DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claims 1-7, 9-14, 25-30, and 32 have been amended; Claims 15-19, 21-24, and 31 have been canceled. Claims 1-14, 20, 25-30, 32 are subject to examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 11-14, 20, 25-30 and 32 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Charbit et al. (Charbit hereafter) (US 20140036742 A1) in view of Yali Zhao (Zhao hereafter) (CN 107075993 A) (IDS provided).
Regarding claim 1 Charbit teaches, A method, comprising:
receiving by a device (Charbit; fig. 6 [0057] The network 12 may include a collection of various different nodes, devices or functions that may be in communication with each other via corresponding wired and/or wireless interfaces. For example, the network may include one or more base stations, such as one or more node Bs, evolved node Bs (eNBs), access points or the like, each of which may serve a coverage area divided into one or more cells) capable of carrier aggregation (supports carrier aggregation) at least two different time division duplexing configurations for different serving cells (primary cell and a secondary cell) (Charbit; [0036] for defining a common on-duration timer and a common inactivity timer for a primary cell and a secondary cell in a time division duplex (TDD) network that supports carrier aggregation), and
Charbit fails to explicitly teach, operating at least one timer function to perform discontinuous reception from the different serving cells comprising counting of subframes according to a predefined rule of counting of each of the plurality of subframes in the at least two different time division duplexing configurations for the different serving cells to determine timing based on the at least one timer function of a common discontinuous reception operation at the device to each of the different serving cells
operating at least one timer function (onDurationTimer) to perform discontinuous reception (DRX-related timer) from the different serving cells comprising counting of subframes according to a predefined rule of counting ([page 14] Example four: and determining the length of the DRX timer with the PDCCH subframe number as a length statistic unit, wherein the reference base station is used for configuring or configuring and activating all cells for the terminal, and the cell with the longest absolute operation time of the timer is obtained according to the PDCCH subframe number statistics) of each of the plurality of subframes in the at least two different time division duplexing configurations (terminal support different TDD UL/DL configurations) for the different serving cells (UL/DL configurations of different cells) to determine timing based on the at least one timer function of a common discontinuous reception operation at the device to each of the different serving cells (Cell1 and Cell2)
(Zhao; [page 14] Example four: and determining the length of the DRX timer with the PDCCH subframe number as a length statistic unit, wherein the reference base station is used for configuring or configuring and activating all cells for the terminal, and the cell with the longest absolute operation time of the timer is obtained according to the PDCCH subframe number statistics [page 15] in R11, if the cells aggregated by the terminal support different TDD UL/DL configurations, according to the UL/DL configurations of different cells, the counted timing durations of DRX related timers (including onDurationTimer, DRX-inactivity timer, and DRX-retransmission timer) with the number of PDCCH subframes as the length statistic… Similar to embodiment 4, the only difference here is that the length of each DRX timer is counted by the reference cell, and from the time of starting the timer, the cell is selected as the reference according to which SCell has the longest absolute time of timer operation according to the 4 PDCCH subframe statistics. In step 61 -step 62[ when the DRX-related timer is overtime in the TDD uplink/downlink configuration according to timer length information configured for the DRX-related timer, so that the number of PDCCH subframes contained in a time period 0138] FIG. 7A at time t0, the terminal starts the onDurationTimer, onDurationTimer length is 5 PDCCH sub-frames, according to the PDCCH sub-frame counting PCell, onDurationTimer on the t0 + 5ms [0140] PDCCH sub-frames as the length counting unit of the DRX timer length determination reference for terminal configuration or the configured and activated for all cell one wireless frame in PDCCH sub-frame number is the least of the cell. [0147] in FIG. 7B, there are t0 time onDurationTimer the length is 5 roCCH sub-frame, the time counted from the starting onDurationTimer, sub-frame counting, according to 5 TOCCH onDurationTimer running on SCelll) (See Fig. 4, Fig. 7B)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Charbit to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhao in order to support different TDD UL/DL configurations, and then maintain the DRX related timer (Zhao; [page 14]).
