Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues: “The Applicant respectfully asserts that the Applicant claims subject matter limitations, among others, that include a sensor circuit that operates differently than the teaching and disclosure of the Examiner-cited portions of Ritcher and Cech. For example, the Applicant claims subject matter limitations in which the changes in electrical properties of the electrode of the first sensor circuit are interpreted based on a regulated current provided from the first sensor circuit to the electrode.
The Applicant respectfully asserts that the Applicant's independent claims are allowable over Examiner-cited portions of the Examiner-cited references.
The Applicant respectfully asserts that the Examiner-cited portions of the Examiner-cited references, when considered individually or together, fail to teach and disclose the subject matter as claimed by the Applicant in these claims. In view of at least these comments made above and for other reasons, the Applicant respectfully asserts that these independent claims rejected above are patentable over the Examiner-cited portions of the Examiner-cited references.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. See for example column 13 lines 35-56, where the signals from each seat are modulated by an identification code in order to identify the occupant. See also column 14 lines 49-67, or similarly column 11 lines 16-35, where the system uses specific seat signals to determine which occupant has pressed a button. These types of regulated, identifiable signals recognized via electrodes and capacitance read on wherein the changes in electrical properties of the electrode of the first sensor circuit are interpreted based on a regulated current provided from the first sensor circuit to the electrode.
Other art has been found which teaches similar ideas; see the pertinent prior art listed in the conclusion section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US8665077 by Richter et al. (hereinafter “Richter”), further in view of US20180178676 by Cech (hereinafter “Cech”).
Regarding claim 1, Richter teaches A method for use in a vehicle, comprising: receiving a first signal from a first button circuit indicating possible interaction with a corresponding interactable element by a user, wherein the changes in electrical properties of the electrode of the first sensor circuit are interpreted based on a regulated current provided from the first sensor circuit to the electrode; (see for example column 3 lines 47-57: “A switch or a sensor button or key is connected with a terminal of a signal source which feeds a frequency in the kilohertz range into the switch or sensor button. In the seat of the operator there is a conductive surface which can pick up the signal when the operator contacts the switch and the signal is transmitted (capacitively) through his finger and to his skin in a so-called body bridge. This forms then the capacitive counter surface to the seat. A heating foil already provided in the seat can be used for example as the receiving surface. A receiver connected thereto selects the thus supplied signal. In addition, the switching fulfills its ordained function.” See also for example column 13 lines 35-56, where the signals from each seat are modulated by an identification code in order to identify the occupant. See also column 14 lines 49-67, or similarly column 11 lines 16-35, where the system uses specific seat signals to determine which occupant has pressed a button. These types of regulated, identifiable signals recognized via electrodes and capacitance read on wherein the changes in electrical properties of the electrode of the first sensor circuit are interpreted based on a regulated current provided from the first sensor circuit to the electrode.)
receiving sensed signal data from a first sensor circuit indicating changes in electrical properties of an electrode of the first sensor circuit (in addition to the passage quoted above, see for example column 3 lines 27-38: “The invention also extends to a switching system for producing switch signals in which each switch signal is generated depending upon whether in the region of a switch device provided in the vicinity of the external field of a user has been selectively actuated by the user, the system being distinguished in that the switching device is so constructed that in the framework of actuation of the switching device an enabling signal is coupled into the user and through the user is transmitted to a detection zone and the detection zone is coupled with a switching signal generator so configured that it generates the switching signal on the basis enabling the signal coupled into the user.”)
determining whether the sensed signal data indicates detection of any of a plurality of frequencies each identifying one of a plurality of vehicle locations based on receiving the first signal indicating the possible interaction with the corresponding interactable element; (in addition to the above passages, see also for example column 14 lines 49-59: “To distinguish whether the driver or someone in a guest seat has actuated a switch or switching surface it is possible independently of the mobile key device to couple a signal into the respective passengers that enables a distinction between them and between them and the driver. This signal coupling can especially be effected through the seating devices. For this purpose an electrode is preferably provided in the seating surface, for example in the form of a conductive, flexible mesh by means of which the seat-specific signals are coupled into the respective seating place users. Through this concept child safety can especially be achieved.” Although Richter contemplates applications using a key fob for producing a detectable signal, in the above embodiment he also contemplates seat identification via seat transmitters through the driver or passenger’s bodies.)
