DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated 12/22/2025, in which claims 1, 11, 25 were amended, claims 6, 15, 19-24 were cancelled, has been entered.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to foreign application KR10-2020-0189231 filed on 12/31/2020. The foreign application is not in English. The certified copy of the foreign priority application KR10-2020-0189231, an English translation of the non-English language foreign application KR10-2020-0189231 and a statement that the translation is accurate in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55 have been received.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, 10-14, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US Pub. 20200152704) in view of Imai et al. (US Pub. 20180351041), Dai (US Pub. 20200176696), Park et al. (US Pub. 20200321400), hereafter Park400 and Park (US Pub. 20180151628), hereafter Park628.
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 10, Jang et al. discloses in Fig. 1-2, Fig. 4 a display panel [DP] includes:
a substrate [BL];
a pixel electrode [ED1] disposed on the substrate [BL];
a pixel-defining layer [PDL] covering a portion of the pixel electrode [ED1];
an opposite electrode [ED2] disposed on the pixel electrode [ED1]; and
a light-emitting layer [OL] disposed between the pixel electrode [ED1] and the opposite electrode [ED2], disposed in an opening [OP] of the pixel-defining layer [PDL];
wherein the substrate [BL] includes:
a front area in a center;
side areas extending outward from edges of the front area, respectively; and
corner areas connecting two adjacent side areas to each other among the side areas;
a light conversion layer [TF] disposed on the opposite electrode [ED2], and disposed in an opening of a light shielding wall portion [B2] and overlapping the light- emitting layer [OL][paragraph [0098]],
a color filter layer [CF] disposed on the light conversion layer [TF] and disposed in an opening of a light shielding layer [B1], and comprising a first color filter [CF1], a second color filter [CF2] and a third color filter [CF3] corresponding to a first pixel region, a second pixel region and a third pixel region respectively;
wherein the light-emitting layer [OL] emits light having a wavelength,
wherein the light conversion layer [TF] converts the light emitted from the light-emitting layer [OL] into visible light [paragraph [0106]];
wherein a portion of the color filter layer [CF] is disposed on a top surface of the light shielding layer [B1],
wherein the light conversion layer [TF] includes a protruding portion extending downward along a profile of the opening [OP] of the pixel-defining layer [PDL].
Jang et al. fails to disclose
the substrate including a plurality of through portions and a plurality of base portions spaced apart from each other by the plurality of through portions;
wherein the plurality of through portions and the plurality of base portions of the substrate are located in the corner area and extend outward away from the front area.
Dai discloses in Fig. 3-Fig. 11, paragraph [0054]-[0056]
the substrate [3] including a plurality of through portions [34] and a plurality of base portions [33] spaced apart from each other by the plurality of through portions [34];
wherein the plurality of through portions [34] and the plurality of base portions [33] of the substrate [3] are located in the corner area and extend outward away from the front area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Dai into the method of Jang et al. to include the substrate including a plurality of through portions and a plurality of base portions spaced apart from each other by the plurality of through portions; wherein the plurality of through portions and the plurality of base portions of the substrate are located in the corner area and extend outward away from the front area. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang et al. in the above manner so that the display substrate is free of wrinkles when attached to the cover substrate and obtaining the best display effect [paragraph [0049], [0064], [0074] of Dai696].
Jang et al. fails to disclose
the light-emitting layer including an inorganic semiconductor material having a grain boundary;
wherein the light-emitting layer emits light having a wavelength of about 200 nm to about 220 nm.
wherein the inorganic semiconductor material of the light-emitting layer includes polycrystalline aluminum nitride (AIN) doped with silicon (Si) or polycrystalline gallium nitride (GaN) doped with Si.
Imai et al. discloses in Fig. 2, Fig. 3, paragraph [0006], [0016], [0038], [0043], [0052], [0058], [0083], [0084], [0087], [0088], [0091]-[0093], [0096]
the light-emitting layer [12 and 14] including an inorganic semiconductor material having a grain boundary [polycrystalline 13-group element nitride];
wherein the light-emitting layer [12 and 14] emits light having a wavelength of about 200 nm to about 220 nm [“the light emitting functional layer 14 may emit visible light of, for example, blue and red or may emit ultraviolet light without or with visible light”, “light emitting functional layer 14 can emit ultraviolet light”];
wherein the inorganic semiconductor material of the light-emitting layer [12 and 14] includes polycrystalline aluminum nitride (AIN) doped with silicon (Si) or polycrystalline gallium nitride (GaN) doped with Si [paragraph [0086], [0091]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Imai et al. into the method of Jang et al. to include the light-emitting layer including an inorganic semiconductor material having a grain boundary; wherein the light-emitting layer emits light having a wavelength of about 200 nm to about 220 nm; wherein the inorganic semiconductor material of the light-emitting layer includes polycrystalline aluminum nitride (AIN) doped with silicon (Si) or polycrystalline gallium nitride (GaN) doped with Si. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing a light emitting device with a high luminous efficiency by scattered light from the grain boundaries in the case of a structure in which light is extracted in the normal direction [paragraph [0043], [0083]-[0084], [0088], [0091] of Imai et al.].
