DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 46 are pending for examination. Claims 1 – 16 and 35 – 43 are amended; claims 17 – 34 are previously canceled. Claims 44 – 46 are new.
References were cited in previous office action.
Examiner’s Note
The prior art rejection below cites particular paragraphs, columns, and/or line numbers in the references for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 2, 4 – 5, 8 – 9, 13, 15 – 16, 35 – 36, and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BACHU et al., (US PUB 2020/0137745 hereinafter BACHU) in view of Dao, (US PUB 2019/0261260) and further in view of Wang et al., (US PUB 2019/0273518 hereinafter Wang).
As to claim 1, BACHU teaches a processor comprising circuitry to:
Receive, by one or more application programming interface (API) calls (“The apparatus sends a request from a medium access control (MAC) layer to at least one of a Physical (PHY) Layer or a radio frequency (RF) component using an application protocol interface (API) and receives a response message from the at least one of the PHY layer…” abstract), one or more values of one or more attributes (“…The header for these messages may include information that is common to the numerology within a carrier, such as a numerology, a carrier index, and baseband waveform generation related parameters. The messages exchanged between the L2 and L1, via the API, may comprise capability messages that inform the MAC layer about capabilities of the PHY layer…” para. 0051) and (“Table 2 shows examples of potential PHY parameters, any combination of which may be indicated from the PHY layer 504 to the MAC layer 502 in the message 505. As illustrated in Table 2, the PHY parameters…” para. 0057) indicative of one or more physical layer (PHY) operations to be performed (“In one configuration, the apparatus 1002/1002′ for wireless communication includes means for sending a request from a MAC layer to at least one of a PHY Layer or a RF Component using an API and means for receiving a response message from the at least one of the PHY layer or the RF component indicating at least one capability of the PHY layer or the RF component using the API…” para. 0093) [in parallel using one or more graphics processing units (GPUs)];
Bachu does not but Dao teaches
Determine two or more groups of the PHY operations based at least on the one or more attributes (“…the obtaining information comprises receiving, by the AF, a UE context of the UE. In some embodiments the information on the NEF comprises one or more of following: PLMN ID, DNN, DNAI(s); application ID(s), AF-Service-Identifier; S-NSSAI, NSI-ID, UE group ID(s) including internal group ID, external group ID, IMSI group ID, UE ID(s), AF ID, AF IP address, AF FQDN, UPF IP address, FQDN), AMF ID, AMF IP address, AMF FQDN, SMF ID, SMF IP address and SMF FQDN. In some embodiments, enforcing the NEF includes subscribing, by the AF, to event exposure services of the selected NEF and sending, by the AF, an influence traffic routing request to the selected NEF...” para. 0011. Note: UE groups are groups of the PHY defined in specification in para. 0111) and (“In step 1504, the S-NEF 1550 sends to the T-NEF 1560 a request for transferring UE context, e.g. UE context (or UE group context) transfer request. The request may include the one or more of the following information: the S-NEF ID; time to start NEF re-selection: immediate or at a scheduled time; the UE context information, which can include UE related information, AF related information, information on subscribed services of CP NFs and information on user plane. According to embodiments, UE related information can include one or more of UE ID (SUPI, GPSI, IP address/prefix); parameter mapping of SUPI to GPSI; external group ID; mapping of external Group ID and IMSI-Group ID...” para. 0170); and
[Cause execution, in parallel using the one or more GPUs, of a plurality of PHY processing pipelines, individual PHY processing pipelines performing a corresponding group of the PHY operations using intermediate signal-processing data produced by one or more of the PHY operations in the group of the PHY operations] (“...” para. )
.It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention was made to modify Bachu by applying the teachings of Dao because Dao would provide user equipment (UE) group that including multiple groups as part of request message to be processed as requested (para. 0002).
BACHU and Dao do not but Wang teaches Cause execution, in parallel (“For example, in the case where input sample stream 3506 is a 5 GSa/s sample stream, de-serialization unit 3508 may separate the 5 GSa/s stream into two parallel 2.5 GSa/s data streams...” para. 0255) and (“Because this dependence on consecutive output bits renders de-serialization and parallel processing of the input sample stream difficult, in the exemplary embodiment, architecture 3700 is configured to implement delta-sigma ADC at a high sampling rate and high processing speed enable the associated FPGA.... and 0261) using the one or more GPUs (“Some embodiments involve the use of one or more electronic or computing devices. Such devices typically include a processor or controller, such as a general purpose central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a microcontroller, a reduced instruction set computer (RISC) processor, an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a programmable logic circuit (PLC), a field programmable gate array (FPGA)...” para. 0349), of a plurality of PHY processing pipelines (“...the FPGA configuration was pipelined to de-serialize the input data into 32 pipelines, such that the operation speed of each pipeline was individually reduced to 156.25 MSa/s.” para. 0232) and (“..Accordingly, the present inventors were able to successfully demonstrate efficient implementation of delta-sigma digitization of 5G and LTE signals without realizing a significant performance penalty from pipeline processing.” Para. 0247), individual PHY processing pipelines performing a corresponding group of the PHY operations using intermediate signal-processing data produced by one or more of the PHY operations in the group of the PHY operations (“...In exemplary operation, ADC interface 2908 samples the input analog signal from input source 2902 at 5 GSa/s, with 10 bits per sample...” para. 0232) and (“.., delta-sigma ADC is implemented using a pipeline FPGA architecture and corresponding operational principles with respect to timing and machine status. More particularly, conventional delta-sigma ADC techniques rely on sequential operation,....” para. 0246 - 0247) and (“...Despite the popularity of other low layer split options 6 (MAC-PHY), 7 (high-low PHY), and 8 (CPRI), the new function split option 9 exploits the design of an all-digital RF transceiver by splitting functions within the RF layer, with the high-RF layer thereof centralized in the DU, and the low-RF layer thereof distributed in the RRUs. An all-digital RF transmitter that implements the present techniques was experimentally demonstrated for LTE/5G signals using real-time bandpass delta-sigma modulation implemented by a Xilinx Virtex-7 FPGA, and a delta-sigma modulator operating at 5 GSa/s, which were able to encode LTE/5G signals with bandwidths up to 252 MHz and modulations up to 1024QAM, to a 5 Gb/s OOK signal transmitted from the DU to the RRU over 30-km fiber” para. 0345).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention was made to modify BACHU and Dao by applying the teachings of Wang because Wang teaches the same field of the invention of 5G and provide an innovative digitization interface advantageously replaces common public radio interface improving compatibility for multi-radio access technology coexistence in 5G heterogeneous mobile networks (0015 – 0023).
