DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on April 1, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-12 and 14-21 are presently pending with claims 1-4 and 12 being independent. Claims 14 and 17-18 an original claims. Claims 5-6, 8-11, 15, and 19-21 have been previously presented. Claims 1-4, 7, 12, and 16 are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, pages 12 to 17, filed April 1, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Hu et al. (US 2022/0124799 A1; hereinafter Hu) “does not describe making a QCL assumption, as Hu knows DL RSs is QCL’ed with other DL RSs, i.e., Hu’s knowledge that DL RSs is QCL’ed with other DL RSs does not teach the assuming that RSSI measurement resources are spatially QCL-ed to the TCI states as recited in Claims 1-4 and 12.” However, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because Applicant’s premise that a quasi co-located (QCL) relationship cannot be “assumed” when it is known or configured is not commensurate with the claim language. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), “assuming” a QCL relationship does not require uncertainty, guessing, or lack of knowledge; rather, it encompasses a node treating a configured QCL relationship as true and using that relationship to perform reception or measurement. Hu teaches that a set of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states is associated with respective downlink reference signals (DL RSs) used for the UE’s local interference measurement, and that at each configured measurement resource the UE performs directional measurements using a receive spatial filter that is QCL’ed with one of the configured DL RSs and measures received signal strength indicator (RSSI) with that QCL’ed spatial filter (Hu: ¶¶ [0049] and [0055). The fact that Hu’s UE is configured with, and therefore knows, the QCL relationship does not distinguish the claim; it is the very basis on which the UE make the QCL assumption during the RSSI measurement. Hu further confirms this understanding by stating that, for dynamic frequency selection RSSI (DFS-RSSI) measurement, the UE can assume the configured measurement resources are QCL’ed with TypeD (Hu: ¶ [0095]). Accordingly, Hu teaches the disputed QCL assumption and Applicant’s argument does not overcome the rejection.
Applicant argues that Hu “applies QCL to a spatial filter (RX beam) and relative to a DL RS, while the claimed QCL is applied to: measurement resources (RSSI resources) and relative to both: two TCI states and a latest PDSCH or CORESET. Hu’s QCL is clearly different from the claimed QCL assumption.” However, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because Applicant draws an overly narrow distinction between QCL being applied to a receive (Rx) spatial filter and QCL being applied to RSSI measurement resources. Under BRI, assuming configured RSSI measurement resources are spatially QCL to a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state means using the spatial receive beam associated with that TCI state when performing the RSSI measurement on the configured measurement resource. The claim does not require the RSSI resource itself to be an antenna port or require a separate QCL mechanism divorced from the Rx spatial filter used for the measurement. Hu teaches that the interference measurement configuration includes TCI states associated with downlink reference signals (DL RSs), that first and second interference measurements are performed for first and second TCI states, and that, at each configured measurement resource, the UE measures RSSI using an RX spatial filter QCL’ed with the configured DL RS (Hu: ¶¶ [0010]-[0012] and [0055]). Hu further ties the measurements to TCI states by disclosing reporting per configured TCI state and defining RSSI measurement resources on a per measurement beam basis (Hu: ¶ [0056]-[0057]). Hu’s disclosure is not materially different merely because it explains the spatial QCL assumption through the RX spatial filter and DL RS associated with the TCI state. Hu teaches that, for dynamic frequency selection RSSI (DFS-RSSI) measurement, the UE can assume configured measurement resources are QCL’ed with TypeD to the latest received physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and latest monitored control resource set (CORESET) (Hu: ¶ [0095]). Accordingly, Hu teaches the disputed claim limitation under the BRI and Applicant’s argument does not overcome the rejection.
Applicant argues that Hu “applies a single QCL at a time, i.e., beam <-> DL RS, while the claims require stack QCL assumptions, i.e., RSSI resource <-> first TCI state, RSSI resource <-> second TCI state, and RSS resource <-> latest PDSCH or CORESET. This is simply not taught by Hu.” However, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, because they read a narrower “stacked” QCL requirement into the claims than is required under the BRI. Claims 1-4 and 12 claim at least two measurements based on at least one QCL assumption, but do not require Hu to disclose a single simultaneous QCL operation in which on RSSI resource is concurrently and separately mapped to every recited reference in the “RSSI resource <-> first TCI state, RSSI resource <-> second TCI state, and RSSI resource <-> latest PDSCH and CORESET” manner argued by Applicant. Hu teaches performing first and second interference measurements for first and second TCI states, and further teaches that, at each configured measurement resource, the UE performs directional measurements using a receive spatial filter QCL’ed with a configured DL RS and measures RSSI with that QCL’ed spatial filter (¶¶ [0012] and [0055]). Hu also ties those measurements to TCI states by disclosing reporting per configured TCI state and defining the measurement resources per measurement beam/TCI state (¶¶ [0056]-[0057]). Hu further teaches that, for DFS-RSSI measurement, the UE assumes configured measurement resources are QCL’ed with TypeD to the latest received PDSCHs and latest monitored CORESET (¶¶ [0095]-[0096]). Hu’s disclosure of applying QCL per measurement/beam/TCI state and to configured RSSI measurement resources teaches the claimed QCL assumption under the BRI, and Applicant’s “stacked QCL” argument does not overcome the rejection.
