DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the August 29th, 2024 arguments and remarks (“Remarks”). The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office Action.
Response to Amendments
In response to the amendments received in the Remarks on August 29th, 2024:
Claims 1, 3-8, and 10-29 are pending in the current application. Claims 1, 6-8, 10, 12, and 15-28 have been amended. Claims 2 and 9 have been cancelled. Further, Figure 3a has been added and Specification paragraphs [0055]-[0057] have been amended.
The previous objections to the drawings have been overcome in light of the newly added figure and the amendment to the Specification.
The previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112b have been overcome in light of the amendment to the Claims.
The cores of the previous prior art-based rejections have been overcome in light of the amendment. All changes made to the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Prior Art
Previously cited Kopp US PG Publication 2017/0263987
Previously cited Taylor US PG Publication 2007/0097627
Previously cited Gradinger US PG Publication 2013/0077245
Previously cited Sayir US PG Publication 2007/0053168
Previously cited Leah US PG Publication 2016/0380298
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed with the Remarks on August 29th, 2024 with respect to Claims 1-29 are based on the claims as amended. While Applicant’s arguments are acknowledged, they are found to be moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, presented below, as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the Claims.
Additionally, Applicant’s argument that the cooling plates of Kopp are similar to well known approaches and therefore will tend to bend and bulge due to reduced rigidity and therefore does not meet the claim limitations of at least independent Claim 1 is not persuasive. There is no requirement for the rigidity, size, or load baring for the heat sinks within the claim limitation as currently written and therefore, Kopp is not required to teach any of these specifications to meet the claim limitations of at least independent Claim 1. As discussed in the rejection below, Kopp is easily modified by Taylor within the scope of Kopp to meet the claim limitations of at least independent Claim 1. And, therefore, the argument is not persuasive.
Further, Applicant’s argument that since Taylor does not disclose using the two heat sinks to cool an energy storage module, Taylor fails to meet the claim limitations of at least amended Claim 1 is not persuasive. As applicant pointed out, the heat sinks of Taylor are used to cool a circuit board with electronic components which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize to be an electronic assembly. And therefore, the argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-8, 9-12, 14-17, 19-20, 22-24, and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopp US PG Publication 2017/0263987 in view of Taylor US PG Publication 2007/0097627.
Regarding Claim 1, Kopp discloses a cooling device (e.g., cooling plate) [for cooling] an energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly (e.g., electrical energy storage device) ([0004]) comprising:
a first heat sink (e.g., base plate [0033]) in whose interior at least one coolant channel 6(1), 6(2) is formed (e.g., comprise at least one cooling channel) (Modified Fig. 2, [0004]), wherein the first heat sink (e.g., base plate [0033]) comprises a first sheet metal 1 [blank] and a second sheet metal 2 [blank] (Modified Fig. 2, [0004], [0028]) having the same thickness as the first sheet metal 1 [blank] (see Modified Fig. 2), wherein the first sheet metal 1 [blank] and the second sheet metal 2 [blank] are cohesively joined to each other surface to surface (e.g., connected to one another in a non-detachable manner) ([0004]) with a roll-bonding joining connection (e.g., a roll bonding method and/or an adhesive method) ([0013]), wherein the first sheet metal 1 [blank] has a channel-shaped bulge that bulges out of the joining plane between the first sheet metal 1 [blank] and the second sheet metal 2 [blank], is connected to the second sheet metal 2 [blank] only at an edge of the second sheet metal 2 [blank], and forms the at least one coolant channel 6(1), 6(2) (Modified Fig. 2, [0031]).
Modified Figure 2 of Kopp
Kopp fails to disclose a second heat sink comprising at least one coolant channel and sheet metal blanks joined to each other.
However, Taylor discloses a cooling device (e.g., electronics assembly 10) for cooling an energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly (e.g., electronics packages 20) ([0001]) comprising:
a first heat sink 30 in whose interior at least one coolant channel (e.g., pass for cooling fluid or fluid vessel 80 [0019]) is formed ([0013]),
wherein the first heat sink 30 comprises a first metal sheet blank (e.g., containment plate 82) and a second metal sheet blank (e.g., containment plate 84) ([0019]),
wherein the first sheet metal blank (e.g., containment plate 82) and the second sheet metal blank (e.g., containment plate 84) are joined to each other surface to surface ([0019]),
wherein the first sheet metal blank (e.g., containment plate 82) has a channel-shaped bulge that bulges out of the joining plane between the first sheet metal blank (e.g., containment plate 82) and the second sheet metal blank (e.g., containment plate 84), is connected to the second sheet metal blank (e.g., containment plate 84) only at an edge of the second sheet metal blank, and forms the at least one coolant channel (e.g., fluid vessel 80) (Fig. 3, [0019]).
