DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 1/12/26 has been entered. Claim 10 has been canceled. Claims 1-2, 5-9, and 11 have been amended. Claims 1-9, and 11-12 remain pending in the application.
Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 1/12/26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Loftus Jr. et al. (U.S. 2015/0284077), Applicant has argued “Loftus does not disclose the subject matter of claim 1” because Loftus does not disclose a safety strap, safety fastener, safety hook, or safety loop because Loftus discloses the function of the dampers is “to stabilize movement of lead-lag link 282 about lead-lag axis 238” and because “given the appearance of the dampers 284 in at least Figs. 5, 7, and 8, the dampers cannot reasonably be considered to be a safety strap, a safety fastener, a safety hook, or a safety loop because they are obviously not straps, hooks, or loops, and are not configured to function as fasteners” (see Remarks filed 1/12/26, Page 5). The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. Applicant has not given a special definition to “safety” and therefore “safety” must be given its plain meaning (MPEP 2111). Webster’s Dictionary defines “safety” as “a device (as on a weapon or a machine) designed to prevent inadvertent or hazardous operation” ("safety." Merriam-Webster.com. 2026. https://www.merriam-webster.com (29 January 2026)). As indicated by Applicant, element 284 of Loftus is “to stabilize movement of lead-lag link 282 about lead-lag axis 238” and therefore is a device to prevent inadvertent operation and thereby fits the definition of safety. Applicant has not given a special definition to “strap” and therefore “strap” must be given its plain meaning (MPEP 2111). Webster’s Dictionary defines “strap” as “a band, plate, or loop of metal for binding objects together or for clamping an object in position” ("strap." Merriam-Webster.com. 2026. https://www.merriam-webster.com (29 January 2026)). Element 284 is clearly shown as a plate for binding objects together in views of Figs. 5, 7, and 8 and therefore is reasonably considered as a “strap”. Applicant has not given a special definition to “fastener” and therefore “fastener” must be given its plain meaning (MPEP 2111). Webster’s Dictionary defines “fastener” as “a device for holding shut or preventing opening” ("fastener." Merriam-Webster.com. 2026. https://www.merriam-webster.com (29 January 2026)). Element 284 is clearly shown as a device for holding shut or preventing opening in views of Figs. 5, 7, and 8 and therefore is reasonably considered as a “fastener”. Applicant has not given a special definition to “hook” and therefore “hook” must be given its plain meaning (MPEP 2111). Webster’s Dictionary defines “hook” as “a curved or bent device for catching, holding, or pulling” ("hook." Merriam-Webster.com. 2026. https://www.merriam-webster.com (29 January 2026)). Element 284 is clearly shown as a curved device for holding in views of Figs. 5, 7, and 8 and therefore is reasonably considered as a “hook”. Applicant has not given a special definition to “loop” and therefore “loop” must be given its plain meaning (MPEP 2111). Webster’s Dictionary defines “loop” as “a ring or curved piece used to form a fastening, handle, or catch” ("loop." Merriam-Webster.com. 2026. https://www.merriam-webster.com (29 January 2026)). Element 284 is clearly shown as a curved pieced to form a fastening in views of Figs. 5, 7, and 8 and therefore is reasonably considered as a “loop”. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive and the rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
Regarding the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Loftus Jr. et al. (U.S. 2015/0284077), Applicant has argued “Loftus does not disclose the subject matter of claim 1” because “while the dampers 284 are elongate objects, their appearance in at least FIGS. 5, 7, and 8 is clearly not that of a bar” (see Remarks filed 1/12/26, Page 5). The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. Applicant has not given a special definition to “bar” and therefore “bar” must be given its plain meaning (MPEP 2111). Webster’s Dictionary defines “bar” as “a solid piece or block of material that is longer than it is wide” ("bar." Merriam-Webster.com. 2026. https://www.merriam-webster.com (29 January 2026)). Elements 284 are clearly shown as blocks of material that are longer than they are wide in views of Figs. 5, 7, and 8 and therefore are reasonably considered as “bars”. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive and the rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
