DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
FIG. 1 is objected to because it should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated, as indicated by Applicant, for example, in paragraph [0003] of the specification. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office Action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the Examiner, the Applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, lines 4-5 recite: “further comprising a die coupled with the first buildup, the die electrically coupled with the one of the one or more layers of the first buildup.” This recited language used to define the invention is ambiguous and correction is required to make its meaning clear and precise whereby the metes and bounds of the claimed invention can be ascertained. No new matter may be added. For example, it unclear why this recited language is in claim 7 (which depends from claim 6 which depends from claim 1) because it appears to be duplicative with lines 14-15 of claim 1 which recite: “a die coupled with the first buildup, the die electrically coupled with one of the one or more layers of the first buildup”. For purpose of examination, the Examiner is unable to determine what lines 4-5 of claim 7 recite beyond what is already recited in lines 14-15 of claim 1 because of this apparent duplication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0168536 A1 (Link) in view of US 2018/0156841 A1 (Neely).
Regarding claim 1, Link discloses, A substrate (substrate (150); FIG. 2 [0020]) comprising:
a glass core (glass core (156); annotated FIG. 1, below; [0020] and [0022]) with a first side and a second side opposite the first side (annotated FIG. 1, below), the glass core (156) comprising a single material layer continuous from the first side to the second side (annotated FIG. 1, below);
a first buildup (first buildup (162); annotated FIG. 2, below; [0020]) coupled with the first side of the glass core (156) (annotated FIG. 2, below), the first buildup (162) including one or more layers (annotated FIG. 2, below);
a second buildup (second buildup (164); annotated FIG. 2, above; [0020]) coupled with the second side of the glass core (156) (annotated FIG. 2, above), the second buildup (164) including one or more layers (annotated FIG. 2, above);
wherein a number of the one or more layers of the first buildup (162) is different than a number of the one or more layers of the second buildup (164) (as can be seen in annotated FIG. 2, above, first buildup (162) has six (6) layers and second buildup (164) has three (3) layers);
wherein the glass core (156) further includes one or more through glass vias (TGV) (through glass vias (TGVs) (136); annotated FIG. 2, above, and annotated FIG. 3C, below; [0033]) that extend from the first side of the glass core (156) to the second side the glass core (156) (annotated FIG. 2, above), wherein the one or more TGV (136) are filled with an electrically conductive material (electrically conductive material (144); annotated FIG. 2, above; [[0037]); and
a die (die (1656 and/or 1720); FIGs. 8 and 9; [0080] and [0089]) coupled with the first buildup (162)1, the die (1656) electrically coupled with one of the one or more layers of the first buildup (162) (electrically coupling via conductive contacts (112); FIG. 1; annotated FIG. 2, above; [0021])2, wherein the die (1720) is vertically non-overlapping (annotated FIG. 9, below) with the TGVs (TGVs (1706); FIG. 9; [0090]) in the glass core (glass core (1704); FIG. 9; [0089] and [0090]) along a vertical direction (annotated FIG. 9, below) in a cross-sectional view (FIGs. 1, 2, 3C, 8, and 9 are cross-sectional views) taken through the die (1656 and/or 1720), the first buildup (162), the second buildup (164), and the glass core (156 and/or 1704).
But, Link does not appear to explicitly disclose, that the glass core has a homogeneous material layer.
However, in analogous art, Neely discloses, that it is well-known that a glass core can be homogenous ([0032]). Neely also discloses that it is well-known that a homogenous glass core can provide higher capability for definition of fine lead-to-lead pitch ([0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Link and Neely before him/her, that it is well-known that the single material layer of the glass core of Link can be homogenous, as taught by Neely, to provide higher capability for definition of fine lead-to-lead pitch, as also taught by Neely. See, MPEP 2143(G)—Some Teaching, Suggestion, or Motivation In The Prior Art That Would Have Led One Of Ordinary Skill to Modify The Prior Art Reference Or To Combine Prior Art References Teachings To Arrive At The Claimed Invention. See also, MPEP 2144(IV)—The reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant.