Regarding claim 2 Charbit teaches, A method, comprising:
sending, from one or more serving cells to a device (Charbit; fig. 6 [0057] The network 12 may include a collection of various different nodes, devices or functions that may be in communication with each other via corresponding wired and/or wireless interfaces. For example, the network may include one or more base stations, such as one or more node Bs, evolved node Bs (eNBs), access points or the like, each of which may serve a coverage area divided into one or more cells) capable of carrier aggregation (supports carrier aggregation) at least two different time division duplexing configurations for different serving cells (primary cell and a secondary cell) (Charbit; [0036] for defining a common on-duration timer and a common inactivity timer for a primary cell and a secondary cell in a time division duplex (TDD) network that supports carrier aggregation), and
controlling, with the one or more serving cells, discontinuous communications with the device to each of the different serving cells based on the predefined rule of counting (Charbit; [0069] a subset of the DRX parameters are defined to be common for both the primary and secondary cells, while another subset of the DRX parameters are defined to be unique to the respective primary and secondary cells. In this regard, the set of DRX parameters that are common or identical for the primary and secondary cells may include the DRX cycle, the on-duration timer).
Charbit fails to explicitly teach, wherein the plurality of subframes each of the at least two different time division duplexing configurations are counted for purpose of operating at least one timer function for discontinuous reception according to a predefined rule of counting for timing based on the at least one timer function of a common discontinuous reception operation at the device to each of the different serving cells.
wherein the plurality of subframes each of the at least two different time division duplexing configurations are counted for purpose of operating at least one timer function (onDurationTimer) for discontinuous reception (DRX-related timer) according to a predefined rule of counting for timing ([page 14] Example four: and determining the length of the DRX timer with the PDCCH subframe number as a length statistic unit, wherein the reference base station is used for configuring or configuring and activating all cells for the terminal, and the cell with the longest absolute operation time of the timer is obtained according to the PDCCH subframe number statistics) based on the at least one timer function of a common discontinuous reception operation at the device to each of the different serving cells (terminal support different TDD UL/DL configurations… (UL/DL
configurations of different cells)).
(Zhao; [page 14] Example four: and determining the length of the DRX timer with the PDCCH subframe number as a length statistic unit, wherein the reference base station is used for configuring or configuring and activating all cells for the terminal, and the cell with the longest absolute operation time of the timer is obtained according to the PDCCH subframe number statistics [page 15] in R11, if the cells aggregated by the terminal support different TDD UL/DL configurations, according to the UL/DL configurations of different cells, the counted timing durations of DRX related timers (including onDurationTimer, DRX-inactivity timer, and DRX-retransmission timer) with the number of PDCCH subframes as the length statistic… Similar to embodiment 4, the only difference here is that the length of each DRX timer is counted by the reference cell, and from the time of starting the timer, the cell is selected as the reference according to which SCell has the longest absolute time of timer operation according to the 4 PDCCH subframe statistics. In step 61 -step 62[ when the DRX-related timer is overtime in the TDD uplink/downlink configuration according to timer length information configured for the DRX-related timer, so that the number of PDCCH subframes contained in a time period 0138] FIG. 7A at time t0, the terminal starts the onDurationTimer, onDurationTimer length is 5 PDCCH sub-frames, according to the PDCCH sub-frame counting PCell, onDurationTimer on the t0 + 5ms [0140] PDCCH sub-frames as the length counting unit of the DRX timer length determination reference for terminal configuration or the configured and activated for all cell one wireless frame in PDCCH sub-frame number is the least of the cell. [0147] in FIG. 7B, there are t0 time onDurationTimer the length is 5 roCCH sub-frame, the time counted from the starting onDurationTimer, sub-frame counting, according to 5 TOCCH onDurationTimer running on SCelll) (See Fig. 4, Fig. 7B)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Charbit to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhao in order to support different TDD UL/DL configurations, and then maintain the DRX related timer (Zhao; [page 14]).
