DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 12/11/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 14, and 22 have been amended. Claims 1-29 are still pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 12/11/2025, with respect to the rejection of amended claims 1, 14, and 22 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made of previously cited reference Hibino (US Pub 2020/0064475 A1 ) in view of Wegener (DE 102020100837 A1), the details of which can be found below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hibino (US Pub 2020/0064475 A1 ) in view of Wegener (DE 102020100837 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hibino teaches a LiDAR system (a target detecting system 100, uses target detecting device 10A to 10D, optical scanner 4, LD module and PD module, and object detection and distance detection, [0017]) comprising:
a casing having a window (discloses a case 11 with a window 12 used for light transmission and reception, [0106] and [0129] );
a light emitter in the casing (the LD module is inside the case and acts as the light emitter, [0109] and [0128]);
a light sensor including an array of photodetectors (PD module 7 is a photodetector array, [0128]);
a scanning mirror (optical scanner 4(mirrors 4a and 4b), [0050]) between the window and the light sensor(discloses the optical scanner 4 (mirrors 4a and 4b), is located between the window and the PD module 7, figure 4, [0103] and [0127] ); and
a controller (controller 1, [0123]) programmed to:
move the scanning mirror to a plurality of different positions when the light emitter is inactive (discloses dirt detection is distinct from object detection, and uses different operation patterns, suggests suspend LD when detecting dirt, [0106]), the scanning mirror being aimed at a different subset of the photodetectors in the different positions (discloses motor 4c rotates optical scanner (mirrors) across angles (F1-F4), [0103] and [0127]);
operate at least some of the photodetectors when the scanning mirror is in different positions and the light emitter is inactive (discloses the PD module receiving light during scanning of dirt, it suggests passive (LD inactive) detection to reduce interference, [0106] and [0109], dirt detection uses diffuse ambient light); and
identify a blockage on the window (window 12) based on comparison of detected light at different positions of the scanning mirror(discloses detection of dirt DA on window 12 via comparison over scan positions, [0106] and [0123-0124]).
However, Hibino fails to disclose operating in an inactive mode and not transmitting light.
Wegener teaches operating in an inactive mode and not transmitting light (discloses the main spark detection sensor operates passively,[0060-0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to incorporate passive sensor concept of Wegener to Hibino to improve reliable detection of contamination or blockage ([0049-0051]).
Regarding claim 2, Hibino teaches wherein the scanning mirror (optical scanner 4 (mirrors 4a and 4b), [0050]) is between the window (window 12) and the light emitter (the optical scanner between the LD module and the window 12, figure 4).
Regarding claim 3, Hibino teaches wherein the controller (controller 1 )is programmed to activate the light emitter to emit light from the light emitter to the scanning mirror (“the controller 1 causes each LD to emit light so as to project light to a target such as a person or an object,” [0049] ).
Regarding claim 4, Hibino teaches wherein the controller is programmed to operate at least some of the photodetectors (PDs,[0053-0054]) when the light emitter is activated (discloses the PDs operate in target mode when the LD is on, [0053-0054]).
Regarding claim 5, Hibino teaches wherein the scanning mirror (optical scanner 4 (mirrors 4a and 4b)) illuminates the photodetectors (PD, discloses use of scanning mirrors directing light to PD, [0114]) with light emitted by the light emitter through the window (window 12, discloses light is emitted through the optical window from the LDs, [0128]) and reflected by an object in a field of illumination of the light emitter(discloses the LD module and PD module in the target detecting device. The optical window 12 allows light to pass through, and the scanning mirrors direct the emitted light toward an object . The light then reflected off the object and detected by the system, [0114], [0123], and [0128]).
Regarding claim 6, Hibino teaches wherein the controller is programmed to compare adjacent ones of the subsets to identify the blockage (discloses shifting the dirt detection region and monitoring the resulting signal changes over time, and uses those differences to detect dirt (via angular offset over time and compare temporal and spatial signal differences), [0117-0123] ).
Regarding claim 7, Hibino teaches wherein the controller (controller 1) is programmed to operate at least one photodetector in the subset of the photodetectors at which the scanning mirror is aimed when the light emitter is inactive (discloses dirt detection by detector 1b is performed without active object scanning, without emitting light toward external targets. The system uses passive detection from PD when the LD is not used, [0114], [0119], and [0122]).
Regarding claim 8, Hibino teaches wherein the controller is programmed to operate at least one photodetector outside of the subset of the photodetectors at which the scanning mirror is aimed when the light emitter is inactive (discloses that during dirt detection (with the LD off), PD (Ra(4)), which is not aligned with the LD, receives diffusely reflected light caused by dirt (Da) on the windshield W, [0089-0091]).