As to claim 2, BACHU modified by Dao and Wang teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, BACHU teaches wherein the attributes indicate one or more configurations of the PHY operations to perform [in parallel] and the attributes are specified as a result of one or more calls to the API (“…The API messages…” para. 0051 - 0052) and (“…The request may be sent by the API component 1004 from the MAC component 1006 to the PHY component…” para. 0082).
BACHU and Dao do not but Wang teaches in parallel (“For example, in the case where input sample stream 3506 is a 5 GSa/s sample stream, de-serialization unit 3508 may separate the 5 GSa/s stream into two parallel 2.5 GSa/s data streams...” para. 0255) and (“Because this dependence on consecutive output bits renders de-serialization and parallel processing of the input sample stream difficult, in the exemplary embodiment, architecture 3700 is configured to implement delta-sigma ADC at a high sampling rate and high processing speed enable the associated FPGA.... and 0261).
See motivation for claim 1 above.
As to claim 4, BACHU modified by Dao and Wang teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, BACHU teaches wherein the attributes indicate one or more configurations of the PHY operations and the wireless signal processing operations are to be performed [in parallel] based, at least in part, on the one or more configurations (“Referring again to FIG. 1, in certain aspects, the base station 180 may include an API component (198) configured to send a request from a MAC layer to at least one of a PHY Layer or an RF Component and receive a response message from the at least one of the PHY layer or the RF component indicating at least one capability of the PHY layer or the RF component. The PHY layer or the RF component may be configured based on the capabilities provided in response to the query from the MAC layer. The configuration may include any of a digital beam table configuration, a cell configuration, a physical channel configuration, an analog beam table configuration, among other examples. For example, the PHY layer may respond with capabilities including at least one of a PHY parameter, an RF parameter, a feature set, or a feature set combination. The RF component may provide hierarchical capability information about RF parameters. For example, the RF parameter may include a connectivity matrix, a number of RF ports, a physical antenna configuration, a link budget parameter, or a beam switching rate. The hierarchy of indicated RF parameters may include a set of feature sets for downlink communication per component carrier that are combined into a downlink feature set, a set of feature sets for uplink communication per component carrier that are combined into an uplink feature set…” para. 0034) and (“A configuration message may comprise a cell configuration, such as a physical cell ID that may correspond to N.sub.ID.sup.Cell and that may be used for PSS/SSS generation and DMRS location in frequency.” para. 0067).
BACHU and Dao do not but Wang teaches Cause execution, in parallel (“For example, in the case where input sample stream 3506 is a 5 GSa/s sample stream, de-serialization unit 3508 may separate the 5 GSa/s stream into two parallel 2.5 GSa/s data streams...” para. 0255) and (“Because this dependence on consecutive output bits renders de-serialization and parallel processing of the input sample stream difficult, in the exemplary embodiment, architecture 3700 is configured to implement delta-sigma ADC at a high sampling rate and high processing speed enable the associated FPGA.... and 0261).
See motivation for claim 1 above.
As to claim 5, BACHU modified by Dao and Wang teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, BACHU teaches wherein the attributes indicate one or more first signal processing operations of the PHY operations to be performed [in parallel] with one or more second signal processing operations of the PHY operations (“…A primary synchronization signal (PSS) may be within symbol 2 of particular subframes of a frame. The PSS is used by a UE 104 to determine subframe/symbol timing and a physical layer identity. A secondary synchronization signal (SSS) may be within symbol 4 of particular subframes of a frame…” para. 0039).
BACHU and Dao do not but Wang teaches in parallel (“For example, in the case where input sample stream 3506 is a 5 GSa/s sample stream, de-serialization unit 3508 may separate the 5 GSa/s stream into two parallel 2.5 GSa/s data streams...” para. 0255) and (“Because this dependence on consecutive output bits renders de-serialization and parallel processing of the input sample stream difficult, in the exemplary embodiment, architecture 3700 is configured to implement delta-sigma ADC at a high sampling rate and high processing speed enable the associated FPGA.... and 0261).
See motivation for claim 1 above.
As to claim 8, BACHU modified by Dao and Wang teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, BACHU teaches wherein [the one or more GPUs] perform the wireless signal processing operations [in parallel] as a result of one or more function calls to an interface (“…The API messages…” para. 0051 - 0052) and (“…The request may be sent by the API component 1004 from the MAC component 1006 to the PHY component…” para. 0082).
