DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 11, 16 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Iguchi et al. (US 2020/0259055).
Regarding claim 1, Iguchi et al. teach a display device (Fig. 1; [0040]) comprising: pixel electrodes (30; Fig. 1, [0041]) disposed on a substrate (50; Fig. 1, [0040]), the pixel electrodes (30) each including a top surface (the top surface of 30) and side surfaces (the left and right side surfaces of 30); light-emitting diode elements (11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18; see Fig. 1 below; [0045]) disposed on the pixel electrodes (30), the light emitting diode elements each (each 11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18) including a top surface (the top surface of 11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18) and side surfaces (the left and right side surfaces of 11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18); an insulating film (18/22, “an insulating film” includes the plural forms as disclosed in paragraph [0049] of the current application; Figs. 1 and 4, [0045, 0058]) disposed on both side surfaces (the left and right side surfaces) of each of the pixel electrodes (30) and disposed along both side surfaces (the left and right side surfaces) of each of the light-emitting diode elements (the 11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18s in Fig. 1); partition walls (21; Fig. 1, [0041]), each of the partition walls (21) including a top surface (the top horizontal surface of 21; Fig. 1), a bottom surface (the bottom horizontal surface of 21; Fig. 1), and side surfaces (the left and right side surfaces of 21), wherein the partition walls (21) include a conductive material (conductive wiring; [0041]); and a common electrode (an upper portion of 10 in direct contact with the top surface and the side surfaces of each of the 21s, [0041]; see Fig. 1 below) disposed along the top surface of each of the partition walls (the top horizontal surface of 21; Fig. 1) and the top surface of each of the light-emitting diode elements (the top surface of 11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18; see Fig. 1 below), wherein a height of each of the partition walls (21) is greater than a height of each of the light-emitting diode elements (11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18; see Fig. 1 below), the common electrode (an upper portion of 10 in direct contact with the top surface and the side surfaces of each of the 21s) is disposed on parts of the side surfaces of each of the partition walls (21; see Fig. 1 below), the partition walls (21) are electrically connected to the common electrode (an upper portion of 10 in direct contact with the top surface and the side surfaces of each of the 21s), the insulating film (18/22) is disposed along the bottom surface of each of the partition walls (the bottom horizontal surface of 21) and along both of the side surfaces (the left or the right side surface) of each of the partition walls (21), and the bottom surface (the bottom horizontal surface of 21) of each of the partition walls (21) is a lowest surface of the partition walls (21; see Fig. 1), wherein the insulating film (18/22) is in contact with the bottom surface (the bottom horizontal surface of 21) and the side surfaces (the left and right side surfaces of 21) of each of the partition walls (21) and side surfaces (the left and right side surfaces of 11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18) of each of the light-emitting diode elements (11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (light-emitting diode elements)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (common electrode)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (22)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector].
Fig. 1 of Iguchi et al. showing light-emitting diode elements and a common electrode defined by the dash lines.
Regarding claim 2, Iguchi et al. teach the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the light-emitting diode elements (each 11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18) includes a first electrode (12 can be considered as the electrode for it is a p-type layer which can conducting hole current; Fig. 1, [0041]), a light-emitting layer (11; Fig. 1, [0045]), and a second electrode (lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18 can be considered as the electrode for it is a n-type layer which can conducting electron current; Fig. 1, [0040]), which are sequentially stacked (see Fig. 1) in a thickness direction (the vertical direction) of the substrate (50; see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Iguchi et al. teach the display device of claim 2, wherein the first electrode (12) of each of the light-emitting diode elements (each 11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18) electrically contacts one of the pixel electrodes (30; see Fig. 1), and the second electrode (lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18) of each of the light-emitting diode elements (each 11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18) electrically contacts the common electrode (an upper portion of 10 in direct contact with the top surface and the side surfaces of each of the 21s; see Fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 6, Iguchi et al. teach the display device of claim 1, wherein the partition walls (21) include an opaque metallic material (copper; [0056-0057]).