Jang et al. fails to disclose
an inorganic insulating layer disposed between the light conversion layer and the color filter layer, and separating the light shielding wall portion from the light shielding layer in a thickness direction perpendicular to the substrate;
a filler disposed on the color filter layer;
wherein the filler directly contacts a portion of the light shielding layer.
Park400 discloses in Fig. 7, paragraph [0065], [0120]
an inorganic layer [CAP1] disposed between the light conversion layer [CCL] and the color filter layer [CFP], and separating the light shielding wall portion [BP] from the light shielding layer [BM] in a thickness direction perpendicular to the substrate;
a filler [SUB1] disposed on the color filter layer [CFP]; and
wherein the filler [SUB1] directly contacts a portion of the light shielding layer [BM].
Park400 does not explicitly disclose the inorganic layer [CAP1] is an inorganic insulating layer. However, Park400 discloses in paragraph [0120] that “[t]he capping layers CAP1 and CAP2 may be composed of an inorganic material, and the type of the inorganic material is not particularly limited.” Park400 discloses in paragraph [0148] that inorganic material may include at least one of SiNx, SiOx, Al2O3, TiOx, or ZrOx” which includes inorganic insulating material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to select inorganic insulating layer based on its suitability for use as the inorganic capping layer in the device of Park400. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Park400 into the method of Jang et al. to include an inorganic insulating layer disposed between the light conversion layer and the color filter layer, and separating the light shielding wall portion from the light shielding layer in a thickness direction perpendicular to the substrate; a filler disposed on the color filter layer; and wherein the filler directly contacts a portion of the light shielding layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing protective substrate to protect the color filter from an external environment and providing a capping layer to protect the light conversion layer [paragraph [0065], [0120] of Park400].
Jang et al. fails to disclose
wherein the second color filter is thicker than the first color filter and the third color filter.
Park628 discloses in Fig. 4, Fig. 13, paragraph [0176] and [0185]
wherein the second color filter [313] is thicker than the first color filter [311] and the third color filter [312].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Park628 into the method of Jang et al. to include wherein the second color filter is thicker than the first color filter and the third color filter. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing color filters each having optimum thickness in consideration of a wavelength of the light emitted from the pixels and enabling to customize a micro-cavity distance in each of the first to third subpixels [paragraph [0184]-[0185] of Park628].
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Jang et al. fails to disclose
wherein a thickness of the light-emitting layer is about 100 Å or less.
However, Applicant has not provided any criticality of the claimed range. It would have been obvious to modify Jang et al. to provide wherein a thickness of the light-emitting layer is about 100 Å or less for at least the purpose of optimization and routine experimentation to provide suitable thickness of light emitting layer. The claimed ranges are merely optimizations, and as such are not patentable over the prior art. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages." Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Jang et al. fails to disclose
wherein the pixel electrode includes aluminum (AI) or gallium (Ga).
Park628 discloses in Fig. 4, paragraph [0075]
wherein the pixel electrode [261] includes aluminum (AI) or gallium (Ga) [Al].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Park628 into the method of Jang et al. to include wherein the pixel electrode includes aluminum (AI) or gallium (Ga). The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable material of pixel electrode.
Regarding claim 5, Jang et al. discloses in paragraph [0094]
wherein the opposite electrode [ED2] includes indium tin oxide (ITO), indium zinc oxide (IZO), zinc oxide (ZnO), indium oxide (In2O3), indium gallium oxide (IGO), or aluminum zinc oxide (AZO) [indium tin oxide, indium zinc oxide, zinc oxide, and indium tin zinc oxide].
Regarding claim 8 and 16, Jang et al. discloses in Fig. 4
a capping layer [RI1] disposed between the opposite electrode [ED2] and the light conversion layer [TF] and contacting the opposite electrode [ED2] and the light conversion layer [TF], respectively.