BACHU and Dao do not but Wang teaches in parallel (“For example, in the case where input sample stream 3506 is a 5 GSa/s sample stream, de-serialization unit 3508 may separate the 5 GSa/s stream into two parallel 2.5 GSa/s data streams...” para. 0255) and (“Because this dependence on consecutive output bits renders de-serialization and parallel processing of the input sample stream difficult, in the exemplary embodiment, architecture 3700 is configured to implement delta-sigma ADC at a high sampling rate and high processing speed enable the associated FPGA.... and 0261) using the one or more GPUs (“Some embodiments involve the use of one or more electronic or computing devices. Such devices typically include a processor or controller, such as a general purpose central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a microcontroller, a reduced instruction set computer (RISC) processor, an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a programmable logic circuit (PLC), a field programmable gate array (FPGA)...” para. 0349)See motivation for claim 1 above.
As to claim 9, BACHU teaches one or more processors comprising: circuitry to: (“...circuits including one or more processors and/or hardware components, represented by the processor ...” para. 0091):
Receive, by one or more application programming interface (API) calls (“The apparatus sends a request from a medium access control (MAC) layer to at least one of a Physical (PHY) Layer or a radio frequency (RF) component using an application protocol interface (API) and receives a response message from the at least one of the PHY layer…” abstract), one or more attributes (“…The header for these messages may include information that is common to the numerology within a carrier, such as a numerology, a carrier index, and baseband waveform generation related parameters. The messages exchanged between the L2 and L1, via the API, may comprise capability messages that inform the MAC layer about capabilities of the PHY layer…” para. 0051) and (“Table 2 shows examples of potential PHY parameters, any combination of which may be indicated from the PHY layer 504 to the MAC layer 502 in the message 505. As illustrated in Table 2, the PHY parameters…” para. 0057) indicative of fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) physical layer (PHY) operations to be performed (“In one configuration, the apparatus 1002/1002′ for wireless communication includes means for sending a request from a MAC layer to at least one of a PHY Layer or a RF Component using an API and means for receiving a response message from the at least one of the PHY layer or the RF component indicating at least one capability of the PHY layer or the RF component using the API…” para. 0093) [in parallel on one or more graphics processing units (GPUs)];
Bachu does not but Dao teaches
Determine two or more groupings of the 5G-NR (“..When the 5G CP or UP functions want to make changes to all the UEs of the UE group, the UE group ID may be used to send messages to all the UE in the UE group...” para. 0084) PHY operations based, at least in part, on the one or more attributes (“…the obtaining information comprises receiving, by the AF, a UE context of the UE. In some embodiments the information on the NEF comprises one or more of following: PLMN ID, DNN, DNAI(s); application ID(s), AF-Service-Identifier; S-NSSAI, NSI-ID, UE group ID(s) including internal group ID, external group ID, IMSI group ID, UE ID(s), AF ID, AF IP address, AF FQDN, UPF IP address, FQDN), AMF ID, AMF IP address, AMF FQDN, SMF ID, SMF IP address and SMF FQDN. In some embodiments, enforcing the NEF includes subscribing, by the AF, to event exposure services of the selected NEF and sending, by the AF, an influence traffic routing request to the selected NEF...” para. 0011. Note: UE groups are groups of the PHY defined in specification in para. 0111) and (“In step 1504, the S-NEF 1550 sends to the T-NEF 1560 a request for transferring UE context, e.g. UE context (or UE group context) transfer request. The request may include the one or more of the following information: the S-NEF ID; time to start NEF re-selection: immediate or at a scheduled time; the UE context information, which can include UE related information, AF related information, information on subscribed services of CP NFs and information on user plane. According to embodiments, UE related information can include one or more of UE ID (SUPI, GPSI, IP address/prefix); parameter mapping of SUPI to GPSI; external group ID; mapping of external Group ID and IMSI-Group ID...” para. 0170); and
Cause the two or more groupings of 5G-NR PHY operations to be performed (“...receive a request including data indicative of a UE group and transmit a notification, the notification based upon the request and the data.” Para. 0023) and (“...upon receiving 101 a request from a UE which is a member of a UE group by a network function, the network function proceeds to generate 102 a UE group context which is indicative of the UE group...” para. 0055) [in parallel on the one or more GPUs].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention was made to modify Bachu by applying the teachings of Dao because Dao would provide user equipment (UE) group that including multiple groups as part of request message to be processed as requested (para. 0002).
BACHU and Dao do not but Wang teaches to cause one or more graphics processing units (GPUs) and in parallel (“For example, in the case where input sample stream 3506 is a 5 GSa/s sample stream, de-serialization unit 3508 may separate the 5 GSa/s stream into two parallel 2.5 GSa/s data streams...” para. 0255) and (“Because this dependence on consecutive output bits renders de-serialization and parallel processing of the input sample stream difficult, in the exemplary embodiment, architecture 3700 is configured to implement delta-sigma ADC at a high sampling rate and high processing speed enable the associated FPGA.... and 0261) and (“Some embodiments involve the use of one or more electronic or computing devices. Such devices typically include a processor or controller, such as a general purpose central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a microcontroller, a reduced instruction set computer (RISC) processor, an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a programmable logic circuit (PLC), a field programmable gate array (FPGA)...” para. 0349).
See motivation for claim 9 above.
As to claim 13, BACHU modified by Dao and Wang teaches the processor of claim 9, BACHU teaches wherein the one or more APIs comprise one or more function calls to receive a set of parameters indicating one or more configurations of the 5G-NR signal processing operations [to be performed in parallel] (“…Configuration messages between a base station and UE can also be used for re-configuration while the PHY is running, especially messages that are sent over RRC to the UE for different configurations…” para. 0064 – 0072).