Regarding claim 2, Link in view of Neely discloses, The substrate (150) of claim 1, wherein the one or more layers of the first buildup (162) or the one or more layers of the second buildup (164) include copper layers (copper layers (146 and 148); FIG. 2; [0024]).
Regarding claim 6, Link in view of Neely discloses, The substrate (150) of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more layers of the first buildup (162) are electrically coupled with one of the one or more TGV (136) (146 and 148; FIG. 2; [0024]; [0039]; 146 and 148 in the layers of 162 are electrically coupled with conductive material (144) in TGV (136)); and wherein at least one of the one or more layers of the second buildup (164) are electrically coupled with the one of the one or more TGV (136) (146 and 148; FIG. 2; [0024]; [0039]; 146 and 148 in the layers of 164 are electrically coupled with conductive material (144) in TGV (136)).
Regarding claim 7, Link in view of Neely discloses, The substrate (150) of claim 6, wherein the number of the one or more layers of the first buildup (162) is greater than the number of the one or more layers of the second buildup (164) (in annotated FIG. 2, above, there are six (6) layers in first buildup (162) and three (3) layers in second buildup (164), six (6) is greater than three (3)); and
further comprising a die (die (1656); FIG. 8; [0080]) coupled with the first buildup (162)3, the die (1656) electrically coupled with the one of the one or more layers of the first buildup (162) (electrically coupling via conductive contacts (112); FIG. 1; annotated FIG. 2, above; [0021]).4
Regarding claim 15, Link discloses, A package (package (1650); FIG. 8; [0078]) comprising:
a substrate (substrate (1652); FIG. 8; [0080]) that includes:
a glass core (glass core (156); FIG. 2; [0020]; [0022]) with a first side and a second side opposite the first (annotated FIG. 2, above), the glass core (156) comprising a single material layer continuous from the first side to the second side (annotated FIG. 1, above);
a first buildup (first buildup (162); FIG. 2; [0020]) coupled with the first side of the glass core (156) (annotated FIG. 2, above), the first buildup including a plurality of layers (annotated FIG. 2, above) that include at least one copper layer (copper layers (146) and (148); FIG. 2; [0024]);
a second buildup (second buildup (164); FIG. 2; [0020]) coupled with the second side of the glass core (156) (annotated FIG. 2, above), the second buildup including a plurality of layers (annotated FIG. 2, above) that include at least one copper layer (146 and 148; FIG. 2; [0024]); and
wherein a number of the plurality of layers of the first buildup (162) is greater than a number of the plurality of layers of the second buildup (164) (in annotated FIG. 2, above, there are six (6) layers in first buildup (162) and three (3) layers in second buildup (164), six (6) is greater than three (3)) wherein the glass core (156) further includes one or more through glass vias (TGV) (through glass via (TGV) (136); annotated FIG. 2, above, and annotated FIG. 3C, above; [0033]) that extend from the first side of the glass core (156) to the second side of the glass core (156) (annotated FIG. 2, above), and wherein the one or more TGV (136) are filled with copper (copper (140); annotated FIG. 3F, below; [0036]);
a die (die (1656 and/or 1720); FIGs. 8 and 9; [0080] and [0089]) coupled with the first buildup (162),5 the die (1656) electrically coupled with one of the one or more layers of the first buildup (162) (electrically coupling via conductive contacts (112); FIG. 1; annotated FIG. 2, above; [0021])6, wherein the die (1720) is vertically non-overlapping (annotated FIG. 9, above) with the TGVs (TGVs (1706); FIG. 9; [0090]) in the glass core (glass core (1704); FIG. 9; [0089] and [0090]) along a vertical direction (annotated FIG. 9, above) in a cross-sectional view (FIGs. 1, 2, 3C, 3F, 8, and 9 are cross-sectional views) taken through the die (1656 and/or 1720), the first buildup (162), the second buildup (164), and the glass core (156 and/or 1704).
But, Link does not appear to explicitly disclose, that the glass core has a homogeneous material layer.
