DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-12, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0200548] in view of Hashimoto et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0392973] and Kawasaki et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0371766].
Regarding Claim 1, Takagi et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 6-7 with teachings from Figs. 1-5), comprising:
a first core (20) comprising a first flange (23), a second flange (22), and a middle portion (21) connected between the first flange and the second flange (see Figs. 6-7);
a primary side coil set (W5, W6) wound on the middle portion (see Figs. 6-7), wherein the primary side coil set has two opposed ends (ends at elements E4, E5) connected to the first flange (23, see Figs. 6-7); and
a secondary side coil set (W1, W3 or W2, W4) wound on the middle portion (see Figs. 6-7), wherein the secondary side coil set has two opposed ends (ends at elements E1, E2 or E6, E8) connected to the first flange (23, see Figs. 6-7) or the second flange (22, see Figs. 6-7);
wherein the two opposed ends (ends at elements E4, E5) of the primary side coil set are connected to a first power source (ends at elements E4, E5 will be electrically connected to element 40B or 40A which inherently have a first power source in order for the transformer to operate, see Figs. 5-7, Paragraphs [0035], [0054]), and the two opposed ends (ends at elements E1, E2 or E6, E8) of the secondary side coil set are connected to a second power source (ends at elements E1, E2 or E6, E8 will be electrically connected to element PD or PSE, Paragraphs [0051]-[0052]) different from the first power source (see Figs. 5-7, element PD or PSE is different from element 40B or 40A), wherein the primary side coil set or the secondary side coil set comprises a conductive member (W5, W6 or W1, W3 or W2, W4 are conductive member).
In the case where it does not anticipate, it would have been obvious for the two opposed ends of the primary side coil set are connected to a first power source in order for the transformer to operate where the primary side coil set will receive an input voltage or current and convert it into a magnetic field, which then induces a voltage or current in the secondary winding coil set to achieve desirable operating characteristics.
Takagi et al. does not explicitly disclose having an insulating layer wrapping around the conductive member, wherein a diameter of the conductive member is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm, and a ratio of an outer diameter of the insulating layer to the diameter of the conductive member is between 1.35 and 2.5, and wherein the primary side coil set or the secondary side coil set has 7 to 14 turns.
However, it would have been obvious to have an insulating layer wrapping around the conductive member to facilitate insulation to prevent unwanted connection and electrical short.
Hashimoto et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 1-21, Paragraph [0134]) teaching and suggesting an insulating layer (30) wrapping around the conductive member (29, see Fig. 3), wherein a diameter of the conductive member (29) is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm (Paragraph [0056], diameter can be 80 μm which is 0.08 mm or diameter can be 100 μm which is 0.1 mm), and a ratio of an outer diameter of the insulating layer (30, Paragraph [0056], the thickness of element 30 can be 20 μm, therefore an outer diameter is calculated to be (20+20+80) μm = 120 μm which is 0.12 mm or (20+20+100) μm = 140 μm which is 0.14 mm) to the diameter of the conductive member is between 1.35 and 2.5 (ratio is 0.12/0.08 = 1.5 or 0.14/0.1 = 1.4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have an insulating layer wrapping around the conductive member and a diameter of the conductive member is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm, and a ratio of an outer diameter of the insulating layer to the diameter of the conductive member is between 1.35 and 2.5 as taught by Hashimoto et al. for the transformer as disclosed by Takagi et al. to facilitate insulation to prevent unwanted connection and electrical short and to have a compact design of the transformer while facilitating conductivity and achieve sufficient insulation to the conductor to obtain desirable operating characteristics and inductances. In addition, stray capacitance can be decreased (Paragraph [0012]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a diameter of the conductive member is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm, and a ratio of an outer diameter of the insulating layer to the diameter of the conductive member is between 1.35 and 2.5, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art to facilitate conductivity and achieve sufficient insulation to the conductor to obtain desirable operating characteristics and inductances; and decrease stray capacitance. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Takagi et al. in view of Hashimoto et al. does not explicitly disclose having the primary side coil set or the secondary side coil set has 7 to 14 turns.
Kawasaki et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 1-4D) teaching and suggesting the coil set has 7 to 14 turns (Paragraph [0038]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the coil set has 7 to 14 turns as taught by Kawasaki et al. for the transformer as disclosed by Takagi et al. in view of Hashimoto et al. to achieve desirable magnetic coupling and increase performance to obtain desirable inductances (Paragraphs [0008], [0039]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the coil set has 7 to 14 turns, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art to achieve desirable magnetic coupling and increase performance to obtain desirable inductances. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 2, Takagi et al. shows the first power source is an AC power source or a DC power source (element 40B or 40A inherently is an AC power source or a DC power source in order for the transformer to operate, see Figs. 5-7, Paragraphs [0035], [0054]), and the second power source is a DC power source (element PD or PSE is a DC power source, Paragraphs [0051]-[0052]).
