DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/3/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. US Pub 2019/0320048 further in view of Endo et al. US Pub 2015/0261259 further in view of Shin US Pub 2011/0199361.
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches,
A display apparatus (figs. 2-3, 5) comprising
a first display panel (element 230) having flexibility;
a first housing (fig. 5, element 211);
a second housing (element 212);
a third housing (figure 5a, element 213);
a first hinge (element 241); and
a second hinge (element 242),
a grip portion (element 201, figure 3a, 5a); and
a battery (element 272; paragraph 210);
wherein the first display panel (Fig. 2a-3a, 5a, element 230) comprises a first display region (display region 231) on a first surface of the first housing (as seen in figures 3a, 5a-5b), a second display region (display region 232 on a first surface of the second housing (figures 3a, 5a-b), and a third display region (display region 233) on a first surface of the third housing (figures 3a, 5a-b),
wherein the first hinge is between the first housing and the second housing (figure 3a-b, 5a),
wherein the second hinge is between the second housing and the third housing (figure 3a-b, 5a),
wherein the first display region, the second display region, and the third display region are in parallel with one another to form a plane when the display apparatus is opened flat (as seen in figure 3a&5b),
wherein the grip portion is positioned at an end portion of the first housing (as seen in figure 3a and 5a, the grip portion 201 at the end of first housing 211),
wherein when the display apparatus is opened flat, a display surface is slanted (as seen in figure 3a),
wherein the display apparatus is capable of forming a first curved surface (figure 5a, area corresponding in the region of element 241) with a convex shape (figure 5a rotated 180 degrees, similar to present application) on a display surface side across the first display region and the second display region (as seen in figure 5a),
wherein the display apparatus is configured to form a second curved surface (fig 5a-b, area corresponding in the region of element 242; the circle area between element 214/215 in figure 5a) with a concave shape (figure 5a rotated 180 degrees similar to present application element 104b) on the display surface side across the second display region and the third display region (as seen in figure 5a), and
wherein a radius of curvature R1 of the first curved surface is larger than a radius of curvature R2 of the second curved surface when the display apparatus is folded (as seen in figure 5a, the radius of curvature of 241 is larger than the radius of curvature of second curved surface 214/215 region).
Yang does not teach the position of the battery, such that wherein the battery is in the grip portion; and wherein when the display apparatus is opened flat, a gravity center of the display apparatus is positioned in the grip portion. Additionally, Yang does not teach a second display panel; wherein the second display panel comprises a fourth display region on a second surface opposite to the first surface of the third housing.
Endo in similar field of display apparatus teaches a battery (paragraph 130, figure 9c, element 149) is provided in grip portion (where element 149 is disposed, the housing of 141), additionally Endo provides teaching of center of gravity (figs. 9a-c, paragraph 134) of the display apparatus is positioned in the grip portion .
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the battery in the grip portion and the gravity center in the grip portion as taught by Endo such that a battery of Yang is placed within the grip portion of Yang and thereby making this area heavier and thus making the gravity center in the grip portion of Yang, such modification will provide stable display apparatus and for the purpose of ensuring there is power failsafe (i.e., back up battery, in addition to the battery 272 of Yang).
Shin in similar field of display apparatus teaches a first display panel (figure 1a-c, element 220); and a second display panel (Figures 1a-c, element 210); wherein the second display panel (element 210) comprises a fourth display region (region of element 210) as seen in figure 1b-c is provided on second surface (i.e., back surface) of the housing 100) on a second surface opposite to the first surface (figure 1a-c, first surface being the front where element 220 is disposed) of the housing.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of having an additional display panel on a rear side of at least one of the housing of the display apparatus as taught by Shin such that a supplemental/auxiliary/sub display is provided on the second surface opposite to the first surface of the third housing of Yang, such modification will increasing the viewing area capability (paragraph 6 of Shin) and thus maximizing the utility of the display apparatus/electronic device (paragraph 8 of Shin).
Regarding claim 3,
Yang as modified teaches wherein the first hinge is configured to form the first curved surface(as seen in figure 5a as taught by Yang as modified), and
wherein the second hinge is configured to form the second curved surface (as seen in figure 5a as taught as modified).
Regarding claim 6, Yang as modified teaches,
Wherein the first display panel comprises a light-emitting device (paragraphs 126 of Yang; OLED; also Endo teaches LED in paragraph 215).
Regarding claim 24, Yang as modified teaches,
Wherein a size of the first display panel is larger than a size of the second display panel (the modified structure of Yang as modified by Shin such that the Shin’s modification of providing second display is only in the region of third housing, whereas the first display panel is spanning across first, second and third housing thus, the first display panel is larger in size than the size of the second display panel).