However, in analogous art, Neely discloses, that it is well-known that a glass core can be homogenous ([0032]). Neely also discloses that it is well-known that a homogenous glass core can provide higher capability for definition of fine lead-to-lead pitch ([0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Link and Neely before him/her, that it is well-known that the single material layer of the glass core of Link can be homogenous, as taught by Neely, to provide higher capability for definition of fine lead-to-lead pitch, as also taught by Neely. See, MPEP 2143(G), above. See also, MPEP 2144(IV), above.
Regarding claim 17, Link in view of Neely discloses, The package (1650) of claim 15, wherein at least one of the plurality of layers of the first buildup (162) is electrically coupled with one of the one or more TGV (136) filled with copper (146 and 148; FIG. 2; [0024]; [0039]; 146 and 148 in the layers of first buildup (162) are electrically coupled with 144 in TGV 136), and wherein at least one of the plurality of layers of the second buildup (164) is electrically coupled with the one of the one or more TGV (136) filled with copper (146 and 148; FIG. 2; [0024]; [0039]; 146 and 148 in the layers of second buildup (164) are electrically coupled with 144 in TGV (136)).
Regarding claim 18, Link in view of Neely discloses, The package (1650) of claim 15, wherein the substrate (1652) includes a first pad (first pad (148); annotated FIG. 2, above; [0024]) on the first buildup (162) and a second pad (second pad (148); annotated FIG. 2, above; [0024]) on the second buildup (164), wherein the first pad (148) and the second pad (148) are electrically coupled through one of the one or more TGV (136) filled with copper (first and second pads (148) are electrically couped through TGV (136) by 140, 144 and 148; annotated FIG. 2, above).
Regarding claim 19, Link in view of Neely discloses, The package (1650) of claim 18, wherein the die (1656) is electrically coupled with the first pad (148) (annotated FIG. 2, above) (conductive contact (112); FIG. 1; annotated FIG. 2, above; [0021]).7
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 15, and 17-19 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Link in view of Neely.
Regarding claim 1, Link discloses, A substrate (substrate (150); FIG. 2 [0020]) comprising:
a glass core (glass core (156); annotated FIG. 1, above; [0020] and [0022]) with a first side and a second side opposite the first side (annotated FIG. 1, above), the glass core (156) comprising a single material layer continuous from the first side to the second side (annotated FIG. 1, above);
a first buildup (first buildup (162); annotated FIG. 2, above; [0020]) coupled with the first side of the glass core (156) (annotated FIG. 2, above), the first buildup (162) including one or more layers (annotated FIG. 2, above);
a second buildup (second buildup (164); annotated FIG. 2, above; [0020]) coupled with the second side of the glass core (156) (annotated FIG. 2, above), the second buildup (164) including one or more layers (annotated FIG. 2, above);
wherein a number of the one or more layers of the first buildup (162) is different than a number of the one or more layers of the second buildup (164) (as can be seen in annotated FIG. 2, above, first buildup (162) has six (6) layers and second buildup (164) has three (3) layers);
wherein the glass core (156) further includes one or more through glass vias (TGV) (through glass vias (TGVs) (136); annotated FIG. 2, above, and annotated FIG. 3C, below; [0033]) that extend from the first side of the glass core (156) to the second side the glass core (156) (annotated FIG. 2, above), wherein the one or more TGV (136) are filled with an electrically conductive material (electrically conductive material (144); annotated FIG. 2, above; [[0037]); and
a die (die (1656); FIG. 8; [0080]) coupled with the first buildup (162)8, the die (1656) electrically coupled with one of the one or more layers of the first buildup (162) (electrically coupling via conductive contacts (112); FIG. 1; annotated FIG. 2, above; [0021]).9
But, Link does not appear to explicitly disclose, that the glass core has a homogeneous material layer and Applicant may argue that Link does not appear to explicitly disclose, wherein the die is vertically non-overlapping with the TGVs in the glass core along a vertical direction in a cross-sectional view taken through the die, the first buildup, the second buildup, and the glass core.
