DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The present office action is made in response to the amendment filed by applicant on 04/13/2026. It is noted that in the amendment, applicant has made changes to the claims. There is not any change being made to the abstract, the drawings and the specification.
Regarding the claims, applicant has amended claims 1 and 17.
Response to Arguments
The amendments to the claims as provided in the amendment of 04/13/2026, and applicant's arguments provided in the mentioned amendment, pages 6-10, have been fully considered and yielded the following conclusions.
A) because applicant has not added/canceled any claim into/from the application thus the pending claims are claims 1-15 and 17-21 (Note that claim 16 was canceled in the amendment of 06/10/2025) in which claims 1-15 and 21 are examined in the present office action, and claims 17-20 have been withdrawn from further consideration as being directed to a non-elected Invention.
Applicant should note that the examiner in the office action of 10/27/2023 has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
B) Regarding the rejection of claims 1-4 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (US Publication No. 2018/0219183) in view of Yamada et al (US Publication No. 2017/0277002) and Yoon (US Publication No. 2014/0285998), the rejection of claims 5-8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Yamada et al and Yoon as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Baek et al (US Publication No. 2018/0156951), the rejection of claims 9-12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Yamada et al and Yoon as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Mimura et al (US Patent No. 8,382,299), and the rejection of claims 13-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Yamada et al, Yoon and Mimura et al as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of Baek et al as set forth in the office action of 02/12/2026, the amendments to the claims as provided in the amendment of 04/13/2026, and applicant’s arguments provided in the mentioned amendment, pages 6-10, have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-4 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (US Publication No. 2018/0219183, of record) in view of Yamada et al (US Publication No. 2017/0277002, of record), Yoon (US Publication No. 2014/0285998, of record) and Liu et al (US Patent No. 9,841,541).
Song discloses an organic light emitting diode display device, i.e., OLED.
a) Regarding present claims 1-3 and 21, the OLED as described in paragraphs [0045]-[0046] and [0052]-[0055] and shown in FIG. 1 comprises the following features:
a1) an upper substrate (170);
a2) a color filter layer (160) on a lower surface of the upper substrate; and
a3) a quantum dot layer (150) on a lower surface of the color filter layer wherein the quantum dot layer (150), as understood, comprises an arrangement assistant having a plurality of spaces connected to each other wherein the quantum dot material (152, 153) are arranged in the spaces.
There are two features missing from the display device provided by Song as follow:
First, the quantum dot layer material comprises quantum dots distributed in a resin and is a curable ink; and
Second, the quantum dot layer material is uniformed organized in a repeated pattern in the arrangement assistant.
Regarding the first feature missing from the quantum dot layer material provided by Song, it is noted that a quantum dot layer comprises a plurality of quantum dot material having a plurality of quantum dots distributed in transparent resin wherein each quantum dot is distributed/surrounded by a resin material and is a curable ink is known to one skill in the art as can be seen in the wavelength conversion material provided by Yamada et al.
In particular, in paragraphs [0064]-[0127], Yamada et al discloses a wavelength conversion comprises a transparent resin (30P2) in which a quantum dot layer material (30L) is distributed wherein the quantum dot layer material (30L) is in a curable ink constituted by a plurality of quantum dots (30A, 30B) and polymerized material, see paragraph [0066], for example. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the quantum dot layer used in the display device provided by Song by using a quantum dot layer comprises a plurality of quantum dot layer material distributed in a resin layer having plural spaces filled by the quantum dot layer material wherein each quantum dot layer material comprises a quantum dot distributed in a resin as suggested by Yamada et al for the purpose of adjusting/controlling the light distribution of the display device.
Regarding the second feature missing from the display device provided by Song; however, a display device having a lower substrate, an upper substrate and a color conversion layer located between the two substrates wherein the color conversion layer comprises a transparent resin material and a plurality of particles uniformly distributed inside the resin material is known to one skilled in the art as can be seen in the display provided by Yoon, see paragraphs [0041]-[0063] and figs. 2-3, in particular, paragraphs [0052]-[0053] and fig. 3.
While both Song and Yoon discloses that the quantum dots/particles are uniformed distributed inside the quantum dot layer/resin layer, see Song in paragraph [0095] and Yoon in paragraph [0081], each does not positively disclose that the dots/particles are uniformed distributed in a repeated pattern as claimed.