In the case where it does not anticipate, it would have been obvious for the first power source is an AC power source or a DC power source in order for the transformer to operate where the primary side coil set will receive an input voltage or current and convert it into a magnetic field, which then induces a voltage or current in the secondary winding coil set to achieve desirable operating characteristics.
Regarding Claim 3, Takagi et al. shows the primary side coil set comprises a first coil (W5) and a second coil (W6), the first coil and the second coil each has an end (ends at elements E4, E5) connected to the first flange (23, see Figs. 6-7) and another end (ends at elements E3, E7) connected to the second flange (22, see Figs. 6-7).
Regarding Claim 4, Takagi et al. shows the secondary side coil set comprises a third coil (W1 or W2) and a fourth coil (W3 or W4), the third coil and the fourth coil each has an end (ends at elements E6, E8) connected to the first flange (23, see Figs. 6-7) and another end (ends at elements E1, E2) connected to the second flange (22, see Figs. 6-7).
Regarding Claim 5, Takagi et al. shows a second core (30), wherein the second core is connected to the first flange and the second flange (see Figs. 6-7, element 30 is connected to elements 23, 22).
Regarding Claim 6, Takagi et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 6-7 with teachings from Figs. 1-5), comprising:
a first core (20) comprising a first flange (23), a second flange (22), and a middle portion (21) connected between the first flange and the second flange (see Figs. 6-7);
a primary side coil set (W5, W6) wound on the middle portion (see Figs. 6-7), wherein the primary side coil set has two opposed ends (ends at elements E4, E5) and a middle end (ends at elements E3, E7), the two opposed ends of the primary side coil set are connected to the first flange (23, see Figs. 6-7), and the middle end of the primary side coil set is connected to the second flange (22, see Figs. 6-7); and
a secondary side coil set (W1, W3 or W2, W4) wound on the middle portion (see Figs. 6-7), wherein the secondary side coil set has two opposed ends (ends at elements E1, E2 or E6, E8) connected to the first flange (23, see Figs. 6-7) or the second flange (22, see Figs. 6-7);
wherein the two opposed ends (ends at elements E4, E5) of the primary side coil set are connected to a first power source (ends at elements E4, E5 will be electrically connected to element 40B or 40A which inherently have a first power source in order for the transformer to operate, see Figs. 5-7, Paragraphs [0035], [0054]), and the two opposed ends (ends at elements E1, E2 or E6, E8) of the secondary side coil set are connected to a second power source (ends at elements E1, E2 or E6, E8 will be electrically connected to element PD or PSE, Paragraphs [0051]-[0052]) different from the first power source (see Figs. 5-7, element PD or PSE is different from element 40B or 40A), wherein the primary side coil set or the secondary side coil set comprises a conductive member (W5, W6 or W1, W3 or W2, W4 are conductive member).
In the case where it does not anticipate, it would have been obvious for the two opposed ends of the primary side coil set are connected to a first power source in order for the transformer to operate where the primary side coil set will receive an input voltage or current and convert it into a magnetic field, which then induces a voltage or current in the secondary winding coil set to achieve desirable operating characteristics.
Takagi et al. does not explicitly disclose having an insulating layer wrapping around the conductive member, wherein a diameter of the conductive member is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm, and a ratio of an outer diameter of the insulating layer to the diameter of the conductive member is between 1.35 and 2.5, and wherein the primary side coil set or the secondary side coil set has 7 to 14 turns.
However, it would have been obvious to have an insulating layer wrapping around the conductive member to facilitate insulation to prevent unwanted connection and electrical short.
Hashimoto et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 1-21, Paragraph [0134]) teaching and suggesting an insulating layer (30) wrapping around the conductive member (29, see Fig. 3), wherein a diameter of the conductive member (29) is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm (Paragraph [0056], diameter can be 80 μm which is 0.08 mm or diameter can be 100 μm which is 0.1 mm), and a ratio of an outer diameter of the insulating layer (30, Paragraph [0056], the thickness of element 30 can be 20 μm, therefore an outer diameter is calculated to be (20+20+80) μm = 120 μm which is 0.12 mm or (20+20+100) μm = 140 μm which is 0.14 mm) to the diameter of the conductive member is between 1.35 and 2.5 (ratio is 0.12/0.08 = 1.5 or 0.14/0.1 = 1.4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have an insulating layer wrapping around the conductive member and a diameter of the conductive member is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm, and a ratio of an outer diameter of the insulating layer to the diameter of the conductive member is between 1.35 and 2.5 as taught by Hashimoto et al. for the transformer as disclosed by Takagi et al. to facilitate insulation to prevent unwanted connection and electrical short and to have a compact design of the transformer while facilitating conductivity and achieve sufficient insulation to the conductor to obtain desirable operating characteristics and inductances. In addition, stray capacitance can be decreased (Paragraph [0012]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a diameter of the conductive member is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm, and a ratio of an outer diameter of the insulating layer to the diameter of the conductive member is between 1.35 and 2.5, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art to facilitate conductivity and achieve sufficient insulation to the conductor to obtain desirable operating characteristics and inductances; and decrease stray capacitance. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Takagi et al. in view of Hashimoto et al. does not explicitly disclose having the primary side coil set or the secondary side coil set has 7 to 14 turns.
