DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument for claim 23, on page 8, that Dziura does not disclose second substrates from which training data is obtained, examiner disagrees. Paragraph 55 specifically discloses that a plurality of different wafers [i.e. individual substrates] are utilized to obtain the training data through use of SEM and sensed spectra of light. Therefore the argument is overcome and the previous rejection remains.
Regarding applicant’s argument for claim 30, on page 9, that Dziura does not disclose obtaining training data from an electron beam system, examiner disagrees. As noted in the previous rejection, Dziura plainly states in paragraphs 60 and 61 obtaining SEM data from reference structures for a training set. Therefore the argument is overcome and the previous rejection remains.
Regarding applicant’s argument for claim 30, on page 10, that Schlain does not disclose a defect review using an electron beam inspection, examiner disagrees. Schlain states in paragraph 35 that “inspection data … regardless of the means used to collect the data” (e.g. the machine learning model of Dziura) could be applied to the disclosed review using SEM. Therefore the argument is overcome and the previous rejection remains.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1) Claim(s) 23, 24 and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. patent application publication 2015/0046121 by Dziura et al.
2) Regarding claim 23, Dziura teaches a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions therein, the instructions, when executed by a computer system, configured to cause the computer system to at least: obtain, by a hardware computer system, a machine learning model (paragraph 54; machine learning can be utilized) configured to identify defects (paragraph 57; defects can be identified) and trained using a training set comprising (i) signals from one or more optical inspection systems configured to detect radiation redirected by one or more first substrates having structures manufactured using a device manufacturing process and/or comprising data derived from those optical inspection system signals (paragraphs 38 and 56; spectra of reflected light is part of the training set) and (ii) signals from one or more electron beam inspection systems configured to detect electrons from one or more second substrates having structures manufactured using the device manufacturing process and/or comprising data derived from those electron beam inspection system signals, the one or more second substrates being physically separate than the one or more first substrates (paragraph 55; plurality of wafers utilized for training data is disclosed; paragraphs 60 and 61 clearly discloses obtaining SEM data from a plurality of reference structures as well as obtaining spectra data from a plurality of structures); and produce defect data by application of data acquired from a substrate by an optical inspection system to the machine learning model (paragraphs 74 and 87; defects are determined through modeling of the imaged training data).
3) Regarding claim 24, Dziura teaches the computer program product of claim 23, wherein the defect data comprises data regarding one or more selected from: necking, line pull back, line thinning, critical dimension, overlapping and/or bridging (paragraph 87; at least critical dimension is determined).
4) Regarding claim 27, Dziura teaches the computer program product of claim 23, wherein the training set further comprises values of a process parameter associated with a plurality of substrates processed by the device manufacturing process, the process parameter representing a setting or condition of a physical process, a material, an object or an apparatus that occurred during, or is occurring during, application of physical processing to the substrates (paragraph 36 and 94; grating structure and other structures can be analyzed as a parameter).
5) Regarding claim 28, Dziura teaches the computer program product of claim 27, wherein the process parameter is a characteristic of illumination by a lithographic apparatus, a characteristic of projection optics of a lithographic apparatus, dose, focus, a characteristic of resist, a characteristic of development of resist, a characteristic of post-exposure baking of resist, and/or a characteristic of etching (paragraphs 87 and 94; spectra of lithography, dose, focus, resist and etching are described as parameters).
6) Regarding claim 29, Dziura teaches an inspection system comprising: an optical or electron beam apparatus configured to detect radiation or electrons respectively; and the computer program product of claim 23 (paragraph 4; electron microscope disclosed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7) Claim(s) 16-22, 25, 26, 30-32 and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application publication 2015/0046121 by Dziura et al., and further in view of U.S. patent application publication 2013/0279795 by Shlain et al.
8) Regarding claim 16, Dziura teaches a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer- readable medium comprising instructions therein, the instructions, when executed by a computer system, configured to cause the computer system to at least: obtain, by a hardware computer system, a machine learning model (paragraph 54; machine learning can be utilized) configured to identify defects (paragraph 57; defects can be identified) and trained using a training set comprising signals from one or more optical inspection systems configured to detect radiation redirected by one or more substrates manufactured using a device manufacturing process and/or comprising data derived from the optical inspection system signals (paragraphs 38 and 56; spectra of reflected light is part of the training set); produce defect data using the trained machine learning model (paragraphs 74 and 87; defects are determined through modeling of the imaged training data), data acquired from a substrate by an optical inspection system , and data acquired by an electron beam inspection system (paragraph 56; data is acquired from spectra and SEM).
Dziura does not specifically teach performing, based on the defect data, a review using an electron beam inspection of the substrate.
Schlain teaches performing, based on the defect data, a defect review using an electron beam inspection of the substrate (paragraph 35; “analysis of defects that are re-detected by a review tool based on locations of suspected defects” and “a review system such as SEMVision” is disclosed thereby teaching a defect classifier [paragraph 28, analogous to machine learning defect output in Dziura] producing suspected defect locations that are then reviewed by electron beam inspection).
Dziura and Schlain are combinable because they are both from the semiconductor defect classification field of endeavor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine Dziura and Schlain to add defect review. The motivation for doing so would have been to “reduce the load on human inspectors” (paragraph 3). Therefore it would have been obvious to combine Dziura and Schlain to obtain the invention of claim 16.
9) Claim 17 is taught in the same manner as described in the rejection of claim 23 above.
10) Regarding claim 18, Schlain (as combined with Dziura as disclosed in the rejection of claim 16 above) teaches the computer program product of claim 16, wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the computer system to calculate a probability of a defect for the substrate using the machine learning model (paragraphs 28 and 53; level of confidence [probability] of a defect class is disclosed).
11) Claims 19-22 are taught in the same manner as described in the rejections of claims 27, 28, 24 and 29 above, respectively.
12) Claims 25 and 32 are taught in the same manner as described in the rejection of claim 18 above.
13) Claim 26 is taught in the same manner as described in the rejection of claim 16 above.
14) Claim 30 is rejected in the same manner as described in the rejection of claim 16 above, with the exception of optical intensity (paragraph 56; spectra of reflected light is a measure of intensity).
15) Claims 31, 34 and 35 are taught in the same manner as described in the rejection of claims 23, 29 and 24 above, respectively.
16) Regarding claim 36, Dziura teaches the computer program product of claim 30, wherein the training set further comprises values of a process parameter associated with a plurality of substrates processed by the device manufacturing process, the process parameter representing a setting or condition of a physical process, a material, an object or an apparatus that occurred during, or is occurring during, application of physical processing to the substrates (paragraph 55; variation in anneal temperature is an example of a process parameter used in training).
Conclusion
BENJAMIN O. DULANEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2676
/BENJAMIN O DULANEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683