DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because:
In Figure(s) 1B – 3A, 3C, 3D, 3F-5A, 5C – 6F, 8A, 8B, 8D – 9C, 10D, 10F – 11B, 11D, and 13A - 20 the reference characters, sheet numbers, and view numbers are not all oriented in the same direction so as to avoid having to rotate the sheet. See 37 CFR 1.84(p)(1). Note that if you go from portrait layout to a landscape layout, the sheet numbering gets moved to the top of the sheet in landscape.
The numbering of the sheets of drawings bearing FIG(s). 1B – 3A, 3C, 3D, 3F-5A, 5C – 6F, 8A, 8B, 8D – 9C, 10D, 10F – 11B, 11D, and 13A - 20 is not in compliance with all aspects of 37 CFR 1.84(t).
Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
INFORMATION ON HOW TO EFFECT DRAWING CHANGES
Replacement Drawing Sheets
Drawing changes must be made by presenting replacement sheets which incorporate the desired changes and which comply with 37 CFR 1.84. An explanation of the changes made must be presented either in the drawing amendments section, or remarks, section of the amendment paper. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). A replacement sheet must include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of the amended drawing(s) must not be labeled as “amended.” If the changes to the drawing figure(s) are not accepted by the examiner, applicant will be notified of any required corrective action in the next Office action. No further drawing submission will be required, unless applicant is notified.
Identifying indicia, if provided, should include the title of the invention, inventor’s name, and application number, or docket number (if any) if an application number has not been assigned to the application. If this information is provided, it must be placed on the front of each sheet and within the top margin.
Annotated Drawing Sheets
A marked-up copy of any amended drawing figure, including annotations indicating the changes made, are required by the examiner. The annotated drawing sheet(s) must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheet” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings.
Timing of Corrections
Applicant is required to submit acceptable corrected drawings within the time period set in the Office action. See 37 CFR 1.85(a). Failure to take corrective action within the set period will result in ABANDONMENT of the application.
If corrected drawings are required in a Notice of Allowability (PTOL-37), the new drawings MUST be filed within the THREE MONTH shortened statutory period set for reply in the “Notice of Allowability.” Extensions of time may NOT be obtained under the provisions of 37 CFR 1.136 for filing the corrected drawings after the mailing of a Notice of Allowability.
Claim Interpretation
Attention is directed to MPEP 904.01 [R-08.2012].
The breadth of the claims in the application should always be carefully noted; that is, the examiner should be fully aware of what the claims do not call for, as well as what they do require. During patent examination, the claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. See In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 44 USPQ2d 1023 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP § 2111 - § 2116.01 for case law pertinent to claim analysis.
It is noted with particularity that narrowing limitations found in the specification cannot be inferred in the claims where the elements not set forth in the claims are linchpin of patentability. In re Philips Industries v. State Stove & Mfg. Co, Inc., 186 USPQ 458 (CA6 1975). While the claims are to be interpreted in light of the specification, it does not follow that limitations from the specification may be read into the claims. On the contrary, claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow. See Ex parte Oetiker, 23 USPQ2d 1641 (BPAI, 1992). In added support of this position, attention is directed to MPEP 2111 [R-11.2013], where, citing In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969), is stated:
The court explained that “reading a claim in light of the specification, to thereby interpret limitations explicitly recited in the claim, is a quite different thing from ‘reading limitations of the specification into a claim,’ to thereby narrow the scope of the claim by implicitly adding disclosed limitations which have no express basis in the claim.” The court found that applicant was advocating the latter, i.e., the impermissible importation of subject matter from the specification into the claim.
Additionally, attention is directed to MPEP 2111.01 [R-01.2024], wherein is stated:
II. IT IS IMPROPER TO IMPORT CLAIM LIMITATIONS FROM THE SPECIFICATION
“Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment.” Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2111.02 II [R-07.2022]. As stated herein:
II. PREAMBLE STATEMENTS RECITING PURPOSE OR INTENDED USE
The claim preamble must be read in the context of the entire claim. The determination of whether preamble recitations are structural limitations or mere statements of purpose or use "can be resolved only on review of the entirety of the [record] to gain an understanding of what the inventors actually invented and intended to encompass by the claim" as drafted without importing "'extraneous' limitations from the specification." Corning Glass Works, 868 F.2d at 1257, 9 USPQ2d at 1966. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ("where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation")… (Emphasis added)
Attention is directed to MPEP 2111 [R-10.2019]. As stated therein:
During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." The Federal Circuit’s en banc decision in Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005) expressly recognized that the USPTO employs the "broadest reasonable interpretation" standard:
The Patent and Trademark Office ("PTO") determines the scope of claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction "in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art." In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech. Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364[, 70 USPQ2d 1827, 1830] (Fed. Cir. 2004). Indeed, the rules of the PTO require that application claims must "conform to the invention as set forth in the remainder of the specification and the terms and phrases used in the claims must find clear support or antecedent basis in the description so that the meaning of the terms in the claims may be ascertainable by reference to the description." 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1). (Emphasis added).