Regarding claim 9, Hibino teaches wherein the photodetectors are not illuminated by the light emitter when the photodetectors are operated and the light emitter is inactive (discloses dirt detectors operate independently of light emission, PD are used when emitter is off, not illuminated by the emitter, [0113] and [0126]).
Regarding claim 10, Hibino teaches wherein the scanning mirror illuminates the subset of the photodetectors at which the scanning mirror is aimed when the light emitter is inactive (discloses when light emitter is inactive, the mirror still scans and aligns the detection field to specific PD regions. This suggests the mirror is used to direct light to PD even when the emitter is off, [0120]).
Regarding claim 11, Hibino teaches wherein the controller is programmed to operate at least one photodetector outside of the subset of the photodetectors at which the scanning mirror is aimed to detect light diffused by a blockage on the window when the light emitter is inactive (discloses that during dirt detection (with the LD off), PD (Ra(4)), which is not aligned with the LD, receives diffusely reflected light caused by dirt (Da) on the windshield W, [0089-0091]).
Regarding claim 12, Hibino teaches wherein the controller (controller 1) is programmed to operate at least one photodetector in the subset of the photodetectors at which the scanning mirror is aimed when the light emitter is inactive (discloses dirt detection by detector 1b is performed without active object scanning, without emitting light toward external targets. The system uses passive detection from PD when the LD is not used, [0114], [0119], and [0122]).
Regarding claim 13, Hibino teaches wherein the controller is programmed to identify the blockage by at least one of detecting blur, intensity gradient, or an edge of the blockage(discloses shifting the dirt detection region and monitoring the resulting signal changes over time, and uses those differences to detect dirt (via angular offset over time and compare temporal and spatial signal differences), [0117-0123]. Inherently, this approach depends on identifying intensity gradients or edges in the received light pattern, which are direct indicators of dirt presence).
Regarding claim 14, Hibino teaches a controller (controller 1, [0123]) for a LiDAR system comprising programming ([0076-0077]) executable to:
move a scanning mirror to a plurality of different positions when a light emitter is inactive (discloses dirt detection is distinct from object detection, and uses different operation patterns, suggests suspend LD when detecting dirt, [0106]), the scanning mirror being aimed at a different subset of photodetectors in the different positions(discloses motor 4c rotates optical scanner (mirrors) across angles (F1-F4), [0103] and [0127]),
operate at least some of the photodetectors when the scanning mirror is in different positions and the light emitter is inactive(discloses the PD module receiving light during scanning of dirt, it suggests passive (LD inactive) detection to reduce interference, [0106] and [0109], dirt detection uses diffuse ambient light); and
identify a blockage on the window(window 12) based on comparison of detected light at different positions of the scanning mirror(discloses detection of dirt DA on window 12 via comparison over scan positions, [0106] and [0123-0124]).
However, Hibino fails to disclose operating in an inactive mode and not transmitting light.
Wegener teaches operating in an inactive mode and not transmitting light (discloses the main spark detection sensor operates passively,[0060-0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to incorporate passive sensor concept of Wegener to Hibino to improve reliable detection of contamination or blockage ([0049-0051]).
Regarding claim 15, Hibino teaches further comprising programming executable to activate the light emitter to emit light from the light emitter to the scanning mirror (“the controller 1 causes each LD to emit light so as to project light to a target such as a person or an object,” [0049] ).
Regarding claim 16, Hibino teaches further comprising programming executable to operate at least some of the photodetectors (PDs,[0053-0054]) when the light emitter is activated (discloses the PDs operate in target mode when the LD is on, [0053-0054]).
Regarding claim 17, Hibino teaches further comprising programming executable to compare adjacent ones of the subsets to identify the blockage (discloses shifting the dirt detection region and monitoring the resulting signal changes over time, and uses those differences to detect dirt (via angular offset over time and compare temporal and spatial signal differences), [0117-0123] ).
Regarding claim 18, Hibino teaches further comprising programming executable to operate at least one photodetector in the subset of the photodetectors at which the scanning mirror is aimed when the light emitter is inactive (discloses dirt detection by detector 1b is performed without active object scanning, without emitting light toward external targets. The system uses passive detection from PD when the LD is not used, [0114], [0119], and [0122]).
