DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the April 21st, 2026 arguments and remarks (“Remarks”).
Response to Amendments
In response to the amendments received in the Remarks on April 21st, 2026:
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-11, and 13-29 are pending in the current application. Claims 1, 7, 14-17, and 20-21 have been amended. Claims 22-29 stand withdrawn. Claims 2, 9, and 12 have been cancelled.
The previous rejection under 35 USC 112 is overcome in light of the amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed with the Remarks on April 21st, 2026 with respect to Claims 1, 3-8, 10-11, and 13-21 are acknowledged, however, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that the prior art of record fails to disclose the instantly claimed cooling device is not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that the prior art fails to disclose wherein the first heat sink and the second heat sink each comprise connection surfaces shaped-adapted to connection poles of the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly, and wherein the connection surfaces comprise bore- and/or hole-like recesses shape-adapted to pin-like protruding connection journals of a battery and/or a capacitor is not persuasive. A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the cooling device of Taylor reads on the instant claim limitation. As shown in figure 2 (annotated below), each of the first heat sink and second heat sink comprise a clamp 50/60 that are fastened together via positioning fasteners/threaded screws 54 ([0014]). Further, Taylor defines that these clamps each have a convex shape and solely connect with the peripheral part of the heat sinks 30/40 ([0014]), thus creating a hollow shape (reading on the instantly claimed bore- and/or hole-like shape) adapted to accommodate the space for the electronics assembly 10 which includes the protruding pedestals 32/42 ([0022]-[0023]), wire bonds/solder bump connections ([0017]), and circuit connections 24 ([0016]).
Annotated Figure 2 of Taylor
Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive and the rejection of record is maintained. Any modification to the rejection is as necessitated by the amendment.
Prior Art
Previously cited Taylor US PG Publication 2007/0097627 (“Taylor”)
Previously cited Guidat US Patent 7,044,207 (“Guidat”)
Previously cited Kopp US PG Publication 2017/0263987 (“Kopp”)
Previously cited Gradinger US PG Publication 2013/0077245 (“Gradinger”)
Previously cited Sayir US PG Publication 2007/0053168 (“Sayir”)
Previously cited Leah US PG Publication 2016/0380298 (“Leah”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 10-11, 14-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor US PG Publication 2007/0097627 in view of Guidat US Patent 7,044,207.
Regarding Claim 1, Taylor discloses an electronics assembly 10 (cooling device) for an electronics package 20 (energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly) ([0001], entire disclosure dependent upon) comprising:
a first heat sink 30 in whose interior at least one pass for cooling fluid or fluid vessel 80 (coolant channel) is formed ([0013]), wherein the first heat sink 30 comprises a first containment plate 82 (sheet metal blank) and a second containment plate 84 (sheet metal blank) ([0019]), wherein the first sheet metal blank 82 and the second sheet metal blank 84 are cohesively joined to each other surface to surface by a brazing process1 ([0019]), wherein the first sheet metal blank 82 has a channel-shaped bulge to accommodate the coolant channel 80 that bulges out of the joining plane between the first sheet metal blank 82 and the second sheet metal blank 84 (Figs. 2-3, [0019]), is connected to the second sheet metal blank 84 only at an edge of the second sheet metal blank 84 (Fig. 3, [0019]), and forms the at least one coolant channel 80 (Fig. 3, [0019]);
a second heat sink 40 comprising at least one fluid vessel 80 (coolant channel) and containment plates 82, 84 (sheet metal blanks) joined to each other by a brazing process ([0019]); and
clamps 50/60 including pilot holes 52/62 and positioning fasteners 54/64 (traction elements), wherein the traction elements 50/60,52/62,54/64 connect the first heat sink 30 to the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly 20 (Fig. 3, [0013]-[0014]), connect the second heat sink 40 to the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly 20 (Fig. 3, [0013]-[0014]), and connect the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink to each other (Fig. 3, [0013]-[0014]),
wherein the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 are on opposite sides of the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly 20 such that the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly 20 is sandwiched between the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 in a gap between the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 that corresponds to the dimensions of the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly 20 (Fig. 2, [0013]), and
wherein the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 are tensioned towards each other and on the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly 20 by the traction elements 50/60, 52/62, 54/64 such that the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly 20 is clamped between the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 to form an electronics assembly 10 (Figs. 2-3, [0013]-[0014]), wherein the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 each comprise convex surfaces defining connection surfaces on the clamps 50/60 shaped-adapted to connection poles of the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly ([0017]), and wherein the connection surfaces comprise bore- and/or hole-like recesses shape-adapted to circuit connections 24 (pin-like protruding connection journals) of a battery and/or a capacitor ([0016]).
