DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Remarks page 6-7, Applicant contends:
Amended limitations contain elements not taught by prior art (in reference to limitations not included in previous claim 5).
Cheng fails to provide any apparent reason to combine its tensor network and, in particular, its content directed to MPSs and associated wavefunctions, with the quantum computing content of Coyle or the other cited references
Response:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 (in reference to limitations not included in previous claim 5) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection contain elements that have not been previously examined or does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
A motivation to combine with Cheng to include tensor networks and MPS are provided with a motivation to combine with the primary reference Coyle in claim 1. Cheng notes in [Cheng Introduction page 2] that types of tensor networks are good at modeling types of data like 2D or image data, thus indicating a use for tensor networks given data types. Meaning that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose aspects related to tensor networks or MPS depending should the one of ordinary skill in the art work with data the structures are good for. Chen also notes in the quote for motivation in claim 1 that MPS was used in a born machine, thus showcasing the use of MPS in quantum computing and machine learning.
The arguments from the applicant are not seen as persuasive, thus the rejections under 103 are sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 8, 11, 13-14, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coyle et al (“The Born supremacy: quantum advantage and training of an Ising Born machine”), referred to as Coyle in this document, in further view of Cheng (“Tree Tensor Networks for Generative Modeling”), referred to as Cheng in this document, and in even further view of Tangpanitanon et al (“Expressibility and trainability of parameterized analog quantum systems for machine learning applications”), referred to as Tangpanitanon in this document, and in even further view of Huggins et al ("Towards quantum machine learning with tensor networks"), referred to as Huggins in this document.
Regarding Claim 1:
Coyle teaches:
encoding, by processing circuitry, classical data vectors into quantum data vectors by applying the classical data vectors to an encoding map to… the quantum data vectors being defined with respect to a plurality of quantum states
[Coyle Results page 3]: “In particular, we will adopt the following kernel37 in which the samples are encoded [encoding, by processing circuitry, classical data into a plurality of quantum states by applying the classical data to an encoding map to… the quantum data vectors being defined with respect to a plurality of quantum states] in a quantum state, |ϕ(x)〉, via a feature map, ϕ:x → |ϕ(x).”
Further evidence to help support the samples are classical data [Coyle Discussion page 9]: “However, this assumes that we have access only to classical samples from the distribution, and the possibility of gaining an advantage using quantum samples is unexplored in the context of distribution learning.”
Evidence of processing circuitry is taught by Coyle ([Coyle Figure 4 page 6]: “The probabilities given by the other bars are those achieved after training the model with either the MMD or SHD on the simulator or the physical Rigetti chip, on an average run.”) as supported by current application ([Current Application 0086]: “In other words, the processing circuitry 1310 may include one or more physical packages (e.g., chips) including materials, components or wires on a structural assembly (e.g., a baseboard).”).
training a quantum model comprising a tensor network structure based on the plurality of quantum states and the quantum data vectors
[Coyle Introduction page 1]: “Quantum circuit Born machines (QCBM) are a subclass of parameterized quantum circuits (PQCs) and are widely applicable (see ref. 19 for a review). PQCs consist of a quantum circuit which carries parameters that are updated during a training [training a quantum model comprising a tensor network structure based on the plurality of quantum states and the quantum data vectors] process (typically a classical optimization routine). The circuit is kept as shallow as possible so as to be suitable for NISQ devices.”
compiling, by the processing circuitry, the quantum model comprising the tensor network structure, into a quantum circuit by mapping virtual qubits of the quantum model onto hardware qubits of a quantum hardware device, the quantum circuit comprising a sequence of operations tailored for operation on the quantum hardware device
[Coyle Quantum Compiling page 8]: “The major objective in this area is to compile [compiling, by the processing circuitry, the quantum model comprising the tensor network structure, into a quantum circuit by mapping virtual qubits of the quantum model onto hardware qubits of a quantum hardware device,] a given target unitary, U, into one that consists exclusively of operations available to the native hardware [the quantum circuit comprising a sequence of operations tailored for operation on the quantum hardware device] of the quantum computer in question.”