Kawasaki et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 1-4D) teaching and suggesting the coil set has 7 to 14 turns (Paragraph [0038]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the coil set has 7 to 14 turns as taught by Kawasaki et al. for the transformer as disclosed by Takagi et al. in view of Hashimoto et al. to achieve desirable magnetic coupling and increase performance to obtain desirable inductances (Paragraphs [0008], [0039]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the coil set has 7 to 14 turns, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art to achieve desirable magnetic coupling and increase performance to obtain desirable inductances. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 7, Takagi et al. shows the first power source is an AC power source or a DC power source (element 40B or 40A inherently is an AC power source or a DC power source in order for the transformer to operate, see Figs. 5-7, Paragraphs [0035], [0054]), and the second power source is a DC power source (element PD or PSE is a DC power source, Paragraphs [0051]-[0052]).
In the case where it does not anticipate, it would have been obvious for the first power source is an AC power source or a DC power source in order for the transformer to operate where the primary side coil set will receive an input voltage or current and convert it into a magnetic field, which then induces a voltage or current in the secondary winding coil set to achieve desirable operating characteristics.
Regarding Claim 8, Takagi et al. shows the primary side coil set comprises a first coil (W5) and a second coil (W6), the first coil and the second coil each has an end (ends at elements E4, E5) connected to the first flange (23, see Figs. 6-7) and another end (ends at elements E3, E7) connected to the second flange (22, see Figs. 6-7).
Regarding Claim 10, Takagi et al. shows the another end of the first coil (W5) and the another end of the second coil (W6) are connected different conductive pads (E3, E7, another end of element W5 is connected to element E3 which is different from another end of W6 is connected to element E7, see Figs. 6-7) on the second flange (22, see Figs. 6-7).
Regarding Claim 11, Takagi et al. shows the secondary side coil set comprises a third coil (W1 or W2) and a fourth coil (W3 or W4), the third coil and the fourth coil each has an end (ends at elements E6, E8) connected to the first flange (23, see Figs. 6-7) and another end (ends at elements E1, E2) connected to the second flange (22, see Figs. 6-7).
Regarding Claim 12, Takagi et al. shows a second core (30), wherein the second core is connected to the first flange and the second flange (see Figs. 6-7, element 30 is connected to elements 23, 22).
Regarding Claim 16, Hashimoto et al. shows the insulating layer (30) comprises polyurethane material (Paragraph [0057]), polyesterimide material, or polyamide composite material.
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-12, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0200548] in view of Zhang et al. [WO 2015/123889], Hashimoto et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0392973], and Kawahara et al [U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0374632].
Regarding Claim 1, Takagi et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 6-7 with teachings from Figs. 1-5), comprising:
a first core (20) comprising a first flange (23), a second flange (22), and a middle portion (21) connected between the first flange and the second flange (see Figs. 6-7);
a primary side coil set (W5, W6) wound on the middle portion (see Figs. 6-7), wherein the primary side coil set has two opposed ends (ends at elements E4, E5) connected to the first flange (23, see Figs. 6-7); and
a secondary side coil set (W1, W3 or W2, W4) wound on the middle portion (see Figs. 6-7), wherein the secondary side coil set has two opposed ends (ends at elements E1, E2 or E6, E8) connected to the first flange (23, see Figs. 6-7) or the second flange (22, see Figs. 6-7);
wherein the two opposed ends (ends at elements E4, E5) of the primary side coil set are connected to a first power source (ends at elements E4, E5 will be electrically connected to element 40B or 40A which inherently have a first power source in order for the transformer to operate, see Figs. 5-7, Paragraphs [0035], [0054]), and the two opposed ends (ends at elements E1, E2 or E6, E8) of the secondary side coil set are connected to a second power source (ends at elements E1, E2 or E6, E8 will be electrically connected to element PD or PSE, Paragraphs [0051]-[0052]) different from the first power source (see Figs. 5-7, element PD or PSE is different from element 40B or 40A), wherein the primary side coil set or the secondary side coil set comprises a conductive member (W5, W6 or W1, W3 or W2, W4 are conductive member).