Regarding the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Loftus Jr. et al. (U.S. 2015/0284077), Applicant has argued “Loftus does not disclose the subject matter of claim 1” because “the description and depiction of the dampers in Loftus are simply not detailed enough to disclose that they are ‘configured for attachment of a user safety device, wherein the user safety device is a line, belt, harness, fall limiter, sling seat, bosun chair, chest harness, fall prevention device, fall prevention system, fall restraint device, or personal fall arrest system’ as recited in claim 1” (see Remarks filed 1/12/26, Page 5). The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. Applicant has not given a special definition to “line” and therefore “line” must be given its plain meaning (MPEP 2111). Webster’s Dictionary defines “line” as “a length of cord or cord-like material” ("line." Merriam-Webster.com. 2026. https://www.merriam-webster.com (29 January 2026)). The views of Figs. 5, 7, and 8 clearly show element 284 with the structure capable of having a length of cord or cord-like material thereto. The assembled view of Fig. 7 is especially relevant in this regard as element 284 is shown rigidly installed with surrounding structure in such a way that a length of cord or cord like material (a rope) could be passed between element 284 and the surrounding material and then tied to element 284. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive and the rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
Applicant has argued claims 2-9, and 11-12 are allowable for the same reasons as indicated above regarding claim 1 (see Remarks filed 1/12/26, Pages 5-6). The Examiner does not find these arguments persuasive for the same reasons as indicated above regarding claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Loftus Jr. et al. (U.S. 2015/0284077).
Re claim 1:
Loftus discloses a safety apparatus (202, fuselage - Para 23; 208, rotor hub system - Para 23 (elements 202 and 208 are collectively a type of safety apparatus for element 200 as shown in Figs. 3-8)) for a rotorcraft (200, aircraft - Para 23 (a type of rotorcraft as shown in Fig. 3 and as described in Para 23)) to provide fall protection during maintenance of the rotorcraft on the ground (see Figs. 3 and 5 (elements 202 and 208 are shown with structure capable of performing the claimed function of providing fall protection during maintenance of element 200 while on the ground)) comprising:
at least one safety bar, safety strap, safety fastener, safety hook, or safety loop (284, pair of dampers - Para 29 (a type of safety bar, safety strap, safety fastener, safety hook, or safety loop as shown in Figs. 3-8 (see especially Figs. 7 and 8) and as described in Para 29 - "...Dampers 284 are configured to stabilize...")), wherein the safety bar, safety strap, safety fastener, safety hook, or safety loop (284) is permanent, semi-permanent, or detachable (see Fig. 8):
wherein the safety bar, safety strap, safety fastener, safety hook, or safety loop (284) is attached or attachable to the rotorcraft (200)(see Figs. 3-8 and Paras 23-24 and 29),
wherein the safety bar, safety strap, safety fastener, safety hook, or safety loop (284) is attached in an area or surface at a top of the rotorcraft (Modified Fig. 3 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of area or surface at a top of element 200; see Para 23 - "... Rotor craft 200 also includes a rotor hub system 208, extending upwards from forward section 204 of fuselage 202...")) between a windshield of the rotorcraft (Modified Fig. 3 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of windshield of element 200)) and a tail boom (206, tail section - Para 23) of the rotorcraft (200)(see Modified Fig. 3 above and Paras 23-24 and 29);
wherein the area or surface (Modified Fig. 3 above - A) is at a rotor system (208, rotor hub system - Para 23), rotor blades, an engine, an engine cowling, an engine firewall, or a shaft that extends from the top (Modified Fig. 3 above - A) of the rotorcraft (200)(see Modified Fig. 3 above, Figs. 3-8, and Paras 23-24 and 2); and
wherein the at least one safety bar, safety strap, safety fastener, safety hook, or safety loop (284) is configured for attachment of a user safety device (see Figs. 4-5 and Figs. 7-8 (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element 284 is shown/described with structure capable of having a user safety device attached thereto)), wherein the user safety device is a line, belt, harness, fall limiter, sling seat, bosun chair, chest harness, fall prevention device, fall prevention system, fall restraint device, or personal fall arrest system (see Figs. 4-5 and Figs. 7-8 (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element 284 is shown with structure capable of having a user safety device (which is a line, belt, harness, fall limiter, sling seat, bosun chair, chest harness, fall prevention device, fall prevention system, fall restraint device, or personal fall arrest system) attached thereto)).
