DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/02/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-10 and 12-21 remain pending in the application, claims 1 and 11 are cancelled, claims 10, 12-13, and 17-20 are withdrawn, and claim 22 is added. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the 112(b) rejections, however has not overcome the interpretation of the rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 03/07/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states on pages 10-12 that Rosseau’s drawstring 16 is pulled and forces the segments into the circular configuration shown in figure 2, and straightens the prosthesis 28 into a flattened configuration positioned across the defect as opposed to wherein the holding portion (drawstring) is located on an outer peripheral surface of the biological organ as recited in claims 1 and 14. The Office respectfully disagrees. The term “outer peripheral surface” is relative and the outer peripheral surface can mean any outer surface relative to the biological organ. Paragraph 4 of Rousseau discloses the repair of abdominal wall hernias, and the area of the abdominal wall that is being bridged may be considered the outer peripheral surface. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “holding portion” in claims 1 and 14, and “pulling unit” in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 14-16, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rousseau (US PGPub 2002/0173804) in view of Calabrese et al. (US PGPub 2010/0012703), and further in view of Bauman et al. (US PGPub 2005/0059996), hereinafter known as “Rousseau,” “Calabrese,” and “Bauman,” respectively.
With regards to claim 1, Rousseau discloses (Figures 1-2) a medical device 10 for joining a cut surface of a biological organ and an other biological organ (paragraphs 13-14 – functional limitation – surgical mesh 10 is for bridging a hernia (paragraph 1) and therefore “bridging” is referred to bridging two portions of cut tissue), the medical device 10 comprising:
an adhesion promotion sheet 28 including an adhesion promotion portion (central region of 28) configured to promote adhesion between a biological tissue of the cut surface of the biological organ and the other biological organ (paragraph 1 –“bridging a hernia”; paragraphs 14-15), the adhesion promotion portion being arranged in a central portion of the adhesion promotion sheet 28 and including a plurality of through-holes that pass through the adhesion promotion portion (figure 2; paragraphs 14-15 – adhesion promotion sheet is a mesh that has through-holes);
a frame portion (outer circumference of 28 where segments 18 lie) which is formed on the adhesion promotion sheet 28 and surrounds an outer periphery of the adhesion promotion portion;
a holding portion 18 (see Note below) disposed on the frame portion of the adhesion promotion sheet 28 and configured to hook and hold the adhesion promotion sheet 28 on the cut surface of the biological organ to be joined (paragraphs 13-14 – “used for reinforcing and occluding tissue defects”), and wherein the holding portion 18 is located on an outer peripheral surface of the biological organ (functional limitation - paragraph 18 – “Once the prosthesis 28 is positioned proximate to the defect, the drawstring 16 can be pulled, forcing the segments 18 into the circular configuration shown in FIG. 2 and straightening the prosthesis 28 into a flattened configuration positioned across the defect” – therefore also capable of positioning the holding portion 18 on an outer peripheral surface of a biological organ); and
wherein the holding portion 18 is configured to hold the adhesion promotion sheet 28 on the biological organ by elastic force of the holding portion 18 (paragraphs 13-14 – functional limitation – segments 18 are capable of imparting an elastic force by pressing down the adhesion promotion sheet 28 to the organ).
Note – 112(f) interpretation – Applicant’s holding portion is a material that can impart elastic force and is C-shaped configured to hook and hold the adhesion promotion sheet on a biological organ to be joined (Spec. [0006] and [0057-0058]); Rousseau’s holding portion 18 are a plurality of rigid, bead-like segments configured to shape/hold of the adhesion promotion sheet (paragraphs 13-14 and 18); therefore both holding portions are equivalent in holding the adhesion promotion sheet.
Rousseau is silent in wherein the plurality of through-holes of the adhesion promotion sheet is not formed in the frame portion.
However, in a similar field of endeavor of promoting adhesion between biological tissue, Calabrese teaches (Figure 2A) in wherein the plurality of through-holes 120 of the adhesion promotion sheet 100 is not formed on the frame portion 128 (paragraph 46).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the frame portion of Rousseau to include not forming the plurality of through-holes from the adhesion promotion sheet as taught by Calabrese for the purpose of preventing the leakage of fluids (e.g., body fluids) in the radial outward direction (paragraph 46 of Calabrese).
Rousseau/Calabrese are further silent to the frame portion having a higher rigidity than the adhesion promotion portion.
However, in a similar field of endeavor of promoting adhesion between biological tissue, Bauman teaches (Figure 4C) the frame portion 46 having a higher rigidity than the adhesion promotion portion 42 (paragraph 60 – “The buttress 12 can be made of a constant thickness or can be made of varying thickness, densities or materials of construction through their cross sections… thicker, more dense or stronger material could be constructed into the buttress 12 so as to coincide with the areas where the staples are placed with thinner, less dense or weaker material used in other areas”; paragraph 64 – “A perimeter area 46 of the buttress 12 as depicted can also be made with a thicker or higher density material to increase the strength of the material for staple reinforcement”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medical device of Rousseau/Calabrese to include the frame portion having a higher rigidity than the adhesion promotion portion as taught by Bauman for the purpose of helping to prevent deformation of the medical device (paragraph 60 of Bauman).