In the case where it does not anticipate, it would have been obvious for the two opposed ends of the primary side coil set are connected to a first power source in order for the transformer to operate where the primary side coil set will receive an input voltage or current and convert it into a magnetic field, which then induces a voltage or current in the secondary winding coil set to achieve desirable operating characteristics.
Furthermore, Zhang et al. shows a transformer (Fig. 1) teaching and suggesting the primary side coil set are connected to a first power source (primary wire is electrically connected to AC voltage, pulse signal source or input signal, see English translation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the primary side coil set are connected to a first power source as taught by Zhang et al. for the transformer as disclosed by Takagi et al. to form and operate a transformer where the primary side coil set will receive an input voltage or current and convert it into a magnetic field, which then induces a voltage or current in the secondary winding coil set to achieve desirable magnetic coupling characteristics (see English translation).
Takagi et al. in view of Zhang et al. does not explicitly disclose having an insulating layer wrapping around the conductive member, wherein a diameter of the conductive member is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm, and a ratio of an outer diameter of the insulating layer to the diameter of the conductive member is between 1.35 and 2.5, and wherein the primary side coil set or the secondary side coil set has 7 to 14 turns.
However, it would have been obvious to have an insulating layer wrapping around the conductive member to facilitate insulation to prevent unwanted connection and electrical short.
Hashimoto et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 1-21, Paragraph [0134]) teaching and suggesting an insulating layer (30) wrapping around the conductive member (29, see Fig. 3), wherein a diameter of the conductive member (29) is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm (Paragraph [0056], diameter can be 80 μm which is 0.08 mm or diameter can be 100 μm which is 0.1 mm), and a ratio of an outer diameter of the insulating layer (30, Paragraph [0056], the thickness of element 30 can be 20 μm, therefore an outer diameter is calculated to be (20+20+80) μm = 120 μm which is 0.12 mm or (20+20+100) μm = 140 μm which is 0.14 mm) to the diameter of the conductive member is between 1.35 and 2.5 (ratio is 0.12/0.08 = 1.5 or 0.14/0.1 = 1.4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have an insulating layer wrapping around the conductive member and a diameter of the conductive member is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm, and a ratio of an outer diameter of the insulating layer to the diameter of the conductive member is between 1.35 and 2.5 as taught by Hashimoto et al. for the transformer as disclosed by Takagi et al. in view of Zhang et al. to facilitate insulation to prevent unwanted connection and electrical short and to have a compact design of the transformer while facilitating conductivity and achieve sufficient insulation to the conductor to obtain desirable operating characteristics and inductances. In addition, stray capacitance can be decreased (Paragraph [0012]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a diameter of the conductive member is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm, and a ratio of an outer diameter of the insulating layer to the diameter of the conductive member is between 1.35 and 2.5, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art to facilitate conductivity and achieve sufficient insulation to the conductor to obtain desirable operating characteristics and inductances; and decrease stray capacitance. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Takagi et al. in view of Zhang et al. and Hashimoto et al. does not explicitly disclose having the primary side coil set or the secondary side coil set has 7 to 14 turns.
Kawahara et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 1-14) teaching and suggesting the coil set has 7 to 14 turns (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0065]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the coil set has 7 to 14 turns as taught by Kawahara et al. for the transformer as disclosed by Takagi et al. in view of Zhang et al. and Hashimoto et al. to enhance magnetic coupling and increase performance by reducing insertion loss to obtain desirable inductances (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0065]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the coil set has 7 to 14 turns, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art to enhance magnetic coupling and increase performance by reducing insertion loss to obtain desirable inductances. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 2, Takagi et al. shows the first power source is an AC power source or a DC power source (element 40B or 40A inherently is an AC power source or a DC power source in order for the transformer to operate, see Figs. 5-7, Paragraphs [0035], [0054]), and the second power source is a DC power source (element PD or PSE is a DC power source, Paragraphs [0051]-[0052]).
In the case where it does not anticipate, it would have been obvious for the first power source is an AC power source or a DC power source in order for the transformer to operate where the primary side coil set will receive an input voltage or current and convert it into a magnetic field, which then induces a voltage or current in the secondary winding coil set to achieve desirable operating characteristics.
Zhang et al. shows the first power source is an AC power source or a DC power source (primary wire is electrically connected to AC voltage, pulse signal source or input signal, see English translation).
Regarding Claim 3, Takagi et al. shows the primary side coil set comprises a first coil (W5) and a second coil (W6), the first coil and the second coil each has an end (ends at elements E4, E5) connected to the first flange (23, see Figs. 6-7) and another end (ends at elements E3, E7) connected to the second flange (22, see Figs. 6-7).
