DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 8, and 14 have been amended by applicant’s amendments received 11 May 2026. No new matter has been introduced.
Claims 1-3, 6-11, 13-16 and 19-20 are currently pending.
Prior objections to claim 8 have been overcome by applicant’s amendments and are therefore withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11 May 2026 regarding the rejection of claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-16 and 18-20 under 35 USC § 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has added additional claim limitations to independent claims 1, 8 and 14 which state “and wherein the processor is configured to remove noise by selecting only signals having a predetermined level or higher based on a threshold voltage with reference to the determined target signal of the previous frame.” (Remarks, pgs. 7-8, section ‘Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101’) the addition amounts to more than a mere mathematical calculation, as well as having a technical effect of improving signal accuracy. Applicant points out that the claimed invention does so by eliminating noise based on a threshold, which is dependent on received data. While the examiner agrees that this is a technical procedure for image analysis which improves signal accuracy, there are no presented limitations, or further explanations, to explain exactly how this analysis requires a specific LiDAR system or processor to complete the data analysis. Further, choosing a threshold based on a data point and then removing or ignoring signals below that threshold would not, to one of ordinary skill in the art, offer more than the insignificant extra-solution activity as this is data analysis which can both be classified as a mental process and which is well known in the art of image processing/object tracking.
As claims 2-3, 6-7, 10-11, 13, 15-16 and 19-20 are dependent upon independent claims 1, 8 and 14, and have not been substantially further amended, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101 are also not overcome.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 8, 10, 11, 14-16 under 35 USC 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the specific combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 8 and 14 to incorporate the limitation ‘and wherein the processor is configured to remove noise by selecting only signals having a predetermined level or higher based on a threshold voltage with reference to the determined target signal of the previous frame’. Applicant argues (Remarks, pgs. 8-9) that the currently cited prior art (Xu, Zhou, Li and Shin) do not teach or render obvious the newly introduced limitation. While Xu does not discuss removing noise from signals as part of the target signal determination process, Zhou discloses both analysis surrounding bounding box determination as well as background and foreground separation processes, which includes removing blobs from consideration based on current and prior frames of data. As previously noted above in regards to the rejection under 35 USC § 101, removing signals which fall below a threshold value is well known in the art of noise reduction, and as such the rejection below for claims 1, 8 and 14 have been updated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites "... estimate a target signal among signals of a current frame N by use of a determined target signal of a previous frame N-1 among N LiDAR receiving signals, and to determine the estimated target signal based on deviations of previous frames 1 to N-1;". This is a mathematical concept that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the specification, is described as finding the similarity (or dissimilarity) between two frames or sets of points (Fig. 4, step 403, paragraph [0069]). This describes a mathematical calculation, as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C). Further, a person looking at two subsequent frames could determine a target signal, both from deviations between the frames as well as other criteria, thereby the determination of a target signal as claimed also can be considered a mental process which could practically be performed in the human mind, where the step claimed is a high level of generality (as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)). The additional limitation of “wherein the processor is configured to set a deviation average boundary range by extending the previous frame N-1 in a (+) direction and a (-) direction by the average value of the deviations based on the determined target signal of the previous frame N-1.” uses the generic processor to determine an average deviation and uses that deviation to set a bounding box around a determined target signal to estimate a target signal. This is also a mathematical concept which only further describes the generic mathematical steps taken to manipulate the data using a mathematical function (averaging, addition and subtraction). The newly added limitation which introduces removing signals which fall below a threshold can also be considered a mental process which could practically be performed in the human mind, as a manual process could easily distinguish a signal intensity from a prior scan and set a threshold value based on that signal. These limitations clearly recite a judicial exception as a mental process, a mathematical calculation, or both, and thus claim 1 fails prong 1 of Step 2A.
