DETAILED ACTION
All outstanding objections and rejections, except for those maintained below, are withdrawn in light of applicant's amendment filed on 9/4/2026.
The new grounds of rejection set forth below are necessitated by applicant's amendment filed on 9/4/2026. In particular, original Claim 12 has been amended to recite limitations not previously presented. Thus, the following action is properly made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al (US 2020/0190115, cited on IDS filed on 10/18/2021, hereafter Hatakeyama ‘115).
Regarding claim 12, Hatakeyama ‘115 discloses the following organic light emitting device (Figure 1):
,
where layer 102 corresponds to the recited first electrode; layer 108 corresponds to the recited second electrode; layers 103 to 107 correspond to the recited organic layer; layer 105 corresponds to the recited light emitting layer; and layer 103, i.e. the hole transport layer, corresponds to the recited hole transport region disposed on the first electrode (102) ([0144]). The positive electrode (102) and negative electrode (108) are formed from a metal such as aluminum (Al) ([0152] and [0431]).
The light emitting layer (105) comprises the following compound ([0058] and Page 7 – Compound (1-5000R100):
,
where independently each R100 can be an aryloxy or a diarylamino group, where the aryl has 6 to 10 carbon atoms and may be substituted by an alkyl having 1 to 6 carbon atoms ([0055]). The aryl of the aryloxy is a benzene ring and is found exemplified in Compound ([0112], [0100] and Page 17 Compound 1-1-01A):
.
Accordingly, the disclosure of the reference encompasses Compound 66 of the claims:
.
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed organic light emitting device nor can the claimed organic light emitting device be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed organic light emitting device and the organic light emitting device disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compound an organic light emitting device which is both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1, 3, 4, and 13 are allowable over the “closest” prior art Hatakeyama et al (US 2020/0190115, cited on IDS filed on 10/18/2021, hereafter Hatakeyama ‘115) for the following reasons.
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Hatakeyama ‘115 discloses an organic light emitting device, where the light emitting layer comprises the following compound:
.
Paragraph [0041] discloses that the diarylamino groups can be substituted by a C1-12 alkyl. However, the reference does not disclose or suggest the criticality of a methyl group in an ortho position to the central nitrogen of a biphenylamino group as required by Formulas 2-1:
where Z1 and Z2 are methyl groups and R9 and R10 are hydrogen, especially in light of the data presented in the instant Specification. Specifically, Table 1 of the instant Specification demonstrates the criticality of the position of the methyl group, where Compound 1 (see Example 1, Pages 98 of the as-filed Specification), within the scope of the claims 1 and 13, i.e.:
,
has improved efficiency and device life ratio (T95) as compared to a compound where the methyl group are para to the nitrogen of the diphenyl amine group, e.g. Comparative Example 2, utilizing Compound C2:
.
Given that Hatakeyama ‘115 does not disclose or suggest the criticality of the methyl group in terms of improved efficiency and device life ratio (T95), it is clear that the reference does not disclose or suggest the compound or an organic light emitting device comprising the compound as recited in the present claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In light of the amendments to the claims and Specification, the objections to the Specification and claims as set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn. Furthermore, in light of the claim amendments, the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection set forth in the previous Office Action is withdrawn.
Applicants argue that Hatakeyama et al does not disclose the subject matter recited in claim 12 as amended. However, as discussed in the rejections above, the reference discloses the following formula:
,
where independently each R100 can be an aryloxy or a diarylamino group, where the aryl is an aryl having 6 to 10 carbon atoms and may be substituted by an alkyl having 1 to 6 carbon atoms ([0055]). The aryl of the aryloxy is a benzene ring. Accordingly, the disclosure of the reference encompasses Compound 66 of the claims:
.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER C KOLLIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786