Regarding claims 11, 12 and 18, Jang et al. discloses in Fig. 1-2, Fig. 4, a display device comprising:
a display panel [DP]; and
a cover window [WL] disposed on the display panel [DP].
wherein the display panel [DP] includes:
a substrate [BL];
a pixel electrode [ED1] disposed on the substrate [BL];
a pixel-defining layer [PDL] covering a portion of the pixel electrode [ED1];
an opposite electrode [ED2] disposed on the pixel electrode [ED1]; and
a light-emitting layer [OL] disposed between the pixel electrode [ED1] and the opposite electrode [ED2], disposed in an opening [OP] of the pixel-defining layer [PDL];
wherein the substrate [BL] includes:
a front area in a center;
side areas extending outward from edges of the front area, respectively; and
corner areas connecting two adjacent side areas to among the side areas;
a light conversion layer [TF] disposed on the opposite electrode [ED2], and disposed in an opening of a light shielding wall portion [B2] and overlapping the light- emitting layer [OL][paragraph [0098]],
a color filter layer [CF] disposed on the light conversion layer [TF] and disposed in an opening of a light shielding layer [B1], and comprising a first color filter [CF1], a second color filter [CF2] and a third color filter [CF3] corresponding to a first pixel region, a second pixel region and a third pixel region respectively;
wherein the light-emitting layer [OL] emits light having a wavelength,
wherein the light conversion layer [TF] converts the light emitted from the light-emitting layer [OL] into visible light [paragraph [0106]];
wherein a portion of the color filter layer [CF] is disposed on a top surface of the light shielding layer [B1],
wherein the light conversion layer [TF] includes a protruding portion extending downward along a profile of the opening [OP] of the pixel-defining layer [PDL].
Jang et al. fails to disclose
the substrate including a plurality of through portions and a plurality of base portions spaced apart from each other by the plurality of through portions;
wherein the plurality of through portions and the plurality of base portions of the substrate are located in the corner area and extend outward away from the front area.
Dai discloses in Fig. 3-Fig. 11, paragraph [0054]-[0056]
the substrate [3] including a plurality of through portions [34] and a plurality of base portions [33] spaced apart from each other by the plurality of through portions [34];
wherein the plurality of through portions [34] and the plurality of base portions [33] of the substrate [3] are located in the corner area and extend outward away from the front area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Dai into the method of Jang et al. to include the substrate including a plurality of through portions and a plurality of base portions spaced apart from each other by the plurality of through portions; wherein the plurality of through portions and the plurality of base portions of the substrate are located in the corner area and extend outward away from the front area. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang et al. in the above manner so that the display substrate is free of wrinkles when attached to the cover substrate and obtaining the best display effect [paragraph [0049], [0064], [0074] of Dai].
Jang et al. fails to disclose
the light-emitting layer including an inorganic semiconductor material having a grain boundary;
wherein the light-emitting layer emits light having a wavelength of about 200 nm to about 220 nm.
wherein the inorganic semiconductor material of the light-emitting layer includes polycrystalline aluminum nitride (AIN) doped with silicon (Si) or polycrystalline gallium nitride (GaN) doped with Si.
Imai et al. discloses in Fig. 2, Fig. 3, paragraph [0006], [0016], [0038], [0043], [0052], [0058], [0083], [0084], [0087], [0088], [0091]-[0093], [0096]
the light-emitting layer [12 and 14] including an inorganic semiconductor material having a grain boundary [polycrystalline 13-group element nitride];
wherein the light-emitting layer [12 and 14] emits light having a wavelength of about 200 nm to about 220 nm [“the light emitting functional layer 14 may emit visible light of, for example, blue and red or may emit ultraviolet light without or with visible light”, “light emitting functional layer 14 can emit ultraviolet light”];
wherein the inorganic semiconductor material of the light-emitting layer [12 and 14] includes polycrystalline aluminum nitride (AIN) doped with silicon (Si) or polycrystalline gallium nitride (GaN) doped with Si [paragraph [0086], [0091]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Imai et al. into the method of Jang et al. to include the light-emitting layer including an inorganic semiconductor material having a grain boundary; wherein the light-emitting layer emits light having a wavelength of about 200 nm to about 220 nm; wherein the inorganic semiconductor material of the light-emitting layer includes polycrystalline aluminum nitride (AIN) doped with silicon (Si) or polycrystalline gallium nitride (GaN) doped with Si. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing a light emitting device with a high luminous efficiency by scattered light from the grain boundaries in the case of a structure in which light is extracted in the normal direction [paragraph [0043], [0083]-[0084], [0088], [0091] of Imai et al.].
Jang et al. fails to disclose
an inorganic insulating layer disposed between the light conversion layer and the color filter layer, and separating the light shielding wall portion from the light shielding layer in a thickness direction perpendicular to the substrate;
a filler disposed on the color filter layer;
wherein the filler directly contacts a portion of the light shielding layer.
Park400 discloses in Fig. 7, paragraph [0065], [0120]
an inorganic layer [CAP1] disposed between the light conversion layer [CCL] and the color filter layer [CFP], and separating the light shielding wall portion [BP] from the light shielding layer [BM] in a thickness direction perpendicular to the substrate;
a filler [SUB1] disposed on the color filter layer [CFP]; and
wherein the filler [SUB1] directly contacts a portion of the light shielding layer [BM].
