DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 10-12, 14, 15, 17-20, and 22-34 are pending. Claims 2, 4, 8, 9, 13, 16, and 21 have been canceled. Note that, Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed July 6, 2026, have been entered.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Objections/Rejections Withdrawn
The following objections/rejections as set forth in the Office action mailed 8/14/25 have been withdrawn:
The rejection of claims 1, 3, 5-7, 10-12, 14, 15, 17-20, and 22-33 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2013/138278, has been withdrawn.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 10-12, 14, 15, 17-20, and 22-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2005/043245.
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, ‘245 teaches alkaline compositions for stripping or cleaning semiconductor wafer substrates that contain one or more bases, preferably a metal ion-free base dissolved in water, and one or more metal corrosion inhibiting metal halide compounds. The compositions may, and preferably do, contain other optional components, including but not limited to components such as for example, water, organic solvents and co-solvents, metal chelating or complexing agents, fluoride compounds, silicates, additional metal corrosion inhibitors, surfactants, titanium residue removal enhancing agents, bath stabilizing agents, and the like. The pH of the composition may be from about 9 to about 13. See paras. 19-22. Any suitable base may be used in the compositions of the present invention, generally in an amount of from about 0.1% to about 30%, preferably from about 0.15 to about 10%, and most preferably about 0.1% to about 5%, by weight based on the weight of the composition. The bases are preferably quaternary ammonium hydroxides, such as tetraalkyl ammonium hydroxides (including hydroxy and alkoxy-containing alkyl groups generally of from 1 to 4 carbon atoms in the alkyl or alkoxy group) and diamines. See paras. 23-25. The composition is preferably an aqueous solution containing the base, the metal halide corrosion inhibitor compound, and water, preferably high purity de-ionized water, and the optional components, if any. The water may be present in the composition in an amount of from about 0% to about 99%, preferably from about 1% to about 99%, and more preferably from about 25% to about 98%, by weight of the composition. See para. 26. Typical examples of chelating agents are the following organic acids and their isomers and salts: (ethylenedinitrilo)tetraacetic acid (EDTA), diethylenetriaminepentaacetic acid, N,N,N',N'-ethylenediaminetetra(methylenephosphonic) acid (EDTMP), triethylenetetraminehexaacetic acid (TTHA), 1,3-diamino-2-hydroxypropane- N,N,N',N'-tetraacetic acid (DHPTA), 1-hydroxyethylene-1,1-diphosphonic acid, citric acid, tartaric acid, gluconic acid, catechol, etc. See para. 30. A metal chelating or complexing agent is used in amounts by weight of about 0.01% to about 10%, generally from about 0.01% to about 2%, by weight of the composition. See paras. 28-30. Note that, the instant specification states that the cleaning agent is characterized in containing at least one chelating agent having the pKa satisfying the relationship of Formula (A), such that when the chelating agent has plural pKa values, it suffices if one of the plural pKa values satisfies the relationship of Formula (A) with respect to the pH of the cleaning liquid, and that a chelating agent satisfying the relationship of Formula (A) and another chelating agent not satisfying the relationship of Formula (A) may be used in combination (See page 7 of the instant specification).
The compositions of the present invention may also contain any suitable water-soluble amphoteric, non-ionic, cationic or anionic surfactant. The addition of a surfactant will reduce the surface tension of the formulation and improve the wetting of the surface to be cleaned and therefore improve the cleaning action of the composition. The surfactant may also be added to reduce aluminum corrosion rates if further aluminum corrosion inhibition is desired. The surfactant will generally be present in the composition in an amount of from about 0 to about 20%, preferably from about 0.1 to 3%, by weight of the composition. Anionic surfactants useful in the compositions of the present invention include carboxylates, N-acylsarcosinates, sulfonates, sulfates, and mono and diesters of orthophosphoric acid such as decyl phosphate. Preferably, the anionic surfactants are metal-free surfactants. See para. 36. The compositions of this invention may also contain other metal corrosion inhibitors, such as for example, benzotriazole, substituted benzotriazoles such as 5-methylbenzotriazole, pyrocatechol, 3,4-dihydroxybenzoic acid, 4-tertbutylcatechol, aromatic esters such as alkyl 3,4-dihydroxybenzoates, alkyl-2,4- dihydroxybenzoates, alkyl 3,5-dihydroxybenzoates, alkyl 2,6-dhfydroxybenzoates and 10 alkyl 2,5-dihydroxybenzoates, alkyl gallates such as methylgallate, ethylgallate, propylgallate and butylgallate, pyrogallol, and gallic acid, may be employed in an amount of from 0 to about 5 wt%, preferably from about 0.1 to 2 wt%. See para. 44.
‘245 does not teach, with sufficient specificity, a composition containing a chelating agent which satisfies a specific relationship between pH and pKa, a corrosion inhibitor such as benzotriazole, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to formulate a composition containing a chelating agent which satisfies a specific relationship between pH and pKa, a corrosion inhibitor such as benzotriazole, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because the broad teachings of ‘245 suggest a composition containing a chelating agent which satisfies a specific relationship between pH and pKa, a corrosion inhibitor such as benzotriazole, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the rejection of the instant claims under 35 USC 103 using WO2005/043245, Applicant states that '245 clearly teaches away from using alkaline compounds with a small content of metal and also a small content of specific halide metal compounds and therefore, the cleaning liquid of claim 1 with a content of metal of not more than 5 ppm and the cleaning liquid of claim 18 with a content of metal of not more than 100 ppb by mass would not have been obvious from WO '245. Additionally, Applicant states that ‘245 describes in paragraph [0009] that "The use of
catechol or hydroxylamine in stripping compositions gives rise to various environmental, safety, and health concerns” such that '245 clearly teaches away from using catechol compounds and hydroxylamine compounds as recited by instant claim 34.
In response, note that, the Examiner asserts that “the content of each of metals in the cleaning liquid is not more than 5 ppm” as recited by the instant claims is in reference to the content of each of metals as contained as impurities in the composition (See paras. 141-144 of the instant specification), and not as actual components of the composition. This is evidenced by para. 129 of the instant specification wherein it states that the composition may contain basic inorganic compounds such as alkali metal hydroxide, an alkaline earth metal hydroxide, etc., which would contain metals as part of the compound. Additionally, the Examiner asserts that the compositions as taught by ‘245 would not contain metals as impurities and would clearly suggest compositions containing metals as impurities in the same amounts as recited by the instant claims. Further, ‘245 clearly teaches that the composition may also contain other metal corrosion inhibitors, such as for example, pyrocatechol, etc., which may be employed in an amount of from 0 to about 5 wt%, and would clearly fall within the scope of the instant claims. Thus, the Examiner asserts that the teachings of ‘245 are sufficient to render the claimed invention obvious under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Remaining references cited but not relied upon are considered to be cumulative to or less pertinent than those relied upon or discussed above.
Applicant is reminded that any evidence to be presented in accordance with 37 CFR 1.131 or 1.132 should be submitted before final rejection in order to be considered timely.
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/G.R.D/August 8, 2026