DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Amendment
The amendment filed on 18 February 2026 fails to place the application in condition for allowance.
Claims 1, 2, 6-8, 10, 15, 19, 22, 23, 26, 28, 30-32, 34-36, 38, 40, and 44 are currently pending.
Claims 1, 2, 6-8, 10, 15, 19, 22, 23, 26, 28, 30-32, 34-36, and 44 are currently under examination.
Claims 38 and 40 are currently withdrawn.
Status of Rejections
The rejection of claims 1, 2, 6-8, 19, 22, 23, 26, 28, 31, 32, and 34-36under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) is herein withdrawn due to Applicant’s Amendment filed 18 February 2026.
The objection of claims 10, 15, 16, 30, and 36 is herein withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment filed 18 February 2026.
The indicated allowability of claims 10, 15, 16, 30, and 36 are withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Aksu. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 10, 15, 19, 22, 23, 26, 30, 31, 32, 36 , and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant et al (US 2013/0327648 A1) in view of Chen et al (US 2019/0379056 A1), Zhamu et al (US 2019/0372099 A1), Gopalakrishnan Nair et al (US 2019/0140267 A1), and Aksu et al (US 2012/0003786 A1).
As to claims 1, 10, 15, 19, 22, 23, 31, 32, and 36, Grant discloses a method for electrodepositing an artificial solid-electrolyte interphase ("SEI") coating onto a surface of a pre-formed battery electrode to produce a coated battery electrode, the method comprising:
(a) providing the pre-formed battery electrode (Fig. 2 “anode substrate”) onto a conveyance apparatus (Fig. 2 [0008] “roll to roll”); wherein the pre-formed battery electrode includes a substrate and electrode constituent active material particles disposed on the substrate ([0025] active material coated onto a current collector [0046] where the current collector is copper or, aluminum [0011] as required by instant claim 15).
(b) transferring, by the conveyance apparatus, the battery electrode to an electrodeposition chamber containing a liquid solution comprising an at least first reagent ([0045] “bath”);
(c) exposing the pre-fromed battery electrode to the liquid solution in the electrodeposition chamber (Fig. 2 [0045]); and
(d) applying a voltage or current to the battery electrode relative to a counter electrode exposed to the liquid solution for a predetermined amount of time, thereby yielding the coated battery electrode comprising the artificial SEI coating wherein the artificial SEI coating is disposed on the electrode constituent active materials ([0045] “or into an anode substrate or sheet, or to form an SEI layer upon the anode”).
Grant discloses rinsing the coated battery electrode post-deposition with a rinsing solution comprising at least a solvent ([0012], [0060] claim 17 as required by instant claim 19) but fails to explicitly discloseexposing the coated battery electrode to a thermal treatment in the presence of an ambient gas mixture, wherein the ambient gas mixture comprises at least one of 02, ozone, N2, or Ar, up to 300 degrees C.
Grant discloses the reaction during the lithiation process which forms a stable SEI material which includes a Li2O or LisCO3.
Grant fails to explicitly disclose wherein the active material is in the form of particles, exposing the coated battery electrode to one or more thermal treatments, and the artificial SEI coating comprises a metal oxide, a metal halide, a metal nitride, a metal chalcogenide, a metal carbide, a metal oxyhalide, a metal arsenide, or a metal phosphate.
Gopalakrishnan Nair disclose forming SEI layer on lithium metal anodes (title) via formation of a SEI film stack (Abstract which reads on instant claim 32) formed sequentially via modular process chambers ([0084]) where the current collector may be a PET film coated with copper ([0041], claim 6 as required by instant claims 15) suitable for use with a continuous process ([0033], [0056], Fig. 11). Gopalakrishnan Nair discloses an SEI film stack which includes both a lithium carbonate/lithium oxide film (abstract and a metal chalcogenide film, specifically bismuth or copper chalcogenide films ([0008],[0039],[0045]). Gopalakrishnan Nair discloses the films are suitable to be formed via a roll-to-roll processes ([0003]), using an suitable deposition process ([0082]) and allow for an ex-situ formation of a stable and efficient SEI film to inhibit lithium dendrite growth to achieve superior lithium metal cycling ([0038]). Gopalakrishnan Nair discloses use of the chalcogenide with the lithium oxide/carbonate inhibits dendrite growth ([0105]). Gopalakrishnan Nair discloses the explicit use of copper selenium metal dichalcogenides ([0039]) which satisfies the instant definition of instant claim 31 option (j), where A is a transition metal and B is a chalcogen, and instant claim 10 wherein the artificial SEI comprises a transition metal dichalcogenide.