Regarding claim 11 Charbit teaches, an apparatus comprising:
at least one processor, and at least one memory including computer program code storing instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus, at least to:
facilitate receiving (Charbit; fig. 6 [0057] The network 12 may include a collection of various different nodes, devices or functions that may be in communication with each other via corresponding wired and/or wireless interfaces. For example, the network may include one or more base stations, such as one or more node Bs, evolved node Bs (eNBs), access points or the like, each of which may serve a coverage area divided into one or more cells) of at least two different time division duplexing configurations for different serving cells (primary cell and a secondary cell) (Charbit; [0036] for defining a common on-duration timer and a common inactivity timer for a primary cell and a secondary cell in a time division duplex (TDD) network that supports carrier aggregation), and
Wherein the apparatus is capable of carrier aggregation (Charbit; [0036] for defining a common on-duration timer and a common inactivity timer for a primary cell and a secondary cell in a time division duplex (TDD) network that supports carrier aggregation)
Charbit fails to explicitly teach, operate at least one timer function to perform discontinuous reception from the different serving cells comprising counting of subframes according to a predefined rule of counting of each of the plurality of subframes in the at least two different time division duplexing configurations for the different serving cells to determine timing based on the at least one timer function of a common discontinuous reception operation at the device to each of the different serving cells
operate at least one timer function (onDurationTimer) to perform discontinuous reception (DRX-related timer) from the different serving cells comprising counting of subframes according to a predefined rule of counting ([page 14] Example four: and determining the length of the DRX timer with the PDCCH subframe number as a length statistic unit, wherein the reference base station is used for configuring or configuring and activating all cells for the terminal, and the cell with the longest absolute operation time of the timer is obtained according to the PDCCH subframe number statistics) of each of the plurality of subframes in the at least two different time division duplexing configurations (terminal support different TDD UL/DL configurations) for the different serving cells (UL/DL configurations of different cells) to determine timing based on the at least one timer function of a common discontinuous reception operation at the device to each of the different serving cells (Cell1 and Cell2)
(Zhao; [page 14] Example four: and determining the length of the DRX timer with the PDCCH subframe number as a length statistic unit, wherein the reference base station is used for configuring or configuring and activating all cells for the terminal, and the cell with the longest absolute operation time of the timer is obtained according to the PDCCH subframe number statistics [page 15] in R11, if the cells aggregated by the terminal support different TDD UL/DL configurations, according to the UL/DL configurations of different cells, the counted timing durations of DRX related timers (including onDurationTimer, DRX-inactivity timer, and DRX-retransmission timer) with the number of PDCCH subframes as the length statistic… Similar to embodiment 4, the only difference here is that the length of each DRX timer is counted by the reference cell, and from the time of starting the timer, the cell is selected as the reference according to which SCell has the longest absolute time of timer operation according to the 4 PDCCH subframe statistics. In step 61 -step 62[ when the DRX-related timer is overtime in the TDD uplink/downlink configuration according to timer length information configured for the DRX-related timer, so that the number of PDCCH subframes contained in a time period 0138] FIG. 7A at time t0, the terminal starts the onDurationTimer, onDurationTimer length is 5 PDCCH sub-frames, according to the PDCCH sub-frame counting PCell, onDurationTimer on the t0 + 5ms [0140] PDCCH sub-frames as the length counting unit of the DRX timer length determination reference for terminal configuration or the configured and activated for all cell one wireless frame in PDCCH sub-frame number is the least of the cell. [0147] in FIG. 7B, there are t0 time onDurationTimer the length is 5 roCCH sub-frame, the time counted from the starting onDurationTimer, sub-frame counting, according to 5 TOCCH onDurationTimer running on SCelll) (See Fig. 4, Fig. 7B)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Charbit to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhao in order to support different TDD UL/DL configurations, and then maintain the DRX related timer (Zhao; [page 14]).
Regarding claim 12 Charbit teaches, an apparatus comprising at least one processor, and at least one memory storing instructions, that when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus, at least to (Charbit; FIG. 14, the apparatus 20 of this embodiment may include means, such as the processing circuitry 22, the processor 24):
cause sending, with one or more serving cells to a device, at least two different time division duplexing configurations (Charbit; [0036] for defining a common on-duration timer and a common inactivity timer for a primary cell and a secondary cell in a time division duplex (TDD) network that supports carrier aggregation), individual ones at least two different time division duplexing configurations for different serving cells (primary cell and a secondary cell) (Charbit; [0036] for defining a common on-duration timer and a common inactivity timer for a primary cell and a secondary cell in a time division duplex (TDD) network that supports carrier aggregation), and
controlling, with the one or more serving cells, discontinuous communications with the device to each of the different serving cells based on the predefined rule of counting (Charbit; [0069] a subset of the DRX parameters are defined to be common for both the primary and secondary cells, while another subset of the DRX parameters are defined to be unique to the respective primary and secondary cells. In this regard, the set of DRX parameters that are common or identical for the primary and secondary cells may include the DRX cycle, the on-duration timer).
Wherein the apparatus is for controlling carrier aggregation (Charbit [0036] for defining a common on-duration timer and a common inactivity timer for a primary cell and a secondary cell in a time division duplex (TDD) network that supports carrier aggregation.)
