DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1 – 8) in the reply filed on 06 June 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 9 – 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06 June 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 29 April 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 – 8 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive, in light of the amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Torgerson (US PGPUB 2019/0105499 – previously cited) in view of Khair (US PGPUB 2020/0000355 – previously cited) and Grill et al. (US PGPUB 2016/0022993 – previously cited), and further in view of Burdick et al. (US PGPUB 2016/0310739).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torgerson (US PGPUB 2019/0105499 – previously cited) in view of Khair (US PGPUB 2020/0000355 – previously cited) and Grill et al. (US PGPUB 2016/0022993 – previously cited), and further in view of Burdick et al. (US PGPUB 2016/0310739).
Regarding claims 1 – 3, Torgerson discloses a system, comprising: a memory (e.g. Fig. 2; 211); and a processor that executes instructions stored in memory (e.g. Fig. 2; 210), wherein the processor: generates a model and determines updated one or more electrostatics parameters based on feedback responsive to an electrical stimulation therapy employing an initial one or more electrostatics parameters on the entity (e.g. ¶ 103 – 104; the patient feedback reads on the feedback).
Torgerson discloses determining the initial one or more electrostatics parameters based on an initial physical-based model based on an ideal entity and generating an initial physical-based model based on an ideal entity, wherein updating the initial model generates the model (e.g. ¶ 69 – 70).
Torgerson fails to teach that the feedback comprises one or more differentials between a specified electrical output requested and received by the processor and an actual electrical output produced, wherein the one or more differentials are one or more observed patterns from the produced electrical output. Torgerson also fails to teach the one or more differentials are construed for one or more locations not directly at a location of the specified electrical output requested and received by the processor.
Khair teaches it is known to use a closed-loop, self-calibrating system wherein the feedback comprises one or more differentials between a specified electrical output requested and received by the processor and an actual electrical output produced, wherein the one or more differentials are one or more observed patterns from the produced electrical output (e.g. ¶ 246; #8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention as taught by Torgerson with the feedback system as taught by Khair, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of effectively correcting the parameters automatically based on the actual output compared to the desired result.
Grill teaches it is known to use the Poisson model to determine a physical-based model of stimulation (e.g. ¶ 37, 44). Because the Poisson model is used along with an internal feedback-driven algorithm, it is clear that the differentials are construed for one or more locations not directly at a location of the specified electrical output requested and received by the processor.
Furthermore, Burdick teaches it is known to use a neurostimulator processor that takes sensor/feedback data and applies a machine-learning method (Gaussian process optimization) to search and update complex stimulation-parameter sets, thereby producing a model/program that is more accurate for the actual patient than the initial model (e.g. ¶ 15 and 193 – 195). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention as taught by Torgerson in view of Khair and Grill with the machine learning system as taught by Burdick, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of efficiently updating the model using sensor feedback to optimize the parameters.
Regarding claim 4, Torgerson discloses the performing a recalibration of an initial physical-based model to generate the model, and wherein the recalibration is performed between a determination of the initial one or more electrostatics parameters and the determination of the updated one or more electrostatics parameters (e.g. ¶ 69 – 70).
Regarding claim 5, Torgerson discloses the updated one or more electrostatics parameters are determined based on feedback relative to application of the electrical stimulation therapy being a neuromodulation therapy (e.g. ¶ 103 – 104).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Torgerson discloses the processor produces a produced electrical output to the entity by employing the updated one or more electrostatics parameters (e.g. Fig. 2; 202), wherein the produced electrical output matches a specified electrical output upon which the initial one or more electrostatics parameters were based (e.g. ¶ 103 – 104).
Regarding claim 8, Torgerson discloses the updated one or more electrostatics parameters define a supplementary electrode configuration for producing a supplementary electric field employing one or more electrodes at the entity (e.g. ¶ 114).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796