Detailed Action
Claims 1-12, 14-21 are pending in this application. This is a response to the Amendments/Remarks filed on 9/17/15. This is a Final Rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-12, 15-18, 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0138608 issued to Smith in view of US 2016/0034433 issued to Yamat et al.(Yamat) in view of US 2002/0029244 issued to Suzuki et al.(Suzuki).
As per claim 1,9,15, Smith teaches a system for managing content comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled with the processor, wherein the memory is configured to provide the processor with instructions which when executed cause the processor(Fig.2) to: responsive to a request from a first user, select and tag a subset of the stored content items to create a collection of content items, the subset of the stored content items including content items stored across multiple folders in a data store of the system, wherein, for at least one of the multiple folder in the data store, the at least one folders contains one or more content items that are part of the collection and other content items that are not part of the collection(Fig.7,para.58, [0056] The host server 100 can track a user's folders and its subfolders in a given work space and across work spaces. Through the web or mobile application, the user can specify which folders or subfolders to synchronize for access using a mobile device (e.g., via a mobile platform), for example, when the mobile device or the mobile application enabled by the mobile platform is offline. The host server 100 of the collaboration platform can track the user's selections (e.g., the user can select `favorite` folders or sub-folders, or otherwise indicate one or more sub-folders and the content that are to be made available offline) and stores the preferences (e.g., managed by the offline synchronization engine 530 and/or the synchronization folder manager 540). The host server 100 can track folder-level and/or sub-folder level synchronization preferences across multiple users and multiple workspace, and/or across multiple work spaces for a given user. [0028] The collaboration platform or environment hosts workspaces with work items that one or more users can access (e.g., view, edit, update, revise, comment, download, preview, tag, or otherwise manipulate, etc.). A work item can generally include any type of digital or electronic content that can be viewed or accessed via an electronic device (e.g., device 102). The digital content can include .pdf files, .doc, slides (e.g., Powerpoint slides), images, audio files, multimedia content, web pages, blogs, etc. A workspace can generally refer to any grouping of a set of digital content in the collaboration platform. The grouping can be created, identified, or specified by a user or through other means. This user may be a creator user or administrative user, for example [0040] When deployed in a organizational setting, multiple workspaces (e.g., workspace A, B C) can be created to support different projects or a variety of work flows. Each workspace can have its own associate work items. For example, work space A 205 may be associated with work items 215, work space B 225 can be associated with work items 235, and work space N can be associated with work items 255. The work items 215, 235, and 255 may be unique to each work space but need not be. For example, a particular word document can be associated with only one work space (e.g., work space A 205) or it may be associated with multiple work spaces (e.g., Work space A 205 and work space B 225, etc.); it is obvious to one ordinary skill that by creating the workspace and identifying and specifying different digital content that the user is “selecting and tagging”);
responsive to a request from a second user, send, to a remote device controlled by the second user, the collection of content items, wherein the collection of content items is stored in the remote device in an online mode, provide the second user with access to the collection of content items( [0093] For example, user interface 900 of FIG. 9A is depicted when the `Favorites` icon 902 is selected from the tab bar. The user interface 900 includes a display area 904 that is populated with the files and/or folders when a user selects the files and/or folders for offline access. User interface 906 of FIG. 9B, for example, is displayed when a user navigates to a folder. The user interface 906 allows the user to select the folder 908 (e.g., the `creative` folder) for offline access. The user can select `Favorite for Offline` item 910 on the grouped table to select the folder for offline access and syncing [0095] FIGS. 10A-C depict example screenshots of the user interface of a mobile application used for synchronizing and accessing files and folders. For example, the user can select folders in the collaboration platform for access on the mobile device using the mobile application. User interface 1000 of FIG. 10A depicts a folder 1004 which has been selected for offline access and is being downloaded (including the contents in the folder) such that the user can view, access, edit or perform other operations on the content while offline or share the content with other users.),