Attention is directed to MPEP 2173.04 [R-10.2019]. As stated therein:
Breadth of a claim is not to be equated with indefiniteness. In re Miller, 441 F.2d 689, 169 USPQ 597 (CCPA 1971); In re Gardner, 427 F.2d 786, 788, 166 USPQ 138, 140 (CCPA 1970) ("Breadth is not indefiniteness."). A broad claim is not indefinite merely because it encompasses a wide scope of subject matter provided the scope is clearly defined. But a claim is indefinite when the boundaries of the protected subject matter are not clearly delineated and the scope is unclear. For example, a genus claim that covers multiple species is broad, but is not indefinite because of its breadth, which is otherwise clear. But a genus claim that could be interpreted in such a way that it is not clear which species are covered would be indefinite (e.g., because there is more than one reasonable interpretation of what species are included in the claim). (Emphasis added)
Election/Restrictions
Claims 18-23 and 25-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12 September 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, Second Paragraph / (b)
Standard for Definiteness.
Attention is directed to MPEP 2171 [R-11.2013]:
Two separate requirements are set forth in 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, namely that:
(A) the claims must set forth the subject matter that the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention; and
(B) the claims must particularly point out and distinctly define the metes and bounds of the subject matter to be protected by the patent grant.
The first requirement is a subjective one because it is dependent on what the inventor or a joint inventor for a patent regards as his or her invention. Note that although pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, uses the phrase "which applicant regards as his invention," pre-AIA 37 CFR 1.41(a) provides that a patent is applied for in the name or names of the actual inventor or inventors.
The second requirement is an objective one because it is not dependent on the views of the inventor or any particular individual, but is evaluated in the context of whether the claim is definite — i.e., whether the scope of the claim is clear to a hypothetical person possessing the ordinary level of skill in the pertinent art.
Attention is directed to MPEP 2173.02 I [R-01.2024]:
During prosecution, applicant has an opportunity and a duty to amend ambiguous claims to clearly and precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. The claim places the public on notice of the scope of the patentee’s right to exclude. See, e.g., Johnson & Johnston Assoc. Inc. v. R.E. Serv. Co., 285 F.3d 1046, 1052, 62 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2002) (en banc). As the Federal Circuit stated in Halliburton Energy Servs., Inc. v. M-I LLC, 514 F.3d 1244, 1255, 85 USPQ2d 1654, 1663 (Fed. Cir. 2008):
“We note that the patent drafter is in the best position to resolve the ambiguity in the patent claims, and it is highly desirable that patent examiners demand that applicants do so in appropriate circumstances so that the patent can be amended during prosecution rather than attempting to resolve the ambiguity in litigation.”
***
During examination, after applying the broadest reasonable interpretation to the claim, if the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are not clear, the claim is indefinite and should be rejected. Packard, 751 F.3d at 1310 (“[W]hen the USPTO has initially issued a well-grounded rejection that identifies ways in which language in a claim is ambiguous, vague, incoherent, opaque, or otherwise unclear in describing and defining the claimed invention, and thereafter the applicant fails to provide a satisfactory response, the USPTO can properly reject the claim as failing to meet the statutory requirements of § 112(b).”); Zletz, 893 F.2d at 322, 13 USPQ2d at 1322.