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. US Pub 2019/0320048 further in view of Endo et al. US Pub 2015/0261259 further in view of Shin US Pub 2011/0199361 and Yamazaki US Pub 20150261257.
Regarding claim 7,
Yang as modified teaches the display apparatus as disclosed in claim 1.
Yang as modified does not teach an operation method of a display apparatus, comprising the display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein only a part of a region perform display.
Yamazaki in similar field of display device teaches an operation method of a display apparatus, comprising the display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein only a part of a region perform display (figure 5, paragraph 156-161, 174, where in paragraph 161 the image is disposed based on the sensing data obtained thus part of the region perform display and the remaining display can be adjusted).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of Yamazaki to provide the operation method of only a part of a region perform display based on the input from the sensor with the display apparatus of Yang as modified, such modification will provide a power managing device and provide only visible display region to be displaying.
Regarding claim 8,
Yang as modified by Yamazaki teaches wherein when the first display panel is opened flat, orientation of an image is changed in accordance with inclination of the first display panel (as described in paragraph 156-161 and 174 of Yamazaki, which describes the image is disposed based on the position of the display portion which is determined by the sensor portion).
Claim(s) 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. US Pub 2019/0320048 further in view of Endo et al. US Pub 2015/0261259 further in view of Koo et al. US Pub 2016/0212840 and Shin US Pub 2011/0199361.
Regarding claim 9, Yang teaches,
A display apparatus (figs. 2-3, 5) comprising
a first display panel (element 230) having flexibility;
a first housing (fig. 5, element 211);
a second housing (element 212);
a third housing (figure 5a, element 213);
a first hinge (element 241); and
a second hinge (element 242),
a grip portion (element 201, figure 3a, 5a); and
a battery (element 272; paragraph 210);
wherein the first display panel (Fig. 2a-3a, 5a, element 230) comprises a first display region (display region 231) on a first surface of the first housing (as seen in figures 3a, 5a-5b), a second display region (display region 232 on a first surface of the second housing (figures 3a, 5a-b), and a third display region (display region 233) on a first surface of the third housing (figures 3a, 5a-b),
wherein the first hinge is between the first housing and the second housing (figure 3a-b, 5a),
wherein the second hinge is between the second housing and the third housing (figure 3a-b, 5a),
wherein the first display region, the second display region, and the third display region are in parallel with one another to form a plane when the display apparatus is opened flat (as seen in figure 3a&5b),
wherein the grip portion is positioned at an end portion of the first housing (as seen in figure 3a and 5a, the grip portion 201 at the end of first housing 211),
wherein when the display apparatus is opened flat, a display surface is slanted (as seen in figure 3a),
wherein the first hinge is configured to form a first curved surface (figure 5a, area corresponding in the region of element 241; see annotated drawing below) with a convex shape (figure 5a rotated 180 degrees, similar to present application) on the display surface side, a plane surface (see annotated drawing below where the plane surface is between the two convex shape, such that the two dots labeled one and two is the plane surface; a surface is defined by a two-dimensional collection of points (flat surface); furthermore the tangent line of curved section comprises at least a plane/flat surface), and
a third curved surface (fig 5a, red circle area; similar to figure 3b, R4 of present application, see annotate drawing below) with a convex shape (figure 5a rotated 180 degrees, similar to present application) on the display surface side in this order across the first display region and the second display region wen the display apparatus is bent,
wherein the display apparatus is configured to form a second curved surface (fig 5a-b, area corresponding in the region of element 242; the circle area between element 214/215 in figure 5a) with a concave shape (figure 5a rotated 180 degrees similar to present application element 104b) on the display surface side across the second display region and the third display region (as seen in figure 5a), and
wherein when the display apparatus is folded, a radius of curvature R1 of the first curved surface is larger than a radius curvature R2 of the second curved surface (figure 5a and annotated figure is showing the R1 similar to present application’s figure 3b, is larger than a radius curvature R2), and a radius curvature R3 of the third curved surface is larger than the radius curvature R2 (figure 5a and annotated figure is showing the R3 similar to present application’s figure 3b, is larger than a radius curvature R2).
Yang does not teach the position of the battery, such that wherein the battery is in the grip portion; and wherein when the display apparatus is opened flat, a gravity center of the display apparatus is positioned in the grip portion. Additionally, Yang does not teach a second display panel; wherein the second display panel comprises a fourth display region on a second surface opposite to the first surface of the third housing.
