DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
1. Claims 1-18 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Rejections
3. Rejection of claims 1-8 and 12-17 in view of Choi et al. is being modified in view of applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 1-8 and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 2019/0039065).
Claim 1. Choi et al. teach a molecular complex configured to bridge a nanogap between a complementary pair of electrodes (DNA bridges nanogap between pair of electrodes; [0015]), the molecular complex comprising:
an oligonucleotide biomolecule having first end and a second end (DNA has first and second ends; [0015][0024]), wherein at least one of the first end or the second ends of the oligonucleotide biomolecule comprises a terminal 3' thiol modification (DNA has thiol groups [0049]; since DNA binds to Au coated nanoparticles from both ends/terminal i.e. 3’ and 5’ (see Fig 7a), thus DNA comprises terminal 3’ thiol modification);
a first nanoparticle to couple with the first end of the oligonucleotide biomolecule (see fig 7a);
a second nanoparticle to couple with the second end of the oligonucleotide biomolecule (see fig 7a); and
the first end of the oligonucleotide biomolecule is conjugated to the first nanoparticle and the second end of the oligonucleotide biomolecule is conjugated to the second nanoparticle (DNA is coupled to the nanoparticles using thiol group [0049]);
wherein a combination of the oligonucleotide biomolecule and each of the first and the second nanoparticles forms an integrated molecular complex prior to disposition on the complementary electrode pair (DNA 72 already tagged with Au coated magnetic nanoparticles 71 is deposited on the electrode pair; [0066][0067] and
wherein the oligonucleotide biomolecule comprises 15 or 25 nm thiolated forward and reverse sequences (thiolated DNA bridges nanogap of 5-20 nm [0039], thus it is apparent the DNA which inherently comprises forward and reverse strand sequences has 15 nm length sequences as claimed as it bridges a nanogap in a range from 5-20 nm).
Claim 2. Choi et al. teach the oligonucleotide biomolecule comprises a double stranded nucleic acid (dsDNA) having a thiolated end and wherein the first nanoparticle couples to the biomolecule through the thiolated end of the biomolecule (DNA having SH end couple to nanoparticle; [0049], DNA is double stranded).
Claim 3. Choi et al. teach the oligonucleotide biomolecule comprises one of a single strand or a double-stranded nucleic acid (the biomolecule is DNA; [0049]).
Claim 4. Choi et al. teach the molecular complex is conductive (biomolecule is bridge in the nanogap through which electronic current or voltage signals are detected; [0039]).
Claim 5. Choi et al. teach the first and the second nanoparticles are stabilized to prevent nanoparticle aggregation (the nanoparticles have slight surface oxidation as a protective coat to provide chemical stability; [0067], thus preventing nanoparticle aggregation).
Claims 6 and 8. Choi et al. tach method for making a molecular complex configured to bridge a nanogap between a complementary pair of electrodes (biomolecule complex bridges nanogap between pair of electrodes; [0015]), the method comprising:
forming a nucleic acid [ssDNA and dsDNA] having a first and a second functionalized ends (DNA has thiol groups on each terminal [0049][0015];
forming a plurality of nanoparticles, the plurality of nanoparticles comprising a first nanoparticle and a second nanoparticle (Au coated nanoparticles; [0015];
conjugating the first functionalized end of the nucleic acid with the first nanoparticle; and conjugating the second functionalized end of the nucleic acid with the second nanoparticle; wherein the nucleic acid comprises two complementary single stranded nucleic acids with terminal 3' thiol modification to conjugate separately with each of the first and the second nanoparticles (DNA has thiol groups on each terminal [0049]; since biomolecule binds to Au from both ends/terminal i.e. 3’ and 5’ (see Fig 7a), thus biomolecule comprises terminal 3’ thiol modification); and
wherein a combination of the biomolecule and each of the first and the second nanoparticles forms an integrated molecular complex prior to disposition on the complementary electrode pair (biomolecule 72 already tagged with Au coated magnetic nanoparticles 71 is deposited on the electrode pair; [0066][0067]
wherein the biomolecule comprises an oligonucleotide biomolecule having 15 or 25 nm thiolated forward and reverse sequences (thiolated DNA bridges nanogap of 5-20 nm [0039], thus it is apparent the DNA which inherently comprises forward and reverse strand sequences has 15 nm length sequences as claimed as it bridges a nanogap in a range from 5-20 nm).
Claim 7. Choi et al. teach the oligonucleotide biomolecule comprises one of a single strand or a double-stranded nucleic acid (the biomolecule is DNA; [0049]).
Claim 12. A molecular sensor array (molecular electronic device comprising parallel electronic sensing array [0047]), comprising:
at least one sensor having:
a first nanoelectrode and a second nanoelectrode, the first and the second nanoelectrodes separated by a gap, the first nanoelectrode and the second nanoelectrodes forming an electrode pair (nanogap between pair of electrodes; [0011]);
a molecular complex extended between the first nanoelectrode and the second nanoelectrode (biomolecule complex bridges nanogap between pair of electrodes; [0011]), the molecular complex further comprising:
a biomolecule having first end and a second end, wherein at least one of the first end or the second ends of the biomolecule comprises a terminal 3' thiol modification (biomolecule has thiol groups [0049]; since biomolecule binds to Au from both ends/terminal i.e. 3’ and 5’ (see Fig 1d), thus biomolecule comprises terminal 3’ thiol modification;
a first nanoparticle to couple with the first end of the biomolecule (see Fig 1d);
a second nanoparticle to couple with the second end of the biomolecule (see Fig 1d); and
the first end of the biomolecule is conjugated to the first nanoparticle and the second end of the biomolecule is conjugated to the second nanoparticle (biomolecules is coupled to the nanoparticles using thiol group [0049]);
wherein the biomolecule is functionalized with a terminal 3' thiol modification to conjugate separately with each of the first and the second nanoparticles (biomolecule has thiol groups [0049]; since biomolecule binds to Au from both ends/terminal i.e. 3’ and 5’ (see Fig 1d), thus biomolecule comprises terminal 3’ thiol modification;
wherein the biomolecule further comprises oligonucleotide biomolecule having 15 or 25 nm thiolated forward and reverse sequences (thiolated DNA bridges nanogap of 5-20 nm [0039], thus it is apparent the DNA which inherently comprises forward and reverse strand sequences has 15 nm length sequences as claimed as it bridges a nanogap in a range from 5-20 nm).