Coyle does not explicitly teach:
comprising a tensor network structure
comprising the tensor network structure
encode the classical data vectors as quantum data vectors in an unentangled product state in a quantum Hilbert space
the tensor network structure comprising a tensor network topology that captures matrix product states (MPSs);
performing a sequential preparation on each matrix product state of the tensor network structure to generate an MPS wavefunction for reach respective MPS
wherein the mapping virtual qubits comprises reusing hardware qubits based on the MPS wavefunction
Cheng teaches:
comprising a tensor network structure
comprising the tensor network structure
[Cheng Introduction page 1]: “the other one is the Born machine, where Born’s rule in quantum physics is borrowed to represent the joint probability distribution of data with the square amplitude of a wave function [13–16] and the wave function is represented by tensor networks [comprising a tensor network structure][comprising the tensor network structure].”
the tensor network structure comprising a tensor network topology that captures matrix product states (MPSs);
to generate an MPS wavefunction for reach respective MPS
[Cheng Introduction page 1]: “Tensor networks (TNs) were originally designed for efficiently representing quantum many-body wave functions [to generate an MPS wavefunction for reach respective MPS] [17,18], which, in general, are described by a high-order tensor with exponential parameters. A TN applies low-rank decompositions to the general tensor by discarding the vast majority of unrelated long-range information to break the so-called exponential wall of quantum many-body computation. Popular TNs include matrix product states (MPSs) [19] [the tensor network structure comprising a tensor network topology that captures matrix product states (MPSs)], tree tensor networks (TTNs) [20], the multiscale entanglement renormalization ansatz [21], projected entanglement pair states (PEPSs) [22], etc.”
performing a sequential preparation on each matrix product state of the tensor network structure to generate an MPS wavefunction for reach respective MPS
[Cheng C. Tree tensor network generative model page 4]: “It is technically easy to canonicalize a tensor in the TTN. For example, we can start from one end of the tree and use the QR decomposition of the tensor to push the noncanonical part of the tensor to the adjacent tensor. By repeating this step [performing a sequential preparation on each matrix product state of the tensor network structure to generate an MPS wavefunction for reach respective MPS], finally, one will push all noncanonical parts of the TTN to just one tensor, called the central tensor, and all other tensors are in one of the three canonical forms. Analogous to the mixed-canonical form of MPSs, we call this form the mixed-canonical form of the TTN.”
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, would have been motivated to combine Coyle and Cheng to incorporate tensor networks. Coyle and Cheng are of the same field of endeavor of quantum computing. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Coyle and Cheng in order to incorporate tensor networks to take advantage of the tensor networks better modeling of some data, such as 2D data ([Cheng Introduction page 2]: “On the other hand, a TTN works as a new tensor network generative model, an extension of the recently proposed MPS Born machine [14]. Compared to MPSs, TTNs exhibit natural modeling on two-dimensional data such as natural images, and its more favorable in the growth of the correlation length of pixels.” where TTN stands for tree tensor network). Chen further notes that TNs (which MPS are noted to be a TN in the quote) are useful to deal with the exponential wall related to quantum many-body computations and to discard unrelated information ([Cheng Introduction page 1]: “Tensor networks (TNs) were originally designed for efficiently representing quantum many-body wave functions [17,18], which, in general, are described by a high-order tensor with exponential parameters. A TN applies low-rank decompositions to the general tensor by discarding the vast majority of unrelated long-range information to break the so-called exponential wall of quantum many-body computation. Popular TNs include matrix product states (MPSs) [19], tree tensor networks (TTNs) [20], the multiscale entanglement renormalization ansatz [21], projected entanglement pair states (PEPSs) [22], etc.”)
Tangpanitanon teaches:
encode the classical data vectors as quantum data vectors in an unentangled product state in a quantum Hilbert space
[Tangpanitanon Introduction page 1]: “A hint to answer this question lies in the ability of NISQ devices to efficiently explore Hilbert space [encode the classical data vectors as quantum data vectors in an unentangled product state in a quantum Hilbert space]. For example, in quantum chemistry, NISQ devices can produce highly-entangled variational ansatzes, such as unitary coupled clusters, that cannot be efficiently represented on a classical computer [18].”
[Tangpanitanon II. Driven Analog Quantum Systems and Their Statistics page 3]: “The parameters {Θi, m} are `varied' by randomly drawing them from a uniform distribution in the range [0;W] where W is the disorder strength. This allows us to vary the parameters without changing the phase of the system. The dimension of the Hilbert space is N = 2L. The initial state |ψ_0> is prepared as a product state [in an unentangled product state] where each spin points along the +z direction. This simple model has been implemented in various quantum platforms, including Rydberg atoms [51], trapped ions [52] and superconducting circuits [16].”