Regarding claim 11, Iguchi et al. teach the display device of claim 10, wherein the common electrode (an upper portion of 10 in direct contact with the top surface and the side surfaces of each of the 21s) is disposed along both of the side surfaces (the left and right side surfaces) of each of the partition walls (21; see Fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 16, Iguchi et al. teach the display device of claim 1, wherein the common electrode (an upper portion of 10 in direct contact with the top surface and the side surfaces of each of the 21s, see Fig. 1 above) is electrically connected to a common connecting electrode (52; Fig. 1, [0040]), and the common connecting electrode (52) is disposed on the substrate (50) through a common electrode connector (31; Fig. 1, [0041]) through the insulating film (18/22; see Fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 23, Iguchi et al. teach the display device of claim 1, wherein the insulating film (18/22) in contact with the bottom surface of each of the partition walls (21) and the insulating film (18/22) in contact with the side surfaces of each of the partition walls (21) and the insulating film (18/22) are integrally formed (i.e. 18/22 formed as a continuous layer).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi et al. (US 2020/0259055) in view of Shin et al. (US 2018/0308420 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Iguchi et al. teach a display device (Fig. 1; [0040]) comprising: pixel electrodes (30; Fig. 1, [0041]) disposed on a substrate (50; Fig. 1, [0040]), the pixel electrodes (30) each including a top surface (the top surface of 30) and side surfaces (the left and right side surfaces of 30); light-emitting diode elements (11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18s; see Fig. 1 above; [0045]) disposed on the pixel electrodes (30), the light-emitting diode element each (each 11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18) including a top surface (the top surface of 11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18) and side surfaces (the left and right side surfaces of 11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18); an insulating film (18/22, “an insulating film” includes the plural forms as disclosed in paragraph [0049] of the current application; Figs. 1 and 4, [0045, 0058]) disposed on both side surfaces (the left and right side surfaces) of each of the pixel electrodes (30) and disposed along both side surfaces (the left and right side surfaces) of each of the light-emitting diode elements (the 11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18s in Fig. 1); partition walls (21; Fig. 1, [0041]) disposed on the insulating film (18/22; Fig. 1), the partition walls (21) each including a top surface (the top horizontal surface of 21; Fig. 1), a bottom surface (the bottom horizontal surface of 21; Fig. 1) and side surfaces (the left and right side surfaces of 21), wherein the partition walls (21) include a conductive material (conductive wiring; [0041]); a common electrode (an upper portion of 10 in direct contact with the top surface and the side surfaces of each of the 21s, [0041]; see Fig. 1 above) disposed along the top surface of the partition walls (the top horizontal surface of 21; Fig. 1) and the top surface of the light-emitting diode elements (the top surface of 11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18; see Fig. 1 above), wherein the common electrode (an upper portion of 10 in direct contact with the top surface and the side surfaces of each of the 21s) is disposed on parts of the side surfaces of each of the partition walls (21; see Fig. 1 above), and wherein the partition walls (21) are electrically connected to the common electrode (an upper portion of 10 in direct contact with the top surface and the side surfaces of each of the 21s); wherein the insulating film (18/22) is disposed along a lowest surface of the partition walls (the bottommost surface of 21; see Fig. 1), wherein the insulating film (18/22) is in contact with the bottom surface (the bottom horizontal surface of 21) and the side surfaces (the left and right side surfaces of 21) of each of the partition walls (21) and side surfaces (the left and right side surfaces of 11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18) of each of the light-emitting diode elements (11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18).
Iguchi et al. do not teach a black matrix disposed on the common electrode and overlapping the partition walls in a thickness direction of the substrate.
In the same field of endeavor of display device, Shin et al. teach a black matrix (920; Fig. 9, [0109]) disposed on the common electrode (a portion of 121 shown in Fig. 5C in contact with 125 is the common electrode of all the LEDs as disclosed in [0065] and is shown in Fig. 8 below; 920 is a part of 900 and 900 is an example embodiment of 360/370/380 in Fig. 8 as disclosed in [0108-0109], i.e. 920 is disposed on the common electrode as shown in Fig. 8 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Iguchi et al. and Shin et al., and to further include the wavelength conversion layers, the separator and the color filter 900 having the back matrix 920 of Shin et al. on the top of the Fig. 1 of Iguchi et al. as taught by Shin et al. ([0108-0110]), because the wavelength conversion layers, the separator and the color filter 900 can be used to implement a full color display and to remove effectively the color interference between the pixels as taught by Shin et al. ([0010-0011, 0015-0017]).