Re claim 2
Loftus discloses the safety apparatus (Loftus; 202, 208) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the safety strap (284 (a type of strap as shown in Figs. 4-5 and 7-8)) is positioned on a side or the top (see Modified Fig. 3 above at A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of top of element 200 is shown at element A; see Para 23 - "... Rotor craft 200 also includes a rotor hub system 208, extending upwards from forward section 204 of fuselage 202...")) of the rotorcraft (200) and provides an anchor point for the user safety device (see Figs. 4-8 at element 284 (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of anchor point capable of being for a user safety device is shown at element 284)).
Re claim 3:
Loftus discloses the safety apparatus (202, 208) of claim 2 (as described above), wherein the anchor point (see Figs. 4-8 at element 284) comprises the hook, the loop, a ring, a D-ring, a lanyard, a tie off (see Figs. 4-8 at element 284 (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of tie off is shown at element 284)), or a carabiner
Re claim 4:
Loftus discloses the safety apparatus (202, 208) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the at least one safety bar (284 (a type of one or more safety bars as shown in Figs. 4-5 and 7-8)) is connected to one or more sides (Modified Fig. 3 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of one or more sides of element 200 is shown at element C)) of the rotorcraft (200) at hard points (Modified Fig. 7 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of hard points within or outside of element 200)) that are within or outside a body (202) of the rotorcraft (200)(see Figs. 3-8), wherein the at least one safety bar (284) has at least one of vertical, horizontal, or diagonal orientation (Modified Fig. 7 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of vertical, horizontal, or diagonal orientation to the ground is shown at element B)) to the ground (see Figs. 3-8) and provides an anchor point for the user safety device (see Figs. 4-8 at element 284 (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of anchor point capable of being for a user safety device is shown at element 284)).
Re claim 5:
Loftus discloses the safety apparatus (202, 208) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the safety bar, safety hook, or safety loop (284) is positioned on a grip (282, lead-lag link - Para 29 (a type of grip as shown between Figs. 3-8 and as described in Para 29)) or a flapping stop of a main rotor (see Fig. 3 at element 208 (a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of main rotor is shown at element 208)) of the rotorcraft (200)(see Figs. 3-8 and Para 29).
Re claim 6:
Loftus discloses the safety apparatus (202, 208) of claim 1 (as described above) wherein the safety bar, safety hook, or safety loop (284) is positioned in, on, within, or about a firewall (Modified Fig. 3 above - D (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of firewall is shown at element D; element D corresponds to the indicated portion of element 202 which is a fuselage per para 23))(see Figs. 3-8 and Para 29).
Re claim 7:
Loftus discloses the safety apparatus (202, 208) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the safety bar, safety strap, safety fastener, safety hook, or safety loop (284) is attached from a rotor (see Figs. 3-5 at element 208 (a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of rotor is shown at element 208))(see Figs. 4-8).
Re claim 9:
Loftus discloses the safety apparatus (Loftus; 202, 208) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the safety bar, safety strap, safety fastener, safety hook, or safety loop (284) is attached to a yoke (222, center body - Para 24 (a type of yoke as shown in Figs. 4-8)) of the rotorcraft (200)(see Figs. 4-8 and Paras 24 and 29).