Moving to prong 2 of Step 2A, claim 1 also teaches “a storage configured to store data and algorithms driven by the processor.” According to the specification, this storage is used to store data and/or algorithms for estimating and determining target data (paragraph [0055]). Based on the description given in the specification, the determination of a target signal is based on the similarity between signals in subsequent frames. Collection of the different frames of data falls under mere data gathering as outlined in MPEP 2160.05(g) and therefore is insignificant extra-solution activity. Per MPEP 2106.05(f), invoking a generic computer system as a tool to perform an existing process, such as comparing two frames of data or ignoring signals below a threshold, fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and thus fails prong 2 of Step 2A. Further, the addition of the limitation ‘…to determine a distance to a target based on the target signal of the current frame based on…’ does not add limitations of use beyond generally linking the judicial exception to a standard field of use within lidar ranging.
Finally, to evaluate Step 2B, it must be determined if the non-judicial exception limitations discussed above for claim 1 includes elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed for Step 2A prong 2 these limitations have already been determined to be insignificant extra-solution activity or invoking a generic computer system merely as a tool to perform an existing process, thus failing Step 2B. Further, claim 1 does not add unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application nor does it add meaningful limitations that amount to more than generally linking the use of the mathematical calculations to a LiDAR environment. Claim 1 recites at least one judicial exception, but fails to integrate that judicial exception into a practical application which is an improvement on the current process of signal analysis or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception(s).
Regarding the analysis of claims 2-3, and 6-7, the analysis is similar to that of claim 1. Claims 2 and 3 further use the generic processor for determining a Euclidean distance between a determined target signal and signals of a current frame for estimating a target signal. Claims 6-7 use the generic processor to use the average deviation to set a bounding box around a determined target signal to estimate a target signal. Both of these sets of claims are mathematical concepts which only further describe the generic mathematical steps taken to manipulate the data using a mathematical function (averaging, addition and subtraction), and organizing data (determining if a value is within a range of values) to find correlation between frames. Additionally, these claims are dependent on claim 1, which is primarily directed towards a calculation of frame similarity and these claims do not add significantly more than the judicial exception. These claims merely include instructions for the apparatus on how to implement the abstract idea on a processor, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(f), and therefore do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites an apparatus which is configured to “estimate a target signal among signals of a current frame N by use of a determined target signal of a previous frame N-1 among N LiDAR receiving signals received by the light-receiving signal processor, and to determine the estimated target signal based on deviations of previous frames 1 to N-1; ". This is a mathematical concept that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the specification, is described as finding the similarity (or dissimilarity) between two frames or sets of points (Fig. 4, step 403, paragraph [0069]). This describes a mathematical calculation, as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C). Further, a person looking at two subsequent frames could determine a target signal, both from deviations between the frames as well as other criteria, thereby the determination of a target signal as claimed also can be considered a mental process which could practically be performed in the human mind, where the step claimed is a high level of generality (as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)). The additional limitation of “wherein the LiDAR target signal selection apparatus is configured to determine the deviations of the previous frames 1 to N-1, to determine an average value of each of the deviations, and to set a deviation average boundary range by extending the previous frame N-1 in a (+) direction and a (-) direction by the average value of the deviations based on the determined target signal of the previous frame N-1” uses the generic processor to determine an average deviation and uses that deviation to set a bounding box around a determined target signal to estimate a target signal. This is also a mathematical concept which only further describes the generic mathematical steps taken to manipulate the data using a mathematical function (averaging, addition and subtraction). The newly added limitation which introduces removing signals which fall below a threshold can also be considered a mental process which could practically be performed in the human mind, as a manual process could easily distinguish a signal intensity from a prior scan and set a threshold value based on that signal. These limitations clearly recite a judicial exception as a mental process, a mathematical calculation, or both, and thus claim 1 fails prong 1 of Step 2A.