Regarding claim 19, Hibino teaches further comprising programming executable to operate at least one photodetector outside of the subset of the photodetectors at which the scanning mirror is aimed to detect light diffused by a blockage on the window when the light emitter is inactive (discloses that during dirt detection (with the LD off), PD (Ra(4)), which is not aligned with the LD, receives diffusely reflected light caused by dirt (Da) on the windshield W, [0089-0091]).
Regarding claim 20, Hibino teaches further comprising programming executable to operate at least one photodetector in the subset of the photodetectors at which the scanning mirror is aimed when the light emitter is inactive (discloses dirt detection by detector 1b is performed without active object scanning, without emitting light toward external targets. The system uses passive detection from PD when the LD is not used, [0114], [0119], and [0122]).
Regarding claim 21, Hibino teaches further comprising programming executable to identify the blockage by at least one of detecting blur, intensity gradient, or an edge of the blockage (discloses shifting the dirt detection region and monitoring the resulting signal changes over time, and uses those differences to detect dirt (via angular offset over time and compare temporal and spatial signal differences), [0117-0123]. Inherently, this approach depends on identifying intensity gradients or edges in the received light pattern, which are direct indicators of dirt presence).
Regarding claim 22, Hibino teaches a method comprising:
moving a scanning mirror to a plurality of different positions when a light emitter is
inactive, (discloses dirt detection is distinct from object detection, and uses different operation patterns, suggests suspend LD when detecting dirt, [0106]), the scanning mirror being aimed at a different subset of photodetectors in the different positions(discloses motor 4c rotates optical scanner (mirrors) across angles (F1-F4), [0103] and [0127]);
operating at least some of the photodetectors when the scanning mirror is in different positions and the light emitter is inactive(discloses the PD module receiving light during scanning of dirt, it suggests passive (LD inactive) detection to reduce interference, [0106] and [0109], dirt detection uses diffuse ambient light); and
identifying a blockage on the window (window 12) based on comparison of detected light at different positions of the scanning mirror (discloses detection of dirt DA on window 12 via comparison over scan positions, [0106] and [0123-0124]).
However, Hibino fails to disclose operating in an inactive mode and not transmitting light.
Wegener teaches operating in an inactive mode and not transmitting light (discloses the main spark detection sensor operates passively,[0060-0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to incorporate passive sensor concept of Wegener to Hibino to improve reliable detection of contamination or blockage ([0049-0051]).
Regarding claim 23, Hibino teaches further comprising activating the light emitter to emit light from the light emitter to the scanning mirror(“the controller 1 causes each LD to emit light so as to project light to a target such as a person or an object,” [0049] ).
Regarding claim 24, Hibino teaches further comprising operating at least some of the photodetectors (PDs,[0053-0054]) when the light emitter is activated (discloses the PDs operate in target mode when the LD is on, [0053-0054]).
Regarding claim 25, Hibino teaches further comprising comparing adjacent ones of the subsets to identify the blockage (discloses shifting the dirt detection region and monitoring the resulting signal changes over time, and uses those differences to detect dirt (via angular offset over time and compare temporal and spatial signal differences), [0117-0123] ).
Regarding claim 26, Hibino teaches further comprising operating at least one photodetector in the subset of the photodetectors at which the scanning mirror is aimed when the light emitter is inactive (discloses dirt detection by detector 1b is performed without active object scanning, without emitting light toward external targets. The system uses passive detection from PD when the LD is not used, [0114], [0119], and [0122]).
Regarding claim 27, Hibino teaches further comprising operating at least one photodetector outside of the subset of the photodetectors at which the scanning mirror is aimed to detect light diffused by a blockage on the window when the light emitter is inactive (discloses that during dirt detection (with the LD off), PD (Ra(4)), which is not aligned with the LD, receives diffusely reflected light caused by dirt (Da) on the windshield W, [0089-0091]).
Regarding claim 28, Hibino teaches further comprising operating at least one photodetector in the subset of the photodetectors at which the scanning mirror is aimed when the light emitter is inactive (discloses dirt detection by detector 1b is performed without active object scanning, without emitting light toward external targets. The system uses passive detection from PD when the LD is not used, [0114], [0119], and [0122]).
Regarding claim 29, Hibino teaches further comprising identifying the blockage by at least one of detecting blur, intensity gradient, or an edge of the blockage (discloses shifting the dirt detection region and monitoring the resulting signal changes over time, and uses those differences to detect dirt (via angular offset over time and compare temporal and spatial signal differences), [0117-0123]. Inherently, this approach depends on identifying intensity gradients or edges in the received light pattern, which are direct indicators of dirt presence).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA I XING/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/Kara E. Geisel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877