Re claim 12:
Loftus discloses the safety apparatus (202, 208) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the user safety device is disconnected from the rotorcraft (200) after performing the maintenance on the rotorcraft (200)(see Figs. 3-5 and Figs. 7-8 (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element 284 is shown with structure capable of having a user safety device (which is capable of being disconnected from the rotorcraft after performing maintenance on the rotorcraft) attached thereto)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loftus Jr. et al. (U.S. 2015/0284077), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bofill et al. (U.S. 2015/0291288).
Re claim 8:
Loftus discloses the safety apparatus (202, 208) of claim 1 (as described above).
Loftus further discloses wherein the safety bar, safety strap, safety fastener, safety hook, or safety loop (284) is attached to one or more hard points (Modified Fig. 7 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of hard points within or outside of element 200))(see Modified Fig. 7 above and Figs. 4-8).
Loftus fails to disclose the safety bar, safety strap, safety fastener, safety hook, or safety loop is attached to one or more hard points on an engine.
Bofill teaches wherein a safety bar, safety strap, safety fastener, safety hook, or safety loop (Modified Fig. 2 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize a type of safety bar, strap, fastener, hook, or loop is identified at element A)) is attached to one or more hard points (22, gearbox - Para 27 (a type of hardpoint as shown in Fig. 1 and as described in Paras 26-27)) on an engine (20, engine - Para 26)(see Figs. 1-2 and Para 26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the safety bar, safety strap, safety fastener, safety hook, or safety loop of Loftus after that of Bofill (thereby attaching the safety bar, safety strap, safety fastener, safety hook, or safety loop of Loftus to one or more hard points of an engine in the way taught by Bofill) for the advantage of being able to drive the rotor by an engine (Bofill; Para 26).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loftus Jr. et al. (U.S. 2015/0284077), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Burdet (U.S. 2006/0032703).
Re claim 11:
Loftus discloses the safety apparatus (202, 208) of claim 1 (as described above).
Loftus fails to disclose wherein the safety bar, safety strap, safety fastener, safety hook, or safety loop is attached to a user via the safety device under austere environmental conditions.
Burdet teaches a safety apparatus (Figs. 1A-1C (see Para 18)) comprising a safety bar, safety strap, safety fastener, safety hook, or safety loop (29, strap - Para 21)(see Fig. 2 and Paras 27-28), wherein the safety bar, safety strap, safety fastener, safety hook, or safety loop (29) is attached to a user (see Fig. 3 and Para 27 - “…the technician…”) via a safety device (11, safety harness - Para 18; 13, lanyard - Para 18; 15, anchor assembly - Para 18) under austere environmental conditions (see Fig. 3, Paras 1-2 (“…while working at height…”), and Para 27 (“…The technician can now safely perform work…”)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have recognized the safety device of Burdet could have been included in the safety apparatus of Loftus because the safety device of Burdet is connected to an aircraft (Burdet; see Figs. 2-3 and Paras 25-27) and the safety apparatus of Loftus is connected to a type of aircraft (Loftus; see Fig. 3 and Para 23).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have recognized the user of Burdet could have been attached via the safety device of Burdet to the safety bar, safety strap, safety fastener, safety hook, or safety loop of Loftus because the user of Burdet is attached to the safety device of Burdet by a safety bar, safety strap, safety fastener, safety hook, or safety loop of an aircraft (see Figs. 2 and 3 and Paras 25-27) and the safety bar, safety strap, safety fastener, safety hook, or safety loop of Loftus (Loftus; 284) is on an aircraft (Loftus; 200)(Loftus see Figs. 3-4); and further because Burdet teaches that “the fall restraint device could be mounted to any other suitable feature of the aircraft 35” and a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize the safety bar, safety strap, safety fastener, safety hook, or safety loop of Loftus as a type of suitable feature of an aircraft as shown in Figs. 3-4 of Loftus.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the user safety device of Burdet in the safety apparatus of Loftus (thereby attaching a user via a safety device under austere environmental conditions to the safety bar, safety strap, safety fastener, safety hook, or safety loop of Loftus in the way taught by Burdet) for the advantage of allowing a technician to safely perform work (Burdet; Para 27).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 1/30/26