With regards to claim 3, Rousseau discloses wherein the holding portion 18 is integrally attached to the adhesion promotion sheet 28 (definition of integral according to Merriam-Webster is “formed as a unit with another part”, therefore the holding portion 18 and the adhesion promotion sheet 28 are formed together as a unit).
With regards to claim 4, Rousseau discloses wherein the holding portion 18 is disposed only in a portion of the adhesion promotion sheet 28 along a circumferential direction (figure 2; paragraph 14 – “segments 18 are pulled together as closely as possible, forcing the loop 22 with segments 18 into a generally circular configuration”).
With regards to claim 5, Rousseau discloses further comprising:
a pulling unit 16 (see Note below) configured to perform a pulling operation of the adhesion promotion sheet 28 toward a side facing a position where the holding portion 18 is disposed (paragraphs 13-14 – functional limitation – “The slipknot 20 is preferably larger than the lumen 14, such that when the drawstring 16 is pulled in a proximal direction, the slipknot 20 encounters the rod 12 and the loop 22 is reduced in circumference” - therefore the drawstring 16 must be pulled in order to maintain the knot, the knot 20 is shown in figure 1 in line with the circumference of the holding portion 18, and therefore the pulling operation of the adhesion promotion sheet 28 takes place where the holding portion 18 is disposed).
Note – 112(f) interpretation – Applicant’s pulling unit is a string or strip shaped member that enables a pulling operation of the adhesion promotion sheet (spec. [0063-0064]); Rousseau’s pulling unit is a drawstring that forms a knot to pull taut the adhesion promotion sheet (paragraphs 13-14); therefore both pulling units are equivalent in pulling/tensioning the adhesion promotion sheet.
With regards to claim 6, Rousseau discloses wherein the pulling unit 16 is a string-shaped member (paragraphs 13-14 – drawstring).
With regards to claim 7, Rousseau discloses wherein the pulling unit 16 is a strip-shaped member connected to the adhesion promotion sheet 28 (paragraphs 13-14 – drawstring).
With regards to claim 8, Rousseau discloses wherein the adhesion promotion portion 28 is made of a biodegradable sheet (paragraph 15 – absorbable materials) having the plurality of through- holes that pass through the adhesion promotion portion 28 (figure 2; paragraphs 14-15 – adhesion promotion sheet is a mesh that has through-holes).
With regards to claim 9, Rousseau discloses wherein the holding portion 18 does not have any of the plurality of through-holes (figure 2; paragraphs 14 and 23 – the plurality of through-holes formed by the mesh 28 are part of the mesh 28; the holding portion, or segments, 18 do not have the same plurality of through-holes formed within the holding portion 18).
With regards to claim 21, the combination discloses the medical device of claim 1. Rousseau further discloses wherein the adhesion promotion sheet 28 is made of a biodegradable material (paragraph 15 – “absorbable materials”), and the frame portion extends to an outer edge of the adhesion promotion sheet 28 (figure 2 – frame portion is the outer circumference of the adhesion promotion sheet 28 starting from where the holding portion 18 lies and extending to the edge of the adhesion promotion sheet 28). The combination is silent to the frame portion is compressed in a thickness direction.
However, Bauman further teaches the formation of a medical device, wherein the medical device 12 can be made of varying thickness, densities or materials of construction through their cross sections (paragraph 60). Thus, it can be interpreted that by forming the medical device with varying thicknesses, the frame portion is compressed (less thick, more dense) relative to the central region of the medical device. Additionally, this claim is a product-by-process limitation, as the instant application describes compression in a thickness direction “to crush the through-hole 112” (specification [0052]). Therefore, since the combination discloses no formation of the through-hole on the frame portion of the medical device, the process of compression to crush the through-hole is given no patentable weight.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Rousseau/Calabrese/Bauman to include compressing the frame portion in a thickness direction as taught by Bauman for the purpose of helping to prevent deformation of the medical device (paragraph 60 of Bauman).