Taylor teaches a second heat sink 40 comprising at least one coolant channel (e.g., fluid vessel 80) and metal sheet blanks (e.g., containment plates 82, 84) joined to each other ([0014]); and traction elements (e.g., fasteners 54) ([0014]), wherein the traction elements 54 connect to the first heat sink 30 to the electronic assembly (e.g., electronics packages 20), connect the second heat sink 40 to the electronic assembly (e.g., electronics packages 20), and connect the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 to each other (see Fig. 2, [0014]), wherein the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 are on opposite sides of the electronic assembly (e.g., electronics packages 20) such that the electronic assembly (e.g., electronics packages 20) is sandwiched between the first heat sink and the second heat sink that corresponds to dimensions of the electronic assembly (e.g., electronics packages 20) (see Figs. 1 and 2, [0014]), and wherein the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 are tensioned towards each other and on the electronic assembly (e.g., electronics packages 20) by the traction elements (e.g., fasteners 54) such that the electronic assembly (e.g., electronics packages 20) is clamped between the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 (see Figs. 1 and 2, [0014]) in order to engage the periphery of the heat sinks and hold the heat sinks 30 and 40 in position ([0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cooling device of Kopp to further include a second heat sink comprising at least one coolant channel and metal sheet blanks joined to each other; and traction elements, wherein the traction elements connect to the first heat sink to the electronic assembly, connect the second heat sink to the electronic assembly, and connect the first heat sink and the second heat sink to each other, wherein the first heat sink and the second heat sink are on opposite sides of the electronic assembly such that the electronic assembly is sandwiched between the first heat sink and the second heat sink that corresponds to dimensions of the electronic assembly, and wherein the first heat sink and the second heat sink are tensioned towards each other and on the electronic assembly by the traction elements such that the electronic assembly is clamped between the first heat sink and the second heat sink in order to engage the periphery of the heat sinks and hold the heat sinks in position, as taught by Taylor.
Regarding Claim 3, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed cooling device of claim 1, and Kopp discloses wherein the channel-shaped bulge has a harmoniously curved wave contour as seen in cross section (Fig. 1c).
Figure 1c of Kopp
Regarding Claim 4, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed cooling device of claim 1, and Kopp discloses wherein the channel-shaped bulge is formed by inflation ([0011]).
Regarding Claim 6, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed cooling device of claim 1, and Kopp discloses wherein the cohesively joined first sheet metal 1 [blank] and the second sheet metal 2 [blank] form a flat heat sink plate with the exception of the channel-shaped bulge (Modified Fig. 2, Fig. 3, [0033]).
Regarding Claim 7, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed cooling device of claim 1, and Kopp discloses wherein the joining plane between the first sheet metal 1 [blank] and the second sheet metal 2 [blank] extends approximately centrally through a cross-sectional area of the first heat sink (e.g., base plate) (Modified Fig. 2, [0031]).
Regarding Claim 8, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed cooling device of claim 1, and Kopp discloses wherein the first sheet metal 1 [blank] and the second sheet metal 2 [blank] comprise aluminum, aluminum alloys, copper, and/or gold sheets (which meets the claim limitation of comprise aluminum sheets) ([0006]).
Regarding Claim 10, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed cooling device of claim 1, and Taylor teaches wherein on surfaces facing apart from each other holders (e.g., pilot holes 52) are seated on the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40, and wherein the holders (e.g., pilot holes 52) are held by the traction elements (e.g., fasteners 54) for properly positioning the heat sinks (Fig. 3, [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cooling device of Kopp in view of Taylor to comprise on surfaces facing apart from each other holders are seated on the first heat sink and the second heat sink, and wherein the holders are held by the traction elements, in order to properly position the heat sinks, as taught by Taylor.
Regarding Claim 11, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed cooling device of claim 10, and Taylor teaches wherein the holders (e.g., pilot holes 52) are of plate-shaped design (Fig. 3, [0014]), and wherein the traction elements (e.g., fasteners 54) are latchable to the holders (e.g., pilot holes 52) (e.g., pilot holes 52 for accurately positioning fasteners 54 (e.g., threaded screws)) to accurately place the heat sinks (Fig. 3, [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cooling device of Kopp in view of Taylor such that the holders are of plate-shaped design, and wherein the traction elements are latchable to the holders, as taught by Taylor.