when the sensed signal data indicates detection of a first frequency of the plurality of frequencies identifying a first location of the plurality of vehicle locations based on interaction with the corresponding interactable element by a first user seated in the first location: facilitating performance of a first functionality associated with the corresponding interactable element within only the first location; and when the sensed signal data indicates detection of a second frequency of the plurality of frequencies identifying a second location of the plurality of vehicle locations based on interaction with the corresponding interactable element by a second user seated in the second location: facilitating performance of a second functionality associated with the corresponding interactable element within only the second location. (In addition to the above passages, see also column 14 lines 32-48, where Richter discriminates button functionality (including not performing the control action) based on user seat: “It is possible in the vehicle interior to provide switching surfaces by means of which a signal transfer between he mobile key device and the vehicle side signal processing unit can be carried out. Especially for switching surfaces in the region of the central console of the vehicle it is possible utilizing signal coupling techniques to test the signal generated by the mobile key device at the switching surfaces to determine whether the switching surfaces are being actuated by the authorized user or for example a nonauthorized passenger. It is also possible in the course of signal coupling to test whether an actuation of a switching surface is effected by the driver or a guest. It is possible, for example, for controlling an electric window opener to provide in the region of the central console a switching surface whereby the contact of the switching surface by the driver will operate the driver side window and the contact of the same switching surface by the passenger will operate the passenger side window” (emphasis added). See also column 13, lines 25-31: “When the passenger seat also has a receiver connected to it, for example an actuation of function generators on the central console, for example for light, heating, seat positioning, etc. for the respective occupants (driver or passenger) can be assigned to them. Apart from a reduced installation cost, switches can be spared and the comfort increased” (emphasis added). That is, by teaching operation of a side-specific function (a first functionality associated with the corresponding interactable element within only the first location), such as “light, heating, seat positioning,” or “window” (in column 14, lines 43-48), based on which user is detected as having pressed the button, Richter teaches facilitating performance of a first functionality (or a second functionality) associated with the corresponding interactable element within only the first location (or a second location) [when the sensed signal data indicates detection of a first frequency (or a second frequency) of the plurality of frequencies identifying a first location of the plurality of vehicle locations based on interaction with the corresponding interactable element by a first user seated in the first location (or a second user seated in the second location)].)
Richter does not explicitly teach receiving sensed signal data from a first sensor circuit indicating changes in electrical properties of an electrode of the first sensor circuit that vary based on a distance to the user.
However, Cech teaches a similar system wherein receiving sensed signal data from a first sensor circuit indicating changes in electrical properties of an electrode of the first sensor circuit that vary based on a distance to the user. (See for example paragraph [0022], where “a capacitive proximity detection system is provided including a receiver 50 to detect an appendage 20a of the occupant 20. The capacitive sensing system is used in conjunction with the capacitive proximity detection system.” Similarly, [0023] states: “The receiver 50 may be utilized to detect a change in the electric field signal originating from the sensing electrode 40. The field is generated due to the applied voltage to the sensing electrode 40. The electric field signal is affected by the presence of the occupant 20. The signal provided to the electrode 40 may be transmitted through the occupant and received by the antenna when the occupant is located in proximity to the antenna. The signal is transmitted via an electric field located proximate to the occupant.” Further, [0026] states “Thus, when the receiver (which may include a controller) or the processing electronics (i.e., a remote controller) has determined that the touch of the occupant to a point in proximity to the antenna is imminent, a control signal may be generated. The imminent touch may be determined by considering one or more of the conditions being monitored such as, for example, the combination of detection range and approach rate.” That is, Cech teaches detection of an occupant’s appendage in proximity to an interactive element in order to activate the corresponding control function, and the proximity is sensed based on changes in electrical properties of an electrode…based on a distance to the user.)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the seat control identification system of Richter with proximity detection system of Cech with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to more easily gauge the intent of the user in differentiating an indecisive hovering from a more assertive button press, improving the safety of the system (see for example paragraph [0034]).