Moving to prong 2 of Step 2A, the claim also includes limitations teaching “a light-transmitting signal processor configured to transmit a laser to a target; a light-receiving signal processor configured to detect light reflected back from the target”. According to the specification (paragraphs [0053] – [0057], Fig. 1), these processors are configured to control the transmission of light into and receive light from the environment as a way to acquire distance and magnitude data (Fig. 4, step 401, [0072]). Sending, and receiving, signals in this manner are well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the art of LiDAR ranging detection, and even when combined do little more than facilitate the abstract idea. Further, claim 8 does not include essential parts such as a detector, for collection of electromagnetic signals which represent distance information and allow for the creation of a point cloud; it only includes a signal processor (light-receiving signal processor, Fig. 1 (300)) and the point cloud itself (Fig. 1, (500)). The inclusion of processors configured to operate a general light emission step and to process light signals (but not actually detect the signals) are not only known in LiDAR but are also incomplete. The “target signal selection apparatus” is a “black box”, which only claims input (frames) and output (target signals). These additional elements do not otherwise place a meaningful limitation on the application or use of the judicial exception beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (in this case, LiDAR). The processor, per MPEP 2106.05(f), is only invoking a generic computer system as a tool to perform an existing process such as comparing two frames of data or ignoring signals below a threshold. Thus claim 8 fails prong 2 of Step 2A. As in claim 1, the addition of the limitation ‘…to determine a distance to a target based on the target signal of the current frame based on…’ does not add limitations of use beyond generally linking the judicial exception to a standard field of use within lidar ranging.
Finally, to evaluate Step 2B, it must be determined if the non-judicial exception limitations discussed above for claim 8 includes elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed for Step 2A prong 2 these limitations have already been determined to be insignificant extra-solution activity or invoking a generic computer system merely as a tool to perform an existing process, thus failing Step 2B. Claim 8’s inclusion of light-transmitting and light-receiving processors do not amount to an improvement to technology or the technical field, as discussed in MPEP §§ 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a), nor do they effect a transformation or reduction of a particular portion of the data to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(c). Claim 8 does not add unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application nor does it add meaningful limitations that amount to more than generally linking the use of the mathematical calculations to a LiDAR environment. Claim 8 recites at least one judicial exception, but fails to integrate that judicial exception into a practical application which is an improvement on the current process of signal analysis or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception(s).
Regarding the analysis of claims 10 and 11-13, the analysis is similar to that of claim 8. Claims 10 and 11 specifies determining a Euclidean distance between a determined target signal and signals of a current frame for estimating a target signal by the ‘black box’ of the “LiDAR target signal selection apparatus” of claim 8. Claim 13 uses the deviation to set a bounding box around a determined target signal to estimate a target signal. Both of these sets of claims are mathematical concepts which only further describe the generic mathematical steps taken to manipulate the data using a mathematical function (averaging, addition and subtraction), and organizing data (determining if a value is within a range of values) to find correlation between frames and do not add significantly more than the judicial exception. These claims merely include instructions for the apparatus on how to implement the abstract idea on a processor, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(f), and therefore do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites two method steps including "estimating, by a processor, a target signal among signals of a current frame N by use of a determined target signal of a previous frame N-1 among N LiDAR receiving signals;” and “determining, by the processor, the estimated target signal based on deviations of previous frames 1 to N-1”. Both limitations are a mathematical concept that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the specification, is described as finding the similarity (or dissimilarity) between two frames or sets of points (Fig. 4, step 403, paragraph [0069]). This describes a mathematical calculation, as explained in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)(C). Further, a person looking at two subsequent frames could determine a target signal, both from deviations between the frames as well as other criteria, thereby the determination of a target signal as claimed also can be considered a mental process which could practically be performed in the human mind, where the step claimed is a high level of generality (as described in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)). The additional limitation of “and wherein the determining of the estimated target signal includes setting a deviation average boundary range by extending the previous frame N-1 in a (+) direction and a (-) direction by the average value of the deviations based on the determined target signal of the previous frame N-1.” uses the generic processor to determine an average deviation and uses that deviation to set a bounding box around a determined target signal to estimate a target signal. This is also a mathematical concept which only further describes the generic mathematical steps taken to manipulate the data using a mathematical function (averaging, addition and subtraction). The newly added limitation which introduces removing signals which fall below a threshold can also be considered a mental process which could practically be performed in the human mind, as a manual process could easily distinguish a signal intensity from a prior scan and set a threshold value based on that signal. These limitations clearly recite a judicial exception as a mental process, a mathematical calculation, or both, and thus claim 1 fails prong 1 of Step 2A.