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, would have been motivated to combine Modified Coyle and Tangpanitanon to incorporate encoding into Hilbert space. Coyle and Tangpanitanon are of the same field of endeavor of quantum computing. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Coyle and Tangpanitanon in order to incorporate aspects of NISQ devices that cannot be efficiently represented on a classical computer ([Tangpanitanon Introduction page 1]: “A hint to answer this question lies in the ability of NISQ devices to efficiently explore Hilbert space. For example, in quantum chemistry, NISQ devices can produce highly-entangled variational ansatzes, such as unitary coupled clusters, that cannot be efficiently represented on a classical computer [18].”).
Huggins teaches:
wherein the mapping virtual qubits comprises reusing hardware qubits based on the MPS wavefunction
[Huggins 4 Implementation on near-term devices page 9-10]: “A key advantage of carrying out machine learning tasks with models equivalent to tree or matrix product tensor networks is that they could be implemented using a very small number of physical qubits… Below we will first discuss how the number of qubits needed to implement either a discriminative or generative tree tensor network model can be made to scale only logarithmically in both the data dimension and in the bond dimension of the network. Then we will discuss the special case of MPS tensor networks, which can be implemented with a number of physical qubits that is independent [wherein the mapping virtual qubits comprises reusing hardware qubits based on the MPS wavefunction] of the input or output data dimension. Another key advantage of using tensor network models on near-term devices could be their robustness to noise, which will certainly be present in any near-term hardware. To explore the noise resilience of our models, we present a numerical experiment where we evaluate the model trained in section 3 with random errors, and observe whether it can still produce useful results.”
Further support for the idea of reusing qubits is taught [Huggins 4.1 Qubit efficient tree network models page 10]: “Then V of the qubits can be measured and reused, but the other V qubits must remain entangled. So only V new qubits must be introduced to process more inputs.”
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date would have been motivated to combine Coyle and Huggins. Coyle and Huggins are in the same field of endeavor of quantum computing. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Coyle and Huggins in order to take advantage of reusing qubits in order to reduce the required qubits required for algorithms ([Huggins 4 Implementation on near-term devices page 9-10]: “A key advantage of carrying out machine learning tasks with models equivalent to tree or matrix product tensor networks is that they could be implemented using a very small number of physical qubits… Below we will first discuss how the number of qubits needed to implement either a discriminative or generative tree tensor network model can be made to scale only logarithmically in both the data dimension and in the bond dimension of the network.”).
Regarding Claim 3:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Coyle, Cheng, Tangpanitanon, and Huggins.
Tangpanitanon teaches:
wherein the classical data vectors are encoded into the quantum Hilbert space, the quantum Hilbert space being orthonormal
[Tangpanitanon Introduction page 1]: “A hint to answer this question lies in the ability of NISQ devices to efficiently explore Hilbert space [wherein the classical data vectors are encoded into the quantum Hilbert space]. For example, in quantum chemistry, NISQ devices can produce highly-entangled variational ansatzes, such as unitary coupled clusters, that cannot be efficiently represented on a classical computer [18].”
[Tangpanitanon Section 2 Driven Analog Quantum Systems and Their Statistics page 2]: “For the thermalized dynamics, the statistics of Hˆ ave(θm) follows the Gaussian orthogonal ensemble (GOE) [47]. This is the ensemble of matrices whose entries are independent normal random variables subjected to the orthogonality [the quantum Hilbert space being orthonormal] constraint.”
The motivation to combine with Tangpanitanon is the same as for claim 2.
Regarding Claim 4:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Coyle, Cheng, Tangpanitanon, and Huggins.
Cheng teaches:
wherein the training the quantum model comprises encoding the quantum data vectors into a wavefunction that is structured as a Born machine
[Cheng Introduction page 1]: “the other one is the Born machine [wherein the training the quantum model comprises encoding the quantum data vectors into a wavefunction that is structured as a Born machine], where Born’s rule in quantum physics is borrowed to represent the joint probability distribution of data with the square amplitude of a wave function [13–16] and the wave function is represented by tensor networks.”
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, would have been motivated to combine Coyle and Cheng to incorporate the use of a Born Machine. Coyle and Cheng are of the same field of endeavor of quantum computing. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Coyle and Cheng in order to incorporate the expressiveness of the born machine compared to classical probability functions ([Cheng II. Models and Algorithms page 3]: “The reason we choose the quantum-inspired Born machine instead of directly modeling a joint probability is based on a belief that the Born machine representation is more expressive than classical probability functions”).
Regarding Claim 8:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Coyle, Cheng, Tangpanitanon, and Huggins.