Claims 15 and 20 are both directed towards A sensor system with similar limitations to claim 1 above, and are therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 2, Richter teaches wherein a first ID circuit transmits an ID signal at the first frequency upon a transmit electrode located in the first location, and wherein the sensed signal data indicates detection of the first frequency identifying the first location based on: a first portion of a human body of the user being in proximity to the transmit electrode of the first ID circuit based on the user interacting with the corresponding interactable element; and a second portion of the human body of the user being in proximity to the electrode of the first sensor circuit, wherein the ID signal is propagated through the human body from the first portion of the human body to the second portion of the human body to cause the changes in electrical characteristics of the electrode of the first sensor circuit. (In addition to the column 14 passages cited above, see also column 13 lines 18-30, where an identification signal for each seat is carried to the button locations: “A region of the motor vehicle dashboard is provided on its underside with a conductive foil. Above this surface a plurality of the aforedescribed function generators are provided, for example magnetically attached or adhesively bonded. The function generators all have different identification numbers. Upon contact with a function generator, again through the body bridge of the user, the signal passes from the function generator to the seat and is evaluated in the receiver. When the passenger seat also has a receiver connected to it, for example an actuation of function generators on the central console, for example for light, heating, seat positioning, etc. for the respective occupants (driver or passenger) can be assigned to them.”)
Regarding claim 3, Richter does not explicitly teach wherein the first signal indicating the possible interaction is received in a first temporal period, and wherein the performance of the functionality associated with the corresponding interactable element is facilitated when the sensed signal data indicates detection of the first frequency identifying the first location within the first temporal period. Although Richter teaches time periods and synchronization with regard to the key fob unlocking the car, he does not explicitly teach such within regard to the car’s internal button functionality. The buttons also appear to perform their functionality and user identification simultaneously, and so Richter does not explicitly teach interaction is received in a first temporal period.
However, Cech teaches wherein the first signal indicating the possible interaction is received in a first temporal period, and wherein the performance of the functionality associated with the corresponding interactable element is facilitated when the sensed signal data indicates detection of the first frequency identifying the first location within the first temporal period. (See for example paragraphs [0026] – [0027] or Figure 4, where the proximity and imminent touch of an interactive element (e.g. “the time from surface touch can be detected to be 0.20 seconds. Thus, the system has 0.20 seconds to wake up or configure the device (e.g, HMI device, actuator, system controller) prior to touch.”) triggers the activation of the associated function. See also paragraphs [0030], [0032], and [0034]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the seat control identification system of Richter with proximity detection system of Cech with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to more easily gauge the intent of the user in differentiating an indecisive hovering from a more assertive button press, improving the safety of the system (see for example paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, Richter teaches wherein the first button circuit is one of a plurality of different button circuits in the first location, further comprising: receiving a second signal from a second button circuit in the first location indicating another possible interaction with another corresponding interactable element; determine whether the sensed signal data indicates detection of the first frequency identifying the first location based on receiving the second signal indicating the possible interaction with the other corresponding interactable element; when the sensed signal data indicates detection of the first frequency identifying the first location: facilitating performance of a second functionality associated with the other corresponding interactable element; when the sensed signal data does not indicate detection of the first frequency identifying the first location: foregoing performance of the second functionality associated with the interaction with the other corresponding interactable element. (In addition to the other portions of column 14 cited above, see also column 14 lines 9-19: “With the switching system according to the invention it is possible, for example, to permit a check change in the transmission ratio (for example on tiptronic shifting) only by a single person who is seated on the driver's seat and optionally carries a mobile key device. Especially in this manner it is possible o provide on a shift lever for example, a signal transfer surface which by touch contact with the hand surface of the driver will enable a data transfer over the body of the driver between the mobile key device and a further vehicle side signal processing unit.” Richter has multiple control buttons (e.g. column 13 lines 18-30 quoted above, reading on second button circuit) which perform different functions (or doesn’t perform functions) based on whether or not it is the driver (reading on first location) touching the button.)
