Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
For example, the first and second positive terminal 1624 and 1524, capacitor 1625, and negative terminal are not disclosed in the original drawing of FIG. 16C as shown above. Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 21, 24-25 and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nakaiso (Pub. No.: US 2017/0338038).
Re claim 1, Nakaiso teaches a capacitance device, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (10, FIG. 6);
a capacitor ([C], FIGS. 2/6, ¶ [0051]) disposed on the semiconductor substrate, the capacitor including first and second positive terminals (61A-E, FIG. 1-2, ¶ [0044]) and first and second negative terminals (62A-D);
a passivation layer (L1-L9, FIGS. 6 & 9, [as shown above], ¶ [0098]) formed over the capacitor, the first and second positive terminals (51A/61A & 61B/51B) and the first and second negative terminals (62C/52 & 62A/52), the passivation layer defining a first opening (occupied by 61A) over the first positive terminal (51A/61A), a second opening (occupied by 61B) over the second positive terminal (61B/51B), a third opening (occupied by 62C) over the first negative terminal (62C/52) and a fourth opening (occupied by 62A) over the second negative terminal (62A/52), wherein the passivation layer (90) has a first surface (top) opposite a second surface (bottom) defining a thickness therebetween and wherein each of the first, second, third, and fourth openings (occupied by 61A/61B/62C/62A) extend through the thickness;
a first electrical connection ([81A+81B+42B+62+52] or [8a+42+82+52] as shown in FIG. 8B], FIGS. 4/5/6, note that 81A/81B are connected to positive terminals 62/52 as shown in FIG. 6, note that 81A/81B formed on L5 and 62/52 formed on L9 or [8a+42+82+52 as shown in FIG. 8B]) having a first portion (top portion) and directly disposed on the first surface (top) of passivation layer (L1-L9 or [P] in different embodiment [as shown in FIG. 8BB]) and including first extending portions that extend through each of the first and second openings (note that “openings that will serve as contact holes are formed in the SiO2 film by performing inductive coupling plasma reactive ion etching (ICP-RIE)”, ¶ [0062]), the first electrical connection [81A+81B+62+52] electrically coupling the first positive terminal to the second positive terminal; and
a second electrical connection ([71A+71B++41+61+51], FIGS. 4/5/6, note that 71A/71B are connected to negative terminals 61/51 as shown in FIG. 633 and note that 71A/71B are belong to L5 and 61/51 are belong to L9 of FIG. 5) having a second portion disposed directly on the first surface (top) of the passivation layer (L1-L9) and including second extending portions that extend through each of the third and fourth openings (note that “openings that will serve as contact holes are formed in the SiO2 film by performing inductive coupling plasma reactive ion etching (ICP-RIE)”, ¶ [0062]), the second electrical connection [71A+71B+61+51] electrically coupling the first negative terminal to the second negative terminal.
Re claim 2, Nakaiso teaches the capacitance device of claim 1 wherein the first and the second positive terminals (51A/61A & 61B/51B) and the first and the second negative terminals (62C/52 & 62A/52) each comprise parallel metallic traces (71/72/81/82, Fig. 9), extending across a surface of the semiconductor substrate.
Re claim 3, Nakaiso teaches the capacitance device of claim 1 wherein the first [81A+81B+62+52] and second [71A+71B+61+51] electrical connection are conductive pillars configured to be electrically and mechanically coupled to the semiconductor substrate (10).
Nakaiso differs from the invention by not showing copper material.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to include the above said teaching because copper is a very well-known material for making a contact since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416.
Re claim 4, Nakaiso, FIGS. 1-2 teaches the capacitance device of claim 1, wherein the capacitor further comprises third and fourth positive terminals (51C/61C & 61D/51D) and third and fourth negative terminals (62D/52 & 62B/52).
Re claim 5, Nakaiso, FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 teaches the capacitance device of claim 4, wherein the passivation layer (90) defines a fifth opening (occupied by 61C) over the third positive terminal (51C/61C), a sixth opening (occupied by 61D) over the fourth positive terminal (61D/51D), a seventh opening (occupied by 62D) over the third negative terminal (62D/52) and an eighth opening (occupied by 62B) over the fourth negative terminal (62B/52).
Re claim 6, Nakaiso teaches he capacitance device of claim 5, further comprising a third electrical connection disposed on the passivation layer and including third extending portions that extend through each of the fifth and sixth openings (occupied by 61C/61D), electrically coupling the third positive terminal to the fourth positive terminal (61C/51C & 61D/51D); and
a fourth electrical connection disposed on the passivation layer and including fourth extending portions that extend through each of the seventh and eighth openings (occupied by 62D/62B), electrically coupling the third negative terminal to the fourth negative terminal (62D/52 & 62B/52).
