DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
The examiner respectfully reiterates that the application is directed to the use of a thin tantalum disulfide liner in a conventional dual damascene copper BEOL semiconductor manufacturing process. Harper et al. teaches the conventional process, while Chen provides motivation for modifying the Ta barrier of Harper to include the ultra-thin tantalum disulfide layer. The examiner does not identify any patentable subject matter in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 – 6, and 8 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harper et al. (US 6,300,236) in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0395311).
Regarding claim 1, Harper teaches (FIG 2A-2E):
A method of making a semiconductor component, the method comprising:
forming a lower level of the semiconductor component, wherein the lower level includes a first dielectric layer (11c), and a lower level line trench formed in the first dielectric layer;
lining the lower level line trench with a first barrier layer (15);
filling the lower level line trench with a first interconnect material (12) in order to form a lower level line of an interconnect structure;
forming an upper level of the semiconductor component by depositing a capping layer (16) on the first dielectric layer, the second barrier layer, and the lower level line, depositing a second dielectric layer (11b) on top of the capping layer, depositing an etch stop layer (28) on top of the second dielectric layer, and depositing a third dielectric layer (11a) on top of the etch stop layer;
forming a cavity in the upper level including an upper level line trench and an upper level via trench, wherein the upper level line trench extends through the third dielectric layer and from an uppermost surface of the upper level to the etch stop layer, and the upper level via trench is continuous with the upper level line trench and extends down to the first interconnect material of the lower level line (FIG. 2A);
forming a third barrier layer (15) made of tantalum on all surfaces exposed by the forming the cavity;
anisotropically etching the third barrier layer to remove the third barrier layer from substantially horizontal surfaces of the semiconductor component (FIG. 2B, directional etch); and
filling the cavity with a second interconnect material comprising copper (14, 12a, copper taught throughout as preferred material) to form an upper level line of the interconnect structure and an upper level via of the interconnect structure, wherein the second interconnect material is in direct contact with the lower level line and the fourth barrier layer (FIG. 2E),
wherein a bottom of the upper level line comprises a material that is compositionally different from tantalum disulfide (28), the interconnect structure forms a single, continuous interconnect (FIG. 2E), is adapted to provide an electrical connection between a power delivery network on a back side of the semiconductor component and at least one device on a front side of the semiconductor component (wiring layers inherently provide electrical connection between BEOL power delivery networks and transistor source/drain areas to enable transistor operation).
Harper fails to expressly disclose converting the tantalum barrier layers to tantalum disulfide wherein sidewalls of the upper level via are lined with two-dimensional tantalum disulfide.
However, Chen teaches the formation of extremely thin copper diffusion barrier layers in interconnect structures formed of 2D tantalum disulfide having a thickness as small as 0.7 nm ([0038] – [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liner of Harper by converting the Ta layer to a TaS2 layer for the predictable advantage of reducing liner thickness (Chen [0007], [0030] – [0038]). Performing the same conversion process to multiple liners is obvious since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
It has been held that the recitation that an element is "adapted to" perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138.
Regarding claim 4, Harper teaches (FIG. 2B):
The method of claim 1, wherein forming the cavity includes the upper level via trench exposing a portion of lower level line, and the upper level line trench exposing a portion of the etch stop layer.
Regarding claim 5, Harper teaches (FIG. 2B):
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
removing etch stop layer that is arranged outside of the upper level line after filling the cavity.
Regarding claim 6, Chen in view of Harper teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the second barrier layer is made of a different material than the third barrier layer (conversion of the first Ta barrier layer must occur prior to deposition of the third barrier material).
Regarding claim 8, Harper teaches (FIG. 2E):
A semiconductor component, comprising:
an interconnect structure including:
a lower level line (12) separated from surrounding dielectric material by a sidewall made of a first liner material (15);
a via (14) arranged in direct contact with the lower level line and separated from surrounding dielectric material by a sidewall made of a second liner material (15); and
an upper level line (12a) arranged in direct contact with the via and separated from surrounding dielectric material by a sidewall made of the second liner material (15) and by a bottom wall made of a third liner material that comprises a material that is compositionally different from tantalum disulfide (28),
wherein the lower level line, the via, and the upper level line are filled with a single interconnect material comprising copper (copper is taught throughout as the preferred material) that is continuous and that extends from a bottom of the lower level line to an uppermost surface of the interconnect structure (FIG. 2E), and the interconnect structure is adapted to provide an electrical connection between a power delivery network on a back side of the semiconductor component and at least one device on a front side of the semiconductor component (wiring layers inherently provide electrical connection between BEOL power delivery networks and transistor source/drain areas to enable transistor operation).