BACHU and Dao do not but Wang teaches in parallel (“For example, in the case where input sample stream 3506 is a 5 GSa/s sample stream, de-serialization unit 3508 may separate the 5 GSa/s stream into two parallel 2.5 GSa/s data streams...” para. 0255) and (“Because this dependence on consecutive output bits renders de-serialization and parallel processing of the input sample stream difficult, in the exemplary embodiment, architecture 3700 is configured to implement delta-sigma ADC at a high sampling rate and high processing speed enable the associated FPGA.... and 0261).
See motivation for claim 9 above.
As to claim 15, BACHU modified by Dao and Wang teaches the processor of claim 9, BACHU teaches wherein the 5G-NR signal processing operations are to be performed [in parallel] as a part of one or more pipelines of a 5G-NR physical layer (PHY) (“…A secondary synchronization signal (SSS) may be within symbol 4 of particular subframes of a frame. The SSS is used by a UE to determine a physical layer cell identity group number and radio frame timing. Based on the physical layer identity and the physical layer cell identity group number, the UE can determine a physical cell identifier (PCI). Based on the PCI, the UE can determine the locations of the aforementioned DM-RS.” para. 0039).
BACHU and Dao do not but Wang teaches in parallel ((“For example, in the case where input sample stream 3506 is a 5 GSa/s sample stream, de-serialization unit 3508 may separate the 5 GSa/s stream into two parallel 2.5 GSa/s data streams...” para. 0255) and (“Because this dependence on consecutive output bits renders de-serialization and parallel processing of the input sample stream difficult, in the exemplary embodiment, architecture 3700 is configured to implement delta-sigma ADC at a high sampling rate and high processing speed enable the associated FPGA.... and 0261).
See motivation for claim 9 above.
As to claim 16, BACHU modified by Dao and Wang teaches the processor of claim 9, BACHU teaches wherein the 5G-NR signal processing operations are to be performed [in parallel by the one or more GPUs] as a result of one or more calls to the one or more APIs (“…The API messages…” para. 0051 - 0052) and (“…The request may be sent by the API component 1004 from the MAC component 1006 to the PHY component…” para. 0082).
BACHU and Dao do not but Wang teaches in parallel by the one or more GPUs (“For example, in the case where input sample stream 3506 is a 5 GSa/s sample stream, de-serialization unit 3508 may separate the 5 GSa/s stream into two parallel 2.5 GSa/s data streams...” para. 0255) and (“Because this dependence on consecutive output bits renders de-serialization and parallel processing of the input sample stream difficult, in the exemplary embodiment, architecture 3700 is configured to implement delta-sigma ADC at a high sampling rate and high processing speed enable the associated FPGA.... and 0261) and (“Some embodiments involve the use of one or more electronic or computing devices. Such devices typically include a processor or controller, such as a general purpose central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a microcontroller, a reduced instruction set computer (RISC) processor, an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a programmable logic circuit (PLC), a field programmable gate array (FPGA)...” para. 0349).
See motivation for claim 9 above.
As to claim 35, this is method claim of claim 1. See rejection for claim 9 above.
As to claim 36, it recites the same scope of claim 2. See rejection for claim 2 above.
As to claim 43, BACHU modified by Dao and Wang teaches The method of claim 35, wherein [the one or more GPUs] perform the PHY operations [in parallel] (“…A secondary synchronization signal (SSS) may be within symbol 4 of particular subframes of a frame. The SSS is used by a UE to determine a physical layer cell identity group number and radio frame timing. Based on the physical layer identity and the physical layer cell identity group number, the UE can determine a physical cell identifier (PCI). Based on the PCI, the UE can determine the locations of the aforementioned DM-RS.” para. 0039).
BACHU and Dao do not but Wang teaches by the one or more GPUs and in parallel (“For example, in the case where input sample stream 3506 is a 5 GSa/s sample stream, de-serialization unit 3508 may separate the 5 GSa/s stream into two parallel 2.5 GSa/s data streams...” para. 0255) and (“Because this dependence on consecutive output bits renders de-serialization and parallel processing of the input sample stream difficult, in the exemplary embodiment, architecture 3700 is configured to implement delta-sigma ADC at a high sampling rate and high processing speed enable the associated FPGA.... and 0261) and (“Some embodiments involve the use of one or more electronic or computing devices. Such devices typically include a processor or controller, such as a general purpose central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a microcontroller, a reduced instruction set computer (RISC) processor, an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a programmable logic circuit (PLC), a field programmable gate array (FPGA)...” para. 0349).
See motivation for claim 9 above.
Claims 3, 6 – 7, 10 – 11, 14, 38, and 41 - 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BACHU in view of Dao and Wang , as applied to claims 1, 9, and 35 and further in view of Bonati et al., (“Open, Programmable, and Virtualized 5G Networks: State-of-the-Art and the Road Ahead”, 12-2020, pages 1 – 32).
Bonati reference was cited in previous office action.
As to claim 3, BACHU modified by Dao and Wang teaches the one or more processors of claim 2, BACHU teaches wherein a software [library] (“…These elements may be implemented using electronic hardware, computer software, or any combination thereof. Whether such elements are implemented as hardware or software depends upon the particular application and design constraints imposed on the overall system…” para. 0020) implements the PHY operations, the PHY operations performed [in parallel] as a result of the one or more calls to the API (“…The API messages…” para. 0051 - 0052) and (“…The request may be sent by the API component 1004 from the MAC component 1006 to the PHY component…” para. 0082).