Regarding Claim 12, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed cooling device of claim 1, and Kopp discloses wherein each of the heat sinks (e.g., base plate [0033] representing both the first and second heat sink) comprise connection surfaces shaped-adapted to connection poles of the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly (e.g., electric energy storage device or battery cells), and wherein the connection surface comprises hole-like recesses (which meets the claim limitation of bore- and/or hole-like recesses) shaped-adapted to pin-like protruding connection journals of a battery (which meets the claim limitation of a battery and/or a capacitor) (Modified Fig. 3, [0032]).
Modified Figure 3 of Kopp
Regarding Claim 14, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly (e.g., electrical energy storage device) comprising the cooling device of claim 1 for cooling at least one energy accumulator and/or electronic module (e.g., electrical energy storage device) (Kopp [0004]).
Regarding Claim 15, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly of claim 14, and Taylor teaches wherein the at least one energy accumulator and/or electronic module (e.g., electronics packages 20) are clamped with clamps 50 and 60 between two heat sinks 30, 40 (Fig. 2, [0013]-[0014]) comprising the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40, and wherein the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 are held on the at least one energy accumulator and/or electronic module (e.g., electronics packages 20) to properly position the heat sinks (Fig. 3, [0013]-[0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly of Kopp in view of Taylor such that the at least one energy accumulator and/or electronic module is clamped between the first heat sink and the second heat sink, and wherein the first heat sink and the second heat sink are held on the at least one energy accumulator and/or electronic module in order to properly position the heat sinks, as taught by Taylor.
Regarding Claim 16, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly of claim 15, and Taylor teaches wherein the at least one of the first heat sink 30 and second heat sink 40 is in contact with a connection pole (e.g., circuit connections 24) of the at least one energy accumulator and/or electronic module (e.g., electronics packages 20) in order to electrically connect the heat sinks and the electronic module ([0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly of Kopp in view of Taylor such that at least one of the first heat sink and the second heat sink is in contact with a connection pole of the at least one energy accumulator and/or electronic module in order to electrically connect the heat sinks and the electronic module, as taught by Taylor.
Regarding Claim 17, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly of claim 15, and Taylor teaches wherein two holders (e.g., pilot holes 52) separate from the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 are seated on sides of the first heat sink 30 and second heat sink 40 facing away from the at least one energy accumulator and/or electronic module (e.g., electronics packages 20) and are held on the at least one energy accumulator and/or electronic module (e.g., electronics packages 20) by the traction elements (e.g., fasteners 54) to properly place the heat sinks (Fig. 3, [0013]-[0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly of Kopp in view of Taylor such that two holders separate from the first heat sink and the second heat sink are seated on sides of the first heat sink and the second heat sink facing away from the at least one energy accumulator and/or electronic module and are held on the at least one energy accumulator and/or electronic module by the traction elements to properly place the heat sinks, as taught by Taylor.
Regarding Claim 19, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly of claim 15, and Taylor teaches wherein at least one of the traction elements (e.g., fasteners 54) is latchable in place on at least one of the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 (e.g., pilot holes 52 for accurately positioning fasteners 54 (e.g., threaded screws)) to properly place the heat sinks (Fig. 3, [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly of Kopp in view of Taylor such that at least one of the traction elements is latchable in place on at least one of the first heat sink and the second heat sink in order to properly place the heat sinks, as taught by Taylor.
Regarding Claim 20, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly of claim 14, and Taylor teaches wherein the at least one energy accumulator and/or electronic module (e.g., electronics packages 20) comprises a plurality of energy accumulator and/or electronic modules (e.g., electronic packages 20) arranged adjacent to each other in a row (which meets the claim limitation of in a row or in a matrix) and are clamped by the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 on opposite sides in order to properly place the heat sinks (Fig. 2, [0013]-[0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly of Kopp in view of Taylor such that at least one energy accumulator and/or electronic module comprises a plurality of energy accumulator and/or electronic modules arranged adjacent to each other in a row and are clamped by the first heat sink and the second heat sink on opposite sides to properly place the heat sinks, as taught by Taylor.