Park400 does not explicitly disclose the inorganic layer [CAP1] is an inorganic insulating layer. However, Park400 discloses in paragraph [0120] that “[t]he capping layers CAP1 and CAP2 may be composed of an inorganic material, and the type of the inorganic material is not particularly limited.” Park400 discloses in paragraph [0148] that inorganic material may include at least one of SiNx, SiOx, Al2O3, TiOx, or ZrOx” which includes inorganic insulating material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to select inorganic insulating layer based on its suitability for use as the inorganic capping layer in the device of Park400. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Park400 into the method of Jang et al. to include an inorganic insulating layer disposed between the light conversion layer and the color filter layer, and separating the light shielding wall portion from the light shielding layer in a thickness direction perpendicular to the substrate; a filler disposed on the color filter layer; and wherein the filler directly contacts a portion of the light shielding layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing protective substrate to protect the color filter from an external environment and providing a capping layer to protect the light conversion layer [paragraph [0065], [0120] of Park400].
Jang et al. fails to disclose
wherein the second color filter is thicker than the first color filter and the third color filter.
Park628 discloses in Fig. 4, Fig. 13, paragraph [0176] and [0185]
wherein a portion of the color filter layer [311, 312, 313] is disposed on a top surface of the light shielding layer [320],
wherein the second color filter [313] is thicker than the first color filter [311] and the third color filter [312].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Park628 into the method of Jang et al. to include wherein a portion of the color filter layer is disposed on a top surface of the light shielding layer, wherein the second color filter is thicker than the first color filter and the third color filter. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing color filters each having optimum thickness in consideration of a wavelength of the light emitted from the pixels and enabling to customize a micro-cavity distance in each of the first to third subpixels [paragraph [0184]-[0185] of Park628].
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-14, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US Pub. 20200152704) in view of Tan et al. (US Pub. 20210043698), Imai et al. (US Pub. 20180351041), Park et al. (US Pub. 20200321400), hereafter Park400 and Park (US Pub. 20180151628), hereafter Park628.
Regarding claims 1-2, Jang et al. discloses in Fig. 1-2, Fig. 4 a display panel [DP] includes:
a substrate [BL];
a pixel electrode [ED1] disposed on the substrate [BL];
a pixel-defining layer [PDL] covering a portion of the pixel electrode [ED1];
an opposite electrode [ED2] disposed on the pixel electrode [ED1]; and
a light-emitting layer [OL] disposed between the pixel electrode [ED1] and the opposite electrode [ED2], disposed in an opening [OP] of the pixel-defining layer [PDL];
wherein the substrate [BL] includes:
a front area in a center;
side areas extending outward from edges of the front area, respectively; and
corner areas connecting two adjacent side areas to each other among the side areas;
a light conversion layer [TF] disposed on the opposite electrode [ED2], and disposed in an opening of a light shielding wall portion [B2] and overlapping the light- emitting layer [OL][paragraph [0098]],
a color filter layer [CF] disposed on the light conversion layer [TF] and disposed in an opening of a light shielding layer [B1], and comprising a first color filter [CF1], a second color filter [CF2] and a third color filter [CF3] corresponding to a first pixel region, a second pixel region and a third pixel region respectively;
wherein the light-emitting layer [OL] emits light having a wavelength,
wherein the light conversion layer [TF] converts the light emitted from the light-emitting layer [OL] into visible light [paragraph [0106]];
wherein a portion of the color filter layer [CF] is disposed on a top surface of the light shielding layer [B1],
wherein the light conversion layer [TF] includes a protruding portion extending downward along a profile of the opening [OP] of the pixel-defining layer [PDL].
Jang et al. fails to disclose
the substrate including a plurality of through portions and a plurality of base portions spaced apart from each other by the plurality of through portions.
Tan et al. discloses in Fig. 5, Fig. 9, paragraph [0054]-[0056]
the substrate [1] including a plurality of through portions [30] and a plurality of base portions [10] spaced apart from each other by the plurality of through portions [30].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Tan et al. into the method of Jang et al. to include the substrate including a plurality of through portions and a plurality of base portions spaced apart from each other by the plurality of through portions. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing stretchable display [paragraph [0056] of Tan et al.].
Jang et al. fails to disclose
the light-emitting layer including an inorganic semiconductor material having a grain boundary;
wherein the light-emitting layer emits light having a wavelength of about 200 nm to about 220 nm;
wherein the inorganic semiconductor material of the light-emitting layer includes polycrystalline aluminum nitride (AIN) doped with silicon (Si) or polycrystalline gallium nitride (GaN) doped with Si.