Regarding Claim 4, Takagi et al. shows the secondary side coil set comprises a third coil (W1 or W2) and a fourth coil (W3 or W4), the third coil and the fourth coil each has an end (ends at elements E6, E8) connected to the first flange (23, see Figs. 6-7) and another end (ends at elements E1, E2) connected to the second flange (22, see Figs. 6-7).
Regarding Claim 5, Takagi et al. shows a second core (30), wherein the second core is connected to the first flange and the second flange (see Figs. 6-7, element 30 is connected to elements 23, 22).
Regarding Claim 6, Takagi et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 6-7 with teachings from Figs. 1-5), comprising:
a first core (20) comprising a first flange (23), a second flange (22), and a middle portion (21) connected between the first flange and the second flange (see Figs. 6-7);
a primary side coil set (W5, W6) wound on the middle portion (see Figs. 6-7), wherein the primary side coil set has two opposed ends (ends at elements E4, E5) and a middle end (ends at elements E3, E7), the two opposed ends of the primary side coil set are connected to the first flange (23, see Figs. 6-7), and the middle end of the primary side coil set is connected to the second flange (22, see Figs. 6-7); and
a secondary side coil set (W1, W3 or W2, W4) wound on the middle portion (see Figs. 6-7), wherein the secondary side coil set has two opposed ends (ends at elements E1, E2 or E6, E8) connected to the first flange (23, see Figs. 6-7) or the second flange (22, see Figs. 6-7);
wherein the two opposed ends (ends at elements E4, E5) of the primary side coil set are connected to a first power source (ends at elements E4, E5 will be electrically connected to element 40B or 40A which inherently have a first power source in order for the transformer to operate, see Figs. 5-7, Paragraphs [0035], [0054]), and the two opposed ends (ends at elements E1, E2 or E6, E8) of the secondary side coil set are connected to a second power source (ends at elements E1, E2 or E6, E8 will be electrically connected to element PD or PSE, Paragraphs [0051]-[0052]) different from the first power source (see Figs. 5-7, element PD or PSE is different from element 40B or 40A), wherein the primary side coil set or the secondary side coil set comprises a conductive member (W5, W6 or W1, W3 or W2, W4 are conductive member).
In the case where it does not anticipate, it would have been obvious for the two opposed ends of the primary side coil set are connected to a first power source in order for the transformer to operate where the primary side coil set will receive an input voltage or current and convert it into a magnetic field, which then induces a voltage or current in the secondary winding coil set to achieve desirable operating characteristics.
Furthermore, Zhang et al. shows a transformer (Fig. 1) teaching and suggesting the primary side coil set are connected to a first power source (primary wire is electrically connected to AC voltage, pulse signal source or input signal, see English translation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the primary side coil set are connected to a first power source as taught by Zhang et al. for the transformer as disclosed by Takagi et al. to form and operate a transformer where the primary side coil set will receive an input voltage or current and convert it into a magnetic field, which then induces a voltage or current in the secondary winding coil set to achieve desirable magnetic coupling characteristics (see English translation).
Takagi et al. in view of Zhang et al. does not explicitly disclose having an insulating layer wrapping around the conductive member, wherein a diameter of the conductive member is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm, and a ratio of an outer diameter of the insulating layer to the diameter of the conductive member is between 1.35 and 2.5, and wherein the primary side coil set or the secondary side coil set has 7 to 14 turns.
However, it would have been obvious to have an insulating layer wrapping around the conductive member to facilitate insulation to prevent unwanted connection and electrical short.
Hashimoto et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 1-21, Paragraph [0134]) teaching and suggesting an insulating layer (30) wrapping around the conductive member (29, see Fig. 3), wherein a diameter of the conductive member (29) is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm (Paragraph [0056], diameter can be 80 μm which is 0.08 mm or diameter can be 100 μm which is 0.1 mm), and a ratio of an outer diameter of the insulating layer (30, Paragraph [0056], the thickness of element 30 can be 20 μm, therefore an outer diameter is calculated to be (20+20+80) μm = 120 μm which is 0.12 mm or (20+20+100) μm = 140 μm which is 0.14 mm) to the diameter of the conductive member is between 1.35 and 2.5 (ratio is 0.12/0.08 = 1.5 or 0.14/0.1 = 1.4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have an insulating layer wrapping around the conductive member and a diameter of the conductive member is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm, and a ratio of an outer diameter of the insulating layer to the diameter of the conductive member is between 1.35 and 2.5 as taught by Hashimoto et al. for the transformer as disclosed by Takagi et al. in view of Zhang et al. to facilitate insulation to prevent unwanted connection and electrical short and to have a compact design of the transformer while facilitating conductivity and achieve sufficient insulation to the conductor to obtain desirable operating characteristics and inductances. In addition, stray capacitance can be decreased (Paragraph [0012]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a diameter of the conductive member is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm, and a ratio of an outer diameter of the insulating layer to the diameter of the conductive member is between 1.35 and 2.5, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art to facilitate conductivity and achieve sufficient insulation to the conductor to obtain desirable operating characteristics and inductances; and decrease stray capacitance. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Takagi et al. in view of Zhang et al. and Hashimoto et al. does not explicitly disclose having the primary side coil set or the secondary side coil set has 7 to 14 turns.