However, a distribution of quantum dots in the quantum dot layer by a uniformed distribution in a repeated manner as claimed is merely that of a preferred embodiment and not any criticality has been provided. The support for that conclusion is found in the present specification as can be seen in the present specification at paragraphs [00138] and [00143] and shown in present figures 5 and 8. Further, an optical element having a layer and a plurality of particles wherein the particles are uniformed distributed in a periodic or repeated pattern is known to one skilled in the art as can be seen in the optical device provided by Liu et al, see column 7 on lines 52-64.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combined product provided by Song and Yamada et al by uniformly distribution the quantum dot layer material within a transparent resin by a repeated pattern as suggested by Yoon and Liu et al for the purpose of increase the efficiency of light conversion of the quantum dots throughout the resin material.
b) Regarding present claim 4, the quantum dot layer material contained color materials (152, 153) each has a spherical configuration, see FIG. 1.
9. Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Yamada et al, Yoon and Liu et al as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Baek et al (US Publication No. 2018/0156951, of record).
It is noted that in the combined product provided by Song, Yamada et al, Yoon and Liu et al, while Song discloses a quantum dot layer having an arrangement assistant comprises a plurality of spaces and quantum dot material fills the plurality of spaces; however, Song does not disclose that quantum dot layer having an arrangement assistant comprises a plurality of hollow spheres and the quantum dot material fills the space between the spheres.
However, a quantum dot layer comprises a plurality of spaces wherein some spaces are spheres each is in the form of a hollow and filled by air and the rest of spaces are filled by quantum dot material is known to one skill in the art as can be seen in the optical device provided by Baek et al. In particular, Baek et al discloses a quantum dot layer (CCP) having a plurality of spaces each is in the form of sphere wherein some spaces, SCT, each has a hollow structure and filled with air and some spaces (BQD, GQD, RQD) between the spaces (SCT) filled with air are filled by quantum dot material, see paragraphs [0087]-[0095] and fig. 3. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the quantum dot layer in the combined product provided by Song, Yamada et al, Yoon and Liu et al by using a quantum dot layer having an arrangement assistant comprises a plurality of hollow spheres and the quantum dot material fills the space between the hollow spheres as suggested by Baek et al for the purpose of adjusting/improving the uniform distribution of light incident onto the color filter.
10. Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Yamada et al, Yoon and Liu et al as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Mimura et al (US Patent No. 8,382,299, of record).
It is noted that in the combined product provided by Song, Yamada et al, Yoon and Liu et al, while Song discloses a quantum dot layer having an arrangement assistant comprises a plurality of spaces and quantum dot material fills the plurality of spaces; however, Song does not disclose that space is in the form of first to third linear portions as recited in claims 9-10 or the in the form of cylinders as recited in claims 11-12.
However, a layer having an arrangement assistant in the form of first to third linear portions as or the in the form of cylinders as claimed is merely that of a preferred embodiment and not any criticality has been provided. The support for that conclusion is found in the present specification and in the present claims as can be seen in present claim 4. Further, a light control element affixed on a substrate wherein the light control element comprises a layer having a plurality of spaces each defined by the formation of first to third linear portions or in the form of cylinders is known to one skill in the art as can be seen in the optical device provided by Mimura et al. Thus, absent any showing of criticality, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to utilize any shape or formation for the space of the arrangement assistant such as those suggested by Mimura et al for the space of the quantum dot layer in the combined product provided by Song, Yamada et al, Yoon and Liu et al to meet a particular application/desire.
11. Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Yamada et al, Yoon, Liu et al and Mimura et al as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of Baek et al.
The combined product provided by Song, Yamada et al, Yoon and Mimura et al does not disclose that some cylinders are hollow cylinder filled by air; however, an arrangement assistant having a plurality of spaces wherein some spaces are hollow space and thus filled by air is known to one skilled in the art as can be seen in the device provided by Baek et al. In particular, Baek et al discloses a quantum dot layer (CCP) having a plurality of spaces each is in the form of sphere wherein some spaces, SCT, each has a hollow structure and filled with air and some spaces (BQD, GQD, RQD) between the spaces (SCT) filled with air are filled by quantum dot material, see paragraphs [0087]-[0095] and fig. 3. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the quantum dot layer in the combined product provided by Song, Yamada et al, Yoon and Mimura et al by using a quantum dot layer having an arrangement assistant comprises a plurality of spaces and the quantum dot material fills the space between the spheres as suggested by Baek et al for the purpose of adjusting/improving the uniform distribution of light incident onto the color filter.
Conclusion
12. The US Patent No. 9,335,027 is cited as of interest in that it discloses an optical layer having nanoparticles embedded therein wherein the nanoparticles is distributed in a periodic, aperiodic or random fashion inside the layer, see column 6 on lines 49-63.
/THONG Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872