DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The compound disclosed on Pages 35-38 and 96-98 of the as-filed Specification appear to be illegible. Applicants are advised to amend these sections of the Specification with clear or legible images of the compounds.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 12 recites illegible compounds. Applicants are advised to amend the claim to recite clear or legible images of the compounds. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 20 recites illegible compounds. Applicants are advised to amend the claim to recite clear or legible images of the compounds. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites compounds 13 and 17:
and
,
which render the scope of the claim indefinite for the following reasons. Claim 20 depends from claim 13, and claim 13 recites Formula 1 as:
,
where X3 is NR8, and R8 is a phenyl group. However, in the compounds above, R8 is a substituted phenyl, i.e. biphenyl or triphenyl which is excluded by claim 13.
It is noted that were Applicant to cancel Compounds 13 and 17 above, the remaining compound, Compound 1, would present issues under 35 U.S.C. 112 (d) for the following reasons. Compound 1 in claim 20 has the following formula:
,
and Formula 1 in claim 13 only encompasses a single compound, thereby claim 20 would not limit the scope of the parent claim, i.e. Compound 1 in claim 20 is identical to the single compound encompassed by Formula 1 in claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al (US 2020/0190115, cited on IDS filed on 10/18/2021, hereafter Hatakeyama ‘115).
Regarding claim 12, Hatakeyama ‘115 discloses the following organic light emitting device (Figure 1):
,
where layer 102 corresponds to the recited first electrode; layer 108 corresponds to the recited second electrode; layers 103 to 107 correspond to the recited organic layer; and layer 105 corresponds to the recited light emitting layer ([0144]). The positive electrode (102) and negative electrode (108) are formed from a metal such as aluminum (Al) or gold (Au) ([0152] and [0431]).
The light emitting layer (105) comprises the following compound ([0058] and Page 4 – Compound (1-1A):
.
Paragraph [0041] discloses that the diarylamino groups can be substituted by a C1-12 alkyl, e.g. a C2 alkyl ([0047]). Accordingly, the disclosure of the reference encompasses Compound 62 of the claims:
.
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed organic light emitting device nor can the claimed organic light emitting device be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed organic light emitting device and the organic light emitting device disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compound an organic light emitting device which is both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1, 3, 4, and 13 are allowable over the “closest” prior art Hatakeyama et al (US 2020/0190115, cited on IDS filed on 10/18/2021, hereafter Hatakeyama ‘115) for the following reasons.
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Hatakeyama ‘115 discloses an organic light emitting device, where the light emitting layer comprises the following compound:
.
Paragraph [0041] discloses that the diarylamino groups can be substituted by a C1-12 alkyl. However, the reference does not disclose or suggest the criticality of a methyl group in an ortho position to the central nitrogen of a biphenylamino group as required by Formulas 2-1:
where Z1 and Z2 are methyl groups and R9 and R10 are hydrogen, especially in light of the data presented in the instant Specification. Specifically, Table 1 of the instant Specification demonstrates the criticality of the position of the methyl group, where Compound 1 (see Example 1, Pages 98 of the as-filed Specification), within the scope of the claims 1 and 13, i.e.:
,
has improved efficiency and device life ratio (T95) as compared to a compound where the methyl group are para to the nitrogen of the diphenyl amine group, e.g. Comparative Example 2, utilizing Compound C2:
.
Given that Hatakeyama ‘115 does not disclose or suggest the criticality of the methyl group in terms of improved efficiency and device life ratio (T95), it is clear that the reference does not disclose or suggest the compound or an organic light emitting device comprising the compound as recited in the present claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In light of the amendments to the claims, the 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) rejections set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn. Furthermore, in light of Applicants’ Remarks filed on 4/15/2026, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1, 3, and 4, as set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn, see Paragraph 13 above indicating reasons why claims 1 and 13 are allowable.
Applicants argue that Hatakeyama ‘115 does not disclose the compounds as recited in claim 12 as amended. However, as discussed in the rejection above, the reference discloses the following compound ([0058] and Page 4 – Compound (1-1A):
.
and Paragraph [0041] discloses that the diarylamino groups can be substituted by a C1-12 alkyl, e.g. a C2 alkyl ([0047]). Accordingly, the disclosure of the reference encompasses Compound 62 of the claims:
.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER C KOLLIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786