DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan et al. (“Ganesan” US 2021/00335911) and Cho et al. (“Cho” US 2016/0128186).
Regarding claim 1, Ganesan discloses an electronic package (Figure 1), comprising:
a core (120), wherein the core comprises glass (see para. [0018]);
a hole (leftmost via hole, through which the leftmost via 121 extends) through a thickness of the core (120, see Figure 1);
a first via (leftmost via 121 in Figure 1, see also annotated Figure 1 below);
a second via (via 121 in the center of the core 120, see also annotated Figure 1 below) through the core (120), wherein the second via (center 121) comprises a conductive material (copper, see para. [0019]) in contact with the glass of the core (120, see Figure 1 which shows direct physical contact between the second via, center 121, and the core 120):
first layers (upper portion of encapsulation layer 180 that is above the glass core 120) over the core (120, see Figure 1), wherein the first layers comprise a dielectric material (see para. [0023], which discloses dielectric materials used for the encapsulant); and
second layers (lower portion of encapsulation layer 180 that is below the glass core 120) under the core (120, see Figure 1), wherein the second layers comprise the dielectric material (the first and second layers comprise the same encapsulant, dielectric material, see para. [0023] and Figure 1).
Ganesan does not disclose:
a plug filling the hole, wherein the plug comprises a polymeric material, and
wherein the plug has an uppermost surface at a same level as an uppermost surface of the core, and the plug has a bottommost surface at a same level as a bottommost surface of the core;
a first via through the plug, wherein the first via comprises a conductive material in contact with the polymeric material of the plug.
Cho discloses in Figure 4, however, a plug (“groover part” 15 and “protection layer” 155) filling the hole (holes in core 10 through which the via material 150 extends and through which the groove part 15 portion of the plug), wherein the plug (15/155) comprises a polymeric material (see para. [0050] which discloses the plug 155 comprises an epoxy resin which is a polymeric material and para. [0022] which discloses the plug portion 15 is a resin, which is a polymeric material, additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.07), and
wherein the plug (15/155) has an uppermost surface (top short edge surfaces of the plug 155) at a same level as an uppermost surface of the core (10, top surface of the core 10 is coplanar with the uppermost surface of the plug 155, see Figure 4), and the plug (15/155) has a bottommost surface (bottom short edge surfaces of the plug 155) at a same level as a bottommost surface of the core (10, bottom surface of the core 10 is coplanar with the bottommost surface of the plug 155, see Figure 4);
a first via (150) through the plug (via 150 goes through the portion 155 of the plug, the via 150 also goes between the adjacent plug portions 15, thus through the plug portion 15 also, see Figure 4), wherein the first via (150) comprises a conductive material (copper, see para. [0038]) in contact with the polymeric material of the plug (155, see direct physical contact between the via 150 and the plug portion 155, the via 150 is also in physical contact with the polymeric material of the plug portion 15 through the core 10 and the other portion of the plug 155, in Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the teachings of Cho into the teachings of Ganesan to include the features above for the purpose of providing a protective layer between the glass core and a via that alleviates the difference in thermal expansion coefficients (Cho, para. [0050]).
Regarding claim 2, Ganesan discloses a plurality of holes (see plurality of holes through which all the vias 121 extend).
Ganesan does not disclose a plurality of plugs.
Cho discloses a plurality of plugs (15/155, see Figure 4 which shows two plugs specifically, one 155 portion, one 15 portion, see also Figure 1B).
Regarding claim 3, Cho discloses wherein the plurality of plugs (15/155) are positioned proximate to a perimeter of the core (10, see Figure 4 and Figure 1B).
Regarding claim 6, Ganesan discloses a bridge die (140) embedded in the first layers (upper portion of encapsulation layer 180 that is above the glass core 120) over the core (120, see Figure 1);
a first die (110); and
a second die (111), wherein the bridge die (140) communicatively couples the first die (110) to the second die (111, see para. [0018], which discloses the bridge die 140 couples the dies 110/111).
Regarding claim 7, Ganesan discloses wherein through silicon vias are formed through the bridge die (140, see para. [0022], which discloses that the bridge die includes a plurality of through silicon vias, TSVs).
Regarding claim 8, Cho discloses wherein a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of the plug (15/155, specifically the CTE of the 155 portion of the plug) is between a CTE of the core (10) and a CTE of copper.
Cho discloses that the purpose of the plug (155) is to alleviate differences in thermal expansion coefficients of the glass core (10) and the via (150) which is made of copper (see para. [0038]). Thus, the CTE of the plug (155) is between the CTE of the glass core and the CTE of the copper via in order to alleviate the differences in CTE.