Kawahara et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 1-14) teaching and suggesting the coil set has 7 to 14 turns (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0065]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the coil set has 7 to 14 turns as taught by Kawahara et al. for the transformer as disclosed by Takagi et al. in view of Zhang et al. and Hashimoto et al. to enhance magnetic coupling and increase performance by reducing insertion loss to obtain desirable inductances (Fig. 13, Paragraph [0065]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the coil set has 7 to 14 turns, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art to enhance magnetic coupling and increase performance by reducing insertion loss to obtain desirable inductances. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 7, Takagi et al. shows the first power source is an AC power source or a DC power source (element 40B or 40A inherently is an AC power source or a DC power source in order for the transformer to operate, see Figs. 5-7, Paragraphs [0035], [0054]), and the second power source is a DC power source (element PD or PSE is a DC power source, Paragraphs [0051]-[0052]).
In the case where it does not anticipate, it would have been obvious for the first power source is an AC power source or a DC power source in order for the transformer to operate where the primary side coil set will receive an input voltage or current and convert it into a magnetic field, which then induces a voltage or current in the secondary winding coil set to achieve desirable operating characteristics.
Zhang et al. shows the first power source is an AC power source or a DC power source (primary wire is electrically connected to AC voltage, pulse signal source or input signal, see English translation).
Regarding Claim 8, Takagi et al. shows the primary side coil set comprises a first coil (W5) and a second coil (W6), the first coil and the second coil each has an end (ends at elements E4, E5) connected to the first flange (23, see Figs. 6-7) and another end (ends at elements E3, E7) connected to the second flange (22, see Figs. 6-7).
Regarding Claim 10, Takagi et al. shows the another end of the first coil (W5) and the another end of the second coil (W6) are connected different conductive pads (E3, E7, another end of element W5 is connected to element E3 which is different from another end of W6 is connected to element E7, see Figs. 6-7) on the second flange (22, see Figs. 6-7).
Regarding Claim 11, Takagi et al. shows the secondary side coil set comprises a third coil (W1 or W2) and a fourth coil (W3 or W4), the third coil and the fourth coil each has an end (ends at elements E6, E8) connected to the first flange (23, see Figs. 6-7) and another end (ends at elements E1, E2) connected to the second flange (22, see Figs. 6-7).
Regarding Claim 12, Takagi et al. shows a second core (30), wherein the second core is connected to the first flange and the second flange (see Figs. 6-7, element 30 is connected to elements 23, 22).
Regarding Claim 16, Hashimoto et al. shows the insulating layer (30) comprises polyurethane material (Paragraph [0057]), polyesterimide material, or polyamide composite material.
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-12, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takagi et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0200548] in view of Harada et al. [JP 2013-214628], Hashimoto et al. [U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0392973], and Kunitsuka et al [U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0280355].
Regarding Claim 1, Takagi et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 6-7 with teachings from Figs. 1-5), comprising:
a first core (20) comprising a first flange (23), a second flange (22), and a middle portion (21) connected between the first flange and the second flange (see Figs. 6-7);
a primary side coil set (W5, W6) wound on the middle portion (see Figs. 6-7), wherein the primary side coil set has two opposed ends (ends at elements E4, E5) connected to the first flange (23, see Figs. 6-7); and
a secondary side coil set (W1, W3 or W2, W4) wound on the middle portion (see Figs. 6-7), wherein the secondary side coil set has two opposed ends (ends at elements E1, E2 or E6, E8) connected to the first flange (23, see Figs. 6-7) or the second flange (22, see Figs. 6-7);
wherein the two opposed ends (ends at elements E4, E5) of the primary side coil set are connected to a first power source (ends at elements E4, E5 will be electrically connected to element 40B or 40A which inherently have a first power source in order for the transformer to operate, see Figs. 5-7, Paragraphs [0035], [0054]), and the two opposed ends (ends at elements E1, E2 or E6, E8) of the secondary side coil set are connected to a second power source (ends at elements E1, E2 or E6, E8 will be electrically connected to element PD or PSE, Paragraphs [0051]-[0052]) different from the first power source (see Figs. 5-7, element PD or PSE is different from element 40B or 40A), wherein the primary side coil set or the secondary side coil set comprises a conductive member (W5, W6 or W1, W3 or W2, W4 are conductive member).