Moving to prong 2 of Step 2A, claim 14 also teaches steps of “transmitting a laser signal to a target” and “detecting a signal reflected back from the target”. According to the specification, these steps occur as a way to acquire distance and magnitude data (Fig. 4, step 401, [0072]). Collection of the different frames of data falls under mere data gathering as outlined in MPEP 2160.05(g), as it is necessary data gathering and outputting for object detection in LiDAR. Because these limitations are well known in LiDAR and do not impose meaningful limits on the claim, they are therefore insignificant extra-solution activity. Per MPEP 2106.05(f), invoking a generic computer system as a tool to perform an existing process, such as comparing two frames of data or ignoring signals below a threshold, fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and thus fails prong 2 of Step 2A. As in claim 1, the addition of the limitation ‘…to determine a distance to a target based on the target signal of the current frame based on…’ does not add limitations of use beyond generally linking the judicial exception to a standard field of use within lidar ranging.
Finally, to evaluate Step 2B, it must be determined if the non-judicial exception limitations discussed above for claim 14 includes elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed for Step 2A prong 2 these limitations have already been determined to be insignificant extra-solution activity or invoking a generic computer system merely as a tool to perform an existing process, thus failing Step 2B. Further, claim 14 does not add unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application nor does it add meaningful limitations that amount to more than generally linking the use of the mathematical calculations to a LiDAR environment. Claim 14 recites a judicial exception, but fails to integrate that judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding the analysis of claims 15, 16 and 19-20, the analysis is similar to that of claim 14. Claims 15 and 16 further use the generic processor for determining a Euclidean distance between a determined target signal and signals of a current frame for estimating a target signal. Claims 19-20 use the generic processor to determine whether a target signal is within a bounding box to estimate a target signal. Both of these sets of claims are mathematical concepts which only further describe the generic mathematical steps taken to manipulate the data using a mathematical function (averaging, addition and subtraction), and organizing data (determining if a value is within a range of values) to find correlation between frames. Additionally, these claims are dependent on claim 14, which is primarily directed towards a method of calculation of frame similarity and these claims do not add significantly more than the judicial exception. These claims merely include additional steps in a method which is based on a judicial exception implemented by a generic processor, as discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(f), and therefore do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 10, 11, 13-16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN 112154444A) and in view of Li (US 20200250832 A1), and further in view of Zhou (US 20190130191).
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches a Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR) target signal selection apparatus comprising:
a processor ([0045], [0173]; Fig. 8, processor (84)) configured to estimate a target signal among signals of a current frame N by use of a determined target signal of a previous frame N-1 among N LiDAR receiving signals ([0108]), to determine a target signal of the current frame N ([0010], [0108], where target detection of a next frame can be used as the current frame to determine target) from the estimated target signal based on deviations of the previous frames 1 to N-1,
and to determine a distance to a target based on the target signal of the current frame ([0018], [0140], where each frame includes data indicative of distance between object and detection device, and the target inspection result can be corrected by detection results),
wherein the processor is further configured to determine the deviations of the previous frames 1 to N-1 ([0109]),
and a storage configured to store data and algorithms driven by the processor ([0045], [0174]; Fig. 8, memory (82)).
Xu fails to teach a processor which determines an average value of the deviations, a processor setting a boundary range around a previous signal based on the average value of the deviations between the current frame and prior frames or removing noise based on a threshold which is in reference to a determined target signal value.
Li teaches a processor which is configured to determine the deviations of the previous frames 1 to N-1 ([0016] - [0017]), and to determine an average value of each of the deviations ([0023], temporal information may include an average value of an optical flow associated with each of the detected plurality of moving regions).
Zhou teaches a system wherein the processor is configured to set a deviation average boundary range by extending the previous frame N-1 in a (+) direction and a (-) direction by the average value of the deviations based on the determined target signal of the previous frame N-1 ([0153] - [0159], [0170]; where a bounding box around an object can be set based on historical average rate of movement of object/bounding box, the size of the bounding box can also be set based on a weighted average and where weight is set to a suitable value ),
and wherein the processor is configured to remove noise by selecting only signals having a predetermined level or higher based on a threshold voltage with reference to the determined target signal of the previous frame ([0032], [0072], [0078] - [0090]; where blobs detected in current frames are based on pixel information of the current and previous frames, and where dilation and erosion functions may be used to reduce noise in current frames by filtering, such as by background subtraction or removing blobs which only contain noise compared to prior frames).