Annotated Figure 3 of Taylor
Taylor fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first sheet metal blank 82 and the second sheet metal blank 84 have the same thickness.
However, Guidat discloses a heat exchange module (Abstract, entire disclosure dependent upon). Guidat teaches welding two flat metal sheets together with identical shapes and thicknesses of less than 1.5 mm results in improved economic and thermal properties (Column 4, lines 25-52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cooling device of Taylor such that the first sheet metal blank and the second sheet metal blank have the same thickness and shape in order to improve economic and thermal properties of the cooling device, as taught by Guidat.
1 Claim 1 is considered a product-by-process claim. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113).
Regarding Claim 7, Taylor in view of Guidat teaches the instantly claimed cooling device of Claim 1, and Taylor discloses wherein the joining plane between the first sheet metal blank 82 and the second sheet metal blank 84 approximately centrally through a cross-sectional area of the first heat sink 30 (Annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 10, Taylor in view of Guidat teaches the instantly claimed cooling device of Claim 1, and Taylor discloses wherein on surfaces facing apart from each other pilot holes 52/62 (holders) are seated on the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40, and wherein the holders 52/62 are held together by the traction elements 50/60, 52/62, 54/64 (Fig. 3, [0014]).
Regarding Claim 11, Taylor in view of Guidat teaches the instantly claimed cooling device of Claim 10, and Taylor discloses wherein the holders 52/62 are incorporated within the plate-shape design of the corresponding clamps 50/60 and wherein the traction elements 50/60, 52/62, 54/64 are latchable to the holders 52/62 via the connection between the fasteners 54/64 and the pilot holes 52/62 (Fig. 3, [0014]).
Regarding Claim 14, Taylor discloses an electronics assembly 10 (energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly) comprising the cooling device of Taylor in view of Guidat as described in the rejection of Claim 1 for cooling at least one energy accumulator and/or electronic module 10 ([0001]).
Regarding Claim 15, Taylor in view of Guidat teaches the instantly claimed energy accumulator and/or electronic module of Claim 14, and Taylor discloses wherein the at least one energy accumulator and/or electronic module 10 is clamped between the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40, and wherein the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 are held on the at least one energy accumulator and/or electronic module 10 with clamps 50/60 (Figs. 2-3, [0013]-[0014]).
Regarding Claim 16, Taylor in view of Guidat teaches the instantly claimed energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly of Claim 15, and Taylor discloses wherein at least one of the first heat sink 30 and second heat sink 40 is in contact with a circuit connections 24 (connection pole) of the at least one energy accumulator and/or electronic module 10 ([0016]).
Regarding Claim 17, Taylor in view of Guidat teaches the instantly claimed energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly of Claim 15, and Taylor discloses wherein a plurality of pilot holes 52/62 (holders) separate from the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 are located on clamps 50/60 are seated on sides of the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 facing away from the at least one energy accumulator and/or electronic module 10 and are held on the at least one energy accumulator and/or electronic module 10 by the screws 54/64 of the traction elements 50/60, 52/62, 54/64 (Fig. 3, [0013]-[0014]).