BACHU and Dao do not but Wang teaches in parallel (“For example, in the case where input sample stream 3506 is a 5 GSa/s sample stream, de-serialization unit 3508 may separate the 5 GSa/s stream into two parallel 2.5 GSa/s data streams...” para. 0255) and (“Because this dependence on consecutive output bits renders de-serialization and parallel processing of the input sample stream difficult, in the exemplary embodiment, architecture 3700 is configured to implement delta-sigma ADC at a high sampling rate and high processing speed enable the associated FPGA.... and 0261) and (“Some embodiments involve the use of one or more electronic or computing devices. Such devices typically include a processor or controller, such as a general purpose central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a microcontroller, a reduced instruction set computer (RISC) processor, an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a programmable logic circuit (PLC), a field programmable gate array (FPGA)...” para. 0349).
See motivation for claim 1 above.
BACHU, Dao and Wang do not but Bonati teaches library (“…Our aim is to provide a reference architecture to make the different open source software libraries and frameworks …” page 3 col. 1 first para.) and (“This section describes the open source libraries and frameworks for 4G and 5G cellular networks to deploy a software defined RAN…” page 7 section III).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention was made to modify BACHU, Dao and Wang by applying the teachings of Bonati because Bonati would provide a software library for information support across applications and services (page 16 col. 1).
As to claim 6, BACHU modified by Dao and Wang teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, BACHU teaches wherein a software [library] implements the PHY operations, the software [library] further implementing an interface to receive the one or more attributes as a result of one or more calls to said interface (“…the base station 180 may include an API component (198) configured to send a request from a MAC layer to at least one of a PHY Layer or an RF Component and receive a response message from the at least one of the PHY layer or the RF component indicating at least one capability of the PHY layer or the RF component. The PHY layer or the RF component may be configured based on the capabilities provided in response to the query from the MAC layer. The configuration may include any of a digital beam table configuration, a cell configuration, a physical channel configuration, an analog beam table configuration, among other examples. For example, the PHY layer may respond with capabilities including at least one of a PHY parameter, an RF parameter…” para. 0034).
BACHU, Dao and Wang do not but Bonati teaches library (“…Our aim is to provide a reference architecture to make the different open source software libraries and frameworks …” page 3 col. 1 first para.) and (“This section describes the open source libraries and frameworks for 4G and 5G cellular networks to deploy a software defined RAN…” page 7 section III).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention was made to modify BACHU, Dao and Wang by applying the teachings of Bonati because Bonati would provide a software library for information support across applications and services (page 16 col. 1).
As to claim 7, BACHU modified by Dao and Wang teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, BACHU teaches wherein a software [library] implements the PHY operations, the PHY operations performed [in parallel by the one or more GPUs ] as a result of one or more calls to an interface provided by the software [library] (“…The API messages…” para. 0051 - 0052) and (“…The request may be sent by the API component 1004 from the MAC component 1006 to the PHY component…” para. 0082).
BACHU and Dao do not but Wang teaches in parallel by the one or more GPUs (“For example, in the case where input sample stream 3506 is a 5 GSa/s sample stream, de-serialization unit 3508 may separate the 5 GSa/s stream into two parallel 2.5 GSa/s data streams...” para. 0255) and (“Because this dependence on consecutive output bits renders de-serialization and parallel processing of the input sample stream difficult, in the exemplary embodiment, architecture 3700 is configured to implement delta-sigma ADC at a high sampling rate and high processing speed enable the associated FPGA.... and 0261) and (“Some embodiments involve the use of one or more electronic or computing devices. Such devices typically include a processor or controller, such as a general purpose central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a microcontroller, a reduced instruction set computer (RISC) processor, an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a programmable logic circuit (PLC), a field programmable gate array (FPGA)...” para. 0349).
See motivation for claim 1 above.
BACHU, Dao and Wang do not but Bonati teaches library (“…Our aim is to provide a reference architecture to make the different open source software libraries and frameworks …” page 3 col. 1 first para.) and (“This section describes the open source libraries and frameworks for 4G and 5G cellular networks to deploy a software defined RAN…” page 7 section III).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention was made to modify BACHU, Dao and Wang by applying the teachings of Bonati because Bonati would provide a software library for information support across applications and services (page 16 col. 1).
As to claim 10, BACHU modified by Dao and Wang teaches the one or more processors of claim 2, BACHU teaches wherein a 5G- NR software [library] (“…These elements may be implemented using electronic hardware, computer software, or any combination thereof. Whether such elements are implemented as hardware or software depends upon the particular application and design constraints imposed on the overall system…” para. 0020) implements the 5G- NR PHY operations,
BACHU, Dao and Wang do not but Bonati teaches library (“…Our aim is to provide a reference architecture to make the different open source software libraries and frameworks …” page 3 col. 1 first para.) and (“This section describes the open source libraries and frameworks for 4G and 5G cellular networks to deploy a software defined RAN…” page 7 section III).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention was made to modify BACHU, Dao and Wang by applying the teachings of Bonati because Bonati would provide a software library for information support across applications and services (page 16 col. 1).
As to claim 11, BACHU modified by Dao and Wang teaches the one or more processors of claim 10, wherein the 5G-NR software [library] implements at least one interface of the one or more APIs (“…the base station 180 may include an API component (198) configured to send a request from a MAC layer to at least one of a PHY Layer or an RF Component and receive a response message from the at least one of the PHY layer or the RF component indicating at least one capability of the PHY layer or the RF component. The PHY layer or the RF component may be configured based on the capabilities provided in response to the query from the MAC layer. The configuration may include any of a digital beam table configuration, a cell configuration, a physical channel configuration, an analog beam table configuration, among other examples. For example, the PHY layer may respond with capabilities including at least one of a PHY parameter, an RF parameter…” para. 0034).