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2173.02 III B [R-01-2024], which states in part:
To comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, applicants are required to make the terms that are used to define the invention clear and precise, so that the metes and bounds of the subject matter that will be protected by the patent grant can be ascertained. See MPEP § 2173.05(a), subsection I. It is important that a person of ordinary skill in the art be able to interpret the metes and bounds of the claims so as to understand how to avoid infringement of the patent that ultimately issues from the application being examined. See MPEP § 2173.02, subsection II (citing Morton Int ’l, Inc. v. Cardinal Chem. Co., 5 F.3d 1464, 1470 (Fed. Cir. 1993)); see also Halliburton Energy Servs., 514 F.3d at 1249, 85 USPQ2d at 1658 (“Otherwise, competitors cannot avoid infringement, defeating the public notice function of patent claims.”). Examiners should bear in mind that “[a]n essential purpose of patent examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous. Only in this way can uncertainties of claim scope be removed, as much as possible, during the administrative process.” Zletz, 893 F.2d at 322, 13 USPQ2d at 1322 [Fed. Cir. 1989]. (Emphasis added)
Attention is also directed to MPEP 2173.04 [R-10-2019], which states in part:
A broad claim is not indefinite merely because it encompasses a wide scope of subject matter provided the scope is clearly defined. But a claim is indefinite when the boundaries of the protected subject matter are not clearly delineated and the scope is unclear. For example, a genus claim that covers multiple species is broad, but is not indefinite because of its breadth, which is otherwise clear. But a genus claim that could be interpreted in such a way that it is not clear which species are covered would be indefinite (e.g., because there is more than one reasonable interpretation of what species are included in the claim).
Holding and Rationale
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-15, 17, 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “proximate”, “preferentially”, “optimized”, “guide sequence”, and “best” in claim 1 are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms “proximate”. “preferentially”, “optimized”, “guide”, and “best” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claims 3-7, 9, and 33-35, which depend from claim 1, fail to overcome these issues and are similarly rejected.
Claim 1 is indefinite with respect to what constitutes the metes and bounds of “CRISPR effector protein”, “guide molecule”, “detectable ligand”, “capture line”, “first capture line”, “second capture line”, and “sample”.
Claim 10 is indefinite with respect to what constitutes the metes and bounds of “target nucleic acid molecules”, “a sample”, “CRISPR effector systems”, “detection constructs”, “guide molecule”, “lateral flow substrate”, and “capture lines”. Claims 11-15 and 17, which depend from claim 10, do not overcome these issues and are similarly rejected.
The terms “proximate”, “preferentially”, and “best” in claim 10 are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms “proximate”, “preferentially”, and “best” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claims 11-15 and 17, which depend from claim 10, do not overcome these issues and are similarly rejected.
Claim 3 is indefinite with respect to whether the limitation “preferably 6-carboxyfluorescein” is a limitation or not.
Claim 7 is indefinite with respect to what constitutes the metes and bounds of “an RNA or DNA oligonucleotide”. A review of the disclosure fails to find where applicant has provided a closed definition for the term “oligonucleotide,” and a review of the art finds that there is not a single art-accepted definition. In support of this position, it is noted that Merriam-Webster.com (“Oligonucleotide definition,” Merriam-Webster.com; accessed 08-23-2017) provides the following exemplary definition:
[A] short nucleic-acid chain usually consisting of up to approximately 20 nucleotides. (Emphasis added)
US 2019/0002971 A1 (Kslover et al.), paragraph [0084], teaches:
In some embodiments, binding moieties comprise an oligonucleotide or analog thereof having a length in the range of from 6 to 60 nucleotides.
US 2009/0011943 A1 (Drmanac et al.), at paragraph [0116], teaches:
The length of capture oligonucleotides may vary widely, In one aspect, capture oligonucleotides and their complements in a bridging oligonucleotide have lengths in the range of from 10 to 100 nucleotides; and more preferably, in the range of from 10 to 40 nucleotides. (Emphasis added)
In comparison, US Patent 6,444,661 B1 (Barton et al.), column 6, first paragraph, states:
The probe oligonucleotide can be as short as about 8-10 bases, up to a length of several thousand bases: the probe can be as long or longer than the target polynucleotide. (Emphasis added)
“Oligonucleotide”, Wikipedia.com (accessed February 17, 2019) teaches:
A less than 100% yield of each synthetic step and the occurrence of side reactions set practical limits of the efficiency of the process so that the maximum length of synthetic oligonucleotides hardly exceeds 200 nucleotide residues. (Emphasis added)
When as here it is evident that there is not a single art-accepted meaning for the term, a question as to the metes and bounds of the claim exist.