Xu teaches determining deviations of a current frame from prior frames ([0108]), and Li describes that averages of deviations are useful in utilizing prediction filters for determining optical flow, and therefore tracking, of objects in a plurality of moving objects ([0048]). Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to use the historical average of both size and location of a bounding box around an object for tracking purposes and determining a noise threshold based on prior signals, as taught by Zhou, to modify the weighted value as the average deviations of object location as taught by Li, to further modify the apparatus taught by Xu with a reasonable expectation of success. Introducing an averaging of deviations between frames would have a predictable result of mitigating unpredictable motion of objects where traditional tracking/detection schemes are inefficient in predicting erratic movement, which Li notes can plague traditional systems of object motion prediction ([0003] – [0004]). Li describes that the use of optical flow maps, or maps which detail how locations of objects change in time between frames, can help with tracking multiple objects. This would have predictable results of improving models (such as using historic information as taught by Zhou) used by systems to be optimized to reduce uncertainty (Li, [0117]). Further, Zhou teaches that blobs, or portions of the signal map such as foreground, object, and background sections, can be detected, labelled, enhanced or removed based on prior signal values as a way to remove noise ([0078] – [0090]). While Zhou does not explicitly note that this is based on a threshold value, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that use of a threshold is a well-known way to determine and remove noise in the art of LIDAR signal analysis, as taught by Douady-Pleven et al. (US 20200267339 A1; [0200] – [0202]).
Regarding claim 2, Xu teaches the LiDAR target signal selection apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the processor is configured to determine a Euclidean distance between the determined target signal of the previous frame N-1 and the signals of the current frame N ([0120]).
Regarding claim 3, Xu teaches the LiDAR target signal selection apparatus of claim 2, wherein
the processor is configured to estimate a signal having a lowest Euclidean distance among the signals of the current frame N as the target signal ([0123], where if the distance is below a certain threshold two signals are determined to be the same target).
Regarding claim 6, Xu as modified above teaches the LiDAR target signal selection apparatus of claim 1.
Xu fails to teach a processor determining whether a signal is within a boundary range.
Li teaches a processor is configured to determine whether the estimated target signal of the current frame N is within the deviation average boundary range ([0049], where an image processing apparatus may apply a threshold deviation between the predicted location and the actual location of an object).
Xu teaches a processor which establishes bounding boxes around target objects ([0078]). Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Xu to incorporate the teachings of Li as a method of expanding bounding boxes around target signals to assist in the detection and tracking of objects with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 7, Xu as modified above teaches the LiDAR target signal selection apparatus of claim 6.
Xu fails to teach a processor determining whether a signal is within a boundary range and, if so, conclude the signal is the target signal.
Li teaches a processor which is configured to determine the estimated target signal of the current frame N when the processor concludes that the estimated target signal of the current frame N is within the deviation average boundary range ([0049], For example, for very small differences, the object may be identified as the same object that suffered occlusion and differences greater than threshold deviation, the object that reappears post the occlusion at a different location may be identified as a new object.).
Xu teaches a processor which establishes bounding boxes around target objects ([0078]). Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Xu to incorporate the teachings of Li as a method of expanding bounding boxes around target signals to assist in the detection and tracking of objects with a reasonable expectation of success. Use of bounding boxes would have a predictable result in reducing computational power needed in the system of Xu by limiting data analyzed to specific regions of interest.