wherein access by the second user is controlled based on a permission for the second user that is provided by the first user and is associated with the collection of content items([0029] In general, a workspace can be associated with a set of users or collaborators (e.g., collaborators 108) which have access to the content included therein. The levels of access (e.g., based on permissions or rules) of each user or collaborator to access the content in a given workspace may be the same or may vary among the users. Each user may have their own set of access rights to every piece of content in the workspace, or each user may be different access rights to different pieces of content. Access rights may be specified by a user associated with a work space and/or a user who created/uploaded a particular piece of content to the workspace, or any other designated user or collaborator. [0042] Each user associated with a work space can generally access the work items associated with the work space. The level of access will depend on permissions associated with the specific work space, and/or with a specific work item. Permissions can be set for the work space or set individually on a per work item basis. For example, the creator of a work space (e.g., one of user A 208 who creates work space B) can set one permission setting applicable to all work items 235 for other associated users and/or users associated with the affiliate department 210, for example. Creator user A 208 may also set different permission settings for each work item, which may be the same for different users, or varying for different users);
to enable offline usage(Fig.9C shows marking folders and files for offline);
subsequent to receiving the edit made by the second user(Smith [0095] …. User interface 1000 of FIG. 10A depicts a folder 1004 which has been selected for offline access and is being downloaded (including the contents in the folder) such that the user can view, access, edit or perform other operations on the content while offline or share the content with other users. When "update all" button 1002 is selected, the user interface 1006 of FIG. 10B is displayed. The selection of the "update all" button 1002 causes the view to change to that of the update tab 1008, and triggers updating of all folders and files 1010, including the ones that are favorited, that have changed or have new content);
receive, from the remote device and in response to determining that the portion of the collection items is not up-to-date, a request to synchronize the portion of the collection of content items stored on the remote device with the collection of content items stored in the data store([0087] FIG. 8 is a logic flow diagram illustrating an example method for syncing folders and/or sub-folders selected for offline access in a collaboration platform via the mobile device. At block 805, the host server receives a trigger for syncing the folders and/or sub-folders selected for offline access. The trigger may originate from the mobile device 600 or the host server 100. For example, in one implementation, the trigger may be generated by the mobile device going to an online state from an offline state. In another implementation, the trigger may be a user-generated synchronization request. In yet another implementation, the trigger may be a synchronization request periodically generated by the host server. In a further implementation, the trigger may be generated in response to detecting a change in the selected folders and/or sub-folders [0097] FIGS. 11A-C depict additional example screenshots of the user interface of the mobile application used to access a web-based collaboration platform on a mobile device. For example, the mobile application for the collaboration platform can be used to preview content, comment on content, share content or save content for offline access.…A user can select the "update offline files now" option 1112 to synchronize the offline files with the host server), and
responsive to the request, synchronize the portion of the collection of content items stored on the remote device with the collection of content items stored in the data store. ([0090] At decision block 840, if the host server determines that there is a new content in any of the folders and/or sub-folders having offline access status, the host server sends a new content available notification to the mobile device at block 855. In one implementation, the notification can include identification of folders and/or sub-folders having the new content. The host server downloads the folder and/or sub-folder with the new content upon receiving a synchronization request from the user. Alternately, the host server can download the folder/sub-folder having the new content to the mobile device at block 860. The block 860 option may be implemented based on user preference [0097] FIGS. 11A-C depict additional example screenshots of the user interface of the mobile application used to access a web-based collaboration platform on a mobile device. For example, the mobile application for the collaboration platform can be used to preview content, comment on content, share content or save content for offline access.…A user can select the "update offline files now" option 1112 to synchronize the offline files with the host server).