With regards to claim 14, Rousseau discloses (Figures 1-2) a medical device 10 that promotes adhesion between biological tissue (paragraphs 1 and 13-14), the medical device 10 comprising:
an adhesion promotion sheet 28 including an adhesion promotion portion (central region of 28) made of a biodegradable sheet (paragraph 15 – absorbable material) configured to join biological tissues (paragraph 1 – “bridging a hernia”) and promote the adhesion between a cut surface of one joint target site and an other joint target site (paragraphs 13-14 – functional limitation – surgical mesh 10 is for bridging a hernia (paragraph 1) and therefore “bridging” is referred to bridging two portions of cut tissue), the adhesion promotion portion (central region of 28) being arranged in a central portion of the adhesion promotion sheet 28 and including a plurality of through-holes that pass through the adhesion promotion portion (figure 2; paragraphs 14-15 – adhesion promotion sheet is a mesh that has through-holes);
a frame portion (outer circumference of 28 where segments 18 lie) which is formed on the adhesion promotion sheet 28 so as to surround a periphery of the adhesion promotion sheet 28, wherein the frame portion is made of a biodegradable sheet (paragraph 15 – absorbable material); and
a holding portion 18 (see Note below) disposed on the frame portion of the adhesion promotion sheet 28 and configured to hook and hold the adhesion promotion sheet 28 on a biological organ to be joined (paragraphs 13-14 – “used for reinforcing and occluding tissue defects”), the holding portion 18 being located on an outer peripheral surface of the cut surface of the one joint target site of the biological organ (functional limitation - paragraph 18 – “Once the prosthesis 28 is positioned proximate to the defect, the drawstring 16 can be pulled, forcing the segments 18 into the circular configuration shown in FIG. 2 and straightening the prosthesis 28 into a flattened configuration positioned across the defect” – therefore also capable of positioning the holding portion 18 on an outer peripheral surface of a biological organ) and wherein the holding portion 18 is configured to hold the adhesion promotion sheet 28 on the biological organ by elastic force of the holding portion 18 (paragraphs 13-14 – functional limitation – segments 18 are capable of imparting an elastic force by pressing down the adhesion promotion sheet 28 to the organ).
Note – 112(f) interpretation – Applicant’s holding portion is a material that can impart elastic force and is C-shaped configured to hook and hold the adhesion promotion sheet on a biological organ to be joined (Spec. [0006] and [0057-0058]); Rousseau’s holding portion 18 are a plurality of rigid, bead-like segments configured to shape/hold of the adhesion promotion sheet (paragraphs 13-14 and 18); therefore both holding portions are equivalent in holding the adhesion promotion sheet.
Rousseau is silent in which the frame portion does not include any of the plurality of through-holes.
However, in a similar field of endeavor of promoting adhesion between biological tissue, Calabrese teaches (Figure 2A) in which the frame portion 120 does not include any of the plurality of through-holes 120 (paragraph 46).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the frame portion of Rousseau to not include any of the plurality of through-holes as taught by Calabrese for the purpose of preventing the leakage of fluids (e.g., body fluids) in the radial outward direction (paragraph 46 of Calabrese).
Rousseau/Calabrese are further silent to the frame portion having a higher rigidity than the adhesion promotion portion.
However, in a similar field of endeavor of promoting adhesion between biological tissue, Bauman teaches (Figure 4C) the frame portion 46 having a higher rigidity than the adhesion promotion portion 42 (paragraph 60 – “The buttress 12 can be made of a constant thickness or can be made of varying thickness, densities or materials of construction through their cross sections… thicker, more dense or stronger material could be constructed into the buttress 12 so as to coincide with the areas where the staples are placed with thinner, less dense or weaker material used in other areas”; paragraph 64 – “A perimeter area 46 of the buttress 12 as depicted can also be made with a thicker or higher density material to increase the strength of the material for staple reinforcement”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the medical device of Rousseau/Calabrese to include the frame portion having a higher rigidity than the adhesion promotion portion as taught by Bauman for the purpose of helping to prevent deformation of the medical device (paragraph 60 of Bauman).
With regards to claim 15, Rousseau further discloses wherein the holding portion 18 is integrally attached to the adhesion promotion sheet 28 (definition of integral according to Merriam-Webster is “formed as a unit with another part”, therefore the holding portion 18 and the adhesion promotion sheet 28 are formed together as a unit).
With regards to claim 16, Rousseau further discloses wherein the holding portion 18 is disposed only in a portion of the adhesion promotion sheet 28 along a circumferential direction (figure 2; paragraph 14 – “segments 18 are pulled together as closely as possible, forcing the loop 22 with segments 18 into a generally circular configuration”).
With regards to claim 22, the combination discloses the medical device of claim 14. Rousseau further discloses wherein the adhesion promotion sheet 28 is made of a biodegradable material (paragraph 15 – “absorbable materials”), and the frame portion extends to an outer edge of the adhesion promotion sheet 28 (figure 2 – frame portion is the outer circumference of the adhesion promotion sheet 28 starting from where the holding portion 18 lies and extending to the edge of the adhesion promotion sheet 28). The combination is silent to the frame portion is compressed in a thickness direction.
However, Bauman further teaches the formation of a medical device, wherein the medical device 12 can be made of varying thickness, densities or materials of construction through their cross sections (paragraph 60). Thus, it can be interpreted that by forming the medical device with varying thicknesses, the frame portion is compressed (less thick, more dense) relative to the central region of the medical device. Additionally, this claim is a product-by-process limitation, as the instant application describes compression in a thickness direction “to crush the through-hole 112” (specification [0052]). Therefore, since the combination discloses no formation of the through-hole on the frame portion of the medical device, the process of compression to crush the through-hole is given no patentable weight.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Rousseau/Calabrese/Bauman to include compressing the frame portion in a thickness direction as taught by Bauman for the purpose of helping to prevent deformation of the medical device (paragraph 60 of Bauman).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S ADAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3771 08/04/2025
/KATHERINE SHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771