DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment0
Applicant's amendments filed on 01/21/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-10 are currently under examination on the merits.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Miyasaka et al (JP 2016-196058A, ‘058 hereafter) in view of Kimura (US 2016/0059378, ‘378 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-5, ‘058 discloses a polishing pad comprising a polishing layer which comprises a cured product of a composition containing a reaction product of an isocyanate compound and a polyol compound ([0009], [0015], [0019]); wherein the isocyanate compound comprises aromatic diisocyanate compounds including 2,4-toluene diisocyanate (2,4-TDI) and/or 2,6-toluene diisocyanate (2,6-TDI) ([0022]), and specifically a 2,4-TDI as in the examples satisfying present claim 5 ([0049]-[0053], Examples), and the polyol compound comprises a low-molecular-weight polyol being diethylene glycol (DEG) having a weight- average molecular weight being 106 g/mol ([0023]-[0024], or [0031], molecular weight of DEG is 106 ) and a high-molecular-weight polyol being polytetramethylene glycol (PTMG1000) having a number-average molecular weight of 650 satisfying present claim 4 ([0023]-[0024], [0049], Example 1, it is noted that polyether generally formed from a step polymerization with a maximum polydispersity index of 2, thus the weight average molecular weight being less than 650x2=1300, falls in the presently claimed range, it also noted that present application uses PTMG1000 in the examples). ‘058 does not further set forth the isocyanate compound comprises both aromatic diisocyanate compounds 2,4-TDI and 2,6-TDI in content ratio of 1 to 40 parts of 2.6-TDI per 100parts of 2,4-TDI. However, in the same filed of endeavor, ‘378 discloses that these two aromatic diisocyanate compounds can be used together in a content ratio of 25/100 ([0020]-[0023]), [0087], Example 1, 20/80=25/100), to render a flexible polyurethane for polishing pad having adjusted Asker hardness higher than 35 and can be precisely sliced into a predetermined thickness ([0013]-[0016]). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use 2,4-TDI and 2,6-TDI together as taught by ‘378, to modify the polyurethane-based polishing layer of ‘058, in order to render a polishing layer having sufficient Asker hardness and being capable of being precisely sliced into a desired thickness. Modified ‘058 does not expressly set forth the processed polishing layer (decomposed by KOH as in claim 1) and layer’s preliminary composition have a nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) 13C spectrum with peaks and peak areas as recited in the present claims 1-3, however, since polishing layer of prior art formed from a composition of a urethane-based prepolymer, which has chemical structure units (Formed from TDIs, DEG and PTMG1000) being substantially identical to the urethane-based prepolymer as used in the present application (See Examples of present application), it is reasonable to expect that the processed polishing layer and the composition for forming the polishing layer would have the NMR 13C peaks and peak areas as presently claimed, because the NMR spectrum is directly depending from chemical structure of the urethane-based prepolymer, in absence of an objective showing to the contrary (See MPEP 2112).
Regarding claim 6, modified ‘058 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘058 also discloses that the isocyanate group (NCO) equivalent of the prepolymer is in a preferred range of 500 to 600, thus the isocyanate group by weight in the composition falls in the present claimed range of 5 to 11 wt% ([0026], molecular weight of NCO is 42, 42/500=8.4 wt%, 42/600=7.0 wt%).
Regarding claims 7-9, modified ’058 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but does not expressly set forth that the processed polishing layer having molecular weights and polydispersity index as claimed. However, modified ‘058 suggests a polishing layer formed from TDIs, DEG and PTMG1000, being substantially identical to the urethane-based prepolymer as used in the present application (See Examples of present application), it is reasonable to expect that the processed polishing layer would render a decomposed composition having molecular weights satisfying equation 1 and limitations as recited in the present claims 7 and 8, and polydispersity index satisfying present claim 9, in absence of an objective showing to the contrary (See MPEP 2112).
Regarding claim 10, modified ’058 teaches all the limitation of claim 1, but does not expressly set forth that the polishing layer has a tensile strength and a hardness as recited in the claim, however, modified ‘058 suggests a polishing layer formed from TDIs, DEG and PTMG 1000, being substantially identical to the urethane-based prepolymer as used in the present application (See Examples of present application), it is reasonable to expect that the polishing layer would have possessed the same properties including tensile strength and hardness as presently claimed, in absence of an objective showing to the contrary (See MPEP 2112).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection in light of Applicant's amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782