Charbit fails to explicitly teach, wherein the plurality of subframes each of the at least two different time division duplexing configurations are counted for purpose of operating at least one timer function for discontinuous reception according to a predefined rule of counting for timing based on the at least one timer function of a common discontinuous reception operation at the device to each of the different serving cells.
wherein the plurality of subframes each of the at least two different time division duplexing configurations are counted for purpose of operating at least one timer function (onDurationTimer) for discontinuous reception (DRX-related timer) according to a predefined rule of counting for timing ([page 14] Example four: and determining the length of the DRX timer with the PDCCH subframe number as a length statistic unit, wherein the reference base station is used for configuring or configuring and activating all cells for the terminal, and the cell with the longest absolute operation time of the timer is obtained according to the PDCCH subframe number statistics) based on the at least one timer function of a common discontinuous reception operation at the device to each of the different serving cells (terminal support different TDD UL/DL configurations… (UL/DL
configurations of different cells)).
(Zhao; [page 14] Example four: and determining the length of the DRX timer with the PDCCH subframe number as a length statistic unit, wherein the reference base station is used for configuring or configuring and activating all cells for the terminal, and the cell with the longest absolute operation time of the timer is obtained according to the PDCCH subframe number statistics [page 15] in R11, if the cells aggregated by the terminal support different TDD UL/DL configurations, according to the UL/DL configurations of different cells, the counted timing durations of DRX related timers (including onDurationTimer, DRX-inactivity timer, and DRX-retransmission timer) with the number of PDCCH subframes as the length statistic… Similar to embodiment 4, the only difference here is that the length of each DRX timer is counted by the reference cell, and from the time of starting the timer, the cell is selected as the reference according to which SCell has the longest absolute time of timer operation according to the 4 PDCCH subframe statistics. In step 61 -step 62[ when the DRX-related timer is overtime in the TDD uplink/downlink configuration according to timer length information configured for the DRX-related timer, so that the number of PDCCH subframes contained in a time period 0138] FIG. 7A at time t0, the terminal starts the onDurationTimer, onDurationTimer length is 5 PDCCH sub-frames, according to the PDCCH sub-frame counting PCell, onDurationTimer on the t0 + 5ms [0140] PDCCH sub-frames as the length counting unit of the DRX timer length determination reference for terminal configuration or the configured and activated for all cell one wireless frame in PDCCH sub-frame number is the least of the cell. [0147] in FIG. 7B, there are t0 time onDurationTimer the length is 5 roCCH sub-frame, the time counted from the starting onDurationTimer, sub-frame counting, according to 5 TOCCH onDurationTimer running on SCelll) (See Fig. 4, Fig. 7B)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Charbit to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhao in order to support different TDD UL/DL configurations, and then maintain the DRX related timer (Zhao; [page 14]).
Regarding claims 3, 13, and 27 Charbit-Zhao teaches, the claims 1, 11 and 2,
Charbit further teaches, comprising using time division duplexing configuration of a primary cell of the different serving cells as a basis for counting of the subframes (Charbit; [0008] FIG. 2, for example, an on-duration timer may be defined to equal 4 PDCCH subframes (PSF). Based upon the definition of a PDCCH subframe as a subframe that is either a DL subframe or a special subframe in any of the corresponding subframes of the primary and secondary cells, the mobile terminal may maintain an active state).
Regarding claim 8 Charbit-Zhao teaches, the method as claimed in claim 1,
Charbit further teaches, comprising controlling discontinuous reception active time of the device based on the counting (Charbit; [0003] discontinuous reception (DRX) parameters be utilized for each of the primary and secondary cells such that the active time and the DRX pattern would be the same for each of the aggregated cells).
Regarding claims 10 and 20 Charbit-Zhao teaches, A method as claimed in claim 1 and 11,
Charbit further teaches, wherein at least one timer function comprises at least one of an inactivity timer, retransmission timer, and on-duration timer (Charbit; Fig. 9).
Regarding claims 4, 14, and 28 Charbit-Zhao teaches, the claims 1, 11 and 2,
Charbit fails to explicitly teach, comprising: determining a serving cell from the different service cells service cells with most downlink subframes in its time division duplexing configuration, and using the configuration of the determined serving cell as the basis for counting of subframes
Zhao further teaches, comprising: determining a serving cell from the different service cells service cells with most downlink subframes in its time division duplexing configuration (Zhao; [0138] ... the terminal starts the onDurationTimer, onDurationTimer length is 5 PDCCH sub-frames, according to the PDCCH sub-frame counting PCell, onDurationTimer on the t0 + 5ms after the timeout) (See Fig. 7A), and using the configuration of the determined serving cell as a basis for the counting of the subframes (Zhao; [0194] timer maintaining unit 82 for maintaining the DRX related timer according to the overtime moment of the DRX related timer is to physical downlink control channel PDCCH sub-frames as the length counting unit of the DRX timer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Charbit to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhao in order to support different TDD UL/DL configurations, and then maintain the DRX related timer (Zhao; [page 14]).