Coyle teaches:
wherein the quantum hardware device comprises a noisy intermediate-scale quantum (NISQ) computing device
[Coyle Introduction page 1]: “In spite of this, NISQ devices [wherein the quantum hardware device comprises a noisy intermediate-scale quantum (NISQ) computing device] could provide efficient solutions to other problems that cannot be solved in polynomial time by classical means. Showing this to be true is referred to as a demonstration of quantum computational supremacy with the first such experimental realization occurring recently.”
Regarding Claim 11:
This claim is analogous to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 13:
The method of claim 11 is taught by Coyle, Cheng, Tangpanitanon, and Huggins.
This claim is analogous to claim 3.
Regarding Claim 14:
The method of claim 11 is taught by Coyle, Cheng, Tangpanitanon, and Huggins.
This claim is analogous to claim 4.
Regarding Claim 18:
The method of claim 11 is taught by Coyle, Cheng, Tangpanitanon, and Huggins.
This claim is analogous to claim 8.
Claims 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coyle et al (“The Born supremacy: quantum advantage and training of an Ising Born machine”), referred to as Coyle in this document, in further view of Cheng (“Tree Tensor Networks for Generative Modeling”), referred to as Cheng in this document, and in even further view of Tangpanitanon et al (“Expressibility and trainability of parameterized analog quantum systems for machine learning applications”), referred to as Tangpanitanon in this document, and in even further view of Huggins et al ("Towards quantum machine learning with tensor networks"), referred to as Huggins in this document, and in even further view of Iten et al (“Quantum circuits for isometries”), referred to as Iten in this document.
Regarding Claim 7:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Coyle, Cheng, Tangpanitanon, and Huggins.
Modified Coyle does not explicitly teach:
wherein compiling the quantum model comprises implementing greedy heuristics for determining gate sequences that match a target isometry and transforming the target isometry into operations of the quantum circuit
Iten teaches:
wherein compiling the quantum model comprises implementing greedy heuristics for determining gate sequences that match a target isometry and transforming the target isometry into operations of the quantum circuit
[Iten IV. DECOMPOSITION SCHEMES FOR ISOMETRIES C. Column-by-column decomposition page 5]: “In essence, the idea is to find a sequence of unitary operations that when applied to 𝑉 successively brings it closer to 𝐼2𝑛×2𝑚. We will do this in a column-by-column fashion, first choosing a sequence of quantum gates [wherein compiling the quantum model comprises implementing greedy heuristics for determining gate sequences that match a target isometry], corresponding to a unitary 𝐺0 that gets the first column right, i.e., 𝐺0𝑉|0⟩𝑚=𝐼2𝑛×2𝑚|0⟩𝑚=|0⟩𝑛, then using 𝐺1 to get the second column right without affecting the first, i.e., 𝐺1𝐺0𝑉|1⟩𝑚=𝐼2𝑛×2𝑚|1⟩𝑚=|1⟩𝑛 and 𝐺1𝐺0𝑉|0⟩𝑚=𝐺1|0⟩𝑛=|0⟩𝑛, and so on (up to the 2𝑚th column). In other words, 𝐺𝑘 gets the (𝑘+1)th column right and acts trivially on the first 𝑘 columns of 𝐼2𝑛×2𝑚.”
Quote for improved context. [Iten IV. DECOMPOSITION SCHEMES FOR ISOMETRIES C. Column-by-column decomposition page 5]: “In this section we introduce a circuit topology corresponding to a column-by-column decomposition of an arbitrary isometry, i.e., we decompose any isometry into single-qubit and CNOT gates proceeding one column at a time.”
[Iten III Lower Bound page 3]: “We can think of this isometry in terms of a unitary operation [and transforming the target isometry into operations of the quantum circuit] on 𝑛 qubits, 𝑛−𝑚 of which always start in a fixed state, which we take to be |0⟩.2 Without any cnot gates, all we can do is apply single-qubit unitaries individually to each of these 𝑛 qubits.”
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, would have been motivated to combine Modified Coyle and Iten to incorporate some greedy heuristics related to isometry. Coyle and Iten are of the same field of endeavor of quantum computing. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Coyle and Iten in order to incorporate the efficiency related to the implementation ([Iten IV. DECOMPOSITION SCHEMES FOR ISOMETRIES C. Column-by-column decomposition page 7]: “Remark 3. In some physical realizations it is difficult to implement cnot gates between nonadjacent qubits. The decomposition in this section can be adapted to the gate library containing only nearest-neighbor cnot and single-qubit gates in a relatively efficient way.”).