Regarding claim 5, Richter teaches wherein the first frequency identifying the first location is one of a set of frequencies each identifying one of a set of different locations including the first location, wherein a second frequency of the set of frequencies identifies a second location that is different from the first location, further comprising: receiving a second signal from a second button circuit in a second location indicating another possible interaction with another corresponding interactable element; determine whether the sensed signal data indicates detection of a frequency identifying the second location based on receiving the second signal indicating the possible interaction with the other corresponding interactable element; when the sensed signal data indicates detection of the second frequency identifying the second location: facilitating performance of a second functionality associated with the other corresponding interactable element when the sensed signal data indicates detection of a second frequency identifying the second location; when the sensed signal data does not indicate detection of the second frequency identifying the second location: foregoing performance of the second functionality associated with the interaction with the other corresponding interactable element. (Richter provides multiple buttons (reading on second button) and multiple identification frequencies corresponding to seats/users (reading on second location) which are detected by the system to perform different functions (or not perform a function). In addition to the cited sections above, see also column 13 lines 18-31: “A region of the motor vehicle dashboard is provided on its underside with a conductive foil. Above this surface a plurality of the aforedescribed function generators are provided, for example magnetically attached or adhesively bonded. The function generators all have different identification numbers. Upon contact with a function generator, again through the body bridge of the user, the signal passes from the function generator to the seat and is evaluated in the receiver. When the passenger seat also has a receiver connected to it, for example an actuation of function generators on the central console, for example for light, heating, seat positioning, etc. for the respective occupants (driver or passenger) can be assigned to them.”)
Regarding claim 6, Richter teaches wherein the set of different locations correspond to a set of different locations within the vehicle including at least two of: a driver door location; a steering wheel location; a dashboard location; a front center console location; a front passenger door location; a rear center console location; a rear left passenger door location; or a rear right passenger door location. (See again column 13 lines 18-31, including “dashboard” and “center console”: “A region of the motor vehicle dashboard is provided on its underside with a conductive foil…. When the passenger seat also has a receiver connected to it, for example an actuation of function generators on the central console, for example for light, heating, seat positioning, etc. for the respective occupants (driver or passenger) can be assigned to them” (emphasis added).)
Claim 16 has similar limitations to claim 6 above, and is rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 7, Richter teaches wherein the first sensor circuit is one of a set of sensor circuits each corresponding to a set of different occupancy areas, and wherein the first sensor circuit corresponds to a first occupancy area of the set of different occupancy areas, further comprising: determining the user interacting with the corresponding interactable element is located within the first occupancy area when the sensed signal data further indicates detection of a given frequency identifying the first occupancy area. (See again column 14 lines 49-59 for example, where each seat has its own identification frequency: “To distinguish whether the driver or someone in a guest seat has actuated a switch or switching surface it is possible independently of the mobile key device to couple a signal into the respective passengers that enables a distinction between them and between them and the driver. This signal coupling can especially be effected through the seating devices. For this purpose an electrode is preferably provided in the seating surface, for example in the form of a conductive, flexible mesh by means of which the seat-specific signals are coupled into the respective seating place users.”)
Regarding claim 8, Richter teaches wherein a first occupant ID circuit transmits an occupant ID signal at a second frequency upon a transmit electrode located in the first occupancy area, wherein determining the user interacting with the corresponding interactable element is located within the first occupancy area is based on determining the sensed signal data indicates detection of the second frequency identifying the first occupancy area. (In addition to the cited sections above, see also column 13 lines 18-31: “A region of the motor vehicle dashboard is provided on its underside with a conductive foil. Above this surface a plurality of the aforedescribed function generators are provided, for example magnetically attached or adhesively bonded. The function generators all have different identification numbers. Upon contact with a function generator, again through the body bridge of the user, the signal passes from the function generator to the seat and is evaluated in the receiver. When the passenger seat also has a receiver connected to it, for example an actuation of function generators on the central console, for example for light, heating, seat positioning, etc. for the respective occupants (driver or passenger) can be assigned to them.”)
