DETAILED ACTION
All outstanding objections and rejections, except for those maintained below, are withdrawn in light of applicant's amendment filed on 11/12/2025.
The new grounds of rejection set forth below are necessitated by applicant's amendment filed on 11/12/2025. In particular, original Claims 1 and 13 have been amended to recite limitations not previously presented. Thus, the following action is properly made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2016/0181524).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al discloses the following organic light emitting device (Abstract and [0040] - Figure):
.
This device comprises a first electrode ([0040] – 110); a second electrode ([0040] – 190); and an organic layer ([0040] – layers 130, 150, and 170) disposed between the first (110) and second electrodes (190).
The hole transport region (130) comprises a hole auxiliary layer ([0015]), where the hole auxiliary layer comprises the following compound ([0016], [0185], and Page 35 – Compound A4):
.
This compound corresponds to Formula 1 of the claims:
,
where:
R1 to R8 are hydrogen;
R5 to R8 are hydrogen; and
L1, L2, L4, L5, L6, and L8 are hydrogen.
L7 corresponds to Formula 3:
,
where Ar3 and Ar4 are unsubstituted C6 aryl groups.
L3 corresponds to:
,
and therefore, this substituent does not correspond to Formula 2 of the present claims:
.
However, the compound disclosed by the reference is but one embodiment, and attention is directed to Formula 1A ([0046] and Page 4):
,
where Ar6 can be ([0092] and Page 12 – Formula 5-14):
.
In Formula (5-14 ),Y31 can be N(Z35), where Z35 is a phenyl group ([0095]); Z31 and Z32 can be hydrogen ([0091]); and e3 and e4 are integers [1-3] and [1-4], respectively ([0098] and [0099]). Accordingly, the disclosure of the reference encompasses an embodiment where in Formula 2 of the claims:
,
where:
Ar1 and Ar2 are phenyl groups, i.e. an unsubstituted C6 aryls;
R9 and R10 are hydrogen; and
n1 and n2 are the integers 3 and 4, respectively.
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed compound nor can the claimed compound be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed compound and the compound disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compound which is both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the reference discloses the following organic light emitting device:
,
where the hole transport region (130) is disposed on the first electrode (110); the emission layer (150) is disposed on the hole transport region (130); the electron transport region (170) is disposed on of the emission layer (150); and where the hole transport region (130) comprises the disclosed compound.
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that the hole transport region has the following structure from the anode ([0262]-[0264]):
hole injection layer (HIL) / hole transport layer (HTL) / hole auxiliary layer,
where hole auxiliary layer, i.e. a hole transport layer, comprises the disclosed compound.
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Given that the compound disclosed by the reference possesses two (2) amine groups, the compound is a diamine compound as recited in the present claims.
Regarding claim 6, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the above, the reference discloses a compound encompassed by Formula 4-3 of the present claims:
.
Regarding claim 7, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, the reference discloses a compound encompassed by Formula 5-3 of the present claims:
.
Regarding claim 8, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, R1 to R10 are hydrogen.
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Ar1 to Ar4 are unsubstituted phenyl groups.
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, Formula 2 is represented by Formula 2-1:
,
where R11 is hydrogen and the integer n is five (5).
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Ar1 to Ar4 are unsubstituted phenyl groups, corresponding to recited Formula 6-1:
,
where Ra1 is hydrogen; and the integer m1 is five (5).
Regarding claim 12, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, the compound disclosed by the reference:
,
does not correspond to Formula 1 of the claims:
,
due to the positions of the amine groups in the disclosed compound relative to Compound 1 of the claims. However, the reference discloses the following formula ([0046] - Formula 1A and Page 4):
,
where the bonding of L1 and L3 encompass that found in Compound 1 of the present claims. Accordingly, the disclosure of the reference encompasses Compound 1 of the present claims.
Regarding claim 13, Lee et al discloses the following compound ([0016], [0185], and Page 35 – Compound A4):
.
This compound corresponds to Formula 1 of the claims:
,
where:
R1 to R8 are hydrogen;
R5 to R8 are hydrogen; and
L1, L2, L4, L5, L6, and L8 are hydrogen.
L7 corresponds to Formula 3:
,
where Ar3 and Ar4 are unsubstituted C6 aryl groups.
L3 corresponds to:
,
and therefore, this substituent does not correspond to Formula 2 of the present claims:
.
However, the compound disclosed by the reference is but one embodiment, and attention is directed to Formula 1A ([0046] and Page 4):
,
where Ar6 can be ([0092] and Page 12 – Formula 5-14):
.
In Formula (5-14 ),Y31 can be N(Z35), where Z35 is a phenyl group ([0095]); Z31 and Z32 can be hydrogen ([0091]); and e3 and e4 are integers [1-3] and [1-4], respectively ([0098] and [0099]). Accordingly, the disclosure of the reference encompasses an embodiment where in Formula 2 of the claims:
,
where:
Ar1 and Ar2 are phenyl groups, i.e. an unsubstituted C6 aryls;
R9 and R10 are hydrogen; and
n1 and n2 are the integers 3 and 4, respectively.
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed compound nor can the claimed compound be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed compound and the compound disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compound which is both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 14, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Given that the compound disclosed by the reference possesses two (2) amine groups, the compound is a diamine compound as recited in the present claims.
Regarding claim 15, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, the reference discloses a compound encompassed by Formula 4-3 of the present claims:
.
Regarding claim 16, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, the reference discloses a compound encompassed by Formula 5-3:
.
Regarding claim 17, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Ar1 to Ar4 are unsubstituted phenyl groups.
Regarding claim 18, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, Formula 2 is represented by Formula 2-1:
,
where R11 is hydrogen; and the integer n is five (5).
Regarding claim 19, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Ar1 to Ar4 are unsubstituted phenyl groups, corresponding to recited Formula 6-1:
,
where Ra1 is hydrogen; and the integer m1 is five (5).
Regarding claim 20, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. The compound disclosed by the reference:
,
does not correspond to Formula 1 of the claims:
,
due to the positions of the amine groups in the disclosed compound relative to Compound 1 of the claims. However, the reference discloses the following formula ([0046] - Formula 1A and Page 4):
,
where the bonding of L1 and L3 encompass that found in Compound 1 of the present claims. Accordingly, the disclosure of the reference encompasses Compound 1 of the present claims.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2016/0181524, hereafter Lee’524) as applied to claims 1-3 and 5-20, and as evidenced by Lee et al (US 2015/0349270, hereafter Lee ‘270).
The discussion with respect to Lee ‘524 as set forth in Paragraph 6 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 4, Lee ‘524 teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that the hole transport region has the following structure from the anode ([0262]-[0264]):
hole injection layer (HIL) / hole transport layer (HTL) / hole auxiliary layer.
As evidenced by Paragraph [0106] of Lee ‘270 the hole auxiliary layer increases hole injection and/or hole mobility between the anode and the emission layer and blocks electrons. Accordingly, the hole auxiliary layer disclosed by Lee ‘524, can be considered to correspond to the recited electron blocking layer recited in the present claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of the rejection set forth above.
In light of the amendments to the claims, the 35 U..C. 103 rejections set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER C KOLLIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786