Regarding claim 8, Xu teaches a LiDAR system comprising:
a light-transmitting signal processor ([0045], [0173]; Fig. 8, processor (84)) configured to transmit a laser to a target ([0077]);
a light-receiving signal processor configured to detect light reflected back from the target ([0078]);
a LiDAR target signal selection apparatus configured to estimate a target signal among signals of a current frame N by use of a determined target signal of a previous frame N-1 among N LiDAR receiving signals received by the light-receiving signal processor ([0080]-[0083]; Fig. 2 steps (204) and (206), where target tracking and prediction are performed based on the information of adjacent frames), to determine a target signal of the current frame N ([0010], [0108], where target detection of a next frame can be used as the current frame to determine target) from the estimated target signal based on deviations of previous frames 1 to N-1 ([0109]),
and to determine a distance to a target based on the target signal of the current frame ([0018], [0140], where each frame includes data indicative of distance between object and detection device, and the target inspection result can be corrected by detection results), wherein the LiDAR target signal selection apparatus is further configured to determine the deviations of the of the previous frames 1 to N-1 ([0109]),
and a point cloud configured to output a distance value of the target signal determined by the LiDAR target signal selection apparatus in 3D graphics ([0077]).
Xu fails to teach a processor which determines an average value of the deviations, or a processor setting a boundary range around a previous signal based on the average value of the deviations between the current frame and prior frames.
Li teaches a processor which is configured to determine the deviations of the previous frames 1 to N-1 ([0016] - [0017]), and to determine an average value of each of the deviations ([0023], temporal information may include an average value of an optical flow associated with each of the detected plurality of moving regions).
Zhou teaches a system wherein the processor is configured to set a deviation average boundary range by extending the previous frame N-1 in a (+) direction and a (-) direction by the average value of the deviations based on the determined target signal of the previous frame N-1 ([0153] - [0159], [0170]; where a bounding box around an object can be set based on historical average rate of movement of object/bounding box, the size of the bounding box can also be set based on a weighted average and where weight is set to a suitable value),
and wherein the processor is configured to remove noise by selecting only signals having a predetermined level or higher based on a threshold voltage with reference to the determined target signal of the previous frame ([0032], [0072], [0078] - [0090]; where blobs detected in current frames are based on pixel information of the current and previous frames, and where dilation and erosion functions may be used to reduce noise in current frames by filtering, such as by background subtraction or removing blobs which only contain noise compared to prior frames).
Xu teaches determining deviations of a current frame from prior frames ([0108]), and Li describes that averages of deviations are useful in utilizing prediction filters for determining optical flow, and therefore tracking, of objects in a plurality of moving objects ([0048]).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to use the historical average of both size and location of a bounding box around an object for tracking purposes and determining a noise threshold based on prior signals, as taught by Zhou, to modify the weighted value as the average deviations of object location as taught by Li, to further modify the apparatus taught by Xu with a reasonable expectation of success. Introducing an averaging of deviations between frames would have a predictable result of mitigating unpredictable motion of objects where traditional tracking/detection schemes are inefficient in predicting erratic movement, which Li notes can plague traditional systems of object motion prediction ([0003] – [0004]). Li describes that the use of optical flow maps, or maps which detail how locations of objects change in time between frames, can help with tracking multiple objects. This would have predictable results of improving models (such as using historic information as taught by Zhou) used by systems to be optimized to reduce uncertainty (Li, [0117]). Further, Zhou teaches that blobs, or portions of the signal map such as foreground, object, and background sections, can be detected, labelled, enhanced or removed based on prior signal values as a way to remove noise ([0078] – [0090]). While Zhou does not explicitly note that this is based on a threshold value, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that use of a threshold is a well-known way to determine and remove noise in the art of LIDAR signal analysis, as taught by Douady-Pleven et al. (US 20200267339 A1; [0200] – [0202]).
Regarding claim 10, Xu teaches the LiDAR system of claim 8, wherein
the LiDAR target signal selection apparatus is configured to determine an Euclidean distance between the determined target signal of the previous frame N-1 and the signals of the current frame N ([0120]).
Regarding claim 11, Xu teaches the LiDAR system of claim 10, wherein
the LiDAR target signal selection apparatus is configured to estimate a signal having a lowest Euclidean distance among the signals of the current frame N as the target signal ([0123], where if the distance is below a certain threshold two signals are determined to be the same target).
Regarding claim 13, Xu as modified above teaches the LiDAR system of claim 8.