Smith [0095] FIGS. 10A-C depict example screenshots of the user interface of a mobile application used for synchronizing and accessing files and folders. For example, the user can select folders in the collaboration platform for access on the mobile device using the mobile application. User interface 1000 of FIG. 10A depicts a folder 1004 which has been selected for offline access and is being downloaded (including the contents in the folder) such that the user can view, access, edit or perform other operations on the content while offline or share the content with other users. When "update all" button 1002 is selected, the user interface 1006 of FIG. 10B is displayed. The selection of the "update all" button 1002 causes the view to change to that of the update tab 1008, and triggers updating of all folders and files 1010, including the ones that are favorited, that have changed or have new content), which fairly teaches receive, at the remote device, an edit made by the second user to the at least a portion of the collection of content items that are marked for offline use.
Also Yamat explicitly teaches receive, from the remote device, an edit made by the second user to at least a portion of the collection of content items that are marked for offline use([0001] Active coauthoring of cloud stored digital documents is a situation in computer systems where multiple computer system clients (e.g., smartphones, tablet computers, laptop computers, desktop computers, etc. that are connected to a server through a computer network) are allowed to make changes to a document at the same time. The changes from the clients are communicated from the clients to a server, which may be a single computing machine or a group of computing machines, such as one or more computer clusters. The server updates an authoritative server version of the document with the changes from the clients. For example, a client may communicate a list of one or more changes to the server, or a client may send a copy of its current version of the document. Some such systems may allow clients to perform offline editing, where a client can edit its local copy of the document even though the client is not currently connected to the server. In such a scenario, when the client is re-connected to the server, the client can communicate to the server the changes that were made while the client was offline (not connected to the server). Other systems support only real-time coauthoring, where clients are only able to make changes to the document while the clients are connected to the server. In such systems, changes are typically communicated from the client to the server as the changes are made.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Smith of marking files for offline use and synchronizing files to include the teachings of Yamat of editing files while offline and updating server’s copy of the file with the changes in order to provide the predictable result of editing of marked files for offline use and updating the server’s copy of the file with changes.
One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to keep files up to date when changes are made locally.
Smith in view of Yamat does not explicitly teach receive, at the remote device and from a server associated with the data store, information for the collection of content items and determine, at the remote device, that the portion of the collection of content items is not up-to-date based on comparing the collection of the content items stored on the remote device to the information received from the server, however Smith, Fig.6, teaches [0080] The offline change detector module 635 detects change or modification to any of the folders, sub-folders or other content items selected for offline access or modification. The change that is detected includes, for example, changes to folder hierarchy, addition of sub-folders, or other content, change in the folder/sub-folder content, and the like. The change may be detected based on screening of the selected folders, sub-folders or other content items in one implementation. Alternately, the time stamp on the selected folders, sub-folders or other content items may be examined to detect change…., which fairly teaches the limitation.
Suzuki explicitly teaches receive, at the remote device and from a server associated with the data store, information for the collection of content items(Fig.4, [0042] In the client apparatus 50 receiving the update list 52 from the server apparatus 50, the contents of the update list 52 are compared with the contents of the local update list, thus, the related files 53 that are needed to be downloaded to update the "InterPot" software 41 to be the latest one, that is, the related files 53 whose version in the update list 52 is newer than version in the local update list and the new (newly added) related files 53 are specified (step S106). Afterwards, processing to request for the server apparatus 50 to transfer the specified related files 53 is performed (step S107).) and determine, at the remote device, that the portion of the collection of content items is not up-to-date based on comparing the collection of the content items stored on the remote device to the information received from the server(Fig.4 [0042] In the client apparatus 50 receiving the update list 52 from the server apparatus 50, the contents of the update list 52 are compared with the contents of the local update list, thus, the related files 53 that are needed to be downloaded to update the "InterPot" software 41 to be the latest one, that is, the related files 53 whose version in the update list 52 is newer than version in the local update list and the new (newly added) related files 53 are specified (step S106). Afterwards, processing to request for the server apparatus 50 to transfer the specified related files 53 is performed (step S107).).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Smith in view of Yamat of updating of files on a mobile device to apply the known method of Suzuki of receiving files from a server and compare the received files with local files to determine which files are out of date in order to provide the predictable result of updating out of date files on a mobile device by comparing received files from a server with local files.
