par.134) to protect a receiver from damage due to exposure to a large voltage (Par.93).
The combination of Chen in view of Louis does not explicitly teach deactivating the first coil if the value representing the deviation between the required charging power and the received power is less than a first threshold.
Jung teaches if a value representing the deviation between the required charging power and the received power is less than a first threshold (certain amount), wherein the first threshold is a negative value then deactivating a coil (Par.91; The received power is higher than the required power therefore the corresponding amount of the value representing the deviation is negative.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Jung in the combination of Chen and Louis to have had suspended transmission of wireless power when the power transmitted exceeds the power required by a certain amount (Par.91) thereby preventing heat generation and inefficient power supply (Par.69).
The combination of Chen in view of Louis and Jung does not explicitly teach deactivating the first coil while the another coil adjacent to the first coil remains activated.
Moshfeghi teaches deactivating a first coil while another coil adjacent to the first coil remains activated (Fig.19,1920) when the power received meets a threshold (Fig.19,1915) (Par.138).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Moshfeghi in the combination of Chen and Jung to have had decreased a number of coils supplying power when a power received threshold is reached to continue power generation until the power level reaches a maximum (Par.138) thereby improving charging efficiency.
Claim 5: Chen in view of Louis, Jung and Moshfeghi teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. Chen teaches a non-transitory computer program product, comprising a set of program code instructions, which, when they are executed by one or more processor(s), configure the one or more processor(s) to implement a charging method (Par.21).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2018/0337557) in view of Louis (US 2019/0068004), Jung et al. (US 2014/0015334) and Moshfeghi (US 2011/0156640) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Park (US 2019/0165596).
Claim 6: Chen in view of Louis, Jung and Moshfeghi teach the limitations of claim 3 as disclosed above. Chen does not explicitly teach a motor vehicle comprising a charging device as claimed in claim 3.
Park discloses a motor vehicle comprising a charging device for charging portable equipment of a user (Par.138).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Park in the system of Chen to have had the expected result of charging a user device while in a vehicle (Par.138) if desired.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2018/0337557) in view of Louis (US 2019/0068004), Jung et al. (US 2014/0015334) and Moshfeghi (US 2011/0156640) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoo et al. (US 2019/0148986).
Claim 7: Chen in view of Louis, Jung and Moshfeghi teach the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed above. The combination of Chen in view of Louis, Jung and Moshfeghi does not explicitly teach the negative value of the first threshold is -20.
Yoo discloses a value representing a deviation (control error value) between a required charging power and a received power is less than -20 (Par.270, The value of the deviation includes values between -128 and -20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Yoo in the combination to have had lowered the transmission of power of a wireless power transmission apparatus based on the amount of negative value of the deviation (Par.270) thereby accurately adjusting a transmitting power.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kim et al. (US 2018/0159371) discloses setting a control error value to a negative value when the received power exceeds a selected range (Par.131).
Park et al. (US 2021/0351627) teaches varying the number of operating coils based on a control error data received from a power receiver (200) (Par.20 and 199-200).
Fine (US 2016/0072298) discloses a power transmitter dynamically reconfiguring coils (122) to accommodate movement of a receiver device (Par.41).
/JOHALI A TORRES RUIZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859