However, Link discloses that it was well-known common knowledge to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a die (die (1720); FIG. 9; [0089]) can be predicably fabricated to be vertically non-overlapping (annotated FIG. 9, above) with TGVs (TGVs (1706); FIG. 9; [0090]) in a glass core (glass core (1704); FIG. 9; [0089] and [0090]) along a vertical direction (annotated FIG. 9, above) in a cross-sectional view (FIG 9 is a cross-sectional view) taken through the die (1720), a first buildup (first buildup (1716); FIG. 9; [0088]), a second buildup (second buildup (1718); FIG. 9; [0089]), and the glass core (1704).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having the teachings of Link before him/her that it was common knowledge in the art that die (1656) can be predictably fabricated to be vertically non-overlapping with the TGVs (136)in the glass core (156) along a vertical direction (annotated FIGs. 8 and 9, above) in a cross-sectional view (FIGs. 1, 2, 3C, 8, and 9 are cross-sectional views) taken through the die (1656), the first buildup (162), the second buildup (164), and the glass core (156), as disclosed in FIG. 9 of Link, with no change in the function of die (1656) because it would still be coupled to glass core (156), first buildup (162), and second buildup (164). Please see, MPEP 2143(A)—Combining Prior Art Elements According To Known Methods To Yield Predicable Results. Please also see, MPEP 2144(I)—Rational May Be In A Reference, Or Reasoned From Common Knowledge In The Art, Scientific Principles, Art-Recognized Equivalents, Or Legal Precedent.
But, Link does not appear to explicitly disclose, that the glass core has a homogeneous material layer.
However, in analogous art, Neely discloses, that it is well-known that a glass core can be homogenous ([0032]). Neely also discloses that it is well-known that a homogenous glass core can provide higher capability for definition of fine lead-to-lead pitch ([0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Link and Neely before him/her, that it is well-known that the single material layer of the glass core of Link can be homogenous, as taught by Neely, to provide higher capability for definition of fine lead-to-lead pitch, as also taught by Neely. See, MPEP 2143(G), above. See also, MPEP 2144(IV), above.
Regarding claim 2, Link in view of Neely discloses, The substrate (150) of claim 1, wherein the one or more layers of the first buildup (162) or the one or more layers of the second buildup (164) include copper layers (copper layers (146 and 148); FIG. 2; [0024]).
Regarding claim 6, Link in view of Neely discloses, The substrate (150) of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more layers of the first buildup (162) are electrically coupled with one of the one or more TGV (136) (146 and 148; FIG. 2; [0024]; [0039]; 146 and 148 in the layers of 162 are electrically coupled with conductive material (144) in TGV (136)); and wherein at least one of the one or more layers of the second buildup (164) are electrically coupled with the one of the one or more TGV (136) (146 and 148; FIG. 2; [0024]; [0039]; 146 and 148 in the layers of 164 are electrically coupled with conductive material (144) in TGV (136)).
Regarding claim 7, Link in view of Neely discloses, The substrate (150) of claim 6, wherein the number of the one or more layers of the first buildup (162) is greater than the number of the one or more layers of the second buildup (164) (in annotated FIG. 2, above, there are six (6) layers in first buildup (162) and three (3) layers in second buildup (164), six (6) is greater than three (3)); and
further comprising a die (die (1656); FIG. 8; [0080]) coupled with the first buildup (162)10, the die (1656) electrically coupled with the one of the one or more layers of the first buildup (162) (electrically coupling via conductive contacts (112); FIG. 1; annotated FIG. 2, above; [0021]).11
Regarding claim 15, Link discloses, A package (package (1650); FIG. 8; [0078]) comprising:
a substrate (substrate (1652); FIG. 8; [0080]) that includes:
a glass core (glass core (156); FIG. 2; [0020]; [0022]) with a first side and a second side opposite the first (annotated FIG. 2, above), the glass core (156) comprising a single material layer continuous from the first side to the second side (annotated FIG. 1, above);
a first buildup (first buildup (162); FIG. 2; [0020]) coupled with the first side of the glass core (156) (annotated FIG. 2, above), the first buildup including a plurality of layers (annotated FIG. 2, above) that include at least one copper layer (copper layers (146) and (148); FIG. 2; [0024]);