Imai et al. discloses in Fig. 2, Fig. 3, paragraph [0006], [0016], [0038], [0043], [0052], [0058], [0083], [0084], [0087], [0088], [0091]-[0093], [0096]
the light-emitting layer [12 and 14] including an inorganic semiconductor material having a grain boundary [polycrystalline 13-group element nitride];
wherein the light-emitting layer [12 and 14] emits light having a wavelength of about 200 nm to about 220 nm [“the light emitting functional layer 14 may emit visible light of, for example, blue and red or may emit ultraviolet light without or with visible light”, “light emitting functional layer 14 can emit ultraviolet light”];
wherein the inorganic semiconductor material of the light-emitting layer [12 and 14] includes polycrystalline aluminum nitride (AIN) doped with silicon (Si) or polycrystalline gallium nitride (GaN) doped with Si [paragraph [0086], [0091]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Imai et al. into the method of Jang et al. to include the light-emitting layer including an inorganic semiconductor material having a grain boundary; wherein the light-emitting layer emits light having a wavelength of about 200 nm to about 220 nm; wherein the inorganic semiconductor material of the light-emitting layer includes polycrystalline aluminum nitride (AIN) doped with silicon (Si) or polycrystalline gallium nitride (GaN) doped with Si. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing a light emitting device with a high luminous efficiency by scattered light from the grain boundaries in the case of a structure in which light is extracted in the normal direction [paragraph [0043], [0083]-[0084], [0088], [0091] of Imai et al.].
Jang et al. fails to disclose
an inorganic insulating layer disposed between the light conversion layer and the color filter layer, and separating the light shielding wall portion from the light shielding layer in a thickness direction perpendicular to the substrate;
a filler disposed on the color filter layer;
wherein the filler directly contacts a portion of the light shielding layer.
Park400 discloses in Fig. 7, paragraph [0065], [0120]
an inorganic layer [CAP1] disposed between the light conversion layer [CCL] and the color filter layer [CFP], and separating the light shielding wall portion [BP] from the light shielding layer [BM] in a thickness direction perpendicular to the substrate;
a filler [SUB1] disposed on the color filter layer [CFP]; and
wherein the filler [SUB1] directly contacts a portion of the light shielding layer [BM].
Park400 does not explicitly disclose the inorganic layer [CAP1] is an inorganic insulating layer. However, Park400 discloses in paragraph [0120] that “[t]he capping layers CAP1 and CAP2 may be composed of an inorganic material, and the type of the inorganic material is not particularly limited.” Park400 discloses in paragraph [0148] that inorganic material may include at least one of SiNx, SiOx, Al2O3, TiOx, or ZrOx” which includes inorganic insulating material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to select inorganic insulating layer based on its suitability for use as the inorganic capping layer in the device of Park400. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Park400 into the method of Jang et al. to include an inorganic insulating layer disposed between the light conversion layer and the color filter layer, and separating the light shielding wall portion from the light shielding layer in a thickness direction perpendicular to the substrate; a filler disposed on the color filter layer; and wherein the filler directly contacts a portion of the light shielding layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing protective substrate to protect the color filter from an external environment and providing a capping layer to protect the light conversion layer [paragraph [0065], [0120] of Park400].
Jang et al. fails to disclose
wherein the second color filter is thicker than the first color filter and the third color filter.
Park628 discloses in Fig. 4, Fig. 13, paragraph [0176] and [0185]
wherein the second color filter [313] is thicker than the first color filter [311] and the third color filter [312].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Park628 into the method of Jang et al. to include wherein the second color filter is thicker than the first color filter and the third color filter. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing color filters each having optimum thickness in consideration of a wavelength of the light emitted from the pixels and enabling to customize a micro-cavity distance in each of the first to third subpixels [paragraph [0184]-[0185] of Park628].
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Jang et al. fails to disclose
wherein a thickness of the light-emitting layer is about 100 Å or less.
However, Applicant has not provided any criticality of the claimed range. It would have been obvious to modify Jang et al. to provide wherein a thickness of the light-emitting layer is about 100 Å or less for at least the purpose of optimization and routine experimentation to provide suitable thickness of light emitting layer. The claimed ranges are merely optimizations, and as such are not patentable over the prior art. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages." Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Jang et al. fails to disclose
wherein the pixel electrode includes aluminum (AI) or gallium (Ga).
Park628 discloses in Fig. 4, paragraph [0075]
wherein the pixel electrode [261] includes aluminum (AI) or gallium (Ga) [Al].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Park628 into the method of Jang et al. to include wherein the pixel electrode includes aluminum (AI) or gallium (Ga). The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable material of pixel electrode.