Regarding claims 5-11 and 14-21, Applicant does not make specific arguments. Since independent claims 1-4 and 12 stand rejected, the rejection of claims 5-11 and 14-21 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-12, 14-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 2022/0124799 A1; hereinafter Hu) in view of Baek et al. (US 2016/0227571 A1; hereinafter Baek) further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2022/0190938 A1); hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Hu teaches a method of operating a feedback radio node (read as UE) in a radio access network(¶ [0055] UE performs measurement(s) and reports them.),
the method comprising:
receiving an indication of a first transmission configuration indicator, TCI, state, and a second TCI state indicated for Physical Downlink Shared Channel, PDSCH, reception (¶ [0049] The network configures the UE interference measurement configuration via UE specific Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling. The configuration includes a set of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states. The set of TCI states are the TCI states which are configured by the network for a specific UE’s uplink (UL) transmission and DL reception.; ¶ [0088] The network activates a new TCI state for UE PDCCH monitoring via Media Access Control Control Elements (MAC CE and indicates it to UE PDSCH transmission via DC).);
performing at least two measurements (¶ [0012] The method further includes performing a second interference measurement for a second Transmission Configuration Indicator state.),
the at least two measurements being based on the feedback radio node making at least one quasi co-located, QCL, assumption (¶ [0095] For performing DRS-RSSI measurement, the UE can assume the measurement resources are QCL-ed.),
the at least one QCL assumption comprising:
the radio node assuming that configured Received Signal Strength Indicator, RSSI, measurement resources are spatially QCL-ed to the first TCI state and the second TCI state (¶ [0049] The configuration includes a set of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states associated with a set of downlink (DL) RSs.; ¶ [0055] Each measurement receive (Rx) spatial filter is QCL’ed with one of the configured DL RSs. A spatial filer may be said to be QCL’ed with a downlink reference signal.; ¶ [0084] The set of TCI states for RSSI measurements at this UE is configured by the network, which corresponds to the set of CSI-RS references.); and
one of:
the radio node assuming that configured RSSI measurement resources are spatially QCL-ed to a latest received PDSCH communication (¶ [0095] For performing DFS-RSSI measurement in FR2, the UE can assume the configured measurement resources are QCL-ed with TypeD to one of the latest received Physical Downlink Shared Channels (PDSCHs).; ¶ [0096] When configured by the network, the UE shall be able to perform a DFS-RSSI measurement of configured rssi-ResourceConfigDFS.); and
the radio node assuming that configured RSSI measurement resources are spatially QCL-ed to a latest monitored Control Resource Set, CORESET (¶ [0095] For performing DFS-RSSI measurement in FR2, the UE can assume the configured measurement resources are QCL-ed with TypeD to the latest monitored Control Resource Set (CORESET).; ¶ [0096] When configured by the network, the UE shall be able to perform a DFS-RSSI measurement of configured rssi-ResourceConfigDFS.);
transmitting measurement reporting (¶ [0055] UE performs measurement(s) and reports them.),
the measurement reporting being based on the at least two measurements (read as multiple measurements) performed based on the at least one QCL assumption (¶ [0055] Perform multiple measurements. The UEs measure RSSI with an Rx spatial filter that is QCL’ed with the configured DL RS. Report them to the network.),
at least one of:
both of the two RSSI measurements (read as multiple measurements) being performed in a same RSSI measurement occasion (read as measurement time window) (¶ [0055] Multiple RSSI measurements within a measurement time window.); and
both of the two RSSI measurements being performed simultaneously in the same RSSI measurement occasion (read as measurement time window) (¶ [0055] Performing simultaneous RSSI measurements within a measurement time window.);
Hu does not explicitly teach each of the at least two measurements being performed using a different reception beam; and at least one of: each of the two RSSI measurements being performed in alternating RSSI measurement occasions.
