DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The Notice of Allowance of March 11, 2026 in regards to claim(s) 1-18, 21, 38-41, 44, 45 and 53-56, has been withdrawn in light of newly found prior art and interpretation of previously presented prior art.
Examiner notes that UZOH, paragraph [0040], discloses “The order in which the processes 200-750 are described is not intended to be construed as limiting, and any number of the described process blocks in any of the processes 200-750 can be combined in any order to implement the processes, or alternate processes. Additionally, individual blocks may be deleted from any of the processes without departing from the spirit and scope of the subject matter described herein. Furthermore, the processes 200-750 can be implemented in any suitable hardware, software, firmware, or a combination thereof, without departing from the scope of the subject matter described herein.”
Therefore, step 306 of Fig. 3 could be applied after step 206 of Fig. 2, and step 206 of Fig. 2 could be applied before step 306 of Fig. 3 if so desired. This would increase the shelf life of the prepared surfaces and/or protect the surfaces during subsequent processing or storage (paragraph 49).
As evidenced by Haba (Figs.1A-1C, 9A-9D, 10A-10E, 17A-17D and associated text), after activating a first bonding layer (items 4 or 4a) of a first element (item 2), for direct bonding to a second bonding layer (item 4a or 4b, Figs. 9A-9D, 10A-10E, 17A-17D, front-to-front, front-to-back, back-to-back), wherein the first bonding layer (item 4, 4a) comprises a plurality of conductive pads (item 6) and a first non-conductive bonding region (item 5), a protection layer (items 3, 7 or 3 plus 7) can be provided over an activated first bonding layer (item 4 or 4a) of the first element (item 2), such that the protective layer (items 3, 7 or 3 plus 7) is over the first plurality of conductive contact pads (item 6) and the first non-conductive bonding region (item 5).
The Examiner takes the position the rejection below is proper.
Examiner notes that the newly found prior art could possibly be excluded due to common ownership (same assignee).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) ) 1-18, 21, 38 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UZOH et al. (UZOH) (US 2019/0252364 A1) as evidence by or in view of Haba et al. (Haba) (US 2020/0227376 A1).
In regards to claim 1, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses a bonding method (Figs. 1A-7B) comprising: activating (paragraphs 21, 66, nitrogen plasma process) a first bonding layer (not shown, paragraphs 43, 44) of a first element (item 104) for direct bonding to a second bonding layer (not shown, but formed by step 304, Fig.3) of a second element (item 102, Figs. 1A-2), wherein the first bonding layer (not shown, paragraphs 43, 44) comprises a plurality of conductive pads (pads/dummy pads) and a first non-conductive bonding region (dielectric portions, paragraph 44).
Uzoh (Fig. 2) does not specifically disclose after activating, providing a protective layer over the activated first bonding layer of the first element, wherein the protective layer is cleanable by applying a liquid cleaning agent over the protective layer.
Uzoh (Fig. 3 and associated text) discloses a step of providing a applying a protective layer over the bonding layer (not shown, item 306) of a die [“which also may be referred to as a second substrate”] (item 102). Examiner also notes that UZOH, paragraph [0040], discloses “The order in which the processes 200-750 are described is not intended to be construed as limiting, and any number of the described process blocks in any of the processes 200-750 can be combined in any order to implement the processes, or alternate processes. Additionally, individual blocks may be deleted from any of the processes without departing from the spirit and scope of the subject matter described herein. Furthermore, the processes 200-750 can be implemented in any suitable hardware, software, firmware, or a combination thereof, without departing from the scope of the subject matter described herein.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the process of applying the protection layer of Uzoh to the activated bonding layer of Uzoh for the purpose of increasing the shelf life of the prepared surfaces and/or protect the surfaces during subsequent processing or storage (paragraph 49).
Therefore Uzoh (Figs. 2, 3 and associated text) discloses and after the activating (item 206), providing a protective layer (not shown, item 306) over the activated first bonding layer (not shown, item 206) of the first element (item 104), wherein the protective layer (not shown) is cleanable by applying a liquid cleaning agent over the protective layer (paragraphs 49, 59, 68, 69).