Response to traversal of rejection
Applicant’s representative, at pages 12-13 of the response of 04 March 2025, hereinafter the response, traverses the rejection of claims under 35 USC 112(b). As asserted to therein:
The Examiner rejected claim 1 as indefinite with respect to what constitutes the metes and bounds of "CRISPR effector system." The term "CRISPR effector system" is defined in the specification as "Each of the two or more CRISPR effector systems may comprise a CRISPR effector protein and one or more guide sequences, each guide sequence configured to bind one or more target molecules" (see, ¶ 0050 of the specification). Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1 is not indefinite with respect to the term "CRISPR effector system" and requests that the rejection be withdrawn. (Emphasis added)
The Examiner has rejected claim 1 as being indefinite with respect to what type of molecules are encompassed by guide sequences. The specification of the application defines the term "guide sequence" in the context of a CRISPR-Cas system as "any polynucleotide sequence having sufficient complementarity with a target nucleic acid sequence to hybridize with the target nucleic acid sequence and direct sequence-specific binding of a nucleic acid-targeting complex to the target nucleic acid sequence." (see ¶ 0183 of the specification). Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1 is not indefinite with respect to the type of molecules that are encompassed by guide sequences, and requests that the rejection be withdrawn.
The above cited arguments have been considered and have not been found persuasive towards the withdrawal of the rejections. As noted above, the cited definition for “CRISPR effector system” indicates what it “may comprise”. Such open ended definition leaves open to interpretation just what it can be. It is further noted that narrowing limitations found in the disclosure cannot be read into the claims. In support of this position attention is directed to MPEP 2111.01 [R-01.2024], wherein is stated:
II. IT IS IMPROPER TO IMPORT CLAIM LIMITATIONS FROM THE SPECIFICATION
“Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment.” Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
In view of the above analysis and in he absence of convincing evidence to the contrary, the rejections are maintained.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6, and 12-14 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12, 25, and 31-34 of U.S. Patent No. 11,633,732 (Zhang et al.) in view of US 2018/0022781 A11 (Bridier-Nahmias et al.).
Zhang et al., claims a lateral flow device that comprises a CRISPR effector system which comprises Cas13 effector protein (claims 1, 12, and 25) as well as a method for detecting a target nucleic acid (claims 31-34).
Zhang et al., has not been found to teach guide molecules being selected via “a logistic regression model”.
Bridier – Nahmias et al., in paragraph [0065], teaches using the CRISPR/Cas System. As stated therein:
In some embodiments, the transgene encodes for a CRISPR/Cas system that binds to target site in a region of interest (e.g., a highly expressed gene, a disease associated gene or a safe harbor gene) in a genome, wherein the CRISPR/Cas system comprises a CRIPSR/Cas nuclease and an engineered crRNA/tracrRNA (or single guide RNA). In some embodiments, the CRISPR/Cas system recognizes a target site in a highly expressed, disease associated, or safe harbor gene. The ZFN, TALEN, and/or CRISPR/Cas system as described herein may bind to and/or cleave the region of interest in a coding or non-coding region within or adjacent to the gene, such as, for example, a leader sequence, trailer sequence or intron, or within a non-transcribed region, either upstream or downstream of the coding region. In some embodiments, the ZFN, TALEN, and/or CRISPR/Cas system binds to and/or cleaves a highly expressed gene, for example a globin gene in red blood cells (RBCS).
Bridier – Nahmias et al., in paragraph [0102], teach:
To determine if other genomic features influence Ty1 ISC in the absence of the AC40/IN interaction, we used single (FIG. 3B) and multi-dimensional logistic regression models to associate genomic features with integration hotspots. (Emphasis added)
In view of the above showing, it would have been obvious to perform logistic regression models to select target sequences that are associated with points of interest and which can then be evaluated in the CRISPR-Cas13 assay.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Admissions as Prior Art.
Attention is directed to MPEP 2129 Admissions as Prior Art [R-07.2022], which states in part:
I. ADMISSIONS BY APPLICANT CONSTITUTE PRIOR ART
A statement by an applicant in the specification or made during prosecution identifying the work of another as "prior art" is an admission which can be relied upon for both anticipation and obviousness determinations, regardless of whether the admitted prior art would otherwise qualify as prior art under the statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. 102. Riverwood Int’l Corp. v. R.A. Jones & Co., 324 F.3d 1346, 1354, 66 USPQ2d 1331, 1337 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Constant v. Advanced Micro-Devices Inc., 848 F.2d 1560, 1570, 7 USPQ2d 1057, 1063 (Fed. Cir. 1988). Where the admitted prior art anticipates the claim but does not qualify as prior art under any of the paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102, the claim may be rejected as being anticipated by the admitted prior art without citing to 35 U.S.C. 102.