In analogous art, Baek teaches each of the two RSSI measurements (read as RSSI measurement for Frequency #x and an RSSI measurement of Frequency #y) being performed in alternating (read a repeating) RSSI measurement occasions (FIG. 37 illustrates alternating RSSI measurement occasions; ¶ [0310] RSSI measurement may be performed during two RSSI measurement units in repeating measurement gap periods.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the alternating RSSI measurement occasions taught by Baek with RSSI measuring and reporting taught by Hu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the accuracy and reliability of signal strength assessments by alternating the measurement occasion, which systematically captures the signal variations and interference patterns over time (Baek: ¶ [0446]).
Hu and Baek do not teach each of the at least two measurements being performed using a different reception beam.
In analogous art, Zhang teaches each of the at least two measurements being performed using a different (read as second) reception beam (FIG. 4, step 402 Transmitting RSSI measurement associated with a first reception beam.; step 404 Transmitting RSSI measurement associated with a second reception beam.; ¶¶ [0074-76] RSSI measurements performed using the first reception beam and RSSI measurements performed using the second reception beam may be transmitted by a UE to a base station.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine using different reception beams for RSSI measurement taught by Zhang with the alternating RSSI measurement occasions taught by Baek and RSSI measuring and reporting taught by Hu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce interference and optimize resource allocation, which would improve the user experience, by enhancing the accuracy of RSSI measurements and individually assessing the signal strength from multiple transmission points (Zhang: ¶ [0001] & ¶ [0007]).
Regarding claim 2, Hu teaches a feedback radio node (read as UE) for a radio access network (¶ [0055] UE performs measurement(s) and reports them.),
the feedback radio node being configured to:
receive an indication of a first transmission configuration indicator, TCI, state, and a second TCI state indicated for Physical Downlink Shared Channel, PDSCH, reception (¶ [0049] The network configures the UE interference measurement configuration via UE specific Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling. The configuration includes a set of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states. The set of TCI states are the TCI states which are configured by the network for a specific UE’s uplink (UL) transmission and DL reception.; ¶ [0088] The network activates a new TCI state for UE PDCCH monitoring via Media Access Control Control Elements (MAC CE and indicates it to UE PDSCH transmission via DC).);
perform at least two measurements (¶ [0012] The method further includes performing a second interference measurement for a second Transmission Configuration Indicator state.),
the at least two measurements being based on the feedback radio node making at least one quasi co-located, QCL, assumption (¶ [0095] For performing DRS-RSSI measurement, the UE can assume the measurement resources are QCL-ed.),
the at least one QCL assumption comprising:
the radio node assuming that configured Received Signal Strength Indicator, RSSI, measurement resources are spatially QCL-ed to the first TCI state and the second TCI state (¶ [0049] The configuration includes a set of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states associated with a set of downlink (DL) RSs.; ¶ [0055] Each measurement receive (Rx) spatial filter is QCL’ed with one of the configured DL RSs. A spatial filer may be said to be QCL’ed with a downlink reference signal.; ¶ [0084] The set of TCI states for RSSI measurements at this UE is configured by the network, which corresponds to the set of CSI-RS references.); and
one of:
the radio node assuming that configured RSSI measurement resources are spatially QCL-ed to a latest received PDSCH communication (¶ [0095] For performing DFS-RSSI measurement in FR2, the UE can assume the configured measurement resources are QCL-ed with TypeD to one of the latest received Physical Downlink Shared Channels (PDSCHs).; ¶ [0096] When configured by the network, the UE shall be able to perform a DFS-RSSI measurement of configured rssi-ResourceConfigDFS.); and
the radio node assuming that configured RSSI measurement resources are spatially QCL-ed to a latest monitored Control Resource Set, CORESET (¶ [0095] For performing DFS-RSSI measurement in FR2, the UE can assume the configured measurement resources are QCL-ed with TypeD to the latest monitored Control Resource Set (CORESET).; ¶ [0096] When configured by the network, the UE shall be able to perform a DFS-RSSI measurement of configured rssi-ResourceConfigDFS.);
transmit measurement reporting (¶ [0055] UE performs measurement(s) and reports them.),
the measurement reporting being based on the at least two measurements (read as multiple measurements) performed based on the at least one QCL assumption (¶ [0055] Perform multiple measurements. The UEs measure RSSI with an Rx spatial filter that is QCL’ed with the configured DL RS. Report them to the network.),
at least one of:
both of the two RSSI measurements (read as multiple measurements) being performed in a same RSSI measurement occasion (read as measurement time window) (¶ [0055] Multiple RSSI measurements within a measurement time window.); and
both of the two RSSI measurements being performed simultaneously in the same RSSI measurement occasion (read as measurement time window) (¶ [0055] Performing simultaneous RSSI measurements within a measurement time window.);
In analogous art, Baek teaches each of the two RSSI measurements (read as RSSI measurement for Frequency #x and an RSSI measurement of Frequency #y) being performed in alternating (read a repeating) RSSI measurement occasions (FIG. 37 illustrates alternating RSSI measurement occasions; ¶ [0310] RSSI measurement may be performed during two RSSI measurement units in repeating measurement gap periods.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the alternating RSSI measurement occasions taught by Baek with RSSI measuring and reporting taught by Hu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the accuracy and reliability of signal strength assessments by alternating the measurement occasion, which systematically captures the signal variations and interference patterns over time (Baek: ¶ [0446]).