Regarding claim 5, Jang et al. discloses in paragraph [0094]
wherein the opposite electrode [ED2] includes indium tin oxide (ITO), indium zinc oxide (IZO), zinc oxide (ZnO), indium oxide (In2O3), indium gallium oxide (IGO), or aluminum zinc oxide (AZO) [indium tin oxide, indium zinc oxide, zinc oxide, and indium tin zinc oxide].
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Jang et al. discloses in Fig. 4
a capping layer [RI1] disposed between the opposite electrode [ED2] and the light conversion layer [TF] and contacting the opposite electrode [ED2] and the light conversion layer [TF], respectively.
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Tan et al. discloses in Fig. 5, Fig. 9
wherein the substrate [1] further includes a plurality of connection portions [201 and 202] extending in different directions from the plurality of base portions [10], respectively, and wherein two adjacent base portions [10] from among the plurality of base portions are spaced apart from each other with any one of the plurality of through portions [30] therebetween, and at least one of the plurality of connecting portions [201 and 202] connects the two adjacent base portions [10] to each other.
Regarding claims 11-12, Jang et al. discloses in Fig. 1-2, Fig. 4, a display device comprising:
a display panel [DP]; and
a cover window [WL] disposed on the display panel [DP].
wherein the display panel [DP] includes:
a substrate [BL];
a pixel electrode [ED1] disposed on the substrate [BL];
a pixel-defining layer [PDL] covering a portion of the pixel electrode [ED1];
an opposite electrode [ED2] disposed on the pixel electrode [ED1]; and
a light-emitting layer [OL] disposed between the pixel electrode [ED1] and the opposite electrode [ED2], disposed in an opening [OP] of the pixel-defining layer [PDL];
wherein the substrate [BL] includes:
a front area in a center;
side areas extending outward from edges of the front area, respectively; and
corner areas connecting two adjacent side areas to among the side areas;
a light conversion layer [TF] disposed on the opposite electrode [ED2], and disposed in an opening of a light shielding wall portion [B2] and overlapping the light- emitting layer [OL][paragraph [0098]],
a color filter layer [CF] disposed on the light conversion layer [TF] and disposed in an opening of a light shielding layer [B1], and comprising a first color filter [CF1], a second color filter [CF2] and a third color filter [CF3] corresponding to a first pixel region, a second pixel region and a third pixel region respectively;
wherein the light-emitting layer [OL] emits light having a wavelength,
wherein the light conversion layer [TF] converts the light emitted from the light-emitting layer [OL] into visible light [paragraph [0106]];
wherein a portion of the color filter layer [CF] is disposed on a top surface of the light shielding layer [B1],
wherein the light conversion layer [TF] includes a protruding portion extending downward along a profile of the opening [OP] of the pixel-defining layer [PDL].
Jang et al. fails to disclose
the substrate including a plurality of through portions and a plurality of base portions spaced apart from each other by the plurality of through portions.
Tan et al. discloses in Fig. 5, Fig. 9, paragraph [0054]-[0056]
the substrate [1] including a plurality of through portions [30] and a plurality of base portions [10] spaced apart from each other by the plurality of through portions [30].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Tan et al. into the method of Jang et al. to include the substrate including a plurality of through portions and a plurality of base portions spaced apart from each other by the plurality of through portions. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing stretchable display [paragraph [0056] of Tan et al.].
Jang et al. fails to disclose
the light-emitting layer including an inorganic semiconductor material having a grain boundary;
wherein the light-emitting layer emits light having a wavelength of about 200 nm to about 220 nm.
wherein the inorganic semiconductor material of the light-emitting layer includes polycrystalline aluminum nitride (AIN) doped with silicon (Si) or polycrystalline gallium nitride (GaN) doped with Si.
Imai et al. discloses in Fig. 2, Fig. 3, paragraph [0006], [0016], [0038], [0043], [0052], [0058], [0083], [0084], [0087], [0088], [0091]-[0093], [0096]
the light-emitting layer [12 and 14] including an inorganic semiconductor material having a grain boundary [polycrystalline 13-group element nitride];
wherein the light-emitting layer [12 and 14] emits light having a wavelength of about 200 nm to about 220 nm [“the light emitting functional layer 14 may emit visible light of, for example, blue and red or may emit ultraviolet light without or with visible light”, “light emitting functional layer 14 can emit ultraviolet light”];
wherein the inorganic semiconductor material of the light-emitting layer [12 and 14] includes polycrystalline aluminum nitride (AIN) doped with silicon (Si) or polycrystalline gallium nitride (GaN) doped with Si [paragraph [0086], [0091]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Imai et al. into the method of Jang et al. to include the light-emitting layer including an inorganic semiconductor material having a grain boundary; wherein the light-emitting layer emits light having a wavelength of about 200 nm to about 220 nm; wherein the inorganic semiconductor material of the light-emitting layer includes polycrystalline aluminum nitride (AIN) doped with silicon (Si) or polycrystalline gallium nitride (GaN) doped with Si. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing a light emitting device with a high luminous efficiency by scattered light from the grain boundaries in the case of a structure in which light is extracted in the normal direction [paragraph [0043], [0083]-[0084], [0088], [0091] of Imai et al.].