In the case where it does not anticipate, it would have been obvious for the two opposed ends of the primary side coil set are connected to a first power source in order for the transformer to operate where the primary side coil set will receive an input voltage or current and convert it into a magnetic field, which then induces a voltage or current in the secondary winding coil set to achieve desirable operating characteristics.
Furthermore, Harada et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 1 and 9) teaching and suggesting the primary side coil set are connected to a first power source (21, primary wire is electrically connected to element 21, Paragraph [0004]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the primary side coil set are connected to a first power source as taught by Harada et al. for the transformer as disclosed by Takagi et al. to form and operate a transformer where the primary side coil set will receive an input voltage or current and convert it into a magnetic field, which then induces a voltage or current in the secondary winding coil set to achieve desirable magnetic coupling characteristics (Paragraph [0004]).
Takagi et al. in view of Harada et al. does not explicitly disclose having an insulating layer wrapping around the conductive member, wherein a diameter of the conductive member is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm, and a ratio of an outer diameter of the insulating layer to the diameter of the conductive member is between 1.35 and 2.5, and wherein the primary side coil set or the secondary side coil set has 7 to 14 turns.
However, it would have been obvious to have an insulating layer wrapping around the conductive member to facilitate insulation to prevent unwanted connection and electrical short.
Hashimoto et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 1-21, Paragraph [0134]) teaching and suggesting an insulating layer (30) wrapping around the conductive member (29, see Fig. 3), wherein a diameter of the conductive member (29) is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm (Paragraph [0056], diameter can be 80 μm which is 0.08 mm or diameter can be 100 μm which is 0.1 mm), and a ratio of an outer diameter of the insulating layer (30, Paragraph [0056], the thickness of element 30 can be 20 μm, therefore an outer diameter is calculated to be (20+20+80) μm = 120 μm which is 0.12 mm or (20+20+100) μm = 140 μm which is 0.14 mm) to the diameter of the conductive member is between 1.35 and 2.5 (ratio is 0.12/0.08 = 1.5 or 0.14/0.1 = 1.4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have an insulating layer wrapping around the conductive member and a diameter of the conductive member is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm, and a ratio of an outer diameter of the insulating layer to the diameter of the conductive member is between 1.35 and 2.5 as taught by Hashimoto et al. for the transformer as disclosed by Takagi et al. in view of Harada et al. to facilitate insulation to prevent unwanted connection and electrical short and to have a compact design of the transformer while facilitating conductivity and achieve sufficient insulation to the conductor to obtain desirable operating characteristics and inductances. In addition, stray capacitance can be decreased (Paragraph [0012]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a diameter of the conductive member is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm, and a ratio of an outer diameter of the insulating layer to the diameter of the conductive member is between 1.35 and 2.5, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art to facilitate conductivity and achieve sufficient insulation to the conductor to obtain desirable operating characteristics and inductances; and decrease stray capacitance. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Takagi et al. in view of Harada et al. and Hashimoto et al. does not explicitly disclose having the primary side coil set or the secondary side coil set has 7 to 14 turns.
Kunitsuka et al. shows a transformer (Fig. 1) teaching and suggesting the coil set (51, 52 or 61, 62) has 7 to 14 turns (Paragraphs [0048], [0054]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the coil set has 7 to 14 turns as taught by Kunitsuka et al. for the transformer as disclosed by Takagi et al. in view of Harada et al. and Hashimoto et al. to enhance magnetic coupling and increase performance by decreasing leakage inductance and insertion loss to obtain desirable inductances (Paragraphs [0018], [0020]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the coil set has 7 to 14 turns, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art to enhance magnetic coupling and increase performance by decreasing leakage inductance and insertion loss to obtain desirable inductances. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 2, Takagi et al. shows the first power source is an AC power source or a DC power source (element 40B or 40A inherently is an AC power source or a DC power source in order for the transformer to operate, see Figs. 5-7, Paragraphs [0035], [0054]), and the second power source is a DC power source (element PD or PSE is a DC power source, Paragraphs [0051]-[0052]).
In the case where it does not anticipate, it would have been obvious for the first power source is an AC power source or a DC power source in order for the transformer to operate where the primary side coil set will receive an input voltage or current and convert it into a magnetic field, which then induces a voltage or current in the secondary winding coil set to achieve desirable operating characteristics.
