Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 09/14/2026 presents claims 1, 9, 11, 16, 17, 18, and 19 as amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II (claims 9, 18, and 19) in the reply filed on 09/14/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the amended claims, filed 09/14/2026, now require silicon (Si) to be 0.2%≤Si<0.5% and Cr to be 0.05-0.2%, which are substantively different than the ranges taught by Zhaoxia (US2016/0346877) and Jeong (US2015/0314397). Applicant further contends that the restriction is not proper as the disclosed Groups are not independent and distinct, nor require serious burden.
This is not found persuasive because even though the claims have been amended to require the silicon in each Group to be 0.2%≤Si<0.5% (in contrast to the previously claim set requiring Si to be 0.2-0.5 %), this does not make a contribution over Schaeffer (cited below).
Schaeffer teaches a welding wire for welding (Abstract) (Fig. 2A, wire/electrode 20), having a composition (para. 0028, base metal composition of the metal cored welding electrode 20) based on weight percentage of C 0.05-0.16% (C between about 0.01-0.5 wt%), Si 0.2%Si<0.5% (Si between about 0.1-1.0 wt %), Mn 1.5-2.8% (Mn between about 0.5-5 wt %), P<0.03% (P between about 0.001-0.05 wt%), S≤ 0.005% (S between about 0.001-0.05 wt%), AI<0.06% (Al between about 0.01-0.5 wt %), Ni 1.5-3% (Ni between about 0.01-5 wt%), Cr 0.05-0.2% (Cr between about 0.1-0.5 wt%), Mo 0.1-0.7% (Mo between about 0.1-1 wt. %), and a balance Fe and other unavoidable impurities (low alloy steel composition includes Fe and the above composition).
As such, Schaeffer teaches the claimed composition such that the shared technical feature amongst Groups I-II does not make a contribution. Groups I-III remain lacking unity of invention a posteriori.
Additionally, the Groups were found to lack unity of invention. As such, the independent or distinct standard does not apply. Further, “serious burden” need not be met with the unity of invention standard.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-8, 10-17, and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 09/14/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Schaeffer et al. (US2018/0133844).
Regarding claim 9, Schaeffer teaches a welding wire for welding (Abstract) (Fig. 2A, wire/electrode 20), having a composition (para. 0028, base metal composition of the metal cored welding electrode 20) based on weight percentage of C 0.05-0.16% (C between about 0.01-0.5 wt%), Si 0.2%Si<0.5% (Si between about 0.1-1.0 wt %), Mn 1.5-2.8% (Mn between about 0.5-5 wt %), P<0.03% (P between about 0.001-0.05 wt%), S≤ 0.005% (S between about 0.001-0.05 wt%), AI<0.06% (Al between about 0.01-0.5 wt %), Ni 1.5-3% (Ni between about 0.01-5 wt%), Cr 0.05-0.2% (Cr between about 0.1-0.5 wt%), Mo 0.1-0.7% (Mo between about 0.1-1 wt. %), and a balance Fe and other unavoidable impurities (low alloy steel composition includes Fe and the above composition), and a welding wire diameter of 0.8-1.4 mm (para. 0039; diameter of 20 is 1.1-2.4 mm).
When the prior art discloses a range which touches or overlaps the claimed range, but no specific examples falling within the claimed range are disclosed, a case by case determination must be made as to anticipation. In order to anticipate the claims, the claimed subject matter must be disclosed in the reference with "sufficient specificity to constitute an anticipation under the statute." What constitutes a "sufficient specificity" is fact dependent. If the claims are directed to a narrow range, and the reference teaches a broader range, other facts of the case, must be considered when determining whether the narrow range is disclosed with "sufficient specificity" to constitute an anticipation of the claims. Compare ClearValue Inc. v. Pearl River Polymers Inc., 668 F.3d 1340, 101 USPQ2d 1773 (Fed. Cir. 2012) with Atofina v. Great Lakes Chem. Corp, 441 F.3d 991, 999, 78 USPQ2d 1417, 1423 (Fed. Cir. 2006).
In ClearValue, the claim at issue was directed to a process of clarifying water with alkalinity below 50 ppm, whereas the prior art taught that the same process works for systems with alkalinity of 150 ppm or less. In holding the claim anticipated, the court observed that "there is no allegation of criticality or any evidence demonstrating any difference across the range." Id. at 1345, 101 USPQ2d at 1777. In Atofina, the court held that a reference temperature range of 100-500 degrees C did not describe the claimed range of 330-450 degrees C with sufficient specificity to be anticipatory, even though there was a slight overlap between the reference’s preferred range (150-350 degrees C) and the claimed range. "[T]he disclosure of a range is no more a disclosure of the end points of the range than it is each of the intermediate points." Id. at 1000, 78 USPQ2d at 1424. Patentee described claimed temperature range as "critical" to enable the process to operate effectively, and showed that one of ordinary skill would have expected the synthesis process to operate differently outside the claimed range.
If the prior art disclosure does not disclose a claimed range with "sufficient specificity" to anticipate a claimed invention, any evidence of unexpected results within the narrow range may render the claims nonobvious. See MPEP § 716.02 et seq. The question of "sufficient specificity" is similar to that of "clearly envisaging" a species from a generic teaching. See MPEP § 2131.02.
A 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 combination rejection is permitted if it is unclear if the reference teaches the range with "sufficient specificity." The examiner must, in this case, provide reasons for anticipation as well as a reasoned statement regarding obviousness. Ex parte Lee, 31 USPQ2d 1105 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (expanded Board). For a discussion of the obviousness of ranges see MPEP § 2144.05.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.