Regarding Claim 17:
The method of claim 11 is taught by Coyle, Cheng, Tangpanitanon, and Huggins
This claim is analogous to claim 7.
Claims 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coyle et al (“The Born supremacy: quantum advantage and training of an Ising Born machine”), referred to as Coyle in this document, in further view of Cheng (“Tree Tensor Networks for Generative Modeling”), referred to as Cheng in this document, and in even further view of Tangpanitanon et al (“Expressibility and trainability of parameterized analog quantum systems for machine learning applications”), referred to as Tangpanitanon in this document, and in even further view of Huggins et al ("Towards quantum machine learning with tensor networks"), referred to as Huggins in this document, and in even further view of Iten et al (“Quantum circuits for isometries”), referred to as Iten in this document, and even further in view of Vanchurin et al (“Dual field theories of quantum computation”), referred to as Vanchurin in this document.
Regarding Claim 6:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Coyle, Cheng, Tangpanitanon, and Huggins
Modified Coyle does not explicitly teach:
wherein compiling the quantum model comprises implementing a diagonal gauge based on the quantum model
Iten teaches:
wherein compiling the quantum model comprises implementing a diagonal gauge based on the quantum model
[Iten IV. DECOMPOSITION SCHEMES FOR ISOMETRIES C. Column-by-column decomposition page 5]:
Iten covers the idea of creating diagonal gate structures from isometry “to decompose the two gates together, where the C(U) gate is determined but we are free to choose the diagonal gate” [wherein compiling the quantum model comprises implementing a diagonal gauge based on the quantum model].
[Iten Figure 1 page 6]:
Iten figure 1 shows an example column based on isometry implemented diagonally.
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, would have been motivated to combine Modified Coyle and Iten to incorporate some diagonalization related to isometry. Coyle and Iten are of the same field of endeavor of quantum computing. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Coyle and Iten in order to incorporate the efficiency related to the implementation ([Iten IV. DECOMPOSITION SCHEMES FOR ISOMETRIES C. Column-by-column decomposition page 7]: “Remark 3. In some physical realizations it is difficult to implement cnot gates between nonadjacent qubits. The decomposition in this section can be adapted to the gate library containing only nearest-neighbor cnot and single-qubit gates in a relatively efficient way.”).
Vanchurin teaches as an alternative mapping:
wherein compiling the quantum model comprises implementing a diagonal gauge based on the quantum model
[Vanchurin 5.2 Non-relativistic limit of field theories page 16]: “Moreover, whenever the interactions are suppressed (i.e. V (ϕ ∗ϕ) ≈ 0) the orthonormal states would remain orthonormal [wherein compiling the quantum model comprises implementing a diagonal gauge based on the quantum model] throughout evolution. This property is essential for the applications of our methods to the problem of construction of arbitrary unitary operators that we shall discuss very brifly. Consider an arbitrary unitary operator Uˆ. Our task is to create a quantum circuit that would transfer all of the (orthonormal) coordinate basis initial states |i} into final states”
The prior art from Vanchurin is based off an interpretation of “diagonal gauge” from the specification ([Current Application 0055]: “To utilize the ambiguity in the basis representation of the ancilla states, a procedure may be used that aids in compiling isometries for QAML models. The heuristic guiding the scheme can be to ensure that operations are as "diagonal" as possible, in the sense that qubits may preferentially remain in their same state rather than being swapped or mixed with other ancilla qubits.”). The current application also utilizes orthonormal as an aspect of the invention as shown by claim 3. Vanchurin displays the idea of the operations being as diagonal as possible such as by “qubits may preferentially remain in their same state” [Current Application 0055], as Vanchurin notes “the orthonormal states would remain orthonormal throughout evolution” [Vanchurin 5.2 Non-relativistic limit of field theories page 16].
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, would have been motivated to combine Modified Coyle with Vanchurin in order to incorporate qubits preferring to not change state. Coyle and Vanchurin are of the same field of endeavor of quantum computing. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Coyle and Vanchurin in order to utilize what is stated to be essential to construct arbitrary unitary operators that contain the orthonormal states in the final states ([Vanchurin 5.2 Non-relativistic limit of field theories page 16]: “This property is essential for the applications of our methods to the problem of construction of arbitrary unitary operators that we shall discuss very brifly. Consider an arbitrary unitary operator Uˆ. Our task is to create a quantum circuit that
would transfer all of the (orthonormal) coordinate basis initial states |i> into final states”). A motivation that might be made stronger by the use of an orthonormal Hilbert space, which has a motivation shown in claim 3 to be used.