BACHU, Dao and Wang do not but Bonati teaches library (“…Our aim is to provide a reference architecture to make the different open source software libraries and frameworks …” page 3 col. 1 first para.) and (“This section describes the open source libraries and frameworks for 4G and 5G cellular networks to deploy a software defined RAN…” page 7 section III).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention was made to modify BACHU, Dao and Wang by applying the teachings of Bonati because Bonati would provide a software library for information support across applications and services (page 16 col. 1).
As to claim 14, BACHU modified by Dao and Wang teaches the one or more processors of claim 9, BACHU teaches wherein the one or more APIs are software APIs (“…The API messages…” para. 0051 - 0052) and (“…The request may be sent by the API component 1004 from the MAC component 1006 to the PHY component…” para. 0082) implemented by a software 5G-NR [library], the software 5G-NR [library] further implementing the 5G-NR PHY [to be performed in parallel].
BACHU and Dao do not but Wang teaches in parallel (“For example, in the case where input sample stream 3506 is a 5 GSa/s sample stream, de-serialization unit 3508 may separate the 5 GSa/s stream into two parallel 2.5 GSa/s data streams...” para. 0255) and (“Because this dependence on consecutive output bits renders de-serialization and parallel processing of the input sample stream difficult, in the exemplary embodiment, architecture 3700 is configured to implement delta-sigma ADC at a high sampling rate and high processing speed enable the associated FPGA.... and 0261) and (“Some embodiments involve the use of one or more electronic or computing devices. Such devices typically include a processor or controller, such as a general purpose central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), a microcontroller, a reduced instruction set computer (RISC) processor, an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a programmable logic circuit (PLC), a field programmable gate array (FPGA)...” para. 0349).
See motivation for claim 9 above.
BACHU, Dao and Wang do not but Bonati teaches library (“…Our aim is to provide a reference architecture to make the different open source software libraries and frameworks …” page 3 col. 1 first para.) and (“This section describes the open source libraries and frameworks for 4G and 5G cellular networks to deploy a software defined RAN…” page 7 section III).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention was made to modify BACHU, Dao and Wang by applying the teachings of Bonati because Bonati would provide a software library for information support across applications and services (page 16 col. 1).
As to claim 38, BACHU modified by Dao and Wang teaches the method of claim 35, BACHU teaches further comprising configuring one or more software kernels [to perform the one or more PHY operations [in parallel] according to one or more parameters received as a result of one or more function calls to the one or more APIs (“…the base station 180 may include an API component (198) configured to send a request from a MAC layer to at least one of a PHY Layer or an RF Component and receive a response message from the at least one of the PHY layer or the RF component indicating at least one capability of the PHY layer or the RF component. The PHY layer or the RF component may be configured based on the capabilities provided in response to the query from the MAC layer. The configuration may include any of a digital beam table configuration, a cell configuration, a physical channel configuration, an analog beam table configuration, among other examples. For example, the PHY layer may respond with capabilities including at least one of a PHY parameter, an RF parameter…” para. 0034).
BACHU and Dao do not but Wang teaches in parallel (“…In an embodiment, the trustlet application 116 may execute in parallel to monitor the processes of the GPU 108 at the host UE 102 during the web conference session…” abstract and col. 11 lines 40 – 65). See motivation for claim 1 above.
BACHU, Dao and Wang do not but Bonati teaches library (“…Our aim is to provide a reference architecture to make the different open source software libraries and frameworks …” page 3 col. 1 first para.) and (“This section describes the open source libraries and frameworks for 4G and 5G cellular networks to deploy a software defined RAN…” page 7 section III).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention was made to modify BACHU, Dao and Wang by applying the teachings of Bonati because Bonati would provide a software library for information support across applications and services (page 16 col. 1).
As to claim 41, BACHU modified by Dao and Wang teaches the method of claim 35, BACHU teaches wherein one or more function calls to the one or more APIs cause a PHY [library] to perform the one or more PHY operations [in parallel] using one or more software kernels [to be executed by the one or more GPUs] (“…The API messages…” para. 0051 - 0052) and (“…The request may be sent by the API component 1004 from the MAC component 1006 to the PHY component…” para. 0082).
BACHU and Dao do not but Wang teaches to be executed by the one or more GPUs in parallel (“…In an embodiment, the trustlet application 116 may execute in parallel to monitor the processes of the GPU 108 at the host UE 102 during the web conference session…” abstract and col. 11 lines 40 – 65). See motivation for claim 1 above.
BACHU, Dao and Wang do not but Bonati teaches library (“…Our aim is to provide a reference architecture to make the different open source software libraries and frameworks …” page 3 col. 1 first para.) and (“This section describes the open source libraries and frameworks for 4G and 5G cellular networks to deploy a software defined RAN…” page 7 section III).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention was made to modify BACHU, Dao and Wang by applying the teachings of Bonati because Bonati would provide a software library for information support across applications and services (page 16 col. 1).
As to claim 42, BACHU modified by Dao and Wang teaches the method of claim 35, BACHU teaches wherein PHY operations are to be performed by one or more (PHY) pipelines implemented by a PHY [library] (“…A secondary synchronization signal (SSS) may be within symbol 4 of particular subframes of a frame. The SSS is used by a UE to determine a physical layer cell identity group number and radio frame timing. Based on the physical layer identity and the physical layer cell identity group number, the UE can determine a physical cell identifier (PCI). Based on the PCI, the UE can determine the locations of the aforementioned DM-RS.” para. 0039).