Hu and Baek do not teach each of the at least two measurements being performed using a different reception beam.
In analogous art, Zhang teaches each of the at least two measurements being performed using a different (read as second) reception beam (FIG. 4, step 402 Transmitting RSSI measurement associated with a first reception beam.; step 404 Transmitting RSSI measurement associated with a second reception beam.; ¶¶ [0074-76] RSSI measurements performed using the first reception beam and RSSI measurements performed using the second reception beam may be transmitted by a UE to a base station.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine using different reception beams for RSSI measurement taught by Zhang with the alternating RSSI measurement occasions taught by Baek and RSSI measuring and reporting taught by Hu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce interference and optimize resource allocation, which would improve the user experience, by enhancing the accuracy of RSSI measurements and individually assessing the signal strength from multiple transmission points (Zhang: ¶ [0001] & ¶ [0007]).
Regarding claim 3, Hu teaches a method of operating a signalling radio node (read as base station or BS or gNB) in a radio access network, the method comprising: receiving measurement reporting (¶ [0044] UE reports the measurements to the gNB.),
the measurement reporting being based on at least two measurements (read as multiple measurements) performed by making at least one quasi co-located, QCL, assumption (¶ [0095] For performing DRS-RSSI measurement, the UE can assume the measurement resources are QCL-ed.),
the at least one QCL assumption comprising:
an assumption that configured Received Signal Strength Indicator, RSSI, measurement resources are spatially QCL-ed to the first transmission configuration indicator, TCI, state and a second TCI state, the first TCI state and the second TCI state being associated with Physical Downlink Shared Channel, PDSCH, reception (¶ [0049] The network configures the UE interference measurement configuration via UE specific RRC signaling. The configuration includes a set of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states associated with a set of downlink (DL) RSs.; ¶ [0055] Each measurement receive (Rx) spatial filter is QCL’ed with one of the configured DL RSs. A spatial filter may be said to be QCL’ed with a downlink reference signal.; ¶ [0084] The set of TCI states for RSSI measurements at this UE is configured by the network, which corresponds to the set of CSI-RS references.; ¶ [0088] The network activates a new TCI state for UE PDCCH monitoring via Media Access Control Control Elements (MAC CE and indicates it to UE PDSCH transmission via DC).); and
one of:
an assumption that configured RSSI measurement resources are spatially QCL-ed to a latest received PDSCH communication (¶ [0095] For performing DFS-RSSI measurement in FR2, the UE can assume the configured measurement resources are QCL-ed with TypeD to one of the latest received Physical Downlink Shared Channels (PDSCHs).; ¶ [0096] When configured by the network, the UE shall be able to perform a DFS-RSSI measurement of configured rssi-ResourceConfigDFS.); and
an assumption that configured RSSI measurement resources are spatially QCL-ed to a latest monitored Control Resource Set, CORESET, (¶ [0095] For performing DFS-RSSI measurement in FR2, the UE can assume the configured measurement resources are QCL-ed with TypeD to the latest monitored Control Resource Set (CORESET).; ¶ [0096] When configured by the network, the UE shall be able to perform a DFS-RSSI measurement of configured rssi-ResourceConfigDFS.); and
at least one of:
both of the two RSSI measurements (read as multiple measurements) being performed in a same RSSI measurement occasion (read as measurement time window) (¶ [0055] Multiple RSSI measurements within a measurement time window.); and
both of the two RSSI measurements being performed simultaneously in the same RSSI measurement occasion (read as measurement time window) (¶ [0055] Performing simultaneous RSSI measurements within a measurement time window.);
Hu does not explicitly teach each of the at least two measurements being performed using a different reception beam; and at least one of: each of the two RSSI measurements being performed in alternating RSSI measurement occasions.
