DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on May 13, 2025.
Claims 1, 8, 11, and 14 have been amended and are hereby entered.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on December 30, 2025 have been considered. A signed copy of the corresponding 1449 form has been included with this office action.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed May 13, 2025, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) first paragraph as failing to comply with the written description requirement as set forth in the office action filed May 21, 2025.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed May 13, 2025, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 3, 15 – 17, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu as set forth in the office action filed March 21, 2025.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed May 13, 2025, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 5 and 7 – 12 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsai as set forth in the office action filed March 21, 2025.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed May 13, 2025, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 – 4, 7, 8, 10, and 12 – 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as set forth in the office action filed March 21, 2025.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed May 13, 2025, caused the withdrawal of the rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and further in view of Jeong as set forth in the office action filed March 21, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 – 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 14 is dependent on claim 1. Claim 1 requires that when M1 is Pt, B1 to B4 are each a chemical bond, A4 is a benzene group and A1 is a benzimidazole group, and R3 and R5 are bonded to each other for form a benzene group, then R29 of Formula 2-1(33) is represented by Formula 2a. Formula 2a requires at least one non-hydrogen substituent on each of the phenyl rings of the dibenzo group. However, compounds 11 and 12 do not contain a substituent on both of the benzene rings of the dibenzo group.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 5, and 7 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen 2 (US20250197717A1).
As per claims 1 – 5, and 7 – 12, Chen 2 teaches:
An organometallic compound represented by Formula 1
(Chen teaches compounds of Formula II
([0006]). A specific compound within the scope of Formula II taught by Chen 2 is
on page 33. While this compound does not contain the heteroaryl group substituent required by the claimed Formula, the specific compound above contains a deuterated terphenyl group in the R position. Another option for the R group taught by Chen 2 is R111 on page 18
. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace the deuterated terphenyl group of the compound with R group R111. When modified in this way, the modified compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein M1 is a metal atom that forms a square planar structure with a tetradentate ligand, namely Pt as required by claim 2; ring A1 is a C7 heterocyclic group, namely an imidazole group as required by claim 3, represented by Formula 2-1(32) in claim 7; ring A2 is a C5 heterocyclic group, namely a pyridine group as required by claim 3, represented by Formula 2-1(1) in claim 7; ring A3 is a C6 carbocyclic group, namely a benzene ring as required by claim 3, represented by Formula 2-2(1) in claim 7; ring A4 is a C6 carbocyclic group, namely a benzene ring as required by claim 3, represented by Formula 2-2(1) in claim 7; a1 is 0 so that ring A1 and A2 are not connected; a2 to a4 are each 1; L2 is *-N(R5)-*; L3 is *-O-*; L4 is a single bond; Y2 is a nitrogen atom and the remaining Y atoms are C; B1 to B4 are chemical bonds; R1 is a substituted C12 heteroaryl group substituted with R10a wherein R10a is a C6 carbocyclic group, wherein R1 corresponds to R29, namely a group represented by Formula 2a wherein R11 and R12 are both a C6 aryl group and L11 is *-O-*; R2 is a C4 alkyl group; R3 is a C1 alkyl group that bonds to R5 to form a ring; R4 is hydrogen; R5 is a C6 aryl group; b1 to b3 are integers of 1; b4 is an integer of 3. The compound is represented by Formula 2 in claim 10.)
Chen 2 includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Chen 2 being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of narrow FWHM, high PLQY and short excited state lifetime ([0139]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 13, Chen 2 appears silent with respect to the energy level of a triplet metal-centered state of the organometallic compound. However, Chen 2 teaches compounds within the scope of claimed Formula 1 and 2. Therefore, the property of the energy level of a triplet metal-centered state is considered to be inherent (and would be expected to fall within the range in the claim), absent evidence otherwise. Recitation of a newly disclosed property does not distinguish over a reference disclosure of the article or composition claims. When the structure recited in the prior art reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Applicant bears responsibility for proving the reference composition does not possess the characteristics recited in the claims.