Re claim 7, Nakaiso teaches the capacitance device of claim 6 wherein the first (61A/51A & 61B/51B) and third (61C/51B & 61D/51D) electrical connection are arranged in a first column and the second (62C/52 & 62A/52) and fourth (62D/52 & 62B/52) electrical connection are arranged in a second column.
Re claim 21, Nakaiso teaches the capacitance device of claim 1, wherein the capacitor is a first capacitor (connected to [F&ST], FIG. 4 [as shown above]), and the capacitance device further comprises a second capacitor disposed on the semiconductor substrate, the second capacitor comprising third and fourth positive ([T&FT], note that in manufacturing they are not made just one capacitor) terminals and third and fourth negative terminals [T&FNT].
Re claim 24, Nakaiso, FIGS. 4/6 and 9 teaches the capacitance device of claim 21, wherein the first, the second, the third, and the fourth positive terminals ([F&ST] & [T&FT]) and the first, the second, the third, and the fourth negative terminals ([F&SNT] & [T& FNT]) each comprise parallel metallic traces extending across a surface of the semiconductor substrate.
Re claim 25, Nakaiso, FIGS. 4/6 and 9 teaches the capacitance device of claim 21, the passivation layer further defining a fifth opening (located in layer 22B of FIGS. 4 and 6) over the third positive terminal (located in layer 21A), a sixth opening (located in layer 22B) over the fourth positive terminal (located in layer 21A), a seventh opening (located in layer 21B) over the third negative terminal (located in layer 22B), and an eighth opening (located in layer 21B) over the fourth negative terminal (located in layer 22B).
Re claim 26, Nakaiso teaches he capacitance device of claim 25, further comprising a third electrical connection ((51A/61A/72//41/71A/71B) & (61B/51B/72//41/71A/71B)) disposed on the passivation layer and including third extending portions that extend through each of the fifth and sixth openings (occupied by 61C/61D), electrically coupling the third positive terminal to the fourth positive terminal (61C/51C & 61D/51D); and
a fourth electrical connection ((62C/52/82//42B/81A/81B) & (62A/52/82/42B/81A/81B)) disposed on the passivation layer and including fourth extending portions that extend through each of the seventh and eighth openings (occupied by 62D/62B), electrically coupling the third negative terminal to the fourth negative terminal (62D/52 & 62B/52).
Re claim 27, Nakaiso, FIGS. 4/6 and 9 teaches the capacitance device of claim 26 wherein the third and fourth electrical connections are copper pillars (71A/71B & 81A/81B) configured to be electrically and mechanically coupled to the semiconductor substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakaiso in view of YU et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0225222) (hereinafter Yu).
Nakaiso fails to teach wherein the first capacitor has a first capacitance and the second capacitor has a second capacitance, and wherein the first capacitance is equal to the second capacitance.
Yu teaches wherein the first capacitor has a first capacitance and the second capacitor has a second capacitance, and wherein the first capacitance is equal to the second capacitance (MIM capacitors 200, Fig. 1, [0013]).
It would have been for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of providing depletion-free, high-conductance electrodes suitable for high-speed applications at low cost as taught by Yu, [0002].
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakaiso in view of Randall (Pub. No.: US 2012/0081870).
Nakaiso teaches all the limitation of claim 21.
Nakaiso fails to teach the limitation of claim 22.
Randall teaches the capacitance device of claim 21, wherein the first capacitor has a first capacitance and the second capacitor has a second capacitance, and wherein the first capacitance (210) is different than the second capacitance (219, Fig. 1, [0032]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of minimizing the device foot print as taught by Randall, [0002].
Claim(s) 1-7, 21, 24-25 and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIAO (Pub. No.: US 2012/0279771) filed in the IDS on 02/18/2025 in view of Nakaiso.
Re claim 1, XIAO, FIG. 1 [as shown above] teaches a capacitance device, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (10);
a capacitor (20, ¶¶ [0014]/[0004]) disposed on the semiconductor substrate, the capacitor including first and second positive terminals (said left 32) and first and second negative terminals (said right 32);
a passivation layer (40+30) formed over the capacitor, the first and second unknown terminals [F&SUPT] and the first and second unknown terminals [F&SUNT], the passivation layer (40) defining a first opening (holes 45/[FO], [0017]) over the first unknown terminal, a second opening [SO] over the second unknown terminal, a third opening [TO] over the first unknown terminal and a fourth opening [FO] over the second unknown terminal, wherein the passivation layer (40) has a first surface (bottom) opposite a second surface (top) defining a thickness therebetween and wherein each of the first, second, third, and fourth openings extend through the thickness;
a first electrical connection having a first portion ([452+42+44] of [F&SUPT], note that it was mislabel in paragraph [0017] as 425) disposed directly on the first surface (left) of the passivation layer (40+30) and including first extending portions that extend through each of the first and second openings, the first electrical connection electrically coupling the first positive terminal to the second unknown terminal [F&SUPT]; and
a second electrical connection having a second portion ([452+42+44] of [F&SUNT]) disposed on the first surface of the passivation layer and including second extending portions that extend through each of the third and fourth openings, electrically coupling the first negative terminal to the second unknown terminal [F&SUNT].