Jang et al. fails to disclose
an inorganic insulating layer disposed between the light conversion layer and the color filter layer, and separating the light shielding wall portion from the light shielding layer in a thickness direction perpendicular to the substrate;
a filler disposed on the color filter layer;
wherein the filler directly contacts a portion of the light shielding layer.
Park400 discloses in Fig. 7, paragraph [0065], [0120]
an inorganic layer [CAP1] disposed between the light conversion layer [CCL] and the color filter layer [CFP], and separating the light shielding wall portion [BP] from the light shielding layer [BM] in a thickness direction perpendicular to the substrate;
a filler [SUB1] disposed on the color filter layer [CFP]; and
wherein the filler [SUB1] directly contacts a portion of the light shielding layer [BM].
Park400 does not explicitly disclose the inorganic layer [CAP1] is an inorganic insulating layer. However, Park400 discloses in paragraph [0120] that “[t]he capping layers CAP1 and CAP2 may be composed of an inorganic material, and the type of the inorganic material is not particularly limited.” Park400 discloses in paragraph [0148] that inorganic material may include at least one of SiNx, SiOx, Al2O3, TiOx, or ZrOx” which includes inorganic insulating material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to select inorganic insulating layer based on its suitability for use as the inorganic capping layer in the device of Park400. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Park400 into the method of Jang et al. to include an inorganic insulating layer disposed between the light conversion layer and the color filter layer, and separating the light shielding wall portion from the light shielding layer in a thickness direction perpendicular to the substrate; a filler disposed on the color filter layer; and wherein the filler directly contacts a portion of the light shielding layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing protective substrate to protect the color filter from an external environment and providing a capping layer to protect the light conversion layer [paragraph [0065], [0120] of Park400].
Jang et al. fails to disclose
wherein the second color filter is thicker than the first color filter and the third color filter.
Park628 discloses in Fig. 4, Fig. 13, paragraph [0176] and [0185]
wherein the second color filter [313] is thicker than the first color filter [311] and the third color filter [312].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Park628 into the method of Jang et al. to include wherein a portion of the color filter layer is disposed on the light shielding layer, and wherein the second color filter is thicker than the first color filter and the third color filter. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing color filters each having optimum thickness in consideration of a wavelength of the light emitted from the pixels and enabling to customize a micro-cavity distance in each of the first to third subpixels [paragraph [0184]-[0185] of Park628].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US Pub. 20200152704) in view of Tan et al. (US Pub. 20210043698) Imai et al. (US Pub. 20180351041), Park et al. (US Pub. 20200321400), hereafter Park400 and Park (US Pub. 20180151628), hereafter Park628 as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Baek et al. (US Pub. 20200089047) and Park et al. (US Pub. 20150085223), hereafter Park223.
Regarding claim 7, Jang et al. discloses in Fig. 4, paragraph [0098]
wherein the light conversion layer [TF] includes a first light conversion layer [TF1], a second light conversion layer [TF2], and a third light conversion layer [TF3],
Jang et al. further discloses
the third light conversion layer can include scattering particles [paragraph [0105]],
the first, second, light conversion layers further include first, second quantum dots [paragraph [0106]]
Jang et al. fails to disclose
the first light conversion layer, the second light conversion layer each having scattering particles,
wherein the first, second, and third light conversion layers further include first, second, and third quantum dots including a same material,
wherein a size of each of the third quantum dots is less than a size of each of the first quantum dots but greater than a size of each of the second quantum dots.
Baek et al. discloses in Fig. 4, paragraph [0073]-0076]
the first light conversion layer [150], the second light conversion layer [160] each having scattering particles [153 and 163] and further include first, second quantum dots [152 and 162] including a same material, but having different sizes, respectively.
Thus, it would be obvious from the teaching of Baek et al. that the third light conversion layer (if any) can also have scattering particles and further include third quantum dot including the same material as the first, second quantum dots, but having different size.