Claim 13. Choi et al. teach the biomolecule comprises one of a single strand or a double-stranded nucleic acid (the biomolecule is DNA; [0049]).
Claim 14. Choi et al. teach the molecular complex is conductive (biomolecule is bridge in the nanogap through which electronic current or voltage signals are detected; [0039]).
Claim 15. Choi et al. teach the first and the second nanoparticles are stabilized to prevent nanoparticle aggregation (the nanoparticles have slight surface oxidation as a protective coat to provide chemical stability; [0067], thus preventing nanoparticle aggregation).
Claim 16. Choi et al. teach the molecular complex defines a length substantially equal to the gap and wherein the length is selected from the group consisting of 10-15 nm, 15-25nm, 25-35 nm, 35-45 nm, 45-100 nm, 100 nm - 500 nm, 500 nm - 1 um (the nanogap is 5-20 nm; [0039] and biomolecule complex bridges the gap, thus the biomolecule complex has a length substantially equal to the nanogap).
Claim 17. Choi et al. teach a passivation layer supporting the nanoelectrodes and a substrate to support the passivation layer (substrate with SiO2 insulator surface; see Fig 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. as applied to claims 1, 6 and 12 above, and further in view of Strobel et al. (Phys.Chem. Chem. Phys., 2011, 13, 9973-9977).
Claim 9. Choi et al. do not teach coupling the first nanoparticle to a first nanoelectrode via a surface ligand and wherein the surface ligands is selected from the group consisting of citrate, amine, tannic acid, dodecanethiol, carboxyl, polyethylene glycol (PEG), Polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) may be capped onto the nanoparticle.
However, Strobel et al. teach method making DNA-coated gold nanoparticles comprising the step of forming citrate-stabilized gold nanoparticles with phosphine (bis(p-sulfonatophenyl)phenylphosphine dihydrate dipotassium salt for at least 12 hours and combining with thiolated dsDNA (page 9974, col.1, paragraph 2 over to col. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention in view of Strobel et al. teaching to add the step of reacting the nanoparticle with bis(p-sulfonatophenyl)phenylphosphine dihydrate dipotassium salt (BSPP) to form stable citrate nanoparticles and thereby provide stabilized DNA-nanoparticle.
Claim 10, modified Choi et al. teach coupling the second nanoparticle to a second nanoelectrode and extending the molecular complex to substantially bridge a nanogap between the first and the second nanoelectrodes (biomolecule complex bridges nanogap between pair of electrodes; see Choi et al. [011]).
Claim 11, Choi et al. do not teach method step of purifying plurality of nanoparticles by incubating a plurality of raw nanoparticles comprising incubating at least two nanoparticle with a citrate compound on the surface thereof with bis(p-sulfonatophenyl)phenylphosphine dihydrate dipotassium salt (BSPP) for a period of about 8 hours to substantially stabilize the citrate compound and combining the stabilized first and second nanoparticles with thiolated double stranded DNA (dsDNA). However, Strobel et al. teach method making DNA-coated gold nanoparticles comprising the step of forming citrate-stabilized gold nanoparticles with phosphine (bis(p-sulfonatophenyl)phenylphosphine dihydrate dipotassium salt for at least 12 hours and combining with thiolated dsDNA (page 9974, col.1, paragraph 2 over to col. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention in view of Strobel et al. teaching to add the step of reacting the nanoparticle with bis(p-sulfonatophenyl)phenylphosphine dihydrate dipotassium salt (BSPP) to form stable citrate nanoparticles and thereby provide stabilized DNA-nanoparticle.
Claim 18. Choi et al. teach positioning of the molecular complex in the nanogap [0011] but do not explicitly teach an induction source to induce positioning of the molecular complex substantially in the gap. However, Strobel et al. teach trapping DNA-Au nanoparticles in the nanogap using dielectrophoretic field in order to achieve controlled functionalization of nanogap (see 9974, col. 2, paragraph 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention in view of Strobel to use dielectrophoretic force to place the molecular complex of Choi et al. into the nanogap because dielectrophoretic force would place the DNA-Au complex in nanogap in a controlled manner in order to properly sequence the DNA.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 7-8 of remarks that the cited prior art, Choi et al. does not teach oligonucleotide biomolecule comprises 15 or 25 nm thiolated forward and reverse sequences. In response, examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s assertion. Choi et al. teach thiolated DNA bridges nanogap of 5-20 nm [0039], thus it is apparent the DNA which inherently comprises forward and reverse strand sequences has 15 nm length sequences as claimed as it bridges a nanogap in a range from 5-20 nm which includes 15 nm.
Conclusion
/GURPREET KAUR/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759