In analogous art, Baek teaches each of the two RSSI measurements (read as RSSI measurement for Frequency #x and an RSSI measurement of Frequency #y) being performed in alternating (read a repeating) RSSI measurement occasions (FIG. 37 illustrates alternating RSSI measurement occasions; ¶ [0310] RSSI measurement may be performed during two RSSI measurement units in repeating measurement gap periods.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the alternating RSSI measurement occasions taught by Baek with RSSI measuring and reporting taught by Hu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the accuracy and reliability of signal strength assessments by alternating the measurement occasion, which systematically captures the signal variations and interference patterns over time (Baek: ¶ [0446]).
Hu and Baek do not teach each of the at least two measurements being performed using a different reception beam.
In analogous art, Zhang teaches each of the at least two measurements being performed using a different (read as second) reception beam (FIG. 4, step 402 Transmitting RSSI measurement associated with a first reception beam.; step 404 Transmitting RSSI measurement associated with a second reception beam.; ¶¶ [0074-76] RSSI measurements performed using the first reception beam and RSSI measurements performed using the second reception beam may be transmitted by a UE to a base station.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine using different reception beams for RSSI measurement taught by Zhang with the alternating RSSI measurement occasions taught by Baek and RSSI measuring and reporting taught by Hu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce interference and optimize resource allocation, which would improve the user experience, by enhancing the accuracy of RSSI measurements and individually assessing the signal strength from multiple transmission points (Zhang: ¶ [0001] & ¶ [0007]).
Regarding claim 4, Hu teaches a signalling radio node (read as base station or BS or gNB) for a radio access network, the signalling radio node being configured to: receive measurement reporting (¶ [0044] UE reports the measurements to the gNB.),
the measurement reporting being based on at least two measurements (read as multiple measurements) performed by making at least one quasi co-located, QCL, assumption (¶ [0055] Perform multiple measurements. The UEs measure RSSI with an RX spatial filter that is QCL’ed with the configured DL RS.),
the at least one QCL assumption comprising:
an assumption that configured Received Signal Strength Indicator, RSSI, measurement resources are spatially QCL-ed to the first transmission configuration indicator, TCI, state and a second TCI state, the first TCI state and the second TCI state being associated with Physical Downlink Shared Channel, PDSCH, reception (¶ [0049] The network configures the UE interference measurement configuration via UE specific RRC signaling. The configuration includes a set of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states associated with a set of downlink (DL) RSs.; ¶ [0055] Each measurement receive (Rx) spatial filter is QCL’ed with one of the configured DL RSs. A spatial filter may be said to be QCL’ed with a downlink reference signal.; ¶ [0084] The set of TCI states for RSSI measurements at this UE is configured by the network, which corresponds to the set of CSI-RS references.; ¶ [0088] The network activates a new TCI state for UE PDCCH monitoring via Media Access Control Control Elements (MAC CE and indicates it to UE PDSCH transmission via DC).); and
one of:
an assumption that configured RSSI measurement resources are spatially QCL-ed to a latest received PDSCH communication (¶ [0095] For performing DFS-RSSI measurement in FR2, the UE can assume the configured measurement resources are QCL-ed with TypeD to one of the latest received Physical Downlink Shared Channels (PDSCHs).; ¶ [0096] When configured by the network, the UE shall be able to perform a DFS-RSSI measurement of configured rssi-ResourceConfigDFS.); and
an assumption that configured RSSI measurement resources are spatially QCL-ed to a latest monitored Control Resource Set, CORESET (¶ [0095] For performing DFS-RSSI measurement in FR2, the UE can assume the configured measurement resources are QCL-ed with TypeD to the latest monitored Control Resource Set (CORESET).; ¶ [0096] When configured by the network, the UE shall be able to perform a DFS-RSSI measurement of configured rssi-ResourceConfigDFS.);
at least one of:
both of the two RSSI measurements (read as multiple measurements) being performed in a same RSSI measurement occasion (read as measurement time window) (¶ [0055] Multiple RSSI measurements within a measurement time window.); and
both of the two RSSI measurements being performed simultaneously in the same RSSI measurement occasion (read as measurement time window) (¶ [0055] Performing simultaneous RSSI measurements within a measurement time window.);
Hu does not explicitly teach each of the at least two measurements being performed using a different reception beam; and at least one of: each of the two RSSI measurements being performed in alternating RSSI measurement occasions.