One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to keep local data files on a mobile device up to date.
As to Claim 2,10,16, Smith in view of Yamat in view of Suzuki teaches the system/computer program product/method/ of claims 1,9,15, wherein the collection of content items are marked by second user for offline availability (Smith, [0093] For example, user interface 900 of FIG. 9A is depicted when the `Favorites` icon 902 is selected from the tab bar. The user interface 900 includes a display area 904 that is populated with the files and/or folders when a user selects the files and/or folders for offline access. User interface 906 of FIG. 9B, for example, is displayed when a user navigates to a folder. The user interface 906 allows the user to select the folder 908 (e.g., the `creative` folder) for offline access. The user can select `Favorite for Offline` item 910 on the grouped table to select the folder for offline access and syncing.).
As per claim 3,11,17, Smith in view of Yamat in view of Suzuki teaches the system/computer program product/method/ of claims 1,9,15, wherein the second user is provided with access to each content item of the collection of content items on a per resource basis in accordance with a user permission assigned to the second user for the respective content item(Smith [0029] [0042] Each user associated with a work space can generally access the work items associated with the work space. The level of access will depend on permissions associated with the specific work space, and/or with a specific work item. Permissions can be set for the work space or set individually on a per work item basis. For example, the creator of a work space (e.g., one of user A 208 who creates work space B) can set one permission setting applicable to all work items 235 for other associated users and/or users associated with the affiliate department 210, for example. Creator user A 208 may also set different permission settings for each work item, which may be the same for different users, or varying for different users)
As to Claim 4, 12,18, Smith in view of Yamat in view of Suzuki teaches the system/computer program product/method/ of claims 1,9,15, wherein the instructions further comprise: provide a user interface to a content administrator(Smith; Fig.9A-11C; [0028] …. The grouping can be created, identified, or specified by a user or through other means. This user may be a creator user or administrative user, for example ); and wherein the selecting and tagging the subset of the stored content items to create the collection of content items is performed responsive to the content administrator selecting content items using the user interface (Smith; Fig.9A-11C, [0028] …. The grouping can be created, identified, or specified by a user or through other means. This user may be a creator user or administrative user, for example).
As to Claim 7, Smith in view of Yamat in view of Suzuki teaches the system of claims 1, wherein the instructions further comprising: receive, from the remote device, user created notes; and store the received user created notes in the data store of the system (Smith, [0030] In general, the collaboration platform allows multiple users or collaborators to access or collaborate efforts on work items such each user can see, remotely, edits, revisions, comments, or annotations being made to specific work items through their own user devices. For example, a user can upload a document to a work space for other users to access (e.g., for viewing, editing, commenting, signing-off, or otherwise manipulating). The user can login to the online platform and upload the document (or any other type of work item) to an existing work space or to a new work space. The document can be shared with existing users or collaborators in a work space. ).
As to Claim 8, Smith in view of Yamat in view of Suzuki teaches the system of claims 7 wherein the instructions further comprise synchronize the user created notes between the data store of the system and the remote device (Smith; [0063] …. In yet another implementation, the synchronization conflict manager 535 can evaluate the reason for conflict, and take an action accordingly. For example, if the reason for the conflict is addition of a comment, the synchronization conflict manager 535 can waive the conflict and synchronize the folder/sub-folder, while retaining the comment. By way of another example, the synchronization conflict manager 535 can also synchronize the folder/sub-folder with conflict status by merging the folders/sub-folders from the host server and the client device.).