Examiner notes that due to paragraph [0040] a recited above, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) also discloses a bonding method (Figs. 1A-7B) comprising: activating (paragraphs 21, 66, nitrogen plasma process) a first bonding layer (not shown, by incorporating item 206 after item 304) of a first element (item 102) for direct bonding to a second bonding layer (not shown, but formed by step 204 or 206, Fig. 2, item 304, Fig. 3) of a second element (item 104 or another item 102, Figs. 1A-2), after activating (not shown, by incorporating item 206 after 304), providing a protective layer (item 306) over the activated first bonding layer (not shown, by incorporating item 206 after item 304) of the first element (item 102 by incorporating item 206), wherein the protective layer (not shown, item 306) is cleanable by applying a liquid cleaning agent over the protective layer(paragraphs 49, 59, 68, 69).
Examiner notes the Applicant does not claim that the protective layer is cleaned off or removed, but merely states that “the protective layer is cleanable by applying a liquid agent over the protective layer”. The Examiner takes this to merely be a characteristic of the material the protective layer is made of as to where it can be cleaned by a liquid solution/agent. The Examiner also notes that Uzoh disclose that the protective coating can be resist or other suitable material. Examiner takes the broad teaching of resist to encompass all type of resist including photoresist and would share the same characteristics.
As evidenced by Haba (Figs.1A-1C, 9A-9D, 10A-10E, 17A-17D and associated text), after activating a first bonding layer (items 4 or 4a) of a first element (item 2), for direct bonding to a second bonding layer (item 4a or 4b, Figs. 9A-9D, 10A-10E, 17A-17D, front-to-front, front-to-back, back-to-back), wherein the first bonding layer (item 4, 4a) comprises a plurality of conductive pads (item 6) and a first non-conductive bonding region (item 5), a protection layer (items 3, 7 or 3 plus 7) can be provided over an activated first bonding layer (item 4 or 4a) of the first element (item 2), such that the protective layer (items 3, 7 or 3 plus 7) is over the first plurality of conductive contact pads (item 6) and the first non-conductive bonding region (item 5).
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings Haba for the purpose protection during subsequent process (paragraph 37) or transportation.
In regards to claim 2, UZOH as modified by Haba (Figs.1A-1C, 9A-9D, 10A-10E, 17A-17D and associated text) discloses wherein the protective layer (not shown, items 7, 3, or 3 plus 7)) comprises an organic layer (paragraph 31, Haba). UZOH (paragraph 47) discloses that the protective layer (not shown) can be a resist or other suitable material. UZOH, paragraph 49, discloses that protective layers can comprise a hydrophobic layer and hydrophilic layer. There various known organic materials/layers that can have these characteristics.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a protective layer comprised of an organic layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 3, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses wherein the protective layer (not shown) comprises a photoresist (paragraph 47). The Examiner takes the position that the broad disclosure of resist encompasses all resist layers, including photoresist.
In regards to claim 4, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) and Haba (Figs.1A-1C, 9A-9D, 10A-10E, 17A-17D and associated text) disclose further comprising removing the protective layer (not shown, item 652, paragraph 69, items 7, 3, 7 plus 3, Haba).
In regards to claim 5, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses wherein the first element (item 102) is in the form of wafer (not shown) before providing the protective layer (not shown), the method further comprising, before removing the protective layer (not shown), singulating the first element in wafer form (not shown, block 312) to form a plurality of singulated first elements (item 102).
In regards to claim 6, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses further comprising, after removing the protective layer (not shown), directly bonding the first bonding layer of the first element (item 102) to the second bonding layer (not shown) of the second element (another item 102 or 104) without an intervening adhesive.
In regards to claim 7, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses further comprising rinsing at least one of the first and second bonding layers with deionized water (DIW) before the directly bonding (paragraphs 66, 69, 73).
In regards to claim 8, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses wherein, before the directly bonding, the first element (item 102) is in the form of a singulated integrated device die (item 102) and the second element (item 104) is in the form of a wafer.