"[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Harris, 409 F.3d 1339, 74 USPQ2d 1951 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (claimed alloy held obvious over prior art alloy that taught ranges of weight percentages overlapping, and in most instances completely encompassing, claimed ranges; furthermore, narrower ranges taught by reference overlapped all but one range in claimed invention).
In this case, the ranges taught by Schaeffer overlap with the claimed ranges. There does not appear to be any disclosed criticality of each claimed range in the instant specification such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to expect the wire composition to function differently outside the claimed ranges.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Schaeffer by modifying the amounts of C, Si, Mn, P, S, Al, Ni, Cr, and Mo to be C 0.05-0.16%, Si 0.2%Si<0.5%, Mn 1.5-2.8%, P<0.03%, S≤ 0.005% , AI<0.06%, Ni 1.5-3%, Cr 0.05-0.2%, and Mo 0.1-0.7% since it has been held that "[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”
Regarding claim 18, Schaeffer teaches the claimed welding wire, as applied to claim 9, and further teaches wherein in the composition of the welding wire, based on weight percentage, the content of C is 0.05- 0.14% (C between about 0.01-0.5 wt%), the content of Si is 0.3%Si<0.5% (Si between about 0.1-1.0 wt %), the content of Mn is 1.5-2.4% (Mn between about 0.5-5 wt %), the content of P is <0.02% (P between about 0.001-0.05 wt%), the content of S is <0.005% (S between about 0.001-0.05 wt%), and the content of Mo is 0.3-0.7% (Mo between about 0.1-1 wt. %).
Regarding claim 19, Schaeffer teaches the claimed welding wire, as applied to claim 9, and further teaches wherein in the composition of the welding wire, based on weight percentage, the content of C is 0.07- 0.14% (C between about 0.01-0.5 wt%), the content of Si is 0.3%Si<0.5% (Si between about 0.1-1.0 wt %), the content of Mn is 1.5-2.2% (Mn between about 0.5-5 wt %), the content of P is <0.02% (P between about 0.001-0.05 wt%), the content of S is <0.005% (S between about 0.001-0.05 wt%), the content of Ni is 1.8-3% (Ni between about 0.01-5 wt%), the content of Cr is 0.1-0.2% (Cr between about 0.1-0.5 wt%), and the content of Mo is 0.4-0.7% (Mo between about 0.1-1 wt. %).
Claim(s) 9, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barhorst et al. (US2014/0332517) in view of Inoue (US2019/0299340).
Regarding claim 9, Barhorst teaches a welding wire for welding (para. 0002) having a composition (Table 1, alloy A1) based on weight percentage of C 0.05-0.16% (C between 0.001-0.12 wt%), Si 0.2%Si<0.5% (Si between 0.1-1.2 wt %), Mn 1.5-2.8% (Mn between 0.05-2 wt %), P<0.03% (P between 0-0.01 wt%), S≤ 0.005% (S between 0-0.01 wt%), AI<0.06% (Al between 0.001-1 wt %), Ni 1.5-3% (Ni between 0-5.0 wt%), Cr 0.05-0.2% (Cr between 0-0.8 wt%), Mo 0.1-0.7% (Mo between 0-1.5 %), and a balance Fe and other unavoidable impurities (balance of ~84-99).
Barhorst is silent on a welding wire diameter of 0.8-1.4 mm.
Inoue relates to a flux cored welding wire (abstract; Fig. 2) and teaches a welding diameter of 0.8-8.0 mm (para. 0019; Table 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Schaeffer with Barhorst by replacing the wire diameter of the wire of Barhorst, being of some value, with the teachings of Barhorst, as the prior art teaches that a wire diameter of 0.8 mm-8.0 mm (or 1.170 mm) is a sufficient wire size for a flux cored welding wire. Furthermore, the wire diameter is interpreted to be a result effective variable that would be optimized in order to achieve a recognized result. In this case the recognized result would the ability to feed the wire during use. Inoue details, in Table 3 and paragraphs 0055 and 0071, that the diameter of the wire impacts the ability to feed the wire during welding such that the wire does not break. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See MPEP 2144.05-ll-A and MPEP 2144.05-ll-B.
Regarding claim 18, the primary combination teaches the claimed welding wire, as applied to claim 9, and further teaches [Barhorst] wherein in the composition of the welding wire, based on weight percentage, the content of C is 0.05- 0.14% (C between 0.001-0.12 wt%), the content of Si is 0.3%Si<0.5% (Si between 0.1-1.2 wt %), the content of Mn is 1.5-2.4% (Mn between 1.5-2.8 wt %), the content of P is <0.02% (P between 0-0.01 wt%), the content of S is <0.005% (S between 0-0.01 wt%), and the content of Mo is 0.3-0.7% (Mo between 0-1.5 wt. %).
Regarding claim 19, the primary combination teaches the claimed welding wire, as applied to claim 9, and further teaches [Barhorst] wherein in the composition of the welding wire, based on weight percentage, the content of C is 0.07- 0.14% (C between 0.001-0.12 wt%), the content of Si is 0.3%Si<0.5% (Si between 0.1-1.2 wt %), the content of Mn is 1.5-2.2% (Mn between 1.5-2.8 wt %), the content of P is <0.02% (P between 0-0.01 wt%), the content of S is <0.005% (S between 0-0.01 wt%), the content of Ni is 1.8-3% (Ni between 0-5.0 wt%), the content of Cr is 0.1-0.2% (Cr between 0-0.8 wt%), and the content of Mo is 0.4-0.7% (Mo between 0-1.5 wt. %).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2016/0346877 to Zhaoxia et al. relates to a welding wire, the composition of which is shown in Table 1.
US2015/0314397 to Jeong et al. relates to a welding wire composition, in which paragraph 0031 outlines the wire composition.
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761