Claim 17 has similar limitations to claims 7 and 8 together, and is therefore rejected using a similar rationale.
Regarding claim 9, Richter teaches wherein the set of different occupancy areas correspond to a set of different occupancy areas located within the vehicle including at least two of: a driver occupancy area; a front passenger occupancy area; a rear left passenger occupancy area; or a rear right passenger occupancy area. (See above passages such as column 13 lines 18-31 teaching identification of both driver and passenger by their seat frequency.)
Regarding claim 10, Richter teaches wherein the corresponding interactable element includes at least one of: a button, a switch, another electrode, a variable cap, a transducer, a potentiometer, a slider switch a keypad, a touchpad, or a touchscreen that displays digital image data. (See column 13 lines 18-31, including “multiplicity of sensors/buttons/switches to be differentiated”.)
Regarding claim 11, Richter teaches wherein the corresponding interactable element includes the other electrode, wherein the first button circuit transmits a signal upon the other electrode, and wherein the first signal indicates the possible interaction based on including sensed signal data indicating changes in (In addition to the column 14 passages cited above, see also column 13 lines 18-30, where an identification signal for each seat is carried to the button locations: “A region of the motor vehicle dashboard is provided on its underside with a conductive foil. Above this surface a plurality of the aforedescribed function generators are provided, for example magnetically attached or adhesively bonded. The function generators all have different identification numbers. Upon contact with a function generator, again through the body bridge of the user, the signal passes from the function generator to the seat and is evaluated in the receiver. When the passenger seat also has a receiver connected to it, for example an actuation of function generators on the central console, for example for light, heating, seat positioning, etc. for the respective occupants (driver or passenger) can be assigned to them.”)
Richter does not explicitly teach that the system detects changes in impedance of the electrodes, but teaches more generally a capacitive system for the vehicle interior controls. He does discuss impedance in relation to the key fob, but does not specifically relate that to the car control system.
However, Cech teaches a system wherein the corresponding interactable element includes the other electrode, wherein the first button circuit transmits a signal upon the other electrode, and wherein the first signal indicates the possible interaction based on including sensed signal data indicating changes in impedance of the other electrode. (See for example paragraph [0016]: “The interaction between surrounding objects and the electric field changes the effective impedance of the sensing electrode 40 and accordingly current in the sensing electrode 40 can change due to the presence of objects in the vicinity of the electric field (e.g., an occupant in the vehicle).”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the seat control identification system of Richter with proximity detection system of Cech with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to more easily gauge the intent of the user in differentiating an indecisive hovering from a more assertive button press, improving the safety of the system (see for example paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 12, Richter teaches wherein facilitating performance of the corresponding functionality associated with the corresponding interactable element includes generating control data to update a state of at least one corresponding vehicle element. (See for example column 14 lines 43-48 teaching control of a window: “It is possible, for example, for controlling an electric window opener to provide in he region of the central console a switching surface whereby the contact of the switching surface by the driver will operate the driver side window and the contact of the same switching surface by the passenger will operate the passenger side window.”)
Regarding claim 13, Richter teaches wherein at least one corresponding vehicle element includes at least one of: an air conditioning element; a seat heating element; a seat position control element; a mirror position control element; a radio element; a speaker; an audio control element; a turning signal element; a windshield wiper element; a window element; a sunroof element; or a door locking element. (See for example column 14 lines 43-48 teaching a window control: “It is possible, for example, for controlling an electric window opener to provide in he region of the central console a switching surface whereby the contact of the switching surface by the driver will operate the driver side window and the contact of the same switching surface by the passenger will operate the passenger side window.”)
Regarding claim 14, Richter does not explicitly teach wherein the changes in electrical properties of the electrode include changes in impedance of the electrode. Richter does not explicitly teach that the system detects changes in impedance of the electrodes, but teaches more generally a capacitive system for the vehicle interior controls. He does discuss impedance in relation to the key fob, but does not specifically relate that to the car control system.