In regards to claim 9, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses wherein the first bonding layer (not shown) comprises a first plurality of conductive contact pads (not shown) and a first non-conductive bonding region (not shown), wherein the second bonding layer (not shown) comprises a second plurality of conductive contact pads and a second non-conductive bonding region, and wherein directly bonding comprise directly bonding the first and second pluralities of conductive contact pads (not shown) to one another without an adhesive and directly bonding the first and second non-conductive bonding regions (not shown) to one another without an adhesive.
In regards to claim 10, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses wherein the conductive contact pads comprise copper or copper alloy (paragraphs 44, 54, 57, 69).
In regards to claim 11, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses wherein the non-conductive bonding region (not shown) comprises a silicon-containing dielectric layer (paragraph 43).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a non-conductive bonding region comprised of a silicon-containing dielectric layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 12, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses wherein the non-conductive bonding region (not shown) comprises a non-silicon dielectric layer that does not include silicon (paragraph 43).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a non-conductive bonding region comprised of a non-silicon dielectric layer that does not include silicon, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
In regards to claim 13, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses further comprising activating the second bonding layer (not shown) before directly bonding.
In regards to claim 14, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses wherein activating the first bonding layer and providing the protective layer are performed in a first facility, and wherein directly bonding is performed at a second facility that is in a different location from the first facility.
In regards to claim 15, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses wherein directly bonding is performed more than twenty-four (24) hours after activating the first bonding layer.
In regards to claim 16, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses wherein activating the first bonding layer (not shown) comprises plasma activating (paragraphs 21, 66), the first bonding layer (not shown).
In regards to claim 17, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses wherein plasma activating the first bonding layer (not shown) comprises exposing the first bonding layer to a nitrogen-containing plasma (paragraphs 21, 66).
In regards to claim 18, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses wherein the first bonding layer (not shown) comprises silicon oxide or silicon carbonitride (paragraph 43).
In regards to claim 21, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses wherein providing the protective layer (not shown) comprises depositing the protective layer (not shown) over the activated bonding layer (not shown) of the first element (items 10 or 104).
In regards to claim 38, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses a bonding method comprising: plasma treating (paragraphs 21, 66) a first bonding layer (not shown) of a first element (items 102 or 104) for direct bonding to a second bonding layer (not shown) of a second element (another item 102 or 104), wherein the first bonding layer (not shown, paragraphs 43, 44) comprises a plurality of conductive pads (pads/dummy pads) and a first non-conductive bonding region (dielectric portions, paragraph 44); and after the plasma treatment, providing a protective layer (not shown) over the treated first bonding layer (not shown, block 206, 306) of the first element (items 102 or 104), wherein the protective layer (not shown) is cleanable by applying a liquid cleaning agent over the protective layer. Examiner notes the Applicant does not claim that the protective layer is cleaned off or removed, but merely states that “the protective layer is cleanable by applying a liquid agent over the protective layer”. The Examiner takes this to merely a characteristic of the material the protective layer is made of as to where it can be removed by a liquid solution/agent. The Examiner also note that Uzoh disclose that the protective coating can be resist or other suitable material. Examiner takes the broad teaching of resist to encompass all type of resist including photoresist and would share the same characteristics.
Examiner notes that UZOH, paragraph [0040], discloses “The order in which the processes 200-750 are described is not intended to be construed as limiting, and any number of the described process blocks in any of the processes 200-750 can be combined in any order to implement the processes, or alternate processes. Additionally, individual blocks may be deleted from any of the processes without departing from the spirit and scope of the subject matter described herein. Furthermore, the processes 200-750 can be implemented in any suitable hardware, software, firmware, or a combination thereof, without departing from the scope of the subject matter described herein.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a protective layer coating as taught by UZOH for the purpose of increasing the shelf life of the prepared surfaces and/or protect the surfaces during subsequent processing or storage (paragraph 49).