Regarding Claim 19, Taylor in view of Guidat teaches the instantly claimed energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly of Claim 15, and Taylor discloses wherein at least one of the traction elements 50/60, 52/62, 54/64, specifically screws 54/64, are latchable in place on at least one of the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 (Fig. 3, [0014]).
Regarding Claim 20, Taylor in view of Guidat teaches the instantly claimed energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly of Claim 14, and Taylor discloses wherein the at least one energy accumulator and/or electronic module 10 comprises a plurality of energy accumulator and/or electronic modules 20 arranged adjacent to each other in a row (which meets the claim limitation of in a row or in a matrix) and are clamped by the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 on opposite sides (Fig. 2, [0013]-[0014]).
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor US PG Publication 2007/0097627 in view of Kopp US PG Publication 2017/0263987 and Guidat US Patent 7,044,207.
Regarding Claim 1, Taylor discloses an electronics assembly 10 (cooling device) for an electronics package 20 (energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly) ([0001], entire disclosure dependent upon) comprising:
a first heat sink 30 in whose interior at least one pass for cooling fluid or fluid vessel 80 (coolant channel) is formed ([0013]), wherein the first heat sink 30 comprises a first containment plate 82 (sheet metal blank) and a second containment plate 84 (sheet metal blank) ([0019]), wherein the first sheet metal blank 82 and the second sheet metal blank 84 are cohesively joined to each other surface to surface by a brazing process ([0019]), wherein the first sheet metal blank 82 has a channel-shaped bulge that bulges out of the joining plane between the first sheet metal blank 82 and the second sheet metal blank 84 (Fig. 3, [0019]), is connected to the second sheet metal blank 84 only at an edge of the second sheet metal blank 84 (Fig. 3, [0019]), and forms the at least one coolant channel 80 (Fig. 3, [0019]);
a second heat sink 40 comprising at least one fluid vessel 80 (coolant channel) and containment plates 82, 84 (sheet metal blanks) joined to each other by a brazing process ([0019]); and
clamps 50/60 including pilot holes 52/62 and positioning fasteners 54/64 (traction elements), wherein the traction elements 50/60,52/62,54/64 connect the first heat sink 30 to the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly 20 (Fig. 3, [0013]-[0014]), connect the second heat sink 40 to the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly 20 (Fig. 3, [0013]-[0014]), and connect the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink to each other (Fig. 3, [0013]-[0014]),
wherein the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 are on opposite sides of the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly 20 such that the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly 20 is sandwiched between the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 in a gap between the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 that corresponds to the dimensions of the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly 20 (Fig. 2, [0013]), and
wherein the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 are tensioned towards each other and on the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly 20 by the traction elements 50/60, 52/62, 54/64 such that the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly 20 is clamped between the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 to form an electronics assembly 10 (Figs. 2-3, [0013]-[0014]), wherein the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 each comprise convex surfaces defining connection surfaces on the clamps 50/60 shaped-adapted to connection poles of the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly ([0017]), and wherein the connection surfaces comprise bore- and/or hole-like recesses shape-adapted to circuit connections 24 (pin-like protruding connection journals) of a battery and/or a capacitor ([0016]).
While Taylor discloses a method for connecting the first sheet metal blank 82 and the second sheet metal blank 84 ([0019]), Taylor fails to disclose wherein the method comprises a roll-bonding joining connection.
