DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the amendment filed on 07/27/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 43-45 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to the applicant’s argument, that “Shekarriz does not disclose a thin film transistor”, the examiner agrees. However, in view of the current claim amendments, the combination of Shkarriz and Dartnell teaches the thin film transistor gas sensor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 43-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shekarriz et al. (Pub. No. US 2010/0159084) (hereafter Shekarriz) in view of Dartnell et al. (Pub No. US 2020/0271621) (hereafter Dartnell).
Regarding claim 43, Shekarriz teaches a method of determining a presence, a concentration or a change in concentration of a target material in an environment, the method comprising:
measuring a rate of change in drain current or resistance of a sensor (i.e., the presence (and in preferred embodiments, the concentration) of the target organic molecule in the sampled portion of the gas produces a current, which can be used directly or indirectly as a control signal) (see paragraph section [0095]) upon exposure to the environment for a time period (i.e., A sample of the gas is directed into sensor 72) (see paragraph section [0095]); and
determining, from the rate of change, a presence, a concentration or a change in concentration of the target material at a point during the time period (i.e., the target organic molecule is present in the sampled gas (as indicate by the production of an electrical current by the sensor)) (see paragraph section [0095]); but does not explicitly teach a thin film transistor sensor.
Regarding the sensor, Dartnell teaches a thin film transistor sensor (i.e., one or more further gas sensors, optionally one or more organic thin film transistors) (see paragraph sections [0027]-[0028]). In view of the teaching of Dartnell, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a thin film transistor sensor in order to compare the performance of the different sensors.
Regarding claim 44, Shekarriz teaches determining dI/dt for the time period wherein I is drain current and t is time; identifying dI/dt peaks; and determining, from the dI/dt peaks, a presence, a concentration or a change in concentration of the target material at the point during the time period (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 45, Shekarriz teaches that the target material is 1- methylcyclopropene (i.e., a target organic molecule such as ethylene or 1-methylcyclopropene) (see paragraph section [0095]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18, 20, 22, 35-37 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the primary reason for allowance is that the prior arts, either alone or in combination, do not teach or fairly suggest the particulars of a method for determining a presence, concentration, or change in concentration of a target material in a gaseous environment, comprising a valve arrangement, a dehumidification stage, a filter material, a rehumidification stage, and the method steps of dehumidifying gas and rehumidifying as, measuring a first response and a second response of the sensor of the sensor system, and subtracting a first sensor measurement or a derivative thereof from a second sensor measurement or a derivative thereof. Furthermore, the examiner agrees with the applicant’s arguments in the Remarks dated 07/27/2026.
The best prior arts of record:
Wohltjen (Pat. No. US 7,240,535) teaches a system for normalized detection of gas emanating from a fluid source, which comprises: a sensor for detection of a select gas species; a trap for said gas species or for one or more unwanted gas species; a pump for inducing gas-flow in said system; a plurality of valve assemblies, each said valve assembly being interconnected with said sensor; said plurality of valve assemblies including a first valve assembly also interconnected with said trap, which trap is interconnected with said fluid source, said first valve assembly being variable between a first position in which it affords a path between the sensor and the trap and a second position in which it affords a path between the trap and the pump circumventing the sensor; and said plurality of valve assemblies including a second valve assembly also interconnected with said fluid source, said second valve assembly being variable between a first position in which it affords a path between the sensor and said fluid source and a second position in which it affords a path between the pump and said fluid source circumventing the sensor. Wohltjen does not teach the sensor system including the dehumidification stage, the rehumidification stage, the valve arrangement
Shekarriz et al. (Pub. No. US 2010/0159084) teaches an electrochemical sensor for organic molecules such as ethylene includes an electrochemical cell, gas sample inlet means and means for detecting current produced by the oxidation of the organic molecule at the anode of the cell. The sensor is capable of sensing multiple organic molecules in some embodiments. A voltage is applied to the anode of the cell to provide energy to drive the oxidation reaction and produce a corresponding current. Shekarriz does not teach the sensor system including the dehumidification stage, the rehumidification stage, the valve arrangement.
Furthermore, in the examiner’s opinion, the pertinent prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be reasonably construed as adequately teaching or suggesting all of the elements and features of the claimed inventions as arranged, disposed or provided in the manner as claimed by the applicant.
Hence, the best prior art of record fails to teach the invention as set forth in claims 18, 20, 22, 35-37, and the examiner can find no teaching of the specific, nor reasons within the cited prior art or on her own to combine the elements of these references, other than the applicant’s own reasoning to fully encompass the current pending claims. In addition, see applicant’s reasoning in amendment/response filed 07/27/2026.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Tran M. Tran/Examiner, Art Unit 2855