a second buildup (second buildup (164); FIG. 2; [0020]) coupled with the second side of the glass core (156) (annotated FIG. 2, above), the second buildup including a plurality of layers (annotated FIG. 2, above) that include at least one copper layer (146 and 148; FIG. 2; [0024]); and
wherein a number of the plurality of layers of the first buildup (162) is greater than a number of the plurality of layers of the second buildup (164) (in annotated FIG. 2, above, there are six (6) layers in first buildup (162) and three (3) layers in second buildup (164), six (6) is greater than three (3)) wherein the glass core (156) further includes one or more through glass vias (TGV) (through glass via (TGV) (136); annotated FIG. 2, above, and annotated FIG. 3C, above; [0033]) that extend from the first side of the glass core (156) to the second side of the glass core (156) (annotated FIG. 2, above), and wherein the one or more TGV (136) are filled with copper (copper (140); annotated FIG. 3Fab; [ove0036]);
a die (die (1656 and/or 1720); FIGs. 8 and 9; [0080] and [0089]) coupled with the first buildup (162),12 the die (1656) electrically coupled with one of the one or more layers of the first buildup (162) (electrically coupling via conductive contacts (112); FIG. 1; annotated FIG. 2, above; [0021])13.
But, Link does not appear to explicitly disclose, that the glass core has a homogeneous material layer and Applicant may argue that Link does not appear to explicitly disclose, wherein the die is vertically non-overlapping with the TGVs in the glass core along a vertical direction in a cross-sectional view taken through the die, the first buildup, the second buildup, and the glass core.
However, Link discloses that it was well-known common knowledge to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a die (die (1720); FIG. [0089]) can be predicably fabricated to be vertically non-overlapping (annotated FIG. 9, above) with TGVs (TGVs (1706); FIG. 9; [0090]) in a glass core (glass core (1704); FIG. 9; [0089] and [0090]) along a vertical direction (annotated FIG. 9, above) in a cross-sectional view (FIG 9 is a cross-sectional view) taken through the die (1720), a first buildup (first buildup (1716); FIG. 9; [0088]), a second buildup (second buildup (1718); FIG. 9; [0089]), and the glass core (1704).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention having the teachings of Link before him/her that it was common knowledge in the art that die (1656) can be predictably fabricated to be vertically non-overlapping with the TGVs (136)in the glass core (156) along a vertical direction (annotated FIGs. 8 and 9, above) in a cross-sectional view (FIGs. 1, 2, 3C, 3F, 8, and 9 are cross-sectional views) taken through the die (1656), the first buildup (162), the second buildup (164), and the glass core (156), as disclosed in FIG. 9 of Link, with no change in the function of die (1656) because it would still be coupled to glass core (156), first buildup (162), and second buildup (164).. Please see, MPEP 2143(A), above. Please also see, MPEP 2144(I), above.
But, Link does not appear to explicitly disclose, that the glass core has a homogeneous material layer.
However, in analogous art, Neely discloses, that it is well-known that a glass core can be homogenous ([0032]). Neely also discloses that it is well-known that a homogenous glass core can provide higher capability for definition of fine lead-to-lead pitch ([0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Link and Neely before him/her, that it is well-known that the single material layer of the glass core of Link can be homogenous, as taught by Neely, to provide higher capability for definition of fine lead-to-lead pitch, as also taught by Neely. See, MPEP 2143(G), above. See also, MPEP 2144(IV), above.
Regarding claim 17, Link in view of Neely discloses, The package (1650) of claim 15, wherein at least one of the plurality of layers of the first buildup (162) is electrically coupled with one of the one or more TGV (136) filled with copper (146 and 148; FIG. 2; [0024]; [0039]; 146 and 148 in the layers of first buildup (162) are electrically coupled with 144 in TGV 136), and wherein at least one of the plurality of layers of the second buildup (164) is electrically coupled with the one of the one or more TGV (136) filled with copper (146 and 148; FIG. 2; [0024]; [0039]; 146 and 148 in the layers of second buildup (164) are electrically coupled with 144 in TGV (136)).