In analogous art, Baek teaches each of the two RSSI measurements (read as RSSI measurement for Frequency #x and an RSSI measurement of Frequency #y) being performed in alternating (read a repeating) RSSI measurement occasions (FIG. 37 illustrates alternating RSSI measurement occasions; ¶ [0310] RSSI measurement may be performed during two RSSI measurement units in repeating measurement gap periods.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the alternating RSSI measurement occasions taught by Baek with RSSI measuring and reporting taught by Hu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the accuracy and reliability of signal strength assessments by alternating the measurement occasion, which systematically captures the signal variations and interference patterns over time (Baek: ¶ [0446]).
Hu and Baek do not teach each of the at least two measurements being performed using a different reception beam.
In analogous art, Zhang teaches each of the at least two measurements being performed using a different (read as second) reception beam (FIG. 4, step 402 Transmitting RSSI measurement associated with a first reception beam.; step 404 Transmitting RSSI measurement associated with a second reception beam.; ¶¶ [0074-76] RSSI measurements performed using the first reception beam and RSSI measurements performed using the second reception beam may be transmitted by a UE to a base station.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine using different reception beams for RSSI measurement taught by Zhang with the alternating RSSI measurement occasions taught by Baek and RSSI measuring and reporting taught by Hu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce interference and optimize resource allocation, which would improve the user experience, by enhancing the accuracy of RSSI measurements and individually assessing the signal strength from multiple transmission points (Zhang: ¶ [0001] & ¶ [0007]).
Regarding claim 5, Hu teaches wherein to each of the at least one QCL assumption (read as QCL’ed), a receiving beam (read as receive (Rx) spatial filter) is associated (¶ [0055] Receive (RX) spatial filter is QCL’ed with one of the configured DL RSs.).
Regarding claim 6, Hu teaches wherein at least one measurement of the at least two measurements (read as interference measurements) is performed on signaling from different transmission points, TRPs (¶ [0050] A gNB with multiple TRPs may perform interference measurements with respect to each of the TRPs.).
Regarding claim 7, Hu teaches wherein at least one of the at least one QCL assumption is associated to at least one of:
a control resource set, CORESET (¶ [0095] QCL-ed to one of the latest received PDSCHs and the latest CORESET.),
a set of time resources (¶ [0055] QCL’ed with the configured DL RS within a measurement time window.),
a set of frequency resources (read as channels) (¶ [0093] Performing RSSI measurements shall be able to measure RSSI of the channels defined above.; ¶ [0094] Performing RSSI measurement in FR2, the UE can assume the configured measurement resources are QCL-ed to one of the latest received PDSCHs.), and
a measurement configuration (¶ [0095] Configured measurement resources are QCL-ed.).
Regarding claim 8, Hu teaches wherein the transmitting of measurement reporting is based on at least one control information message (¶ [0015] The receiving of the instructions includes receiving the instruction via a Radio Resource Control signaling or Downlink Control Information signaling.; ¶ [0023] Reporting by the UE based on instructions received via Radio Resource Control signaling or Downlink Control Information signaling.).
Regarding claim 10, Hu teaches wherein at least one measurement of the at least two measurements is performed on signaling having a carrier frequency of one of: at least 5 GHZ, at least 6 GHz, at least 10 GHz, at least 28 GHz, and at least 50 GHz (read as FR1 and FR2) (¶ [0098] FR1 and FR2).
Regarding claim 11, Hu teaches wherein at least one measurement of the at least two measurements represents one of:
a received signal strength indicator, RSSI, measurement and a cross-link interference, CLI, measurement (read as CLI-RSSI measurement) (¶ [0097] CLI-RSSI measurements are measurable.).