As per claim 14, Chen 2 teaches that in Formula II, X7 may be selected from C or N ([0051]) and Chen 2 teaches Formula
on Page 6. Another R group taught by Chen 2 is R28
. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compound of Chen 2 above to replace the deuterated terphenyl group with an unsubstituted dibenzofuran substituent and to replace the carbon atom of the carbazole group with a nitrogen atom and arrive at claimed compound 24
. This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein M1 is a metal atom that forms a square planar structure with a tetradentate ligand; ring A1 is a C7 heterocyclic group; ring A2 is a C5 heterocyclic group; ring A3 is a C6 carbocyclic group; ring A4 is a C6 carbocyclic group; a1 is 0 so that ring A1 and A2 are not connected; a2 to a4 are each 1; L2 is *-N(R5)-*; L3 is *-O-*; L4 is a single bond; Y2 is a nitrogen atom and the remaining Y atoms are C; B1 to B4 are chemical bonds; R1 is an unsubstituted C12 heteroaryl group; R2 is a C4 alkyl group; R3 is a C1 alkyl group that bonds to R5 to form a ring; R4 is hydrogen; R5 is a C5 heteroaryl group; b1 to b3 are integers of 1; b4 is an integer of 3. Because R3 and R5 are not bonded to form a benzene group, the compound is not required to contain a group represented by Formula 2a as in the proviso at the bottom of page 5.
Chen 2 includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Chen 2 being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of narrow FWHM, high PLQY and short excited state lifetime ([0139]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claims 15 – 17, Chen 2 teaches:
A light emitting device comprising a first electrode, a second electrode facing the first electrode and an interlayer between the first electrode and the second electrode and comprising an emission layer ([0091]: “Device 100 may include a substrate 110, an anode 115, a hole injection layer 120, a hole transport layer 125, an electron blocking layer 130, an emissive layer 135, a hole blocking layer 140, an electron transport layer 145, an electron injection layer 150, a protective layer 155, a cathode 160, and a barrier layer 170.”)
Wherein the emission comprises the organometallic compound ([0074]: “In some embodiments of the emissive region, the compound is an emissive dopant or a non-emissive dopant.”)
The emission layer further comprises a host ([0075]: “In some embodiments of the emissive region, the emissive region further comprises a host.”)
Wherein an amount of the organometallic compound included in the emission layer is 0.01 parts by weight to 30 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the emission layer (Host materials are general understood to be the majority of the layer, therefore it is the Examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the dopant material in a minor portion, such as that claimed.)
Chen 2 teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Chen 2 as Chen 2 demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 18, Chen 2 teaches:
Wherein the emission layer is to emit blue light with a maximum wavelength of about 440 nm or more or about 470 nm or less (In Table 1, the compounds show emission within the claimed range.)
As per claim 19, Chen teaches:
An electronic apparatus comprising the light-emitting device (As an OLED is considered an electronic apparatus, Chen 2 teaches the claimed limitations.)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen 2 (US20250197717A1) as applied to claims 1 – 5, and 7 – 19 above, and further in view of Jeong (US20170162796A1).
As per claim 20, Chen 2 teaches that organic devices, such as transistors may employ the materials and structure taught ([0100]). Chen 2 does not specifically teach:
Wherein the thin-film transistor comprises a source electrode and a drain electrode
The first electrode of the light-emitting device is electrically connected to the source electrode
Jeong teaches OLED devices (Abstract). Jeong further teaches the OLEDs may be part of an electronic apparatus comprising a thin-film transistor ([0199]). Jeong teaches the thin film transistor includes a gate electrode, a source electrode, an activation layer and a drain electrode ([0203]). Jeong teaches that the first electrode of the OLED is connected to the drain electrode ([0205]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the OLED of Chen 2 in a thin film transistor device with the structure claimed because Jeong teaches this application and device structure was known as predictably suitable for OLED devices prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 6 limits the substituents off of Formula 2a to non-aryl containing groups. None of the prior art suggests or teaches substituents off of the group of Formula 2a that are entirely non-aryl substituents.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789