Harada et al. shows the first power source is an AC power source or a DC power source (21, primary wire is electrically connected to element 21 which is a DC power supply, Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding Claim 3, Takagi et al. shows the primary side coil set comprises a first coil (W5) and a second coil (W6), the first coil and the second coil each has an end (ends at elements E4, E5) connected to the first flange (23, see Figs. 6-7) and another end (ends at elements E3, E7) connected to the second flange (22, see Figs. 6-7).
Regarding Claim 4, Takagi et al. shows the secondary side coil set comprises a third coil (W1 or W2) and a fourth coil (W3 or W4), the third coil and the fourth coil each has an end (ends at elements E6, E8) connected to the first flange (23, see Figs. 6-7) and another end (ends at elements E1, E2) connected to the second flange (22, see Figs. 6-7).
Regarding Claim 5, Takagi et al. shows a second core (30), wherein the second core is connected to the first flange and the second flange (see Figs. 6-7, element 30 is connected to elements 23, 22).
Regarding Claim 6, Takagi et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 6-7 with teachings from Figs. 1-5), comprising:
a first core (20) comprising a first flange (23), a second flange (22), and a middle portion (21) connected between the first flange and the second flange (see Figs. 6-7);
a primary side coil set (W5, W6) wound on the middle portion (see Figs. 6-7), wherein the primary side coil set has two opposed ends (ends at elements E4, E5) and a middle end (ends at elements E3, E7), the two opposed ends of the primary side coil set are connected to the first flange (23, see Figs. 6-7), and the middle end of the primary side coil set is connected to the second flange (22, see Figs. 6-7); and
a secondary side coil set (W1, W3 or W2, W4) wound on the middle portion (see Figs. 6-7), wherein the secondary side coil set has two opposed ends (ends at elements E1, E2 or E6, E8) connected to the first flange (23, see Figs. 6-7) or the second flange (22, see Figs. 6-7);
wherein the two opposed ends (ends at elements E4, E5) of the primary side coil set are connected to a first power source (ends at elements E4, E5 will be electrically connected to element 40B or 40A which inherently have a first power source in order for the transformer to operate, see Figs. 5-7, Paragraphs [0035], [0054]), and the two opposed ends (ends at elements E1, E2 or E6, E8) of the secondary side coil set are connected to a second power source (ends at elements E1, E2 or E6, E8 will be electrically connected to element PD or PSE, Paragraphs [0051]-[0052]) different from the first power source (see Figs. 5-7, element PD or PSE is different from element 40B or 40A), wherein the primary side coil set or the secondary side coil set comprises a conductive member (W5, W6 or W1, W3 or W2, W4 are conductive member).
In the case where it does not anticipate, it would have been obvious for the two opposed ends of the primary side coil set are connected to a first power source in order for the transformer to operate where the primary side coil set will receive an input voltage or current and convert it into a magnetic field, which then induces a voltage or current in the secondary winding coil set to achieve desirable operating characteristics.
Furthermore, Harada et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 1 and 9) teaching and suggesting the primary side coil set are connected to a first power source (21, primary wire is electrically connected to element 21, Paragraph [0004]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the primary side coil set are connected to a first power source as taught by Harada et al. for the transformer as disclosed by Takagi et al. to form and operate a transformer where the primary side coil set will receive an input voltage or current and convert it into a magnetic field, which then induces a voltage or current in the secondary winding coil set to achieve desirable magnetic coupling characteristics (Paragraph [0004]).
Takagi et al. in view of Harada et al. does not explicitly disclose having an insulating layer wrapping around the conductive member, wherein a diameter of the conductive member is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm, and a ratio of an outer diameter of the insulating layer to the diameter of the conductive member is between 1.35 and 2.5, and wherein the primary side coil set or the secondary side coil set has 7 to 14 turns.
However, it would have been obvious to have an insulating layer wrapping around the conductive member to facilitate insulation to prevent unwanted connection and electrical short.
Hashimoto et al. shows a transformer (Figs. 1-21, Paragraph [0134]) teaching and suggesting an insulating layer (30) wrapping around the conductive member (29, see Fig. 3), wherein a diameter of the conductive member (29) is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm (Paragraph [0056], diameter can be 80 μm which is 0.08 mm or diameter can be 100 μm which is 0.1 mm), and a ratio of an outer diameter of the insulating layer (30, Paragraph [0056], the thickness of element 30 can be 20 μm, therefore an outer diameter is calculated to be (20+20+80) μm = 120 μm which is 0.12 mm or (20+20+100) μm = 140 μm which is 0.14 mm) to the diameter of the conductive member is between 1.35 and 2.5 (ratio is 0.12/0.08 = 1.5 or 0.14/0.1 = 1.4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have an insulating layer wrapping around the conductive member and a diameter of the conductive member is between 0.07 mm and 0.2 mm, and a ratio of