Regarding claim 18, Link in view of Neely discloses, The package (1650) of claim 15, wherein the substrate (1652) includes a first pad (first pad (148); annotated FIG. 2, above; [0024]) on the first buildup (162) and a second pad (second pad (148); annotated FIG. 2, above; [0024]) on the second buildup (164), wherein the first pad (148) and the second pad (148) are electrically coupled through one of the one or more TGV (136) filled with copper (first and second pads (148) are electrically couped through TGV (136) by 140, 144 and 148; annotated FIG. 2, above).
Regarding claim 19, Link in view of Neely discloses, The package (1650) of claim 18, wherein the die (1656) is electrically coupled with the first pad (148) (annotated FIG. 2, above) (conductive contact (112); FIG. 1; annotated FIG. 2, above; [0021]).14
Response to Amendments and Arguments
For clarity of the written record, the Examiner respectfully notes that the objection to FIG. 1 of the drawings in the Office Action dated June 11, 2026 (hereinafter the “Office Action—which is made again in the Final Office Action—has not been addressed by Applicant in its “AMENDMENT UNDER 37 CFR §1.111” filed on September 11, 2026 (hereinafter the “Response”). Specifically, in paragraph 31 of the Office Action “the Examiner respectfully request[d] that Applicant please provide an explanation of what ‘legacy’ does mean in the specification when describing FIG. 1. Alternatively, the Examiner respectfully request[d] that Applicant please amend FIG. 1 to include a ‘Prior Art’ legend.”
Also, for clarity of the written record, claim 7 is rejected again under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in this Final Office Action for the same reason as the Office Action and this rejection does not appear to have been addressed in Applicant’s Response.
Applicant’s amendment of claim 15 and remarks on page seven (7) of the Response have overcome the objection to claim 15 in the Office Action. Also, Applicant’s amendment of claims 1 and 15 and remarks on page seven (7) of the Response have overcome the rejection of claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 15, and 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and claims 1, 2, 6, 15, and 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in the Office Action.
Applicant’s amendment of claims 1 and 15 and arguments of pages seven (7)-eleven (11) of the Response regarding the rejection of claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 15, and 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0168536 (Link) in view of US 2018/0156841 (Neely) in the Office Action have been fully considered. However, they are not deemed persuasive both as detailed above in this Final Office Action and for at least the following reasons.
For example, FIG. 9 of prior art Link (which appears to have been assigned to Applicant as of at least the date of issuance thereof) discloses the amended limitation of claims 1 and 15 of a die (1720) vertically non-overlapping with a TGV (1706) in a glass core (1704). Additionally, even if Applicant argues that Link fails to disclose this added limitation of claims 1 and 15, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that this amended limitation could be predictably fabricated based on common knowledge in the art, as detailed above in this Final Office Action.
Notwithstanding the above, to advance prosecution, the Examiner respectfully requests that Applicant please consider initiating a telephone interview with the Examiner to discuss amendments to the claims that Applicant would like to propose to overcome the rejections thereof in this Final Office Action, prior to submitting a written response to this Final Office Action. The Examiner would welcome such a conversation and is available at the telephone number indicated below.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, William B. Partridge, can be reached at (571) 270-1402. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/ERIK A. ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812
1 Substrate (150) may correspond to substrate (1652) in FIG. 8, as noted, for example, in paragraphs [0020] and [0078] of Link. Substrate (1652) includes conductive contacts (1663) ([0080]). Die (1656) may be coupled to conductive contacts (1663) via first-level interconnects (1665) ([0081]).
2 As noted above, substrate (150) includes first buildup (162) which includes one or more layers, so corresponding substrate (1652) also includes a first buildup with one or more layers. Substrate (1652) includes conductive contacts (112) that interconnect with die (1656), thereby electrically coupling die (1656) with the one or more layers of first buildup (162).
3 Substrate (150) may correspond to substrate (1652) in FIG. 8, as noted, for example, in paragraphs [0020] and [0078] of Link. Substrate (1652) includes conductive contacts (1663) ([0080]). Die (1656) may be coupled to conductive contacts (1663) via first-level interconnects (1665) ([0081]).