Endo in similar field of display apparatus teaches a battery (paragraph 130, figure 9c, element 149) is provided in grip portion (where element 149 is disposed, the housing of 141), additionally Endo provides teaching of center of gravity (figs. 9a-c, paragraph 134) of the display apparatus is positioned in the grip portion .
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the battery in the grip portion and the gravity center in the grip portion as taught by Endo such that a battery of Yang is placed within the grip portion of Yang and thereby making this area heavier and thus making the gravity center in the grip portion of Yang, such modification will provide stable display apparatus and for the purpose of ensuring there is power failsafe (i.e., back up battery, in addition to the battery 272 of Yang).
In the case applicant disagrees that Yang teaches with the wherein when the display apparatus is folded, a radius of curvature R1 of the first curved surface is larger than a radius curvature R2 of the second curved surface, and a radius curvature R3 of the third curved surface is larger than the radius curvature R2. Adjusting the radius of the curvature is not new in the art.
Koo in similar field of display apparatus (figure 3b) teaches the wherein when the display apparatus is folded, a radius of curvature R1 (figure 3b, from Fx4 to outer side of Fx6, similar to figure 3b of present application is larger than the radius of FX1) of the first curved surface is larger than a radius curvature R2 of the second curved surface, and a radius curvature R3 of the third curved surface (figure 3b, from Fx4 to outer side of Fx5, similar to figure 3b of present application is larger than the radius of FX1) is larger than the radius curvature R2.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the bend radius of the display apparatus of Yang with the teaching of Koo to have a radius of curvature R1 of the first curved surface is larger than a radius curvature R2 of the second curved surface, and a radius curvature R3 of the third curved surface is larger than the radius curvature R2, such modification will provide the desired bend radius and control the display panel’s creases.
Shin in similar field of display apparatus teaches a first display panel (figure 1a-c, element 220); and a second display panel (Figures 1a-c, element 210); wherein the second display panel (element 210) comprises a fourth display region (region of element 210) as seen in figure 1b-c is provided on second surface (i.e., back surface) of the housing 100) on a second surface opposite to the first surface (figure 1a-c, first surface being the front where element 220 is disposed) of the housing.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of having an additional display panel on a rear side of at least one of the housing of the display apparatus as taught by Shin such that a supplemental/auxiliary/sub display is provided on the second surface opposite to the first surface of the third housing of Yang, such modification will increasing the viewing area capability (paragraph 6 of Shin) and thus maximizing the utility of the display apparatus/electronic device (paragraph 8 of Shin).
Regarding claim 13,
Wherein the first display panel comprises a light-emitting device (paragraphs 126 of Yang; OLED; also Endo teaches LED in paragraph 215).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. US Pub 2019/0320048 further in view of Endo et al. US Pub 2015/0261259 further in view of Shin US Pub 2011/0199361 and Toya US Pub 20080111518.
Regarding claim 5,
Yang as modified by Endo teaches the display apparatus with battery as disclosed in claim 1.
Yang as modified by Endo does not teach a power receiving coil for wireless charging is in the third housing.
Toya in similar field of display apparatus (figure 17) teaches a power receiving coil for wireless charging (figure 17, power receiving coil 21 provided for wireless charging).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the power receiving coil as taught by Toya in the third housing of Yang as modified, such modification will provide a quick charging without the need for accessory (cables) and more durable due to not needing to plug and unplug cables.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. US Pub 2019/0320048 further in view of Endo et al. US Pub 2015/0261259 further in view of Koo et al. US Pub 2016/0212840 further in view of Shin US Pub 2011/0199361 and Toya US Pub 20080111518.
Regarding claim 12,
Yang as modified by Endo teaches the display apparatus with battery as disclosed in claim 9.
Yang as modified by Endo does not teach a power receiving coil for wireless charging is in the third housing.
Toya in similar field of display apparatus (figure 17) teaches a power receiving coil for wireless charging (figure 17, power receiving coil 21 provided for wireless charging).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the power receiving coil as taught by Toya in the third housing of Yang as modified, such modification will provide a quick charging without the need for accessory (cables) and more durable due to not needing to plug and unplug cables.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. US Pub 2019/0320048 in view of Endo et al. US Pub 2015/0261259 further in view of Koo et al. US Pub 2016/0212840 further in view of Shin US Pub 2011/0199361 and Yamazaki US Pub 20150261257.
Regarding claim 14,
Yang as modified teaches the display apparatus as disclosed in claim 9.
Yang as modified does not teach an operation method of a display apparatus, comprising the display apparatus according to claim 9, wherein only a part of a region perform display.