The combination of Iguchi et al. and Shin et al. teach that a black matrix overlapping the partition walls in a thickness direction of the substrate because Shin et al. teach that the black matrix 920 which is at the interfaces of 930/940/950 in Fig. 9 of Shin et al. which is equivalent to interfaces of 360/370/308 in Fig. 8 of Shin et al. which overlaps vertically (i.e. in a thickness direction of the substrate 330) the center of the gap between the LEDs in Fig. 8, while Iguchi et al. teach that the partition walls (21) also overlaps vertically (i.e. in a thickness direction of the substrate 50) the center of the gap between the LEDs in Fig. 1 of Iguchi et al.
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (Common electrode)][AltContent: connector]
Fig. 8 of showing the common electrode in the area enclosed by the dash line.
Regarding claim 21, Iguchi et al. teach the display device of claim 8, wherein a height of each of the partition walls (21) is greater than a height of each of the light-emitting diode elements (11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18; see Fig. 1 above).
Claim(s) 12-13, 15 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iguchi et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shin et al. (US 2018/0308420 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Iguchi et al. teach the display device of claim 1, further comprising: the light-emitting diode elements (11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18) and the substrate (50).
Iguchi et al. do not teach a first wavelength conversion layer overlapping a light-emitting diode element among the light-emitting diode elements in a first emission area in a thickness direction of the substrate; a second wavelength conversion layer overlapping a light-emitting diode element among the light-emitting diode elements in a second emission area in the thickness direction of the substrate; and a transparent insulating film overlapping a light-emitting diode element among the light-emitting diode elements in a third emission area in the thickness direction of the substrate.
In the same field of endeavor of display device, Shin et al. teach a first wavelength conversion layer (the leftmost 350; Fig. 8, [0108]) overlapping a light-emitting diode element (the leftmost LED in Fig. 8, the LEDs are sections of 123, 122 and upper portions of 121 in Fig. 5B; [0060]) among the light-emitting diode elements (sections of 123, 122 and upper portions of 121 in Fig. 5B; [0060]) in a first emission area (the area directly above and under the leftmost 350) in a thickness direction (the vertical direction) of the substrate (330); a second wavelength conversion layer (the second leftmost 350; Fig. 8, [0108]) overlapping a light-emitting diode element (the second leftmost LED in Fig. 8) among the light-emitting diode elements (sections of 123, 122 and upper portions of 121 in Fig. 5B; [0060]) in a second emission area (the area directly above and under the second leftmost 350) in the thickness direction (the vertical direction) of the substrate (330); and a transparent insulating film (960, which can be formed of polyimide resin, which is an insulating layer; Fig. 9, [0108, 0111]) overlapping a light-emitting diode element (the third leftmost LED in Fig. 8) among the light-emitting diode elements (sections of 123, 122 and upper portions of 121 in Fig. 5B; [0060]) in a third emission area (the area directly above and under the third leftmost 350 in Fig. 8 and 950 in Fig. 9) in the thickness direction (the vertical direction) of the substrate (330; see Figs. 8 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Iguchi et al. and Shin et al., and to further include the wavelength conversion layers and the separator in Fig. 8 of Shin et al., and the color filter 900 in Fig. 9 of Shin et al., on the top of the Fig. 1 of Iguchi et al. as taught by Shin et al. ([0108-0110]), because the wavelength conversion layers, the separator and the color filter 900 can be used to implement a full color display with protected filter layers and to remove effectively the color interference between the pixels as taught by Shin et al. ([0111, 0010-0011, 0015-0017]).
Regarding claim 13, Iguchi et al. teach the display device of claim 12, wherein the common electrode (an upper portion of 10 in direct contact with the top surface and the side surfaces of each of the 21s; see Fig. 1).
Iguchi et al. do not teach the first wavelength conversion layer, the second wavelength conversion layer, and the transparent insulating film are disposed on the common electrode.
In the same field of endeavor of display device, Shin et al. teach the first wavelength conversion layer (the leftmost 350), the second wavelength conversion layer (the second leftmost 350), and the transparent insulating film (960) are disposed on the common electrode (an upper portion of 120/220/320; see Figs. 5E, 9 and Fig. 8 below, [0038, 0060, 0101]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Iguchi et al. and Shin et al., and to further include the wavelength conversion layers and the separator in Fig. 8 of Shin et al., and the color filter 900 in Fig. 9 of Shin et al., on the top of the Fig. 1 of Iguchi et al. as taught by Shin et al. ([0108-0110]), because the wavelength conversion layers, the separator and the color filter 900 can be used to implement a full color display with protected filter layers and to remove effectively the color interference between the pixels as taught by Shin et al. ([0111, 0010-0011, 0015-0017]).