Figure 2 of Taylor
Regarding Claim 22, Kopp discloses a method of manufacturing a cooling device (e.g., cooling plate) [for cooling] an energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly (e.g., electrical energy storage device) ([0004]) comprising:
at first heat sink (e.g., base plate [0033]) having at least one coolant channel 6(1), 6(2) (Modified Fig. 2, [0004]),
wherein the first heat sink (e.g., base plate [0033]) comprises two sheet metal 1, 2 [blanks] that are cohesively joined to each other surface to surface by roll-bonding (e.g., roll bonding method and/or an adhesive method) such that the two sheet metal [blanks] are cohesively joined to each other surface to surface with a roll-bonding connection (Modified Fig. 2, [0010]-[0013]),
wherein before the two sheet metal 1, 2 [blanks] of the first heat sink are cohesively joined to each other surface to surface by roll bonding, a release agent (e.g., separating agent) is provided on at least one of the two sheet metal 1, 2 [blanks] of the first heat sink (e.g., applied to at least one first area of a first metal sheet), corresponding to the course of the at least one coolant channel 6(1), 6(2) of the first heat sink ([0009]),
and wherein after the two sheet metal 1, 2 [blanks] of the first heat sink are cohesively joined to each other surface to surface by roll bonding, at least one of the two sheet metal 1, 2 [blanks] is bulged by shaping in the region of the release agent (e.g., separating agent) in order to form the at least one coolant channel 6(1), 6(2) of the first heat sink ([0014]-[0015]).
Kopp fails to disclose a second heat sink.
However, Taylor discloses a cooling device (e.g., electronics assembly 10) for cooling an energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly (e.g., electronics packages 20) ([0001]) comprising:
a first heat sink 30 in whose interior at least one coolant channel (e.g., pass for cooling fluid or fluid vessel 80 [0019]) is formed ([0013]),
wherein the first heat sink 30 comprises a first metal sheet blank (e.g., containment plate 82) and a second metal sheet blank (e.g., containment plate 84) ([0019]),
wherein the first sheet metal blank (e.g., containment plate 82) and the second sheet metal blank (e.g., containment plate 84) are joined to each other surface to surface ([0019]),
wherein the first sheet metal blank (e.g., containment plate 82) has a channel-shaped bulge that bulges out of the joining plane between the first sheet metal blank (e.g., containment plate 82) and the second sheet metal blank (e.g., containment plate 84), is connected to the second sheet metal blank (e.g., containment plate 84) only at an edge of the second sheet metal blank, and forms the at least one coolant channel (e.g., fluid vessel 80) (Fig. 3, [0019]).
Taylor teaches a second heat sink 40 comprising at least one coolant channel (e.g., fluid vessel 80) and metal sheet blanks (e.g., containment plates 82, 84) joined to each other ([0014]); and traction elements (e.g., fasteners 54) ([0014]), wherein the traction elements 54 connect to the first heat sink 30 to the electronic assembly (e.g., electronics packages 20), connect the second heat sink 40 to the electronic assembly (e.g., electronics packages 20), and connect the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 to each other (see Fig. 2, [0014]), wherein the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 are on opposite sides of the electronic assembly (e.g., electronics packages 20) such that the electronic assembly (e.g., electronics packages 20) is sandwiched between the first heat sink and the second heat sink that corresponds to dimensions of the electronic assembly (e.g., electronics packages 20) (see Figs. 1 and 2, [0014]), and wherein the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 are tensioned towards each other and on the electronic assembly (e.g., electronics packages 20) by the traction elements (e.g., fasteners 54) such that the electronic assembly (e.g., electronics packages 20) is clamped between the first heat sink 30 and the second heat sink 40 (see Figs. 1 and 2, [0014]) in order to engage the periphery of the heat sinks and hold the heat sinks 30 and 40 in position ([0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cooling device of Kopp to further include a second heat sink comprising at least one coolant channel and two metal sheet blanks joined to each other; and traction elements, wherein the traction elements connect to the first heat sink to the electronic assembly, connect the second heat sink to the electronic assembly, and connect the first heat sink and the second heat sink to each other, wherein the first heat sink and the second heat sink are on opposite sides of the electronic assembly such that the electronic assembly is sandwiched between the first heat sink and the second heat sink that corresponds to dimensions of the electronic assembly, and wherein the first heat sink and the second heat sink are tensioned towards each other and on the electronic assembly by the traction elements such that the electronic assembly is clamped between the first heat sink and the second heat sink in order to engage the periphery of the heat sinks and hold the heat sinks in position, as taught by Taylor.
