DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 10, 12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gabriel et al., US5489179 (hereinafter, Gabriel) in view of Schuech US8511962 (hereinafter, Schuech).
Regarding claim 1, Gabriel discloses a fastener (20, see Fig. 2) comprising:
a head 24 on a first end (FE, as indicated in annotated Fig. 2) of the fastener;
a point 26 on a second end 28 of the fastener opposite from the first end;
a shank 50 in between the head and the point extending along a longitudinal axis (X, as indicated in annotated Fig. 2) of the fastener;
a plurality of deformations 34 positioned between the head and the point, the plurality of deformations each including;
a frustoconical portion 36 having a first side (FS, as indicated in annotated Fig. 2) with a first diameter (FD, as indicated in annotated Fig. 2) and a second side (SS, as indicated in annotated Fig. 2) with a second diameter (SD, as indicated in annotated Fig. 2) opposite from the first side, wherein the first side and the second side extend perpendicularly to the longitudinal axis of the fastener (refer to annotated Fig. 2 where the first side and the second side extends vertically away from longitudinal axis (X) in a perpendicular direction); and
a transition portion 38 extending from the first side of the frustoconical portion toward the first end of the fastener, the transition portion having a third side (TS, as indicated in annotated Fig. 2) with a third diameter (TD, as indicated in annotated Fig. 2) and a fourth side (FRS, as indicated in annotated Fig. 2) opposite from the third side with a fourth diameter (FRD, as indicated in annotated Fig2), the fourth side of the transition portion abutting one of the first side (FS) and the second side of the frustoconical portion.
Gabriel fails to teach wherein the transition portion is cylindrical in shape and the third diameter is the same as the fourth diameter, and wherein the third side and the fourth side extends perpendicularly to the longitudinal axis of the fastener.
However, Schuech teaches a connecting member (1, see Fig. 4) having a transition portion 41a which is in cylindrical shape with a third and a fourth diameter (see each end of a cylindrical portion 41a having same diameter ends). The third side and the fourth side extends perpendicularly to the longitudinal axis of the fastener (see transition portion extending in the longitudinal axis (X) in Fig. 4).
It is the examiner’s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified the fastener of the Gabriel to have transition portion as taught by Schuech to facilitate connection, self-adjustment and manufacture (see column 4, lines 53-66).
Annotated Fig. 2
Regarding claim 2, Gabriel in view of Schuech teaches the fastener of claim 1, wherein Gabriel further teaches that the first diameter (FD) is larger than the second diameter (SD).
Regarding claim 3, Gabriel in view of Schuech teaches the fastener of claim 1, wherein Gabriel further discloses the frustoconical portion 36 of the plurality of the deformations 34 is oriented such that the first side (FS) is closer to the first end (FE) of the fastener 20 and the second side (SS) is closer to the second end 28 of the fastener.
Regarding claim 7, Gabriel in view of Schuech teaches the fastener of claim 1, wherein Gabriel further discloses the fastener further comprises a flute 40 that forms a helix (column 4, lines 1-2) along the plurality of deformations 34.
Regarding claim 10, Gabriel in view of Schuech teaches the fastener of claim 7, Gabriel further teaches a weld space 60 that divides the plurality of the deformations 34 into at least two deformation sections (refer to two 34s in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Gabriel in view of Schuech teaches the fastener of claim 1, wherein the fastener is a nail.
(The fastener disclosed by Gabriel can be used as a nail due to the fact that it is being made out of carbon steel wire and enhanced with heat-treatment and zinc-plated. It is common to use carbon steel wire for nail making.)
[Regarding claim 21, A fastener comprising:
a head on a first end of the fastener;
a point on a second end of the fastener opposite from the first end;
a shank in between the head and the point;
a plurality of deformations positioned between the head and the point, the plurality of deformations each including:
a frustoconical portion having a first side with a first diameter and a second side with a second diameter opposite from the first side; and
a transition portion extending from the first side of the frustoconical portion toward the first end of the fastener, the transition portion having a third side with a third diameter and a fourth side opposite from the third side with a fourth diameter, the fourth side of the transition portion abutting one of the first side and the second side of the frustoconical portion,
wherein the transition portion is cylindrical in shape and the third diameter is the same as the fourth diameter,]
Regarding the limitations of claim 21 above, Gabriel in view of Schuech teaches and/or make obvious of those limitations. Please refer to the rejection and rationale set forth above in claim 1.
[wherein the first side of the frustoconical portion of a first of said plurality of deformations does not contact the first side of the frustoconical portion of a second of said plurality of deformations, and wherein the third side of the transition portion of a plurality of transition portions does not contact the third side of the transition portion of a second of said plurality of deformations.]
Regarding the limitation of claim 21 above, Gabriel in view of Schuech still teaches the limitation where a first of said plurality of deformations does not contact the first side of the frustoconical portion of a second of said plurality of deformations because there is a transition portion in between.
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gabriel in view of Schuech, in further view of Rockenfeller et al., US4718802 (hereinafter, Rockenfeller).
Regarding claim 8, Gabriel in view of Schuech teaches the fastener of claim 7, but fails to teaches the flute forms a continuous helix that extends from the point through the plurality of the deformations.
However, Rockenfeller in the same field of endeavor teaches a similar nail (1, see Fig. 4) where the flute 13 forms a continuous helix (refer to the flute (13) extending from the point towards head (2)) that extends from the point 3 through the plurality of the deformations 5. Having flutes forming continuous helix helps to drive the nail into hard materials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified the flute as taught by Gabriel to be extended to the point as taught by Rockenfeller as the flute extended through the deformations is advantageous when driven into hard materials where the flute and frustoconical deformation provides improved gripping.
Regarding claim 11, Gabriel in view of Schuech, in further view of Rockenfeller teaches the fastener of claim 10, wherein Rockenfeller further teaches the flute forms a continuous helix (refer to the flute (13) extending from the point towards head 2 that extends from the point 3 through the plurality of the deformations 5.
Additionally, examiner notes that the disclosure does not disclose a particular purpose or criticality of an imaginary helix line extended from one deformation section to another deformation section through the weld space. Therefore, the fastener shown in Gabriel in view of Rockenfeller meets the structural limitations of the product claimed in claim 11, which renders the claim unpatentable.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gabriel in view of Schuech, in further view of Dill et al., US20060018733 (hereinafter, Dill).
Regarding claim 9, Gabriel in view of Schuech teaches the fastener of claim 7, but fails to teach the flute has a flute angle of about 15 to 25 degrees.
However, Dill in the same field of endeavor teaches a similar pin (110, see Fig. 1) with the flute (F, as indicated in annotated Fig. 4) having an angle between 15 to 25 degrees (claim 4). Having flute angle between 15 to 25 degrees helps increase the grip strength.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified the flute angle as taught by Gabriel to an angle between 15 to 25 degrees as taught by Dill for improved grip strength. Having flute angle between 15 to 25 degrees instead of a larger angle like 45 degrees would make significant difference by providing higher grip strength when driven into material.
Annotated Fig. 4
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 01/05/2026, with respect to claims 1-3 and 7-20 have been considered, however the claims still stand rejected base on existing and newly found prior art.
Rejection based on new and/or existing prior art follow.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patrick Ryan et al., (US10371189), teaches a nail with a head having an inwardly curved top surface and shank portion with multiple rings.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIL K. MAGAR/Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675