As evidenced by Haba (Figs.1A-1C, 9A-9D, 10A-10E, 17A-17D and associated text), after activating a first bonding layer (items 4 or 4a) of a first element (item 2), for direct bonding to a second bonding layer (item 4a or 4b, Figs. 9A-9D, 10A-10E, 17A-17D, front-to-front, front-to-back, back-to-back), wherein the first bonding layer (item 4, 4a) comprises a plurality of conductive pads (item 6) and a first non-conductive bonding region (item 5), a protection layer (items 3, 7 or 3 plus 7) can be provided over an activated first bonding layer (item 4 or 4a) of the first element (item 2), such that the protective layer (items 3, 7 or 3 plus 7) is over the first plurality of conductive contact pads (item 6) and the first non-conductive bonding region (item 5).
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings Haba for the purpose protection during subsequent process (paragraph 37) or transportation.
In regards to claim 39, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses further comprising removing the protective layer from the (plasma) treated first bonding layer (not shown), and, after the removing, directly bonding the treated first bonding layer (not shown)to the second bonding layer (not shown) of the second element (another item 102 or 104) without an intervening adhesive.
Claim(s) 40, 41, 44, 45 and 53-56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UZOH et al. (UZOH) (US 2019/0252364 A1) as evidenced by or in view of MANDALAPU et al. (MANDALAPU) (US 2019/0326252 A1) as evidence by or in view of Geyer et al. (Geyer) “When and how self-cleaning superhydrophobic surfaces works” as evidence by or in view of Haba et al. (Haba) (US 2020/0227376 A1).
In regards to claim 40, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses a bonding method comprising: plasma treating a first bonding layer (not shown, paragraphs 21, 66) of a first element (items 102 or 104) for direct bonding to a second bonding layer (not shown) of a second element (another item 102 or 104), wherein the first bonding layer (not shown, paragraphs 43, 44) comprises a plurality of conductive pads (pads/dummy pads) and a first non-conductive bonding region (dielectric portions, paragraph 44); after the plasma treatment, providing a protective layer (not shown) over the treated first bonding layer of the first element (item 102); singulating the plasma treated first element (item 102) and the protective layer (not shown) into a plurality of singulated first elements (item 102, paragraph 32); cleaning the protective layer (paragraph 69) from the first bonding layer of at least one singulated first element (item 102) of the plurality of singulated first elements (item 102); and bonding the at least one cleaned singulated first element (item 102) to the second bonding layer of the second element (another item 102 or 104).
Examiner notes that UZOH, paragraph [0040], discloses “The order in which the processes 200-750 are described is not intended to be construed as limiting, and any number of the described process blocks in any of the processes 200-750 can be combined in any order to implement the processes, or alternate processes. Additionally, individual blocks may be deleted from any of the processes without departing from the spirit and scope of the subject matter described herein. Furthermore, the processes 200-750 can be implemented in any suitable hardware, software, firmware, or a combination thereof, without departing from the scope of the subject matter described herein.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a protective layer coating as taught by UZOH for the purpose of protection during singulation process.
As evidenced by MANDALAPU (paragraphs 43, 44, Figs. 2 3, and associated text) a bonding surface (item 108) of a bonding layer (items 106 plus 110) discloses the further processing can be performed before bonding such as polishing, cleaning, rinsing, or activating (paragraph 43). MANDALAPU also discloses that a protective layer (item 208) can be applied to the polished (cleaned, rinsed activated) first or second bonding surfaces for protection during processing, where the protective layer (item 208) can comprise a photoresist, a polymer coating or the like. MANDALAPU discloses removing the protective layer (item 208) is removed (paragraph 47), but does not specifically disclose how.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of MANALAPU for the purpose of preserving the bonding surface for future direct or hybrid bonding steps. Examiner notes that MANDALAPU discloses a same material, photoresist, and therefore shares the same characteristics of being cleanable by applying a liquid cleaning agent over the protective layer.
Geyer (Figs. 1-5 and associated text, see entire reference) provides further evidence that hydrophobic and hydrophilic material can be cleaned by applying a liquid agent.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of to incorporate the teachings of Geyer for the purpose of removing the protective layer.