As per claim 21, Smith in view of Yamat in view of Suzuki teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the instructions further comprise sharing the edit made by the second user with a third user at a second remote device(Smith; [0030] [0098] …. Some example options for triggering a synchronization with the host server include syncing when connected to the network, when an update is available and manually. User interface 1208 can also allow the user to specify the devices for syncing. For example, in the sync devices setting 1212, the user can select one or more devices as sync devices. All of the synchronization devices can then be simultaneously synced with the host server and with each other, without the user having to take an action from each device. User interface 1214 of FIG. 12C provides various mechanisms for a user to create new folders or sub-folders in the collaboration platform using item 1220, to generate/create new content to be shared or uploaded using item 1216, or to upload existing content on the mobile device to the collaboration platform, for sharing, editing, viewing, previewing, collaboration, and the like using item 1218 for example; Yamat [0001] Active coauthoring of cloud stored digital documents is a situation in computer systems where multiple computer system clients (e.g., smartphones, tablet computers, laptop computers, desktop computers, etc. that are connected to a server through a computer network) are allowed to make changes to a document at the same time. The changes from the clients are communicated from the clients to a server, which may be a single computing machine or a group of computing machines, such as one or more computer clusters….).
Claims 5, 6, 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0138608 issued to Smith in view of US 2016/0034433 issued to Yamat et al.(Yamat) in view of US 2002/0029244 issued to Suzuki et al.(Suzuki) in view of 2015/0012488 issued to van Rossum(Rossum).
As to Claim 5, Smith in view of Yamat in view of Suzuki teaches the system of claims 1, wherein the instructions further comprise in response to the second user navigating to the menu displaying the portion of the collection of the content items that are marked for offline use to determine, at the remote device, whether the portion of collection of content items stored on the remote device and marked for offline use are synchronized with the collection of content items stored in the data store(Smith, [0097] FIGS. 11A-C depict additional example screenshots of the user interface of the mobile application used to access a web-based collaboration platform on a mobile device. For example, the mobile application for the collaboration platform can be used to preview content, comment on content, share content or save content for offline access. The user can also select folders and files in the collaboration platform for offline access on the mobile device using the mobile application, view folders and files that are available offline, identify and upload for syncing folders and files updated on the mobile device, update offline folders and files, and the like. For example, user interface 1100 of FIG. 11A displays a list of all files in a selected folder. The list includes information on the files such as the file name, the time stamp (i.e., the date the file was created or updated), availability of the file for offline access (i.e., saved or favorited file), comments, and the like. … FIG. 11C displays a list of sub-folders within a folder. Also displayed at the sub-folder level is an update available indication. For example, sub-folders 1114 and 1116 are identified as having update available, while sub-folder 1118 and file 1120 do not have any update available. A user can select the "update offline files now" option 1112 to synchronize the offline files with the host server), however does not teach calling a notification API which is taught by Rossum, para.99.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Smith in view of Yamat in view of Suzuki of checking and updating of digital content on a user’s device to apply the well known element of APIs and/or sync APIs as taught by Rossum in order to provide the predictable result of using APIs for notification and syncing of digital content.
One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to easily extract and share data between the mobile device and the server.
As to Claim 6,14, Smith in view of Yamat in view of Suzuki in view of Rossum teaches the system/computer program product of claims 5,9, wherein, responsive to determining that the collection of content items stored on the remote device are not synchronized with the collection of content items stored in the data store, provide an indication on the remote device that the collection of content items stored on the remote device are not synchronized (Smith, ([0095] FIGS. 10A-C … When "update all" button 1002 is selected, the user interface 1006 of FIG. 10B is displayed. The selection of the "update all" button 1002 causes the view to change to that of the update tab 1008, and triggers updating of all folders and files 1010, including the ones that are favorited, that have changed or have new content. [0097]… FIG. 11C displays a list of sub-folders within a folder. Also displayed at the sub-folder level is an update available indication. For example, sub-folders 1114 and 1116 are identified as having update available, while sub-folder 1118 and file 1120 do not have any update available. A user can select the "update offline files now" option 1112 to synchronize the offline files with the host server).
Claims 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0138608 issued to Smith in view of US 2016/0034433 issued to Yamat et al.(Yamat) in view of US 2002/0029244 issued to Suzuki et al.(Suzuki) in view of Havekes et al. (US 2015/0234856).