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (Common electrode)][AltContent: connector]
Fig. 8 of showing the common electrode in the area enclosed by the dash line.
Regarding claim 15, Iguchi et al. teach the display device of claim 12, further comprising.
Iguchi et al. do not teach a first color filter disposed on the first wavelength conversion layer; a second color filter disposed on the second wavelength conversion layer; and a third color filter disposed on the transparent insulating film.
In the same field of endeavor of display device, Shin et al. teach a first color filter (360; Fig. 8, [0108]) disposed on the first wavelength conversion layer (the leftmost 350); a second color filter (370; Fig. 8, [0108]) disposed on the second wavelength conversion layer (the second leftmost 350); and a third color filter (380 in Fig. 8, i.e. 950 in Fig. 9; [0108-0109]) disposed on the transparent insulating film (960; Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Iguchi et al. and Shin et al., and to further include the wavelength conversion layers and the separator in Fig. 8 of Shin et al., and the color filter 900 in Fig. 9 of Shin et al., on the top of the Fig. 1 of Iguchi et al. as taught by Shin et al. ([0108-0110]), because the wavelength conversion layers, the separator and the color filter 900 can be used to implement a full color display with protected filter layers and to remove effectively the color interference between the pixels as taught by Shin et al. ([0111, 0010-0011, 0015-0017]).
Regarding claim 22, Iguchi et al. teach the display device of claim 12, further comprising: wherein the partition walls (21) is disposed on a side surface (the left or right side surface) of each of the light-emitting diode elements (the 11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18).
Iguchi et al. do not teach the partition walls is disposed on a side surface of the first wavelength conversion layer, a side surface of the second wavelength conversion layer and a side surface of the transparent insulating film.
In the same field of endeavor of display device, Shin et al. teach the gaps between the light emitting diode elements (sections of 123, 122 and upper portions of 121 in Fig. 5B; [0060]) disposed on a side surface (the bottom side surface) of the first wavelength conversion layer (the leftmost 350; Fig. 8), a side surface (the bottom side surface) of the second wavelength conversion layer (the second leftmost 350; Fig. 8) and a side surface (the bottom side surface) of the transparent insulating film (960; Figs. 8 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Iguchi et al. and Shin et al., and to further include the wavelength conversion layers and the separator in Fig. 8 of Shin et al., and the color filter 900 in Fig. 9 of Shin et al., on the top of the Fig. 1 of Iguchi et al. as taught by Shin et al. ([0108-0110]), because the wavelength conversion layers, the separator and the color filter 900 can be used to implement a full color display with protected filter layers and to remove effectively the color interference between the pixels as taught by Shin et al. ([0111, 0010-0011, 0015-0017]).
The combination of Iguchi et al. and Shin et al. teach “the partition walls is disposed on a side surface of the first wavelength conversion layer, a side surface of the second wavelength conversion layer and a side surface of the transparent insulating film”, because Shin et al. teach the gaps between the light emitting diode elements (sections of 123, 122 and upper portions of 121 in Fig. 5B; [0060]) is disposed on a side surface (the bottom side surface) of the first wavelength conversion layer (the leftmost 350; Fig. 8), a side surface (the bottom side surface) of the second wavelength conversion layer (the second leftmost 350; Fig. 8) and a side surface (the bottom side surface) of the transparent insulating film (960; Figs. 8 and 9), and Iguchi et al. teach that the partition walls (21; Fig. 1 of Iguchi et al.) are positioned at the gaps between the light emitting diode elements (11/12 and lower portions of 10 in direct contact with 18; see Fig. 1 of Iguchi et al. above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is allowed.
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of "the common electrode includes a transparent conductive material" as recited in claim 4, “wherein a height of each of the partition walls is greater than a height of each of the light-emitting diode elements, wherein the common electrode (CE) is disposed on parts of the side surfaces of each of the partition walls, and wherein the partition walls are electrically connected to the common electrode; wherein the first wavelength conversion layer, the second wavelength conversion layer, and the transparent insulating film are disposed between the partition walls” as recited in claim 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed 06/12/2026, overcome the objections to claims 6-7. The objections to claims 6-7 have been withdraw.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 8 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rho (US 2022/0173155 A1) teaches a display device having LEDs separated by partition walls and vertically overlapped with wavelength conversion layers.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HSIN YI HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 7/25/2026