As evidenced by Haba (Figs.1A-1C, 9A-9D, 10A-10E, 17A-17D and associated text), after activating a first bonding layer (items 4 or 4a) of a first element (item 2), for direct bonding to a second bonding layer (item 4a or 4b, Figs. 9A-9D, 10A-10E, 17A-17D, front-to-front, front-to-back, back-to-back), wherein the first bonding layer (item 4, 4a) comprises a plurality of conductive pads (item 6) and a first non-conductive bonding region (item 5), a protection layer (items 3, 7 or 3 plus 7) can be provided over an activated first bonding layer (item 4 or 4a) of the first element (item 2), such that the protective layer (items 3, 7 or 3 plus 7) is over the first plurality of conductive contact pads (item 6) and the first non-conductive bonding region (item 5).
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings Haba for the purpose protection during subsequent process (paragraph 37) or transportation.
In regards to claim 41, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses wherein the plasma treatment comprises a nitrogen containing plasma (paragraphs 21, 66).
In regards to claim 44, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses further comprising rinsing the plasma treated surface with deionized water (DIW) before the bonding (block 608, 660).
In regards to claim 45, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) discloses further comprising thinning the plasma treated first element before the singulating (Fig. 3).
In regards to claim 55, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) as evidenced by or in view of MANDALAPU (paragraphs 43, 44, Figs. 2 3, and associated text) and Geyer (Figs. 1-5 and associated text, see entire reference) discloses providing a first element (item 102, UZOH, item 102 MANDALAPU) having an activated first bonding surface ((paragraphs 21, 66, item 108, UZOH, paragraphs 43, MANDALAPU), wherein the first bonding surface (not shown, paragraphs 43, 44) comprises a plurality of conductive pads (pads/dummy pads) and a first non-conductive bonding region (dielectric portions, paragraph 44); and a protective layer (not shown, UZOH, item 208, MANDALAPU) over the activated first bonding surface (paragraphs 21, 66, item 108, UZOH, paragraphs 43, MANDALAPU); applying a wet cleaning agent Geyer (Figs. 1-5 and associated text) to the protective layer (not shown, UZOH, item 208, MANDALAPU) to at least partially remove the protective layer (not shown, UZOH, item 208, MANDALAPU) and expose the activated first bonding surface (paragraphs 21, 66, item 108, paragraphs 43, MANDALAPU); and directly bonding the activated first bonding surface (paragraphs 21, 66, item 108, paragraphs 43, MANDALAPU) to a second bonding surface (item 310, MANDALAPU) of a second element (another item 102 or 104, UZOH, item 308, MANDALAPU) without an intervening adhesive (Abstract, paragraphs 20, 23, 29, 39 UZOH, Abstract, paragraphs 17, 21, 28, MANDALAPU).
As evidenced by Haba (Figs.1A-1C, 9A-9D, 10A-10E, 17A-17D and associated text), after activating a first bonding surface (items 4 or 4a) of a first element (item 2), for direct bonding to a second bonding layer (item 4a or 4b, Figs. 9A-9D, 10A-10E, 17A-17D, front-to-front, front-to-back, back-to-back), wherein the first bonding surface (item 4, 4a) comprises a plurality of conductive pads (item 6) and a first non-conductive bonding region (item 5), a protection layer (items 3, 7 or 3 plus 7) can be provided over an activated first bonding layer (item 4 or 4a) of the first element (item 2), such that the protective layer (items 3, 7 or 3 plus 7) is over the first plurality of conductive contact pads (item 6) and the first non-conductive bonding region (item 5).
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings Haba for the purpose protection during subsequent process (paragraph 37) or transportation.
In regards to claims 53, 54 and 56, UZOH (Figs. 1A-7B and associated text) as evidenced by or in view of MANDALAPU (paragraphs 43, 44, Figs. 2 3, and associated text) and Geyer (Figs. 1-5 and associated text, see entire reference) discloses wherein the protective layer (not shown, UZOH, item 208, MANDALAPU) comprises a photoresist (paragraph 47, UZOH, paragraph 44, MANDALAPU).
Conclusion
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 June 22, 2026