Xu fails to teach a processor determining whether a signal is within a boundary range and, if so, conclude the signal is the target signal.
Li teaches a target signal selection apparatus is configured to determine whether the estimated target signal of the current frame N is within the deviation average boundary range, and to determine the estimated target signal of the current frame N when a processor of the LiDAR target signal selection apparatus concludes that the estimated target signal of the current frame N is within the deviation average boundary range ([0049]).
Xu teaches establishing a system which sets bounding boxes around target objects ([0078]). Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Xu to incorporate the teachings of Li as a method of expanding bounding boxes around target signals to assist in the detection and tracking of objects with a reasonable expectation of success. Use of bounding boxes would have a predictable result in reducing computational power needed in the system of Xu by limiting data analyzed to specific regions of interest.
Regarding claim 14, Xu teaches a Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR) target signal selection method comprising:
transmitting a laser signal to a target ([0077]);
detecting a signal reflected back from the target ([0078]);
estimating, by a processor ([0045], [0173]; Fig. 8, processor (84)), a target signal among signals of a current frame N by use of a determined target signal of a previous frame N-1 among N LiDAR receiving signals ([0108]);
determining a target signal of the current frame N ([0010], [0108], where target detection of a next frame can be used as the current frame to determine target), by the processor, from the estimated target signal based on deviations of previous frames 1 to N-1 ([0109]), and determining a distance to a target based on the target signal of the current frame ([0018], [0140], where each frame includes data indicative of distance between object and detection device, and the target inspection result can be corrected by detection results),
wherein the determining of the estimated target signal includes determining the deviations of the previous frames 1 to N-1 ([0109]).
Xu fails to teach a processor which determines an average value of the deviations, or a processor setting a boundary range around a previous signal based on the average value of the deviations between the current frame and prior frames.
Li teaches a processor which is configured to determine the deviations of the previous frames 1 to N-1 ([0016] - [0017]), and to determine an average value of each of the deviations ([0023], temporal information may include an average value of an optical flow associated with each of the detected plurality of moving regions).
Zhou teaches a system wherein the processor is configured to set a deviation average boundary range by extending the previous frame N-1 in a (+) direction and a (-) direction by the average value of the deviations based on the determined target signal of the previous frame N-1 ([0153] - [0159], [0170]; where a bounding box around an object can be set based on historical average rate of movement of object/bounding box, the size of the bounding box can also be set based on a weighted average and where weight is set to a suitable value),
and wherein the processor is configured to remove noise by selecting only signals having a predetermined level or higher based on a threshold voltage with reference to the determined target signal of the previous frame ([0032], [0072], [0078] - [0090]; where blobs detected in current frames are based on pixel information of the current and previous frames, and where dilation and erosion functions may be used to reduce noise in current frames by filtering, such as by background subtraction or removing blobs which only contain noise compared to prior frames).
Xu teaches determining deviations of a current frame from prior frames ([0108]), and Li describes that averages of deviations are useful in utilizing prediction filters for determining optical flow, and therefore tracking, of objects in a plurality of moving objects ([0048]).
Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to use the historical average of both size and location of a bounding box around an object for tracking purposes and determining a noise threshold based on prior signals, as taught by Zhou, to modify the weighted value as the average deviations of object location as taught by Li, to further modify the apparatus taught by Xu with a reasonable expectation of success. Introducing an averaging of deviations between frames would have a predictable result of mitigating unpredictable motion of objects where traditional tracking/detection schemes are inefficient in predicting erratic movement, which Li notes can plague traditional systems of object motion prediction ([0003] – [0004]). Li describes that the use of optical flow maps, or maps which detail how locations of objects change in time between frames, can help with tracking multiple objects. This would have predictable results of improving models (such as using historic information as taught by Zhou) used by systems to be optimized to reduce uncertainty (Li, [0117]). Further, Zhou teaches that blobs, or portions of the signal map such as foreground, object, and background sections, can be detected, labelled, enhanced or removed based on prior signal values as a way to remove noise ([0078] – [0090]). While Zhou does not explicitly note that this is based on a threshold value, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that use of a threshold is a well-known way to determine and remove noise in the art of LIDAR signal analysis, as taught by Douady-Pleven et al. (US 20200267339 A1; [0200] – [0202]).