Regarding Claim 23, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed method of claim 22, and Kopp discloses wherein the at least one of the two sheet metal 1, 2 [blanks] of at least the first heat sink is bulged for forming the at least one coolant channel 6(1), 6(2) of the at least first heat sink by inflation (which meets the claim limitation of inflation and/or by introduction of a pressurized fluid) into a joining point between the two sheet metal 1, 2 [blanks] in the region of the release agent (e.g., separating agent) ([0014]-[0015]).
Regarding Claim 24, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed method of claim 22, and discloses wherein before the two sheet metal 1, 2 [blanks] of the at least first heat sink are cohesively joined to each other surface to surface by roll bonding, the release agent (e.g., separating agent) is printed on a surface of at least one of the two sheet metal 1, 2 [blanks] of the at least first heat sink by a [screen] printing process ([0009]).
Regarding Claim 26, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed method of claim 22, and Kopp discloses wherein an insulating coating (which meets the claim limitation of an insulating and/or thermally conductive coating) (e.g., synthetic material cover is an electrical insulator) is applied onto at least the first heat sink (e.g., metal plates) after the two sheet metal 1, 2 [blanks] of the at least first heat sink are cohesively joined to each other surface to surface by roll-bonding ([0012]).
Regarding Claim 27, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed method of claim 22.
Kopp in view of Taylor fails to disclose wherein on the first heat sink and/or the second heat sink a plate-shaped holder is applied which is held by at least one of the traction elements. However, Taylor teaches wherein on the at least one heat sink 30, 40 a plate shaped holder (e.g., pilot holes 52) is applied which is held by at least one traction element (e.g., fasteners 54) to sandwich the circuit board and electronics packages 20 (energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly) ([0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application that the method of Kopp in view of Taylor would further apply a plate-shaped holder on the first heat sink and/or second heat sink, which is held by at least one traction element to sandwich the circuit board and energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly, as taught by Taylor.
Regarding Claim 28, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed method of 22, and Kopp discloses wherein on at least one of the two sheet metal 1, 2 [blanks] of at least the first heat sink and/or on the at least the first heat sink (e.g., metal plates) an insulating coating (which meets the claim limitation of an insulating and/or thermally conductive coating) (e.g., synthetic material cover is an electrical insulator) is applied ([0012]).
Claims 5 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopp US PG Publication 2017/0263987 in view of Taylor US PG Publication 2007/0097627, further in view of Gradinger US PG Publication 2013/0077245.
Regarding Claim 5, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed cooling device of Claim 1.
Kopp in view of Taylor fails to disclose wherein only the first sheet metal blank has the channel-shaped bulge, and wherein the second sheet metal blank is flat and/or has a bulge-free surface.
However, Gradinger discloses a cooling device (e.g., cooling module) for cooling an energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly (e.g., electronic and/or electric component) ([0008]) comprising:
a first heat sink ([0122]) in whose interior at least one coolant channel (e.g., conduit 113) is formed, wherein the plate-shaped heat sink comprises a first sheet metal blank and a second sheet metal blank (e.g., panels 11) ([0120]-[0126]), wherein the first sheet metal blank and the second sheet metal blank (e.g., panels 11) are cohesively joined to each other surface to surface with a roll-bonding joining connection (e.g., rollbonded) ([0124]), wherein the first sheet metal blank (e.g., panel 11) had a channel-shaped bulge that bulges out of a joining plane between the first sheet metal blank (e.g., panel 11) and the second sheet metal blank (e.g., panel 11), is connected to the second sheet metal blank (e.g., panel 11) only at its edge, and forms the at least one coolant channel (e.g., conduit 113) (Modified Fig. 7, [0133]-[0136]).
Gradinger teaches wherein only the first sheet metal blank (e.g., panel 11) has the channel shaped bugle, and wherein the second sheet metal has a bulge free surface (which meets the claim limitation of is flat and/or has a bulge-free surface) to properly transfer the coolant (Modified Fig. 7, [0133]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cooling device of Kopp in view of Taylor such that only the first sheet metal blank has the channel-shaped bulge, and wherein the second sheet metal blank has a bulge free surface in order to properly transfer the coolant, as taught by Gradinger.
Modified Fig. 7 of Gradinger
Regarding Claim 25, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed method of claim 22, but fails to disclose wherein only one of the two sheet metal blanks is bulged for forming the at least one coolant channel.