Regarding claim 12, Hu teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that when executed cause processing circuitry to (¶ [0080] UE may include a processing circuit, which may perform various methods disclosed herein.; ¶ [0132] Processing circuit is configured to execute instructions stored in a non-transitory storage medium.):
receive an indication of a first transmission configuration indicator, TCI, state, and a second TCI state indicated for Physical Downlink Shared Channel, PDSCH, reception (¶ [0049] The network configures the UE interference measurement configuration via UE specific Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling. The configuration includes a set of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states. The set of TCI states are the TCI states which are configured by the network for a specific UE’s uplink (UL) transmission and DL reception.; ¶ [0088] The network activates a new TCI state for UE PDCCH monitoring via Media Access Control Control Elements (MAC CE and indicates it to UE PDSCH transmission via DC).);
perform at least two measurements (¶ [0012] The method further includes performing a second interference measurement for a second Transmission Configuration Indicator state.),
the at least two measurements being based on the feedback radio node making at least one quasi co-located, QCL, assumption (¶ [0095] For performing DRS-RSSI measurement, the UE can assume the measurement resources are QCL-ed.),
the at least one QCL assumption comprising:
the radio node assuming that configured Received Signal Strength Indicator, RSSI, measurement resources are spatially QCL-ed to the first TCI state and the second TCI state (¶ [0049] The configuration includes a set of Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states associated with a set of downlink (DL) RSs.; ¶ [0055] Each measurement receive (Rx) spatial filter is QCL’ed with one of the configured DL RSs. A spatial filer may be said to be QCL’ed with a downlink reference signal.; ¶ [0084] The set of TCI states for RSSI measurements at this UE is configured by the network, which corresponds to the set of CSI-RS references.); and
one of:
the radio node assuming that configured RSSI measurement resources are spatially QCL-ed to a latest received PDSCH communication (¶ [0095] For performing DFS-RSSI measurement in FR2, the UE can assume the configured measurement resources are QCL-ed with TypeD to one of the latest received Physical Downlink Shared Channels (PDSCHs).; ¶ [0096] When configured by the network, the UE shall be able to perform a DFS-RSSI measurement of configured rssi-ResourceConfigDFS.); and
the radio node assuming that configured RSSI measurement resources are spatially QCL-ed to a latest monitored Control Resource Set, CORESET (¶ [0095] For performing DFS-RSSI measurement in FR2, the UE can assume the configured measurement resources are QCL-ed with TypeD to the latest monitored Control Resource Set (CORESET).; ¶ [0096] When configured by the network, the UE shall be able to perform a DFS-RSSI measurement of configured rssi-ResourceConfigDFS.);
transmit measurement reporting (¶ [0055] UE performs measurement(s) and reports them.),
the measurement reporting being based on the at least two measurements (read as multiple measurements) performed based on the at least one QCL assumption (¶ [0055] Perform multiple measurements. The UEs measure RSSI with an Rx spatial filter that is QCL’ed with the configured DL RS. Report them to the network.),
at least one of:
both of the two RSSI measurements (read as multiple measurements) being performed in a same RSSI measurement occasion (read as measurement time window) (¶ [0055] Multiple RSSI measurements within a measurement time window.); and
both of the two RSSI measurements being performed simultaneously in the same RSSI measurement occasion (read as measurement time window) (¶ [0055] Performing simultaneous RSSI measurements within a measurement time window.);
Hu does not explicitly teach each of the at least two measurements being performed using a different reception beam; and at least one of: each of the two RSSI measurements being performed in alternating RSSI measurement occasions.
In analogous art, Baek teaches each of the two RSSI measurements (read as RSSI measurement for Frequency #x and an RSSI measurement of Frequency #y) being performed in alternating (read a repeating) RSSI measurement occasions (FIG. 37 illustrates alternating RSSI measurement occasions; ¶ [0310] RSSI measurement may be performed during two RSSI measurement units in repeating measurement gap periods.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the alternating RSSI measurement occasions taught by Baek with RSSI measuring and reporting taught by Hu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the accuracy and reliability of signal strength assessments by alternating the measurement occasion, which systematically captures the signal variations and interference patterns over time (Baek: ¶ [0446]).
Hu and Baek do not teach each of the at least two measurements being performed using a different reception beam.
In analogous art, Zhang teaches each of the at least two measurements being performed using a different (read as second) reception beam (FIG. 4, step 402 Transmitting RSSI measurement associated with a first reception beam.; step 404 Transmitting RSSI measurement associated with a second reception beam.; ¶¶ [0074-76] RSSI measurements performed using the first reception beam and RSSI measurements performed using the second reception beam may be transmitted by a UE to a base station.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine using different reception beams for RSSI measurement taught by Zhang with the alternating RSSI measurement occasions taught by Baek and RSSI measuring and reporting taught by Hu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce interference and optimize resource allocation, which would improve the user experience, by enhancing the accuracy of RSSI measurements and individually assessing the signal strength from multiple transmission points (Zhang: ¶ [0001] & ¶ [0007]).
Regarding claim 14, Hu teaches wherein to each of the at least one QCL assumption (read as QCL’ed), a receiving beam (read as receive (Rx) spatial filter) is associated (¶ [0055] Receive (RX) spatial filter is QCL’ed with one of the configured DL RSs.).