As to Claim 19, Smith Smith in view of Yamat in view of Suzuki teaches the method of claim 18, and further teaches receiving, over the user interface, a request from the content admin to share the collection with a selected user(Smith, ([0029] In general, a workspace can be associated with a set of users or collaborators (e.g., collaborators 108) which have access to the content included therein. The levels of access (e.g., based on permissions or rules) of each user or collaborator to access the content in a given workspace may be the same or may vary among the users. Each user may have their own set of access rights to every piece of content in the workspace, or each user may be different access rights to different pieces of content. Access rights may be specified by a user associated with a work space and/or a user who created/uploaded a particular piece of content to the workspace, or any other designated user or collaborator. [0042] Each user associated with a work space can generally access the work items associated with the work space. The level of access will depend on permissions associated with the specific work space, and/or with a specific work item. Permissions can be set for the work space or set individually on a per work item basis. For example, the creator of a work space (e.g., one of user A 208 who creates work space B) can set one permission setting applicable to all work items 235 for other associated users and/or users associated with the affiliate department 210, for example. Creator user A 208 may also set different permission settings for each work item, which may be the same for different users, or varying for different users), however does not teach providing a notification over the user interface indicating that the selected user does not have permission to access one or more of the selected content items, which is taught by Havekes Paragraph [0087] describes how if an application is not permitted to access the content, then a notification may be transmitted in response to indicate that access is denied.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Smith in view of Yamat in view of Suzuki teaching of assignment of access to workspace/folders and to apply the known teaching of Havekes of sending out notification(s) to indicate that access is denied in order to provide the predictable result of denying access to certain users for workspace/folders/digital content items.
One ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings in order to protect the security of the content.
As to Claim 20, Smith in view of Yamat in view of Suzuki in view of Havekes teaches the method of claim 18, further comprising providing a notification at a remote device used by the selected user indicating that the selected user does not have permission to access one or more of the selected content items (Havekes: Paragraph [0087] describes how if an application is not permitted to access the content, then a notification may be transmitted in response to indicate that access is denied). Motivation provided with reference to Claim 19.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
US 9,996,535 issued to Skidmore et al., teaches generating organization data for an efficient presentation and/or organization of a collection of items. In some embodiments, the organization data may be based on metadata associated with items, such as keywords. The metadata may be generated from natural language processing of the items. Organization data and/or a hierarchical data organization may be a tree data structure that can be efficiently navigated to reach and/or locate an item. In some embodiments, organization data may be automatically updated in response to a document removal, addition, and/or a user selection. For example, as items are removed and/or added to the collection, keywords, counts, directories, nodes, and/or levels of the organization data may update and/or change to reflect the updated collection of items.
US 2014/0195516 issued to Balakrishnan et al., teaches managing, creating, and presenting a virtual collection. In some embodiments, a content management system can receive a request to display a virtual collection of content items from a first user account, whereupon at least one content identifier stored for the virtual collection can be retrieved. The at least one content identifier can identify at least one content item in data storage. Subsequently, updated information can retrieved for the at least one content item, including at least one of an updated location within a file system hierarchy or a modification to the at least one content item by a second user account, for example. An updated content item can then be selectively provided for display with the virtual collection in accordance with accessibility to the content item permitted by the second user account.
US 2018/0189317 issued to Kambuj et al., teaches accessing content items stored at a content management system by a mobile device, when the mobile device is not communicatively coupled to the content management system. The content management system can receive an indication to mark a content item (e.g., folder and the content items associated with the folder) as available to a mobile device when the mobile device is offline. The content management system can mark the content item, and any content items associated with the content item, for offline access by the mobile device and determine a synchronization schedule for the content item(s). The content management system can then initially send to the mobile device, the marked content item(s) in accordance with the synchronization schedule. While offline, the mobile device can make changes to the marked content items. The changes can be synchronized between the mobile device and content management system when the mobile device is online.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BACKHEAN TIV/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2459