Regarding claim 15, Xu teaches the LiDAR target signal selection method of claim 14, wherein
the estimating of the target signal includes determining an Euclidean distance between the determined target signal of the previous frame N-1 and the signals of the current frame N ([0120]).
Regarding claim 16, Xu teaches the LiDAR target signal selection method of claim 15, wherein
the estimating of the target signal includes estimating a signal having a lowest Euclidean distance among the signals of the current frame N ([0123], where if the distance is below a certain threshold two signals are determined to be the same target).
Regarding claim 19, Xu as modified above teaches the LiDAR target signal selection method of claim 14.
Xu fails to teach a method of determining whether a signal is within a boundary range.
Li teaches a method where the determining of the estimated target signal includes determining whether the estimated target signal of the current frame N is within the deviation average boundary range ([0049]).
Xu teaches a method of establishing bounding boxes around target objects ([0078]). Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Xu to incorporate the teachings of Li as a method of expanding bounding boxes around target signals to assist in the detection and tracking of objects with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 20, Xu as modified above teaches the LiDAR target signal selection method of claim 19.
Xu fails to teach method for determining whether a signal is within a boundary range and, if so, conclude the signal is the target signal.
Li teaches a selection method where the determining of the estimated target signal includes determining the estimated target signal of the current frame N when the processor concludes that the estimated target signal of the current frame N is within the deviation average boundary range ([0049]).
Xu teaches a method which includes establishing bounding boxes around target objects ([0078]). Therefore, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to modify Xu to incorporate the teachings of Li as a method of expanding bounding boxes around target signals to assist in the detection and tracking of objects with a reasonable expectation of success. Use of bounding boxes would have a predictable result in reducing computational power needed in the system of Xu by limiting data analyzed to specific regions of interest.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu ( CN 112154444A) in view of Li (US 20200250832 A1) and Zhou ( US 20190130191), as applied to Claim 8 above, and further in view of Shin (US 20180149753 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Xu as modified above teaches the LiDAR system of claim 8.
Xu and Li fail to teach the optical components of the LiDAR system, which may include a scan motor.
Shin teaches a scan motor configured to transmit the laser to various angles of view ([0110], [0139]; Fig. 14, second mirror (130) is movable and may adopt MEMS technology to steer).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious prima facie to further modify Xu to incorporate the teachings of Shin, where a motor and/or motorized mirror, such as a MEMS mirror, is incorporated into a LiDAR system to transmit the laser to various angles within the environment with a reasonable expectation of success. Transmitting electromagnetic signals, such as laser light, into an environment around a ranging system is well-known, and would have predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art of being used in the collection of ranging and/or velocity information about objects.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Grindstaff et al. (US 20130322697 A1) teaches method and system for estimating the average speed of a moving object, where signals within a current frame which fall below a threshold (either arbitrary or based on signals) are removed to improve identification of areas of interest surrounding objects.
Takahama et al (JP 2004151922 A) teaches a system which detects relative positions of an object, such as in lidar, where differential images of regions of interest are determined by changing the size of a bounding box of a region of interest, which can include an average value.
Korb et al. (US20150371431A1) teaches a process where imaging sensor data of a current frame is variably compressed based on information such as a difference in changes of areas of interest, and an average of the changes of the areas of interest, which yields information on the variability of the areas within an image ([0040]).
Murugavel (“Multiple Object Tracking Algorithms and Object Tracking”, 2019) discloses a known process and code for tracking multiple objects through multiple frames of images, where the objects are tracked by Euclidean distances between subsequent frames.
Grancharov et al .(US 20210264619 A1) teaches on systems where object tracking is done on frames of video, where objects have bounding boxes for object detection, and object location is based on the locations in previous frames of the video.
KUROKAWA T (JP 6280020 B2) teaches a system for monitoring multiple moving objects, where position determination is weighted higher for more similar locations of relative positional locations of objects between images.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645