Regarding claims 5, 29 and 30 Charbit-Zhao teaches, the claims 1, 2, and 11
Charbit fails to explicitly teach, comprising counting an instance of a downlink subframe in a time division duplexing configuration from any serving cell as a subframe for the timing
Zhao further teaches, comprising counting an instance of a downlink subframe in a time division duplexing configuration from any serving cell as a subframe for the timing (Zhao; [0140] PDCCH sub-frames as the length counting unit of the DRX timer length determination reference for terminal configuration or the configured and activated for all cell one wireless frame in PDCCH sub-frame number is the least of the cell.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Charbit to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhao in order to support different TDD UL/DL configurations, and then maintain the DRX related timer (Zhao; [page 14]).
Regarding claim 6 Charbit-Zhao teaches, A method as claimed in claim 1,
Charbit fails to explicitly teach, comprising counting only a subframe where a downlink subframe is present in all received time division duplexing configurations as the subframe for the timing
Zhao further teaches, comprising counting only a subframe where a downlink subframe is present in all received time division duplexing configurations as the subframe for the timing (Zhao; [0044-0053] ... selecting a TDD uplink/downlink configuration. selecting on the TDD uplink/downlink configuration, the base station is a terminal configuration of the timer length information of the DRX related timer and the starting moment of the DRX related timer determining the overtime moment of the DRX related timer, and maintains the DRX related timer according to the overtime moment. Therefore, using the solution, overtime time of TDD terminal is able to select the uplink/downlink configuration determines the terminal on the DRX related timer is the DRX related timer according to the overtime moment maintenance, solves the problem that the terminal side how maintenance to PDCCH sub-frame number as the length counting unit of the DRX related timer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Charbit to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhao in order to support different TDD UL/DL configurations, and then maintain the DRX related timer (Zhao; [page 14]).
Regarding claim 9 Charbit-Zhao teaches, A method as claimed in claim 1,
Charbit fails to explicitly teach, comprising counting downlink sub-frames and subframes in the plurality of subframes including downlink pilot subframes for the timing
Zhao further teaches, comprising counting downlink sub-frames and subframes in the plurality of subframes including downlink pilot subframes for the timing (Zhao; [0011] ... For time division duplex (TDD) system, a PDCCH subframe is downlink subframe includes a downlink pilot time slot (DwPTS) in the special sub-frame. the method based on the length of the timing of the HXXH subframe number counting timer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Charbit to include the above recited limitations as taught by Zhao in order to support different TDD UL/DL configurations, and then maintain the DRX related timer (Zhao; [page 14]).
Regarding claims 25 and 26 Charbit-Zhao teaches, the method of claim 1 and 2
Charbit further teaches, A computer program product embodied on a non-transitory computer-readable medium in which a computer program comprising program code is stored that, when being executed by an apparatus (Charbit; [0018] a computer program product is provided that includes a computer-readable medium bearing computer program code embodied therein for use with a computer. The computer program code includes code).
Regarding claim 32 Charbit-Zhao teaches, A method as claimed in claim 1,
Charbit further teaches, wherein at least one of an uplink or downlink configuration of a primary cell is used to enable the counting of the subframes of each of the received at least two different time division duplexing configurations for the different serving cells (Charbit; [0001] different time division duplex (TDD) , [0076] As shown in FIG. 11, With respect to the secondary cell, the active time includes subframes #0 and 1 with the subframe #0 being active as a result of the on-duration timer and its value of 1 PDCCH subframe and subframe #1 being active as a result of the inactivity timer ).
Claim 7 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Charbit-Zhao in view of Wei (Wei hereafter) (US 20130163497 A1) (IDS provided).
Regarding claim 7 Charbit-Zhao teaches, A method as claimed in claim 1,
Charbit-Zhao fails to explicitly teach, wherein a downlink subframe by a secondary cell that is cross scheduled by another cell is not counted as a subframe for the timing.
However, in the same field of endeavor Wei teaches, wherein a downlink subframe by a secondary cell that is cross scheduled by another cell in not counted as a subframe for timing purposes (Wei; [0070] ... in the case of cross-scheduling, if a Scell does not configure PDCCH, there is not DRX on this Scell, that is, DRX configuration is not performed on this Scell).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Charbit to include the above recited limitations as taught by Wei in order to avoid performing DRX configuration on Scell (Wei; [0070]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W. T/Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416