Aksu discloses methods of electroplating copper selenide films (Abstract) with copper includes as an ionic compound ([0027]) and selenium as an ionic compound ( such as selenium oxide which reads on instant claim 36 [0031]) with complexing agents ([0027]) which read on instant claim 10 of providing a liquid solution with ionic compounds and an aqueous solution 0039]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a metal chalcogenide film stack form ex-situ as an SEI layer as taught by Gopalakrishnan Nai integrated into the continuous method as taught by Grant because the use of the metal chalcogenides allows for the inhibition of dendrite growth and the formation ex situ allows for the formation of a stable and efficient SEI film (Gopalakrishnan Nair [0105], [0038]). It would have been obvious to explicitly use the copper selenide metal chalcogenide as taught by Gopalakrishnan Nair in the method of Grant because it is a suitable chalcogenide film to use with the lithium oxide/carbonate and thus provide the expected result of inhibiting dendrite growth and to have used a liquid solution and electrodepostion to form said copper selenide chalcogenide films as taught by Aksu in the method of Grant, as modified by Gopalakrishnan Nair, because it enables the coelectrodepostion of unfirm, smooth, and compositionally repeatable mixture films (Aksu [0022]).
Zhamu discloses providing the active material of an anode in particle form (Abstract) which can be made from graphite benefiting from an SEI layer ([0003]) where the small particle size results in a high-rate capacity ([0011]).
Chen disclose forming SEI layer on lithium metal anodes ([0054]) exposing the coated battery electrode to a thermal treatment in the presence of an ambient gas mixture, wherein the ambient gas mixture comprises at least one of 02, ozone, N2, or Ar, up to 300 degrees C. ([0091] claim 13 as required by instant claims 19, 22, and 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have explicitly used particles for the active material as taught by Zhamu as the anode material structure of Grant because the particle structure is a recognized structural formation for an active material of an anode which the smaller the particle size leads to a high rate capacity. See MPEP 2144.07. Thus, when using a particle in the method of Grant, the SET coating would necessarily be disposed on the electrode active materials particles because Grant deposits the SEI layer over the active materials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed to have used a heating step as disclosed in Chen in the method of Grant because it promotes adhesion between the layers via a roll to roll process ([0096] Chen).
As to claim 6, Grant discloses wherein the battery electrode is composed of graphite, Si, Sn, Al, and lithium active metals ([0025]).
As to claim 8, Grant discloses a series of rollers for guiding the batter electrode into the electrodeposition chamber (See Fig. 2 and citation above to “roll to roll”).
As to claim 26, Grant discloses wherein the liquid comprises an electrolyte ([0010], [0046]) comprising a solvent ([0046] “non-aqueous solvent” which is deemed an organic solvent with the list in [0046]) and a lithium containing compound ([0027] [0048] which is deemed to be artificial SEI forming agents).
As to claim 30, the recited metal organic compounds are deemed optional via the “or” statement presented in claim 10 from which claim 30 depends. Thus, since the prior art discloses ionic compounds option of claim 10, claim 30 is thusly render obvious for the same rational as claim 10.
As to claim 44, Grant discloses a method for electrodepositing an artificial solid-electrolyte interphase ("SEI") coating onto a surface of a pre-formed battery electrode to produce a coated battery electrode, the method comprising:
(a) providing the pre-formed battery electrode (Fig. 2 “anode substrate”) onto a conveyance apparatus (Fig. 2 [0008] “roll to roll”); wherein the pre-formed battery electrode includes a substrate and electrode constituent active material particles disposed on the substrate ([0025] active material coated onto a current collector [0046] where the current collector is copper or, aluminum [0011]).