XIAO fails to teach the capacitors with positive and negative terminals.
Nakaiso teaches the capacitors with positive and negative terminals [(51A/61A & 61B/51B) and (62C/52 & 62A/52)].
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of eliminating noise as taught by Nakaiso, [0004].
Re claim 2, in the combination, XIAO, FIG. 1 teaches the capacitance device of claim 1 wherein the first and the second positive terminals [F&SUPT] and the first and the second negative terminals [F&SUNT] each comprise parallel metallic traces (42/44) extending across a surface of the semiconductor substrate.
Re claim 3, in the combination, XIAO, FIG. 1 teaches the capacitance device of claim 1 wherein the first and second electrical connections are copper pillars (452) configured to be electrically and mechanically coupled to the semiconductor substrate.
Re claim 4, in the combination, Nakaiso, FIGS. 1-2 teaches the capacitance device of claim 1, wherein the capacitor further comprises third and fourth positive terminals (51C/61C & 61D/51D) and third and fourth negative terminals (62D/52 & 62B/52).
Re claim 5, in the combination, Nakaiso, FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 teaches the capacitance device of claim 4, wherein the passivation layer (90) defines a fifth opening (occupied by 61C) over the third positive terminal (51C/61C), a sixth opening (occupied by 61D) over the fourth positive terminal (61D/51D), a seventh opening (occupied by 62D) over the third negative terminal (62D/52) and an eighth opening (occupied by 62B) over the fourth negative terminal (62B/52).
Re claim 6, in the combination, Nakaiso teaches he capacitance device of claim 5, further comprising a third electrical connection disposed on the passivation layer and including third extending portions that extend through each of the fifth and sixth openings (occupied by 61C/61D), electrically coupling the third positive terminal to the fourth positive terminal (61C/51C & 61D/51D); and
a fourth electrical connection disposed on the passivation layer and including fourth extending portions that extend through each of the seventh and eighth openings (occupied by 62D/62B), electrically coupling the third negative terminal to the fourth negative terminal (62D/52 & 62B/52).
Re claim 7, in the combination, Nakaiso teaches the capacitance device of claim 6 wherein the first (61A/51A & 61B/51B) and third (61C/51B & 61D/51D) electrical connection are arranged in a first column and the second (62C/52 & 62A/52) and fourth (62D/52 & 62B/52) electrical connection are arranged in a second column.
Re claim 21, in the combination, Nakaiso teaches the capacitance device of claim 1, wherein the capacitor is a first capacitor (connected to [F&ST], FIG. 4 [as shown above]), and the capacitance device further comprises a second capacitor disposed on the semiconductor substrate, the second capacitor comprising third and fourth positive ([T&FT], note that in manufacturing they are not made just one capacitor) terminals and third and fourth negative terminals [T&FNT].
Re claim 24, in the combination, Nakaiso, FIGS. 4/6 and 9 teaches the capacitance device of claim 21, wherein the first, the second, the third, and the fourth positive terminals ([F&ST] & [T&FT]) and the first, the second, the third, and the fourth negative terminals ([F&SNT] & [T& FNT]) each comprise parallel metallic traces extending across a surface of the semiconductor substrate.
Re claim 25, in the combination, Nakaiso, FIGS. 4/6 and 9 teaches the capacitance device of claim 21, the passivation layer further defining a fifth opening (located in layer 22B of FIGS. 4 and 6) over the third positive terminal (located in layer 21A), a sixth opening (located in layer 22B) over the fourth positive terminal (located in layer 21A), a seventh opening (located in layer 21B) over the third negative terminal (located in layer 22B), and an eighth opening (located in layer 21B) over the fourth negative terminal (located in layer 22B).
Re claim 26, in the combination, Nakaiso teaches he capacitance device of claim 25, further comprising a third electrical connection ((51A/61A/72//41/71A/71B) & (61B/51B/72//41/71A/71B)) disposed on the passivation layer and including third extending portions that extend through each of the fifth and sixth openings (occupied by 61C/61D), electrically coupling the third positive terminal to the fourth positive terminal (61C/51C & 61D/51D); and
a fourth electrical connection ((62C/52/82//42B/81A/81B) & (62A/52/82/42B/81A/81B)) disposed on the passivation layer and including fourth extending portions that extend through each of the seventh and eighth openings (occupied by 62D/62B), electrically coupling the third negative terminal to the fourth negative terminal (62D/52 & 62B/52).