Attention is also directed to Ex parte Shirley, (BPAI, 2009) Appeal No. 2009002352, which, at pages 21 and 26, states:
The Specification’s omission of the term “prior art” and inclusion of the prior-art disclaimer may initially appear to indicate that Appellants do not consider the single-step soft bake process to constitute prior art. To place these latter, contraindicative factors into the proper context though, we note that patent-application drafters regularly endeavor to avoid the indiscriminate or imprudent use of the descriptive label, “prior art.” See Riverwood Intern. Corp. v. R.A. Jones & Co., Inc., 324 F.3d 1346, 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (citing In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 300 (CCPA 1982)) for the proposition that “section 102 is not the only source of … prior art. Valid prior art may be created by the admissions of the parties”); In re Nomiya, 509 F.2d 566, 571 (CCPA 1975) (holding that an Applicant’s labeling of certain figures as “prior art,” ipsissimis verbis, constituted an admission that the pictured subject matter was prior art relative to Applicant’s invention); MPEP § 21294 (instructing that “the examiner must determine whether the subject matter identified as ‘prior art’ is applicant’s own work, or the work of another. In the absence of another credible explanation, examiners should treat such subject matter as the work of another”).
***
The Specification’s omission of the term “prior art” and inclusion of the boilerplate prior-art disclaimer do not change our conclusion. In view of the record as a whole, these factors are ineffective in shielding Appellants from having their prior-art admissions treated as such.
Holding and Rationale
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9-15, 17, and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2007/0014803 A1 (Lu et al.) in view of US 2018/0340219 A1 (Abudayyeh et al.), US 2018/0022781 A11 (Bridier-Nahmias et al.), and applicant’s admissions.
Lu et al., at paragraph [0175], teach:
Methods and devices for lateral flow separation, detection, and quantification are known in the art, e.g., U.S. Pat. Nos. 5,569,608; 6,297,020; and 6,403,383 incorporated herein by reference in their entirety. In one non-limiting example, a test strip comprises a proximal region for loading the sample (the sample-loading region) and a distal test region containing a PDZ polypeptide capture agent and buffer reagents and additives suitable for establishing binding interactions between the PDZ polypeptide and any viral or bacterial PL protein in the migrating biological sample. In alternative exemplary procedures, the test strip comprises two test regions that contain different PDZ domain polypeptides, i.e., each capable of specifically interacting with a different viral or bacterial PL protein analyte. Optionally, the lateral flow can include tests for a variety of different viruse [sic] and bacteria, for example those identified in Table 1. (Emphasis added)
Lu et al., has not been found to teach of including CRISPR effector systems in a lateral flow device.
Abudayyeh et al., at paragraph [0005] teach:
[0005] In one aspect, the invention provides a nucleic acid detection system comprising: a CRISPR system comprising an effector protein and one or more guide RNAs designed to bind to corresponding target molecules; an RNA-based masking construct; and optionally, nucleic acid amplification reagents to amplify target RNA molecules in a sample. In another aspect, the embodiments provide a polypeptide detection system comprising: a CRISPR system comprising an effector protein and one or more guide RNAs designed to bind a trigger RNA, an RNA-based masking construct; and one or more detection aptamers comprising a masked RNA polymerase promoter binding site or a masked primer binding site. (Emphasis added)
Abudayyeh et al., at paragraph [0007] teach:
[0007] In one example embodiment, the CRISPR system effector protein is an RNA-targeting effector protein. Example RNA-targeting effector proteins include Cas13b and C2c2 (now known as Cas13a). It will be understood that the term “C2c2” herein is used interchangeably with “Cas13a”. (Emphasis added)
Abudayyeh et al., at paragraph [0278] teach:
In certain aspects, the invention relates to the use of a follow strip as described herein for detecting nucleic acids or polypeptides. In certain aspects, the invention relates to a method for detecting nucleic acids or polypeptides with a flow strip as defined herein, e.g. (lateral) flow tests or (lateral) flow immunochromatographic assays. (Emphasis added)
Abudayyeh et al., at paragraph [0226] teach:
[0226] As used herein, a “masking construct” refers to a molecule that can be cleaved or otherwise deactivated by an activated CRISPR system effector protein described herein. The term “masking construct” may also be referred to in the alternative as a “detection construct.” In certain example embodiments, the masking construct is a RNA-based masking construct. The RNA-based masking construct comprises a RNA element that is cleavable by a CRISPR effector protein. Cleavage of the RNA element releases agents or produces conformational changes that allow a detectable signal to be produced. Example constructs demonstrating how the RNA element may be used to prevent or mask generation of detectable signal are described below and embodiments of the invention comprise variants of the same. Prior to cleavage, or when the masking construct is in an ‘active’ state, the masking construct blocks the generation or detection of a positive detectable signal. It will be understood that in certain example embodiments a minimal background signal may be produced in the presence of an active RNA masking construct. A positive detectable signal may be any signal that can be detected using optical, fluorescent, chemiluminescent, electrochemical or other detection methods known in the art. The term “positive detectable signal” is used to differentiate from other detectable signals that may be detectable in the presence of the masking construct. For example, in certain embodiments a first signal may be detected when the masking agent is present (i.e. a negative detectable signal), which then converts to a second signal (e.g. the positive detectable signal) upon detection of the target molecules and cleavage or deactivation of the masking agent by the activated CRISPR effector protein. (Emphasis added)
Neither Lu et al., nor Abudayyeh et al., have been found to teach utilizing a logistic regression model to select sequences to be subjected to a CRISPR effector system.
Bridier – Nahmias et al., in paragraph [0065], teaches using the CRISPR/Cas System. As stated therein:
In some embodiments, the transgene encodes for a CRISPR/Cas system that binds to target site in a region of interest (e.g., a highly expressed gene, a disease associated gene or a safe harbor gene) in a genome, wherein the CRISPR/Cas system comprises a CRIPSR/Cas nuclease and an engineered crRNA/tracrRNA (or single guide RNA). In some embodiments, the CRISPR/Cas system recognizes a target site in a highly expressed, disease associated, or safe harbor gene. The ZFN, TALEN, and/or CRISPR/Cas system as described herein may bind to and/or cleave the region of interest in a coding or non-coding region within or adjacent to the gene, such as, for example, a leader sequence, trailer sequence or intron, or within a non-transcribed region, either upstream or downstream of the coding region. In some embodiments, the ZFN, TALEN, and/or CRISPR/Cas system binds to and/or cleaves a highly expressed gene, for example a globin gene in red blood cells (RBCS).
Bridier – Nahmias et al., in paragraph [0102], teach:
To determine if other genomic features influence Ty1 ISC in the absence of the AC40/IN interaction, we used single (FIG. 3B) and multi-dimensional logistic regression models to associate genomic features with integration hotspots. (Emphasis added)
Applicant, at page 19, paragraph [0052], admits:
[0052] The device may comprise a lateral flow substrate for detecting a SHERLOCK
reaction. Substrates suitable for use in lateral flow assays are known in the art. These may include, but are not necessarily limited to membranes or pads made of cellulose and/or glass fiber, polyesters, nitrocellulose, or absorbent pads (J Saudi Chem Soc 19(6):689-705; 2015). (Emphasis added)
Applicant, at page 21, paragraph [0059], admits:
Binding Agents
[0059] Specific binding-integrating molecules comprise any members of binding pairs that can be used in the present invention. Such binding pairs are known to those skilled in the art and include, but are not limited to, antibody-antigen pairs, enzyme-substrate pairs, receptor-ligand pairs, and streptavidin-biotin. (Emphasis added)
Applicant, at page 22, paragraph [0060], admits:
Methods for identifying cells with barcodes are known in the art. Accordingly, guide RNAs of the CRISPR effector systems described herein may be used to detect the barcode. (Emphasis added)
Applicant, at page 24, paragraph [0066], admits:
A positive detectable signal may be any signal that can be detected using optical, fluorescent, chemiluminescent, electrochemical or other detection methods known in the art. (Emphasis added)
Applicant, at page 26, paragraph [0070], admits:
The one or more reagents may combine to produce a colorimetric signal, a chemiluminescent signal, a fluorescent signal, or any other detectable signal and may comprise any reagents known to be suitable for such purposes. (Emphasis added)
Applicant, at page 27, paragraph [0072], admits:
The label on the binding partner used in the above embodiments may be any detectable label known in the art. In addition, other known binding partners may be used in accordance with the overall design described herein. (Emphasis added)
Applicant, at page 32, paragraph [0087], admits:
An example of such a detectable label/masking agent pair is a fluorophore and a
quencher of the fluorophore. Quenching of the fluorophore can occur as a result of the formation of a non-fluorescent complex between the fluorophore and another fluorophore or nonfluorescent molecule. This mechanism is known as ground-state complex formation, static quenching, or contact quenching. Accordingly, the RNA or DNA oligonucleotide may be designed so that the fluorophore and quencher are in sufficient proximity for contact quenching to occur. Fluorophores and their cognate quenchers are known in the art and can be selected for this purpose by one having ordinary skill in the art. The particular fluorophore/quencher pair is not critical in the context of this invention, only that selection of the fluorophore/quencher pairs ensures masking of the fluorophore. (Emphasis added)
Applicant, at page 33, paragraph [0090], admit:
As above, the quantum dot/quencher pair is not critical, only that selection of the quantum dot/quencher pair ensures masking of the fluorophore. Quantum dots and their cognate quenchers are known in the art and can be selected for this purpose by one having ordinary skill in the art. (Emphasis added)
Applicant, at page 40, paragraph [0107], admits:
Also the way the Cas transgene is introduced in the cell may vary and can be any method as is known in the art. (Emphasis added)
Applicant, at page 40, paragraph [0109], admits:
Vectors include, but are not limited to, nucleic acid molecules that are single-stranded, double-stranded, or partially double-stranded; nucleic acid molecules that comprise one or more free ends, no free ends (e.g. circular); nucleic acid molecules that comprise DNA, RNA, or both; and other varieties of polynucleotides known in the art. (Emphasis added)
Applicant, at page 43, paragraph [0113], admits:
[0113] In some embodiments, one or more elements of a nucleic acid-targeting system is
derived from a particular organism comprising an endogenous CRISPR RNA-targeting system. In certain example embodiments, the effector protein CRISPR RNA-targeting system comprises at least one HEPN domain, including but not limited to the HEPN domains described herein, HEPN domains known in the art, and domains recognized to be HEPN domains by comparison to consensus sequence motifs. (Emphasis added)
Applicant, at page 44, paragraph [0114], admits:
[0114] In one example embodiment, the effector protein comprises one or more HEPN
domains comprising a RxxxxH motif sequence. The RxxxxH motif sequence can be, without limitation, from a HEPN domain described herein or a HEPN domain known in the art. (Emphasis added)
Applicant, at page 50, paragraph [0128], admits:
[0128] RNase function in CRISPR systems is known, for example mRNA targeting has been reported for certain type III CRISPR-Cas systems (Hale et al., 2014, Genes Dev, vol. 28, 2432-2443; Hale et al., 2009, Cell, vol. 139, 945-956; Peng et al., 2015, Nucleic acids research, vol. 43, 406-417) and provides significant advantages. (Emphasis added)
Applicant, at page 91, paragraph [0223], admits:
[0223] A positive detectable signal may be any signal that can be detected using optical,
fluorescent, chemiluminescent, electrochemical or other detection methods known in the art, as described elsewhere herein. (Emphasis added)
Applicant, at paragraphs [0237] and [0238], admits:
Likewise, a polymerase useful in accordance with the invention may be any specific or
general polymerase known in the art and useful or the invention, including Taq polymerase, Q5 polymerase, or the like. (Emphasis added)
***
Polymerases as described herein are known in the art.
Applicant, at paragraph [0249], admits:
[0249] The invention comprises use of any suitable helicase known in the art. These include, but are not necessarily limited to, UvrD helicase, CRISPR-Cas3 helicase… (Emphasis added)
In view of the above presentation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the known technology of later flow devices to develop same, and to use same in the detection of one, two or more different target molecules and to have employed a logistic regression model to select the best target sequences. In view of the well-developed state of the art and detailed guidance, said ordinary artisan would have been both amply motivated and would have had a most reasonable expectation of success.
In view of the above analysis and in the absence of convincing evidence to the contrary, claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2007/0014803 A1 (Lu et al.) in view of US 2018/0340219 A1 (Abudayyeh et al.), US 2018/0022781 A11 (Bridier-Nahmias et al.), and applicant’s admissions.
Conclusion
Objections and/or rejections which appeared in the prior Office action and which have not been repeated hereinabove have been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Bradley L. Sisson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682