(b) transferring, by the conveyance apparatus, the battery electrode to an electrodeposition chamber containing a liquid solution comprising an at least first reagent ([0045] “bath”);
(c) exposing the pre-fromed battery electrode to the liquid solution in the electrodeposition chamber (Fig. 2 [0045]); and
(d) applying a voltage or current to the battery electrode relative to a counter electrode exposed to the liquid solution for a predetermined amount of time, thereby yielding the coated battery electrode comprising the artificial SEI coating wherein the artificial SEI coating is disposed on the electrode constituent active materials ([0045] “or into an anode substrate or sheet, or to form an SEI layer upon the anode”).
Grant discloses rinsing the coated battery electrode post-deposition with a rinsing solution comprising at least a solvent ([0012], [0060] claim 17) but fails to explicitly disclose exposing the coated battery electrode to a thermal treatment in the presence of an ambient gas mixture, wherein the ambient gas mixture comprises at least one of 02, ozone, N2, or Ar, up to 300 degrees C.
Grant discloses the reaction during the lithiation process which forms a stable SEI material which includes a Li2O or LisCO3.
Grant fails to explicitly disclose wherein the active material is in the form of particles, exposing the coated battery electrode to one or more thermal treatments, and the artificial SEI coating comprises a metal oxide, a metal halide, a metal nitride, a metal chalcogenide, a metal carbide, a metal oxyhalide, a metal arsenide, or a metal phosphate.
Gopalakrishnan Nair disclose forming SEI layer on lithium metal anodes (title) via formation of a SEI film stack (Abstract which reads on instant claim 32) formed sequentially via modular process chambers ([0084]) where the current collector may be a PET film coated with copper ([0041], claim 6 as required by instant claims 15) suitable for use with a continuous process ([0033], [0056], Fig. 11). Gopalakrishnan Nair discloses an SEI film stack which includes both a lithium carbonate/lithium oxide film (abstract and a metal chalcogenide film, specifically bismuth or copper chalcogenide films ([0008],[0039],[0045]). Gopalakrishnan Nair discloses the films are suitable to be formed via a roll-to-roll processes ([0003]), using an suitable deposition process ([0082]) and allow for an ex-situ formation of a stable and efficient SEI film to inhibit lithium dendrite growth to achieve superior lithium metal cycling ([0038]). Gopalakrishnan Nair discloses use of the chalcogenide with the lithium oxide/carbonate inhibits dendrite growth ([0105]). Gopalakrishnan Nair discloses the explicit use of copper selenium metal dichalcogenides ([0039]).
Aksu discloses methods of electroplating copper selenide films (Abstract) with copper includes as an ionic compound ([0027]) and selenium as an ionic compound ( such as selenium oxide [0031]) with complexing agents ([0027]) providing a liquid solution with ionic compounds and an aqueous solution 0039]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a metal chalcogenide film stack form ex-situ as an SEI layer as taught by Gopalakrishnan Nai integrated into the continuous method as taught by Grant because the use of the metal chalcogenides allows for the inhibition of dendrite growth and the formation ex situ allows for the formation of a stable and efficient SEI film (Gopalakrishnan Nair [0105], [0038]). It would have been obvious to explicitly use the copper selenide metal chalcogenide as taught by Gopalakrishnan Nair in the method of Grant because it is a suitable chalcogenide film to use with the lithium oxide/carbonate and thus provide the expected result of inhibiting dendrite growth and to have used a liquid solution and electrodepostion to form said copper selenide chalcogenide films as taught by Aksu in the method of Grant, as modified by Gopalakrishnan Nair, because it enables the coelectrodepostion of unfirm, smooth, and compositionally repeatable mixture films (Aksu [0022]).
Zhamu discloses providing the active material of an anode in particle form (Abstract) which can be made from graphite benefiting from an SEI layer ([0003]) where the small particle size results in a high-rate capacity ([0011]).