However, Kopp discloses a cooling plate for an electrical energy storage device ([0004], entire disclosure dependent upon) comprising a base plate in whose interior at least one cooling channel is formed ([0004]), wherein the base plate comprises a first sheet metal and a second sheet metal that are comprise aluminum, aluminum alloys, copper, and/or gold sheets ([0006]) and are cohesively joined to each other in a non-detachable manner with a roll bonding method and/or adhesive method to form a channel-shaped bulge ([0004], [0013], [0031]) with a harmoniously curved wave contour as seen in cross-section (Fig. 1c). The channel-shaped bulge is formed by inflation ([0011]), such that the sheet metals form a flat heat sink plate with the exception of the channel-shaped bulge (Fig. 3, [0033]). Thereby increasing mechanical stability and decreasing weight of the overall apparatus ([0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cooling device of Taylor such that the first sheet metal blank and the second sheet metal blank comprise aluminum, aluminum alloys, copper, and/or gold sheets and are cohesively joined to each other in a non-detachable manner with a roll bonding method to form a channel-shaped bulge with a harmoniously curved wave contour as seen in cross-section and wherein the channel-shaped bulge is formed by inflation, such that the first sheet metal blank and the second sheet metal blank form a flat heat sink plate with the exception of the channel-shaped bulge, thereby increasing mechanical stability and decreasing weight of the overall apparatus, as taught by Kopp.
Taylor in view of Kopp fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first sheet metal blank 82 and the second sheet metal blank 84 have the same thickness.
However, Guidat discloses a heat exchange module (Abstract, entire disclosure dependent upon). Guidat teaches welding two flat metal sheets together with identical shapes and thicknesses of less than 1.5 mm results in improved economic and thermal properties (Column 4, lines 25-52).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cooling device of Taylor in view of Kopp such that the first sheet metal blank and the second sheet metal blank have the same thickness and shape in order to improve economic and thermal properties of the cooling device, as taught by Guidat.
Regarding Claim 3, Taylor in view of Kopp and Guidat teaches the instantly claimed cooling device according to Claim 1, and (as previously described in the rejection of Claim 1) Taylor in view of Kopp and Guidat discloses wherein the channel-shaped bulge has a harmoniously curved wave contour as seen in cross section (Kopp Fig. 1c).
Figure 1c of Kopp
Regarding Claim 4, Taylor in view of Kopp and Guidat teaches the instantly claimed cooling device according to Claim 1, and (as previously described in the rejection of Claim 1) Taylor in view of Kopp and Guidat discloses wherein the channel-shaped bulge is formed by inflation (Kopp [0011]).
Regarding Claim 6, Taylor in view of Kopp and Guidat teaches the instantly claimed cooling device according to Claim 1, and (as previously described in the rejection of Claim 1) Taylor in view of Kopp and Guidat discloses wherein the cohesively joined first sheet metal blank and the second sheet metal blank form a flat heat sink plate with the exception of the channel shaped bulge (Kopp Fig. 3, [0033]).
Regarding Claim 8, Taylor in view of Kopp and Guidat teaches the instantly claimed cooling device according to Claim 1, and (as previously described in the rejection of Claim 1) Taylor in view of Kopp and Guidat discloses wherein the first sheet metal blank and the second sheet metal blank comprise aluminum, aluminum alloys, copper, and/or gold sheets (which meets the claim limitation of comprise aluminum sheets) (Kopp [0006]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor US PG Publication 2007/0097627 in view of Guidat US Patent 7,044,207, as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Gradinger US PG Publication 2013/0077245.
Regarding Claim 5, Taylor in view of Guidat teaches the instantly claimed cooling device of Claim 1.
Taylor in view of Guidat fails to disclose wherein only the first sheet metal blank has the channel-shaped bulge, and wherein the second sheet metal blank is flat and/or has a bulge-free surface.
However, Gradinger discloses a cooling device (e.g., cooling module) for cooling an energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly (e.g., electronic and/or electric component) ([0008]) comprising:
a first heat sink ([0122]) in whose interior at least one coolant channel (e.g., conduit 113) is formed, wherein the plate-shaped heat sink comprises a first sheet metal blank and a second sheet metal blank (e.g., panels 11) ([0120]-[0126]), wherein the first sheet metal blank and the second sheet metal blank (e.g., panels 11) are cohesively joined to each other surface to surface with a roll-bonding joining connection (e.g., rollbonded) ([0124]), wherein the first sheet metal blank (e.g., panel 11) had a channel-shaped bulge that bulges out of a joining plane between the first sheet metal blank (e.g., panel 11) and the second sheet metal blank (e.g., panel 11), is connected to the second sheet metal blank (e.g., panel 11) only at its edge, and forms the at least one coolant channel (e.g., conduit 113) (Modified Fig. 7, [0133]-[0136]).