BACHU, Dao and Wang do not but Bonati teaches library (“…Our aim is to provide a reference architecture to make the different open source software libraries and frameworks …” page 3 col. 1 first para.) and (“This section describes the open source libraries and frameworks for 4G and 5G cellular networks to deploy a software defined RAN…” page 7 section III).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention was made to modify BACHU, Dao and Wang by applying the teachings of Bonati because Bonati would provide a software library for information support across applications and services (page 16 col. 1).
Claims 12 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BACHU in view of Dao and Wang , as applied to claims 1, 9 and 35, and further in view of Svennebring et al., (US PUB 2019/0319868 hereinafter Svennebring).
Svennebring reference was cited in previous office action.
As to claim 12, BACHU modified by Dao and Wang teaches the one or more processors of claim 9, BACHU teaches wherein the one or more APIs comprise one or more functions to:
create one or more (PHY) pipelines (“…Physical (PHY) Layer or a radio frequency (RF) component using an application protocol interface (API)…” abstract) comprising the 5G-NR PHY operations (“…The wireless communications system (also referred to as a wireless wide area network (WWAN)) includes base stations 102, UEs 104, an Evolved Packet Core (EPC) 160, and another core network 190 (e.g., a 5G Core (5GC))…” figures 1 and 2 and associated text, especially para. 0023) [to be performed in parallel];
configure the one or more PHY pipelines based, at least in part, on one or more parameters received by the one or more APIs (“…The header for these messages may include information that is common to the numerology within a carrier, such as a numerology, a carrier index, and baseband waveform generation related parameters. The messages exchanged between the L2 and L1, via the API, may comprise capability messages that inform the MAC layer about capabilities of the PHY layer…” para. 0051) and (“Table 2 shows examples of potential PHY parameters, any combination of which may be indicated from the PHY layer 504 to the MAC layer 502 in the message 505. As illustrated in Table 2, the PHY parameters…” para. 0057);
[batch the 5G-NR PHY based, at least in part, on the one or more parameters;]
setup the one or more PHY pipelines to be run during one or more time slots on the one or more GPUs (“…Other wireless communication technologies may have a different frame structure and/or different channels. A frame (10 ms) may be divided into 10 equally sized subframes (1 ms). Each subframe may include one or more time slots…” para. 0036 - 0037); and
run the one or more PHY pipelines using the one or more GPUs (“…As another example, the PHY layer may indicate at least one physical antenna mapping capability of the PHY layer. The physical antenna mapping capability(s) may comprise, e.g., a transceiver unit…” para. 0054).
BACHU, Dao and Wang do not but Svennebring teaches batch the one or re 5G-NR operations based, at least in part, on the one or more parameters (“…For example, these APIs, drivers, etc., may access measurement data of measurements directly measured by the infrastructure equipment 300, measurements collected by UEs 111, 121 during minimization drive tests (MDTs), and/or measurement data collected by UEs 111, 121 and/or the infrastructure equipment 300 measurements performed by the UEs 111, 121 for other purposes, such as measurements taken for cell selection, handovers, and/or the like…” para. 0078. Note: batch is group; groups of cell selection, handovers, and/or the like) and (“…Data fusion is a process of integrating and/or combining data collected from multiple sources at different spatial and temporal scales in order to make inferences about that data. In some embodiments, these “inferences” may be the link performance prediction…” para. 0047).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention was made to modify BACHU, Dao and Wang by apply the teachings of Svennebring because multiple user equipment (UEs) to be devices (para. 0018) would perform operations to provide fast performance metrics (abstract and para. 0011 – 0012). Further, Svennebring also teaches NR/5G on user equipment as the same field of invention (para. 0017, 0025 – 0026).
As to claim 37, it recites the same scope of claim 12. See rejection for claim 12 above.
Claims 39 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BACHU in view of Dao and Wang, as applied to claims 1, 9 and 35, in view of Bonati et al., (“Open, Programmable, and Virtualized 5G Networks: State-of-the-Art and the Road Ahead”, 12-2020, pages 1 – 32), and further in view of Svennebring et al., (US PUB 2019/0319868 hereinafter Svennebring).
Bonati and Svennebring references were cited in previous office action.
As to claim 39, BACHU modified by Dao and Wang teaches the method of claim 35, BACHU teaches wherein a PHY [library] implements the one or more APIs and the software PHY (“…The API messages…” para. 0051 - 0052) and (“…The request may be sent by the API component 1004 from the MAC component 1006 to the PHY component…” para. 0082) [library batches a first set of the one or more PHY operations and a second set of the one or more PHY operations based, at least in part, on a set of parameters received by the one or more APIs, the first set and the second set to be performed in parallel].
BACHU and Dao do not but Wang teaches in parallel (“For example, in the case where input sample stream 3506 is a 5 GSa/s sample stream, de-serialization unit 3508 may separate the 5 GSa/s stream into two parallel 2.5 GSa/s data streams...” para. 0255) and (“Because this dependence on consecutive output bits renders de-serialization and parallel processing of the input sample stream difficult, in the exemplary embodiment, architecture 3700 is configured to implement delta-sigma ADC at a high sampling rate and high processing speed enable the associated FPGA.... and 0261). See motivation for claim 1 above.
BACHU, Dao and Wang do not but Bonati teaches library (“…Our aim is to provide a reference architecture to make the different open source software libraries and frameworks …” page 3 col. 1 first para.) and (“This section describes the open source libraries and frameworks for 4G and 5G cellular networks to deploy a software defined RAN…” page 7 section III).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention was made to modify BACHU, Dao and Wang by applying the teachings of Bonati because Bonati would provide a software library for information support across applications and services (page 16 col. 1).