Park223 discloses in Fig. 12 and paragraph [0139]
wherein the first, second, and third quantum dots [Qr, Qb and Qg] including a same material,
wherein a size of each of the third quantum dots [Qg] is less than a size of each of the first quantum dots [Qr] but greater than a size of each of the second quantum dots [Qb].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Baek et al. and Park223 into the method of Jang et al. to include the first light conversion layer, the second light conversion layer, and the third light conversion layer each having scattering particles, wherein the first, second, and third light conversion layers further include first, second, and third quantum dots including a same material, wherein a size of each of the third quantum dots is less than a size of each of the first quantum dots but greater than a size of each of the second quantum dots. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of increasing color conversion rate of the light conversion layers, and providing a method for forming light conversion layers emitting lights of different wavelengths; providing suitable materials and sizes of quantum dots according to the wavelength of an emitted light [paragraph [0074], [0076] of Baek et al., paragraph [0063], [0139] of Park223].
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al. (US Pub. 20200152704) in view of Tan et al. (US Pub. 20210043698) and Nickel et al. (US Pub. 6288417) and Park et al. (US Pub. 20200321400), hereafter Park400.
Regarding claim 25, Jang et al. discloses in Fig. 1-2, Fig. 3A, Fig. 4 an electronic apparatus comprising:
a display panel [DP] including a display area [PXP] and a peripheral area surrounding at least one side of the display area [Fig. 1, Fig. 3A]; and
a driver [gate driving unit and/or data driving unit] providing electrical signal to the display panel [DP] and disposed on the peripheral area [Fig. 1, Fig. 3A],
wherein the display panel [DP] includes:
a substrate [BL];
a pixel electrode [ED1] disposed on the substrate [BL];
a pixel-defining layer [PDL] covering a portion of the pixel electrode [ED1];
an opposite electrode [ED2] disposed on the pixel electrode [ED1]; and
a light-emitting layer [OL] disposed between the pixel electrode [ED1] and the opposite electrode [ED2], disposed in an opening [OP] of the pixel-defining layer [PDL];
a light conversion layer [TF] disposed on the opposite electrode [ED2], and disposed in an opening of a light shielding wall portion [B2] and overlapping the light- emitting layer [OL][paragraph [0098]],
a color filter layer [CF] disposed on the light conversion layer [TF] and disposed in an opening of a light shielding layer [B1], and comprising a first color filter [CF1], a second color filter [CF2] and a third color filter [CF3] corresponding to a first pixel region, a second pixel region and a third pixel region respectively, and
wherein the light conversion layer [TF] includes a protruding portion extending downward along a profile of the opening [OP] of the pixel-defining layer [PDL].
Jang et al. fails to disclose
the substrate including a plurality of through portions and a plurality of base portions spaced apart from each other by the plurality of through portions.
Tan et al. discloses in Fig. 5, Fig. 9, paragraph [0054]-[0056]
the substrate [1] including a plurality of through portions [30] and a plurality of base portions [10] spaced apart from each other by the plurality of through portions [30].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Tan et al. into the method of Jang et al. to include the substrate including a plurality of through portions and a plurality of base portions spaced apart from each other by the plurality of through portions. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing stretchable display [paragraph [0056] of Tan et al.].
Jang et al. fails to disclose
the light-emitting layer including an inorganic semiconductor material having a grain boundary.
Nickel et al. discloses in columns 1-2
the light-emitting layer including an inorganic semiconductor material having a grain boundary [polycrystalline group III-nitride material].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Nickel et al. into the method of Jang et al. to include the light-emitting layer including an inorganic semiconductor material having a grain boundary. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable material of light emitting layer that enhances electrical carrier recombination and can be used in large area color display [column 2 of Nickel et al.].
Jang et al. fails to disclose
an inorganic insulating layer disposed between the light conversion layer and the color filter layer, and separating the light shielding wall portion from the light shielding layer in a thickness direction perpendicular to the substrate.
Park400 discloses in Fig. 7, paragraph [0065], [0120]
an inorganic layer [CAP1] disposed between the light conversion layer [CCL] and the color filter layer [CFP], and separating the light shielding wall portion [BP] from the light shielding layer [BM] in a thickness direction perpendicular to the substrate.
Park400 does not explicitly disclose the inorganic layer [CAP1] is an inorganic insulating layer. However, Park400 discloses in paragraph [0120] that “[t]he capping layers CAP1 and CAP2 may be composed of an inorganic material, and the type of the inorganic material is not particularly limited.” Park400 discloses in paragraph [0148] that inorganic material may include at least one of SiNx, SiOx, Al2O3, TiOx, or ZrOx” which includes inorganic insulating material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to select inorganic insulating layer based on its suitability for use as the inorganic capping layer in the device of Park400. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Park400 into the method of Jang et al. to include an inorganic insulating layer disposed between the light conversion layer and the color filter layer, and separating the light shielding wall portion from the light shielding layer in a thickness direction perpendicular to the substrate. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Jang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing a capping layer to protect the light conversion layer [paragraph [0120] of Park400].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 7-14,16-18, 25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The claims stand rejected and the Action is made FINAL.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893