However, Gradinger discloses a cooling device (e.g., cooling module) for cooling an energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly (e.g., electronic and/or electric component) ([0008]) comprising:
a plate-shaped heat sink ([0122]) in whose interior at least one coolant channel (e.g., conduit 113) is formed, wherein the plate-shaped heat sink comprises a first sheet metal blank and a second sheet metal blank (e.g., panels 11) ([0120]-[0126]), wherein the first sheet metal blank and the second sheet metal blank (e.g., panels 11) are adhesively joined to each other surface to surface (e.g., rollbonded) ([0124]), wherein the first sheet metal blank (e.g., panel 11) had a channel-shaped bulge that bulges out of a joining plane between the first sheet metal blank (e.g., panel 11) and the second sheet metal blank (e.g., panel 11) with about the same wall thickness, is connected to the second sheet metal blank (e.g., panel 11) only at its edge, and forms the at least one coolant channel (e.g., conduit 113) (Modified Fig. 7, [0133]-[0136]).
Gradinger teaches only one of the metal sheet blanks (e.g., panels 11) is bulged for forming the at least one coolant channel (e.g., conduit 113) to conduct the heat load of each metal sheet blank (e.g., panels 11) (Modified Fig. 7, [0133]-[0136], [0141]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application that the method of Kopp in view of Taylor would further comprise only one of the two sheet metal blanks being bulged for forming the at least one coolant channel to conduct the heat load of each metal sheet blank, as taught by Gradinger.
Claims 13, 21, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopp US PG Publication 2017/0263987 in view of Taylor US PG Publication 2007/0097627, further in view of Sayir US PG Publication 2007/0053168.
Regarding Claim 13, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed cooling device of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the first sheet metal blank and the second sheet metal blank have an aluminum oxide (Al2O3) coating.
However, Sayir discloses a thermal management assembly (cooling device) for dissipating thermal energy (cooling) an electronic device (energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly) with a heat sink ([0010]).
Sayir teaches applying a coating layer of aluminum oxide with plasma spray coating to act as an adhesive to further laminate metal foil (sheet metal blank) ([0052]-[0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to further include, in the cooling device of Kopp in view of Taylor, the first sheet metal blank and the second sheet metal blank having an aluminum oxide (Al2O3) coating to act as an adhesive to further laminate the metal sheet blanks, as taught by Sayir.
Regarding Claim 21, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly of claim 14, and Kopp discloses wherein the at least first heat sink comprises a connection surface shaped-adapted to at least one connection pole of the at least one energy accumulator and/or electronic module (e.g., electrical energy storage device) ([0032]-[0033]).
Kopp in view of Taylor fails to disclose wherein the first heat sink and/or the second heat sink comprises an insulating and/or thermally conductive coating comprising a ceramic coating or an aluminum oxide coating.
However, Sayir discloses a thermal management assembly (cooling device) for dissipating thermal energy (cooling) an electronic device (energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly) with a heat sink ([0010]).
Sayir teaches applying a coating layer of a ceramic or aluminum oxide with plasma spray coating to act as an adhesive to form an ultra-thin heat sink or further laminate metal foil (sheet metal blank) ([0052]-[0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to further include, in the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly of Kopp in view of Taylor, the first heat sink and/or the second heat sink comprising an insulating and/or thermally conductive coating comprising a ceramic coating or an aluminum oxide coating to form an ultra-thin heat sink or further laminate the sheet metal blank, as taught by Sayir.
Regarding Claim 29, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the instantly claimed method of claim 28, but fails to disclose wherein an aluminum oxide coating is applied by plasma coating.
However, Sayir discloses a thermal management assembly (cooling device) for dissipating thermal energy (cooling) an electronic device (energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly) with a heat sink ([0010]).
Sayir teaches applying a coating layer of aluminum oxide with plasma spray coating to act as an adhesive to further laminate metal foil (sheet metal blank) ([0052]-[0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to further include, in the method of Kopp in view of Taylor, an aluminum oxide coating applied by plasma coating to further laminate the sheet metal blanks, as taught by Sayir.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kopp US PG Publication 2017/0263987 in view of Taylor US PG Publication 2007/0097627, further in view of Leah US PG Publication 2016/0380298.
Regarding Claim 18, Kopp in view of Taylor teaches the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly of claim 15 but fails to disclose wherein the traction elements are pull rods.
However, Leah teaches a fuel cell stack comprising first and second ends between a base plate and an end plate ([0023]).
Leah teaches the base plate, end plate, and at least one fuel cell are clamped together using tension pull rods to exert compressive force upon the components between them ([0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application that the energy accumulator and/or electronic assembly of Taylor would further comprise the traction elements being pull rods in order to exert compressive force upon the components between the traction elements, as taught by Leah.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/O.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729