However, Cech teaches a system wherein the changes in electrical properties of the electrode include changes in impedance of the electrode. (See for example paragraph [0016]: “The interaction between surrounding objects and the electric field changes the effective impedance of the sensing electrode 40 and accordingly current in the sensing electrode 40 can change due to the presence of objects in the vicinity of the electric field (e.g., an occupant in the vehicle).”)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the seat control identification system of Richter with proximity detection system of Cech with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so allows the system to more easily gauge the intent of the user in differentiating an indecisive hovering from a more assertive button press, improving the safety of the system (see for example paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 18, Richter teaches wherein the sensed signal data indicates detection of the frequency identifying the first location and further indicates detection of given frequency identifying the first occupancy area based on: a first portion of a human body of the user being in proximity to the transmit electrode of an ID circuit transmitting its ID signal at the first frequency based on the user interacting with the corresponding interactable element; a second portion of the human body of the user being in proximity to the electrode of the first sensor circuit, wherein the ID signal is propagated through the human body from the first portion of the human body to the second portion of the human body; and a third portion of the human body of the user being in proximity to the electrode of an occupant ID circuit of a first occupancy area transmitting its signal at the given frequency based on the user being within the first occupancy area, wherein the signal is propagated through the human body from the third portion of the human body to the second portion of the human body. (In addition to the column 14 sections above, see also column 12 line 59 – column 13 line 3: “A switch or sensor button is connected at one terminal with a signal source which feeds a frequency in the kilohertz range into the switch or sensor button into the switch or sensor button. In the seat of the user there is found a conductive surface which picks up the signal when the user contacts the switch and thus the signal (capacitively) passes via his finger over his skin in a so-called body bridge. This then forms the capacitive counter surface to the seat. A heating foil already provided in the seat can be used, for example, as the receiving surface. A receiver connected thereto detects the thus fed signal. The switch, apart from this, performs its original intended function.” Richter detects the user is seated and touching a control button by capacitive signal across the user’s body. See also column 13 lines 51-54, where the transmitter can be at either location: “The signal directions can be also reversed: for example, different frequencies can be outputted from the seating surfaces and by contact through the function buttons and the dashboard to a single receiver.”)
Regarding claim 19, Richter teaches further comprising: a set of sensor circuits that includes the first sensor circuit, wherein each of the set of sensor circuits has its electrode located in one of the set of different occupancy areas; wherein the second portion of the human body is in proximity to the electrode of the first sensor circuit based on the user being within the first occupancy area. (In addition to the column 14 sections above, see also column 12 line 59 – column 13 line 3: “A switch or sensor button is connected at one terminal with a signal source which feeds a frequency in the kilohertz range into the switch or sensor button into the switch or sensor button. In the seat of the user there is found a conductive surface which picks up the signal when the user contacts the switch and thus the signal (capacitively) passes via his finger over his skin in a so-called body bridge. This then forms the capacitive counter surface to the seat. A heating foil already provided in the seat can be used, for example, as the receiving surface. A receiver connected thereto detects the thus fed signal. The switch, apart from this, performs its original intended function.” Richter detects the user is seated and touching a control button by capacitive signal across the user’s body. See also column 13 lines 51-54, where the transmitter can be at either location: “The signal directions can be also reversed: for example, different frequencies can be outputted from the seating surfaces and by contact through the function buttons and the dashboard to a single receiver.”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US20030151240 by Saitou et al. teaching detection of a passenger in a vehicle seat via electrodes used for measuring impedance via an op-amp; see, e.g., ¶¶ [0327], [0399], [0439].
US20020185999 by Tajima et al. teaching detection of human contact by identifiable oscillation signal, detected by comparators; see, e.g., ¶¶ [0068], [0073], [0077].
US20090225036 by Wright teaching discrimination between users based on capacitive signals; see, e.g., ¶¶ [0090]-[0094].
US20020018000 by Jinno et al. teaching detection of a human based on oscillating voltage frequency across electrodes completed by the presence of human; see, e.g., ¶¶ [0009], [0012], [0062]-[0063].
/JORDAN T SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666