Gradinger teaches wherein only the first sheet metal blank (e.g., panel 11) has the channel shaped bugle, and wherein the second sheet metal has a bulge free surface (which meets the claim limitation of is flat and/or has a bulge-free surface) to properly transfer the coolant (Modified Fig. 7, [0133]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cooling device of Taylor in view of Guidat such that only the first sheet metal blank has the channel-shaped bulge, and wherein the second sheet metal blank has a bulge free surface in order to properly transfer the coolant, as taught by Gradinger.
Annotated Fig. 7 of Gradinger
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor US PG Publication 2007/0097627 in view of Guidat US Patent 7,044,207, as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Sayir US PG Publication 2007/0053168.
Regarding Claim 13, Taylor in view of Guidat teaches the instantly claimed cooling device of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the first sheet metal blank and the second sheet metal blank have an aluminum oxide (Al2O3) coating.
However, Sayir discloses a thermal management assembly (cooling device) for dissipating thermal energy (cooling) an electronic device (energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly) with a heat sink ([0010]).
Sayir teaches applying a coating layer of aluminum oxide with plasma spray coating to act as an adhesive to further laminate metal foil (sheet metal blank) ([0052]-[0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to further include, in the cooling device of Taylor in view of Guidat, the first sheet metal blank and the second sheet metal blank having an aluminum oxide (Al2O3) coating to act as an adhesive to further laminate the metal sheet blanks, as taught by Sayir.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor US PG Publication 2007/0097627 in view of Guidat US Patent 7,044,207, as applied to Claim 15, further in view of Leah US PG Publication 2016/0380298.
Regarding Claim 18, Taylor in view of Guidat teaches the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly of claim 15 but fails to disclose wherein the traction elements are pull rods.
However, Leah teaches a fuel cell stack comprising first and second ends between a base plate and an end plate ([0023]).
Leah teaches the base plate, end plate, and at least one fuel cell are clamped together using tension pull rods to exert compressive force upon the components between them ([0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application that the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly of Taylor in view of Guidat would further comprise the traction elements being pull rods in order to exert compressive force upon the components between the traction elements, as taught by Leah.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor US PG Publication 2007/0097627 in view of Guidat US Patent 7,044,207, as applied to Claim 14, further in view of Sayir US PG Publication 2007/0053168.
Regarding Claim 21, Taylor in view of Guidat teaches the instantly claimed energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly of claim 14, and Taylor discloses wherein the first heat sink 30 and/or the second heat sink 40 comprises a connection surface on clamps 50/60 shape-adapted to at least one connection pole of the at least one energy accumulator and/or electronic module 10 (Fig. 3, [0016]).
Taylor in view of Guidat fails to disclose wherein the first heat sink and/or the second heat sink comprises an insulating and/or thermally conductive coating comprising a ceramic coating or an aluminum oxide coating.
However, Sayir discloses a thermal management assembly (cooling device) for dissipating thermal energy (cooling) an electronic device (energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly) with a heat sink ([0010]).
Sayir teaches applying a coating layer of a ceramic or aluminum oxide with plasma spray coating to act as an adhesive to form an ultra-thin heat sink or further laminate metal foil (sheet metal blank) ([0052]-[0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to further include, in the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly of Taylor in view of Guidat, the first heat sink and/or the second heat sink comprising an insulating and/or thermally conductive coating comprising a ceramic coating or an aluminum oxide coating to form an ultra-thin heat sink or further laminate the sheet metal blank, as taught by Sayir.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/O.M.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729