Re claim 27, in the combination, Nakaiso, FIGS. 4/6 and 9 teaches the capacitance device of claim 26 wherein the third and fourth electrical connections are copper pillars (71A/71B & 81A/81B) configured to be electrically and mechanically coupled to the semiconductor substrate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant that
“1. Claim 1 states that both the first portion and the second portion are disposed directly on the first surface of the passivation layer. Claim 1 defines the first surface as, "the passivation layer has a first surface opposite a second surface defining a thickness therebetween and wherein each of the first, second, third, and fourth openings extend through the thickness." Clearly, 81A and 81B are not disposed directly on anything that could be equated to "a first surface" of L5, rather they are disposed within L5 and extend through at least a portion of L5 so they cannot be said to be "disposed directly on a first surface" especially when the first surface is defined to is be opposite a second surface defining a thickness therebetween, and wherein each of the first, second, third, and fourth openings extend through the thickness.
2. Similarly, clearly 62 and 52 are not disposed directly on anything that can be equated to "a first surface" of L9, rather they are disposed within L9 and extend through at least a portion of L9 so they cannot be said to be "disposed directly on a first surface" especially when the first surface is defined to is be opposite a second surface defining a thickness therebetween, and wherein each of the first, second, third, and fourth openings extend through the thickness.
3. The Office Action has conflicting definitions of the "passivation layer." First it defines the passivation layer as L5, then it defines it as L9, then it defines it as L1-L9. Claim 1 recites only 1 passivation layer and it must have all of the following features:
a. The first portion disposed directly on the first surface of the passivation layer
b. The second portion disposed directly on the first surface of the passivation layer
c. The first surface is opposite a second surface defining a thickness therebetween
d. Each of the first, second, third, and fourth openings extend through the thickness
Nakaiso does not disclose one passivation layer with all of these features.”
The Examiner respectfully submit that still reads on: a first electrical connection ([81A+81B+42B+62+52] or [8a+42+82+52] as shown in FIG. 8B], FIGS. 4/5/6, note that 81A/81B are connected to positive terminals 62/52 as shown in FIG. 6, note that 81A/81B formed on L5 and 62/52 formed on L9) having a first portion (top portion) and directly disposed on the first surface (top) of passivation layer (L1-L9 or [P] in different embodiment [as shown in FIG. 8BB]) and including first extending portions that extend through each of the first and second openings (note that “openings that will serve as contact holes are formed in the SiO2 film by performing inductive coupling plasma reactive ion etching (ICP-RIE)”, ¶ [0062]), the first electrical connection [81A+81B+62+52] electrically coupling the first positive terminal to the second positive terminal; and
a second electrical connection ([71A+71B++41+61+51], FIGS. 4/5/6, note that 71A/71B are connected to negative terminals 61/51 as shown in FIG. 633 and note that 71A/71B are belong to L5 and 61/51 are belong to L9 of FIG. 5) having a second portion disposed directly on the first surface (top) of the passivation layer (L1-L9) and including second extending portions that extend through each of the third and fourth openings (note that “openings that will serve as contact holes are formed in the SiO2 film by performing inductive coupling plasma reactive ion etching (ICP-RIE)”, ¶ [0062]), the second electrical connection [71A+71B+61+51] electrically coupling the first negative terminal to the second negative terminal.
In response to Applicant that “Xiao, including the claim that the first electrical connection includes (452+42+44), and cannot identify any feature that can be equated to the claimed feature, "a first electrical connection...including first extending portions that extend through each of the first and second openings, the first electrical coupling the first positive terminal to the second positive terminal." More specifically, the features (452+42+44) do not disclose "portions" that extend through each of the first and second openings, rather there is a single via (452) that extends through one opening and does not couple the first positive terminal to the second positive terminal.
Similarly, Applicant cannot find any features in Xiao that can be equated to, "a second electrical connection ...including second extending portions that extend through each of the third and fourth openings, the second electrical connection electrically coupling the first negative terminal to the second negative terminal." More specifically, the features (452+42+44) do not disclose "portions" that extend through each of the third and fourth openings, rather there is a single via (452) that extends through one opening and does not coupled the first negative terminal to the second negative terminal.”, page 12 of 15.
The Examiner respectfully submit that the features (452+42+44) do disclose "portions" that extend through each of the first (directly) and second openings (indirectly thru a little portion of 30=[DE]), rather there is a single via (452) that extends through one opening and does Couple the first positive terminal to the second positive terminal after combining with Nakaiso.
For the above reasons, it is believed that the rejections should be sustained.
Conclusion
/TONY TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893