Regarding claim 9, Cho discloses wherein the plug (15/155) is a resin or an epoxy (see para. [0022], [0050]). Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 10, Cho discloses wherein a crack (see crack in core 10 shown in Figure 4) in the core (10) initiates at a via (150) through the core (10, para. [0025]) and ends at the plug (155, Figure 4).
While Cho does not explicitly disclose a crack in this specific area of the core (initiated at a via, through the core, and ended at the plug), there is a crack disclosed in the perimeter area of the core which is stopped from propagating by the plug portion 15, which is the same material as the plug portion 155. Thus, the intended function of the claim is met by Cho because the plug portion 15 would also function to keep a crack in the core that initiates at the via 150, i.e. the crack extends between the via 150 and the plug portion 15, from propagating further. It would have been obvious to incorporate these teachings of Cho into the teachings of Ganesan for the purpose of providing crack prevention measures in the core of the device (see Cho, para. [0004]).
Regarding claim 18, Ganesan discloses an electronic system (Figure 1), comprising:
a board (102);
a package substrate (encapsulant 180, core 120, and vias 121) coupled to the board (102, see conductive interconnects 123 coupling the package substrate to the board), wherein the package substrate (180/120/121) comprises:
a core (120), wherein the core comprises glass (see para. [0018]);
a hole (via holes, through which vias 121 extend) through a thickness of the core (120, see Figure 1);
a first via (leftmost via 121);
a second via (central via 121) through the core (120), wherein the second via (center 121) comprises a conductive material (copper, see para. [0019]) in contact with the glass of the core (120, see Figure 1 which shows direct physical contact between the second via, center 121, and the core 120):
first layers (upper portion of encapsulation layer 180 that is above the glass core 120) over the core (120, see Figure 1), wherein the first layers comprise a dielectric material (see para. [0023], which discloses dielectric materials used for the encapsulant); and
second layers (lower portion of encapsulation layer 180 that is below the glass core 120) under the core (120, see Figure 1), wherein the second layers comprise the dielectric material (the first and second layers comprise the same encapsulant, dielectric material, see para. [0023] and Figure 1), and
a die (110) coupled to the package substrate (180/120/121, see Figure 1).
Ganesan does not disclose:
a plug filling the hole, wherein the plug comprises a polymeric material, and wherein the plug has an uppermost surface at a same level as an uppermost surface of the core, and the plug has a bottommost surface at a same level as a bottommost surface of the core;
a first via through the plug, wherein the first via comprises a conductive material in contact with the polymeric material of the plug.
Cho discloses in Figure 4, however, a plug (“groover part” 15 and “protection layer” 155) filling the hole (holes in core 10 through which the via material 150 extends and through which the groove part 15 portion of the plug), wherein the plug (15/155) comprises a polymeric material (see para. [0050] which discloses the plug 155 comprises an epoxy resin which is a polymeric material and para. [0022] which discloses the plug portion 15 is a resin, which is a polymeric material, additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.07), and wherein the plug (15/155) has an uppermost surface (top short edge surfaces of the plug 155) at a same level as an uppermost surface of the core (10, top surface of the core 10 is coplanar with the uppermost surface of the plug 155, see Figure 4), and the plug (15/155) has a bottommost surface (bottom short edge surfaces of the plug 155) at a same level as a bottommost surface of the core (10, bottom surface of the core 10 is coplanar with the bottommost surface of the plug 155, see Figure 4);
a first via (150) through the plug (via 150 goes through the portion 155 of the plug, the via 150 also goes between the adjacent plug portions 15, thus through the plug portion 15 also, see Figure 4), wherein the first via (150) comprises a conductive material (copper, see para. [0038]) in contact with the polymeric material of the plug (155, see direct physical contact between the via 150 and the plug portion 155, the via 150 is also in physical contact with the polymeric material of the plug portion 15 through the core 10 and the other portion of the plug 155, in Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the teachings of Cho into the teachings of Ganesan to include the features above for the purpose of providing a protective layer between the glass core and a via that alleviates the difference in thermal expansion coefficients (Cho, para. [0050]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The Examiner would also like to note, regarding Applicant’s arguments against Cho ‘186, Applicant cited to Figure 6F of Cho, when the rejection relied on Figure 4 of Cho ‘186, which is a different embodiment. See page 8 of Remarks, filed February 2 2026.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Genevieve G Bullard-Connor/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899