BACHU, Dao, Wang and Bonati do not but Svennebring teaches batches a first set of the one or more PHY operations and a second set of the one or more PHY operations based, at least in part, on a set of parameters received by the one or more APIs, the first set and the second set parameters (“…For example, these APIs, drivers, etc., may access measurement data of measurements directly measured by the infrastructure equipment 300, measurements collected by UEs 111, 121 during minimization drive tests (MDTs), and/or measurement data collected by UEs 111, 121 and/or the infrastructure equipment 300 measurements performed by the UEs 111, 121 for other purposes, such as measurements taken for cell selection, handovers, and/or the like…” para. 0078. Note: batch is group; groups of cell selection, handovers, and/or the like) and (“…the data sources (e.g., the UEs 111, 121, NANs 131-133, etc.) that collect data from system software (e.g., operating systems, device drivers, firmware, utility applications, etc.) and/or various user/client applications operating on those devices via a suitable API…” para. 0046) and (“…Data fusion is a process of integrating and/or combining data collected from multiple sources at different spatial and temporal scales in order to make inferences about that data. In some embodiments, these “inferences” may be the link performance prediction…” para. 0047).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention was made to modify BACHU, Dao, Wang and Bonati by apply the teachings of Svennebring because multiple user equipment (UEs) to be devices (para. 0018) would perform operations to provide fast performance metrics (abstract and para. 0011 – 0012). Further, Svennebring also teaches NR/5G as the same field of invention.
As to claim 40, BACHU modified by Dao and Wang teaches the method of claim 35, BACHU teaches wherein a software PHY [library] implements the one or more APIs (“…The API messages…” para. 0051 - 0052) and (“…The request may be sent by the API component 1004 from the MAC component 1006 to the PHY component…” para. 0082) and the PHY [library batches one or more parameters received as a result of one or more function calls to the one or more APIs], the one or more parameters comprising information to configure the PHY operation (“TABLE-US-00002 TABLE 2 Examples of PHY Parameters Field Type Description PhyParameters ssPbch ssPbchMultipleCarriersInABand Uint8 {0 - not supported, 1 - supported} multipleCellSsPbchsInACarrier Uint8 {0 - not supported, 1 - supported} Corresponds to supporting multiple cells in a single carrier…” para. 0057) and (“A configuration message may comprise a cell configuration, such as a physical cell ID that may correspond to N.sub.ID.sup.Cell and that may be used for PSS/SSS generation and DMRS location in frequency.” para. 0067) and (“…the data sources (e.g., the UEs 111, 121, NANs 131-133, etc.) that collect data from system software (e.g., operating systems, device drivers, firmware, utility applications, etc.) and/or various user/client applications operating on those devices via a suitable API…” para. 0046) and (“…Data fusion is a process of integrating and/or combining data collected from multiple sources at different spatial and temporal scales in order to make inferences about that data. In some embodiments, these “inferences” may be the link performance prediction…” para. 0047).
BACHU, Dao and Wang do not but Bonati teaches library (“…Our aim is to provide a reference architecture to make the different open source software libraries and frameworks …” page 3 col. 1 first para.) and (“This section describes the open source libraries and frameworks for 4G and 5G cellular networks to deploy a software defined RAN…” page 7 section III).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention was made to modify BACHU, Dao and Wang by applying the teachings of Bonati because Bonati would provide a software library for information support across applications and services (page 16 col. 1).
BACHU, Dao, Wang and Bonati do not but Svennebring teaches batches one or more parameters received as a result of one or more function calls to the one or more APIs (“…For example, these APIs, drivers, etc., may access measurement data of measurements directly measured by the infrastructure equipment 300, measurements collected by UEs 111, 121 during minimization drive tests (MDTs), and/or measurement data collected by UEs 111, 121 and/or the infrastructure equipment 300 measurements performed by the UEs 111, 121 for other purposes, such as measurements taken for cell selection, handovers, and/or the like…” para. 0078. Note: each measurement is each batch including first and second batches) and (“…In such embodiments, the layers 225 that are responsible for data collection may obtain data from applications, components, or the like at the data sources (e.g., the UEs 111, 121, NANs 131-133, etc.) that collect data from system software (e.g., operating systems, device drivers, firmware, utility applications, etc.) and/or various user/client applications operating on those devices via a suitable API…”, para. 0046).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention was made to modify BACHU, Dao, Wang and Bonati by apply the teachings of Svennebring because multiple user equipment (UEs) to be devices (para. 0018) would perform operations to provide fast performance metrics (abstract and para. 0011 – 0012). Further, Svennebring also teaches NR/5G on user equipment as the same field of invention (para. 0017, 0025 – 0026).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of BACHU, Dao, and Wang.
Applicant argued that the prior art of records do not teach amended limitations. In response, Wang teaches the amended limitations wherein execution, in parallel using the one or more GPUs, of a plurality of PHY processing pipelines, individual PHY processing pipelines performing a corresponding group of the PHY operations using intermediate signal-processing data produced by one or more of the PHY operation in the group of the PHY operations. (para. 0246 – 0247 and 0345).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record but not relied upon request is considered to be pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Yang, (US PAT 11,800,404), discloses a method for configuring 5G-NR application pipeline processing servers equipped with hardware accelerators (title, abstract and figures 1 – 21).
Kutch, (US 2021/0117360), discloses an offline processing device performing packet processing pipeline of network applications (title, abstract and figures 1 – 22).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUONG N HOANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2194 /KEVIN L YOUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2194