Regarding Claim 16:
The method of claim 11 is taught by Coyle, Cheng, Tangpanitanon, and Huggins
This claim is analogous to claim 6.
Claims 9, 10, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coyle et al (“The Born supremacy: quantum advantage and training of an Ising Born machine”), referred to as Coyle in this document, in further view of Cheng (“Tree Tensor Networks for Generative Modeling”), referred to as Cheng in this document, and in even further view of Tangpanitanon et al (“Expressibility and trainability of parameterized analog quantum systems for machine learning applications”), referred to as Tangpanitanon in this document, and in even further view of Huggins et al ("Towards quantum machine learning with tensor networks"), referred to as Huggins in this document, and in further view of Soeken et al (“Compiling Permutations for Superconducting QPUs”), referred to as Soeken in this document.
Regarding Claim 9:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Coyle, Cheng, Tangpanitanon, and Huggins
Modified Coyle does not explicitly teach:
wherein the quantum hardware device comprises a plurality of qubits in a qubit topology comprising single-qubit rotations and entangling gates between pairs of qubits
Soeken teaches:
wherein the quantum hardware device comprises a plurality of qubits in a qubit topology comprising single-qubit rotations and entangling gates between pairs of qubits
[Soeken B. Qubits and quantum gates page 2]: “Since single qubit states correspond to points on the Bloch sphere [12], quantum operations on a single qubit [wherein the quantum hardware device comprises a plurality of qubits in a qubit topology comprising single-qubit rotations] correspond to rotations.”
[Soeken B. Qubits and quantum gates page 2]: “A quantum computer consists of an array of qubits, which in contrast to classical bits, can be in a superposition state and can be entangled [12]… A quantum state can be transformed into another quantum state by applying quantum gates, which are represented by 2×2 unitary matrices… For example, there are no two independent qubit states
and
such that
, the state that is in the perfect superposition between the classical states 00 and 11. This phenomena is called entanglement [and entangling gates between pairs of qubits].”
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, would have been motivated to combine modified Coyle and Soeken to incorporate single-qubit rotations and entangling gates in the manner Soeken mentions. Coyle and Soeken are in the same field of endeavor of quantum computing. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Coyle and Soeken in order to be able to reduce the gate count and depth compared to other art methods ([Soeken Introduction page 1]“In an experimental evaluation, we show that our proposed approach leads to quantum circuits with lower quantum gates and lower depth compared to state-of-the-art generic compilation techniques. For Rigetti QPUs we can reduce gate count and gate depth up to 59% and 53%, respectively, and for IBM QPUs we can reduce gate count and gate depth up to 56% and 53%, respectively.”).
Regarding Claim 10:
The method of claim 1 is taught by Coyle, Cheng, Tangpanitanon, and Huggins
Modified Coyle does not explicitly teach:
wherein the quantum circuit comprises a plurality of gates; and wherein compiling the quantum model comprises minimizing a number of entangled gates within the plurality of gates
Soeken teaches:
wherein the quantum circuit comprises a plurality of gates; and wherein compiling the quantum model comprises minimizing a number of entangled gates within the plurality of gates
[Soeken Introduction page 1]“In an experimental evaluation, we show that our proposed approach leads to quantum circuits with lower quantum gates [wherein the quantum circuit comprises a plurality of gates] and lower depth compared to state-of-the-art generic compilation techniques [and wherein compiling the quantum model comprises minimizing a number of entangled gates within the plurality of gates]. For Rigetti QPUs we can reduce gate count and gate depth up to 59% and 53%, respectively, and for IBM QPUs we can reduce gate count and gate depth up to 56% and 53%, respectively.”
By reducing the gate count as a whole, that would include reducing the number of entangled gates.
Motivation is the same as claim 9.
Regarding Claim 19:
The method of claim 11 is taught by Coyle, Cheng, Tangpanitanon, and Huggins
This claim is analogous to claim 9.
Regarding Claim 20:
The method of claim 11 is taught by Coyle, Cheng, Tangpanitanon, and Huggins
This claim is analogous to claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stojevic et al (US 20210081804 A1) is considered relevant art due to the noting of tensor ntworks, isometrics, hilber spaces, matrix product states, and some other aspects of quantum computing in the reference.
Carignan-Dugas et al (“A polar decomposition for quantum channels (with applications to bounding error propagation in quantum circuits)”) is considered relevant art as the reference covers aspects noted in the current application’s specification, such as polar decomposition, orthogonal, and diagonalizable.
/C.D.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2129
/MICHAEL J HUNTLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2129