Yamazaki in similar field of display device teaches an operation method of a display apparatus, comprising the display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein only a part of a region perform display (figure 5, paragraph 156-161, 174, where in paragraph 161 the image is disposed based on the sensing data obtained thus part of the region perform display and the remaining display can be adjusted).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of Yamazaki to provide the operation method of only a part of a region perform display based on the input from the sensor with the display apparatus of Yang as modified, such modification will provide a power managing device and provide only visible display region to be displaying.
Regarding claim 15,
Yang as modified by Yamazaki teaches wherein when the first display is opened flat, orientation of an image is changed in accordance with inclination of the first display panel (as described in paragraph 156-161 and 174 of Yamazaki, which describes the image is disposed based on the position of the display portion which is determined by the sensor portion).
Claim(s) 16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. US Pub 2019/0320048 further in view of Endo et al. US Pub 2015/0261259 and further in view of Shin US Pub 2011/0199361 and Yang US Pub 2014/0117767 (hereinafter Yang’767).
Regarding claim 16,
Yang as modified teaches the battery and other electronic circuits provided (such as PCB, other circuits to operate the device).
Yang as modified does not teach the battery is electrically connected to a protection circuit. However, providing a protection circuit in an electronic apparatus such as the display apparatus of Yang as modified is not new.
Yang’767 in similar field of protecting electronic device teaches a battery is electrically connected to a protection circuit (paragraph 6, figure 1-2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the protection circuit as taught by Yang’767 with the display apparatus comprising battery of Yang as modified such will provide advantage of durability of the display apparatus and protect the display apparatus against an electrical surge.
Regarding claim 18,
Yang as modified by Endo and Yang teaches the protection circuit comprises a transistor comprising an oxide semiconductor (figure 1-2; paragraph 6, transistor, metal oxide semiconductor.
Claim(s) 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. US Pub 2019/0320048 in view of Endo et al. US Pub 2015/0261259 further in view of Koo et al. US Pub 2016/0212840 further in view of Shin US Pub 2011/0199361 and Yang US Pub 2014/0117767 (hereinafter Yang’767).
Regarding claim 17,
Yang as modified teaches the battery and other electronic circuits provided (such as PCB, other circuits to operate the device).
Yang as modified does not teach the battery is electrically connected to a protection circuit. However, providing a protection circuit in an electronic apparatus such as the display apparatus of Yang as modified is not new.
Yang’767 in similar field of protecting electronic device teaches a battery is electrically connected to a protection circuit (paragraph 6, figure 1-2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the protection circuit as taught by Yang’767 with the display apparatus comprising battery of Yang as modified such will provide advantage of durability of the display apparatus and protect the display apparatus against an electrical surge.
Regarding claim 19,
Yang as modified by Endo and Yang teaches the protection circuit comprises a transistor comprising an oxide semiconductor (figure 1-2; paragraph 6, transistor, metal oxide semiconductor.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. US Pub 2019/0320048 further in view of Endo et al. US Pub 2015/0261259 further in view of Shin US Pub 2011/0199361 and Bohn et al. US Pub 2012/0307423.
Regarding claim 25, Yang as modified teaches,
The first hinge and second hinge as described in claim 1.
Yang as modified does not teach wherein at least one of the first hinge and the second hinge comprises a plurality of columnar bodies, and wherein each of the plurality of columnar bodies has a trapezoidal or substantially trapezoidal cross section in a short-axis direction. However, providing various different types of hinge structure is not new in the art.
Bohn in similar field of display device (figure 4) teaches use of various different hinge structure (figure 4 one type of hinge, figure 5 another type), furthermore, Bohn teaches wherein at least one of the first hinge and the second hinge comprises a plurality of columnar bodies (figure 5, element 406/408), and wherein each of the plurality of columnar bodies has a trapezoidal or substantially trapezoidal cross section (as seen in figure 5, element 414/420 of element 406/408 is substantially trapezoidal cross section in a short axis direction) in a short-axis direction.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Bohn such that at least one of the first hinge and the second hinge comprises a plurality of columnar bodies, and wherein each of the plurality of columnar bodies has a trapezoidal or substantially trapezoidal cross section in a short-axis direction as the hinge choice of at least one of the first hinge and the second hinge, such modification will provide the desired level of support to the flexible display panel (abstract of Bohn) and control the desired bendability radius thus avoiding wrinkles in the flexible display panel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9 and the claims dependent thereupon have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim US Pub 2018/0341293 Figures 1 and 3, element 33 and 34 similar to present application figure 4 and claim 25.
Park US Pub 2018/0307338 Figs 7-12 teaches various shapes of the hinge comprising columnar bodies which similar to present application figures 4 and 6 and claim 25.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ABHISHEK M. RATHOD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/ABHISHEK M RATHOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841