Harper fails to expressly disclose two-dimensional tantalum disulfide liners having a thickness of 0.7-1.5 nanometers.
However, Chen teaches the formation of extremely thin copper diffusion barrier layers in interconnect structures formed of 2D tantalum disulfide having a thickness as small as 0.7 nm ([0038] – [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liner of Harper by converting the Ta layer to a TaS2 layer for the predictable advantage of reducing liner thickness (Chen [0007], [0030] – [0038]). Performing the same conversion process to multiple liners is obvious since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 9, Harper teaches:
The semiconductor component of claim 8, wherein the second liner material is different than the third liner material (Ta/”etch stop”).
Regarding claim 10, Harper teaches:
The semiconductor component of claim 8, wherein the first liner material is the same as the second liner material (15).
Regarding claim 11, Harper teaches:
The semiconductor component of claim 8, wherein the dielectric material surrounding the lower level line is separated from the dielectric material surrounding the via by a capping layer (16).
Regarding claim 12, Harper teaches:
The semiconductor component of claim 8, wherein the via is integrally formed with the lower level line (FIG. 2E).
Regarding claim 13, Harper teaches:
The semiconductor component of claim 8, wherein the bottom wall is substantially horizontal, and the sidewalls are not substantially horizontal (FIG. 2E).
Regarding claim 14, Harper teaches:
The semiconductor component of claim 8, wherein the bottom wall is in direct contact with the sidewall that separates the via from the surrounding dielectric material, and the bottom wall is in direct contact with the sidewall that separates the upper level line from the surrounding dielectric material (FIG. 2E).
Regarding claim 15, Harper teaches:
The semiconductor component of claim 8, wherein the lower level line is made of an interconnect material, the via is made of the interconnect material, and the interconnect material of the lower level line and of the via are continuous with one another (FIG. 2E).
Regarding claim 16, Harper teaches (FIG. 2E):
A semiconductor component, comprising:
a continuous interconnect structure made of a single piece of interconnect material comprising copper (copper is taught throughout as the preferred material) extending from a bottom surface of the interconnect structure to a top surface of the interconnect structure, the interconnect structure including:
a lower level line (12) separated from surrounding dielectric material (11c) by a sidewall made of a first liner material (15);
an upper level line (12a) including a sidewall (15) that separates the upper level line from surrounding dielectric material (11a), a bottom of the upper level line comprises a material that is compositionally different from tantalum disulfide (28); and
a via (14) extending from the lower level line to the upper level line, the via arranged in direct contact with the lower level line, separated from surrounding dielectric material (11b) by a sidewall made of a second liner material (15), and arranged in direct contact with the upper level line (FIG. 2E), wherein the continuous interconnect structure is adapted to provide an electrical connection between a power delivery network on a back side of the semiconductor component and at least one device on a front side of the semiconductor component (wiring layers inherently provide electrical connection between BEOL power delivery networks and transistor source/drain areas to enable transistor operation).
Harper fails to expressly disclose two-dimensional tantalum disulfide liners having a thickness of 0.7-1.5 nanometers.
However, Chen teaches the formation of extremely thin copper diffusion barrier layers in interconnect structures formed of 2D tantalum disulfide having a thickness as small as 0.7 nm ([0038] – [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the liner of Harper by converting the Ta layer to a TaS2 layer for the predictable advantage of reducing liner thickness (Chen [0007], [0030] – [0038]). Performing the same conversion process to multiple liners is obvious since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 17, Harper teaches:
The semiconductor component of claim 16, wherein the lower level line is partially delimited by the bottom surface of the interconnect structure (FIG. 2E).
Regarding claim 18, Harper teaches:
The semiconductor component of claim 16, wherein the upper level line is partially delimited by the top surface of the interconnect structure (FIG. 2E).
Regarding claim 19, Harper teaches:
The semiconductor component of claim 18, wherein the upper level line is partially delimited by a bottom wall made of a first barrier material (FIG. 2E).
Regarding claim 20, Harper teaches:
The semiconductor component of claim 19, wherein the via is partially delimited by a side wall made of a second barrier material, and the second barrier material is different than the first barrier material (FIG. 2E).
Regarding claim 21, Harper teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the interconnect structure is a single, continuous structure made of copper (FIG. 2E).
Regarding claim 22, Harper teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the lower level line is in direct contact with the second barrier layer (FIG. 2E).
Conclusion
/CORY W ESKRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624