Chen disclose forming SEI layer on lithium metal anodes ([0054]) exposing the coated battery electrode to a thermal treatment in the presence of an ambient gas mixture, wherein the ambient gas mixture comprises at least one of 02, ozone, N2, or Ar, up to 300 degrees C. ([0091] claim 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have explicitly used particles for the active material as taught by Zhamu as the anode material structure of Grant because the particle structure is a recognized structural formation for an active material of an anode which the smaller the particle size leads to a high rate capacity. See MPEP 2144.07. Thus, when using a particle in the method of Grant, the SET coating would necessarily be disposed on the electrode active materials particles because Grant deposits the SEI layer over the active materials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as filed to have used a heating step as disclosed in Chen in the method of Grant because it promotes adhesion between the layers via a roll to roll process ([0096] Chen).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grant, as modified by Chen, Zhamu, Gopalakrishnan Nair, and Aksu, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Zhu et al (US 2014/0248543 A1) and He et al (US 2019/0393482 A1).
As to claim 2, Grant discloses wherein the electrode is a copper foil 25µm thick ([0064]) but fails to disclose the other thicknesses as claimed.
Zhu discloses using porous copper of LIB anodes (Abstract, [0070]) with a porosity of 10-80 % ([0140]) with a pore size that falls within the claimed range based on Fig. 28. He discloses wherein an SEI layer has a thickness between 1 nm and 100 micrometer (Abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used a porous copper as taught by Zhu for the copper foil in Chen, Zhamu, Gopalakrishnan Nair, and Aksu, because it provides a higher surface area for binding of active materials ([0105 Zhu). It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have use the thickness of He for the SEI layer of Grant, as modified by Chen, Zhamu, Gopalakrishnan Nair, and Aksu, because such a thickness is recognized for the intended use in SEI layers. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claims 7, 28, 34, and 35are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Zhamu, Gopalakrishnan Nair, and Aksu, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Yu et al (US 2016/0254572 A1).
As to claims 7, 34, and 35, Chen, Zhamu, Gopalakrishnan Nair, and Aksu, fails to explicitly disclose the instantly claimed materials for the electrode.
Yu discloses forming SEI layers onto positive electrodes ([0050]) comprising an active material of LiCoO2, LiMnO2, LiNixMnyCozO2, among others for a time period of 1-24 hours ([0060] which reads on the ranges of instant claim 34) and thus is selected to allow for a solid precipitating reaction to occur on the surface of the battery electrode ([0059] via formation of the SEI layer as required by instant claim 35)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form an SEI layer on the positive electrode and for the time periods of Yu in the method of Chen, Zhamu, Gopalakrishnan Nair, and Aksu, because the formation of the SEI film on a positive electrode improves the output characteristic and lifetime characteristics of the as formed battery (Yu [0016]) and thus enable the formation of the SEI layer (Yu [0059]) using the continuous method of Grant.
As to claim 28, Chen, Zhamu, Gopalakrishnan Nair, and Aksu, fails to explicitly use LiClO4 for the lithium containing compound.
Yu discloses using LiClO4 for a lithium compound in forming an SEI layer ([0034]).
Thus, the prior at discloses the same method as instantly claimed except for the specific chemical used to supply lithium ions in forming the SEI layer in Grant. Yu discloses suitable compounds to supply lithium compounds for forming SEI layers.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used LiClO4 as disclosed in Yu in the method of Chen, Zhamu, Gopalakrishnan Nair, and Aksu, because LiClO4 is a recognized compound to achieve a predictable result of supplying lithium ions for forming SEI layer. See MPEP 2143 B and 2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim amendment filed 18 February 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In the instant case, Applicant recites the differences of each cited reference with respect to the as amended claim limitations, pointing out differences which were not relied upon in each reference for disclosing said features.
Upon further consideration, Gopalakrishnan Nair discloses explicit use of chalcogenides with lithium oxide or carbonate for SEI layers and to form said layer ex situ in a stack using any suitable method. Newly cited Aksu discloses the ability to electrodeposit said chalcogenides in order to efficiently control the compositional ratios of the elements but provides both motivation and suitable method for deposition of copper selenide dichalcogenides.
No further arguments are presented.
Conclusion
/LOUIS J RUFO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795