4 Please see rejection of claim 7 under 35 USC § 112(b), above, for how claim 7 is being interpreted for purpose of examination. Also, as noted above, substrate (150) includes first buildup (162) which includes one or more layers, so corresponding substrate (1652) also includes a first buildup with one or more layers. Substrate (1652) includes conductive contacts (112) that interconnect with die (1656), thereby electrically coupling die (1656) with the one or more layers of first buildup (162).
5 Substrate (150) may correspond to interposer (1657) in FIG. 8, as noted, for example, in paragraphs [0020] and [0078] of Link. Die (1656) is coupled to Interposer (1657) via conductive contacts (1654) of die (1656), first-level interconnects (1658), and conductive contacts (1660) of interposer (1657) ([0082]).
6 As noted above, substrate (150) includes first buildup (162) which includes one or more layers, so corresponding substrate (1652) also includes a first buildup with one or more layers. Substrate (1652) includes conductive contacts (112) that interconnect with die (1656), thereby electrically coupling die (1656) with the one or more layers of first buildup (162).
7 Substrate (150) may correspond to interposer (1657) in FIG. 8, as noted, for example, in paragraphs [0020] and [0078] of Link. Die (1656) is electrically coupled to Interposer (1657) via conductive contacts (1654) of die (1656), first-level interconnects (1658), and conductive contacts (1660) of interposer (1657) ([0082]). Interposer (1657) includes conductive contacts (112) that interconnect with die (1656), thereby electrically coupling die (1656) with the first pad of interposer 1657.
8 Substrate (150) may correspond to substrate (1652) in FIG. 8, as noted, for example, in paragraphs [0020] and [0078] of Link. Substrate (1652) includes conductive contacts (1663) ([0080]). Die (1656) may be coupled to conductive contacts (1663) via first-level interconnects (1665) ([0081]).
9 As noted above, substrate (150) includes first buildup (162) which includes one or more layers, so corresponding substrate (1652) also includes a first buildup with one or more layers. Substrate (1652) includes conductive contacts (112) that interconnect with die (1656), thereby electrically coupling die (1656) with the one or more layers of first buildup (162).
10 Substrate (150) may correspond to substrate (1652) in FIG. 8, as noted, for example, in paragraphs [0020] and [0078] of Link. Substrate (1652) includes conductive contacts (1663) ([0080]). Die (1656) may be coupled to conductive contacts (1663) via first-level interconnects (1665) ([0081]).
11 Please see rejection of claim 7 under 35 USC § 112(b), above, for how claim 7 is being interpreted for purpose of examination. Also, as noted above, substrate (150) includes first buildup (162) which includes one or more layers, so corresponding substrate (1652) also includes a first buildup with one or more layers. Substrate (1652) includes conductive contacts (112) that interconnect with die (1656), thereby electrically coupling die (1656) with the one or more layers of first buildup (162).
12 Substrate (150) may correspond to interposer (1657) in FIG. 8, as noted, for example, in paragraphs [0020] and [0078] of Link. Die (1656) is coupled to Interposer (1657) via conductive contacts (1654) of die (1656), first-level interconnects (1658), and conductive contacts (1660) of interposer (1657) ([0082]).
13 As noted above, substrate (150) includes first buildup (162) which includes one or more layers, so corresponding substrate (1652) also includes a first buildup with one or more layers. Substrate (1652) includes conductive contacts (112) that interconnect with die (1656), thereby electrically coupling die (1656) with the one or more layers of first buildup (162).
14 Substrate (150) may correspond to interposer (1657) in FIG. 8, as noted, for example, in paragraphs [0020] and [0078] of Link. Die (1656) is electrically coupled to Interposer (1657) via conductive contacts (1654) of die (1656), first-level interconnects (1658), and conductive contacts (1660) of interposer (1657) ([0082]). Interposer (1657) includes conductive contacts (112) that interconnect with die (1656), thereby electrically coupling die (1656) with the first pad of interposer 1657.