Regarding claim 15, Hu teaches wherein at least one measurement of the at least two measurements (read as interference measurements) is performed on signaling from different transmission points, TRPs (¶ [0050] A gNB with multiple TRPs may perform interference measurements with respect to each of the TRPs.).
Regarding claim 16, Hu teaches wherein at least one of the at least one QCL assumption is associated to at least one of:
a control resource set, CORESET (¶ [0095] QCL-ed to one of the latest received PDSCHs and the latest CORESET.),
a set of time resources (¶ [0055] QCL’ed with the configured DL RS within a measurement time window.),
a set of frequency resources (read as channels) (¶ [0093] Performing RSSI measurements shall be able to measure RSSI of the channels defined above.; ¶ [0094] Performing RSSI measurement in FR2, the UE can assume the configured measurement resources are QCL-ed to one of the latest received PDSCHs.), and
a measurement configuration (¶ [0095] Configured measurement resources are QCL-ed.).
Regarding claim 17, Hu teaches wherein the transmitting of measurement reporting is based on at least one control information message (¶ [0015] The receiving of the instructions includes receiving the instruction via a Radio Resource Control signaling or Downlink Control Information signaling.; ¶ [0023] Reporting by the UE based on instructions received via Radio Resource Control signaling or Downlink Control Information signaling.).
Regarding claim 19, Hu teaches wherein at least one measurement of the at least two measurements is performed on signaling having a carrier frequency of one of: at least 5 GHZ, at least 6 GHz, at least 10 GHz, at least 28 GHz, and at least 50 GHz (read as FR1 and FR2) (¶ [0098] FR1 and FR2).
Regarding claim 20, Hu teaches wherein at least one measurement of the at least two measurements represents one of:
a received signal strength indicator, RSSI, measurement and a cross-link interference, CLI, measurement (read as CLI-RSSI measurement) (¶ [0097] CLI-RSSI measurements are measurable.).
Regarding claim 21, Regarding claim 21, Hu teaches wherein to each of the at least one QCL assumption (read as QCL’ed), a receiving beam (read as receive (Rx) spatial filter) is associated (¶ [0055] Receive (RX) spatial filter is QCL’ed with one of the configured DL RSs.).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu in view of Baek, further in view of Bhamri et al. (US 2023/0155771 A1; hereinafter Bhamri).
Regarding claim 9, Hu and Baek do not teach wherein the measurement reporting indicates a transmission point, TRP, to which a reported value pertains to.
In analogous art, Bhamri teaches wherein the measurement reporting indicates a transmission point, TRP, (read as providing an index) to which a reported value pertains to (¶ [0053] TRP identifier (“ID”)(e.g., CORESET-PoolIndex).; ¶ [0056] Based on these channel measurements, the UE sends only one CSI report corresponding to each TRP that includes at least an average RSRP across all beams of a corresponding TRP and an associated CORESETPoolIndex value.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a TRP identifier taught by Bhamri with the alternating RSSI measurement occasions taught by Baek and RSSI measuring and reporting taught by Hu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to make better decisions about beam selection, power control, and other parameters to improve system performance and improve user experience by enabling the network to associate RSSI measurements with specific transmission points (Bhamri: ¶ [0007]).
Regarding claim 18, Hu and Baek do not teach wherein the measurement reporting indicates a transmission point, TRP, to which a reported value pertains to.
In analogous art, Bhamri teaches wherein the measurement reporting indicates a transmission point, TRP, (read as providing an index) to which a reported value pertains to (¶ [0053] TRP identifier (“ID”)(e.g., CORESET-PoolIndex).; ¶ [0056] Based on these channel measurements, the UE sends only one CSI report corresponding to each TRP that includes at least an average RSRP across all beams of a corresponding TRP and an associated CORESETPoolIndex value.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a TRP identifier taught by Bhamri with the alternating RSSI measurement occasions taught by Baek and RSSI measuring and reporting taught by Hu. One would have been motivated to do so in order to make better decisions about beam selection, power control, and other parameters to improve system performance and improve user experience by enabling the network to associate RSSI measurements with specific transmission points (Bhamri: ¶ [0007]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. (US 2023/0108805 A1): Techniques for Directional Signal Strength Indication and Beam-Specific Measurement Threshold.
Siomina (US 2020/0351688 A1): Methods for Quality-Aware Reporting of RSSI-Based Measurements to Avoid RSSI Window Split
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.M.K./
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464